Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Sun Communities

United States,

Consumer complaints and reviews about Sun Communities

rlevesque1 Send email
Mar 12, 2018

Forced mowing

Our community is force mowing the tenants in a two day notice. Most of the tenants do mow but it is mostly on the weekends. The manager seems to force all the time. If
I didn't know better I think the manager is getting a kickback from the mowing service.
slbond Send email
Mar 1, 2018


I recently purchased a home with Sun Communities in Ypsilanti, Michigan and there were numerous maintenance isssues that needed to be addressed including my furnace. I recently had someone come out to check the furnace Sun Communities supposedly repaired, and was told the the carbon monoxide levels were EXTREMELY high and the furnace needed replacing. I was advised by the inspector to leave the home or open the windows.

It is also very difficult to get in touch with management for them to complete the necessary work needed.
R. Lebalnc Send email
Feb 24, 2018


Here we go: Bought our place in Apr. 2015. Previous owner had paid up for the year which ended on Apr.1. Our first payment for the place being Oct 1 2016. Year schedule is Oct.1 thru Apr. 1 with a 7 and 5 agreement. On to 2018 Sun homes says no more 7/5 we need to move you to 12 month schedule Your first payment will stat May 1 at 575 per mth. even though we have already paid until Oct. A 5 month money grab of 2800. plus dollars. If we don't pay they threaten us with eviction. This is the type of company you are dealing with. Sun Communities is not your friend. Buyer beware. I wish there was a web site where we could unite and fight this company but I fear they are too powerful for us.
cheeky53 Send email
Feb 17, 2018

highway robbery

2014 SUN came out with an offer for an upgraded rv site with a shed in exchange for a 2 year rate starting Oct 1st 2014 on a 6/6 rolling rate. People signed up for the promo before heading home in April and paid deposits for the 1st months rent in Oct. Sites were upgraded over the summer/fall and people moved onto them when they came for the 2014/2015 season. At the end of the 2 year rate we just carried on as a 6/6 Oct through March and keeping our trailer on site for the time we were back home.These sign up agreements expired with the 1st rate increase for Oct 2016. Fast forward to 2018 and SUN has decided to change the payment schedule to 12 monthly payments but instead of applying the start date to October they claim we have an "anniversary" date of April and are starting it then after we've already paid for 6 full months that INCLUDES 6 months of leaving the rv on site. So they are trying to get an additional 2000.00 ( approx. depending on your rate ). April was simply the date people signed up, sites were not constructed and nobody was even on them! HUGE rip off as over 125 site upgrades were done so that is a minimum of 250,000.00 SUN is hoping to gain over this scam!
Stay away from a SUN owned anything! They will tempt you with offers and promises but change things after you get into their park.
Tazz Send email
Feb 9, 2018

harrassment, manager trespass and is 2 face

harassment by management against our elderly, vets, our alternative folks, (married same sex ladies).
too much to list, I am done.
please email me with subject: class action, im in! or it will get blocked as spam.
i've lived at forest meadows for 12 years and it has got so bad that the Nazi camp is in for a rude awaking!
email me please I need your stories and evidence.
msdthomas Send email
Feb 3, 2018

Sun Community

This community has been a living hell since I first moved into this place beginning April 2017 =10 months I have never seen such poor management they don't care about the residents they bill you what ever they feel when they feel like adding fees making up charges. I have been charged 3 x for the same water bill they never give you a straight answer and really don't care weather you disagree or not they just say pay or additional charges will be added Including legal fees well SUN COMMUNITY it's high time the tables turn you all cannot treat people wrong and expect them to just continue with your mess, except it. I have receipts showing paid a stamp on it declaring amount paid in full but yet I get a letter from the office stating I have a balance due. It took you all 8 months to tell me I still owe from a July water bill that you lost the money order,it took you 3 months from that to tell me about it the first time well I ended up paying again because you all harass people until some just give up well now it's time for all the residents to stand up together and located the proper legal help to put a stop to the actions that Sun Communities is doing to the residents that thought they were living in a place that they thought was peaceful respectful, law abiding well think twice before you subject yourself, your family to the scandals you will endure.

