Submit a Complaint

Timeshare By Owner

United States,
Florida

Consumer complaints and reviews about Timeshare By Owner

tobewon7 Send email
 
May 22, 2015

scam

I was recently contacted by Century Timeshares Group LLC out of Florida saying they had a buyer for my timeshare in Mexico. After reading the complains on this page ,I believe it is a scam. My question is if everyone knows they are doing these scams, why are they not arrested or at lease put out of business??Can someone give me an answer
morris4467 Send email
 
Feb 16, 2015

Timeshares by Owner

I have paid money upfront 2x to sell my timeshare. The 2nd time was against my better judgement. I have been repeatedly called to pay MORE money to get it sold. I have told them I was not paying another dime! The last 2 people I have spoke with have been VERY ruse and disrespectful to me. One was Brent Murray and today it was a female. When I asked her for her name, we conveniently had a bad connection. I got off the phone shaking with her!! She was pushy and kept saying we will just put this money on your card when I had NOT authorized anything. I kept telling her I did not authorize anything and she told me to stop interrupting her. There sales tactics are horrible and I feel they are just taking our money.
Do not get involved with this company. All they want is your money!!!
tbutcher0925 Send email
 
Feb 6, 2015

Century Title and Timeshares by Owner

Century Title said they sold my timeshare and I paid money for title searches, attorney fees, etc. and it was all a scam
I was contacted in November by phone from Erick Etayo at Century title saying they found a buyer for my timeshare. He said he got this from Timeshares by Owner and knew all about me and my timeshare. I did a little checking and found nothing on century title. Seemed to be legitimate. They sent me an email with a guaranteed sales form that I signed, and sent in the cashiers check. I was then contacted back a week later from Erick about having to pay additional money - guess they aren't just happy ripping you off a little bit. I had several heated conversations with him because I was not told up front there would be more money needed from me as the seller. At this point, I just wanted to get this sold and be done with him and Century title and stated that I would be writing and posting about their sales techniques. I sent again to the same address overnight and someone signed for the delivery. Mark Welch from the closing department was supposed to be in touch about paperwork. that was on 12/23. I have been sending them emails, calling several times a day and get no response and an answering machine.
I have filed complaints with the Better business Bureau in orlando, the Federal Trade commission as well as my attorney general's office as recommended by a lawyer. This all takes time but they are not going to get away with this. I just hope this helps save someone else the financial burden. 7512 Dr. Phillips Blvd, Suite 50314 is the address they are using so beware. Also, what was strange was that I haven't heard from Timeshares by Owner in 3 years since I wasted my money with them to advertise and then this call and just last week someone from Timeshares by Owner called and said they have a buyer and they can verify they are valid. I told the guy to remove my name from any list and don't ever call again.
Kwhite Send email
 
Sep 14, 2014

Complaints against Timeshares By Owner

As an employee of Timeshares By Owner, I am appalled at some of the complaints that I am reading about Timeshares By Owner. Many of the complaints are not even individuals that have actually dealt with Timeshares By Owner representatives. Many were contacted by individuals purported to work for Timeshares By Owner. If someone tells you that they have a buyer or renter for your timeshare right now and says that there is a fee associated with that buyer or renter, stay away from that caller. If they tell you they are with the Timeshares By Owner Legal Dept or an attorney for Timeshares By Owner, stay away from that call--- it is an attempt to scam you. Timeshares By Owner is a timeshare resale advertising company that advertises timeshares for both rent and sale and we are the best in the business. We also have sales representatives with integrity and we weed out those that are less than honest (and that happens in every business). We have a fully staffed Customer Service Dept and a Concierge Dept that is here to help and we return all calls if not immediately available. We also have been generating over $1.3 million in offers on a monthly basis. Call us at toll-free (888) 707-8463 or send me an email at [email protected] and don't hide behind a complaint without informing someone of who you are.

Kevin White, Vice-President, Timeshares By Owner
ticked19 Send email
 
Feb 11, 2014

resort protections services crooks

n August 2013 resort protection services contacted me from florida, and they said they were the only company that worked with rci to rent timeshares out. They said they could rent mine out because i was a member of rci, but told me that i wasnt in the program and i would need a one time enrollmemt fee of $1495 to enter the program for life, they sent me a contract, and said they would contact me when they had a renter.

