Submit a Complaint

Sun Communities

United States,
Michigan

Consumer complaints and reviews about Sun Communities

Fulltime2004 Send email
 
Jun 27, 2019

Spanish Main RV

For over 3 months I have complained about multiple power outages thru my surge protector. They refuse to fix the line. I have been given the run around, lied to, told I purchased too good of a power surge protector. Other people in the park have issues, but apparently I am the only one having 20+ outages a day. Doesn’t matter much when I’m at work, but weekends are hell. Today I was lied to again.

I’ve done the research, my surge protector is good. No one in corporate will return calls or messages either. I’m done. Moving this weekend

Pam Powers
Full timer since 2004
Dialtonesr Send email
 
Jun 10, 2019

general Corporte Issues

This Shelby Forest Park was the finest facilities under the former owner!
Jerry managed this park with true professional skills; however, the new owner "Sun Communities" is something else. Just take a look at Rudgate in Sterling Heights, we lived at this park, and take a look at Camelot Villa in Macomb Township.

We purchased a manufactured home from the former owners last year and if we knew "Sun" was purchasing the Park we would never have purchased our home at Shelby Forest!

Today "Sun" claims they have no information on us so "we do not live at Shelby Forest" and "yet they cash our monthly check since their take over in February 2019". Keep in mind the former owner(s) left all the information of all 945 tenants. I can go on and on about "Sun"

Shame that the "Park Office" employees make many of us not welcomed as a previous owners make us feel very welcome.

Not the way to treat US Citizens and veterans
Dialtonesr Send email
 
Jun 10, 2019

general Corporte Issues

This Shelby Forest Park Shelby Township, Michigan was one of the finest facilities under the former owner!
Jerry managed this park with true professional skills; however, the new owner "Sun Communities" is something else. Just take a look at Rudgate in Sterling Heights, we lived at this park, and take a look at Camelot Villa in Macomb Township.

We purchased a manufactured home from the former owners last year and if we knew "Sun" was purchasing the Park we would never have purchased our home at Shelby Forest!

Today "Sun" claims they have no information on us so "we do not live at Shelby Forest" and "yet they cash our monthly check since their take over in February 2019". Keep in mind the former owner(s) left all the information of all 945 tenants. I can go on and on about "Sun"

Shame that the "Park Office" employees make many of us not welcomed as a previous owners make us feel very welcome.
Do not waste your time checking this Firms Park Properties out! Go somewhere else.

Not the way to treat US Citizens and veterans
Banderson98 Send email
 
May 8, 2019

Sun communities

Bought a trailer 3 years ago. Water stands in our yard year round. It will rain for 3 days straight and they will still put notices out to cut grass. Been here for 3 years all of a sudden this year they are saying they are going to make us pay to treat our grass. I took pictures of the park behind us that doesnt have treated grass and 2 trailers next to us that are empty with no treated grass. They say your not allowed to park on the street but everyone does especially on the curves where you can get hit. Depends on who you are if they will put a tow sticker on your car. I also have pictures of an office lady who always parks her car on the street that lives here. When we bought our trailer they had to replace our dishwasher then after the 30 days our air conditioner didn't work we had to pay for a brand new unit. Found out when we got the ac fixed that our furnace had been leaking carbon monoxide in our house all winter( we moved in November) found out in June. So before winter got here we had to get 1,000s of dollars worth of work on our furnace. Our fridge was all rusted out at the bottom. They charge an ungodly amount for lot rent amd use NONE of the money to put back into the trailers or for land maintenance. We have lived here for 3 years and they havent used a penny to do any kind of maintenance on the land that we rent. They scam low income customers by giving them really low rent the first year then triple and quadruple it the following years so they get evicted. They never put salt down or plow the drives I. The winter. We always have 5 Inches of ice due to snow compacting down because they dont plow or salt. I also have pictures of the playground with weeds half way up the trash can and pulls. Will complain if our grass is a half an inch high but wont mow their part until it's up to your knees.
HEDI HASSELE Send email
 
May 2, 2019

EVICTED TENANTS MOVING BACK IN

IN 2018 WE HAD A COUPLE EVICTED WITH TWO BABIES IT TOOK ALMOST A YEAR FOR THE LAWYERS. NOW THE SAME COUPLE IS MOVING BACK IN WITH RELATIEVES,SINCE ALL THE NAYBORS ARE GONE UP NORTH THIS IS NOT ACCEPTABLE,
IN A 55 PLUS COMMUNITY,I WOULD APPRICIATE IF IT WOULD BE TAKING CARE OF BEFORE IT TAKES ANOTHER YEAR

