Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Titlemax

United States,
South Carolina

Consumer complaints and reviews about Titlemax

Dede68 Send email
 
Oct 21, 2018

Rip off they need to bee closed down

We borrowed 2000.00 they told us any thing over will go on principle so we pay like 250.00 each month only like 2 dollars goes on principle. That payment takes food from our kids mouth I live on disability we only asked for 1000.00 they kept saying we can u 2000.00 it would be better and kept on till we said OK. We been paying for year we've payed less that 200 on principle. That's crazy that trick people so they get bigger bonus and we get screw. And the smile and act friendly to your face. It should be against the law then they take to auctions they seal for few 100 people buy them put on there lots for 1000.00 S and adds interest.
Fadila Brunson Send email
 
Aug 18, 2018

Title max

This company should not be allowed to be ..their high interest 4 year loans are criminal...why is California allowing them to be in business...Las Vegas put an end to them...plz do it here
K.Hope Send email
 
Jun 8, 2018

Interest rates

I borrowed mkneh from title max like 6 years ago and as I recall the interest has been raised tremendously! First or all they told me ONLINE I WAS APPROVED FOR almost 3,000 when I got to the office I was approved for $670? Of course I borrowed the money bc it was a diar emergency ! So now i am paying $140 q month for 24 months that's like 5x Wtf I borrow2d!!
grandmma246 Send email
 
May 22, 2018

INTEREST ON LOAN, ALSO FEES CHARGED FOR LIEN TO TM AND STATE

I HAVE BORROWED FROM THEM FEW YEARS AGO PD BACK MONEY RECEIVED TITLE SAME DAY PD OFF LOAN. NOW FEW YEARS LATER DIFFERENT OFFICE DIFFERENT RULES ON LOAN, PAYING MORE INTEREST ON LOAN ONLY 5 MONTH PAY OFF IF YOU DON'T PAY OFF YOU HAVE TOO RENEW SAID CONTRACT AND PAY MORE INTEREST. I ALWAYS PD A LITTLE EXTRA MONEY EACH MONTH (7.00) OVER PAYMENT AMOUNT. I BORROWED 200.00 INTEREST IS 171.40, THEY CHARGED 33.00 FOR LIEN TOTAL PAY OFF 404.40 ANNUAL % RATE IS 174.40% NOW AFTER I PAY THEM OFF I STILL HAVE TO PAY STATE 33.00 EXTRA TO PUT TITLE BACK IN MY NAME ..
Rcurtis71 Send email
 
Apr 17, 2018

Scam

In 1 year I paid $4300 my loan was $3000 and I still owe $2800 on the principle. I have been paying $360 a month on the loan. I bought the truck for $4000 in 2015 that now has electrical and suspension work that needs to be done. I couldn’t afford the payments plus figure out how to fix it!!! So they repossed today... Thank God I have a second one!!
Taximama67 Send email
 
Mar 29, 2018

Title Max

This company are rip off's so are the ridiculous interest rates and costly payments. They are in the business of taking advantage of vulnerable people during financial hardships forcing victim's into deeper debt and repossession. In Las Vegas Nevada this company was slaslapped with fines and made to return all titles to their owners and this needs to happen to all Title Max companies.
Taximama67 Send email
 
Mar 29, 2018

Title Max

This company are total rip off, the interest rates are ridiculous so are the payments. They are in the business of taking advantage of people when vulnerable during financial hardships. This company got slapped with fines in Las Vegas Nevada and ordered to return all titles, and this is what needs to be done to all their companies. They have no morals
skinner26 Send email
 
Feb 22, 2018

Scam, Fraud, Rude, Harrassment & All the dirty works combined

Borrowed under $500.00 on our vehicle. Paid way more than we borrowed and they harass us nonstop. We have informed them that three of our payments are missing, but they refuse to go into that subject or detail. They want money, money, money. But they also, bash the vehicle when they approach us regarding the vehicle. "We don't want the junk" back, we want the money, but we'll take either one. Surrender or not, willingly or not. It's the worse company by far nation wide.We don't and won't pay what is owed. They won't get the vehicle back in ONE piece. So, offer up or make a damn deal. It's ridiculous. We missed ONE PAYMENT and now months behind because of their actions. What more is there to do?
Badcompany29 Send email
 
Feb 9, 2018

Title max is a total fraud

Vehicle was repossessed in the middle of the night after one payment missed, only 4 days after the payment was due. Luckily we were still up so we got to take our stuff out. We had told them right before this we were going to pay and they said OK it was fine but obviously not. I don't have a problem with them taking the vehicle as it was the deal and possibility but I do have a problem with liars and dishonesty. Will NEVER EVER get a title loan again, especially not from this company.
BethikaM Send email
 
