Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Straight Talk

United States,
Arizona

Consumer complaints and reviews about Straight Talk

mark76 Send email
 
Nov 5, 2017

straight talk gave my card to another person

Straight talk needs to be shut down giving my card and giving my information to a woman who stole my card and info I'm not calling ur ####ked up call center nobody there speaks English not ### helpful liars and bs I'm calling my lawyer I'm sueing for my card and ur call center gave my info and pin #s to this stranger I will have straight talk out of my town and hopefully out of every Walmart. I am a great customer and I'm gonna be done like this the card is one thing but my information and my pin numbers ur getting sued u pieces of shit
briellej Send email
 
Aug 8, 2017

iphone 6 order

I've recently ordered an iPhone 6 Friday Aug 4, 20117 to my understanding the warehouse is closed on Saturday and Saturday. I've called straight talk customer service they told me that my order should change from order processing to order has been shipped to check in by 3 pm for the change... i called again to make sure that my phone was coming Tuesday the person on the phone told me that it's not going to be shipped out and approved until Thursday how is that possible when the people I've spoke with someone earlier and they told me that i'll be getting my order Tuesday?!! all they kept doing to me was lie and lie non stop!!! asked to speak with someone over them they refused and continued to work with me! terrible customer service wouldn't recommend anyone to shop online nor order anything from off of the website
Janice kobel Send email
 
Aug 5, 2017

Straight talk phones

I bought a iphone 6 when i went to activate it it didnt come with a sims card i paid 200 for the phone with warranty and went to activate it and it came without a sims card for that price there should have been something on the front that says it doesnt come with a sims card i was very disappointed i love straight talk but that really had me upset when i needed a phone right then and what got me more upset walmart doesnt sell the sims cards mine was a apple iphone 6 i could have got one for 140 and it comes with a sims card they need to tell you this before you buy the phone in the first place now i have to wait till i can find a sims card
Quilt Send email
 
Aug 5, 2017

straight talk fraud

Yesterday I called to pay for minutes. I never had any problems before. At first the automated system told me my phone was not activated. When they switched the system they made a mistake with my serial number. They took my money but didn't give me the minutes. Customer service was rude and not helpful. They said my minutes were given to someone else and they wouldn't give back my money and wouldn't give me the minutes back. They said I would have to report it as fraud and get my card revoked and get a new one. They made no attempt to rectify their mistake or even apologize. If you're thinking about getting a straight talk phone, go somewhere else. Run as far away from these losers as you can. They will take your money and not give you anything and laugh about it. Run don't walk away from these jerks.
hannahmd Send email
 
Jul 30, 2017

Company theft

Straighttalk overcharged my account nearly $100 and would not reimburse me. My card was not on auto refill and I have only used it once, but they tell me that the charge does not exist although it has already been pulled from my account and is no longer pending.
hannahmd Send email
 
Jul 30, 2017

Fraudulant charges/ company scamming

I have a month to month service with straighttalk, usually I buy a refill card but last month I used my debit card. This month my account was charged $80 by straighttalk. I called to resolve the issue, when I was told my card was used for someone else's account. They would not give me the phone number to this account nor would they take off the money used from my account for the other service account, nor would the reimburse me or compensate for the issue. Instead I was told that nothing could be done because I did not know the phone number of the person who's service was paid for by my debit card. My debit card is fairly new and I have never lost/misplaced it, and straighttalk is the only company who i am currently paying with this card. My advice is to not use this phone company or if you do to only buy refill cards from the store and never to use your own personal debit/credit card. These people are frauds who give out your banking info and will not help if it means they are going to be out some money to make things right.
Linda Sladish Send email
 
