Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Sicily by Car rental

Italy

Consumer complaints and reviews about Sicily by Car rental

Ben B Send email
 
Jan 15, 2018

Sicily by Car

Yes same here - was billed €73.20 four months after car rental . 'Multa/T fine ' with no proof whatsoever .
Initially thought I had just got unlucky in a speed trap or something even though pretty sure I drove very carefully and within
speed limits and didn't park anywhere I shouldn't . Much more suspicious now I see everyone else's complaints on this site with the same issue . I've emailed them asking for proof and so far had nothing ..
Francis H Send email
 
Jan 14, 2018

Diposit complaint

On 23-12 at 19h00 we signed up to pick up our rental car at the airport of Ancona Falconara ( Confirmation no 582521194 Voucher no IT766111680 )
When transferring the deposit, the counter clerk informed me that there was not enough credit on my visa card.
Since I was convinced that this was not correct, he made more attempts to transfer the deposit. Finally we were forced to call a taxi to take us to the hotel in Riccione at 100 km from the airport.

At my home, I have contacted Visa what happened on this date, they inform me that you have already taken out € 1000 deposit from the card even before we arrived at the counter!!!!
I have a limit of € 2500 on the card, on 23-12 at 19h00 there was a reserve of € 1556 which was more than enough for the € 1200 that was provided but not if you had already taken € 1000 deposit.

The fault is with your company that we could not get the car for which I paid for months ago, that we had also extra costs for a taxi.

I claim the costs of the rental car as well as the additional insurance.

If I do not receive a correct answer from your company I will submit my complaint to the European Consumer Center.

If I had read this forum beforehand I would never have done business with your company, you are a shame for tourism. https://www.complaintboard.com/sicily-by-car-rental-l10156.html

Regards,
Francis Hellebuyck
AngryJack Send email
 
Jan 7, 2018

Fraud by Sicily by Car

I went to Italy for a city trip to Milan with my son in October 2017 (3 days). Through the site of Ryanair we booked a car at Sicily by Car. Today I noticed that on the 27th of December and on the 28th of December (2x) 3x 73,20 euro's were charged on my Visa card. When I looked on Google a saw the list of people who have the same experience.. How can this happen? That for such a long time a company can steal from its custommers.. But the main question, what can we do about this maffia practises? Has anyone the answer to this?
Regards Jack from Belgium
AngryJack Send email
 
Jan 7, 2018

False credit card charge by Auto Europe Multe Fines

The same goes for me, just saw that on 27/12 once and on 28/12 twice my credit card was charged for 73,20 euro's.. in total 219,60 euro!! We stayed in Milan for 3 days (oktober 2017) and booked through Ryanair as wel.

Are we dealing with maffia here or what? And how is it possible this can go on for quite a long time..

Who has a solution how to get the money back? What does the componay Sicily by Car says?

Jack / Belgium
Hedy Send email
 
Dec 26, 2017

Charging my bank account 73 euros

In August I used Ryanair to rent a car and I got it at the airport but something wrong was the card and they charged me the amount just toget the car. I wanted to get back the insurance which was paid twice but all of my emails were ignored. Yesterday I noticed Europa car Multe fine charged 73 euros without any reasons. I think that was a fine recorded by cameras I had not been informed earlier what it was
Please help me!
rudecarplace Send email
 
Dec 22, 2017

Sicily by Car

the invoice I got from them says the charge is "reimbursement of practical management expenses"
What can we do?
rudecarplace Send email
 
Dec 21, 2017

AGAIN!

AGAIN!!!!! 3 times they have charged my credit card a total amount of $110.00 Canadian. I hate to cancel my card because I am worried I wont be able to rent again in Italy, but I think its the only thing I can do. Though this time they did send an invoice but it still does not explain what is going on!!!!
anna1212 Send email
 
Dec 15, 2017

sicily by car

I m a new victim of their sick "working-stealing "system!"!!!!
My credit card was charged of 322 euros without stating the reason for the charge or informing me about it. They are not saying anything yet.
I'm italian and i feel ashamed because of them!!
pimpao Send email
 
Dec 11, 2017

61€ Auto Europe Multe Fine - O VIL

I had the same issue.

