Submit a Complaint

Victoria's Secret

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about Victoria's Secret

DeS! Send email
 
Dec 8, 2018

Racially Profiled

To Whom This May Concern:

For starters, I have never been so humiliated, disrespected, scared, and violated in MY LIFE! I am writing to discuss my concerns not only for myself but for other individuals that this may have happened to and may have felt helpless when backed up in a situation as similar as mines. However, while shopping at Victoria’s Secret in the Mall of Louisiana, which is located at 6401 Bluebonnet Blvd #1210 Baton Rouge, La 70836. I noticed a police officer lingering around me, my son, and friend while shopping. This authority figure proceeded to stare at the three of us, as if, we were doing something wrong. So, we discussed with each other the officer’s rude behavior and decided to think positive and move on from what seemed to be stirring up to take place.

As we proceeded to shop on the opposite side of the store, the same police officer approached us in the loudest tone of voice ever and asked, “ARE YA’LL OVER HERE STEALING?” At this point WE became scared for our lives. I answered NO, and the officer mentioned that an employee told him that we was in the store stealing. The first thing to come to mind was to quickly diffuse the situation and ask the officer if he wanted to check our belongings and I did. The officer refused to check our items and I made him full aware that I knew our rights and that I felt that we were being racially profiled. I felt that we were targeted because of the color of our SKIN. The officer immediately turned his body camera on and stepped closely in my face and beginned to say that he is the POLICE and he can ask what he want without proof. It was at that moment I thought, OH MY GOD I AM ABOUT TO GET ARRESTED FOR BEING FALSELY ACCUSED OF STEALING!!!!

I was extremely terrified because he kept starring at my son in such an intimidating manor as if he was trying to PROVOKE him to voice how he was feeling at that giving moment, so that he could handcuff all three of us. I immediately told the officer that I respected him as an officer and that I knew the LAW and that we did not do anything WRONG. At that point the officer walked off and left us alone. Afterwards, I found the store manager and calmly explained to him calmly what just took place in his store and how horrible we all felt afterwards and that additional training needs to take place amongst all employees regarding the proper way to identify CRIMINALS, so that no one else could experience what we had to go through on this Thanksgiving Day! While the manager and I were communicating outside the store in private the officer walked up an intervened again and asked the manager was there a problem and he replied NO. At that point I still felt attacked as if the officer was trying to torment us and still create conflict, so that he could detain me/us for no apparent reason. Thank God for our emotional intelligence!

I am writing this complaint because someone needs to hear my CRY and understand the frustration, anxiety, and fear that I have inside from this incident that took place inside of Victoria’s Secret. I DO NOT KNOW WHAT EXACTLY WAS IT THAT WE COULD HAVE POSSIBLY DONE TO BE IDENTIFIED AS A THEIF AND BE TREATED SO POORLY ON THIS DAY. Absolutely, no human being should have had to encounter such negativity and embarrassment in their life by someone who is viewed as a PEACE OFFICER by the people within the community, especially for something they did not do. I lose sleep every single night and have flash backs of this law officer’s intimidating behavior and embarrassing the three of us in front of everyone inside of Victoria’s Secret. This is an experience I will never forget and something needs to be done about this. Furthermore, this is a store I loved and unfortunately I will never shop at again out of fear that this could happen again and simply because we did not feel welcomed and could have been killed or arrested by the police officer for no apparent reason and being falsely accused by one of your employees. I will make it my business to share this story with everyone that I encounter so that they can think twice about shopping at a store that have employees that clearly judge and lie on individuals based off the color of their skin, outer appearance and only GOD knows what else!
User Send email
 
Apr 11, 2012

Beware

This occurred last year. I made a purchase at the store for about 80 dollars. Went home. Then NEVER got a statement from them. When I finally get a statement from them, it told me that I owed them 120.00 dollars. I called and the Indian woman took my information and said it was paid over the phone. She didn’t put the right info into the system and the company never got payment. Once I settled with someone who did speak English the 80 dollars went to about 119.00! SOME SALE... beware of credit card companies that sell out to India!!
User930077 Send email
 
Apr 11, 2012

Beware

OK wow great for being a racist. how do you know it was indian woman? your the dumb one that decided not to check the price. your jsut a stupid fat wanna VS model looking racist bitch!
User896315 Send email
 
Apr 2, 2012

Say Bye-Bye XL panties and LARGE Bras..

