Submit a Complaint

UNI Strategic Pte Ltd

Malaysia

Consumer complaints and reviews about UNI Strategic Pte Ltd

payyourtrainers Send email
 
Apr 29, 2021

Changed their name Again

Trainers beware, the have changed their name again to WEventz.
https://weventz.sg/

FDB is UNI Strategic
https://www.trainingjournal.com/forum/tj-forum/uni-strategic-pte-ltd

http://bit.ly/1yDcDCm
http://bit.ly/1roIphu
http://bit.ly/T2nept
payyourtrainers Send email
 
Apr 29, 2021

Changed their name again

Unistrategic, FDB Events , GreenForest Events has now changed their name again. They are now WEvents. Trainers/Consultants beware.

https://weventz.sg/
lmrich5931 Send email
 
Jul 13, 2018

FDB-UNI Strategic etc

Dear Instructor/Trainer: If you are reading this, you have probably already been--or are being--stiffed for fees by FDB Events, aka UNI Strategic, aka whatever, whatever, whatever. You will see on this site a dozen company names under which these people have operated over the last several years. Be particularly mindful of Gayathirie, as she is the company's current "honey trap," searching for new suckers on LinkedIn. If you are doing business with these people, you WILL need a debt collector in Singapore. I just resolved a claim against FDB after 6 months. Many companies can do CONSUMER debt collection in SG; however, I found it hard to find someone who can do BUSINESS-TO-BUSINESS debt collection, even after going to my embassy. It is a totally different industry, with differing legal rules. Some Good News: I have had an excellent experience with Accurate Debt Recovery in SIngapore---http://www.accuratedebtrecovery.com/. They were able to recover a substantial sum for me, with reasonable fees, and more importantly, they squeezed the cash out of Roger Tie and his buddies at FDB. ADR actually knows where the company's owners and board members live in SG, so they don't have to waste time running down all the false leads, company names, cut-outs, and office addresses with which FDB has falsified the internet record. Best, Lloyd R, Esq. USA
lmrich5931 Send email
 
Jul 13, 2018

FDB-UNI Strategic etc

Dear Instructor/Trainer: If you are reading this, you have probably already been--or are being--stiffed for fees by FDB Events, aka UNI Strategic, aka whatever, whatever, whatever. You will see on this site a dozen company names under which these people have operated over the last several years. Be particularly mindful of Gayathirie, as she is the company's current "honey trap," searching for new suckers on LinkedIn. If you are doing business with these people, you WILL need a debt collector in Singapore. I just resolved a claim against FDB after 6 months. Many companies can do CONSUMER debt collection in SG; however, I found it hard to find someone who can do BUSINESS-TO-BUSINESS debt collection, even after going to my embassy. It is a totally different industry, with differing legal rules. Some Good News: I have had an excellent experience with Accurate Debt Recovery in SIngapore---http://www.accuratedebtrecovery.com/. They were able to recover a substantial sum for me, with reasonable fees, and more importantly, they squeezed the cash out of Roger and his buddies at FDB. ADR actually knows where the company's owners and board members live in SG, so they don't have to waste time running down all the false leads, company names, cut-outs, and office addresses with which FDB has falsified the internet record. Contact ADR directly, please. Once they let me know, I will be happy to verify this recommendation by email or phone, including where you can verify who I am. I just don't want a lot of spoofers. Best, Lloyd R, Esq. USA
[email protected] Send email
 
May 30, 2018

FDB payment delays?

Warning - To All Trainers who may be under contract with FDB/GreenForest, aka. Uni-Strategic.

FDB/Greenforest, a.k.a. Uni Strategic is a training firm based in Singapore. They have demonstrated they are unable or unwilling to meet their contractual commitments to instructors (google search) with timely payments for services rendered. Having delivered world class programs, receiving top notch class evaluations from attendees, I am tired of chasing them for payment having waited as long as 120+ days for payment and expense reimbursement. I don't see this problem with other firms I have worked with. Consider yourself warned!

Like several others on this board, I was paid per agreement the first time, and then they strung it out, delaying payment until the next event. Now they have pushed my buttons more than enough with their emptry promiseds and lack of comunication not to mention lack of payment.
Hawkeye1 Send email
 
Apr 15, 2018

Non Payment of Trainer Fees

Presented twice for FDB Events, once in KL & once in Dubai. It's been 23 days past due for payment. I'm giving them until mid week before our company Attorney contacts the Singapore Government to start legal action against this company.
MarieM Send email
 
Dec 18, 2017

So unreliable, very unprofessional!

