Submit a Complaint

Wells Fargo

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about Wells Fargo

cpcorbitt Send email
 
May 3, 2016

property loss / insurance proceeds

wells fargo property loss

wells fargo conversion of insurance proceeds

I am currently preparing to litigate the set of facts below.

If you have a similar story, please contact me asap.

1. damage to house
2. insurance check written to home owner and mortgage company, wells fargo
a. wells fargo wont endorse check, so you sign and send to them expecting wells fargo to send the money back
b. after completing all forms, phones calls, no money sent back
3. home owner hires contractor to fix house
4. contractor fixes house and does not get paid because wells fargo keeps check
a. wells fargo is holding hostage potentially millons of dollars or home owners insurance money
5. contractor mad, contractor out money, contractor files lien on house for no payment
6. home owner distraught, does not have money to pay contractor

Please send me an email about your situation.

[email protected]
www.corbittlawfirm.com
Janey Harrison Send email
 
Sep 10, 2012

Insurance claim check

Wells Fargo is holding our insurance claim check and keeps giving us the run around as to why it hasn't been sent back to us.
The roofer as already completed the job and we still can't get our insurance check because wells Fargo is holding it .
Will never do business with wells Fargo again !!!
Birddog123 Send email
 
Mar 21, 2012

Crooks and liars

They say my escrow will be short by 5 dollars in November so they raised my house payment 30 dollars a month. They are crooks and theives. A rep lied to me in the fall and said if I'd send the 400. they said I was short at that time, that they wouldn't raise my payment. If we had a government worth 2 cents, something would be done about the crooked banks and wall street theives.
Zell101a Send email
 
Mar 21, 2012

Crooks and liars

my grandmother had a similar situation with wells fargo. She had to re mortgage the house a few years back since my grandfather had a stroke and was unable to work again. They owed less then 30 thousand on the home they had been paying there mortgage on time everymonth but when the payments were sent in they held them and took a month to a month in a half to post them to the account obviously accumulating late fees that shouldn't have been there. Then to make things even more fun, every month they paid with money orders since they began the mortgage they sent back 6 money orders with a letter stating that they would not be accepting any more personal checks from her. Glad to know they don't know the difference between money orders and personal checks. For the past 5 months they have been sending the money into what they call a suspense account and threatened to foreclosure and gave her less then a month to come up with 1900 dollars that she had already paid. these people are crooks and want nothing more but to take peoples homes when they owe so little on the house. Good luck trying to call one will tell you what you wanna hear then shortly after if you need to call back the next person doesnt have a clue what the previous had said then they end up bullshitting you to the point of cursing them out and hanging up. These people are for one idiots. two obviously doing illegal things we had a friend of the family who is a lawyer look it over and say what there doing is punishable buy federal law. I suggested a reverse mortgage to my grandmother and we had gone and went through with it and things are fine now we had to do what it took to get a way from these idiotic assholes and will highly suggest for anyone considering to buy a new home or get any kind of anything with these people to turn and run. I suggest the only reason you call them is to tell them how much they are heartless jerk offs and that they should all have there homes and payments screwed with so they can feel the stress that so many people go through. If anyone knows of a class action suite against them please email me at [email protected] id be happy to help them file against these bastards
Anti-SEO Send email
 
Mar 15, 2012

Wells Fargo stole money from me

You were trying to pass bad cheques and got caught end of story.
Kippele Send email
 
Mar 15, 2012

Wells Fargo stole money from me

On July 13th I was called by their Customer Service people, his name was Richard that I need to do a hardclose which would close everything because my account had been compromised. The guy at the bank that I spoke to was James Tunah. He told me that everything would be closed after I left the account the account that was closed was at 0.

The next day he called me he said there was some more money in my account so he transferred again he said that night everything would be closed. Two days later the account shows negative. Mind you I went around to the people I wrote checks to and paid them again thinking that the closed account was closed. They had let a bunch things go through that I had paid again. I have talked to managers and nothing is being resolved. They are not even trying to help me. They said I withdrew cash which there was never any cash exchanged. Something is seriously going on her. James Tunah made an error and they should be correcting instead they are trying to punish me.
Whythelongfaces Send email
 
Mar 3, 2012

Worst bank

One question: what does the terms and conditions for your account state? The one you signed when you opened the account? As for closing your account, also in your terms and conditions it will say that account closures are done within a sufficient time to allow for any unpaid items to clear FIRST.
Jb6 Send email
 
Mar 3, 2012

Worst bank

If you have a Wells Fargo account, please consider switching banks. Wells Fargo has been charging me $2 to take money out of their own ATMs, not another bank's ATM, but Wells Fargo ATM. Another $2 to print checks I use to pay rent. And to top it off, I closed my account over a month ago, received a letter stating there were not sufficient funds to pay yet another $2 charge this past week, meaning they did not close the account when they said they did. And to top that off, they did not increase the credit on my card because they stated possible fraud...fraud they did not inform me about until I asked for an increase in credit. And customer service is not even in their vocabulary.
Mark Bad Send email
 
Feb 27, 2012

Illegal ACH

I gather you work for Wells Fargo?

