Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Titlemax

United States,
South Carolina

Consumer complaints and reviews about Titlemax

Sueellenwilkinson Send email
 
Jun 15, 2017

TitleMax Damaged property

I own a 2002 Honda Civic Ex. On June 2 Title Max "recovered" my car as I was behind on payments. I was home and they never came to the door and this is why: Approximately a month before this the driver side window motor froze with the window 3/4 of the way DOWN. I had the window covered with a new tarp and it was secure so that no water could get in. This fact made it possible for Title max recovery team to open the car door, confirm the VIN, and manually release the gear so they could tow my car. The manual release button is totally crushed now. They pulled off the tarp and threw it on the ground and left. As soon as this happened I called Title Max on Folly Road in Charleston and told the lady, a black girl, that the window didn't work and that it was going to rain. I asked her and literally BEGGED her to please call someone at the impound lot and have them cover the window so that nothing would be ruined. She was somewhat obnoxious and told me she would see what she could do...which was nothing after all was said and done. I told her that if the interior got wet Title Max would be hearing from me and that I would pursue damages. Again it was "I'll see what I can do ma'am". Well Friday night, June 2, it poured down rain. Then the 3rd, the 4th, the 5th, and the 6th. Not sprinkles... it was torrential! Street flooding torrents! As Title Max technically "owned" my car at the time I incorrectly assumed they would take precautions as they might seek to sell the vehicle at some point. On June 9th I acquired the money through another title agency to get my car. Tje girl who went to the impoumd yard told me my car was soaked inside and the window was NOT covered at all, and was almost all the way down. I called Title Max and was told they would call me when i could pick my car up. On Tuesday I called and told them I wanted my car! And I was told that their partners would tow my car to the office on Folly Road and I could come get it. I told her it HAD to be that day because it was going to rain again. At 5:00 Logan called and said my car was ready. Well guess what?! The window had a black plastic trash bag neatly taped over the window.!!! I had my neighbor with me as a ride and witness, thank God! I took pictures of the tape which was a clear packing tape and in pristine condition. When I took the plastic off the smell was OVERPOWERING mildew and MOLD. I nearly threw up it was so strong! I went inside and asked Logan when they covered the window and said "it must've been today". She was very defensive to tell me she didn't know when and that she was the only one in the office and couldn't have done it. I never presumed it was her and never said so. The driver seat was strangely clean and dry as was the floorboard ... but under the seat and the back floorboard is soaking, sopping wet. I slapped the carpet and water splashed up! They'd apparently shop vacuumed the seat and floor board but assumed I wouldn't check under the seat or the backseat which is totally soaked. I had called her at 3 so from 3 -5 they were trying to conceal their neglect. This matter is NOT finished and I will get an attorney if I need to. I will also spread this story all over the Internet and am in the process of making a magnetic sign to put on the car advertising the sheer nastiness of this business and neglect. I'll drive the car to Title Max on Folly Road in Charleston and park it in the front for an hour every single day. I want the car cleaned and the carpet replaced as well as the personal belongings in the back seat that are mildewed and ruined and rusted now.
Title Max, pay close attention. You ruined a perfectly good car. I am intent on telling EVERYONE in Charleston just how badly you treated a customer and how nasty your business manners are. To all of you reading this I advise you to stay away from them and to spread the word about this horrid company. I'm going to copy this and send it to the BBB... Better Business Bureau of Charleston. Eventually Title Max on Folly road will have a Out of Business sign on their windows.
Sue Wilkinson
John's Island S.C.
Rirwin45 Send email
 
May 27, 2017

Raising my interest rate so i cant pay off my loan.

