Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Sicily by Car rental

Italy

Consumer complaints and reviews about Sicily by Car rental

benben01 Send email
 
Mar 21, 2017

two times 61 euros from credit card

I have been charged twice for an amount of 61 EUR by A.E MULTE-FINES PALERMO in October 2016 and February 2017 after having rented a car at Sicili by Car in Roma in August 2016. I called them and they said the first amount was fees due to a fine. I never received any fine and the fact they charge me twice after 2 and 6 months confirms this is a scam.
Johnmotion Send email
 
Mar 9, 2017

Unwarranted charges from Sicily by Car

I have been charged for non return of GPS Tom Tom. Absolute con as returned with car, signed by agent, yet still charged 248 Euro. They are thieves so do not use this company. I have sent numerous emails with no reply.
stersas Send email
 
Feb 23, 2017

3 times 61€ AUTO EUROPA MULTI-FINES

The same happen to me. I rent a car in Bologna with Sicily by Car on November 2016. Also no damage. And after three months, I have 3 charges in my VISA from 61€ each, total 183€!!!!! from AUTO EUROPA MULTI-FINES Palermo. I've been forced to block the credit card and ask for a new one! My bank has request to the company to refund the money but at the moment I still have to pay it, and the bank says that maybe takes more than 3 months to have an answer.
Sicily by Car has my email, address, etc, if they would contact me, there is another ways...

They are using my card as they pleased!!!!! without any authorization!
Thaison Send email
 
Feb 17, 2017

Auto Europa Multe-fine

64 EUR was stolen from my bank account 2,5 months after my business trip to Italy.

DO NOT RENT with AUTOEUROPA and SICILY by CAR.

Auto Europa Multe-fine

snifproduction Send email
 
Feb 15, 2017

SICILY BY CAR are THIEVES

NEVER EVER RENT A CAR WITH SICILY BY CAR!!!!

I was just informed by my bank that someone is trying to charge my credit card for EUR61.
The description is "AUTO EUROPA MULTE-FINE PALERMO P ITA" for EUR61 !!!!!
I rented a car with Sicily by car in July 2016 and we are now in Feb 2017 !!!

Totally unacceptable!

I have asked the bank to cancel the card and to proceed with a dispute for refund!
I hope that I will have my refund.

NEVER EVER RENT A CAR WITH SICILY BY CAR!!!!
GabinaF Send email
 
Feb 13, 2017

Sicily By Car Italy

As other users complain belove, I was also charged 61 Euro from my credit car on January 2017, although we rented the car in October 2016 a returned it with no damages. I had to blocked my cradit card. DO NOT RENT A CAR WITH THEM !!!
Gabriela F. - Czech Republic
ingrid3153 Send email
 
Feb 7, 2017

Sicily by Car - Multa Fine

Like many others have already said, I rented a car in Oct 2016 through rentalcargroup.com which was then booked by Sicily by Car. The rental car experience while in Italy was fine, but I just reviewed my credit card activity and found two charges: Jan 30 and Feb 7 each for approx US$65. I disputed these charges with my credit card and replaced my card so that Sicily by Car does not have a credit card on file anymore which they can charge.
I visited the Sicily by Car website and contacted them using the online contact form. I do not expect a reply from them since this is clearly fraudulent and dishonest business practice. I will update my post if I do receive a reply. In the meantime, if you get these kinds of charges on your credit card statement, call your credit card company immediately to dispute and cancel your card to get a replacement. Then, make a mental note to NEVER use Sicily by Car again.
monpaw Send email
 
Feb 5, 2017

Sicily by Car rental

I have the same. I used Sicily by Car at the airport Bergamo on November and on January 31, 2017 I have EUR 61 credit chargé of AUTO EUROPA MULTI-FINES Palermo. There was no damage. I blocked my credit car at this moment. If someone received back money? Any effective complaint?
Kockelmans Send email
 
Jan 29, 2017

Refund

Hi,

I just received a unknown credit charge from AUTO EUROPA MULTI-FINES Palermo of the amount 61,00 Euro.

Does anyone know how it can be refund ? And file a complaint about that? Company is Sicily by car.

Thanks
AVRA1972 Send email
 
Jan 26, 2017

Unknown credit card charge

I used the Sicily By Car Rental company for my trip to Swiss at October 2016. I just received a unknown credit charge from EUROPA MULTIFIN of the amount 61,00 Euro at 21/01/2017.
Searching in internet I realised that this is a common charge and this rental company have huge amount of complains.
Please be aware and if you have the same charge please communicate direct with your credit card to avoid any ohter charges
edyschorno Send email
 
Jan 21, 2017

unknown transaction on VISA card

we got a debit on our Creditcard (VISA) dated 10.01.2017 about EUR 61.00 from Auto Europa Multe-Fines Palermo.
We don`t know what it is and we have no document. We need almost a document for our accounting.