In August, we paid for a Training "Advanced Change Management Masterclass" to be performed by FDB Events Pte Ltd. One week before the training, we ask them about the logistics and planning. We receive the most unwilling email informing us that the training has been cancelled and might be postpone to January.

To the day so Dec. 18th, 2017, we have not received any feedback regarding the status of the reimbursement and the company is ghosting us.

For a Training about managing Changes, they do prove to be utterly inefficient and out of scope...

Marie
APED Send email
 
Jul 29, 2017

not paid for service

FDB is a absolute fraud.. stay away from them. we did a workshop for them a year ago and still not get paid. I am wondering how they are still in business while they have been doing fraud since 2012!!!!
APED Send email
 
Jul 29, 2017

not paid for service

We implemented a workshop in Dubai for FDB in Sept. 2016 and we have not been able to get paid for our service- it is almost a year. They are a absolute fraud. They do not answer to our emails anymore and are totally ignoring us.

I see many companies/ people like us are having same situation with this fraudulent company.

Can we take a legal action together?
Rickie331 Send email
 
Jul 28, 2017

fdb.sg

Re: Complaint about Training Company-Ethical Business Practices fdb.sg
Several months ago, I was contacted on LinkedIn by Gayathirie Raman,Corporate Training Executive,Mail: [email protected]
LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/gayathirie-raman-02419a140/
asking me to do a training session in Kuala Lampur Malaysia. I was informed that the company selected another trainer, but that they wanted to keep me in mind for future training opportunities. On July 25, 2017 Wednesday, I received an email offer from the Training Executive noted above, indicating that the UK trainer had a conflict, and offering me the August 2-4 training job (with less than one week notice, for flight from Hawaii to Malaysia!). I initially sent a preliminary email, with some specific questions, and offering a counter offer of terms for the engagement. Subsequent to this email send, I discovered this complaint blog, and after reading through everyone's issues with payment collections and challenges, I sent a professionally worded email, indicating that although interested in offering quality training for them, since this was my first experience with them, and due to the nature and volume of complaints on this blog, I asked for payment up front 48 hours before I boarded a plane for the gig. I did not hear back at all from fdb.sg training company (you can check them out via their website which is operational). An ethical company would have at a minimum sent me some form of reply to my professional emails. It seems that this company is in fact operational and 'real.' The training material looks to be top-notch, although it is designed by independent trainers it seems. They did send me the training brochure and I was impressed with the content. Based on this blog of complaints, it also seems that many have had major issues in payment collections. Most reputable training companies pay within 30 days of training delivery, or with immediacy. This one advertises to pay in 60 days. What has been others' experience?
FrannieB Send email
 
Jul 23, 2017

FDB Events Pte Ltd

I'm an Australian Professor of CRM and have been approached by FDB Events to run training courses for them in KL and S'pore. I haven'e signed up yet, and don't propose to do so having read through this litany of mismanagement and mis-representation. I'm sorry to hear of so many problems for so many trainers. Thanks for the heads-up!
[email protected] Send email
 
Sep 9, 2016

Workshop Trainer Fee

I was commissioned by Uni Strategic about a year ago to deliver a workshop for them. They made the advance payment of my fee but then never paid the balance after I delivered the workshop. This appears to be a common problem with these folk.

Nevertheless, there is a solution. Singapore has a Small Claims Court that can deal with this at modest cost. You cannot have a lawyer represent you, but if you live overseas, you can have someone who is not a lawyer appear for you.

I took this route and although it took a while, I did secure a court order against them and they did finally pay up.

If you're having trouble getting paid, this is the best way to go.
don't be fooled Send email
 
Sep 5, 2016

Bullshit Company

FDB EVENTS and GREEN FOREST are both the same as UNI STRATEGIC. No matter what rubbish excuse they give you, they are the same entity and managed by the same moronic CEOs.

BEWARE and do not end up as yet another victim of this horrible company! I am surprised that they are still operating with all their fraudulence conducts.

Potential Trainers
- Do not work with these frauds. They promise you your payment, and it never reaches your account.
- Initially, there would be regular communication with the Producer, and when payment is due, you will hardly hear from them. They ignore emails, not just the staff but the managers as well. Not to forget their numbers are private and it is almost impossible to get hold of them.
- If you would still want to work with such horrible company with tarnished reputation, at least make sure to get your payment before flying out of your country!