Fast forward to Jan 27th 2014, call left on my voicemail saying they have found a company wanting to rent 8 weeks of my timeshare, and the company is going to pay me $2000 for each week which would be $16000.

All I had to do was tell Dana matthews that I was on board, and that I would have to pay the exchange fee for each one, but I could pay half up front and the other half when my check cleared the bank. The crook sent me an email confirming rci found the 8 weeks, they had the hotel where they would most likely have been able to find vacancy, and they had the correct exchange fee, as well as my rci information, it all looked legit.

I forwarded over $356 plus the money to send it, she than was suppose to call me back, give me my booking number, and tell me what time I was to receive a bank check by fedex, this all happened in 3-4 days. She also said that the check the company sent had to be verified before the deal could go through, it was and now the deal was ready. I wired the money to a person she gave me, than waited for a call for verification on my check. The call never came, left several messages on the answering machine, each time the personal greeting said you have reached the corporate rental department, called 1 week later and phone is out of order. Now these people have near $1900 of my money.

If any timeshare person calls you, find out their full address, full name, and check them out, never send them one dollar to do anything until you have a cleared check in your hand, which you will never get. These people are sharks.

I hope they are reading this because I don't care if it takes me 10 years to get these people, I am going to do everything I can to bring these people to their knees, hopefully no one else gets taken, I feel like I was violated, and I am so angry.
VM70 Send email
 
Mar 20, 2013

Timeshare Scams

You have to be very careful about anything related to timeshares, before you sign a contract or make any deal with a company, don’t forget to do an internet search on the company, and if the company is legit they will let you come back another day if you wish to make de purchase. These are good articles about timeshare scams and how to get out of them:

http://www.timesharescam.com/
VM70 Send email
 
Mar 20, 2013

Timeshare Scams

You have to be very careful about anything related to timeshares, before you aign a contract, don’t forget to do an internet search on the company, and if the company is legit they will let you come back another day if you wish to make de purchase. These are good articles about timeshare scams and how to get out of them:

http://www.timesharescam.com/
Jozzle Send email
 
Mar 7, 2012

Bad service

Jeffrey Frantz of TSBO stated on this site 30 JUN 2011 "the way to get out of a timeshare is through a company called Take My Timeshare Fast! Call Amie Smith at 407-797-8484." She is an employee of TSBO and has contacted me to rent my timeshare giving me her License # TP5199 and her company License# TC920245 which is registered to Timeshares Direct Inc. Her contact numbers are (321) 329-2000 Ext. 203, cell (407) 797-8484. The address of Take my timeshare fast! is the same address as TSBO and is listed at the BBB as as an alias for Resort Owner Protection Services, LLC (aka Take my Timeshare Now & Exchange my timeshare now) of which Jeffrey is a Managing Member. I was lucky not to get caught by these crooks, the information is out there, just follow the links. I found listed on http://www.leg.state.fl.us several 2012 Legislative Lobbyists representing the principle of Timeshares Direct, Inc. d/b/a Timeshares By Owners, namely (Michael Colodny, Nicole H. Fried, Fred E. Karlinsky, Trevor Mask, Timothy F. Stanfield, and Katherine S. Webb) which may explain why these people are evading justice. Follow the money!!!
LieToMeSomeMore Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

SCAM

Check out this website. http://www.bbb.org/central-florida/business-reviews/timeshare-resale-and-rental-marketing/timeshares-direct-in-orlando-fl-1068821
Alternate Business Names: Timeshares By Owner, Timeshares By Owner of California, Timeshares By Owner of Central Florida, Timeshares By Owner of Daytona Beach, Timeshares By Owner of Flagler Beach, Timeshares By Owner of Jacksonville, Timeshares By Owner of Miami-Dade, Timeshares by Owner of Orange County CA, Timeshares By Owner of Volusia County. Why does a "legitimate" business have to operate under so many different names?
If all calls were really recorded, then all of these people; (Mr Michael Klimek (General Manager), Mr Kevin A White (Consumer Analyst / Manager Customer Service), Mr. Jeffrey Frantz (CEO), Mrs Jana Lee Klimek (President), Mr. Gregory Taylor (Vice President), are well aware and completely support the actions of TBSO's employees.

