Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

WageWorks

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about WageWorks

nhwageworks Send email
 
Jul 21, 2018

Class Action Law Suit

I've been using this card all year long and in previous years without any issue. All of a sudden I use my card at the doctors and it's declined. Went to get over the counter medicine on the approved list and it was declined. 800$ remaining I can access or get reimbursed. Based on all these complaints and horror stories from people, enough is enough. Class action law suit is on the way, there are enough people in the same boat to constitute it. If not the company will make out like a bandit this year. Next open enrollment I'm sharing with my four thousand colleagues at my organization; NOT TO ENROLL. Good luck staying in business next year you bunch of crooks!
y2upao_CB Send email
 
Jun 30, 2018

WageWorks

My employer has chosen to use this company for Flexible Spending Account, Cobra, and Retiree Medical/Vision benefit payments....as if dealing with them for just one wasn't bad enough!

Flexible Spending Account -- submitted a claim on-line - denied part of it due to insufficient information but did not notify me. No way to submit the additional information with the original claim, and can't open a new claim because it is now outside of the May 31 cut-off.

They did not notify me of the insufficient information via email, text, phone call, or snail mail. Because payment was made by direct deposit into my bank, rather than a paper check, it took me a while to discover that the full amount had not been paid. When I went on line, I saw that they had denied part of it because the information provided was not sufficient. I have the detailed information and could have supplied it. However, they provide no avenue on line to supply additional information. So, option was to submit another claim -- problem: it is now outside of the May 31 deadline for prior year claims! Only option now is through claims appeal, which you cannot do on-line! And this is all to get my own money back!! I stand to leave several hundred dollars of MY money with them.

Cobra - during the transition when I left my company, their handling of the billing and paperwork left a gap in coverage -- they got their money, but did not report coverage to the service providers until much later, after which I had to go "out of pocket" for certain items. Then it was all on me to try to get reimbursed.

Retiree Medical - I'm not transitioning from the Cobra coverage to the retiree coverage. It is a repeat of the bad handling of Cobra -- another gap in coverage due to their reporting. In addition, I received a bill on 6/26, that was due 7/01, with a statement that coverage would lapse if not paid by the due date. Their only on-line way of paying to expedite is having them sweep my bank account, which takes days (about as long as it would take me to mail a physical check).

And, to make things even more fun, I have to have separate login credentials for each of the above. So I have 3 different logins with WageWorks.

Trying to get to the right person by phone is a nightmare. Their website doesn't help, and paperwork received from them provides only a mailing address.

Their systems and processes have created multiple problems for me, and they do not help to resolve them. But I don't have the option to go elsewhere since WageWorks is who my (former) employer has chosen to administer benefits.
acnd3@yahoo.com Send email
 
Apr 20, 2018

No coverage no refund

I have paid over $2000 to this company to continue my medical, dental, and vision from 9/28/17. I received my first bill for this in November 2017. When I went to my dentist in February I was told I had no dental insurance and had to pay full price. Sure enough I went to my insurance web site and it said no coverage since 9/28/17. I had already submitted payments for April then received a letter from Wage Works that they would be returning all monies. No check has ever been received.
anio1424 Send email
 
Apr 2, 2018

Constant proof of medical need

I went to the doctor and used my Conexis card, which was processed, and now they want proof of medical necessity. They also rejected my purchase of Zyrtec and Benadryl because I couldn't show medical necessity. My goodness, why else would I be going to the doctor or purchasing these products if they weren't a medical necessity. If the "code" for the doctor was not acceptable then why did they process the transaction. I understand there is a long list somewhere of what is covered and what is not, but to have that list on hand every time you want to make a purchase is unacceptable. Wageworks is suppose used for MY r medical expenses to pay for doctors appointments and medication. If I don't provide proof, then they expect a reimbursement. This is the biggest medical scam around.
waryconsumer Send email
 