Future Employees
- Salary has been credited into the account late.
- EPF not paid. You will have to chase and chase like a beggar for them to make payments for your contribution (which is deducted from your salary monthly) and the employer's contribution. EPF is aware of this issue and have paid visits to the company to follow up, but nothing is done since the company lies to EPF saying they have no funds or are running in loss.
- Income Tax not paid from the beginning of time, and they give you the same bullshit excuse. Do note that the funds are deducted from your salary monthly but not credited into your account.
- SOCSO not paid from the beginning of time as well. Do note that the funds are deducted from your salary monthly but not credited into your account.
- Worst working environment you can possibly get yourself into.
- You also would end up being the victim when trainers chase you for payment as you will not get a reply from your manager or from the CEOs when you follow up on trainers' payments.


My only advise is that if you are smart and don't want to be fooled by unethical morons, avoid working WITH or FOR this shitty company!
Alan Dee Send email
 
Jul 21, 2016

SPAM & unsolicited phone calls

Unistrategic has setup a new company:

http://openforum.com.sg/about/

Attend the workshop at your own risk.
josephinelewiski Send email
 
Apr 30, 2016

Stephen Kapoor or Pervinder Singh - UNI Strategic use many different email domains

Stephen Kapoor OR Pervinder Singh is son of bitch.

never reply email, SUCKs

his mobile number should be +6016 6983654
J.H Send email
 
Apr 6, 2016

UNI Strategic use many different email domains

These are just maybe a few of the email domains they buy and send the marketing emails and also for to contact instructors. They want to hide the real identity.

globaltrainpanel.com

unitraining2u.com

greenforest.sg

unistrategicevents.com

unistrategic.com

learningunistrategic.com

fdb.com.sg

unilearningworld.com

sgunimkt.com

mbacoursestraining.com
rongko Send email
 
Apr 5, 2016

NO REFUND

Paid for a seminar in July 2015 with Erika Tan (FDB and Unistrategic, she actually has 2 emails: 1 under FDB domain and the other with unistrategic), seminar canceled last minute due to speaker's unavailability and they said they will reschedule.

The rescheduling was handled by TEE HOW FDB (i was informed Erika no longer with the company) was postpone aswell. They promised a refund within 3 months. Up until now April 2016, we have received NO REFUND!

Paid for another seminar, this time handled by john from greenforest on July 2015. Same thing, rescheduled. The rescheduled was canceled. they promise refund. Up until now, NO REFUND!
josephinelewiski Send email
 
Dec 28, 2015

UNI Strategic - Stephen Kapoor

If guys wanna to know who is Stephen Kapoor, you guys may go to this link

https://www.linkedin.com/in/pervinder-singh-b806a926
Ivano Send email
 
Oct 29, 2015

UNI Strategic - Changed their Name

UNI Strategic have now rebranded to 'FDB Events' - Stacey Yueng is still the CEO. It is the same company.
Be aware of this scam outfit. I delivered training for them and had to go thorough hell to get paid. Pervinder Singh using the same false name of Stephen Kapoor.
Staff refuse to give out the names of the bosses. Mangers bullying staff to lie to trainers.
Lies to trainers. Trainers not paid. venues not paid. Now running under a different name. Beware!
J.H Send email
 
Aug 20, 2015

www.greenforest.sg

Now they are using another company to solicit for business.

www.greenforest.sg

Green Forest is Uni Strategic, is also FDB Production, FDB Investment, FDB Events.

Seriously, which decent company creates so many different identities and uses the same team to do the same work??? And the fact all these entities don't acknowledge each other, it shows they just want to run away from Uni strategic lousy reputation.
unni Send email
 
Aug 12, 2015

UNI STRATEGIC - Not refunding

I would like to inform all professionals seeking to be trained by UNI STRATEGIC SIngapore that to be carefull before you register with them.
I have registered for their course, paid the fee in advance. Course was then postponed and later it was cancelled. In both the cases, I was not informed in advance, but I got the information only when I wrote to them to check the status.
I was informed that the fee will be refunded. This happened in April 2015 and until now I haven't received a single penny. They are not replying to my emails nor the telephone is answered. If any one had similar experience , please share ...... Thanks
EX UNI Send email
 