MrsPinky67 Send email
Feb 2, 2018


We have been discriminated against since the day we moved to this community
We were told it was a gated community yet they leave the gates open all day.
We still feel it is false advertising - and we feel bad to the older residents here that usta have a gate attendant and now have nothing.
The Lot fees keep going up but the amenities keep decreasing.
When I file complaints about issues they are not answered properly.
I have reported them to the state - and now Sun will only allow this resident to contact get responses from them 1 ONCE a month.
This is the only time I have been professionally assaulted by a company.
They are Corp America Company BULLIES
If you are sick of treatment - we are in the process of seeking justice
This is a NATION WIDE request
PLEASE contact us - we will give you more information
rosi1rose@yahoo.com Send email
Jan 28, 2018

HOA fees

I do not understand why my lot rent has been going up every year. As a homeowner they do not cut the lawn or do maintenance on the property. I called and they told me it was for the upkeep of the office and pool, playground. When you pay an HOA fee it should include all outside maintenance. We pay more in HOA fees that some of the more elegant homes in some communities. Can anyone tell me what do they do for home owners??????
Louval Send email
Dec 30, 2017

Backyard lawn

We pay extra for our rent for prime lot.we have complained more then once about the lawn it’s gone down to dirt I have pest control come and they say it’s sinch bug .when we moved here the lawn was beautiful well you should see it now.we feel we shouldn’t be paying extra on our lot rent for this lawn it keeps spreading but nobody seems to care.what are you going to do before it destroys the rest of our lawn89
FredC Send email
Dec 30, 2017

Deceptive sales practices

Sun Communities – sales practices that are deceptive, misleading, and bordering on the unethical.
I just returned to where I’m staying in Zephyrhills, FL after a very bad experience at Sweetwater, one of your communities here. My application for occupancy was approved and my offer on a home was accepted for $15,000. After I had written a down payment check and asked what other charges were involved Bonnie Kae told me she wouldn’t know until she put the final figures in for the closing. Huh?
I pressed her on sales tax and she again said she couldn’t tell me an amount until the final figures had been entered. Finally she said it was 7%. Even I could figure out that the amount was $1,050.
What other additional expenses? $250 for a title transfer. OK, I can live with that.
Anything else? Just the commission. And how much is that? Again she didn’t know until she put the final figures in the computer at closing. When pressed, she finally said it was 10%. What? A buyer paying a 10% commission? Another $1,500?
So after I had written the down payment check on what I thought was the perfect winter home for me, I found out it wasn’t going to cost me $15,000, but $17,800. And if I hadn’t asked and pressed for answers, I wouldn’t have known that until closing.
As I said – sales practices that are deceptive, misleading, and bordering on the unethical.
brynnash65 Send email
Dec 11, 2017

Westbrook Mobile home park

I find it amazing that when it snows you can't get the roads salted because the person who does this wasn't told to salt. WTH why does a grown man need to be told the roads are slippery,because of them not salting at the curve by my house a car went off the road and hit the home on the corner,It looks like the car could be totaled block watch lady ( what a joke ) said it was a hit and skip. The person who hit the home called her insurance right away,cope were called,can't file a report on private property but guess everyone knows everything. ( NOT ) .It is a joke in here can't salt the roads management lies never fixes what they say they will it's a joke in here wouldn't tell anyone to move in here.
Sharee Kline Send email
Dec 7, 2017

Water Bill J&B

I have lived in my community for almost 18 years
And I have never received a water bill for almost
$100.00 for one month. When I ask the Manager Nicole Slominski how this could be possible? Her response was maybe you have a water leak, maybe your toilet runs all the time, oh ya our person was out sick with Kidney stones so the meter reading didnt get done for 6 weeks. Then another resident went in and ask why is my water bill continue to get higher each month same excuses but the person who did the readings was out with the flu! If your going to lie you should at least try to keep the same reasons!!! Arbor Woods is the community! Very disappointed since Sun Homes bought this Manufactured home Community!!!!!
apeysue Send email
Dec 6, 2017