I went into titlemax tomake a payment. My balance is 153 dollars. I asked how much to pay it off next week. He said 286 dollars. 87 percent interest. When I pay that amount on Friday. If he doenst hand me my title. I will call the police and have him arrested for car theft. He wrote the amount on the back of his business card. I have proof of the amount.
jenn johnson Send email
 
May 24, 2017

Titlemax is a scam and ripoff

Titlemax charges excessive interest and this is not conveyed to you during the initial process. It is a vicious cycle of a high interest debt. This company and their branches are loan-sharks!!!!
krama Send email
 
Apr 18, 2017

POS

I fell behind 2 months well I'm trying to take a care of my mother which is on her death bed. And mybteuxk breaks down. I had to quit my job to take care of her and my husband for laid off. The just came in at 3:50am and took the ttruck and damage the shit out of my property. So there for my attorney will be contacting them and u all will be paying for the damages u have created. I told them 2 weeks ago to come get it and never responded to it. Its going to cost more to fix then its worth. I will be spending the word to NEVER get a loan from these pos BC all they do is harrasses u and get money well I'm not paying for something I can't drive so u bet ur ass that thee will be hearing a ear full when they open up. Title max is the biggest joke and scamer that u can go threw....... Pissed offffff..,
nesie56 Send email
 
Mar 4, 2017

INTEREST TO HIGH

They make it very enticing to borrow money for your car. I would never in my life ever do a TITLE LOAN ever. I've been paying Title Max for approximately 3 years, and I still owe the same amount for my car. I'm waiting for Income Tax Money, or any monies that I can get my hand on and when I do. I'm planning on PAYING TITLE MAX OUT AND NEVER AGAIN DO A TITLE LOAN,
ESPECIALLY FOR A CAR THAT'S ALREADY PAID FOR.
Kimbly Send email
 
Feb 22, 2017

Dirty

Okay so I took out a loan about 7 months ago and I gave payments on it everytime, they didn't tell me that the money ($200 dollars) wasn't going to go in what I borrowed it was going off interest, I only borrowed 1200 dollars and should've paid for it in no time. Basically I was giving money and it would dissappear cause it wouldn't go anywhere. When we applied the girl didn't explain this would happen, I have three kids and we rent an apartment, so I feel like that 200 is going down the drain. Like it's pointless, if I give them the whole 1200, I won't be able to pay for nothing else
Depressedlady Send email
 
Jan 7, 2017

Tittle max

They robbed me and took my car. Everything I paid went to interest..This place should be shut down the workers talk to you like dirt they came to my house before it was even in rrpossion status.I lost my job fell behind they took my car.I have been deeply depressed ever done it happen 4 months ago.im 55 and have nothing.Even felt suicidal my car was paid for.
Nikole69@gmail.com Send email
 
Nov 22, 2016

Rude

I have a loan with title max and I was never late on my payment and I no longer get my ssi I told them I had to reapply for it can they please work with me and I have never been talk to the way they talk to me they was very rude about it
Nikole69@gmail.com Send email
 
Nov 22, 2016

Rude

I have a loan with title max and I no longer get my ssi I call and told them i had to reapply for it can they please work with me and I have never been talk to the way they talk to me they was very rude
Helen wright Send email
 
Oct 19, 2015

Title max

I borrowed 1400.00 from title max and I have paid them 4897.00 back :
I was going to give them 1600.00
And they refused to take it
They said they needed to give them 2007.00
And I would get my title back ,
I haven't paid in a few months so they came and got my car . I couldn't pay anything else they were taking all my money and I never seen any results from if!!
I have paid double what I borrowed
And they refused my money !
sdelhierro77 Send email
 
Jul 16, 2015

scam and fraud

I was never told by title max that I would have to add extra monies to my payment in order for the amout owed to go down. This is ridiculous and robbery. Someboy must stop them. They arent helping anyone they are robbing the hard working people.
angela562 Send email
 
