Submit a Complaint

VersaCheck 2012 Platinum

United States,
Colorado

Consumer complaints and reviews about VersaCheck 2012 Platinum

Versachxsucks Send email
 
Apr 10, 2013

Versacheck

BEWARE PEOPLE BEWARE This company has turned into total joke. Been using 2007 for a few years with good results. Updated my office network with new PC's running Windows 7, had to upgrade to the new Versacheck X1 software. Nothing but trouble. Versacheck X1 for Quick Books is now single user, doesn't tell you that on the website. Nor does it mention you only get 165 checks printed before you have to buy more credits from them. The kicker is it won't even work and you won't even get a single check unless you give them all your banking information along with your electronic signature for gValidate. Told me it was a new "law". Very shady. The final nail in their coffin with me......This is what they told me when I asked for a refund as it wasn't what I needed and didn't perform as advertised....This is a non-tangible product which cannot be returned for refund!
Glad I kept my server running XP...reloaded 2007 and am back up running checks for free without having to give these people my banking information. Loaded a couple remote portals on the two PC's that run checks. Slight inconvenience but beats them at their game. The pricks got me for $80 bucks but thats a pretty cheap lesson. Remember you have to turn all your banking info, along with electronic signature, over to a web site......
joangrace Send email
 
Mar 22, 2013

Inaccurate reports

My computer crashed so I had to buy another one. I. too, have used Versacheck for almost 10 years. However my old version of Versacheck would not work on it so I updated. I'm an individual, not a business, and most of my checks are written online, therefore, I did not need check writing or printing. As soon as I downloaded the program, I started have problems. It wouldn't open. After several call I was told that I had to go in under " run as administrator" to open. That seems to work. Now I want to run reports for my taxes and the reports don't show the items requested that are in split payments. I contacted them by phone and finally talk to a technician. He took control of my machine and could not figure out why the requested categories within the split payments do not show up. He got another technician who could not explain what was wrong so suggested I email them my data. I did it (not to smart) I have emailed them a couple of times. They finally email back saying they were not finding an error so I sent the dates and the payee where the splits would not show up on the reports. They wrote back and told me to enter them by hand because they would need my data and time to fix it. I email and said I had send the data. They email right back and told me there was no problem and that they couldn't look at my data since they had already deleted it. I think they mean "get lost".
Barbara Lynn Send email
 
Mar 2, 2012

forcing customer to update

After my computer crashed, I decided to purchase the new VersaCheck X1 software. I, too, went through all the hoops to gvalidate all my accounts. Now, 165 checks later, it is trying to force me to pay $9.99 in order to be able to print an additional 250 checks. THIS IS SUCH BS. I called customer service and was dealt with in the least compassionate and most obnoxious way--the guy was no help and obviously didn't give a flip if I was dissatisfied or not and offered absolutely no solution to this problem. Basically, said I could buy more validation codes or not use the program. Once I solve the problem of not being able to use NEW AND EXPENSIVE SOFTWARE, I will never buy a product of any type from VersaCheck again.
Jami H Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

forcing customer to update

I'm having the same problem. I decided to quit printing my checks on the computer and went back to carrying a checkbook. But I needed to go back today to pull up a history of transactions for my accountant to do my taxes and I'm locked out and have no way of looking at my last years transactions without paying the new upgrade$39.99. This is BS
Dicki Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

forcing customer to update

I have used Vers Check for the last 10 years and this new version of Versa Check is very difficult to work with. I am looking for check writing program that works with quick books. It should be against the law to make us g-validate.
Sagitarious Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

forcing customer to update

In my experience I have found Symantec to be a very unethical company. They make junk software which does a lousy job and is bloatware that they over charge for. Find someone who knows how to uninstall it, you can get Revo uninstaller for free from CNET that does a great job and cleans out your registry which probably hasn't been done and that's why it keeps returning. You have just experienced one the annoying unethical business practices of Symantec. It's amazing they continue to stay in business.
Judy24 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

forcing customer to update

I so totally agree with all of the above complaints about gValidate! I run a small business, in which one of my responsibilities is to do pre-authorized bank drafts for my clients' customers to pay their balances. I have been doing this for years with Versa Check with no problems -- until gValidate came in the picture. The last few days, dealing with this issue, has been nothing but a nightmare. Long story short, I validated our company bank account, but did not feel comfortable providing highly sensitive, confidential banking information for those customers and my clients to a third-party, especially over the internet. But I was in a quandry, because I still needed to conduct my business, and all of the checks I had previously set up in Versa Check to print at pre-determined future dates were being held "hostage" by gValidate, because they would not print without "VOID" across the front of the checks. I, too, had no advance notice this was going to happen. So I decided to subscribe to gValidate's ASP Plan service, in the hopes it would remedy the situation. It only created additional problems. I paid the $9.99 for the ASP Plan. Then when I logged in to gValidate, the member account screen says my ASP Plan is not activated. I then hit "Activate", and I got a message stating my ASP Plan has aleady been activated. It would not let me access my ASP Plan at all. I then sent a fax and an email to gValidate, explaining what I was encountering, and asking them to instruct me as to what I need to do or explain why I get these conflicting messages and cannot use the program I paid for. The only response I received stated that according to their records, my account was activated. They didn't even try to help me or explain what the problem is. So I then changed to a different bank drafting program. I sent gValidate an email, reminding them that I was never able to access the ASP Plan, so I want my money back. I then received a snooty email back, stating that according to their Purchase Agreement (WHAT Purchase Agreement???), all sales are final and no refunds allowed. So I paid for a program that I cannot access, cannot print checks, gValidate refuses to help me, and they are refusing to refund my money. I feel scammed! So I am in the process of trying to dispute the charge with my bank. The bank dispute fee may end up being more than the $9.99 I paid gValidate, but it's the principle of the thing. According to contract law, you must receive consideration for it to be a valid contract -- in other words, you must receive something in return for your money. I received nothing. I will NEVER purchase anything even remotely associated with gValidate, and that even includes the previously-trusted Versa Check products.
Jurek P Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