Lot rent almost the same as mortage

I have lived in Summit Ridge, a park owned by Sun Homes since 2010. In 2012 I made the dumbest mistake of my life. I decided to go from being a renter to a home owner. In 2012 the lot rent was 380 per month. It is now 512 per month. My mortgage is only 540 a month. This is absurb! The management says that they can't do anything about it. That there is no cap. So that means every year my rent will increase 20 per month until the end of time. Trying to talk to anyway at the corporate level is a joke.
I am currently trying to sell my home to get the hell out of this park. And there is the rub, the sales manager refuses to call you back to discuss the options to sell. And if you try to sell to a private buyer, they have to be approved by the park to move in. Sure they can buy the home, but they might not get to live in their newly purchased home if the community manager denies their application. So while the house is on the market I am required to pay the full lot rent and I don't even live there. I am paying rent on an apartment as well as the cost of this house that is draining me dry. Stay away! Stay far, far away. That is the best advice I can give you here.
irishgal2017 Send email
Nov 16, 2017

Sun Homes Communities

I have been reading the complaints that people have made against Sun Homes. I live in the North East and am new to Sun Homes communities and see that the same complaints are company-wide, which it too bad and there is not much we can do. Rent increase every year! This year is was $20 increase per month! Nothing is ever their fault but always the tenants’ fault even when they do the work! There is a double standard between how tenants are treated and repairs are made. I would never recommend a Sun Homes park to anyone. They want the rent check combined with the water bill and I will not do it. They also would like to have us all on automatic payment...not me, I don't trust them so why would I do something like that?

The only way we can fight back is to tell everyone about the company and how they abuse their residents.

Remember the Tea Party rebellion? well, maybe it's time we all got to gather and rebelled in each of our own communities...if there are 300 or more homes in a park and they are complaining about grass mowing...I wonder how far they would get mowing all the home sites on a went rainy day. When street signs are on the wrong side of the road and there is an accident, I wonder who's fault it will be? the resident or the visitor who is not use to the quirks of the park? and it goes on and on...

Bottom line.........SUN HOMES is the BULLY of mobile home parks; they are greedy and unreasonable; they indeed are a true nightmare company.
Vinne Send email
Nov 1, 2017

Employee Husband cheating residents

, Water Oak•2d ago
Sue, I think I already did that but no problem I will do that again gladly. His name is Stanley West, His wife and WO employee is Brenda Eavans. So many people have private messaged me that they already knew who I was referring to, so his reputation precedes him. WO ignores me re this situation. Every time I cal Admin to discuss this with them now, I have to leave a message and I do just that, and I ask them to return my call, to no avail. I spoke with HOA, nothing there either. Guess as long as it does not personally involve them they do not really care to do anything to correct this scammer. I will not ever recommend WO. To anyone because of the indifference we experience. Ha, wanna laugh? WO wanted to fine us for some weeds on our inherited front lawn before all this. We had used two landscapers to keep us in compliance but the first one (Parken ) did not do a good job for us at all and we switched to our current landscaper Andrew Tretter who we highly recommend. Andrew is quick and efficient and very hard working. He does a great job and he is a very respectful, kind, young man. We highly recommend him. We then spent over One thousand dollars on our front lawn. Occasionally we c weeds as does everyone else occasionally. ROUND UP WORKS BUT IT IS NOt magical. Lol. Seniors vs crime knows about Stanley also. They advised me to take legal action and that WO is responsible for protecting us all, keeping these people out of the park, especially if it involves an employee of WO. They do nothing to protect us but we must b screened before we can live here. Does any of this make sense to you? Channel 9 is where we will take this next, expose everyone involved if we get no financial satisfaction much less Responsibility Thank you please spread the word if u agree
anon 53 Send email
Oct 10, 2017

unfair handling of issues

I have a tree that is in very bad shape. Mostly dead. I asked Jeff about it and he was very nonchalant about it. He stated that as far as Sun Homes was concerned if it had green it wasn't dead. There were trees cut down that had a whole lot more green than mine did and some were perfectly fine. It seems like the buddy system going on here. Also the park used to pick up limbs and things but now refuses. A resident should not have to pay someone or put the debris in their own personal vehicles much less that some people are very old and on fixed incomes. The rent keeps going up and the service keeps going down. Maintenance was far superior years back than today and there is zero reason for that. If the maintainance supervisor cannot get the job done maybe replacements should be made.
Mariopa92 Send email
Oct 4, 2017


