Submit a Complaint

Verizon Wireless

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about Verizon Wireless

User853887 Send email
 
Apr 11, 2012

They should not be holding my money while they are unable to provide the service they promised

All service contracts auto-renew but it is usually a per month renewal. This way, you don't lose your service because if they did not auto-renew. You would be here complaining that you lost your service. It is your responsibility to call to cancel your contract once it is about to be over, or get a new plan
User612368 Send email
 
Apr 11, 2012

They should not be holding my money while they are unable to provide the service they promised

I pride myself in reading the fine print on all contracts I sign - but they auto-renewed my 2 yr contract without consent or prior notice. The auto-renewal is mentioned nowhere in their service agreement!
LogicUser Send email
 
Mar 19, 2012

Pure and simple theft

did your friend check if the full 100 was put on the account if it was have them give you the 5
Den123 Send email
 
Mar 19, 2012

Pure and simple theft

I went to the Verizon on Fields-Ertel Road near Loveland, Ohio to do a favor for a friend and make a payment on their prepaid cellphone. I was told I needed to use the kiosk machine as the store does not take payments at their registers. I had never used one of these before. It asked for the phone number, the security code, and how much I wanted to pay on the account. I was making a $95 payment and made sure that's what I entered. Then I inserted a $100 bill into the payment slot which was 2-2 1/2 feet off the ground. I then noticed there was nowhere for change to come out. I took my receipt and went to talk to the manager where I was told there was nothing he could do for me. He then gave me an 800 number to call which ended up being an automated customer line. I called the Verizon store back and asked for a direct line to someone who I could complain to. I was told that was the only number I could call and to just keep pushing 0 until someone answered (0 was not an option on the menu). I spoke with 2 people and even sent an email to the verizonwireless.com website.
Today a lady named Deana called, but I missed it. She didn't leave a call back number, but she did send me an email saying that it was clearly stated on the slot where the money was inserted that no change would be given, and on one of the screens somewhere where I didn't notice. I tried to reply to the email, but it was sent from a do not reply address, so I couldn't tell her I'm slightly taller than 2 foot. I don't believe it would be legal for any other store to keep my change without my expressed consent. Honestly the thought that I wouldn't receive my change never once entered my mind. This was a theft pure and simple, but I have no recourse.
LogicUser Send email
 
Mar 19, 2012

Cellphone does not work

quit going to the store call and either get options for getting a new phone or a warrenty replacement
Julake Send email
 
Mar 19, 2012

Cellphone does not work

My cellphone does not work. Most apps do not work or only work sometimes. Battery sometimes only lasts an hour or two but Verizon employees say battery is fine. I am a single Dad with young daughter I have to receive calls from her school in case of emergency yet my phone does not ring or register calls at all sometimes. I receive weekly email reports on her progress yet sometimes email does not work. All of photos of her refuse to open and video of her violin concerts has no audio! Text messages will not open or send. Many other apps refuse to work sometimes such gps and internet. I have been to Verizon store 3 times and phone only gets worse.
Pat G Send email
 
Mar 19, 2012

Simply awful

I had Alltel 3G service at my home and then Verizon bought them out. Since that buyout the 3G became iffy, but they added 4G and said I was covered. Both the 3G and 4G are super lousy services and I was told it was caused by degradation on the 4G changeover. It really boils down to poor performance on Verizons part by lowering standards and not taking care of their customers. If you have a error in service it should be more important than establishing new service areas but Verizon does not believe in this. I would suggest to all in the NW Louisina area including Shreveport, Bossier City, Benton, Minden and Barksdales AFB and anyother surrounding areas use someone elses service rather than being charged for the "Nations Best" NOT wireless service. Verizon is not a customer oriented company.
Surgovs Send email
 
Mar 19, 2012

Simply awful

The "Unlimited" claim by Verizon is not completely true. Because I travel every week I got an Air Card from Verizon. It works great everywhere but my home so I took it back and was told there was nothing I could do. After suffering with it for 3 months and getting locked into the contract someone told me I could get an antenna for it (of Course another 40 bucks)so I did and that still didn't work. When I called Verizon they said that the reason my internet was so slow was because I had reached my limit of megabits so my connection had been slowed down by Verizon until next month. Of course the fact that I didn't know this was my fault since I didn't read the small print on the 5 page contract and there was no responsibility for the salesman to tell me. Between the salesman who know NOTHING (Circut City in Van Nuys ) to the slimy contract I will now be going with AT&T as soon as Verizon stops holding my numbers hostage.
Grinn Send email
 