THANK YOU SO MUCH

HEDI HASSELE

BLUE HERRON PINES # 195
PUNTA GORDA FL.
33950
Janeth Send email
 
Nov 14, 2018

Improper Company Charges

This community is covered by a prospectus, last filed in Florida on 10/22/2014. After Sun Communities took over, they filed an amendment for a new cover page with changes on who receives rent (filed 1/17/2017). Since then, they have changed 3 pages in the prospectus on their own increasing certain fees (late charges and background fees). We have a resident who has been in this park for 6 years and bought a different mobile home in the same park. Even though he has a prospectus saying that a background check costs $25.000 per person, he was charged a new rate of $40. per person. It is a shame that he even needed to be checked again after living here for 6 years (moved in under Carefree). If other parks know of them breaking these laws please file a complaint.
henry 68 Send email
 
Nov 2, 2018

smoking and drinking

I would like to know suns official policy on smoking and drinking in the park.No one seems to have the same answer.
kmsusko Send email
 
Oct 26, 2018

Harassment and unfair practices

Do you live in SUN community? Are you being harassed by management? Are you being harassed by other residents and management does nothing about it? Are you being treated poorly and unfairly? Are you sick and tired of it? Please join us, we are setting up a nation wide class action lawsuit against SUN community. PLEASE join our Facebook page “No Longer A Victim” for more information and to discuss with other members all the issues of Sun community. We need to unite & band together, join us & help us teach Sun Community a very harsh lesson.
Delores Garcia Send email
 
Oct 24, 2018

Sun Communities/Saddlebrook

I have been living here at Saddlebrook for four years and purchased my home two years ago but every year my lot rent and my water bill is getting outrage. My lot rent goes up $100 every year if i stay here for 5 more years I average i wont be able to afford to live here.I live on social security n live by myself but my water bill is not fair for the billing ive been getting. Do not understand why youll dont take consideration on elderly who buy here and looks like you are pushing us out by the outragious billing.I still have 8 more years to pay my home dont know if i w can be able to continue here.I keep my yard clean follow all rules and regulations have no criminal background but i guess thats not enough to keep in consideration to keep renters n people like me who purchase a home im very sad about this situation
simbasi Send email
 
Sep 24, 2018

Deposit Refund

After making a $300.00 US deposit for the upcoming 2018-19 winter season at Glen Haven RV Resort in Zephyrhills, we find we are unable to head South this winter. I notified the park of this and just received my refund today, LESS 33%. That's right, $300.00 less $100.00. I gave them two months notice and even told them we would return next year. Well, Sun Communities, that will be the last dollar you will ever receive from me. We have spent eight years in this park, and there will be no ninth.
Patricia Burr Hoeppner Bannerman Send email
 
Sep 13, 2018

Rules

Motor Home with 5 adults, 2 young children and 4 dogs, they have an old non running pick up.with tow strap.still attached, bed of pickup full of junk. They leave trash bags outside on ground, this draws, rats, possum, raccoons. Nothing being done, after numerous complaints. Landscaping around lot not completed, management stated a day it would be started, that day came and went. No follow through with rules on flyer, why even waste time to print and hand out. Manager talks good story, but no follow through. Will not be purchasing in a SUN COMMUNITY as planned.
skynardh Send email
 
Aug 31, 2018

lot rent

we purchased a home in emerald coast rv park in panama city beach paying a very high lot rent was 930 a month next to lake when purchased I asked about the increase per year was told 2 percent got the new prospectis its goin up 70 a month way more than 2 percent studied hard about paying 930 now going up that much this coming year whats next looking to move cant sell no one will pay that kind of rent I made a bad mistake like the place but way to high an no control over there rate increase there are many others unhappy here location can only go sofar going to price them selfs out of buisness
Betty O'Connor Send email
 
Aug 9, 2018

Grass cutting

We have complained several times to management about the grass cutting services provided. We have pictures and witnesses to the grass all over our house, car, carport and flower beds. We have pictures of the oil stain on the sidewalk that we pay to have pressure washed when they changed the oil in the mower and spilled it on the sidewalk. When my husband asked the man cutting the grass to cut the grass to discharge away from our house, car, etc. he cut half out front lawn and left it that way. He then proceeded to ride past 3 times and looked at the lawn and our house. He was very rude and nasty.

