Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Sun Communities

United States,
Michigan

Consumer complaints and reviews about Sun Communities

klc076 Send email
 
Jun 23, 2018

Practices

No accountability, gouging lot rent, unethical...….
rlevesque1 Send email
 
May 20, 2018

corporate greed

You can go to attorney general of the united states website and fill oiut a form to let them what is going on in the communities that this companies and file complaints if enough people get togather then action will be taked against Sun Corp.
rlevesque1 Send email
 
May 20, 2018

it is too late for me. I am looking for land

Sun Communities is falling behind in the housing industry. All of the dealers are giving land ownership with their homes. This Idea was floted to the
company 8 years ago. I have had nothing but trouble in the last 5 yrs with various managers. It is time for my move.
whatswrong Send email
 
Apr 28, 2018

unfair billing sun communitiss

we reside in buttonwood bay rv resort in sebring fl. it is a 55+rv/park model community owned by sun communities, inc. we own our own home and rent the lot. in july we were notified that the annual rent would be $4543 for the10/01/2017 thru 09/30/2018 season, payable in 7 equal payments of $649. when sun communities changed to a 12 month payment schedule in 2018, starting on your purchase annirversary date, it left some residents paying significantly more than the $4543 previously quoted rate for the 2017-2018 season, some overpaying more than $2000.the rate for the 2018 -2019 season, effective 10/01/2018 thru 09/30/2019 for all residents has already been determined $4776, which is significantly less than some paid for the previous year. due to their bookkeeping methods, overcharges for the 2017-2018 season occurred. sun communities refused to acknowledge these excess charges.
whatswrong Send email
 
Apr 27, 2018

UNFAIR 7&5 BILLING BUTTONWOOD BAY

WE RESIDE IN BUTTONWOOD BAY RV RESORT IN SEBRING FL. IT IS A 55+RV/PARK MODEL COMMUNITY OWNED BY SUN COMMUNITIES,INC.WE OWN OUR HOME AND RENT THE LOT. IN JULY WE WERE NOTIFIED THAT THE ANNUAL RENT WOULD BE $4543.00 FOR THE 10/01/2017 THROUGH 09/30/2018 SEASON, PAYABLE IN SEVEN EQUAL PAYMENTS OF $649.00. WHEN SUN COMMUNITIES CHANGED TO A 12 MONTH PAYMENT SCHEDULE IN 2018, STARTING ON YOUR PURCHASE ANNIVERSARY DATE, IT LEFT SOME RESIDENTS PAYING SIGNIFICANTLY MORE THAN THE $4543.00 PREVIOUSLY QUOTED RATE FOR THE 2017-18 SEASON, SOME OVERPAYING MORE THAN $2,000.00. THE RATE FOR THE 2018-2019 SEASON EFFECTIVE 10/01/2018 THROUGH 09/30/2019 FOR ALL RESIDENTS HAS ALREADY BEEN DETERMINED WHICH IS $4776.00, WHICH IS SIGNIFICANTLY LESS THAN SOME PAID FOR THE PREVIOUS YEAR. DUE TO THEIR BOOK KEEPING METHODS, OVERCHARGES FOR THE 2017/2018 SEASON OCCURRED. SUN COMMUNITIES REFUSED TO ACKNOWLEDGE THESE EXCESS CHARGES.
RockPrincess Send email
 