Rent a Van in Sicily by Car in June. In October and November i´m being charge 61€ (twice) by Auto Europe Multe Fine - O VIL, of course without any justification or autorization. Is it fraud? from who? Sicily by Car or third party?
Colin Foster Send email
 
Dec 6, 2017

Taken money without authority

I rented a car through Ryanair at Rome airport on the 26th May from a car rental company called Sicily by car and returned the car a few days later with a full tank of fuel and a clean bill of health from the inspector who checked the car back in.
On the 29th October I discovered that a company called AUTO EUROPA MULTI-FINES PALERMO had taken 61 Euros off my credit card with out providing any information, I subsequently discovered that the 61 Euros related to an alleged traffic offence of which I was not aware.
I immediately canceled my credit card, advised Ryanair and my Bank who have passed the information on to VISA which involved a denuncia from the local Guardia Civil and I am still waiting for the proof that I have committed a traffic offence and I am out of pocket for 61 Euros.
By chance I went on the Internet and found that I am not the first to have been charged similar amounts without proof or evidence on what the charge is for and the more complaints I read I am convinced that I have been the subject of Fraud by this company and I would suggest the you do not use Sicily by car under any circumstances.
Alfreddo Send email
 
Nov 24, 2017

Car rental

I rented a car from Sicily by car at the Rome airport for 480 euro. The car breaks down-----clutch goes out and I get another car. The next car they charge me more for un beknownst to me.THEIR car with 17,000 km broke down. Sicily by car cannot pass their piece of crap car malfunction charge on to me.
bonaquahk Send email
 
Nov 23, 2017

AUTO EUROPA MULTE-FINE PALERMO P ITA" EUR61

Robber company. Never go Italy again!
robertsmith_1457964 Send email
 
Nov 3, 2017

£51 AUTO EUROPA MULTI-FINES

Rented a card from Milan Bergamo in May 2017. After seeing the same charge on my card 27th Sept as described by lots of people here, I have instructed my credit card company to cancel this change which they have done. They card company will wrote to them asking for the charge to. E justified... if this is fraud I suspect it we won't hear from them. Sounds to me like Sicily by Car have had a massive card data breach. Shame as we had a good experience using them.

I recommend anyone who used a credit card contact your bank/card provider and challenge the payments. Good luck
Habib Tanous Send email
 
Nov 1, 2017

Over charged by Sicily by Car

We hired a car from Milan Malpensa airport and 4 months later I'm being charged twice for additional fees and I haven't been informed what the fee is for. I will be going to my bank and reversing my payments. If anyone has an advice on how to counter act this complaints please contact me.
Thanks,
Habib Tanous
Habib Tanous Send email
 
Nov 1, 2017

Sicily by Car

We hired the car in June 2017 from Milan airport and 4 months later, I have been charged twice for no apparent reason. If anyone has any advice, please let me know. I'm calling my bank to try and reverse the charges.
nuevacaja Send email
 
Oct 30, 2017

Same as previous

Hi there,
I have the same situation.
Rented a car for 10 days last July 2017 through Ryanair's website (cross sell).
Last 10 and 16th of October I got 2 charges of 73.20 EUR on my CC statement.
I blocked the card and filled a chargeback request.
It will take up to 120 days but hopefully I'll recover the money they stole from me....
TomP Send email
 
Oct 30, 2017

also multe fines fraudulent charge of 71 Euro

Same here: I rented a car with Sicily by Car in Milan City Center in June using a credit card. I didn't get any parking or speeding tickets, and the car had no damages when dropping it off at Malpensa Airport a week later. About 3 months later, a company 'Auto Europa' attempted to charge 71 Euro for 'multe fines' on this credit card. Fortunately, my bank blocked the transaction, but I had to get a new credit card.
damnitaly Send email
 
Oct 26, 2017

Sicily by car. Robbers!