Mar 18, 2012

Arrogance

After 2 strokes my husband didn't understand about how easy it is to go over our limits. He started a new hobby to help his mental state and starting talking to different people. Like the one before we received a text stating we were going over our limits at the end of the billing cycle. We were only on the 700 plan and we went over the limit 2 weeks into the billing cycle. Why couldn't' they have told us sooner?? Like the other person they reduced our bill 25% but we still have a $500 bill. I'm filing a complaint with the Ohio attorney generals office. Nothing will probably happen but it needs to be done. Oh and the last up grade on my phone the battery freezes. I was told that's normal it just needs rebooted. So if i need it in an emergency and its froze I need to take it apart to reboot the battery??
GrouchyGirl Send email
 
Mar 13, 2012

Arrogance

The same thing happened to me! I did the responsible thing and upped my from 1400 to 2000 minutes because I saw I was getting close to the limit, and they didn't apply the change until the next month! Then, when I called horrified about the overage, he told me my only option (for a 20% reduction of overage charges) was go up to the next plan, 4000 minutes. Then I realized - I hadn't exceeded 2000 minutes - they were overages against the original 1400! By that time the rep told me he couldn't back out of the 4000 minute plan, and that he'd apply credits for my next bill. Bill came due in March, for over $300.00. I call Verizon yet again...they tell me the cust serv rep will be applying the credit in a few days. I check back a week later, and it shows I auto-paid $230.00. This is better, but my plan is less than $150.00 a month. I call back again, and they tell me that there will be another credit on the next month's bill! By this time I'm really angry - I've only had the service 3 months, and I have had to call about the bill each month (first month they forgot to credit me for the activation fee, per the deal I purchased on). I tell them I want an immediate refund, not a bill credit, and they tell me it will take 6 weeks for a check in the mail!! It's not possible for them to credit the same card they took the money from? Grrr! Yet if the situation was reversed and I owed them money, I'm sure there would be overage fees. So frustrated!
Eric Filkins Send email
 
Mar 12, 2012

They should not be holding my money while they are unable to provide the service they promised

Verizon Is the biggest scamers!! Every month the mess up my bill and have to credit me! The where charing me the wrong stae tax for a whole year. Then when I moved, the internet did not work where I lived. Largest network my ass!!! So, they would not let me cancel my internet with out a 175.00 fee them MADE me change to a home phone! And that P O S has a echo in it every time I use it. I have called them EVERY month sense I started this plan!!! They give me credits but still manage to F up my bill every month!!! I put a data plan on there for 10$/month and they charged me 37 dollars because I put it on there to late and I already used 11MB so instead of rolling them in the 75MB they just added 11MB extra and charged me 1.99 per MB. REAL BS!!! The to top it off they gave me a months free usage, the ladies told me it would be on the following months bill, that months come NO Credit! So I called and said where is my credit??? They said sorry sire we will give you a credit this month and next month. Next month comes, I call, the girls says no you can't get that WTF is going on over there. I had to scream on this girl because they keep F ING up my bill and all they do is say sorry sir!! SORRY SIR??? HOW about you just go fck your self!!! I hate vedrizon and I am gonna call they every month just to be a asshole to the customer service people! They are the most INCOMPETENT people ihave every met!
Lihomer Send email
 
Mar 12, 2012

They should not be holding my money while they are unable to provide the service they promised

On July 28 I tried to make a call on my cell phone and was told I had no time available. I switched from a monthly billing to prepaid last Dec. I went to the Verizon web site and it showed I have $52.22 in my account. (My agreement with them is that I pay $2.99 for any calls made within one day).

I e-mailed Verizon to ask what the problem was. I received a return message stating that I had to call the 800 # and reprogram my phone. Why should I need to do this? I called, went through all of the steps to no avail. I was told a work order had to be created to research the problem, I would get a call the following day on my land line from Tina, the tech I spoke to. When I got no call I again e-mailed Verizon with a complaint about no service or solution and demanded they refund me the $52.22 they had in my account. I got an answer from yet another rep stating that they cannot refund my money and I should have service on 8/9. I replied that that is unacceptable as I need my cell phone for a trip to Orlando on 8/5 and again demanded my money.