Apr 21, 2018

Poor management

I have lived here for 12 years now it was a great community until the last two managers. But Christine Noble is the worst. While she hires people to do her job she spends her time riding around being lazy, harassing people and goes to lunch with her trouble making resident friends. (Isn't that against sun communities policy?) She contradicts herself. Says one thing then goes against what she just said. I believe she is a huge liability. Hiring people for cheap , most aren't licensed or bonded. Even has a elderly man burning weeds for her. He almost caught the park on fire. He had to stomp it out because he had nothing to put it out. She harasses people for one little weed but says nothing to her friends that have dumpsters in front of their house. Or a cross in front of the house. It looks tacky but Christine will not say a wordto them. She focuses on other people. Its gotten so bad that two people have died from the stress that they couldn't focus on their cancer treatment. I advised the family to sue Christine Noble and Sun communities for allowing her to continue to be a bully.A bully who is lazy , lies, and takes credit for thing she didnt even do. Shame on Sun Communities for even trusting her. I have so much on her but I will wait till I need to use it. . Vet, elderly, and cancer patients come to use for help. not her. Like I said she is a liability and a con artist. It's now become dangerous in this park. Lots of residents are fed up.She tries to enforce rules but doesn't give violations to her friends who violate the rule. So the rules are a joke to everyone .what a idiot. What she's been here over a year and can't even read the meters. Has to have a maintenance man come from another town. How hard is it to read a frickin meter. Lazy lazy lazy. You sun communities hired this lazy idiot. It gotten to where it now been blasted on social media. Yeah have fun with that. . here's a quote from the police That lady sure has a God complex. Boy they got that right.. I will never recommend sun communities or resorts to anyone
RockPrincess Send email
 
Apr 21, 2018

Bad management

To start off the manager contradicts herself. Says one thing then turns around and says something else. All she's good at doing is bullying, copy and paste and sitting on her butt. She hires residents to do her job. An elderly man she had burning for her almost caught the park on fire. He had to stomp the fire out. It ok for residents friends to violate rules but gives violations to others. This is bullshit!!! Dumpster in front yard, crosses in front yard just to name a few thing. This it tacky
Instead she give violations for little weeds instead giving them to her trashy resident friends that she goes to lunch with. I thought was against your manager policy? 2 people have died and I believe from the stress of this crazy manager. I informed to family they should sue for allowing us crap to continue. I bet you don't know what's really going on because she is good at being a liar. How hires people with no license or bond. She does. Sick of the wishy washy woman. She's got to go. Lazy lazy lazy!!!!! I've got so much stuff on her. But I will wait. She is a huge liability to Sun communities. I will never recommend anyone to buy any sun community park or resorts. This use to be a amazing place to live. Very sad it's gone to crap
cruz5748 Send email
 
Apr 19, 2018

Harrassment and treats

I lived at the Ridge Community for almost 7 years now, and never had any issues until Sun Communities Inc. bought the place. I had a trampoline for about 6 months on my yard until one day I just receive a notice to remove it, I call the office to find out why,and the mananger just told me that I can't have a trampoline because is a yard improvement and if I dont removed it in 2 days they were going to fine me for it, because is the landbelongs to them even if I paid for it she was really disrespectful the way she speak to me.she also said is in the contract, but as far as I know I never sign a contract with sun communities. I took out the trampoline because of her threat, after that everything was good, but they started with my next door neighbor until she sell and move out. Now they turned on to me again, I have 3 car at my house 2 that belongs to each of my daughters and one mines. when someone visit me and they park infront of my house, and now they saying that no one can park there. not only for 5 minutes, it sucks no even during day time, they dont want anyone park at the clubhouse neather the office so where the hell they want the visit to park. I need someone to come to my house to renovated inside but how I'm going to do it with this stupid management in this place.I even stop going to the pool , because they also hired a lady to watch the pool and that lady just look every single step you take, and on top of that,she brings her husband and daughter to help her. The lot rent is very high and on top of that they dont do any maintenance on the patio, and every year the lot goes up, mostly 30 dollars every year. This company only wants money they dont care about anything else. The only thing they do is harass you until you decide to leave so you can sell them your mobile home in a cheap price so they can resale. I had notice that they dont act this way with everyone they chose their victims. I will NEVER refer no one to live in a community that this company own.
sharonwas Send email
 
Apr 8, 2018

Nonpayment for repairs

My tenant had water problems in her mobile home. She is ill and had no water for 15 days. Her toilets would not flush and she could not bathe or get water from her faucets. I had to hire my own plumbers for 2,083 dollars to rectify the problems. Britton from Calla Point got charged with handling the problem. She stated there would be a refund because they were fixing pipes in the area and there was sediment in the pipes. Our sediment went throughout the faucets which all had to be replaced.