Jan 25, 2018

My Dodge Journey Was reposssed

I made arrangements with Title Max in Rock Hill SC to get my
loan paid pff. I was even working with car dealerships yesterday and this morning to help me!
IN THE MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT THEY CAME AND TOOK MY DODGE JOURNEY!
They LIE and were Unwilling to work with me! Even the Manager of the car dealership called Taylor in Rock Hill SC yesterday to get a payoff amount!!!!
NO MATTER WHAT YOU DO PEOPLE, DO NOT EVER EVER GET A LOAN FROM TITLE MAX!! THEY R SO NICE TO YOU AND ONE PAYMENT YOU MISS, VEHICLE IS GONE!! I WAS WORKING WITH TITLE MAX IN ROCK HILL SC!! BEWARE!! I WISH I WAS MORE KNOWLEDAGLE BEFORE ALL OF THIS!.....PLZ BEWARE!
Flower1 Send email
 
Dec 23, 2017

Title Max- Stay Away

This company only cares about the bottom line. I needed to borrow some money so I thought that it would be ok to take out a title loan, WRONG!!!! Due to unforeseen circumstances I missed one payment, I called them and previously keep them abreast of my situation. That did not matter they repoed my truck for 200.00 dollars.... how crazy.... this was a horrible experience for me . I will NEVER GET ANOTHER Title Loan especially from this place... Take it from me Do not do this... if I had of known I would have found another way to get the money that I needed. They do not care about the customers at all. They are nice to you to get the loan but after that that's it!!!!! Find another way... Trust Me.....
pissedoffinmesa Send email
 
Dec 10, 2017

Title Loan paidoff still repo car

In Nov 2017 I paid off my loan at Titlemax. This morning on 12/10 I walked out to find out my car was repo again. Called in to Police Dept car had been stolen when they informed me that it had been repo again. Of course they are closed on Sunday with no emergency numbers.

Please tell me how a company can show paid off and then repo a car. I found my car but it will be a fight to get it out I am sure. Already have legal representation regarding this matter. Monday will be so much fun
shaianne Send email
 
Nov 16, 2017

Over payment

I was lured into borrowing 3000.00, my intention was to only obtain a loan for 2,000.00, I was told that it would be better to get the 3,000.00 with a lower interest rate. Well, so much for the lower interest rate. A couple of months ago I tried to get a payout amount, the representative and I agree on an amount because I had already paid more that twice the amount I had borrowed. When it came time for me to pay, I was told that their representative had not right to make such an agreement with me, I would need to contact the company which handled their payoff. Of course when I call, I was told that the amount agreed upon was not feasible and she did not have the power to make such an offer. Complained to manager to no available, and when i tried to speak with their representative she no longer was employed by them. Spoke with the manager again and he told me that they had been having problems with the company who was handling their payoffs. Now he told me he would help us get it resolved, and of course that went ablsolutly nowhere, so here I am again complaining about a company which has some questionable pracitices and charges unusually high intererst rates, lets see I counted the amount of money I paid over time for the 3,000.00 and it was 9,000.00, go figure. Would I recommend anyone to use this company, no. I would like to say 'BORROWER BEWARE"
Zigsterzag81 Send email
 
Oct 27, 2017

TitleMax

I borrowed 1600.00 and paid over 900 and nothing was applied to principal. They repoed my car in 2014 and I was living in hotels and working a minimum wage job. I lost my job once they took my car and I became homeless and was a nomad for a couple of years and I haven't had a car since.

Richard
Ouizy Send email
 
Sep 6, 2017

Title Max

They repossessed my car from work without notice on a Tuesday after I had just made arrangements with the worker to make the payment on Friday. Called District Manager no help. Called corp office, no help. I asked Corp about a right to cure letter he stated we mailed it. Lies, it was never sent.I never received one. I have paid them before over the phone and have always received a receipt. I immediatly paid and got my car back.(if she had told me payment couldn't wait I would have made the payment that morning ) Looking for a lawyer. Title Max has got to be stopped
Sueellenwilkinson Send email
 
