Submit a Complaint

Travel Jigsaw (UK)

United Kingdom

Consumer complaints and reviews about Travel Jigsaw (UK)

ajayk9999 Send email
 
Oct 22, 2019

Fraud by Goldcar/Rental Car

I booked a Ford Galaxy car with RentalCars.com, which was supplied through their partner Goldcar in Barcelona. Goldcar gave a me Dacia Lodgy, which was much smaller than Ford Galaxy, but they insisted that its the same category. On Rentalcars on website Ford Galxy and Dacia kind of cars are showing in different category. However, Rentalcars customer service was very rude when I called them about this discrepancy event they insisted that I must accept the smaller car. At night 12 clock after spending 3 hours I had no other option but to take smaller car.

Then Goldcar guy fraudulently asked me to pay an amount purportedly for fuel and security deposit, I categorically told him that I do not want to pay anything extra, and he assured me that that was only deposit which will be refunded when I return the car, as everything was in Spanish, I relied on his words. I realised later when I dint got only part of my deposit back after using google translate that GoldCar person duped me by taking extra money for insurance. I already have excess insurance with another provider and I never needed the excess insurance.

Rental Car has simply refused to do anything, while they are registered with FCA they have not even provided how should I escalate my complain or to take it to ombudsman.
Vsack Send email
 
Nov 14, 2018

Failure to honor rental confirmation

I had a confirmed reservation with Greenmotion car rental in Orlando, Fl. It was booked through Rentalcars.com a part of Travel Jigsaw Ltd. When Greenmotion said it could not honor the reservation I contacted Rentalcars.com. Their agent Kristina instructed me to return to the airport, rent a similar car from another rental car company, and that I would be reimbursed for the difference in price. This occurred on a booking scheduled for 9/2/2018 thru 9/10/2018. I have not been reimbursed the nearly $240.00 that ha been promised.. Though I have placed many calls Th Rentalcars.com. They have not stood by their word. It is now 11/13/2018, two months!
[email protected] Send email
 
Jul 30, 2018

I didn’t press the buy button but it took money from my account anyway

Booking ref 363940101

I looked at booking a rental car through this organisation while at Lisbon airport. I typed in my bank account details however I went to t&cs before I hit the buy button. At this point I realised I couldn’t book with this company as they require credit card and I don’t have one. However when I close clef out of t&cs page it processed the transaction anyway and took the money out. I feel scammed
Factman Send email
 
Jan 13, 2017

No deposit refund

I hired a vehicle from Manchester Airport via Jigsaw/Carrentals/Europecar to attend my father's funeral. The price in Aussie dollars was $AUD302. I was charged $AUD200 and then $AUD529! Complaints to Jigsaw/Carrentals resulted in them saying I should have been charged $AUD302. The first $200 was charged by Jigsaw/Carrentals and the $AUD502 was charged by Europecar which included a 250 British Pound security deposit. This deposit has not been returned. These companies have no morals or ethical standards ... just self interest/greed. Do not book with them.
softopspain Send email
 
Jun 4, 2014

Travel Jigsaw Car Hire

This company operating as Rentalcars.com have a fuel policy that means even if you pick up a car full with fuel and return it in the same condition they will charge you 27 euros plus IVA allegedly for checking the car in reality this is where they make there money as the cars are supplied by Goldcar anyway.
ThereseDK Send email
 
Dec 7, 2012

Travel Jigsaw car rental

Oct 2012
Using Travel Jig saw I had requested 1) a medium automatic car
2) a car seat for child (in writing on application for car)
I called TravelJigsaw to confirm child seat previous to travelling from my landline

On arrival to Newcastle airport
1) my car request was not met
2) there was no childseat

approx two hours later the representative from Hertz apologised for the mess and offered a full refund (jigsaw reperesented Hertz)
She kindly asked a representative from another car hire company to help me.
Jigsaw will not refund me for a car that was not there. They took my money ,Its a disgrace,. I have sent numerous emails without any fair consideration .Its now Dec and still fighting.This should be a service.....not a battle of spending money on a service .Why would someone offer a service ,take your money and then not provide the service.
S Kokker Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Mis-selling product

I recently rented a car via Rent a Green Car (which has since disappeared from the web but seems to be the same company as Carhire3000 and Travel Jigsaw) and very quickly regretted it. I ultimately realized that it was nothing more than a truly genius concept to rope in and get money from knee-jerk environmentalists or people who want to quickly and easily feel better about the already not eco-friendly decisions they are making (like I was at the time). Rent a Green Car operates as a kind of travel agent, regrouping worldwide car rental places and their cars – their trick is organizing the cars in terms of their CO2 emissions.
Does it work? Yes. Are they trustworthy? Seemingly so. However
1) The rate I paid was more than the walk-in rate when I arrived to the rental place. Often, dealing directly with the car rental company will find much better rates – I paid 50% more than I would have.
2) The package that you are forced to take (at least in my case) came with a full tank of gas that I had to pay for, no matter whether it was used or not. This can be very inconvenient if you are only renting for a few days or not planning to travel far. It also encourages people to use as much gas as possible in order not to waste their money – not a very green feeling.
3) This service is supposed to be open only and exclusively to UK residents. Of course, Rent a Green Car will take money from anyone, so it’s no problem to book a car, but the actual car rental agency will not be very happy with you if they see that you are not a UK resident.
What would be a better option for car renters to be more eco-friendly?
1) Consider other possible modes of transport. Or car-sharing companies.
2) Do your own research and choose smarter cars – this is not difficult with Google, to simply research the emissions of various models.
Though it looks like a great idea, it turns out that the site is just another money-making outfit, targetting people soft on the green idea, like any of the other thousands of polluting products marketed as supposedly eco-friendly.
Jillott Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Mis-selling product