Jul 14, 2017

Misrepresent ation

I purchased straight talk 4g phone with extended two he warranty. Phone died and I returned it to straight talk. They sent me another phone. After an hour of try ing to activate phone without success I went to the store where I purchased the original phone. They tried for 90 minutes with a representative of straight talk to activate the phone without success. I was told phone was a 3g network and could not be activated in my area. Now I have to purchase another phone and I guarantee you that it will not be Straight talk. I'm out a phone and warranty. They also said they had no record of sending me the new phone even when I had the paperwork from straight talk. I am sending a letter to the Better business bureau about this company.
Linda Sladish Send email
 
Jul 14, 2017

Phone is boguz

I purchased a straight talk phone two years ago. I bought a two year extended warranty. When my Samsung phone died, I returned it to straight talk. They sent me a cheaper phone with a lesser network. I tried desperately for an hour to transfer my number to the new phone without success. Straight talk representative told me to take the phone to the place I bought it. The representative from that store talked with a straight talk representative for another hour and a half trying to accomplish activation and detainment of old number. Finally straight talk representative said phone could only be used in South America and they had no record of sending me the phone. Now I'm out a phone and I need to purchase another. I WILL NOT BE BUYING STRAIGHT TALK.
Babiegirl23 Send email
 
Jul 13, 2017

Customer service

This is ####hit I paid for time for my phone and i put it on my phone last month n now I have No time when I know I added to time cards last month n this month I talked to someone and they say they can't help me this company is complete bull shit they aren't willing to help a complaining customer to fix the problem or make it a little better. I'm seriously thinking about switching phone companys
motorclocks Send email
 
Jul 8, 2017

Straight talk wireless

Worst customer service ever, very rude, drop calls, transferred my info from one ST phone to another no reception, tried putting my new service back on my old ST phone, they said sim card expired, they sent me new one took 41/2 hrs to get service two days latter phone crashes and they say nothing we can do your phone expired, with my new $45.00 calling card barley used. Never buy Straight talk phone, your a fool if you do
Jensuln Send email
 
Jun 22, 2017

Lost phone, trying to switch over my number to another phone

I have been on the phone for a little over an hour. All I needed to do was to change my number to another phone because I lost it while moving. It took 35 minutes to tell me that they cannot retrieve my account and to call back in 2 hours. I told her I can't so that I am in the process of moving. I have no other phone to use. Then I asked her to talk to a manager, after arguing with her for 10 minutes, she finally said she did. Now, it's been 25 minutes on hold for her boss. This is ridiculous!!! How do you keep customers when your customer service is like this? About to go else where
gogreen33 Send email
 
Jun 16, 2017

data and rude customer service agent

Internet speed slow after replinishing my account and they say I used it up. Lies!!! They rude asf. Put yu on hold and never return to the phone. I so done with straight talk, switching providers asap.
Natosha1990 Send email
 
Jun 14, 2017

Data usage

Ok so I got a new straight talk phone and the 10 gigs at high speed data... Well after one week it slowed down and I also had checked it under their website to see how much data I actually used at the time it stated I had only used 7 gigs of data..wtf? Why is my service being slowed down so fast I just now reached 10 gigs of data but the last 3 gigs were slowed down... This is bull shit.. I just got off the phone with strait talk they said there is nothing that they can doo...hmmm imagine that..this company is a rip off..please call me 4792239444
Myparks33 Send email
 
May 28, 2017

Wifi service and customer service

I just purchased the $55.00 plane 4 days ago and I get an email stating I've used up my service. I have wifi at home and I barely use my service unless I'm at home.. I called a customer service representative I explained the situation to him and he was adamant that I used all my plan up. So I asked to speak to a manager he would not let me. I asked for an corporate number he said it was not one. He became very rude. I hung up.