Jun 15, 2017

TitleMax Damaged property

I own a 2002 Honda Civic Ex. On June 2 Title Max "recovered" my car as I was behind on payments. I was home and they never came to the door and this is why: Approximately a month before this the driver side window motor froze with the window 3/4 of the way DOWN. I had the window covered with a new tarp and it was secure so that no water could get in. This fact made it possible for Title max recovery team to open the car door, confirm the VIN, and manually release the gear so they could tow my car. The manual release button is totally crushed now. They pulled off the tarp and threw it on the ground and left. As soon as this happened I called Title Max on Folly Road in Charleston and told the lady, a black girl, that the window didn't work and that it was going to rain. I asked her and literally BEGGED her to please call someone at the impound lot and have them cover the window so that nothing would be ruined. She was somewhat obnoxious and told me she would see what she could do...which was nothing after all was said and done. I told her that if the interior got wet Title Max would be hearing from me and that I would pursue damages. Again it was "I'll see what I can do ma'am". Well Friday night, June 2, it poured down rain. Then the 3rd, the 4th, the 5th, and the 6th. Not sprinkles... it was torrential! Street flooding torrents! As Title Max technically "owned" my car at the time I incorrectly assumed they would take precautions as they might seek to sell the vehicle at some point. On June 9th I acquired the money through another title agency to get my car. Tje girl who went to the impoumd yard told me my car was soaked inside and the window was NOT covered at all, and was almost all the way down. I called Title Max and was told they would call me when i could pick my car up. On Tuesday I called and told them I wanted my car! And I was told that their partners would tow my car to the office on Folly Road and I could come get it. I told her it HAD to be that day because it was going to rain again. At 5:00 Logan called and said my car was ready. Well guess what?! The window had a black plastic trash bag neatly taped over the window.!!! I had my neighbor with me as a ride and witness, thank God! I took pictures of the tape which was a clear packing tape and in pristine condition. When I took the plastic off the smell was OVERPOWERING mildew and MOLD. I nearly threw up it was so strong! I went inside and asked Logan when they covered the window and said "it must've been today". She was very defensive to tell me she didn't know when and that she was the only one in the office and couldn't have done it. I never presumed it was her and never said so. The driver seat was strangely clean and dry as was the floorboard ... but under the seat and the back floorboard is soaking, sopping wet. I slapped the carpet and water splashed up! They'd apparently shop vacuumed the seat and floor board but assumed I wouldn't check under the seat or the backseat which is totally soaked. I had called her at 3 so from 3 -5 they were trying to conceal their neglect. This matter is NOT finished and I will get an attorney if I need to. I will also spread this story all over the Internet and am in the process of making a magnetic sign to put on the car advertising the sheer nastiness of this business and neglect. I'll drive the car to Title Max on Folly Road in Charleston and park it in the front for an hour every single day. I want the car cleaned and the carpet replaced as well as the personal belongings in the back seat that are mildewed and ruined and rusted now.
Title Max, pay close attention. You ruined a perfectly good car. I am intent on telling EVERYONE in Charleston just how badly you treated a customer and how nasty your business manners are. To all of you reading this I advise you to stay away from them and to spread the word about this horrid company. I'm going to copy this and send it to the BBB... Better Business Bureau of Charleston. Eventually Title Max on Folly road will have a Out of Business sign on their windows.
Sue Wilkinson
John's Island S.C.
Rirwin45 Send email
 
May 27, 2017

Raising my interest rate so i cant pay off my loan.

I went into titlemax tomake a payment. My balance is 153 dollars. I asked how much to pay it off next week. He said 286 dollars. 87 percent interest. When I pay that amount on Friday. If he doenst hand me my title. I will call the police and have him arrested for car theft. He wrote the amount on the back of his business card. I have proof of the amount.
jenn johnson Send email
 
May 24, 2017

Titlemax is a scam and ripoff

Titlemax charges excessive interest and this is not conveyed to you during the initial process. It is a vicious cycle of a high interest debt. This company and their branches are loan-sharks!!!!
krama Send email
 
Apr 18, 2017

POS

I fell behind 2 months well I'm trying to take a care of my mother which is on her death bed. And mybteuxk breaks down. I had to quit my job to take care of her and my husband for laid off. The just came in at 3:50am and took the ttruck and damage the shit out of my property. So there for my attorney will be contacting them and u all will be paying for the damages u have created. I told them 2 weeks ago to come get it and never responded to it. Its going to cost more to fix then its worth. I will be spending the word to NEVER get a loan from these pos BC all they do is harrasses u and get money well I'm not paying for something I can't drive so u bet ur ass that thee will be hearing a ear full when they open up. Title max is the biggest joke and scamer that u can go threw....... Pissed offffff..,
nesie56 Send email
 
Mar 4, 2017

INTEREST TO HIGH

They make it very enticing to borrow money for your car. I would never in my life ever do a TITLE LOAN ever. I've been paying Title Max for approximately 3 years, and I still owe the same amount for my car. I'm waiting for Income Tax Money, or any monies that I can get my hand on and when I do. I'm planning on PAYING TITLE MAX OUT AND NEVER AGAIN DO A TITLE LOAN,
ESPECIALLY FOR A CAR THAT'S ALREADY PAID FOR.
Kimbly Send email
 
Feb 22, 2017

Dirty

Okay so I took out a loan about 7 months ago and I gave payments on it everytime, they didn't tell me that the money ($200 dollars) wasn't going to go in what I borrowed it was going off interest, I only borrowed 1200 dollars and should've paid for it in no time. Basically I was giving money and it would dissappear cause it wouldn't go anywhere. When we applied the girl didn't explain this would happen, I have three kids and we rent an apartment, so I feel like that 200 is going down the drain. Like it's pointless, if I give them the whole 1200, I won't be able to pay for nothing else
Depressedlady Send email
 
