Submit a Complaint

Washington Gas

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about Washington Gas

kbuscher Send email
 
May 29, 2021

Unable to disconnect service

I called 10 times to disconnect service. I no longer live there. All 10 calls were greeted with the message that the wait would be 30 minutes. After being on hold for 31 minutes, the call is disconnected. The first 20 minutes of each on hold experience was significant noise pollution of ad after ad and allegedly a public service announcement, one after the other. I still have not been able to disconnect my service.
Squeaky Send email
 
Apr 23, 2020

Fees charge existing customer

I called Washington Gas and spoke to a representative and stated that I would be transferring from my current unit to another apartment in the same building, I was told the deposit fee would $55.00 plus a $25.00 fee to check my credit, I was asked for my social security number when I asked why the representative said that was the only way he could set up the new account Rediculous, the company had my records why the need to ask for the social security number. In order the forgo the $55.00 security deposit I had to agree to sign up to direct debit, which is blackmail. I have never been late paying my bill. Washington gas is ripping people off, at a time when there are so many people unemployed They ask for a deposit from and existing customer who has never been late
paying the bill, the company is disgusting.
chall Send email
 
Feb 27, 2020

POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE

YOU HAVE THE WORSE CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!!!!!!!!!

FIRE ALL CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE AND HIRE NEW ONES, ALSO UPDATE YOUR COMPUTER SYSTEM THE LINES ARE DOWN MOST OF THE TIME OR YOU HAVE LAZEY EMPLOYEES. MANY ARE LOOKING FOR JOBS AND WILL ACTUALLY DO THEM. THUMBS DOWN FOR WASHINGTON GAS. I HAVE WAITED FOR 15 DAYS TO DISCONNECT SERVICE, THAT IS POOR SERVICE !!!!!!
chall Send email
 
Feb 27, 2020

Service disconnection

I have called for 10 days to disconnect service. I have experienced lines down or information segments for up to 30 minutes or more then told lines down. It is a misfortune that the customer service at Washington Gas is not sufficient to handle, the call volume or not available to help customers. I would recommend update customer service process or fire all customer service representatives you have and hire those that are committed to providing excellent service. It seems that human needs are often mishandled for profit. I wonder what the value will be, when humans will no longer have a need for gas in there homes. In our ever changing world and when going green is mandatory, we will employ the humanistic part of our existence..

This is worst customer service experience I have ever had, thumbs down for Washington Gas!
Emerald42 Send email
 
Jul 10, 2019

Rear yard lower deck ruined

Contractor came to my house early DECEMBER and removed boards from my deck because of a gas line which had to be
replaced.

Finally, after many calls a rep from Washington Gas came and took pics of the mess, including a section of my lawn
which was ruined because of the tarp which was filled with clay which they also dug up too get at the line.

I want all of the 34 boards replaced which measure 20 feet long. The deck is 14X20.

A prompt reply is appreciated, considering this MESS has been ongoing since December!!!

Respectfully,
E. Quinlan
salliesally Send email
 
Sep 28, 2016

Upset

Washington Gas claims that we the property owners owe debt that was file within our bankruptcy chapter 7 and discharged. They are making false claims of theft. They have refused to allow us to communicate with any one only a Mr Keller.Who is rude and verbally abusive. They have shut our service off during our bankruptcy process which valid the stay. they have not applied any of the payments made by social services on our behalf. Due to all of this we have been trying to fight them since 2014. with no heat or success. Please help us get this resolved.
JULIA boswell Send email
 
Oct 20, 2014

WASHINGTON GAS TURN AROUND

I HAVE BEEN WITHOUT GAS FOR A WEEK IN A NEW HOME BECAUSE SOMEONE ELSE BEFORE ME RAN UP THE BILL. I WAS TOLD TO SEND IN INFORMATION TO GET IT TURNED ON. IT TAKES UP TO FOURTEEN TO FIFTEEN DAYS TO TURN AROUND. WHAT KIND OF SHIT IS THIS.
frustrated2 Send email
 