I can't wait to start my own company like TBSO where I can adopt their solid business practices of not returning client calls, not answering client emails, being rude to clients, let clients know that they have a lifetime program so if we sell your property or you die (which ever comes first) it is still a win/win deal for us, and we will make sure that every rep receive your account because we need to have new ways of taking your money from you.

By the way, it has been two months now and I am still waiting for Mr. Kevin A. White to answer my email that he very conveniently did not receive along with the information forwarded to him by Brandi Peet for further investigation into the "I already have a buyer" business practices.
LMT00 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

SCAM

On 1/10/11 I was contacted by an individual named Michael Matthews and he told me that a timeshare company had given him my number because I had a Wyndham T/S for sale. I corrected him and told him I had a Westin property for sale...he asked about the property, i.e. sale price, unit info, etc. He said he was interested and was going back to the T/S company and tell them he was interested in another property. Shortly after I got a call from a Randall Williams, representing Timeshare by Owner. He told me Mr Matthews wanted to purchase my Westin property and he would sent me the Timeshare Resale Contract, Proof of ID and Authorization to Release Information and that their company had a 30% deposit from Mr Matthews that needed to be deposited and he gave me a figure that would be my portion of the closing costs (monies was to be wired to him??!!??). I told him that he could accept the 30% deposit as far as I was concerned but I was not paying a closing cost (I told him he could take it out of the funds that were to be remitted to me). After 30 minutes later I received the items 'needed to have an immediate closing' due to the fact that Mr Matthews, and family, was headed back home. When I looked at the paperwork he emailed I noticed there was no company name, was requesting a lot of personal information from me, etc. Nothing looked 'professional'! He called to see if I had signed and told him a friend of mine had examined the required documents and had several questions as to their validity and I asked him the concerned questions. He told me that he would have to get back with me ~ mainly because I refused to wire him the $$$ he wanted as closing costs.
NEEDLESS TO SAY I HAVE NOT HEARD A WORD FROM EITHER MR RANDALL WILLIAMS NOR MR MICHAEL MATTHEWS.
I would caution ANYONE that gets a like phone call to be very caution of this scam...also, while doing research on the internet I discovered a female by the name of Williams had also been indicted in the past few years for T/S scam/fraud activities.

LT
LieToMeSomeMore Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Bad service

Check out this website. http://www.bbb.org/central-florida/business-reviews/timeshare-resale-and-rental-marketing/timeshares-direct-in-orlando-fl-1068821
Alternate Business Names: Timeshares By Owner, Timeshares By Owner of California, Timeshares By Owner of Central Florida, Timeshares By Owner of Daytona Beach, Timeshares By Owner of Flagler Beach, Timeshares By Owner of Jacksonville, Timeshares By Owner of Miami-Dade, Timeshares by Owner of Orange County CA, Timeshares By Owner of Volusia County. Why does a "legitimate" business have to operate under so many different names?
If all calls were really recorded, then all of these people; (Mr Michael Klimek (General Manager), Mr Kevin A White (Consumer Analyst / Manager Customer Service), Mr. Jeffrey Frantz (CEO), Mrs Jana Lee Klimek (President), Mr. Gregory Taylor (Vice President), are well aware and completely support the actions of TBSO's employees.

I can't wait to start my own company like TBSO where I can adopt their solid business practices of not returning client calls, not answering client emails, being rude to clients, let clients know that they have a lifetime program so if we sell your property or you die (which ever comes first) it is still a win/win deal for us, and we will make sure that every rep receive your account because we need to have new ways of taking your money from you.

