Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

WageWorks

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about WageWorks

bslack Send email
 
Nov 7, 2018

Denied claim on Approved FDA equipment

Have been using this company for 4 or more years, always deny claims or want receipts, once receipts are sent they don't accept them or ask for them again. Always suspend the card so I can't get my prescriptions. Lose hours of time with them on customer support, only to say they need more information of the doctor or providers did not submit it in the right format. If you don't use it all they keep it, and I believe they want to hassle you just so you get so frustrated that you give up. There needs to be a class action law suite brought against them, they are ripping off the american worker.
LAustin Send email
 
Nov 3, 2018

Denied Coverage

After Wage works terminated my perscription coverage because they claimed they did not receive a payment , I sent them the front and back copy of the cashed check. Wage works staff has continued to give me the run around stating that it has to be reviewed. I myself has worked in finance and I know that it does not take a week to review something that has been expedited. I also filed a complaint with the BBB, my attorney and also will be writing Edgar Montes, Ismail Dawood, May Oneal nad Michael Wilson. I think that either these people need new jobs are they can hire me to improve the resolution process. The medicine I take is a matter of life or death in which I have not taken in 5 days now. Not one single rep has took accurate notes either. It's very unfortunate that my life is being altered because of the lack of urgency/ professinalism with this company. I have documented as well as recorded conversations. Therefore if I expire of complications with my health rise Law suits will be filed with this company. This company needs to either clsoe down or hire me to do some intense training on resolving payment issues in a 1 day turn around.
colleen.mmurray Send email
 
Oct 23, 2018

receipts

Wageworks is the WORST benefits company I have ever had to work with, and I am losing over a thousand dollars due to their incompetence!!! For the second year they have requested receipts for ALL medical services - things like annual mammograms, dental cleanings, copays at urgent care - OBVIOUS medical bills from OBVIOUS doctor's offices. I've submitted the receipts as requested from the provider's office - and they were all denied due to not enough information. I'm sorry, but at what point are my private testing needs with a gastroenterologist or mammographer any of your business? It is clearly for medical needs!!!

Total sham. Total lack of customer service. Will never participate again and will proactively tell family and friends to stay far away. There are better ways to reduce your tax bill with none of the bureaucratic frustration!!
SDeLong74 Send email
 
Oct 23, 2018

Suspended card

Apparently since I paid a bill in January of 2018 and services were 2017 they have suspended my card now but it's been 9 months and nobody contacted me and they let the payment go through. I am so dumbfounded at this Company right now it absolutely is a disgrace that my card has been suspended when it's my money that I paid the bill with. I have never In my life dealt with a business that operated like this and then go on their website and see they have lawsuits that should tell people a lot of how they take care of their customers. I am beyond pissed that I have money left on my card and can't use it.
Maurice Send email
 
Sep 21, 2018

taking my money then cancelling my insurance

This company canceled our insurance coverage because they said they never received our last two premium checks EVEN THOUGH I SENT THEM COPIES OF MY CHECKS WHICH THEY CASHED!! I called several times, was always put on hold (one time for 40 minutes) and their error continues not to be resolved. Do not do business with this company!!
Maurice Send email
 
Sep 21, 2018

They lost my payments and canceled my insurance

This company canceled our insurance coverage because they said they never received our last two premium checks EVEN THOUGH I SENT THEM COPIES OF MY CHECKS WHICH THEY CASHED!! I called several times, was always put on hold (one time for 40 minutes) and their error continues not to be resolved. Do not do business with this company!! Something fishy is going n and I intend to do what it takes call this to thew attention of the authorities.
nhwageworks Send email
 
Jul 21, 2018

Class Action Law Suit

I've been using this card all year long and in previous years without any issue. All of a sudden I use my card at the doctors and it's declined. Went to get over the counter medicine on the approved list and it was declined. 800$ remaining I can access or get reimbursed. Based on all these complaints and horror stories from people, enough is enough. Class action law suit is on the way, there are enough people in the same boat to constitute it. If not the company will make out like a bandit this year. Next open enrollment I'm sharing with my four thousand colleagues at my organization; NOT TO ENROLL. Good luck staying in business next year you bunch of crooks!
y2upao_CB Send email
 
Jun 30, 2018

WageWorks

My employer has chosen to use this company for Flexible Spending Account, Cobra, and Retiree Medical/Vision benefit payments....as if dealing with them for just one wasn't bad enough!