Jan 7, 2017

Tittle max

They robbed me and took my car. Everything I paid went to interest..This place should be shut down the workers talk to you like dirt they came to my house before it was even in rrpossion status.I lost my job fell behind they took my car.I have been deeply depressed ever done it happen 4 months ago.im 55 and have nothing.Even felt suicidal my car was paid for.
Nikole69@gmail.com Send email
 
Nov 22, 2016

Rude

I have a loan with title max and I was never late on my payment and I no longer get my ssi I told them I had to reapply for it can they please work with me and I have never been talk to the way they talk to me they was very rude about it
Nikole69@gmail.com Send email
 
Nov 22, 2016

Rude

I have a loan with title max and I no longer get my ssi I call and told them i had to reapply for it can they please work with me and I have never been talk to the way they talk to me they was very rude
Anonymous two hundred Send email
 
Nov 9, 2016

TITLEMAX IS A RIPOFF

I paid them $2400 and was told it wasn't enough. They wanted me to pay another $3000 before I got my title back. I was harassed by them weekly, they would show up at my house, and left messages on my door if I wasn't there. I was traveling for 10 days and I told them that I will come to the office to see them when I returned, they still showed up at my house and left messages on my phone after 9 PM at least twice. When I returned, it was a holiday weekend and they weren't open, after leaving a message on the office phone, at 10am by 11:00am there was a tow truck pulling into the yard. I was told that they were told to come and get my truck. I called the office once again and I left another message for them to call me back. No one did. I went to the office on Monday and I was told that for me to get my truck back, I had to pay the $3000 the following day. When I told them I couldn't get it the following day but I could in a week, I got a notice in the mail saying that my truck was sold at an auction and the price wasn't enough to cover the cost of the loan. THIS COMPANY TAKES ADVANTAGE OF PEOPLE'S SITUATION AND MAKE PROMISES, TO GET YOUR VEHICLE TO SELL IT. I ALSO FOUND OUT THAT WHEN THEY TAKE PICTURES OF THE VEHICLE THEY PASS IT ON TO FRIENDS TO FIND OUT WHO WANTS IT. DON'T TRUST THEM!!!!!!! THEY WILL TAKE YOUR MONEY AND YOUR VEHICLE!!!!!

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Immigration of malaysia - Illigel immigrants and fake agent
    kedai pancing undang atas tingkat 3 ada 15 bilik untuk...
    Chowking Market Market - Service
    It took 20 minutes before I got my ordered food. If I...
    Poslaju Parcel Hub - STUCK
    ER 646924961 MY ER 654233530 MY Dari 13 nov sampai...
    MYDIAL DIGITA LED A MEDIA PVT.LTD. - My dial
    Akash SARODE sabke paise lekar bhag gya h mere bhi 500000...
    Horizoncardserviceses.com - Y’all scammed me out of my money
    Give me my money back now or you will be hearing from my...
    EMS Speed Post - Mumbai, India - ATM Card
    I have applied for the ATM card on 26th October 2018 I...
    POS MALAYSIA - Parcel Not Delivered
    ER605756005MY Parcel stuck at ECPC subang jaya for more...
    Edcon - R1200-00 voucher if you buy for R1200 or more
    I got and SMS advising me if I buy for R1200-00 I will...
    POS LAJU - PARCEL NOT PROCEED
    ER705307525MY Status - Your parcel has departed the...
    pizza hut malaysia - BAD SERVICE
    The price for a take away pizza is suppose to be rm10....

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Immigration of malaysia - Illigel immigrants and fake agent
    kedai pancing undang atas tingkat 3 ada 15 bilik untuk...
    Chowking Market Market - Service
    It took 20 minutes before I got my ordered food. If I...
    Poslaju Parcel Hub - STUCK
    ER 646924961 MY ER 654233530 MY Dari 13 nov sampai...
    MYDIAL DIGITA LED A MEDIA PVT.LTD. - My dial
    Akash SARODE sabke paise lekar bhag gya h mere bhi 500000...
    Horizoncardserviceses.com - Y’all scammed me out of my money
    Give me my money back now or you will be hearing from my...
    EMS Speed Post - Mumbai, India - ATM Card
    I have applied for the ATM card on 26th October 2018 I...
    POS MALAYSIA - Parcel Not Delivered
    ER605756005MY Parcel stuck at ECPC subang jaya for more...
    Edcon - R1200-00 voucher if you buy for R1200 or more
    I got and SMS advising me if I buy for R1200-00 I will...
    POS LAJU - PARCEL NOT PROCEED
    ER705307525MY Status - Your parcel has departed the...
    pizza hut malaysia - BAD SERVICE
    The price for a take away pizza is suppose to be rm10....
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username