Feb 15, 2018

Dental Cobra Plan

IN AUGUST 2017 WE PAID 18 MONTHS IN ADVANCE BY CHECK TO WAGEWORKS TO COVER AETNA DENTAL COBRA INSURANCE.
In Feb 2018 the coverage was no longer valid for our dentist. We called Wageworks and received the run around. Finally they said we would be covered in 72 hours after our employer got a hold of them. Apparently Wageworks keeps the payments and hopes no one utilizes the insurance.
logcoord Send email
 
Feb 10, 2018

FSA issues

They are refusing receipts of the same exact type that I have been submitting for years, claiming that the IRS won't accept them. My Husband has both a BS in Business and an MBA, he also owns a business, and he told me there is nothing wrong with them, they contain the needed info. This is MY money that they are trying to keep dang it!! Angel was of no help and obviously was not a subject matter expert, she stated she was a supervisor but I find that hard to believe. I went through similar problems last year, the receipts are from my provider and it's what they give all of their patients, and oh, the hospital I got them from is also my employer WHO CONTRACTED these incompetent boobs!! I plan on taking it up with HR, as are many of my fellow workers!!
mightypissedoff Send email
 
Feb 2, 2018

WageWorks cancelled my paid-up COBRA coverage

My dentist just informed me that Metlife says my coverage was cancelled. I am on COBRA administered by WageWorks and fully paid up (they literally took my monthly payment yesterday). So I called MetLife and they confirmed that WageWorks had cancelled my coverage. So I called WageWorks and they claimed they did not cancel. Now I am on the phone with MetLife again and they are calling WageWorks. There's nothing quite so stressful as having a few thousand dollars worth of dental work and then being informed that you are not covered because of incompetence at WageWorks.

If there are any lawyers reading, I would be happy to sign up for a class action suit against this disgusting company.
SFSam Send email
 
Feb 1, 2018

Wageworks keeping funds

I retired on 10/31/17. The wageworks website, as of today, shows a balance available in my FSA of approx. $250 that is available for claims thru 03/31/18. They have cut me out of phone support and I've mailed two claim requests for the full amount. Wageworks is not responding nor paying. This should be a Federal crime as it is Federal law.
joycel2050 Send email
 
Jan 31, 2018

Constant Deductions

I completely agree that Wage Works is absolutely the worst company on the planet. Wage Works has also taken way too much money directly out of my pay checks without warning twice for the unsavory Commuter Program. The way that they did it was abnormal for them:

1) They took money out ($510- $255 for metro parking and $255 for metro fares) on 12/11 after I signed up for it a few days prior to that. According to their reps, they are supposed to do it within the same benefit month (Jan 2018). Since it was not yet January, I was confused by how early they deducted my money.

2) I cancelled immediately afterwards and also put in a ticket, along with multiple phone calls. Shockingly enough, Wage Works still deducted the money again for that same amount ($510). When I called, they claimed that money is normally taken out on a bi-weekly basis.

3) That whole time, my metro card was never loaded up. In fact, I reported it lost and stolen, when money was deducted the second time.

I filed a claim with Wage Works through the Pay Me Back form for a refund as some other reps had advised and they rejected my claim immediately, claiming that I have no proof that they took out money from my paychecks. They wanted actual receipts of the deductions. If I provided them with what they've given me - confirmation through email, Wage Works balance, and actual pay stub information - how can that not be evidence? Also, if the company does not provide receipts of those transactions how can we as customers, provide them when they were not provided in the first place? I was never given any warning and actual receipts for these deductions. To reject my claims, based on that, is damn ridiculous.

I'm currently, at this time, working with my company to recoup my money. I had one of my company reps in HR put a note on my account to prevent more money from being deducted for no reason. I've been having high blood pressure about this whole situation since 12/11 when money was deducted way too early. If I get no immediate results, I plan to contact the IRS and other government entities to recoup my money (well over $1k) from Wage Works. I feel that they will not refund anyone's money unless they're under the gun to do so.