We hired a car for a month in Italy through Travel Jigsaw - the renter was Locauto (another story in itself!) We took out the excess reduction policy thinking it was giving us peace of mind in case of an accident. Well, we had an accident and as per the policy, Locauto charged us the full excess of 750 euros. The problems began when we tried to claim under the damage excess policy. They told me we were not covered because the accident was NOT our fault. We had to wait and get the excess back from the local renter! This has finally happened after 4 months but totally defeated the point of the policy which was to give peace of mind in case of and accident.

I CANNOT get an answer out of the as to where it stated in their terms and conditions that they will not pay out if it is a third party accident. It does not state this anywhere in the long list of exclusions. (A pretty major exclusion probably counting for more than 50% or hire car accidents!) After many frustrating phone calls between me in AUstralia and the UK, they now totally ignore my emails and seem happy that I have got my money back from Locauto on Italy. The fact that it took 4 months and hassle to do this seems to not bother them. I said I wanted answers to my simple question, "where does it state in your terms and conditions that I am not covered for a thrid party fault accident" and they just will not respond.

In fact I find it hard to see where whey would actually pay out under this policy as one of the exclusions is "neglicence" by the driver - well if an accident is your fault isn;t that insome way negligence? So they may not pay out if it IS your fault too!

To conlcude a sorry sage, we rented a car in the UK the following month (booked before we knew what problems we would have) and they messed up the voucher and didn;t include the additional driver which meant we were charged by Europcar over 5 pounds a day for 30 days and this also took time to sort out after the rental, all costing money in credit card interest.

Don't touch them with a barge pole! Notice that any good reviews you read are from people that had no problems at the end of their rental. The problems start if there is an issue after the end of the rental.

Their customer service is diabolical. You can NEVER speak to a supervisor (they won't call you, you can't hold, you can't get a time when they will be free and I found that when Ic alled to try and get through to the case worker, the lines were so busy you get diverted to another stream, usually people who are dealing with new rentals and know nothign of your problem and can;t transfer you to the right place.

I repeat; DON'T TOUCH THEM WITH A BARGE POLE!!!
Traveller To Italy Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Mis-selling product

We also hired a car through Travel Jigsaw (Carhire 3000) for one week in Sicily, the renter also Lacauto. We too took out the excess reduction policy. Despite our contract stating in big capital letters prominently displayed along the bottom of the form PAID IN FULL we had to leave a deposit of 1100.00 euros and also had to make an additional payment of 18 euros for Road Licence Fee.
The car we were given had numerous dents and scratches, we were given a printed sheet with a diagram of a car showing the existing damage, we checked the car carefully and insisted that the assistant updated the sheet manually to include all areas of existing damage not noted on the sheet.
When we returned the car it was checked in and we were told that all was we order. We asked the assistant to refund the 1100.00 euros to our card
and he told us it would take 7-10 working days. We queried this delay but to no avail.
Why should this company be able to hold onto such a large sum of money for such a long period? We will have to wait and see when our credit card is credited with this amount and are concerned that will be charged interest on this amount as we are not in a position to pay this fee and the cost of our holiday all at once.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    SuddenLink - Billing
    Suddenlink has rude and inconsiderate reps that don't...
    SuddenLink - Billing
    Suddenlink has rude and inconsiderate reps that don't...
    Jet stores - Jet Stores - Account was payed up
    Good Day I'm so furious, my blood is actually...
    Edcon - Jet Stores - Account was payed up
    Good Day I'm so furious, as i'm typing this...
    moto m - i lost
    Hello, this is Ashok 21st Nov 2019 I lost my mobile phone...
    DSTV - POOR SERVICE BY CONSULTANT
    I am very disappointed on the service I got from your...
    High pressure solar geyser - Eskom outbursting broke the geyser glass
    On the 2 November 2019 eskom substation in Temba, on the...
    Edgars - Late Delivery
    I purchased some items online and was notified that my...
    Axis Bank - transaction amount pending...
    I made a payment and its failed Axis Bank customer care...
    Uppcl - Bill not paid
    Transaction details as follows: Account Number :...

    Recently Updated Complaints

    SuddenLink - Billing
    Suddenlink has rude and inconsiderate reps that don't...
    SuddenLink - Billing
    Suddenlink has rude and inconsiderate reps that don't...
    Jet stores - Jet Stores - Account was payed up
    Good Day I'm so furious, my blood is actually...
    Edcon - Jet Stores - Account was payed up
    Good Day I'm so furious, as i'm typing this...
    moto m - i lost
    Hello, this is Ashok 21st Nov 2019 I lost my mobile phone...
    DSTV - POOR SERVICE BY CONSULTANT
    I am very disappointed on the service I got from your...
    High pressure solar geyser - Eskom outbursting broke the geyser glass
    On the 2 November 2019 eskom substation in Temba, on the...
    Edgars - Late Delivery
    I purchased some items online and was notified that my...
    Axis Bank - transaction amount pending...
    I made a payment and its failed Axis Bank customer care...
    Uppcl - Bill not paid
    Transaction details as follows: Account Number :...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username