I so agree, my hubby asked me to get something sexy from victoria secret and show case it for him but I am an Xl in panties and a 40 c in bras and I can't find my size come to find out when I went to the store out by 34th st the lady tells me they don't sell plus size then she reffers me to lane bryant and ashley stewart I felt disrespected I just walked away. I feel as if victoria secret is being very unfair I give that store 12 thumbs down
Cremlin Send email
 
Mar 20, 2012

Say Bye-Bye XL panties and LARGE Bras..

I suppose I'd be more irate if stores ever actually carried my size (32C- I'm talking an actual built-for-32C bra, not a downsized 34B), but be careful before making it an issue of size ladies- despite what the anorexic commercials portray, being of genuine smaller sizes 0-2 (XS) presents issues also. Just 2 days ago I visited VS looking to try on a 32C (I called ahead & they said they had it) in a particular style & found that not only did they not have the bra, very few if any bras in-store are now 32Cs period. VS has never carried a panty that could fit my 32-33" hip measurements (properly w/o slipping), but I understand that it's an issue of production & inventory. I don't take it personally that apparently VS thinks all petite individuals have 34.5" hips. Stores stock what sells. Really big and really small just don't sell in volume; it's just the way the ball bounces.
Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Bad service

Rude staff, only one register open, sales person left the sensors on my panties so I was forced to dig thru the trash to find my receipt so that I can take them back.
Connie_sicat Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Bad service

most of the staff of this victoria secret are not really good in hayyat mall..we are filipina we have discrimenation of this people.they give the things to other nationality the things that on sale, and we are the first to come on that shop in front of them thy give the things that was on sale because they dont display some of stuff, if we ask them to give us also but they refuse its realy unfair to my nationality, , , why because we are pilipina?even we are pilipina we are not haramiya because we how to pay..so im just hoping to this shop to give ur staff some maners to others...
BillieBob Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Gift Exchange

Troll city.
MauiAL50 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Gift Exchange

Simple. Your Mother-in-Law paid for it, and that is who will get any credit or exchange. Most stares have similar policies in place to protect the purchaser. You are not the purchaser so they don't owe you a thing.
DiamondDeb Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Gift Exchange

I HATE VICTORIA'S SECRET!
My mother-in-law sent me some apparel from VS for my birthday. I sent them back for exchange. I neatly typed my new merchandise on Word to send with their receipt. They actually credited back my gift givers credit card instead. So I get no gift this year or call my gift giver to explain what happened which will just hurt her feelings. No apologies from VS. No compensation for their f*ck-up. I wrote them to cancel my account and delete me from their mailing list. I doubt they will do it or even respond.
Ellen67 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Gift Exchange

Did they instruct you to type your new merchandise/ exchange on Word? There is a form that comes with each order explaining how to return or exchange.
Ellen67 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Gift Exchange

I copied the return policy for you below:

How to Return/Exchange
Returns & Exchanges are easier than ever. Now you can return items from your mailbox or in our stores!
By Phone
 
Call us at (800) 888-1500. You will be charged for the replacement merchandise and we will cover the cost of standard shipping for your exchange. Upon receipt of your return, we will credit you for the returned items. Please leave the Exchange Section of your Return/Exchange Form blank to avoid a duplicate shipment.
By Mail
 
Place your items and completed Return/Exchange Form in a secure package removing or covering any labels. Please allow 30 days for us to receive and process your request. A Return and Exchange Form is included with every package. If you are unable to locate your Return and Exchange Form, please download a new form. You can fill it out online and then print it, or print out a blank form and complete it by hand.
For your flexibility, return labels from two carriers are provided for use on all domestic orders. When you choose our pre-paid return label option, we will deduct $5.99 from your refund for return Shipping & Handling costs. As always, retain your Order Summary and Tracking Number for reference. Please see label instructions for additional details.
U.S. Postal Service Return Label
Send your package back by placing it in your mailbox or drop it off at any post office.
UPS Return Label
Take your package to a UPS drop-off location or give it to any UPS driver.
Please retain the applicable tracking number from your return label to track your package. To track your package visit:
UPS – www.ups.com
U.S. Postal – www.tracking.smartlabel.com
In Store
 