Jul 30, 2015

FDB is UNI Strategic

https://www.trainingjournal.com/forum/tj-forum/uni-strategic-pte-ltd

http://bit.ly/1yDcDCm
http://bit.ly/1roIphu
http://bit.ly/T2nept

Written by David Cotton on 23 June 2014
Dear all,

I just wanted to warn you all of a Singapore based company called UNI Strategic Pte Ltd. I was approached by them two or three years ago to undertake some training. I ran three courses for them - in Kuala Lumpur, Johannesburg and Singapore. The arrangement is that they pay half the fee upfront and the other half within a month of delivery. The first payments were made on time, the second a little late, the third even later. I finally undertook a piece of training for them in Bangkok last November and the post-training payment has never been made, despite great evaluations and endless correspondence with them. I should have done the due diligence work first, because it appears that they have failed to pay an enormous number of trainers. For some of the issues related by other trainers, see the following:
http://bit.ly/1yDcDCm
http://bit.ly/1roIphu
http://bit.ly/T2nept
I am making representations to a number of people in Singapore, including the government, to see if I can recover my money and to see if they are prepared to take some action against this company. Although the amount owed is not enormous, the principle remains - my contract has not been honoured and neither, it seems, have the contracts of many, many other trainers.

If you are approached by this company, do not under any circumstances agree to work for them.

Regards to all

David

UNI Strategic Pte Ltd - Trainer Not Paid
This is an email I received from one of the speakers who taught a class for UNI Strategic Pte Ltd in September 2009.

'I am a professor from the United States, and I presented an oil and gas course course for UNI last year September. Like many before me I received an invite from one of UNI Strategic's conference producer.

The email was vague and had little input on the extent of topics to be covered, the level of knowledge or experience of the intended audience. I basically had a free hand in developing the course.

After a few weeks of marketing and sales however, they told me to change the program - not after spending several hours trying to figure out what they wanted.

The workshop itself turned out to be successful and was well attended by all the major O&G operators and service providers. I have still kept in touch with most of the students and have provided further advice and gave brief reviews on some of their projects.

Unfortunately, as of May 2010 [eight months], I have still not received a single cent for my efforts. Most of the students were shocked to hear this as UNI has always pushed them to complete their payments before attending workshops.

The conference producer who I was in contact with has also left UNI Strategic, and eventhough she has tried her best to solve this, I cannot help but put some blame on her. It seems to be common knowledge amongst the producers of UNI's corrupt practices which have been on-going since their inception. I've been told payments and fees are fully handled by the 3 people who own and run the company and nobody else has any say in it.

I feel really disappointed with this treatment, and unfortunately I did not come across the blogs and websites warning vendors, speakers and attendees of them early enough. I have been educating students and professionals my whole life, and have worked with numerous continuing education providers, but this is the first time this has happened to me.

They charge attendees the equivalent of US $ 2500, and made roughly US $ 50,000 for the course I presented, but felt the need to have to lie and deceive and give so many excuses when it came to payments. First they said the person handling payments had left (not true, as no one actually handles it - its all up to 'upper management'). Then they told me they had lost the contract. When finally the contract was sent, along with the bank details, they said it was a busy month.

UNI Strategic, Chairman Wing Tan, CEO Roger Tie and Stacey Yeong, if you are reading this, you could have just told me you weren't going to pay the fees - it would have saved me so much anguish.

For the other trainers or speakers (presently engaged, have yet to present, or that received their invitation) let me warn you that you will not get paid the course fees. If you are able to live with that, with only your cheap flight tickets covered (on horrible schedules/itineraries), then by all means go ahead and present.

If you are like me, if you have given time and effort into preparing the course, travelling, and then presenting the course to the best of your abilities, then I believe you would expect to be paid your dues. The amount doesn't matter to me - its the lying and cheating when vendors have provided services in good faith that disgusts me. UNI Strategic is a fraud.'

As with the links in this earlier post, there is no disputing the fact that all parties - trainers, vendors, hotels, or employees will be victims of UNI Strategic's fraudulent activities. My advice is to get FULL payments BEFORE the course dates itself, or threaten to cancel. Anything less, and you will get burnt.

Sep 11, 2010

Events organiser under fire over late payments

Speakers complain online; firm says fees withheld due to poor showing but all will be paid

By Liew Hanqing & Carolyn Quek
[email protected]
[email protected]

A GROUP of foreign corporate speakers is crying foul over a Singapore company that they claim did not pay them for their services on time as promised.

A few have even gone as far as hiring debt collectors to obtain tardy payments, after coordinating strategies with others who posted their complaints on blogs, websites and online forums.

The company, UNI Strategic, an organiser of corporate events, told The Straits Times that it had no choice but to withhold payment from certain speakers because of what it considered poor performance, which it said was detrimental to its reputation. It later said, however, that its speakers would all be paid eventually.