I had to go out and buy another cell phone (a tracfone) so that I would have a phone to use. I have not had any response from Verizon regarding this problem or my demand for my money. They should not be holding my money while they are unable to provide the service they promised.
Ripped Off Again And Again Send email
 
Mar 3, 2012

This company lies

Just got a bill from NSA for a Verizon Wireless bill, I canceled the account after numerous attempts to get Verizon to fix a problem of no service, dropped calls, phone turning off and on by itself, no luck. Was told by Verizon to turn phones on and I should sell my account to someone else. Love how the customer has to fulfill the contract term but Varizon does not. They are forcing me to continue to pay them for nothing, and now send the scamming dogs after me, we citizens have no protection at all. Isn't it great how our government bails everyone who is ripping us off with our money and continues to allow then to abuse us. Land of the free, ya right!
Luisiscool Send email
 
Mar 3, 2012

This company lies

Okay I was in a family sharing plan with my mom. Now yesturday I called Verizon Wireless to cancel my phone since the contract already expired on 9/13/2010 and just wanted to leave my moms phone with service. Well guess what? The representative told me that they could not cancel the phone until March 25th! Maybe its because my billing cycle is from the 26th to the 25th of every month. But I dont care they say that you can cancel your phone at anytime without paying a fee for the cancelation when you are done with your contract! So the rep said that she could suspend my phone and now I have to pay next month the suspension fee of $15.00 plus the monthly fees! Verizon Wireless is a rip off and a liar! Once my contract is up on the next phone which is in january all switch to AT&T. Has anyone ever experienced this type of problem as well?
Whythelongfaces Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

On going bad service

Actually, it may be your phone. Have you ever thought of that? Is it under warranty? How long have you had it?
Pelvade Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

On going bad service

Several months ago I talked to a customer service rep. about how bad our service is. We live in Springboro Oh which is a populated area. Many times we have lost calls, phone does not ring and we do not know that we even had a phone call until it goes into voice mail. May times we will get a message that we had a miss call two days after the call. Again, because the phone did not ring. I thought it was just us but I have talked to many people who I work with and live in this area and they are having the same problem. Even though they have called when I talked to a representative they say that there have be no complaints in this area. It may not be important but unless it improves us and several others will be switching phone services. Our cell phone is our only phone so we have to be able to depend on it. We have asked verizon to check into this problem but they have done nothing, If improvements are not make I feel as though they have broken the contact and I should be able to move onto another cell phone service. Many others that I have talked to feel this way.
Thud Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Lack of Knowledge

When you pay them what you owe them, your service will be turned back on.
Kas0243 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Lack of Knowledge

Monday I called and spoke to 4 different associates who all told me the same thing...If I pay a certain amount my phone will be cut back on. When I called back today, Friday, the amount changes. I understand that I am late on my phone bill. My husband and I fell behind after our son was born, 6 weeks premature, and my husband lost his job 2 days after our son was born. Times have been hard and we are still trying to catch up. We down graded our phones and our plan to half the cost and made arrangements to pay off our balance over time. We got it down to 2 payments left. I forgot to pay the last payment on Friday. Monday they cut our phones off. I called, telling them I could pay what was due Friday, but the stated that since I missed that payment, I have to pay the full amount. I said I didn't have that and I would have to wait until the following Friday (today). I called today to make that payment. Once again, a different story. Now I have to pay the past balance AND this months bill. I tried telling them what the other 4 associates told me as well as what the automated system said, but no luck. They don't care. I wish they would take the ridiculous amount they charge and apply some of that money to educate their employees and change their automated system. I am seriously thinking about changing to Sprint. It's cheaper and they have unlimited Internet. Screw you Verizon.
One Lady In Red Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Arrogance

I recently did an online upgrade on my phone so that I could avoid overage charges. They went ahead and upgraded the plan, however I received a bill for $481.20. My daughter had surgery so we used the cell phone often. They claim I was not upgraded to the 2000 min. plan until the next billing cycle. Who in their right mind would not want the new plan to cover the overage incurred to take place during their current billing cycle. Another words why would anyone opt in to pay the overages. We have been with Verizon for 9 years, When the contract ends we will not choose them again. Also, we had so many problems with the new phone, they agreed to replace it with a used one. They are the worst company I have ever dealt with and obviously are not bothered by losing loyal customers.
Rsj85 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Arrogance