Feb 3, 2015

TitleMax

I have a title loan with TitleMax in Lexington SC at the Redbank Location. TitleMax repossessed my vehicle in the middle of the night without ever sending me a Right to Cure letter. They told me they had the letter in their system and that it was mailed in April via the US Post office. i never received this letter. Now, they won't tell me where my car is nor where my possessions are located. They have called me this morning to let me know that they have my possessions... what? why are they rifling through my private things. Now they told me the balance to get my car back is the total loan, $1382.23. so i called them this morning because i am going to pay them off and i want to get my car. they told me the same total again. Now i know from reading complaints on this company that they are going to charge me for the Repo tow. ($250). I am taking this money with to get my car but not because they informed me but because i figured it out on my own. i borrowed $1,000 and my balance is $1382.23-- if i had waited to pay it off it would be $3300.00. this is insane. i made a huge mistake getting a loan from them. i wish there was a class action law suit i could join. these people won't give me any information at all about my car. They are making it extremely difficult for me to get my personal belonging out of the car and they won't give me the tow companies name so i can go there and get my car to avoid another towing fee.
User924549 Send email
 
Mar 28, 2012

Scam and fraud!

I took out a title loan to help with my relocation expenses and paid them off over three weeks ago and I have yet to receive my title. This company is so full of it, I did the proper thing and I still did not get treated fairly. They should have a class action lawsuit filed against them.
Franny Ordonez Send email
 
Mar 15, 2012

Scam and fraud!

I lost my job in 2010 over medical reasons and I pawn my car at Title Max.Well me and my husband started having alot of problems and he had all my money and would not give me any so I had a car that was just in my name and a truck and I needed the money so i done a Title Loan with Title Max, the manager there was familiar with my husband and spreaded my personal information to my husband and the community.My husband went and got the truck out of pawn and the car still remained there but when me and my husband went got the truck the manager of title max started calling my husband about my car giving him all my information during this time she created a personal interest in my husband and they started having an affair while I was her client still.She was giuving enemies of mine information on me using her job for her on personal gain with the affair she was having with my husband she would go back and tell him personal things to cause us to fight which eventually she also left her husband and my husband and her are still currently having an affair and I am very seriously looking for lawyer for law suit what I thought was a way for a small loan the manager at title max ruined my marriage and life.
Orion7976 Send email
 
Mar 10, 2012

Scam and fraud!

Contact your local states attorney office- U can fax them a complaint be sure to ad documents like receipts ect, I did so in Mobile Al when I notice the math wasnt adding up correctly, well she came down and opened all their books and found 1250 that we had payed that they did not give us credit for...
They r the worst-- but if you really need the money they r there- kind of double edge sword know what I mean..
Marie Quick Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

harrassment

I have a tile loan on a van. I am not the customer you have to chase. I am the one that calls tell when I can pay. I set up an arrangement to pay on a date I was expecting a school check. The school did not mail when they said or for some reason it was held up. I called right away telling the problem I was told by the worker that relayed this information "The manager said park the van here at titlemax he cannot set up another arrangement" I asked the girl how it worked can I come pick van back up when money comes? She said yes, but you have to pay in full when you come. They knew van was being repaired which is why I was having trouble and needed to make payment arrangements trying to get transmission replaced. I called repair man fixing transmission to take van to titlemax. The ten days had passed and titlemax was still leaving messages for me. I called and they said the van was never brought to them and they cannot go get unless I sign a paper giving van to them, I said ok, but after I talked to titlemax telling me I can bring the payment the following Friday. I felt cheated because they could have waited and I told the manager this why I am not signing anything. It was too late to say this because thinking there was no hope I had already spent my money. Now knowing this why do they continue to call me? They made this situation. They wanted the van go get it and leave me alone. The last time I talked to the manager I told him who had the van and to go get it. I am still getting phone calls and visits to my house. Why? When I said all I can say and this is why I call them because I did not want to be chased or harassed by anyone.