We put fresh mulch down every Spring only to have it covered with grass clippings.

I have shown these pictures to management and also to the man I was told was in charge, Chris. Nothing has changed.

I was told to document all this in writing and when they cut the grass along side our car and perhaps throw a stone up and break a car window or damage our car, then our attorney can and will step in.

We have lived here over 20 years, have both served on the HOA Board and have never had to complain about anything until now.
Patty1022 Send email
 
Aug 3, 2018

Mean upper management

Look out middle Florida Gena may is new in town and she's looking to fire good people who work for sun community.if your a manager or work in the offices at the resort beaware you can't please Gena May she will run you out even if your doing a good job many managers have quit or asked to transfer out of the Tampa area resorts because of this over zellus
Micro managing, and rude behavior, twards the employees that run the resorts. someone in the corporate office should take a look at this issue no one should be that mean to other employees it's not rite or fair I feel sorry for all employees in her district.
klc076 Send email
 
Jun 23, 2018

Practices

No accountability, gouging lot rent, unethical...….
rlevesque1 Send email
 
May 20, 2018

corporate greed

You can go to attorney general of the united states website and fill oiut a form to let them what is going on in the communities that this companies and file complaints if enough people get togather then action will be taked against Sun Corp.
rlevesque1 Send email
 
May 20, 2018

it is too late for me. I am looking for land

Sun Communities is falling behind in the housing industry. All of the dealers are giving land ownership with their homes. This Idea was floted to the
company 8 years ago. I have had nothing but trouble in the last 5 yrs with various managers. It is time for my move.
whatswrong Send email
 
Apr 28, 2018

unfair billing sun communitiss

we reside in buttonwood bay rv resort in sebring fl. it is a 55+rv/park model community owned by sun communities, inc. we own our own home and rent the lot. in july we were notified that the annual rent would be $4543 for the10/01/2017 thru 09/30/2018 season, payable in 7 equal payments of $649. when sun communities changed to a 12 month payment schedule in 2018, starting on your purchase annirversary date, it left some residents paying significantly more than the $4543 previously quoted rate for the 2017-2018 season, some overpaying more than $2000.the rate for the 2018 -2019 season, effective 10/01/2018 thru 09/30/2019 for all residents has already been determined $4776, which is significantly less than some paid for the previous year. due to their bookkeeping methods, overcharges for the 2017-2018 season occurred. sun communities refused to acknowledge these excess charges.
whatswrong Send email
 
Apr 27, 2018

UNFAIR 7&5 BILLING BUTTONWOOD BAY

WE RESIDE IN BUTTONWOOD BAY RV RESORT IN SEBRING FL. IT IS A 55+RV/PARK MODEL COMMUNITY OWNED BY SUN COMMUNITIES,INC.WE OWN OUR HOME AND RENT THE LOT. IN JULY WE WERE NOTIFIED THAT THE ANNUAL RENT WOULD BE $4543.00 FOR THE 10/01/2017 THROUGH 09/30/2018 SEASON, PAYABLE IN SEVEN EQUAL PAYMENTS OF $649.00. WHEN SUN COMMUNITIES CHANGED TO A 12 MONTH PAYMENT SCHEDULE IN 2018, STARTING ON YOUR PURCHASE ANNIVERSARY DATE, IT LEFT SOME RESIDENTS PAYING SIGNIFICANTLY MORE THAN THE $4543.00 PREVIOUSLY QUOTED RATE FOR THE 2017-18 SEASON, SOME OVERPAYING MORE THAN $2,000.00. THE RATE FOR THE 2018-2019 SEASON EFFECTIVE 10/01/2018 THROUGH 09/30/2019 FOR ALL RESIDENTS HAS ALREADY BEEN DETERMINED WHICH IS $4776.00, WHICH IS SIGNIFICANTLY LESS THAN SOME PAID FOR THE PREVIOUS YEAR. DUE TO THEIR BOOK KEEPING METHODS, OVERCHARGES FOR THE 2017/2018 SEASON OCCURRED. SUN COMMUNITIES REFUSED TO ACKNOWLEDGE THESE EXCESS CHARGES.
RockPrincess Send email
 
