Submit a Complaint

TD Bank

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about TD Bank

[email protected] Send email
 
Mar 21, 2018

TD and Illegal fees on Checking Accts

TD bank continues to RIP off it's customers with illegal fees. TD bank is by far the worst banking institution in the United States. TD bank approves charges when they are not authorized and pushes through payments so they can charge you 35.00$ PER Transaction, without the consumer approval.
TD bank is by far the most unorganized financial institution in the US. They take Fee's, They overdraw your accounts, they blindly try to 'sell' you savings accounts. TD refuses to work with it's long time banking customers. After making a deposit to cover overdraft fees, TD will bring your account up to a positive balance. However, if you wait longer than 24 hours you will be hit with another charge and they will not tell you there for forcing your account into a withdrawn status the following day.
TD has never been anything like good old 'Commerce Bank'. TD does nothing but close branches and make customers drive 30 minutes away from major local cities. Beware, your branch may close at the drop of a 'Dime' if people aren't banging down the door 7 days a week! If your one of the lucky TD customers that have a close branch, then bank at your own risk. TD are theives and hopefully the new Administration will put TD Bank out of Business!
TD SUCKS! Hello ______ nameless new bank!
Beware of unethical charges to your account and practices by TD Bank! Banker Beware!

TD and Illegal fees on Checking Accts

ktknick Send email
 
May 25, 2016

worst bank ever

The overdraft practice is stealing . Reordering an account is not OK my arm card diess not have credit on it so how does one overdraft turn to 5 or ten if you use to bank you for sure will find out. I am only glad my kid did not get ripped off at your coin machines I will have made the biggest problem That they ever had.
M3C Slimjim Send email
 
Feb 27, 2012

Awful bank, stay away

Some of these response suggest they are TD employees.
MJO0403 Send email
 
Feb 27, 2012

Awful bank, stay away

"In case you were wondering TDbank never used any bailout money we take pride in that!" Really???? They didn't need bailout because they steal money from their clients with incorrect and illegal overdraft fees. So if they can make $210 because account was over-drafted once by $5 in single day but prior other 5 purchases on the same day had available balance, they definitely wouldn't need bailout. They are crooks.
DeidreJLopez Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Awful bank, stay away

But to answer your complaint You were denied w/ your request because it is indeed unacceptable ...TD can not depend on your unemployment check...eventually that could stop coming in same thign with SSI check that's not gonna be there forever which means that is an invalid source of income their only following the guidelines and criteria that is set for them surely anyone with sense would understand.
DeidreJLopez Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Awful bank, stay away

In case you were wondering TDbank never used any bailout money we take pride in that!
Kagel Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Awful bank, stay away

On June 24, 2011, I requested a 2-month deferment on my consumer loan (automobile) due to temporary economic hardship as a result of unemployment. Informed that unemployment is NOT AN ACCEPTABLE HARDSHIP, and that I am ineligible for assistance because part or all of my income comes from public assistance in the form of unemployment claim benefits. A bit ironic since I believe that “America’s Most Convenient Bank” benefited from public assistance in the form of the federal bailout funds.
AuntieSpamming Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

OVERDRAFT FEES

ragon - What's the matter, dear? Did they ban you from /b/ again?
Whythelongfaces Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

OVERDRAFT FEES

I want a pair of Coach sneakers and I will pay you next month.
Brenda* Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

OVERDRAFT FEES

I will gladly pay you Tuesday for a hamburger today.
Whythelongfaces Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

OVERDRAFT FEES

OP, what you are doing is called stealing. You are using money on Saturday that you do not have, and depositing Sunday hoping to cover your theft before the bank catches on. Of course they backdate. They pay the charges that came BEFORE hour deposit. Any reasonable person would realize this and stop doing it instead of complaining about the bank. Just because another bank let you get away with stealing does not make this one bad because they say NO.
AuntieSpamming Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

OVERDRAFT FEES

Paul, I bet your mommy is so proud of you!
AuntieSpamming Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

OVERDRAFT FEES

Oh, Paul! How absolutely pragmatic of you!
M3C Slimjim Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

When Banks steal your money

You should be terrified. Elfkin is one of the site administrators.
Maggiemct Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

When Banks steal your money

Oh, dear, I'm so terrified.
M3C Slimjim Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

When Banks steal your money

maggiemct: You're trolling comment wasn't necessary. As the moderator of my3cents, I am going to have to put you on report.
Maggiemct Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

When Banks steal your money

It has nothing to do with race. It has everything to do with you didn't read the sign. Get over yourself -- being white doesn't get you special treatment any more.
Olufe Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