Britton is of no help. She will not answer E-mails or contact me as to what is going on. She is the General Manager of these properties. It is futile dealing with her. I will be going to small claims court against Britton and Sun Communities. This company and the people running it are not good. They don't care about the people living in the parks. Our previous owner was 100 percent better at solving peoples problems. The rents keep going up every year with no added benefits. They don't respond to anyone. REMEMBER IF THERE ARE NO RESIDENT'S SUN COMMUNITIES WILL GO DOWN THE TUBES. The word is out...fire the do nothings and get people in there who care about its residents. I will also report them to the health department for letting the situation go for so long with an ill resident not having any water. They will pay for what they did and so will Britton for not returning answers to my questions.
rlevesque1 Send email
 
Mar 12, 2018

Forced mowing

Our community is force mowing the tenants in a two day notice. Most of the tenants do mow but it is mostly on the weekends. The manager seems to force all the time. If
I didn't know better I think the manager is getting a kickback from the mowing service.
slbond Send email
 
Mar 1, 2018

Maintenance

I recently purchased a home with Sun Communities in Ypsilanti, Michigan and there were numerous maintenance isssues that needed to be addressed including my furnace. I recently had someone come out to check the furnace Sun Communities supposedly repaired, and was told the the carbon monoxide levels were EXTREMELY high and the furnace needed replacing. I was advised by the inspector to leave the home or open the windows.

It is also very difficult to get in touch with management for them to complete the necessary work needed.
R. Lebalnc Send email
 
Feb 24, 2018

Overcharge

Here we go: Bought our place in Apr. 2015. Previous owner had paid up for the year which ended on Apr.1. Our first payment for the place being Oct 1 2016. Year schedule is Oct.1 thru Apr. 1 with a 7 and 5 agreement. On to 2018 Sun homes says no more 7/5 we need to move you to 12 month schedule Your first payment will stat May 1 at 575 per mth. even though we have already paid until Oct. A 5 month money grab of 2800. plus dollars. If we don't pay they threaten us with eviction. This is the type of company you are dealing with. Sun Communities is not your friend. Buyer beware. I wish there was a web site where we could unite and fight this company but I fear they are too powerful for us.
cheeky53 Send email
 
Feb 17, 2018

highway robbery

2014 SUN came out with an offer for an upgraded rv site with a shed in exchange for a 2 year rate starting Oct 1st 2014 on a 6/6 rolling rate. People signed up for the promo before heading home in April and paid deposits for the 1st months rent in Oct. Sites were upgraded over the summer/fall and people moved onto them when they came for the 2014/2015 season. At the end of the 2 year rate we just carried on as a 6/6 Oct through March and keeping our trailer on site for the time we were back home.These sign up agreements expired with the 1st rate increase for Oct 2016. Fast forward to 2018 and SUN has decided to change the payment schedule to 12 monthly payments but instead of applying the start date to October they claim we have an "anniversary" date of April and are starting it then after we've already paid for 6 full months that INCLUDES 6 months of leaving the rv on site. So they are trying to get an additional 2000.00 ( approx. depending on your rate ). April was simply the date people signed up, sites were not constructed and nobody was even on them! HUGE rip off as over 125 site upgrades were done so that is a minimum of 250,000.00 SUN is hoping to gain over this scam!
Stay away from a SUN owned anything! They will tempt you with offers and promises but change things after you get into their park.
Tazz Send email
 
Feb 9, 2018

harrassment, manager trespass and is 2 face

harassment by management against our elderly, vets, our alternative folks, (married same sex ladies).
too much to list, I am done.
please email me with subject: class action, im in! or it will get blocked as spam.
i've lived at forest meadows for 12 years and it has got so bad that the Nazi camp is in for a rude awaking!
email me please I need your stories and evidence.
msdthomas Send email
 