Last week my husband purchased an new phone and he called the customer service number. He had a long wait and then when a female representative got on line she was so rude to him. He had his phone on speaker so I could hear the conversation. I told him to ask to speak to the manager. She placed him on hold a total of 5 times for long periods of time. This process lasted for about 2 hours. Than she was rude to him once the activation was complete.
tme1919 Send email
 
May 23, 2017

Shortcode

I was unable to receive text messages from a certain individual due to shortcodes being blocked by Straight Talk. I called them to tell them to unblock certain shortcodes and they did not. Here's what happened: called in from my straight talk phone, was told to resume call on another line so we could trouble shoot my phone. The connection was spotty, but I was able to understand enough and I hung up the phone and waited to be called back on the other line. Pick up the other line and the connection is still terrible ( I am on a landline at this point, not a cell phone.) The woman speaking to me identified herself as Julia. I couldn't understand her troubleshooting instructions because of a faulty connection. Then she started shouting at me. I couldn't understand what she was saying, only that she was shouting. So I shouted back and told her that shouting wasn't going to help. Finally the connection began to improve, and I was able to understand a bit of what she was trying to tell me. I say a bit because it turns out the bad communication wasn't only the result of a faulty connection. She had a very garbled manner of speaking and it was difficult to understand her instructions. She takes me through a series of troubleshooting methods only to conclude my SIM card wasn't working and that I needed to purchase a new one. I was able to send text messages just fine earlier in the morning, it was just that one person I couldn't receive them from. (About an hour or so after hanging up, I was able to make calls and receive texts) I told her I wanted to speak to another customer service rep and she said hold on, she would transfer. I waited and she said "the call is over. You can hang up." I was shocked because she told me she was going to transfer me! I lost my temper at that point and have been logging complaints about this situation in any manner that I can ever since we hung up.The customer service of this company is TERRIBLE. The representatives aren't trained properly and they are rude. Do not use this company. There are other pre-paid services out there that can be used instead. And to Julia, if by some fluke you happen to see this, you REALLY need to learn how to respect people. How you treated me was completely unacceptable and you should be ashamed to have conducted yourself in such a manner. Learn some respect!
DeeGail123 Send email
 
May 19, 2017

Fruadulent Charges from Sraight Talk

There is a large fraudulent charge on my bank account from Straight Talk -- they are unwilling to help me out... machines answer their phone and you can't get to a customer service rep, an agent, or to their fraud department without a phone number. Online chat person told me she can't help me because she has limited access!! Email not answered either.

They don't check the cards being used to pay for their services, they just shove them through -- they help the criminal, but don't do anything to help the innocent victim.

DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY -- THEY ARE UNETHICAL; they don't even follow their own terms and conditions with regards to security.
Shanna Send email
 
May 12, 2017

Phoe number change

I ave paid for service with straight talk for apx 2 . I am requesting a phone number change immedaitly .reardles reaching max amount number change. I should not have to explain.. The why.. I pay for service. What If an stalker situation exists. I pay your business for a service you provide. No explanation required. Please assist.
Evelyn mcgarity Send email
 
May 8, 2017

Not happy with this company liars

Phone needed new sim card so they sent one the wrong one spoke to 6 different ppl about problem and was told they would give me 30 day service back to my phone then they charged me for another sim car all in all I got 5 sim cards mailed to me finally received one that worked when I paid for a new sim straight talk didn't even acknowledge that they sent me the card this company doesn't have English ppl that you can understand when all was done I was given 3 days of service a waste of time and my money they are a bunch of liars and each of them are supervisers
Cynthia1217 Send email
 