Buy online/catalogue & drop off returns in store (within the U.S. and Puerto Rico). Here’s how:
Bring your items to a store near you. Don’t forget your invoice! Our sales associates are unable to process a return or an exchange without an invoice.
An associate will accept your return and give you a drop-off receipt.
You will receive credit once your return is received and processed by our fulfillment center.
Ellen67 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Gift Exchange

Why is it that some customers immediately consider it the store's mess up? And think they should receive additional compensation? *sigh*
Justice4balls Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Gift Exchange

I noticed the community side almost immediately after joining the site. Probably to the dismay of several current and former members. I received my first star in less than a month, and that only seemed to further the ire of some. I received daily verbal abuse from some, probably a certain amount was admittedly deserved. I was new to the online world and full of raw emotion. I wore my heart on my sleeve, and it took several nic changes and deleted accounts to realize there are times to grab the shovel from the tool shed, and there are times to bite your tongue. Sadly, I lost the trust and respect of some. But what is done is done, and I can only go on being who I am. Maybe some day they too will realize I am only human.

This site used to be so full of flair and panache, but lately it has become pathetic and lame. So much so, that even I don't frequent it as often as I used to. We have a few members with multiple nics that are constantly patronizing one another and patting each other on the backs with poorly disguised self adulation. With no apparent purpose other than to mock the system and establishment with their neverending supply of middle-of-the-road answers about how each and every review is great. It purposely undermines the integrity of the site, and often diminishes the value of our honest and sincere evaluations of the topic at hand. And for Administration to continue to allow such blatant insincerity, if further drives a wedge between the site and its once loyal following.
Justice4balls Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Gift Exchange

******* ELLEN67 ALERT ***** ELLEN 67 ALERT
DiamondDeb Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Gift Exchange

Yes, guys I did follow the return/exchange policy. VS confirms they did receive the returned merchandise. And they did confirm that they messed up by crediting the gift giver's credit card instead of sending the replacement merchandise. The problem I have here is I have to explain this to my mother-in-law if she looks at her credit card statement. I thought I would get support from posting on this board, but apparently not. Or you all work for VS?
Ellen67 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Gift Exchange

Diamond, that they confirmed that they made a mistake is standard. Good customer care is NOT pointing the finger of blame at the customer, even if it is the customer's fault. If you returned the item without using the correct form (see above), there is a chance it may have gotten overlooked and only the return was processed.

Just explain to your mother in law that it didn't fit or something like that. Tell her there was a miscommunication and it should have been an exchange, not a return.

I don't know about the other commentors, but I never worked for VS, but I shopped with them often enough to know their return process.

And don't be confused by the ALERT message; it has nothing to do with your complaint. Just a practical joker.
Reese121 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Say Bye-Bye XL panties and LARGE Bras..

I have worked for VS for a few years and I understand where you ladies are coming from. I often work in the fitting rooms and I meet customers of all shapes and sizes. I know we can not accommodate every customer, but I sure as heck try. As soon as VS discontinued the 40 band size, they started selling bra extenders (although they are not highly advertised by associates and most customers don't even know they exist). I have made a 38DD bra fit a girl who was easily a 44 band size by using some creativity. I know not all of the associates care as much as I do, but maybe that's because most of them didn't grow up with a mom who wore a 40 and I don't know how many of the girls struggle with sudden weight gain like I have. I know what it's like to feel like having an emotional breakdown in a fitting room, but I try to create an atmosphere where my customers never feel like that. I want them all to love their bodies and realize that I will do what I can to help them feel beautiful, even if it is making suggestions for them to shop at another company who can provide them with the products they need.

As far as the panties go, it sucks that we discontinued XL, but we also altered a lot of the panties so they have more "give"... especially the cotton panties. As soon as they discontinued XL, they redesigned the panties to include a small percentage of spandex so they can accommodate larger sizes. We also have a few one size fits all panties that have extreme stretch in them.