When Banks steal your money

I went into this bank touse the coin counting machine. I used this machine approx. 7 times within the last year. There was never a fee. Now I used the coin counting machine and took my receipt up to the teller (Ashely). The amountwas $111 and some change. She said there is now a 6% fee as they have changed there policy since the last time I was in there. I did not see any sign and asked where does it say that, . She told me on the machine.I went along with the other person I was with and neither one of use saw the sign until now because it was very small (approx.2"x3") I said since I did not know you changed your policy and you charge 6% I want my money back as the bank I have an account with PNC is only a 1/4 mile down the road. She refused to give me my money back as she just TOOK the 6% against my authorization. I said to her "are you just going to take my money without my authorization" and she said "YES". This is the most unethical business move I have ever seen as an adult and I am 57 years old. This woman literally stold my money. I am making this complaint because I dread the day when here in this Country USA that we allow a business especially a Bank to steal your money and nothing is done about it. If this is what this Country is turning into then God help us all. I just want my money back as this woman was a Black woman and I am White. I could see that she is a racist. This woman should not only be fired but she should be arrested for theft.
Rocko1 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

OVERDRAFT FEES

SO here's how TD bank does their business. If five checks are presented for payment on Wed for let's say $200, $100, $50, $25, and $15, and you have a $210 balance in your account on same day, they will ALWAYS present the highest amount check first. This means that your $200 check is deducted FIRST, not your $15 check. Can you figure out why? If they paid least amount first, you'd pay in this scenario, you'd pay one overdraft fee of $35. The way TD does it, you would pay 4 overdraft fees in same scene. Guess which way they have it set up? This is very good business for TD but very shady practice. It's only a matter of time before the rest of the customer base figures this stuff out. It's very simple math, stacked in TD's favor to maximize their profit at our expense. These types of business practices, once discovered by the public, will bring TD bank down.
Maggiemct Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Overdraft Fees

Any time you try to spend money that's not in your account yet, you risk overdraft fees. It's a simple concept.
Gatortracks Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Overdraft Fees

You drew against unavailable funds. That will always result in overdraft penalties.
Ramelle Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Overdraft Fees

Generally, a national bank shall make funds deposited by cash available for withdrawal by the next day—or not later than the business day after the banking day on which the cash is deposited.
Mrsdrayton Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Overdraft Fees

They are still at it. Told me the Federal Reserve told them to hold my cash deposit for 24 hours. Al Capone I am not. Therefore, by holding my funds it created another round of overdraft fees. Really? I have been banking for over 30 years. This reasoning is the first that I have ever been told. Will be seeing them on Saturday. It won't be pretty!
PMDMAM Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

OVERDRAFT FEES

I too had the same issues with TD Bank and it was never because of irresponsibility but because the Bank is greedy and they attempt to get over on all the customers who they can that do not pay attention. I had to begin printing out account balances from the ATM after making cash deposits and/or obtaining deposit balances on paper before making purchases so that if any of this under handed practice were to hit my account I would take it into the branch and they would HAVE to reverse the fees. As many times as they charged me they had to refund me because I know that I had the money to cover ANY transaction that wasd made. Additionaly, there were a couple of times where they made up transactions but when I said let me see them on their computer they didn't know what they were or where they came from. The bottom line is that they think consumers are stupid. Not that I have lots of money but I am not living paycheck to paycheck so to speak. I never had an issue with ANY other bank that I use and I have several accounts with other banks and credit unions. TD Bank deserves EVERYTHING that is coming to them. Glad i closed my accounts with them, consumers remember you have choices!!
AVIG Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

OVERDRAFT FEES

I completely understand what is going on and what TD Bank is doing is technically legal, BUT it will eventually catch up to them. I had a checking account with another bank for 10 years and within those 10 years I never overdrafted-NEVER! I love how when you call TD Bank customer service they tell you that you need to keep a check register and that you dont keep track of your account good enough. Well that's just the thing, I keep track of my account so well that I know when something is going to clear or not. For example: If I use my debit card on Saturday and deposit cash into my account on Sunday (which is not a business day) once they see that I have 5 or 6 items pending the following Tuesday they literally go and backdate and charge $35 on each item and start deducting from the largest to the smallest number (not in chronological order by date of purchase) Once an item is in pending they say they deduct it from your available balance, so I find it amazing that I have an available balance at all times and then BAM my account is negative $200 in overdrafts. Like I said technically what they do is considered legal, but it is just WRONG! They have taken 100's and 100's of dollars from me. I would love to file a class action lawsuit. If there is an attorney out there that would like to take this on, I’m sure if you read all of these complaints we have a case. There is definitely a way to stop them from stealing our money.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username