Edy Schorno
Schwanden 1
CH-6403 Küssnacht am Rigi

edy.schorno@gmx.ch

unknown transaction on VISA card

Jigoronico Send email
 
Nov 21, 2016

two times 61 euros from credit card

As jeepee1973 in august we went to Firenze for a holiday. We rented a car by website of Rentalcars.com.
At this site we found a nice car, that we could pick up at Termini station and leave at the airport. The company who provided this car was Sicily by Car.
On 11th of October I saw that there was written of two amounts of 61 euros.
I just block my credit card now....
jeepee1973 Send email
 
Nov 19, 2016

two times 61 euros from credit card

In august we went to Rome for a holiday. We rented a car by website of Rentalcars.com.
At this site we found a nice car, that we could pick up at Termini station and leave at the airport. The company who provided this car was Sicily by Car.
On 18th of november I saw that there was written of two amounts of 61 euros.

Searching the web on several forums I read that dozens of people were "fined" with two amounts written off their credit cards.

Some people think that this is a fine from the police and a lot of people think that this is a administration fee all rentalcars organisations have to pay for giving the police the information about the people who rented the cars.

One thing that stands out is that there is Always TWO amounts that they take from your credit card. And Always about 60, 60,50 or 61 euros.

Today ( 19t of november ) I wrote a mail to rentalcars.com to explain themselves, but what I also read on forums they do not answer the mails. Fortunately VISA will block my account if they don't.
carlos foxley Send email
 
Sep 26, 2016

They ignored the full insurance I took

I rented a car in Rome last August. Never again I will rent a car for this company. I was 90 minutes waiting in Rome to pick up the car. I took full insurance. I had an accident a couple of days after I rented the car in San Giminiano and followed all instructions given by pone by the company. At the rentalñ car office in Pisa they told me that everything was okay because crane pick up the car and I retunred GPS and I had full insurance. On Spetember 22nd I recieved a letter at home telling me that I should pay 7.000 Euro plus 22% tax because insirance was not valid because of negligence and careless driving .. and I had 5 days to answer or they would charge in my credit card that amount. Next day I sent the email, following their instructions, exactly as indicated in their letter. However they charged, without my authorization 2500 Euro that afternoon (fortunatelly I had not more credit in the card because they triued to charge more tan 8.000 Euro). Sincé teh accident I have wrote them emails several times with any answer. I sent emails with no answer and nobody answer the customer service line, and if you call to other line they say that you must call customer service ... in summary: they are not acting in good faith, and its insurance is not true. They always can say, unilaterally that you "were careless driving" and ignore to honor the insurance taken. PLEASE DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY, you are in serious risk to be charged in your credit card with any excuse! It is the worst rental car company I have used in my life,...they should change the name because Sicily is a nice place that don't deserve that real bad company uses its name!
Tibzz365 Send email
 
Jul 25, 2016

Still no refund after 3 months

We rented a car from Catania airport at the end of april.
Because we didn't have a credit card (there is absolutely nothing obvious before booking that says we must have a credit card), they charged us 300€ ad deposit. The guy at the desk (I remember him by his blue Armani glasses and his "fakely" nice personality) confirmed that we would get our money back within 8 days. 3 months later still nothing and it really makes me feel angry. After reading all the comments from other customers, I can see that the same has been happening for years, how come that disgusting company can still be trading, without any authorities or anybody trying to stop them?
paulopmeer Send email
 
Jul 12, 2016

Damage to Car

We hired a car at Sicilybycar for one day. When i picked up to car at the Termini Roma Station the girl behind the desk was very gentle. She gave me the papers and i had to pick up the car at the garage. The guy of the garage gave me the papers that i need to sign as he already inspected the car. I told him that i also want to see the car. He was upset and angry about it but after a discussion i could see the car without signing. After my investigation i noticed two bumps which he have not put on his paper. After a discussion he agreed and put it on the paper so i signed and drove a way. (27/06/2016 at 11:50). We drove to Castel Gandolfo and i parked the car over there and we had a very nice day. Atthe same day at 18:30 i brought the car back at the Roma Air Port. A lady checked the fuel and the car. After that she went to her office to put everything in the computer. But when she arrived at the computer she went back and she walked straight to the front tire and then she walked back again to the computer. She asked me to sign and asked her for what i need to sign. She said you have a damage. After a discussion she showed me the damage. Their was a small bumb on the outside of the tire. We explained her that we couldn't have done it. She told us that it was a new tire so it couldn't have been somebody else than us. If you drive only 70 km and you get such a bumb on the tire there is something wrong with the tire itself. According to her that is not possible as these are good tires. She showed us the invoice 254 EURO!!!!! And i only rented it for one day. I have seen that people are warning other people about fraud regarding tires at your company. I have already seen 3-5 same cases as that i have..... I found it very strange. I hope that you treat this e-mail and hope the hear from you
J4JKO Send email
 