first of all I like to start off to say that I am a disabled veteran who served this country and uniform and probably would do it all over again. The manager at Hidden River RV Resort her name is Rita. She is one of the most or worst human I've ever met. She talks to you like you're a dog. She threatens to evict you and get rid of you and all kinds of terrible legal things if you don't do what she says. I've never missed my rent I've never bothered anybody I've always done everything right and just because of one little itty bitty thing about my guest she is throwing a fit. After the flood we left because the place was flooded out came back 12 Days Later and paid rent and she charge me for the entire month didn't even prorate it pretty much told me tough we had to come back at night because the temporary place we were staying we had to leave. Now she's threatening to throw me out again because I have a few bins of flooded River clothes outside and a couple of other bins and she's telling me that the site I'm in belongs to somebody else. I've been a resident there for 4 years and this is how she treats a long-term resident that's been there just because one of my guests according to her is not registered but she's been living there for four years and did register with the previous manager. Ever since that she's been threatening to kick us out throw us out arrest is call the police sue us charge me more it's ridiculous she's actually blocked my girlfriend get in the driveway she just yelled at her she's told me mean things it's totally ridiculous and now that we're back after the flood today she's threatening to throw us out again because I have some wet River close underneath the trailer and nice Ben's stacked up nicely just four of them on the side and two of them on the back and after I lost everything in my shed this is how we get treated she's a horrible horrible person and I'm horrible Manatee she has no business being there. I am calling the VA court and I'm going to call the Channel 9 News 10 News 8 news and I'm going to let them know because half more than half the people at the bottom part left because of her mad dog attitude I think maybe she can't help herself cuz sometimes she's nice. very rare and other times she just impossible.
lcharmaigne Send email
Sep 22, 2017

auto pay

Not supplying us with our bills and sweeping our accounts prior to. I keep my money in my savings- once I get my monthly bill- I move the amount billed over into the checking for auto-pay. This month they decided they were getting a new billing company and did not provide the bills but DID sweep my account.

While giving the company the authorization the right to sweep the account- I DO NOT authorize them to do so Carte-Blanche- before telling me how MUCH they are going to sweep it for. I have an aversion to companies not disclosing.

While my bank honored my sweep- it is the first time in 48 years that I have been charged a NSF. $32.00 is not the problem it is the General Principle.

My kids bought this house sight unseen by me- if I could move I would. I have never liked living in a 55+ community and was more than happy with the original owners an management. Sun Communities is not my idea of a professional organization.
GoodwatchPI Send email
Sep 10, 2017

Class A lawsuits

Harrsiment by Sun Communities , Inc.
for unfair practice against Community and owners and rentals properties , increasing unfair rents by more then $200.00 over rental of lease and other inappropriate unfair fee . Maintenance personnel and other workers not getting paid at all . if you are giving a complaint because not thing was begin done and received a notice to leave because management isn't doing they're job
at all , then it's time to bring a Class A lawsuit against Sun Communities ,Inc.
For unfair practice of the laws in Texas against Owners and rental who do paid they lease on time
. They is no excuse for hatred in Management position towards anyone at any given place.
SashaFu Send email
Aug 31, 2017

Purchased by a corporate NIGHTMARE!