By the way, it has been two months now and I am still waiting for Mr. Kevin A. White to answer my email that he very conveniently did not receive along with the information forwarded to him by Brandi Peet for further investigation into the "I already have a buyer" business practices.
MikeLK Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Bad service

As my 2nd note, the cheapest and best way to go, buying or selling...find the place u like for free (craigsslist...etc...) and pay an attorney a couple hundred bucks TOPS to check the validity of the sale. If selling, offer these services to the buyer and tack it on the cost or allow them to use there own attorney...but hire your own attorney to check the validitiy of the buyers attorney.
Also, if renting, contact travel agents. They r aware of timeshare rentals...show them photo's...offer it cheap and offer the agent a higher % at first like 20 to 25%, theyd jump onit...and if its a great plave people like to rent, by year 3 you will get top dollar and can lower your % to maybe 10 to 15% tht you offer the agent, once your place was established as "the place to be".
MikeLK Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Bad service

Also, as a footnote, whoever wrote that about Protimeshares most definitely seems like their competition, who else would know all of this including their injunction and they havent even had there 2nd day yet...see how many law suits Protime competitors have, who they themselves are mostly all just telemarketers...read all of my posts since the begining, im an ex employee whistle blower here on this forum.
MikeLK Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Bad service

OK PEOPLE, , , IT'S ME AGAIN.
THERE ARE OTHER WAYS...IT'S CALLED CRAIGSLIST.
YOU CAN PAY FOR A REAL ESTATE ATTORNEY WHICH WOULD BE CHEAPER TO VALIDATE THE LEGAILITY OF ANY DEAL BEFORE IT GOES DOWN...IM NOT SURE BUT I DONT THINK REAL ESTATE AGENTS DEAL W/ TIMESHARES, BUT IF THEY DID, YOU CAN BUY AND OR SELL CHEAPER W/ EVEN THEM INVOLVED, BUT EVEN WITH OUT THEM, LOOK FOR A PLACE AND HIRE AN ATTORNEY TO CHECK THE VALIDITY, PROB COSTS A COUPLE HUNDRED BUCKS...MAYBE MAKE A DEAL WHERE U PAY LIKE 2X THAT AMOUNT, BUT GET UP TO 4 PROPERTY CONTRACTS LOOKED AT, OR WHERE HE/SHE WILL BE LEGAL AND REP YOU ON THE SALE TOO NOT ONLY PURCHASE.
ANOTHER WAY TO GO IS SEE IF LOCAL TRAVEL AGENCIES WILL USE YOUR "GET A WAY" AS A MEANS FOR GUESTS TO RENT. SHOW THE TRAVEL AGENT YOUR OPEN DAYS AND GIVE A RATE AND LET THEM TAKE THERE 10% OR WHATEVER IT IS, IF YOU GET HAPPY CUSTOMERS, BY YEAR 3 YOU MIGHT BE GETTING TOPO DOLLAR BECAUSE OF THE HAPPY CUSTOMERS!!! YOU DONT NEED AAAAAANY OF THESE PEOPLE!
-MIKE
Jeffrey TSBO Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Bad service

Protimeshare resales is an unlicensed telemarketing company that is operating illegally. They have a lawsuit for an injunction filed against them. Their first day of operation is today! They have never advertised for any owner and they have never published a timeshare dealer magazine. They will be closed fast. Don't waste your money.
I Can Help U Sell Ur Timeshare Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Bad service

I recommend using Protimeshareresales.com. I am a former employee of Timeshares by Owner and I recently found out they were making their employees pitch services that they aren't providing to our clients. I refuse to work for a company that needs to lie in order to get clients. If you want the job to get done go to Protimeshareresales.com. They are the only company in this industry that will do what they say the will do. Thank you for your time.
MikeLK Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Bad service

Please excuse the multiple typos above, my keyboard seems to be needing replacement.
MikeLK Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Bad service