May 3, 2017

FED UP. LETTER TO PUC

To Whom It May Concern, 5/2/2017

I am writing this because I need to have a situation with a cell phone company resolved and no one else seems to be able to handle this complaint.
Back in June of 2016 I was on a live chat with straight talk cell phone company, I asked the lady I was speaking with if I could use my Galaxy On5 with their company in the "bring your own phone" plan. The lady asked me for the phones information, I gave it to her.
She was on hold for 2 minutes and came back and basically she said " yes this phone can be used all you have to do is go and buy an activation kit to start service. I said ok great " She told me the activation kit was 99 cents but if you buy it online at our website you have to buy a service plan with it. Now most people would assume the activation kit has everything in it to start service with a company.
I went to Walmart where they sell straight talk (they are the only ones besides 7-11 who sell straight talk) and I looked for the activation kit. The only one I saw was 60 dollars. 65 Dollars with tax and so forth. I had to buy it because the Galaxy was the only phone I had. So I bought it and took it home.
I tried to use the sims cards that were available in it and nothing worked. I called straight talk and talked to a individual. I explained that none of the sims cards were not working, they asked what phone I had and I said Galaxy On5 and I gave her all the information for it.
She said oh no that one does not work on our network because its a 4G and our network is 3G. I said ok what do I do with this activation kit now? They wont take it back at walmart since its been opened and I dont have another phone to use. She actually said I dont know go by another phone?
I hung up, I finally had a friend let me borrow their phone and I went to another company and got service. I called Straight talk Corporate and tried to talk to the "managers" again and explain the situation, all they kept saying is..we will refund your money but we need proof you paid for the kit.
One lady named Jennifer said can you send me a copy of the receipt? I said yes of course and she gave me her email address. Well I sent the receipt to her email. She then called back and said ok I need the service pin number, I said whats that? she said the time card I said ok why? She said well because thats what you paid for.
I said excuse me I was quoted a price, when Im quoted a price thats the price I expect to pay , and she said well yeah but a service card costs more then 99 cents, I said yeah but that doesnt matter. When a rep from a company tells a customer "activation kit is 99 cents" thats the price you are expecting to pay and you cant raise the price when you get in the store.
Its called bait n switch and its against the law. Well no one at straight talk seems to realize what Im trying to tell them. As a matter of fact I get managers who say...well a sims card is 99 cents, you want a sims card? I say excuse me first of all, I am no longer WITH straight talk after they ripped me off and second.....I was not quoted "sims card" I was not quoted "service plan".
Can someone PLEASE explain to STRAIGHT TALK that IF you are quoted "activation KIT (which most people assume includes everything you need to get service started) is .99 cents" thats the PRICE you are expecting to pay. And when its TRIPLE that, its called bait n switch.
So now, its been almost a YEAR of me trying to explain this stuff. Ive talked to Pearline Graham, Jennifer, shelly starkey, and yesterday 5-2-17 I talked to a manager named Carol and none of them seem to realize the situation. Now I feel I am owed not only the 65 dollars back but INTEREST for a YEAR of trying to WORK this out.
Straight talk even keeps saying "well when you send it back we will pay you back" I said yeah thats not going to happen for only one reason. A year before I had bought a service plan that goes with a free phone off their website straight talk .com. I got the phone and I got the service plan in the mail (UPS).
I activated the phone, and started using it and all of a sudden the service was cut off, it took me 3 weeks to get the service back and I was not given back the time I lost, the next month I decided I wanted to try another phone because the one I got free was defective. I went on their website again and bought a service plan and got a phone free.
Same thing happened with this phone. So I called, they said well what do you want us to do about it? I said excuse me? I want my service that I paid for BACK. They said, we dont just give service, we arent giving you free service, I said Free? I PAID for it. They denied I paid for it. I talked to a lady named Maria T on facebook, She said, ok send me proof you paid for this stuff because it says here we already gave you free service.
So I sent her pictures of the boxes it came in, tracking numbers, order number, the phones, and the time cards and the invoice, ALL proving I paid for this stuff, she never responded back, I kept saying hello are you here? I never got a response. I called straight talk, and Jennifer (yes same jennifer) said no we gave you free service and it ended on this date.
I said no you didnt I got the proof right here I got all the stuff to show I paid for it not to mention a bank statement that proves it, Jennifer hung up on me. I called and tried to talk to people and all of a suddent, NO communication. I went to the BBB and explained to them what happened. Straight talk even tried to tell them THEY gave me free service that I never paid for it.
So I went to my bank and reported it as fraud, it took my bank a month and said ok we found in your favor here is the 98 dollars they owe you. So thats why I wont send them ANYTHING back and expect money back. They lie and they steal and they deny everything even when you give them proof.
So now something needs to be done. Period. I am not out money again and straight talk doesnt seem to care.
Mobigdogstatus@yahoo.com Send email
 