Jul 7, 2016

Scily by Car

Dreadful, do not use. They do not even have the grace to respond to emails. Slow service for pick up, car had wrong tools in it, we had a puncture. Car was taken away to a town 20 mins drive away, we had to collect - with no car! Unhelpful and not the least expensive.
adrians107 Send email
 
Mar 1, 2016

Car Rental

I rented a Smart Car New Model with licence plate (EX750SB) from Sicily by Car on the 1st September 2015 from Treviso Airport. I rented the car for a week returning it to Campiano Airport in Rome on the 8th September. No damage was recorded when I returned

I received my credit card statement today, and two deductions were made from my account as follows

18th January 2016- 61 euros Auto Europa Multe Fine Palermo
18th January 2016- 61 euros Auto Europa Multe Fine Palmero

I did not have any fines on my trip. I have not received any correspondence or notification in the intervening 5 months from Sicily by Car about these fines.
moroks Send email
 
Feb 15, 2016

Claims after rental period

Summer 2015 we rented a car in Rome and drove to Sicily and back. We had a very nice holiday and no problems with the car.
However, after 6 months I received a letter from the company. They charged 50 euro from my credit card due to a parking fine in Giarre, Sicily. I did not get any parking fine in Giarre. We had a private parking at Hotel Etna and the only time I parked in Giarre was on the arrival day when I parked close to an ATM, where I got some money. I watched the car when I got the money and did not get any fine.

One month later I got a second letter, where they again charged me 50 euro, this time due to unpaid toll road fees Rome-Cassino.
At every toll road passing I payed with my credit card. However, I remember one episode where I experienced trouble with the credit card machine. I paid with my credit card, but the card was stuck in the machine. I called several times before a person came, opened the machine and gave me my credit card back. I did not get any message telling me to use the credit card again, and I therefore though that everything was ok (we could also pass through). So, due to problems with the machine I will be charged 50 euro from Sicily by Road and 11 Euro + from the autostrada company. The claim was documented with a list of unpaid passages from the Autostrada company, so at least made it easy to check. The parking fee charge came without any documentation.

This is not the first time I have experienced problems with Sicily by Car, and the problem is that you always get claims for some fines half a year/a year after you delivered the car, and usually without any documentation.

I know that this is standard procedure (to charge your credit card for eventually fines later on), however I have never experienced any similar problems with other car rental companies. Every time I use Sicily by Car I do. Why?

I will contact the Giarre Cummune to ask for documentation (photos etc), and also the Tourist office and Police.

I would strongly advice you to avoid Sicily by Car when you rent a car in Italy.
petercobrin Send email
 
Oct 21, 2015

Unable to replace car that "died"

My Sicily by Car died 80 kms from Brindisi mid-way through a hire period of 17 days. I called Bari where I'd picked up the car and they arranged a pickup truck. They then offered to contribute towards the cost of a taxi to Brindisi Airport to collect a replacement car -- only they didn't have any cars at the location, so I was forced to fire a car from another company at he nearest town. So far, so bad.

On my return home I discovered that they'd charged my credit car 122 Euros for some unknown reason. Now I am claiming a refund on the unexpired use of the hire plus additional costs -- taxi, phone calls and the difference in cost for the new replacement car. Sicily by Car now claim they'd offered me a full taxi fare and that I'd declined the replacement car.

These people are barefaced liars and cheats. Avoid them like the plague
ivovan Send email
 
Sep 23, 2015

non-refund of caution

we hired a car of sicily by car at the airport of Bari (via broker rentalcars.com).
The company refused our creditcard and we were forced to pay extra costs on our debetcard, such as extra caution "because we hadn't the correct creditcard".
They assured to refund a caution of 300 euros, but up to now (after more than 2 months) we didn't get any reaction.
To avoid in all circumstances !


ivo Van den Bossche
Grzegorz Dziadek Send email
 
Jul 13, 2015

I was charged for tiny damage, I didn't make

I was also a victim of a fraud made by Sicily by car- AutoEuropa. I picked up a car from Catania- the car was almost brand new and we didn’t find any damage on it. When we came to return it (also in Catania) member of staff checked the car carefully, especially front windscreen. He didn’t even look for other windows. Obviously he know what to look for, because he found nearly invisible, tiny damage on the windscreen. We are sure, that nothing hit the car when we use it, so that damage must have been there before we had rented a car. Moreover when we ask an attendance how much we are supposed to pay, he told us wrong number - when we checked it in the agreement in the office, it turned out, that the price is 10 times bigger that he just said!
To sum up: A client gets a car with small, invisible damage and he is charged “costs of repair” when he gives the car back. I don’t know what they will do with this car now, but probably it the windscreen will not be replaced and another customer will be forced to pay for the same damage. My recommendation- avoid Sicily by car- AutoEuropa.
Mauretto Send email
 