Feb 3, 2018

Sun Community

This community has been a living hell since I first moved into this place beginning April 2017 =10 months I have never seen such poor management they don't care about the residents they bill you what ever they feel when they feel like adding fees making up charges. I have been charged 3 x for the same water bill they never give you a straight answer and really don't care weather you disagree or not they just say pay or additional charges will be added Including legal fees well SUN COMMUNITY it's high time the tables turn you all cannot treat people wrong and expect them to just continue with your mess, except it. I have receipts showing paid a stamp on it declaring amount paid in full but yet I get a letter from the office stating I have a balance due. It took you all 8 months to tell me I still owe from a July water bill that you lost the money order,it took you 3 months from that to tell me about it the first time well I ended up paying again because you all harass people until some just give up well now it's time for all the residents to stand up together and located the proper legal help to put a stop to the actions that Sun Communities is doing to the residents that thought they were living in a place that they thought was peaceful respectful, law abiding well think twice before you subject yourself, your family to the scandals you will endure.

Misfortunes
MrsPinky67 Send email
 
Feb 2, 2018

Misteatment

We have been discriminated against since the day we moved to this community
We were told it was a gated community yet they leave the gates open all day.
We still feel it is false advertising - and we feel bad to the older residents here that usta have a gate attendant and now have nothing.
The Lot fees keep going up but the amenities keep decreasing.
When I file complaints about issues they are not answered properly.
I have reported them to the state - and now Sun will only allow this resident to contact get responses from them 1 ONCE a month.
This is the only time I have been professionally assaulted by a company.
They are Corp America Company BULLIES
If you are sick of treatment - we are in the process of seeking justice
This is a NATION WIDE request
PLEASE contact us - we will give you more information
rosi1rose@yahoo.com Send email
 
Jan 28, 2018

HOA fees

I do not understand why my lot rent has been going up every year. As a homeowner they do not cut the lawn or do maintenance on the property. I called and they told me it was for the upkeep of the office and pool, playground. When you pay an HOA fee it should include all outside maintenance. We pay more in HOA fees that some of the more elegant homes in some communities. Can anyone tell me what do they do for home owners??????
Louval Send email
 
Dec 30, 2017

Backyard lawn

We pay extra for our rent for prime lot.we have complained more then once about the lawn it’s gone down to dirt I have pest control come and they say it’s sinch bug .when we moved here the lawn was beautiful well you should see it now.we feel we shouldn’t be paying extra on our lot rent for this lawn it keeps spreading but nobody seems to care.what are you going to do before it destroys the rest of our lawn89
FredC Send email
 
Dec 30, 2017

Deceptive sales practices

Sun Communities – sales practices that are deceptive, misleading, and bordering on the unethical.
I just returned to where I’m staying in Zephyrhills, FL after a very bad experience at Sweetwater, one of your communities here. My application for occupancy was approved and my offer on a home was accepted for $15,000. After I had written a down payment check and asked what other charges were involved Bonnie Kae told me she wouldn’t know until she put the final figures in for the closing. Huh?
I pressed her on sales tax and she again said she couldn’t tell me an amount until the final figures had been entered. Finally she said it was 7%. Even I could figure out that the amount was $1,050.
What other additional expenses? $250 for a title transfer. OK, I can live with that.
Anything else? Just the commission. And how much is that? Again she didn’t know until she put the final figures in the computer at closing. When pressed, she finally said it was 10%. What? A buyer paying a 10% commission? Another $1,500?
So after I had written the down payment check on what I thought was the perfect winter home for me, I found out it wasn’t going to cost me $15,000, but $17,800. And if I hadn’t asked and pressed for answers, I wouldn’t have known that until closing.
As I said – sales practices that are deceptive, misleading, and bordering on the unethical.
brynnash65 Send email
 