Apr 24, 2017

iPhone 5 unlock

Can't unlock iPhone and I paid 649 and I want to change services please contact me at 3376020674
Joseph1113 Send email
 
Apr 21, 2017

Account Verifittion

Been with Straight Talk for some time now. Receved letter asking I update credit card information. Person anwsering my call had all my information right infront of them, then asks for information I don;t have. What the hell, all I want to do is provide the new experation date and three letter code. If I don't hear from you soon I'll go to ATT again.
RTIRVIN Send email
 
Apr 18, 2017

I WANT A REFUND BECAUSE MY PHONE DOES NOT OPERATE

I HAVE BEEN A CUSTOMER OF STRAIGHT TALK FOR ABOUT 2 MONTHS AND SERVICE HAS ALWAYS BEEN A PROBLEM.
I PURCHASED STRAIGHT AT A WAL-MART STORE ... MADISON STREET STORE IN CLARKSVILLE, TN
I TOLD WAL-MART CLERK THAT I HAD BEEN A CUSTOMER AT METRO PCS AND HAD THEIR SMART PHONE.
I WANTED TO KNOW WAS IT POSSIBLE TO GET STRAIGHT TALK SERVICE ON A METRO PCS PHONE ...
I WAS TOLD THAT I COULD GET STRAIGHT TALK ON THE METRO PCS PHONNE.
I HAS A PROBLEM EACH MONTH THAT DATA WAS ADDED BUT I DID GET SERVICE UNTIL APRIL, 2017;
I AND A WAL-MART CLERK IN ELECTRONICS SECTION WAS TOLD BY A STRAIGHT TALK REPRESENTATIVE THAT A STIM
CARD HAD TO BE REMOVED AND A STRAIGHT TALK STIM CARD WAS SENT THROUGH U.S. MAIL TO REPLACE STIM
CARD IN PHONE THAT HAD WORKED UNTIL APRIL, 2017;
I HAD SERVICE BUT THE BATTERY KEPT RUNNING LOW AND RECHARGING DID NO GOOD;
I BROUGHT A NEW BATTERY FOR MY PHONE THE FRIDAY BEFORE EASTER AND THAT BATTERY WOULD NOT CHARGE
MY MONEY WAS RETURNED;
I NOW HAVE NO SERVICE AND WANT A REFUND FOR MY DATA CARD THAT WAS PURCHASED AT WAL-MART THAT
DOES NOT OPERATE;
I AM GOING BACK TO METRO PCS BECAUSE THE SERVICE IS NON EXISTENCE AT STRAIGHT TALK AND NO ONE
CAN CORRECTLY ADDRESS THE PROBLEM;
I HAVE FOUND THE PEOPLE REPRESENTING STRAIGHT TALK DO NOT KNOW WHAT THEY ARE DOING THEREFORE I
WANT MY REFUND.
mauricio Send email
 
Apr 7, 2017

INTERNATIONAL CALLING CARD

I purchased an international calling card unlimited minutes for straight talk from K Mart it worked for a little while then it stopped completely I have called the tech dept which operates out of what country I don't know 25 times and spent at least 8 hours with them trying to resolve this. I get a different story every time from turn your ph on and off and you will be up and running in a few minutes to we have detected suspicious activity on your ph and flagged it . Each time you call these liars they send you to a different dept who will give you a different story. They have no problem cutting you off and one time they told me to wait and a woman started singing.I was finally told I was at their highest corporate level of tech support after about an hour of badgering underlings .Long and short of it they guaranteed I would be up in running in 24 hours so I waited 48 hours just in case no suprises there still didn't work. Called back and they said I had been calling Russia which is another lie who cares anyways was flagged by some overriding system that they had no control over. I am just an average consumer never written a complaint in my life. But now I feel like filing a broad action lawsuit againgst K Mart and whoever straight talk is. Any one with me on this lets do it.
Staceylanea Send email
 
Mar 28, 2017

Porting out without my authorization

So, I pay $45 to add airtime to my straight talk phone. The next day, my phone has no service. I call customer service/tech support and after being on the phone for over 3 hours with 7 different people who tell me that I gave them authorization to port out my phone and discontinue their services. I ask them why I would add airtime one day and then cancel my services the next, they can't give me an answer. Because of their screw up, I have no cell phone and I'm out $45 in which I was also told that I would not receive any refunds.