Flexible Spending Account -- submitted a claim on-line - denied part of it due to insufficient information but did not notify me. No way to submit the additional information with the original claim, and can't open a new claim because it is now outside of the May 31 cut-off.

They did not notify me of the insufficient information via email, text, phone call, or snail mail. Because payment was made by direct deposit into my bank, rather than a paper check, it took me a while to discover that the full amount had not been paid. When I went on line, I saw that they had denied part of it because the information provided was not sufficient. I have the detailed information and could have supplied it. However, they provide no avenue on line to supply additional information. So, option was to submit another claim -- problem: it is now outside of the May 31 deadline for prior year claims! Only option now is through claims appeal, which you cannot do on-line! And this is all to get my own money back!! I stand to leave several hundred dollars of MY money with them.

Cobra - during the transition when I left my company, their handling of the billing and paperwork left a gap in coverage -- they got their money, but did not report coverage to the service providers until much later, after which I had to go "out of pocket" for certain items. Then it was all on me to try to get reimbursed.

Retiree Medical - I'm not transitioning from the Cobra coverage to the retiree coverage. It is a repeat of the bad handling of Cobra -- another gap in coverage due to their reporting. In addition, I received a bill on 6/26, that was due 7/01, with a statement that coverage would lapse if not paid by the due date. Their only on-line way of paying to expedite is having them sweep my bank account, which takes days (about as long as it would take me to mail a physical check).

And, to make things even more fun, I have to have separate login credentials for each of the above. So I have 3 different logins with WageWorks.

Trying to get to the right person by phone is a nightmare. Their website doesn't help, and paperwork received from them provides only a mailing address.

Their systems and processes have created multiple problems for me, and they do not help to resolve them. But I don't have the option to go elsewhere since WageWorks is who my (former) employer has chosen to administer benefits.
acnd3@yahoo.com Send email
 
Apr 20, 2018

No coverage no refund

I have paid over $2000 to this company to continue my medical, dental, and vision from 9/28/17. I received my first bill for this in November 2017. When I went to my dentist in February I was told I had no dental insurance and had to pay full price. Sure enough I went to my insurance web site and it said no coverage since 9/28/17. I had already submitted payments for April then received a letter from Wage Works that they would be returning all monies. No check has ever been received.
anio1424 Send email
 
Apr 2, 2018

Constant proof of medical need

I went to the doctor and used my Conexis card, which was processed, and now they want proof of medical necessity. They also rejected my purchase of Zyrtec and Benadryl because I couldn't show medical necessity. My goodness, why else would I be going to the doctor or purchasing these products if they weren't a medical necessity. If the "code" for the doctor was not acceptable then why did they process the transaction. I understand there is a long list somewhere of what is covered and what is not, but to have that list on hand every time you want to make a purchase is unacceptable. Wageworks is suppose used for MY r medical expenses to pay for doctors appointments and medication. If I don't provide proof, then they expect a reimbursement. This is the biggest medical scam around.
waryconsumer Send email
 
Feb 15, 2018

Dental Cobra Plan

IN AUGUST 2017 WE PAID 18 MONTHS IN ADVANCE BY CHECK TO WAGEWORKS TO COVER AETNA DENTAL COBRA INSURANCE.
In Feb 2018 the coverage was no longer valid for our dentist. We called Wageworks and received the run around. Finally they said we would be covered in 72 hours after our employer got a hold of them. Apparently Wageworks keeps the payments and hopes no one utilizes the insurance.
logcoord Send email
 
Feb 10, 2018

FSA issues

They are refusing receipts of the same exact type that I have been submitting for years, claiming that the IRS won't accept them. My Husband has both a BS in Business and an MBA, he also owns a business, and he told me there is nothing wrong with them, they contain the needed info. This is MY money that they are trying to keep dang it!! Angel was of no help and obviously was not a subject matter expert, she stated she was a supervisor but I find that hard to believe. I went through similar problems last year, the receipts are from my provider and it's what they give all of their patients, and oh, the hospital I got them from is also my employer WHO CONTRACTED these incompetent boobs!! I plan on taking it up with HR, as are many of my fellow workers!!
mightypissedoff Send email
 