Marie Quick
GODLY WOMAN Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

harrassment

I STRONGLEY AGREED WITH YOU ON THIS THE MANAGER AT TITLE MAX IN CAMDEN SC HAS SEXUALLY HAR/.ME AND CALLED MY PHONE FROM HIS PRIVETE NUMBER, HE'S A NASTY GETTO MAN WITH A LOW VOC. I AM FILING CHARGES ON HIM AND HIS NAME IS JOHN COLEMAN IN CANDEM SC HE 'S A NASTY MAN. HE MADES PASES AT ME AND PUT HIS CELL NUMBER ON MY TITMAX CARD AND HE GOT REJECTED AND EVERY SINCE THEN HE HAS BEEN CALLING AND CALLING AND LEAVING NASTY VOICE MESSAGES ON MY PHONE I HAVE TAKEN ALL OF THIS TO THE POLICE STATION AND LET THEM HEAR HIS MESSAGES, AND I HAVE ALSO FILE A CHAPTER 13 ON THIS, THIS IS NOT HOW YOU DO BUSINESS, JOHN COLEMAN HAS ALSO LEFT THREATIING MESSAGES ON MY PHONE AS WELL AND THE COPS AND MY LAWYER HAS ALL LISTEN TO WHAT JOHN COLEMAN OF CAMDEN TITLE MAX HAS BEEN DOING AND LEAVING ON MY VOICE BOX.
Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Scam and fraud!

I paid my loan off in full 6 months ago and I still yet to receive my title contacted the office on several occasions and was informed it was in the mail. Since I never received my title I contacted the regional office where i was told that they had the wrong address and that i would be receiving it in a week well now its been another month and a half and i still yet to receive my title don't trust this company they do nothing but lie and if i don't receive it soon next step is contact a lawyer to receive it this has gone to far so don't take a chance they may never issue your title back to you. Also You pay a lot more money than its worth I paid $120 on this loan for over a year and only borrowed $600 and still had to pay $400 to get my title back and yet still have not received it this is the truth i urge you to look away and not to ever use this company they will screw you.
Jna2010 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Scam and fraud!

i cant STAND title max!!! the agreement was IF you can no longer pay the loan or if you cant afford the repairs they repo your car... well my car broke down and i haven't paid my loan because i couldn't afford repairs so y pay for something u can freakin use! well they told me they were not allowed to do a tow service and that i had two options... (1) pay the loan or (2)pay for the repairs... so now they are harassing me and my fiance, our references, and our apartment complex... that's HIGHLY illegal and is going way out of hand... n e advice id appreciate it

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    leeco le1s eco x570 - stolen my mobile
    sir i have lost my mobile last 21july 2017 8;30 pm
    UNI Strategic Pte Ltd - FDB Events Pte Ltd
    I'm an Australian Professor of CRM and have been...
    Innovation direct employment Service - Irrelevant Approval Request From Clinic
    Dear All, my name is Syed Imran and my insurance card #...
    KTMB - Request For Refund
    Dear Sir/Madam, I have purchased ETS two-way ticket via...
    cop@vsnl.net - Mobile stolen
    Name Kiran Address : Neelkamal Building Suhag Colony...
    Samsung Galaxy C9 Pro - Miissing My samsung Galaxy C9 Pro
    Name :- Mr. Indrajeet Balasaheb Dalvi Address :-...
    PAYTMAG bank - CUSTOMER HELP LINE 917564889902
    CUSTOMER CARE NUMBER 91 7564889902
    Axis Bank - CUSTOMER CARE917369090429
    CUSTOMER HELP LINE No917369090429

    Share this site with others

         
          

    Recently Updated Complaints

    leeco le1s eco x570 - stolen my mobile
    sir i have lost my mobile last 21july 2017 8;30 pm
    UNI Strategic Pte Ltd - FDB Events Pte Ltd
    I'm an Australian Professor of CRM and have been...
    Innovation direct employment Service - Irrelevant Approval Request From Clinic
    Dear All, my name is Syed Imran and my insurance card #...
    KTMB - Request For Refund
    Dear Sir/Madam, I have purchased ETS two-way ticket via...
    cop@vsnl.net - Mobile stolen
    Name Kiran Address : Neelkamal Building Suhag Colony...
    Samsung Galaxy C9 Pro - Miissing My samsung Galaxy C9 Pro
    Name :- Mr. Indrajeet Balasaheb Dalvi Address :-...
    PAYTMAG bank - CUSTOMER HELP LINE 917564889902
    CUSTOMER CARE NUMBER 91 7564889902
    Axis Bank - CUSTOMER CARE917369090429
    CUSTOMER HELP LINE No917369090429
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username