I call corporate and explain to them my situation, they told me that "it can take several business days to reactivate my phone. " I don't understand this because it only took them seconds to deactivate it without my authorization. I also explained to them that my job is cell phone based and that's how my clients contact me and also that I'm 36 weeks pregnant and having mild contractions... in simplified form, I let them know that if I don't have a cell then I lose money and an emergency may arise. And of course, I get their scripted "I understand".

If anyone is thinking about using the cell services of Straight Talk.... I would advise you to think again. And to those that already have their service, I wish you the best of luck
Leslie Marie Send email
 
Mar 18, 2017

Violation of rights

Purchase a take my on kit last week from Wal-Mart.Ok phone worked everyhing went well unti 4 days later phone off.Call Straight talk customer service.explain they had to reactivate my phone and to take the sims card out and wait 5 minute the phone should be working.Which it didn't call back thw next day rep rude hanging up aaying we deactivate your phone because you violated calling 800 number.I tried to explain check my phone record thats not true.Was told we cant do anything but you can go bye another sim card and plan.No thats not cheap I only use my phone 1 week.Help anybody!!

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    McDonald's malaysia - HAPPY MEAL
    KECEWAAAA.. MANA SAYA PUNYA MAINAN HAPPY MEAL .. BUAT APA...
    Panasonic Elga L2 - mobile lost
    Name:sagar Gaikwad Mobile :Panasonic elugal l2 IMEI...
    DSTV - Closed contract
    I've been struggling for months to get Dstv...
    Airasia - AirAsia System Cheat
    I have 11 person and I can only buy 9 tickets at 1 time ,...
    ica Singapore - Regarding OJT problem
    I stayed in a hostel which is in geylang , the owner is my...
    Get a room.com - Stole my money
    I made a resarvation and when I tried to cancel they...
    MIBFA - PENSION FUND PAYOUT
    THE CALL CENTRE OF MIBFA IN JHB IS...
    SBI ATM Card - Fghbv
    Need Help related SBI Bank Call with Us. Call Customer...
    Hallmark channel - Not enough Diversity
    Actually there is no diversity. There is a severe lack of...
    Samsung note 3 neo - Stolen
    I lost my phone IMEI number 351665065395472 My number...

    Share this site with others

         
          

    Recently Updated Complaints

    McDonald's malaysia - HAPPY MEAL
    KECEWAAAA.. MANA SAYA PUNYA MAINAN HAPPY MEAL .. BUAT APA...
    Panasonic Elga L2 - mobile lost
    Name:sagar Gaikwad Mobile :Panasonic elugal l2 IMEI...
    DSTV - Closed contract
    I've been struggling for months to get Dstv...
    Airasia - AirAsia System Cheat
    I have 11 person and I can only buy 9 tickets at 1 time ,...
    ica Singapore - Regarding OJT problem
    I stayed in a hostel which is in geylang , the owner is my...
    Get a room.com - Stole my money
    I made a resarvation and when I tried to cancel they...
    MIBFA - PENSION FUND PAYOUT
    THE CALL CENTRE OF MIBFA IN JHB IS...
    SBI ATM Card - Fghbv
    Need Help related SBI Bank Call with Us. Call Customer...
    Hallmark channel - Not enough Diversity
    Actually there is no diversity. There is a severe lack of...
    Samsung note 3 neo - Stolen
    I lost my phone IMEI number 351665065395472 My number...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username