Dec 11, 2017

Westbrook Mobile home park

I find it amazing that when it snows you can't get the roads salted because the person who does this wasn't told to salt. WTH why does a grown man need to be told the roads are slippery,because of them not salting at the curve by my house a car went off the road and hit the home on the corner,It looks like the car could be totaled block watch lady ( what a joke ) said it was a hit and skip. The person who hit the home called her insurance right away,cope were called,can't file a report on private property but guess everyone knows everything. ( NOT ) .It is a joke in here can't salt the roads management lies never fixes what they say they will it's a joke in here wouldn't tell anyone to move in here.
Sharee Kline Send email
 
Dec 7, 2017

Water Bill J&B

I have lived in my community for almost 18 years
And I have never received a water bill for almost
$100.00 for one month. When I ask the Manager Nicole Slominski how this could be possible? Her response was maybe you have a water leak, maybe your toilet runs all the time, oh ya our person was out sick with Kidney stones so the meter reading didnt get done for 6 weeks. Then another resident went in and ask why is my water bill continue to get higher each month same excuses but the person who did the readings was out with the flu! If your going to lie you should at least try to keep the same reasons!!! Arbor Woods is the community! Very disappointed since Sun Homes bought this Manufactured home Community!!!!!
apeysue Send email
 
Dec 6, 2017

Lot rent almost the same as mortage

I have lived in Summit Ridge, a park owned by Sun Homes since 2010. In 2012 I made the dumbest mistake of my life. I decided to go from being a renter to a home owner. In 2012 the lot rent was 380 per month. It is now 512 per month. My mortgage is only 540 a month. This is absurb! The management says that they can't do anything about it. That there is no cap. So that means every year my rent will increase 20 per month until the end of time. Trying to talk to anyway at the corporate level is a joke.
I am currently trying to sell my home to get the hell out of this park. And there is the rub, the sales manager refuses to call you back to discuss the options to sell. And if you try to sell to a private buyer, they have to be approved by the park to move in. Sure they can buy the home, but they might not get to live in their newly purchased home if the community manager denies their application. So while the house is on the market I am required to pay the full lot rent and I don't even live there. I am paying rent on an apartment as well as the cost of this house that is draining me dry. Stay away! Stay far, far away. That is the best advice I can give you here.
irishgal2017 Send email
 
Nov 16, 2017

Sun Homes Communities

I have been reading the complaints that people have made against Sun Homes. I live in the North East and am new to Sun Homes communities and see that the same complaints are company-wide, which it too bad and there is not much we can do. Rent increase every year! This year is was $20 increase per month! Nothing is ever their fault but always the tenants’ fault even when they do the work! There is a double standard between how tenants are treated and repairs are made. I would never recommend a Sun Homes park to anyone. They want the rent check combined with the water bill and I will not do it. They also would like to have us all on automatic payment...not me, I don't trust them so why would I do something like that?

The only way we can fight back is to tell everyone about the company and how they abuse their residents.

Remember the Tea Party rebellion? well, maybe it's time we all got to gather and rebelled in each of our own communities...if there are 300 or more homes in a park and they are complaining about grass mowing...I wonder how far they would get mowing all the home sites on a went rainy day. When street signs are on the wrong side of the road and there is an accident, I wonder who's fault it will be? the resident or the visitor who is not use to the quirks of the park? and it goes on and on...

Bottom line.........SUN HOMES is the BULLY of mobile home parks; they are greedy and unreasonable; they indeed are a true nightmare company.
Vinne Send email
 