forcing customer to update

Same experience like mentioned in all comments above. In addition, my account was locked - I can not review previous transactions at all. I bought My Checkbook, is severely underpowered but for now it can do. Let me know when you will find something better with competent (and less obnoxious) customer service people...
John1000 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

forcing customer to update

I too agree with the above complaints . I have used VersaCheck for more than 10 years and have not had many problems with it . However, I will not comply with this scam and, if necessary, will return to writing checks the old fashioned way by using preprinted checks filled out by hand . I am not about to provide my banking information to some so called "third party" under any circumtstance . Furthermore, if VersaCheck enters my computer and attempts to close my program, I will file a massive suit against it and invite others to join me . My records are stored in the program, and if I am denied access to them, there will be a substantial price to pay in court .

It is obvious that this so called safety requirement is nothing more that a ploy to permit the government unrestricted access to individual banking information . Without doubt this so called safety system will be used by the government to gain unrestricted access without warrant to banking information both of the sofeware user and of those with whom he deals . If you wish to sign away your Forth Amendment rights to be free to unreasonable search and seizure, go ahead and participate in this program .

The decision cited by VersaCheck appears to have originated in the 9th Federal District Court, the most nortorious and incompetent court in the country . This being the case, it is likely that its decision does not apply to any other federal district in the country outside of the 9th Federal District . If so, where is the confirmation of this ?

I suggest that those using the VersaCheck program discontinue using it and that they find another check writing software company, or that they go back to a much earlier version of the program, and/or that they disable the part of the program which allows it to communicate with VersaCheck, including the registration part of the program .

It is simply time to put a stop to these intrusive practices . Perhaps now is the time to begin .
Ranger429 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

forcing customer to update

I have the same issues with Versacheck. I have been using it for years and as of today con no longer write checks because I did not do their upgrade. I think it is a total scam on Versacheck's part. I am headed to Best Buy to find a new software that does not have these issues and if I can't find one of those then I'll go back to the old way of filling them out with a pen.
Mack7 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

forcing customer to update

I have been a loyal customer of G7 productivity systems, owner of Versacheck for more 10 years but that loyalty has been damaged recently. In about 10 months ago, I have upgraded my versacheck and purchased a versacheck 2012 platinum. After I uninstalled the previews versacheck software, I installed the latest version, and everything worked fine as expected. Then 4 days ago, I have received an update notification which I declined. The next morning when I opened my versacheck, the update notice has appeared on my screen but this time, it says that I'm required to update, or I will be no longer able to use the software. I was surprised first but decided to update it and after the update, I restarted my computer. As I opened versacheck, this time it tells me that I have to gvalidate my bank account. That was the strangest moment; I called the versacheck customer support, but they encourage me to gvalidate to protect myself financially and to use the software due to recent financial law. What does the gvalidation bank account do? First, you set up a username password and submit your account information, including your bank account routing number, name and address; they will tell you to check your account for next four business days to see 1 cent check and get the check number to validate your account at gvalidate a website (https://www.gvalidate.com). I did all the steps and validated my account and my business account. Then today, I try to print few of our clients checkdraft payments as we have done for the past 10 years. This time, versacheck software tells me my client's bank accounts have to be gvalidated; here is where I got so upset with versacheck. Why should I have to do that? We have done that through our bank and my clients bank. We have not seen this before, we always print our client's payment check draft and never had any problem with either our bank or my client bank. Again, I called versacheck customer support, and they insisted that is a new law that was passed requiring them to enforce it. Ok, I purchased 1000 check draft printing and paid $9.99, but still they required me to ask my customer to validate their bank account with them; come on. I paid $99.99 for the software plus 1 cent for gvalidation, plus $9.99 to print 1000 check draft and what did I get nothing. Why would anybody pay $9.99 to print a check draft while you have the software, magnetic ink and paper? If you pay it, you absolutely get nothing; they are not a bank securing your fund. They are not a consumer protection agency; just, a software company scamming its customers. I have decided to talk to my attorney and here is what he found, a fat legal case against G7 productivity system, owner of versacheck and couple there associates ( here is the case: http://www.ftc.gov/os/caselist/0523155/091118neovimemo.pdf). It is illegal to change rules without notifying your customers and if you the customer decides not comply with your rules; you either refund the cost of the product or let them use until their term endsIn this case, versacheck never gave me a notification or offered me a refund of my original purchase. They have big legal bill on their hand. Therefore, they need a way to pay off. That is what it looks and sounds to me.
If anyone is planning to purchase their check writing software, be aware and give them call any ask any question that you may have. If you're a business and individual doing business and accept payment over the phone, this is not right product for you. This will only work for someone who is printing checks to their venders or employees.
Their product packaging doesn't explains all the above validation requirement and all the money you will pay after your purchase the software
Hawaii Businessman Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

forcing customer to update

I totally agree with the comments above, I have been using Versacheck even with all the needs to validate this and confirm that and revalidate so I can write my own checks...but they fail to inform you of any of the new rules and regulations that will for all intents and purposes stop you from writing your own checks. Then they aren't open on weekends for support, a terrible way of contacting them, no phone service to speak of, and fail to answer your emails in a timely manner. The Tech support is always too busy to help and when you finally do get someone they are on a timer and want to move forward quickly so they can get to another disgruntled client

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username