Aug 18, 2014

Washington Gas

I moved, and on 18 Jun requested my account be closed on 30 Jun. I was unable to open an account via the website for my new rental home - therefore had to call (again, on 18 Jun). I spoke with a representative who confirmed closure of my account, and then walked through the process of opening an account on my new rental property - and ensured my husband was listed as an additional account holder (we're both military, very important). I received my final bill, paid it - and thought all was good as I had another account opened online. A month after moving, we received a call from our new landlord - and also a bill from Washington Gas. The representative RE-OPENED the account on my old rental - under my husband's name, and charged us a $370 security deposit fee along with an initiation fee. My new landlord received a bill for our first month in the house. I called BACK and spoke with a supervisor, who said he had to listen to the phone call from 18 Jun to verify what was said; and he'd all us back that day. He (Jake) never called back however we saw the $430 bill was zero'd out. I called back and spoke with a representative who refused to talk to me, as the account was in my husband's name - actually told ME not to worry, I didn't have a balance - and when I asked if my husband did she said yes, but I can't discuss that with you. When I asked if my name wa a secondary I was told yes. I asked to speak with another supervisor - letting the SECOND SUPERVISOR know Jake didn't call us back, and I need verification of gas being turned on in my name in our new home and that we were cleared for all responsibilities after 30 June from our prior residence. She verified it was and stated my old account was zero'd out, and I'll get a bill for 2-months of service with an initiative fee (no security deposit) and my landlord's account will be zero'd out. This past weekend, I received ANOTHER final bill for my OLD house for service 30 Jun -12 Aug 2014. I called back and spoke with Jake again - he stated it was an accounting issue, and the bill will be zero'd out...he sent an email, and he would follow-up with another email - and I should continue to check online until it's zero'd out. Over the course of 2 weeks, I've spent over 2 hours on the phone trying to get this resolved. Customer service is POOR, and there appears to be an inability to understand what the customer is asking. This is very concerning to me - if I had moved overseas, this bill would have continued in my name while I was out of country - until I was notified. As noted above, I had no reason to believe the account was still open as I received my final bill in early July, paid it immediately, and verified the account was closed. Unacceptable! I am still waiting...I hope it's resolved soon!
rmjan1 Send email
 
Jan 17, 2013

No Gas

We woke up this morning to find that we had no gas. We have no heat, nor can we cook. My husband called your office & u sent a man out to check who informed us that he would send someone back to check our meter. This took some time, so we called back. The agent informed us that our problem could not be solved until tomorrow. I told her, I thought you had emergency staff to handle such a problem. She replied, only to repair gas leaks. While I was talking to her, I noticed that there was a Washington Gas truck parked outside our house, and I asked her if she could dispatch to the truck to see if it was here to make the repair? She replied, no, because she had already talked to a dispatcher earlier and the problem definitely could not be solved until tomorrow and could not tell us what time tomorrow. We are both seniors. The temperate is dropping tonight and snow is expected. I also found out that your Customer Service is sourced in the Philippines. I think this is a crying shame. These people do not live in the city and know nothing about it but what they are told. We have always paid our bill on time and are entitled to better service. The name of game is "GREED". Freezing in DC.
Send email
 
Mar 13, 2012

Completely frustrating

Their customer service menu over the phone in one word: frustrating. If you want the urge to shoot yourself in the head, then by all means, call it. I called, went through the menu, finally got a rep, then he gives me another number to call for my address. Called it, got a menu that didn't have anything about what I needed, finally dialled zero for "gas emergencies". The girl told me I had to wait till the menu repeated 3 times, and then dial a 4 (not offered in the menu)! Then I get directed back to the original number I called the first time. Finally got someone who said that I would have to go to the walk-in department to start new service (mind you, the walk-in dept. is in the middle of D.C. during business hours), in order to confirm my identity and start new service. I suggested I just fax a copy of my request and my id's, and she said "yes, sure" like it was always an option. Why didn't they tell me that when they denied my original on-line request to start a new service on account of needing a copy of my id's???? Ridiculous.
Deedee Dd Send email
 
Mar 13, 2012

Completely frustrating

i have found numbers- complaints for Washington gas-202-626-5120 and if you need a hearing you can put it in writing and call for a hearing. 202-727-3071
Deedee Dd Send email
 
Mar 13, 2012

Completely frustrating

complaints-202-727-3071 and if you want a hearing put it in writing and call 202-626-5120 and they will give you a free lawyer

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username