Nov 1, 2017

Employee Husband cheating residents

, Water Oak•2d ago
Sue, I think I already did that but no problem I will do that again gladly. His name is Stanley West, His wife and WO employee is Brenda Eavans. So many people have private messaged me that they already knew who I was referring to, so his reputation precedes him. WO ignores me re this situation. Every time I cal Admin to discuss this with them now, I have to leave a message and I do just that, and I ask them to return my call, to no avail. I spoke with HOA, nothing there either. Guess as long as it does not personally involve them they do not really care to do anything to correct this scammer. I will not ever recommend WO. To anyone because of the indifference we experience. Ha, wanna laugh? WO wanted to fine us for some weeds on our inherited front lawn before all this. We had used two landscapers to keep us in compliance but the first one (Parken ) did not do a good job for us at all and we switched to our current landscaper Andrew Tretter who we highly recommend. Andrew is quick and efficient and very hard working. He does a great job and he is a very respectful, kind, young man. We highly recommend him. We then spent over One thousand dollars on our front lawn. Occasionally we c weeds as does everyone else occasionally. ROUND UP WORKS BUT IT IS NOt magical. Lol. Seniors vs crime knows about Stanley also. They advised me to take legal action and that WO is responsible for protecting us all, keeping these people out of the park, especially if it involves an employee of WO. They do nothing to protect us but we must b screened before we can live here. Does any of this make sense to you? Channel 9 is where we will take this next, expose everyone involved if we get no financial satisfaction much less Responsibility Thank you please spread the word if u agree
anon 53 Send email
 
Oct 10, 2017

unfair handling of issues

I have a tree that is in very bad shape. Mostly dead. I asked Jeff about it and he was very nonchalant about it. He stated that as far as Sun Homes was concerned if it had green it wasn't dead. There were trees cut down that had a whole lot more green than mine did and some were perfectly fine. It seems like the buddy system going on here. Also the park used to pick up limbs and things but now refuses. A resident should not have to pay someone or put the debris in their own personal vehicles much less that some people are very old and on fixed incomes. The rent keeps going up and the service keeps going down. Maintenance was far superior years back than today and there is zero reason for that. If the maintainance supervisor cannot get the job done maybe replacements should be made.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    POS LAJU - Late Delivery & Poor Service
    I am suppose to receive a parcel but have not received it...
    Hallmark channel - Bombardment of Christmas shows all year
    I pay extra money each month to see Murder She Wrote,...
    POS MALAYSIA - no tracking number, no information about my parcel at all
    Hello. Pos laju please update my parcel. It was sent at...
    Audi Company - verdadero o falso?
    me llego un correo de que gane un audi Q7 2018 modelo. y $...
    Parcel hub shah alam - Item stuck at Parcel Hub
    Parcel saya stuck dari 12.7.18 hingga harini 16.7.18 di...
    Circle K - Store ows me gas
    I went to get gas at location # 3220 in Cecilia Ky this...
    KFC Malaysia - pekerja kurang ajar
    this happen in kfc indera mahkota 8 kuantan yesterday. the...
    nto solutions reward - solutions VIP Plus
    I noticed this charge appearing on my credit card...
    MICROSOFT *OFFICE 36 MSBILL.INFO AU - Unauthorised transaction of money
    Unauthorised transaction through Microsoft office 36ms...
    A loyal Frasier watcher - Christmas moves replacing frasier
    I love to watch The Golden Girls and Frasier at the end of...

    Share this site with others

         
          

    Recently Updated Complaints

    POS LAJU - Late Delivery & Poor Service
    I am suppose to receive a parcel but have not received it...
    Hallmark channel - Bombardment of Christmas shows all year
    I pay extra money each month to see Murder She Wrote,...
    POS MALAYSIA - no tracking number, no information about my parcel at all
    Hello. Pos laju please update my parcel. It was sent at...
    Audi Company - verdadero o falso?
    me llego un correo de que gane un audi Q7 2018 modelo. y $...
    Parcel hub shah alam - Item stuck at Parcel Hub
    Parcel saya stuck dari 12.7.18 hingga harini 16.7.18 di...
    Circle K - Store ows me gas
    I went to get gas at location # 3220 in Cecilia Ky this...
    KFC Malaysia - pekerja kurang ajar
    this happen in kfc indera mahkota 8 kuantan yesterday. the...
    nto solutions reward - solutions VIP Plus
    I noticed this charge appearing on my credit card...
    MICROSOFT *OFFICE 36 MSBILL.INFO AU - Unauthorised transaction of money
    Unauthorised transaction through Microsoft office 36ms...
    A loyal Frasier watcher - Christmas moves replacing frasier
    I love to watch The Golden Girls and Frasier at the end of...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username