Sep 29, 2012

SBC , AutoEuropa

Several weeks ago I posted on many websites my story where I explain how SBC did charge my credit card for two damaged tyres while only one was found damaged when I left the car back from my trip in Catania.
I was then contacted by the company, SBC, who accepted to refund the equivalent amount of money for the second tyre. They saw my posts on the web and asked me to remove them. Since I cannot remove them (you do not have access to your posts once uploaded), I want here to share this with the readers. So this is it. After posting many complains they contacted me and effectively did partially refund the money they charged.
Mauretto Send email
 
Aug 25, 2012

!! Auto Europa = SicilyByCar = CROOKS !!!

!! Auto Europa = SicilyByCar = CROOKS !!!

We did rent a Fiat car at Catania airport (Sicily) for a week from June 30th to July 7th. The company is Sicily By Car, with prior reservation online via AutEuropa. You do not know the company that is renting the car before you pay online, and once you’ve paid it’s too late, you’re fucked with Sicily By Car !

No way to really check the car because it was night and no, or weak, lighting on the parking area !
Minor trace found on the car and a tank not full, 3/4 only.
When coming back a week later we found a tyre was damaged. I can’t assume it was damaged prior the rent so I certainly have to pay for it.

Problem is they charged my card a week later for 2 tyres !!!!! and with explanations and receipt more than a month later only, because I asked the company, otherwise they just do not give any information !

My suggestion is DO NOT RENT FROM AUTOEUROA / SICILY BY CAR

Go to major companies, in the end you pay less !
Take this as an advice for those like me who do not want these crooks going on with their business;

VISIT http://www.gdf.gov.it the website of Guardia di Finanza the Italian national police specialised in ripp-off and file a complain.


DO NOT RENT with AUTOEUROPA and SICILY by CAR
Keees Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

damage to car

Insurance Scam. Stay away.
Picked up the car in an unlit parking lot after a 30 minute wait at the desk in Fiumicino Airport, Rome. They never went over the car with us for damage as they said they had already done so and marked it on the rental agreement. I noticed more damage that wasn't on the agreement and insisted they mark it on. They were reluclant to do so but eventually did. After returning the car, they pointed out more damage that was intitailly on the car when I picked it up but failed to notice. It was suspicious, because in order to see the damage, you had to get down on your hands and knees and while the attendant never did this, he still noticed the damage.
When I complained, he said "don't worry, you have full coverage". I had no recourse and I'm sure that this damage was being repeatedly charged to each customer without being repaired.
Very disappointed to be used in a scam that costs everyone.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    tate and kirlin - fraud
    Received a letter saying they represent TRS Limited and I...
    Celcom - Shitty Internet Connection
    CELCOM GOLD user..previously (before March) the internet...
    NTTA - Tollmate app-NTTA ripping Texans off!!
    I will advise nobody to download the Tollmate app on your...
    Airtel - ghjhjb
    Customer Care Online Support........ Raise Your...
    PAYTM - 4645kk
    Customer Care Online Support........ Raise Your...
    TLG Buyers Advantage - Unauthorized billing
    I had this service several years ago and cancelled it now...
    McDonald's malaysia - Bad Service
    Mcd seri alam masai johor, Ambil order macam dengar, bukan...
    Celcom - connection anjing!
    the shit connection im having now!
    LOVETORIA*PAYLVT.COM 1xxxxxx2932 - Unauthorized charges
    Unauthorized charges I don't even know what this is....
    Universal skill enablers outsourcing - apologies
    Hi all, Mrs.kavitha is a genuine person she is...

    Share this site with others

         
          

    Recently Updated Complaints

    tate and kirlin - fraud
    Received a letter saying they represent TRS Limited and I...
    Celcom - Shitty Internet Connection
    CELCOM GOLD user..previously (before March) the internet...
    NTTA - Tollmate app-NTTA ripping Texans off!!
    I will advise nobody to download the Tollmate app on your...
    Airtel - ghjhjb
    Customer Care Online Support........ Raise Your...
    PAYTM - 4645kk
    Customer Care Online Support........ Raise Your...
    TLG Buyers Advantage - Unauthorized billing
    I had this service several years ago and cancelled it now...
    McDonald's malaysia - Bad Service
    Mcd seri alam masai johor, Ambil order macam dengar, bukan...
    Celcom - connection anjing!
    the shit connection im having now!
    LOVETORIA*PAYLVT.COM 1xxxxxx2932 - Unauthorized charges
    Unauthorized charges I don't even know what this is....
    Universal skill enablers outsourcing - apologies
    Hi all, Mrs.kavitha is a genuine person she is...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username