Constant Deductions Constant Deductions Constant Deductions

Ketaylor Send email
 
Dec 30, 2017

HORRIBLE Company

This has to be the worse company on the planet.... I faxed forms in for my father for a denied charge 7 times !!!!!!! I sent in another form they requested from the doctor and all I wanted to know is if they received it... the rep didnt understand !!!!! She said oh in one hour maam ...i was like what do you mean??? She said thats when the form will show...then asked the rep what time do they close, her name was Jean ... she said fifty one O nine ??? Not funny but I had to laugh... these people sound like scammers...Everyone was like this, besides 2 reps, lucky me which said they closed at 8:30 and the other said the form will show in 2-3 business days although they do get the forms immediately!!!! How crazy is that!!!!!! What is 5109????????? I tried to help her and asked where they were located and she said we can't disclose that maam!!!!!!! This entire company should be FIRED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! OMG HORRIBLE HORRIBLE.. I wish I could give 0 stars!!!!!!! My dad's company is dropping them Jan 1st!!!!!!! They will make you lose your religion.... 0 stars!!!!!
Ketaylor Send email
 
Dec 30, 2017

HORRIBLE Company

This has to be the worse company on the planet.... I faxed forms in for my father for a denied charge 7 times !!!!!!! I sent in another form they requested from the doctor and all I wanted to know is if they received it... the rep didnt understand !!!!! She said oh in one hour maam ...i was like what do you mean??? She said thats when the form will show...then asked the rep what time do they close, her name was Jean ... she said fifty one O nine ??? Not funny but I had to laugh... these people sound like scammers and they can not understand English ...Everyone was like this, besides 2 reps, lucky me which said they closed at 8:30 and the other said the form will show in 2-3 business days although they do get the forms immediately!!!! How crazy is that!!!!!! What is 5109????????? I tried to help her and asked where they were located and she said we can't disclose that maam!!!!!!! This entire company should be FIRED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! OMG HORRIBLE HORRIBLE.. I wish I could give 0 stars!!!!!!! My dad's company is dropping them Jan 1st!!!!!!! They will make you lose your religion.... 0 stars!!!!!
DillardJ Send email
 
Dec 11, 2017

Denial of Claims

No matter how you submit to have anything paid, the claim is always denied. With an EOB and a bill from the the medical office, WageWorks denied because the "amounts did not match". The amounts were the same on every document. It takes hours of work to get them to pay anything. The measly amount that they claim that they save you is not worth the hours of time it takes to get YOUR money from them. Stay away! This is the worst scam - it is backed by companies and sold as a benefit. It is nothing but a company that thrives off your earned money.
sharydyer Send email
 
Nov 23, 2017

The Worst Customer Service EVER

This company needs to be reviewed, they are using out of the country people to service in country clients and they can't understand or speak English and they have no idea what they are speaking about. Denied claims with authorized receipts. They need to be audited!
lharris2926 Send email
 
Nov 3, 2017

Wage Works Expirted Card

My wage works visa card expired. Most companies automatically send you a new card when you card expires. Wage Works did not. When I called to get a new one, they told me that it would be 10 to 14 days to receive the new card. I explained that I did not have that much time to wait. They let me speak to a supervisor. That supervisor (Conversation id #171026-000898) told me that he could have my card extended for 3 years. He conferenced in an automatic system that asked me to give social security number and date of birth. I was told that my card had been extended from 9/17 to 9/20. He said that the card number and 3 digit code on the back would remain the same. I then paid bills that were declined. When I called Wage Works back they explained that the payments were declined because the 3 digit code on the back were incorrect. The next supervisor, Ann, that I spoke to (Conversation ID# 171103-007575) explained that what the last supervisor told me was incorrect and that there is absolutely no way to extend the expiration of a card. She was not able to tell me where that supervisor called or what he did. She then said that I needed to wait another 10 to 14 days for a new card. Meanwhile, it has already been 9 days since the card was supposed to be extended. I requested that the card be overnighted to me because their company misinformed me. She said that they cannot overnight cards. She also informed me that she has no supervisor and that the only way for me to speak to someone "above" her is to write a letter to the Executive Escalation Team. It's absolutely unbelievable to me that she has not other supervisor that I can speak to and that there is no email address or phone number to the escalation team. Wage Works outsources their calls and does not give these people any authority to help the customer. It is infuriating as a customer to have a company employee screw up and no way for a SUPERVISOR to have the authority to remedy the situation. I plan to write a complaint on every site that I can find, write a letter to the Executive Escalation team and to implore executives as Johns Hopkins to not use Wage Works any longer for their employee FSA accounts.
willie63 Send email
 