Feb 2, 2018

WageWorks cancelled my paid-up COBRA coverage

My dentist just informed me that Metlife says my coverage was cancelled. I am on COBRA administered by WageWorks and fully paid up (they literally took my monthly payment yesterday). So I called MetLife and they confirmed that WageWorks had cancelled my coverage. So I called WageWorks and they claimed they did not cancel. Now I am on the phone with MetLife again and they are calling WageWorks. There's nothing quite so stressful as having a few thousand dollars worth of dental work and then being informed that you are not covered because of incompetence at WageWorks.

If there are any lawyers reading, I would be happy to sign up for a class action suit against this disgusting company.
SFSam Send email
 
Feb 1, 2018

Wageworks keeping funds

I retired on 10/31/17. The wageworks website, as of today, shows a balance available in my FSA of approx. $250 that is available for claims thru 03/31/18. They have cut me out of phone support and I've mailed two claim requests for the full amount. Wageworks is not responding nor paying. This should be a Federal crime as it is Federal law.
joycel2050 Send email
 
Jan 31, 2018

Constant Deductions

I completely agree that Wage Works is absolutely the worst company on the planet. Wage Works has also taken way too much money directly out of my pay checks without warning twice for the unsavory Commuter Program. The way that they did it was abnormal for them:

1) They took money out ($510- $255 for metro parking and $255 for metro fares) on 12/11 after I signed up for it a few days prior to that. According to their reps, they are supposed to do it within the same benefit month (Jan 2018). Since it was not yet January, I was confused by how early they deducted my money.

2) I cancelled immediately afterwards and also put in a ticket, along with multiple phone calls. Shockingly enough, Wage Works still deducted the money again for that same amount ($510). When I called, they claimed that money is normally taken out on a bi-weekly basis.

3) That whole time, my metro card was never loaded up. In fact, I reported it lost and stolen, when money was deducted the second time.

I filed a claim with Wage Works through the Pay Me Back form for a refund as some other reps had advised and they rejected my claim immediately, claiming that I have no proof that they took out money from my paychecks. They wanted actual receipts of the deductions. If I provided them with what they've given me - confirmation through email, Wage Works balance, and actual pay stub information - how can that not be evidence? Also, if the company does not provide receipts of those transactions how can we as customers, provide them when they were not provided in the first place? I was never given any warning and actual receipts for these deductions. To reject my claims, based on that, is damn ridiculous.

I'm currently, at this time, working with my company to recoup my money. I had one of my company reps in HR put a note on my account to prevent more money from being deducted for no reason. I've been having high blood pressure about this whole situation since 12/11 when money was deducted way too early. If I get no immediate results, I plan to contact the IRS and other government entities to recoup my money (well over $1k) from Wage Works. I feel that they will not refund anyone's money unless they're under the gun to do so.

Constant Deductions Constant Deductions Constant Deductions

Ketaylor Send email
 
Dec 30, 2017

HORRIBLE Company

This has to be the worse company on the planet.... I faxed forms in for my father for a denied charge 7 times !!!!!!! I sent in another form they requested from the doctor and all I wanted to know is if they received it... the rep didnt understand !!!!! She said oh in one hour maam ...i was like what do you mean??? She said thats when the form will show...then asked the rep what time do they close, her name was Jean ... she said fifty one O nine ??? Not funny but I had to laugh... these people sound like scammers...Everyone was like this, besides 2 reps, lucky me which said they closed at 8:30 and the other said the form will show in 2-3 business days although they do get the forms immediately!!!! How crazy is that!!!!!! What is 5109????????? I tried to help her and asked where they were located and she said we can't disclose that maam!!!!!!! This entire company should be FIRED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! OMG HORRIBLE HORRIBLE.. I wish I could give 0 stars!!!!!!! My dad's company is dropping them Jan 1st!!!!!!! They will make you lose your religion.... 0 stars!!!!!
Ketaylor Send email
 