I have lived in my community for 15 yrs and WAS happy…UNTIL…Sun bought it and hoisted on us a NIGHTMARE! We used to have a nice clubhouse with activities for everyone, but for almost a year they have been RENOVATING it at an exorbitant cost with no benefit to the residents(or our input) EXCEPT to pass the cost onto us. Soooo, we pay more money and have NO ACTIVITIES. The Managers are walking around like robots of Sun and have no interest or concern as to how this is affecting the residents. Their main interest is ACQUISITION and improvement of their property at NO COST TO THEM, but they reap a huge tax benefit. We have a Residents Committee that has passed our concerns on to Management and Sun. All they have is excuses and we get the 'sit down and shut up' scathing replies from the Corporate office. The person in charge at Sun WILL NOT meet with the residents at one of our meetings so we cannot voice our concerns to them in person. I guess they really don't care what we, the residents, have to say about how things are going. I would like to note that for all the renovation of the clubhouse … it is UNUSEABLE -- the noise from the lack of acoustics is DEAFENING (you can't even hear a conversation when more than 2 people are in the room). I dread to think what it is going to be like when you have 200+ people in attendance, the kitchen in use with the noise from plates/pans, entertainment (if we ever have it again). We have putting greens (18 hole) that are in need of maintenance and have deteriorated, but nothing has been done to put them in good shape. Hell, after all the renovations we ARE NOT GETTING WINDOW COVERINGS. Oh, after all of this, they have decided to put NEW WINDOWS in NEXT YEAR … I would think that would be the FIRST THING DONE before renovating. Our community faces East (Front) and West (Rear) soooo we will bake in the summer and freeze in the winter (drafty windows) and the cost of both Air Conditioning/Heating will rise and, of course, be passed on to us. Our retirement community morale is at an all time LOW. They have also added a weekly PUBLIC BINGO in one of our buildings (we had no say in it). So, now we have all kinds of people coming through our GATED COMMUNITY to play bingo every week. The residents reap no financial benefit and we have YET to hear what money coming in and how it benefits the residents (the residents…for the most part… DO NOT go to this activity …too expensive). I guess Sun hasn't thought about the HUGE LIABILITY this places on the community. Oh, we did get one benefit from it ----- we now have CRIME because unknown strangers can just walk right in and roam about and take what they want off our sites.

SOOOOO if you are planning on moving into a SUN COMMUNITY … THINK, THINK, THINK before you do. In our community, we really wish they NEVER BOUGHT us. But, hey, it's a business RIGHT??
Williamdavisjd@gmail.com Send email
Jul 12, 2017

Sun properties

DO NOT MOVE IN HERE!!! Sun properties Buford Ga. is by far the worst property management company I have ever least from. Placed the rent check in the night deposit on 7-4-17. Today 7-11-17 I received a late rent notice on my door? Went to the office to be told I was short $5.00, and they were charging me an additional $55.00 in late fees. I admit my math was off. We always pay our rent on time. A simple notice and the 5.00 would have been paid with in 24 hrs ( the original check was over 1200.00 for July )
Last year rent was 976.00. I will not renew a year lease, or purchase a home from them. so, we are month to month.( 45.00 rent increase, and an additional 75.00 a month for not signing a lease) They charge us 24.75 per
Month in administrative fees before we use the first drop of water. ( thats rediculous ) Rent is not concidered paid in full, unless the water is included. ( 2 separate bills, 2 separate services ) There is a ramp built to our porch ( prior to us moving in ) when it rains it is very slick. My entire family has fall at least once, myself included. Went to the office the 2nd time my wife fell and was talking to the guy at the counter when the manager came out of her office with her dog, and the only thing she wanted to know was if we rent or own as she continued out the front door with her dog. Wrote an incident report on a blank piece of paper the office personal provided, ( I do have a copy ) they did send 2 maintenance guys over. I explained the situation again, and told them a couple of pieces of non skid would correct the issue, they agreed. This was several moths ago. And still nothing. That only tells me that management would rather deal with medical bills and law suits than to spend a few dollars!
This is a gated facility. We have lived here over 2 years and I have only had to use my gate card 4 time to gain access. there are several other issues I just don't have time. DO NOT MOVE IN HERE!!!
Mochatini Send email
Mar 31, 2017

Resident Relations

I've lived in Orange Tree Village in Florida since 2003. The lot rent has more than doubled. It has forced some people to move.
We have had a string of managers, most of whom were not professional managers; some were rude; one was really good.

Currently, we have a manager who enjoys handing out violations. I received a violation for having cats who were not tied up and not registered. My cat is registered and never goes outside. This manager made an assumption that the strays who were laying in the yard or in the carport or wherever they were around my home were mine.