Oct 5, 2017

Management of Cobra Benefits

Wage Works is handling my Cobra claim I have paid my premium and after 6 weeks I still do not have benefits. I started the process by submitting my cobra election form online (which their instructions say you can do), not true because after 5 weeks of trying to figure out why my insurance companies had not been notified it appears you still need to send in a paper election form. I did that and then called to make sure they had received it and updated their records as well as notify my carries, what I found out was the service Rep on the phone could see it, but the person responsible for updating the carries did not see it. After 40 mins on the phone (most of it on hold) the representative was able to push it through their system. This is one of the most incompetent healthcare companies I have ever had to deal with. There miss information given out at all levels, no sense of urgency and no willingness of upper management to think outside the box or take any ownership to resolve an issue.
sherieisa@juno.com Send email
 
Sep 27, 2017

Wageworks holdinf funds

I paid 2 months of cobra in advance and now it's the last week of the first month and still no insurance. I call every week and get a runaround. Today they blamed Blue Cross and Blue called them and they said they would resend the info but it takes 24 hours. We are talking an email which they claim they sent. How do they get away with this!!! I pay and they hold the money for the month and I have no insurance, something has to be done with this Company! It's not right and should be illegal!!!
bruce0712 Send email
 
Sep 1, 2017

Submitting claims, yet card cancelled

I have so far submitted requested claims to WageWorks twice now, yet every time they screw up their processing and then have the guts to then cancel my credit card! It isn't a HUGE loss but it defeats the purpose that Congress made when they established the benefit, this loss of my documents thus far has cost me $30. I'd love to sue them, but how can I do that? I live in California, they are probably in India for all I can figure.
rm516 Send email
 
Aug 18, 2017

Wage Works is really bad company

This company (Wage works) are too aggressive or incompetent to suspend my FSA card for not receiving $8.17 payment receipt for an often used blood test clinic.
I had to waste at least 30 minutes to chase and get the copy of the receipt (finally got it). Who keeps the receipts for over 3 months? This is not 1940's ... pathetic company! Even the card privileges were reinstated but next payment still didn't go through as you still have to wait 24-48 hours. WHY ??
I will be more than happy to waste more time to put bad reviews and tell companies not to use this fraud "wageworks"!
rsmprasad Send email
 
Aug 8, 2017

False confirmation on Money Transfer

I've submitted by FSA claims and WageWorks confirmed that on 4th of Aug money has been transferred to my bank account. I've found money was not credited to my account. After 4 days, I contacted customer care, executive started arguing that I need to contact my bank and money has been transferred, it's not their responsibility. I've lost my money and don't know who can help me.
daynaadams Send email
 
Jul 4, 2017

card usage

they closed my card, gave no notice, funds are active, unable to access expect for a pay my provider option-which wont work in this case because the hospital needs 50% down to perform my infant sons surgery. No word from WW because "we aren't required to send you notification of closing your card". Well the card will be reactivated and a new card will be sent in 7-15 business days. There is no way for anyone to expedite or help me at WW. Way to put your profits ahead of good standing customers and their childrens needs!
kentnormhr Send email
 
Mar 24, 2017

Technical issues not receiving transit commute tax deduction from company paycheck.