Dec 30, 2017

HORRIBLE Company

This has to be the worse company on the planet.... I faxed forms in for my father for a denied charge 7 times !!!!!!! I sent in another form they requested from the doctor and all I wanted to know is if they received it... the rep didnt understand !!!!! She said oh in one hour maam ...i was like what do you mean??? She said thats when the form will show...then asked the rep what time do they close, her name was Jean ... she said fifty one O nine ??? Not funny but I had to laugh... these people sound like scammers and they can not understand English ...Everyone was like this, besides 2 reps, lucky me which said they closed at 8:30 and the other said the form will show in 2-3 business days although they do get the forms immediately!!!! How crazy is that!!!!!! What is 5109????????? I tried to help her and asked where they were located and she said we can't disclose that maam!!!!!!! This entire company should be FIRED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! OMG HORRIBLE HORRIBLE.. I wish I could give 0 stars!!!!!!! My dad's company is dropping them Jan 1st!!!!!!! They will make you lose your religion.... 0 stars!!!!!
DillardJ Send email
 
Dec 11, 2017

Denial of Claims

No matter how you submit to have anything paid, the claim is always denied. With an EOB and a bill from the the medical office, WageWorks denied because the "amounts did not match". The amounts were the same on every document. It takes hours of work to get them to pay anything. The measly amount that they claim that they save you is not worth the hours of time it takes to get YOUR money from them. Stay away! This is the worst scam - it is backed by companies and sold as a benefit. It is nothing but a company that thrives off your earned money.
sharydyer Send email
 
Nov 23, 2017

The Worst Customer Service EVER

This company needs to be reviewed, they are using out of the country people to service in country clients and they can't understand or speak English and they have no idea what they are speaking about. Denied claims with authorized receipts. They need to be audited!
lharris2926 Send email
 
Nov 3, 2017

Wage Works Expirted Card

My wage works visa card expired. Most companies automatically send you a new card when you card expires. Wage Works did not. When I called to get a new one, they told me that it would be 10 to 14 days to receive the new card. I explained that I did not have that much time to wait. They let me speak to a supervisor. That supervisor (Conversation id #171026-000898) told me that he could have my card extended for 3 years. He conferenced in an automatic system that asked me to give social security number and date of birth. I was told that my card had been extended from 9/17 to 9/20. He said that the card number and 3 digit code on the back would remain the same. I then paid bills that were declined. When I called Wage Works back they explained that the payments were declined because the 3 digit code on the back were incorrect. The next supervisor, Ann, that I spoke to (Conversation ID# 171103-007575) explained that what the last supervisor told me was incorrect and that there is absolutely no way to extend the expiration of a card. She was not able to tell me where that supervisor called or what he did. She then said that I needed to wait another 10 to 14 days for a new card. Meanwhile, it has already been 9 days since the card was supposed to be extended. I requested that the card be overnighted to me because their company misinformed me. She said that they cannot overnight cards. She also informed me that she has no supervisor and that the only way for me to speak to someone "above" her is to write a letter to the Executive Escalation Team. It's absolutely unbelievable to me that she has not other supervisor that I can speak to and that there is no email address or phone number to the escalation team. Wage Works outsources their calls and does not give these people any authority to help the customer. It is infuriating as a customer to have a company employee screw up and no way for a SUPERVISOR to have the authority to remedy the situation. I plan to write a complaint on every site that I can find, write a letter to the Executive Escalation team and to implore executives as Johns Hopkins to not use Wage Works any longer for their employee FSA accounts.
willie63 Send email
 
Oct 5, 2017

Management of Cobra Benefits

Wage Works is handling my Cobra claim I have paid my premium and after 6 weeks I still do not have benefits. I started the process by submitting my cobra election form online (which their instructions say you can do), not true because after 5 weeks of trying to figure out why my insurance companies had not been notified it appears you still need to send in a paper election form. I did that and then called to make sure they had received it and updated their records as well as notify my carries, what I found out was the service Rep on the phone could see it, but the person responsible for updating the carries did not see it. After 40 mins on the phone (most of it on hold) the representative was able to push it through their system. This is one of the most incompetent healthcare companies I have ever had to deal with. There miss information given out at all levels, no sense of urgency and no willingness of upper management to think outside the box or take any ownership to resolve an issue.
sherieisa@juno.com Send email
 