I hope you will all give this company another chance. VS is not full of stupid skinny girls... There are real women who work there that would love to make you feel good about your body.
DrHill Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Say Bye-Bye XL panties and LARGE Bras..

I am with you guys. I had been buying my bras a VS for quite a few years. I am over 50 and not the same size that I was when I was 20, but I don't consider myself fat. As a business woman, I'd like to have clothes that fit well and the bras really improved the way my clothes fit. I am not out shopping to find someone who makes size 40 bras that are similar. I haven't had any luck. I think that this is a niche market that VS didn't market to properly. They are too busy trying to attract the teenagers into their store. They should be more concerned about we older gals that are bringing home the six figure paychecks. We can actually buy the stuff!
MareBear615 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Say Bye-Bye XL panties and LARGE Bras..

I sent this to corporate- I am not expecting to hear anything but it was nice to get it off my chest :D


I am extremely disappointed in the Victoria's Secret company. I am 28 years old and have been shopping there for about 9 years now. I buy lotions, perfumes, body sprays, bras, panties, etc. All of this has come to a stop and I will not ever step foot in the store again.

About one month ago, I was going on my honeymoon and was trying to shop for a strapless bra - I went to VS and asked for help in purchasing it in a 38DD. There weren't any in the store. I asked for a 40DD and there weren't any in the store. I ended up buying a 38D which was too small, but I was hoping to exchange it at another store nearby. I called six stores within a 50 mile radius. None of them had the bra. The last store I called, I talked with the manager and she told me that they are no longer selling 38DDs (in many of the bras) in the stores and I would have to go online to do that. I was leaving in 3 days for my honeymoon and did not have enough time.

Three days ago, I got a "free panty" coupon in the mail and went to the store to get it as well as purchase some of the 5 for $25 panties. I searched high and low for the X-Large size, but there weren't any. Oh wait, there was one white cotton brief left...not flattering or sexy and not for someone who is 28 years old and a newlywed.

I asked the very friendly woman at the counter about the X-Large panties and she told me they were no longer carrying any XL in the store (except for styles like the hi-cut and brief). I then asked her about the larger sizes in the bras. She told me the same thing the other woman did except that they are no longer selling 40s in any of the bras. She apologized and told me she too wears the XL panty and now she can't even purchase the product from the store she works at.

I asked about purchasing things online and then having them shipped to the store. She told me that you can't even return items to the store- that VS.com and VS are two separate entities. Wow- mad doesn't even begin to describe how I feel.

It's not fair that X-Small is being kept, but X-Large is gone. What message are you sending to people? "You were good enough to shop here, but we changed our minds and you are too fat now?" I am specifically appalled in the amount of pre-teens and teens that are able to shop in your store. Yet, a WOMAN that wears a 12 or 14 cannot buy your panties or someone that has a larger bust cannot purchase a bra from your store.

This is ridiculous - I am telling everyone I know. Not only are you making it inconvenient for women who have shopped there for years, but you are also making them feel bad about themselves. I am not large enough to shop at the Plus Size stores and now I am too fat to shop at VS.

I know I am not the only woman to feel this way and you are wrong for getting rid of these products. YOU SUCK VS!!!
VSWoman Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Say Bye-Bye XL panties and LARGE Bras..

The larger sizes offered at VS are IDENTICAL to the smaller ones in style, color and pattern. I've spent many a pre-SAS-sale overnight sorting them into bins... the big bras are just as colorful, lacy and sparkly as the smaller bras. Also, we always have fewer push-ups in larger sizes for just the reason you mention. Interestingly, the most commonly sold bra color in ANY size is nude... followed by white, and then black, even in the itty-bitty sizes. They aren't selling because people aren't buying them. Women with large breasts need more support but they also want their bras to look tiny and delicate. When you enlarge a bra, EVERYTHING has to get bigger. You cannot hold up DD breasts with tiny straps- they dig into the shoulders like cables and yet we think somehow Victoria's Secret has some special magic to counter this.

Victoria's Secret isn't prowling this site for ideas- if you have complaints, you should send them to Victoria's Secret. Nothing's worse than complaining to someone who can't do a thing to help you or to make changes.

VSWoman

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username