It seems that wageworks has trouble too often not receiving transit commute tax deduction from my company paycheck. Me and other co-workers experience this problem. This is not accecptable. You call their customer service and they have no clue of the issues. I stop my transit tax deductions because of wageworks.
user2 Send email
 
Mar 16, 2017

Still struggling to get my money back

I am contacting wageworks since the Dec 2016. For my out of pocket reimbursement
1) I mailed all the required documents i.e. the Commuter Card Special Handling form with all my out of pocket expense receipts
>> Since I didnt get any confirmation even after 2 weeks, contacted wageworks to check the status
>> they said they didnt get any documents from me
2) I sent out an email with the same documents on 11th Jan 2017
>> Contacted them to check the status >> they still didnt received my documents
3) I sent out separate emails with the documents for my expenses so that they can receive this time, on 10th Feb 2017
>> They confirmed that they received it.
But then After that I have called them 5-6 times, they haven't processed my request yet. Every time a new customer care executive is giving the same reason as we can see it, its still processing, etc.
>> Finally I received the amount but it was just $15 out of $182
I called again to check the status of my request for remaining $166, even spoke to their managers, she said she is going to add a note and take this on high priority. But its been over 2 weeks now still no response.

>> On 15th Mar 2017, that's today, I contacted again their cust care department and they asked me to send the my documents again.

Isn't it going into a loop, a never ending loop without a break condition? Can someone help me to resolve my issue or guide me to escalate it further. I am willing to go ahead and file more complaint as its almost 4 months now and even after continuous follow up I am not getting my money back. This kind of behavior not only spoiling the customer relation but also their business, by raising the question being loyal to their customers.
I am not the first one who is giving this kind of review but there are so many complaints like this.
EMC Send email
 
Mar 11, 2017

Impossible to get my FSA Dependent Care Reimbursement

I am having an exorbitant amount of trouble with receiving my FSA Dependent Care reimbursement form Wage Works for the 2016 year. I placed a claim in May of 2016 ($1,230.80) and another at the end of January ($1,855.45.) These amount total to $3,086.25 which is my entire contribution to this fund for 2016. There have been over 8 calls of about 1 hour in length to Wage Works since I never received reimbursement for these 2 claims that were approved. I have been given the run-around as to there being an incorrect address on their records, the check having gone to a similar address in Chicago when I live in NJ and the most recent one today was that the zip code was wrong for my home address. I have also tried to enroll for direct deposit and that too was rejected. When I went to my bank and met with my Branch Manager-she did not see any attempt on her system to verify my direct deposit request.

I have spoken to at least 3 supervisors, have taken the added step of calling with a HR representative on the line and have confirmed my address on every single call to Wage Works. I am at wits end and frankly this delay is causing emotional and financial hardship for me. I have asked about having the checks re-issued and sent Fed Ex to see if I could have them arrive through a trackable system and this and any other request has been met with a “we are not able to do that for you.” Today I changed my address to my work address, something I should not have to do, to see if I could possibly receive the one check that was not already re-directed. The other check I was told was already returned to me with the corrected zip code as of today. Bottom line is that I need to receive all of my funds-immediately without any further excuses!!!

Dealing with this company has been deplorable, draining and quite upsetting!
tickedoffmama Send email
 
Jan 27, 2017

I hate WW

I have had W handle my daycare payments since 2014 and each time I have had an issue, I have been misinformed or given illogical information. Out of possibly 10 times I have had to call, I have only had 3 great experiences. I get that its a call center and turn over is probably pretty high, but PLEASE PROPERLY TRAIN YOUR EMPLOYEES!!! When I called in December to switch providers, I was told that I did not need to cancel the claim for the old provider. Fast forward to today and guess what...they sent a check to the old provider so now there's not enough money in the account to cover the payment for the new provider so I have to keep paying $184.50 per week in addition to having the funds payroll deducted!!! IM PAYING FOR DAYCARE TWICE BECAUSE THEY MESSED UP!!!! I called CS and spoke to a very nice young lady who escalated my call. The next rep only offered a bunch of "I understand" and "uh huh" commentary which wasn't useful, in fact insulting to an increasingly irate customer. She "Set an expectation" of three business days to do the research and I in turn set an expectation of an expedited process because it was not my mistake. It seems to me that you would do what you could to keep your costumers happy and calm but Molly in site 103 wasn't interested. I guess my next step is to call corporate.
jleyva Send email
 