Sep 27, 2017

Wageworks holdinf funds

I paid 2 months of cobra in advance and now it's the last week of the first month and still no insurance. I call every week and get a runaround. Today they blamed Blue Cross and Blue called them and they said they would resend the info but it takes 24 hours. We are talking an email which they claim they sent. How do they get away with this!!! I pay and they hold the money for the month and I have no insurance, something has to be done with this Company! It's not right and should be illegal!!!
bruce0712 Send email
 
Sep 1, 2017

Submitting claims, yet card cancelled

I have so far submitted requested claims to WageWorks twice now, yet every time they screw up their processing and then have the guts to then cancel my credit card! It isn't a HUGE loss but it defeats the purpose that Congress made when they established the benefit, this loss of my documents thus far has cost me $30. I'd love to sue them, but how can I do that? I live in California, they are probably in India for all I can figure.
rm516 Send email
 
Aug 18, 2017

Wage Works is really bad company

This company (Wage works) are too aggressive or incompetent to suspend my FSA card for not receiving $8.17 payment receipt for an often used blood test clinic.
I had to waste at least 30 minutes to chase and get the copy of the receipt (finally got it). Who keeps the receipts for over 3 months? This is not 1940's ... pathetic company! Even the card privileges were reinstated but next payment still didn't go through as you still have to wait 24-48 hours. WHY ??
I will be more than happy to waste more time to put bad reviews and tell companies not to use this fraud "wageworks"!
rsmprasad Send email
 
Aug 8, 2017

False confirmation on Money Transfer

I've submitted by FSA claims and WageWorks confirmed that on 4th of Aug money has been transferred to my bank account. I've found money was not credited to my account. After 4 days, I contacted customer care, executive started arguing that I need to contact my bank and money has been transferred, it's not their responsibility. I've lost my money and don't know who can help me.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Poslaju Parcel Hub - STUCK
    ER 646924961 MY ER 654233530 MY Dari 13 nov sampai...
    MYDIAL DIGITA LED A MEDIA PVT.LTD. - My dial
    Akash SARODE sabke paise lekar bhag gya h mere bhi 500000...
    Horizoncardserviceses.com - Y’all scammed me out of my money
    Give me my money back now or you will be hearing from my...
    EMS Speed Post - Mumbai, India - ATM Card
    I have applied for the ATM card on 26th October 2018 I...
    POS MALAYSIA - Parcel Not Delivered
    ER605756005MY Parcel stuck at ECPC subang jaya for more...
    Edcon - R1200-00 voucher if you buy for R1200 or more
    I got and SMS advising me if I buy for R1200-00 I will...
    POS LAJU - PARCEL NOT PROCEED
    ER705307525MY Status - Your parcel has departed the...
    pizza hut malaysia - BAD SERVICE
    The price for a take away pizza is suppose to be rm10....
    Vodacom - SASUNG NOTE 9S
    REF: 128 532 80 082 448 3100 SAMSUNG S9+ in for...
    capfin - Paid Up letter
    I have paid up my Capfin account in December 2017 and sent...

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Poslaju Parcel Hub - STUCK
    ER 646924961 MY ER 654233530 MY Dari 13 nov sampai...
    MYDIAL DIGITA LED A MEDIA PVT.LTD. - My dial
    Akash SARODE sabke paise lekar bhag gya h mere bhi 500000...
    Horizoncardserviceses.com - Y’all scammed me out of my money
    Give me my money back now or you will be hearing from my...
    EMS Speed Post - Mumbai, India - ATM Card
    I have applied for the ATM card on 26th October 2018 I...
    POS MALAYSIA - Parcel Not Delivered
    ER605756005MY Parcel stuck at ECPC subang jaya for more...
    Edcon - R1200-00 voucher if you buy for R1200 or more
    I got and SMS advising me if I buy for R1200-00 I will...
    POS LAJU - PARCEL NOT PROCEED
    ER705307525MY Status - Your parcel has departed the...
    pizza hut malaysia - BAD SERVICE
    The price for a take away pizza is suppose to be rm10....
    Vodacom - SASUNG NOTE 9S
    REF: 128 532 80 082 448 3100 SAMSUNG S9+ in for...
    capfin - Paid Up letter
    I have paid up my Capfin account in December 2017 and sent...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username