As others have said, some of the rules are absurd and should be changed. As it is, all rules are not enforced for all people. Someone else mentioned the issue of dogs; I've seen large dogs in the park who are well over the weight limit. Personally, if dogs are well-behaved, I don't care how big they are but I was prevented from getting a dog my mom wanted when we first moved in. Rules are enforced for some and not for others.

There are now some people in the park who cause lots of problems for neighbors. One I know about has screamed and yelled obscenities at neighbors. Management should be dealing with this but she doesn't.

I would suggest that anyone planning on moving into a Sun Community check it out completely before you do. I have sent a message to the CEO about these and other issues. Our park has changed over the years as has the organization itself and not for the better.
kverschuren Send email
Feb 20, 2017

Lot rent increases

We have lived in the "Kings Court" mobile home Park since 1998 and have NEVER been late on our lot rent, keep our home, inside and outside immaculate and every year our lot rent is increased. An increase every year of $240.00 a year is ridiculous. You give discount incentives to new people moving in for two or three years so you raise our lot rent to make up for it.

When we first moved in our water and sewer fees were included in the lot rent and now we have to pay for that as well as the yearly increases.

I know you are probably going to try to say that the increases are to help maintain the park. Well, we our responsible to maintain our own lawns and if we want our driveway resealed we our now responsible for that also. I have not seen any improvements to this park that could validate the amount of the yearly increase.
Pastoral Send email
Feb 15, 2017

Mobile home park

Sun communities has offered 70 million for this mobile home park which includes 4 gas wells, small shopping center, and a small mobile home park in Cleveland Ohio on brook park road . It has a pending epa enforcement action pending against this park concerning the sewage system.The monthly rent from all entities is 1 million.
I praise God that sun communities never gets its hands on this park.
jpnova Send email
Jan 22, 2017

held captive

I am trying to sell my mobile home in Deerwood mobile home park and I had several buyers. Both buyers had the cash and were ready to take over the lot. But before they can they must be approved by management to live there. Both buyers got back to me letting me know they were denied from living in Deerwood. Well the deals fell through and now I am now looking for other buyers. the problem is I can't get them pass the management of deerwood to accept them. The reasons they are being declined entrance are really petty. Give me a break Deerwood LET ME OUT!

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code


    Recently Updated Complaints

    Planet Fitness - No Fox News
    Planet Fitness to remove Fox News and not give their...
    US Pharmacy - Harrasing phone calls from US pharmacy
    6 to 8 calls a day for 4 years now! One person posted...
    Gambler Tobacco - Dry. Old date
    Bought Gambler pipe tobacco. Old date. Dry
    Uk Mobile Lottery - scam emails and mobile call
    i did received phone call from this number +61412598516...
    Pizza Hut - toilets
    On several occasions my boy and I have gone to this store...
    HERTZ ITALIANA SPA ROMA - Unauthorized charge
    I am complaining same as most of people wrote here. I...
    Prometric TALLAHASSEE FLORIDA - Anonymous Complaint
    Prometric - Anonymous Complaint
    Sedgwick CMS - Insurance with CPS
    You are the worst insurance representatives I have...
    Al ansari travel card - Refund
    I have been billed 208.95 dated on 21 March 2018 I...

    Share this site with others


    Recently Updated Complaints

    Planet Fitness - No Fox News
    Planet Fitness to remove Fox News and not give their...
    US Pharmacy - Harrasing phone calls from US pharmacy
    6 to 8 calls a day for 4 years now! One person posted...
    Gambler Tobacco - Dry. Old date
    Bought Gambler pipe tobacco. Old date. Dry
    Uk Mobile Lottery - scam emails and mobile call
    i did received phone call from this number +61412598516...
    Pizza Hut - toilets
    On several occasions my boy and I have gone to this store...
    HERTZ ITALIANA SPA ROMA - Unauthorized charge
    I am complaining same as most of people wrote here. I...
    Prometric TALLAHASSEE FLORIDA - Anonymous Complaint
    Prometric - Anonymous Complaint
    Sedgwick CMS - Insurance with CPS
    You are the worst insurance representatives I have...
    Al ansari travel card - Refund
    I have been billed 208.95 dated on 21 March 2018 I...

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    E-mail address:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username