Dec 29, 2016

claim verification

I submitted receipt on 10/26/16. The receipt from the dental office was for 2 dates of service- both of which needed verification with wageworks. The receipt includes the date of service of 10/03/2016 for $20.20. The second was for 09/06/16 for $625.00.
The claim was denied and I again submitted the receipt on 11/15/2016. It was denied again on 11/17/2016 stating:
We cannot process this request because the receipt or other documentation you submitted does not provide the information we need to substantiate this type of expense. Please resubmit your claim with an appropriate proof of service that describes the exact product or service, the date it was received, the name of the provider or merchant and your actual cost

This did not state anything in regards to the receipt already being used to submit verification for another claim- which is what Tashanda D, a supervisor(spoken to 12/28/2016), told me was the actual reason why it was denied. I spoke with somebody on 12/08/2016 who assured me they would resubmit the receipt- that they did in fact see that all of the correct information was there. I spoke with another supervisor- Kevin on 12/21/16 who apologized for the delay in processing and stated he would sumbit it as urgent and call me the next day to follow up- which he did not. Each time I was on hold for a supervisor and it took 30 minutes to 1 hour to speak with someone.
When I spoke with Tashanda D. she states she will submit the claim again with detail so that they can take a more detailed look at the receipt. When I asked to speak with someone above her I was told that there is nobody above her- that they deal with complaints regarding receipts and just resubmit it to the claims processing. I asked for the claims processing phone number she states that there is no claims phone number, just a fax number. I have never heard of such a thing in a business.
It is unacceptable that money, which comes out of my paycheck is being withheld and there is nobody that can assist me in resolving this. There is no accountability for anything. I have dealt with many corporations and this is the worst customer assistance I have ever had to deal with. I will be submitting complaints to any and all complaint boards that are associated with this company. This is not acceptable.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Motorola - Lost the mobile
    My name -- Meenakshi sundaram Address -- 26, gnaniyar...
    Bank of America - Holding TWIA claim funds
    Bank of America has purposefully delayed returning funds...
    IC Freeshipping.com - Freeshipping charge 12.97$ from my account
    I ordered online on from Macys and choosed pick up in the...
    maxis - adakah boleh memperbaharui nombor maxis yang dah tamat...
    beberapa hari yg lalu number maxis saya telah tamat...
    HireRight - crtical information going overseas
    Im getting a background check for a new job.. I am...
    Blue World Pools - Pool Service
    I needed to replace an existing above ground pool that was...
    Zipfiz - Opening oroduct
    I have abandoned buy cases of zipfiz because of the royal...
    eden housing ltd - DELAY IN DELIVERY OF POSSESSION OF HOUSE C008-00262
    Dear Sir, Respectfully it is stated that we have booked...
    Account Assure - Account Assure
    Never received my Victoria's Secret gift card/promo...
    Sun Life Assurance Canada - Life insurance conversion denial
    be careful. When i left my employer I was sent a form for...

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Motorola - Lost the mobile
    My name -- Meenakshi sundaram Address -- 26, gnaniyar...
    Bank of America - Holding TWIA claim funds
    Bank of America has purposefully delayed returning funds...
    IC Freeshipping.com - Freeshipping charge 12.97$ from my account
    I ordered online on from Macys and choosed pick up in the...
    maxis - adakah boleh memperbaharui nombor maxis yang dah tamat...
    beberapa hari yg lalu number maxis saya telah tamat...
    HireRight - crtical information going overseas
    Im getting a background check for a new job.. I am...
    Blue World Pools - Pool Service
    I needed to replace an existing above ground pool that was...
    Zipfiz - Opening oroduct
    I have abandoned buy cases of zipfiz because of the royal...
    eden housing ltd - DELAY IN DELIVERY OF POSSESSION OF HOUSE C008-00262
    Dear Sir, Respectfully it is stated that we have booked...
    Account Assure - Account Assure
    Never received my Victoria's Secret gift card/promo...
    Sun Life Assurance Canada - Life insurance conversion denial
    be careful. When i left my employer I was sent a form for...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username