The same scenario. Visit Italy in July, September 25th - 74 euros taken from bank my account. In their policy they are stating that they would contact you if any additional charges will occur after a few mounths. But nobody did. I wrote complain. Bank blocked my card and adviced go to the police. If they wont provide my any legal evidence, i will let police deal with them! Never visit Italy again!!!!
axster59 Send email
 
Oct 24, 2017

thieves

rented in catania in july . recieved a "fine"of 71 euros in october with no explanation to our credit card , seen online this is a regular fraud and rip off avoid like the plague
tareqhejazi Send email
 
Oct 16, 2017

Sicily by Car - Multi - Fine

same story,

rented in June 2017, got billed two time (61 Euro) each in end of September 2017, no proof provided,

I would like to objet and complain and reject the transaction until a proof is provided,

Tareq
greyowl Send email
 
Oct 15, 2017

sicily by car

just been billed twice by auto europa multi-fines 2 times 61euro , no explanation , can somebody tell me what to do about it ? thanks
greyowl Send email
 
Oct 15, 2017

sicili by car rental

i was in italy in april just got billed twice 61 euro for what ? no explanations what so ever !!
rudecarplace Send email
 
Sep 30, 2017

sicly by car charged 106.56 Canadian after 4 months with no explanation

I also rented a car (June 23 and July 1) and 4 months later I charged (with no reason or proof) 106.56 dollars. AUTO EUROPA MULTE-FINES PALERMO was the name that put through the charge. I rented from Sicily By Car. This is insane!!!! They wont answer my calls or emails.
anmg23 Send email
 
Sep 26, 2017

sicly by car charged 61 eur after 4 months with no explanation

I rented a car from Sicily by Car 1-5 June 2017 and after almost 4 months, on 22.09.17 I was charged by AUTO EUROPA MULTE-FINES PALERMO IT with 61 euro with no explanation. Hope they will revert with a reasonable explanation for this additional charge after so long time.
anmg23 Send email
 
Sep 26, 2017

Sicily by car - 61 EUR charge after 3 months of the rental

I rented a car from Sicily by Car 1-5 June 2017 and after almost 4 months, on 22.09.17 I was charged by AUTO EUROPA MULTE-FINES PALERMO IT with 61 euro with no explanation. Hope they will revert with a reasonable explanation for this additional charge after so long time.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Aviteo - A service I never sign up
    This company sent me an invoice for a service that i did...
    Top phone - excessive number of Myanmar workers
    To whom it may concern, I would like to make a report...
    PAYTMAG bank - Cancellation Amount not Refunded
    Sir I booked my ticket through irctc web site,, payment...
    IRCTC and PAYTMAG - refund amount not received
    sir train ticket cancelled , refund not yet received
    POS MALAYSIA - Delay in delivery
    What happened to Pos Malaysia? Seems so many complaints of...
    McDonald's malaysia - Yelled by cashier
    So me and my friends were ordering at the drive through,...
    D-Safe Sdn Bhd - Pengawal Keselamatan PAKISTANI HARAM
    Syarikat Keselamatan menggunakan Pengawal Keselamatan...
    PSE&G - Gas shut off
    My mom’ s gas was shut off in September 2017. I visited...
    Skout - Account blocked
    My account was blocked saying too many login attempts....

    Share this site with others

         
          

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Aviteo - A service I never sign up
    This company sent me an invoice for a service that i did...
    Top phone - excessive number of Myanmar workers
    To whom it may concern, I would like to make a report...
    PAYTMAG bank - Cancellation Amount not Refunded
    Sir I booked my ticket through irctc web site,, payment...
    IRCTC and PAYTMAG - refund amount not received
    sir train ticket cancelled , refund not yet received
    POS MALAYSIA - Delay in delivery
    What happened to Pos Malaysia? Seems so many complaints of...
    McDonald's malaysia - Yelled by cashier
    So me and my friends were ordering at the drive through,...
    D-Safe Sdn Bhd - Pengawal Keselamatan PAKISTANI HARAM
    Syarikat Keselamatan menggunakan Pengawal Keselamatan...
    PSE&G - Gas shut off
    My mom’ s gas was shut off in September 2017. I visited...
    Skout - Account blocked
    My account was blocked saying too many login attempts....
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username