Apr 21, 2018

Poor management

I have lived here for 12 years now it was a great community until the last two managers. But Christine Noble is the worst. While she hires people to do her job she spends her time riding around being lazy, harassing people and goes to lunch with her trouble making resident friends. (Isn't that against sun communities policy?) She contradicts herself. Says one thing then goes against what she just said. I believe she is a huge liability. Hiring people for cheap , most aren't licensed or bonded. Even has a elderly man burning weeds for her. He almost caught the park on fire. He had to stomp it out because he had nothing to put it out. She harasses people for one little weed but says nothing to her friends that have dumpsters in front of their house. Or a cross in front of the house. It looks tacky but Christine will not say a wordto them. She focuses on other people. Its gotten so bad that two people have died from the stress that they couldn't focus on their cancer treatment. I advised the family to sue Christine Noble and Sun communities for allowing her to continue to be a bully.A bully who is lazy , lies, and takes credit for thing she didnt even do. Shame on Sun Communities for even trusting her. I have so much on her but I will wait till I need to use it. . Vet, elderly, and cancer patients come to use for help. not her. Like I said she is a liability and a con artist. It's now become dangerous in this park. Lots of residents are fed up.She tries to enforce rules but doesn't give violations to her friends who violate the rule. So the rules are a joke to everyone .what a idiot. What she's been here over a year and can't even read the meters. Has to have a maintenance man come from another town. How hard is it to read a frickin meter. Lazy lazy lazy. You sun communities hired this lazy idiot. It gotten to where it now been blasted on social media. Yeah have fun with that. . here's a quote from the police That lady sure has a God complex. Boy they got that right.. I will never recommend sun communities or resorts to anyone
RockPrincess Send email
 
Apr 21, 2018

Bad management

To start off the manager contradicts herself. Says one thing then turns around and says something else. All she's good at doing is bullying, copy and paste and sitting on her butt. She hires residents to do her job. An elderly man she had burning for her almost caught the park on fire. He had to stomp the fire out. It ok for residents friends to violate rules but gives violations to others. This is bullshit!!! Dumpster in front yard, crosses in front yard just to name a few thing. This it tacky
Instead she give violations for little weeds instead giving them to her trashy resident friends that she goes to lunch with. I thought was against your manager policy? 2 people have died and I believe from the stress of this crazy manager. I informed to family they should sue for allowing us crap to continue. I bet you don't know what's really going on because she is good at being a liar. How hires people with no license or bond. She does. Sick of the wishy washy woman. She's got to go. Lazy lazy lazy!!!!! I've got so much stuff on her. But I will wait. She is a huge liability to Sun communities. I will never recommend anyone to buy any sun community park or resorts. This use to be a amazing place to live. Very sad it's gone to crap
cruz5748 Send email
 
Apr 19, 2018

Harrassment and treats

I lived at the Ridge Community for almost 7 years now, and never had any issues until Sun Communities Inc. bought the place. I had a trampoline for about 6 months on my yard until one day I just receive a notice to remove it, I call the office to find out why,and the mananger just told me that I can't have a trampoline because is a yard improvement and if I dont removed it in 2 days they were going to fine me for it, because is the landbelongs to them even if I paid for it she was really disrespectful the way she speak to me.she also said is in the contract, but as far as I know I never sign a contract with sun communities. I took out the trampoline because of her threat, after that everything was good, but they started with my next door neighbor until she sell and move out. Now they turned on to me again, I have 3 car at my house 2 that belongs to each of my daughters and one mines. when someone visit me and they park infront of my house, and now they saying that no one can park there. not only for 5 minutes, it sucks no even during day time, they dont want anyone park at the clubhouse neather the office so where the hell they want the visit to park. I need someone to come to my house to renovated inside but how I'm going to do it with this stupid management in this place.I even stop going to the pool , because they also hired a lady to watch the pool and that lady just look every single step you take, and on top of that,she brings her husband and daughter to help her. The lot rent is very high and on top of that they dont do any maintenance on the patio, and every year the lot goes up, mostly 30 dollars every year. This company only wants money they dont care about anything else. The only thing they do is harass you until you decide to leave so you can sell them your mobile home in a cheap price so they can resale. I had notice that they dont act this way with everyone they chose their victims. I will NEVER refer no one to live in a community that this company own.
sharonwas Send email
 
Apr 8, 2018

Nonpayment for repairs

My tenant had water problems in her mobile home. She is ill and had no water for 15 days. Her toilets would not flush and she could not bathe or get water from her faucets. I had to hire my own plumbers for 2,083 dollars to rectify the problems. Britton from Calla Point got charged with handling the problem. She stated there would be a refund because they were fixing pipes in the area and there was sediment in the pipes. Our sediment went throughout the faucets which all had to be replaced.