OK, I said i would never post here again unless i hear more "BS"...When i worked for them the mngr running office who said he was owners brother in law and he too owned a share, told us when people want to speak to the supervisor, just put any one on to handle the problem...he said this makes the customer feel better that they spoke to a supervisor and if that person makes a deal both "salesman" split the commission...they used to laugh their asses off when a phony supervisor makes a sale, specially whn it was from someone that had already paid once already and was promised better service for more money...Legal Dept???? We had none i ever saw...even the salesman u speak to are only telemarketers trying to line their p[ockets with commission from the money they pay you. And all you people who paid mony, that amount is on a script, you probably couldda had it lowerd 75% if you tried, i seen them trying to what i calll "squeezing nickels" from everyone the telemarketers can. Yes, they all laughed at you...BUT, maybe they are more honest now...Do you want to know what you can do? You need to ask what law enforcement agency they made their complaint to, then contact them, NOT by any detectives number someone gives you but look it up on the internet and speak to someone there, they will have a record of the complaint(s) and will be able to look it up by Timeshares By Owners name and tell you if this complaint was really mae, then send the DA a copy of this forum if there wasnt but the attorney gen of florida I WAS TOLD (not saying its true) is not the most honest or reliable source when it comes to Time Share By Owner complaints...Bribes of money? because of favors? nepitism? maybe it was a false statememnt? who knows, just passing info.
Jeffrey TSBO Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Bad service

Dear Cindy: Who at Timeshares By Onwer have you been dealing with? Many companies are calling our owners and stating that they are our "finance" arm or our "closing" department. We have reported them to law enforcement and if this is another instance, I will forward this incident to them as well. If any of our sales people have said that there is a buyer for YOUR timeshare, they will be punished. If they said that we have buyers but NOT for your timeshare at the present time, than they are stating the truth. Thanks. Jeffrey Frantz, CEO
Cindy R G Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Bad service

Was contacted by TSBO on my Dad's T/S and was told they had interested renters that were also possible buyers. The $29.99 initialization fee had already been paid. When I asked her how since I handle all my Dad's finances, she said she didn't know because she wasn't in the legal department. I suggested maybe he went to the bank and purchased a money order. She said that is probably what happened. Now, the balance of $1, 298.00 was due for the advertising, listing, etc. Told her I would have to talk to my husband and I would call her back. The next days conversation unveiled another lie as I found out that not only did my Dad did NOT send them any money, but that they were going to charge his credit card that was required to give at time of initializing the transaction. I told them after cancelling all the credit cards and destroying them after my Mom's death 18 months ago, where did they get any credit card information. The "supervisor" I had already spoken with "kindly" provided a Senior Discount and a Hardship Discount due to a recent death in the family reducing the amount to $699. Plus after checking with their legal department, if there really is one, said they waived the fee AND they don't accept money orders. Hmmm, interesting. I almost fell for this one. I am so glad I kept pressing them and telling them I was not going to pay anything up front again like my Mom had been doing for years and got them into so much credit card debt that was paid off by a home equity loan, that still has 4 years to pay on, on a house that was paid off 11 years ago. Scum bags, frauds, liars. I, too, don't know how they sleep at night.
Jeffrey TSBO Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Bad service

Thanks for your kind words! Jeffrey Frantz, CEO. We have the best program out there.
MikeLK Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Bad service

ssems you got a winner, and this is my last post here unless a comment i see made towards me, but there r many free sites to sell/rent your timeshares...and read "their" ratings...way smoother. GLE
MikeLK Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Bad service

seems you got a winner, but the entire place where i worked incl mngr and GM (who said he was owners brother in law, true or not)...i will no longer write here unless I see something directed about me, but there are FREE sites to sell or rent your timeshares from, and they tell you the scams to look out for, basically contacting the place you intend to rent before you pay can end all of that fraud, and if selling, well, you should have an agent involved to keep it kosher...not too many free sites, but there are quite a few. And they might say "we have customer service" but really, what do they do, you aare the one to do the leg work regardless which way you go...BYE and good luck all.
Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Bad service

Timeshares By Owner contacted us a year and a half ago. We were assured that our timeshare located in Scottsdale AZ would sell in a matter of months. We started our property out at $12000 dollars on their recommendation. We have since dropped our price to $999. No calls yet!! We have however received multiple calls from Timeshares By Owner offering to advertise more or sell our property auction style for $800 more. WAIT!!! I already paid them $450 to advertise this property and they can't even do that. Why would I give them more money?!!

DO NOT USE TIMESHARE RESELL COMPANIES OR ADVERTISING COMPANIES. WE HAVE BEEN TAKEN ADVANTAGE OF TWICE NOW BY TWO DIFFERENT COMPANIES. JUST SAY NO!!

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username