At least 20 overseas professionals engaged by it to speak at a number of conferences posted complaints on various websites after allegedly not being paid according to their contracts' timelines, which range between 30 and 60 days after an event.

Speakers contacted said their appearance fees typically ranged from $4, 000 to $8, 000 each. One of them, Mr Paul Cherry, 48, president of a company providing sales training and leadership development, detailed on his website the difficulties he had in getting paid his fees of US$4, 000 (S$5, 370) after giving a talk on strategic sales leadership here in 2008.

He has since been contacted by other speakers with similar experiences. His online post received more than 50 comments, mostly from other speakers.

Mr Cherry, an American, said: 'UNI Strategic was great to work with up until the programme. As soon as I left Singapore, very few of my e-mail requests for payment were responded to.'

He was eventually paid, three months late, after threatening to go to the Singapore and the United States authorities for redress.

Another speaker, Mr Peter van Veen, 40, from boutique strategy consulting firm De Ruijter Strategy in London, said he had difficulty getting paid US$3, 000 for a course he ran in Singapore last November.

He said the course had been well received by its 25 participants, who gave it an average rating of 7.84 out of 10 on feedback forms.

'UNI Strategic has never disputed the amount in question. They just don't respond to e-mail and if we do speak to someone, they apologise and tell us they will look into it, never to be heard from again, ' he said.

UNI Strategic paid Mr van Veen on Monday - about 10 months after the event.

Another US-based speaker, who declined to be named, said he had to engage a debt collection agency to obtain his fees of US$6, 500. He paid the agency about a quarter of what he was owed.

UNI Strategic was also sued twice over the past year - by Amara Hotel and Air Services International - for $4, 066 and $12, 332 respectively. It later paid up the amounts and the cases did not go to court.

Mr Roger Tie, chief executive of UNI Strategic, said that while the company paid most of its speakers on time, it had no choice but to withhold payment from those who he claimed had not delivered what they promised.

He said the company, formed nine years ago, encounters 'one or two' speakers a month - out of about 200 a year - who deliver sub-standard programmes that receive poor ratings from participants.

Its benchmark: fewer than half of participants giving speakers an 'acceptable' rating - or 5/10.

Asked if speakers' contracts contained clauses indicating payment would be withheld if they performed poorly, Mr Tie said there were no such clauses, but added that the speakers would be offered the chance to make good - for example, by providing proper course materials later.

'In some cases, our clients complain and demand refunds. Even though the fees are non-refundable, we sometimes have to bite the bullet and give refunds as a form of goodwill, ' he said.

Every year, the company writes off an average of $100, 000 in bad debt, due to non-paying clients or refunds issued to clients who were not happy with the programmes, said Mr Tie. The most common complaints were that speakers' course materials were different from what was agreed on, and that course content was irrelevant or inadequate.

Mr Tie later said the company eventually 'always paid' its speakers, whether or not they met expectations.

It costs each participant between $2, 500 and $3, 500 to attend a programme.

At least one speaker, however, has had a good experience with UNI Strategic.

Mr Monty Sacher, 52, from Melbourne, Australia, who has conducted workshops for the company, said: 'I've not had a payment problem with them.'

Other industry players said it was not standard practice to withhold payment from invited speakers.

Ms May Koh, a training and resource manager with Avantus Training, a company that organises training programmes, said her company usually paid its speakers whether or not they met expectations.

'It's not possible to withhold the entire amount owed - after all, the speaker has already rendered a service, ' she said.

Ms Stacey Yeong, UNI Strategic's conference director, said the company sources its speakers online. Before hiring one, it would typically request a copy of the prospective speaker's resume.

'If they fit the events we are organising, we will engage them, ' she said.
J.H Send email
 
Jul 25, 2015

FDB Production, FDB Events, FDB Investment

They are either of these:

FDB Production Pte Ltd
FDB Investment Pte Ltd
FDB Events Sdn Bhd
J.H Send email
 
Jul 23, 2015

New business name

Dear all trainers,

Yes, it is confirmed they are now using a new business name to solicit for events and also trainers to teach.

FDB Production Pte Ltd

www.fdb.com.sg

Just take note of this when you receive an invitation as UNI Strategic and FDB Production are run by the same people.
Faridaa Send email
 
Jul 22, 2015

Unistrategic PTE Ltd has Changed their Name to FDB

Just a heads up guys Unistrategic is rebranding and chamging their name to FDB http://fdb.com.sg/

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username