Britton is of no help. She will not answer E-mails or contact me as to what is going on. She is the General Manager of these properties. It is futile dealing with her. I will be going to small claims court against Britton and Sun Communities. This company and the people running it are not good. They don't care about the people living in the parks. Our previous owner was 100 percent better at solving peoples problems. The rents keep going up every year with no added benefits. They don't respond to anyone. REMEMBER IF THERE ARE NO RESIDENT'S SUN COMMUNITIES WILL GO DOWN THE TUBES. The word is out...fire the do nothings and get people in there who care about its residents. I will also report them to the health department for letting the situation go for so long with an ill resident not having any water. They will pay for what they did and so will Britton for not returning answers to my questions.
rlevesque1 Send email
 
Mar 12, 2018

Forced mowing

Our community is force mowing the tenants in a two day notice. Most of the tenants do mow but it is mostly on the weekends. The manager seems to force all the time. If
I didn't know better I think the manager is getting a kickback from the mowing service.
slbond Send email
 
Mar 1, 2018

Maintenance

I recently purchased a home with Sun Communities in Ypsilanti, Michigan and there were numerous maintenance isssues that needed to be addressed including my furnace. I recently had someone come out to check the furnace Sun Communities supposedly repaired, and was told the the carbon monoxide levels were EXTREMELY high and the furnace needed replacing. I was advised by the inspector to leave the home or open the windows.

It is also very difficult to get in touch with management for them to complete the necessary work needed.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    uif - UIF Payments and submissions not validated
    Good day Please can you help with the above and...
    Multichoice DSTV - BAD SERVICE
    BAD SERVICE THE STAFF DO NOT NOW WHAT THEY ARE DOING. I...
    reserve bank complaints board - my matter pending over month ago
    Reserve bank complaints board my (RESOLVED ) matter 4...
    Hallmark channel - Bring Back Cheers!!
    Why was Cheers removed from your channel? Cheers is a...
    usell - I phone
    While I was conducting a deal with the Usell company, I...
    Impulse Products - Uif claim rejected
    Hi, my contract ended at my previous employer. Now...
    McDonald's - STAFF MCDONALD'S KURANG AJAR
    Pada jam 12:32 malam hari ini, tarikh 19/9/2019 saya telah...
    BMTC - Rude behaviour of conductor
    I have taken the BMTC bus no. KA 01 F 0086 from garebhavi...
    Fraud - Unauthorized account withdrawals
    I NEVER AUTHORIZED ANYONE FROM THIS COMPANY TO TAKE ANY...
    McDonalds Meru Raya DT - Budak Langsi
    Sorry la saya cakap tolonglah tegur crew awak tu untuk...

    Recently Updated Complaints

    uif - UIF Payments and submissions not validated
    Good day Please can you help with the above and...
    Multichoice DSTV - BAD SERVICE
    BAD SERVICE THE STAFF DO NOT NOW WHAT THEY ARE DOING. I...
    reserve bank complaints board - my matter pending over month ago
    Reserve bank complaints board my (RESOLVED ) matter 4...
    Hallmark channel - Bring Back Cheers!!
    Why was Cheers removed from your channel? Cheers is a...
    usell - I phone
    While I was conducting a deal with the Usell company, I...
    Impulse Products - Uif claim rejected
    Hi, my contract ended at my previous employer. Now...
    McDonald's - STAFF MCDONALD'S KURANG AJAR
    Pada jam 12:32 malam hari ini, tarikh 19/9/2019 saya telah...
    BMTC - Rude behaviour of conductor
    I have taken the BMTC bus no. KA 01 F 0086 from garebhavi...
    Fraud - Unauthorized account withdrawals
    I NEVER AUTHORIZED ANYONE FROM THIS COMPANY TO TAKE ANY...
    McDonalds Meru Raya DT - Budak Langsi
    Sorry la saya cakap tolonglah tegur crew awak tu untuk...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username