Back in September, my grandfather was involved in a car accident in which he later died. During that period of 12 days, we were using our phones quite a bit talking to doctors, other family members, etc. Our usage was not on our minds at the time. Billing cycle closes and I get the email notification. When I open my email I see a bill for almost $500. I didn't panic at first because I honestly believed Verizon Wireless would be sensitive to the situation and ease up on the overages. They stuck to their guns. I explained to them what had happened and explained that the funeral costs were going to break our backs. With travel costs to travel 1500 miles away by car, One airplane ticket, food, tolls, and just the situation, it was costly emotionally and monetarily. Verizon could've really stepped up to the plate and demonstrated that they care about their customers. Instead, they credited me 25% of my overages and made me feel as if I should be grateful for that. Never a missed or late payment. I was also one of their indirect employees. They did not care. Fast-forward a few months. I moved to the State where my grandfather lived to help my grandmother out. I applied for a job at Verizon Wireless. Why? Because one thing has nothing to do with the other and for what they charge for their service I figured their employees must be paid well. I received an "invitation" to an interview a few weeks later. I was given 2 interviews the same day with a number of managers and a gentleman from HR. First off, they let it be known from day one that they are in command and don't need you. It's the little things that people notice. I was interrupted in the middle of a statement. I was told I'd get a call back Monday (this was friday). They called almost 2 weeks later. Actually, they didn't call, they texted me to alert me that "We are excited to offer you a contigent position to Retail Sales Associate, please call me back asap". So I called back a few minutes later. No answer. Left a voicemail. Called again the next day. No voicemail left. Wrote an email a few days later. Called yet again a few days after that and still no pick up. It was 7 days after I was offered the position that they called back. I really needed this position and I didn't attempt to hide this. My excitement was obvious. I felt they used that against me. They took advantage of this. At the end of the day, they offered me $10 an hour. Not anything to be super excited over. My background check is still being conducted. I told them everything before hand so I don't see what's taking so long. It's been a week. I've already begun looking for other places of employment in Wireless sales. I am a great employee who is dedicated to their work and most importantly, does right by customers. I have references from old places of employment that state this. I have customers who will say this about me. I don't think I should have to spend over a month explaining to Verizon Wireless why they should hire me. The proof is in the pudding. My performance is verifiable. But yet, I called customer care a few days ago and spent the greater part of the call explaining to their rep the difference between a SIM card (which I needed) and an SD card. It seems Verizon Wireless doesn't like or want individuality, They want conformity. They want their yes men and women to be robot-like. They spent a good deal making me aware that it was a roughly $30, 000 investment to get me in the company. Whatever guys, seriously, I don't know where that number comes from but nothing they can teach me costs $30, 000. Unless they're teaching brain surgery or something, I know I need a job but I am a human being and I will not sacrifice any more of my dignity. If they wanna see what I do, hire me. If not, peace. They aren't the cat's meow. My experience is not easily matched and my dedication is paramount. I search for sales leads on my days off. Perhaps AT&T can appreciate a great, dedicated employee. Their arrogance has clashed with my pride. Thanks for making me jump through hoops Verizon. I will not jump anymore. And thanks for not caring about my family's situation. You have demonstrated yet again that you don't care about your customers, only their money.
VZW_CS Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Early Termination

htmlgirl,

I apologize for any frustration and stress this may have caused. I would be happy to review your account and see why these charges applied and also work with you on a resolution. Please contact us @VZWSupport on Twitter or reach us at www.verizonwireless.com/contactus if you still need assistance.

^AE
VZW_CS
Follow us on Twitter @VZWSupport
Htmlgirl Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Early Termination

Verizon just screwed us. We PCSed overseas with military orders. We cancelled our contract before I left. I have a receipt from them that states ETF: $0. We did this December 19, 2011 for a cancellation date through the next billing cycle, since we were PCSing January 9, 2011. I just got an email (Feb 7, 2012) saying they charged my banking account for $363.82. I went online and looked at the details of the bill and it was mostly due to ETF (and the other government fees, which if they have to charge then fine). This is so screwed up. There is no verizon coverage here (Italy) not to mention when we cancelled we were told we would not be charged a termination fee (we have the receipt as proof).
Htmlgirl Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Failure to waive Early Termination Fee

Verizon just screwed us. We PCSed overseas with military orders. We cancelled our contract before I left. I have a receipt from them that states ETF: $0. We did this December 19, 2011 for a cancellation date through the next billing cycle, since we were PCSing January 9, 2011. I just got an email saying they charged my banking account for $363.82. I went online and looked at the details of the bill and it was mostly due to ETF (and the other government fees, which if they have to charge then fine). This is so screwed up. There is no verizon coverage here (Italy) not to mention when we cancelled we were told we would not be charged a termination fee (we have the receipt as proof).
Mixitupgal Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Poor customer service

I have on several occasions gone into the Verizon store also spoke on the phone to customer service only to meet up with incompetent personnel working and managers. I had an issue with billing the first time. The other few times were issues with an upgraded phone. No help from the company. Even customer retention was a joke. The only advice I can give is stay away from Verizon. I am a happier customer with Sprint.
Michelle320 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Poor customer service

Its because they don't make the equipment. they only sell the service... and if you call in and talk to them like you sound on you post...no wonder that you dont get good service...

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username