Actually this ended up being resolved and rather quickly. I really do understand what you are saying, but after the fact when we looked at the whole thing, it was ultimately that everyone at Wells had a different story or idea of how things worked.
Doing things by the book as I was told to and then having the book change and the program change was frustrating and infuriating.
After 6 days someone finally saw a reference to this company where they were included in a stop payment order.
My funds were back the next day.

But being broke and not getting the feeling anyone gave a crap, made for a terrible time.
Magazinedisguise Send email
 
Feb 27, 2012

Never use them

You forget that Wells Fargo TOOK OVER Wachovia.. If you sold your house, would you expect that the person who bought it would ask your permission to paint the living room? No. They can do what they want and they do notify you in advance.. That is the "Important Account Information" paragraph on your statement that no one ever looks at.
Princess Send email
 
Feb 27, 2012

Never use them

Not too long ago Wachovia was taken over by Wells Fargo. I was told nothing would be changed and everything would stay as is. They LIED to me! I checked my account online and come to find out that everything had changed!

I used to have 4 free withdraws from any location, as long as that bank didn’t charge a fee! Well I would always go to the same one and this time Wells Fargo Charged me! What a rip off! I didn’t have a problem until the money grubbers took over!
I don’t understand how Wells Fargo can do this! They also charged me for maintenance on my checking account! What kind of maintenance are they doing? I can’t see them cleaning a dollar bill. So what is this charge about? They made me pay 5 dollars to even have a savings account! How am I supposed to save if I have to give them money to use it???

This company is a joke! I have heard numerous people just empty their bank accounts with Wells Fargo and go elsewhere. I will be doing the same thing this week! I can’t believe they are doing this! The US government just bailed out these idiots and this is how they are paying us back???? NEVER USE WELLS FARGO!
Magazinedisguise Send email
 
Feb 27, 2012

Illegal ACH

Here's how it works- The company of course has to investigate the claim.. Not to say your claim was false, but do you know how many claims the banks get? They used to issue temp credit right away until scammers took the money, we found out the claim was false, and then wells was out all of that money. Secondly, fees are accessed systematically. No one can stop it from happening. If you win your claim, the fee is reversed. We get thousands of claims per day. We need to give the merchant appropriate time to respond to be fair. I know it sucks, but it's that simple.
MB1949 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Illegal ACH

I am not saying that at all. I am saying that when a transaction is disputed they should work on behalf of the client.

And saying "you obviously provided my account to someone" is not valid.

If someone acquired my account information, by your reasoning they are entitled to take funds?

Do you work for Wells Fargo?
[email protected] Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Illegal ACH

Automated Clearing House, which is a secure, private network that connects banks to one another
you obviously supplied your account to someone - they took the $$
your bank is only honoring the transaction
by your logic (lack thereof) the bank should contact every transaction B4 paying - even like your monthly gas, electric, rent, etc.
stop wasting everyones time
MB1949 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Illegal ACH

Of course I am responsible for not giving it out. I don't know where they got it at the moment.
The issue though is they cannot justify or prove there was any authorization or relationship.
Wells should not allow them to have the funds while they investigate.
If they err on the side of someone while investigating then they should err on my side.
Additionally, they should not have paid the ACH as there was not enough to cover it, they have refused in the past so why did they feel they were doing me a favor to pay it this time.
[email protected] Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Illegal ACH

you were defrauded somewhere - did you try to collect on an internet lottery winning ???
you are responsible to not give out your account numbers
MB1949 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Illegal ACH

I am on Social Security so every dime is critical to me.
The same day as my SS payment was credited there was an ACH for $612.00 taken from my account. I have no idea who the company is that took the funds.
I call immediately and was told it had to be handled by claims and the lady started the process. She gave me the number for the claims group and I called at once, but was told that they would not get the claim for 24 hours even though it is in the system and filed electronically?
I called the next day and was told it could take up to 10 days to process but they could or would not give me a provisional credit as somehow ACH is different the writing a check (even though they themselves call ACH an electronic check)?
So basically someone took money from me illegally and I have to fight to get it back and "they get to keep it while this is investigated"? I am the client not them, why is that the case?
Plus it is unclear as to what they can say or do to justify taking my money. I am 100% positive I have no business relationship with them.
I have spoken to 6 different people and received 6 different sets of information. And then to top it all off, when I called last week to request the claim be expedited I was told that a submission for expediting was submitted. When I called today I was told there was not record of that happening
So basically Wells Fargo has no interest in protecting me from being robbed or to see that I am not left without a dime while they do whatever magic they claim to be doing.
Oh, they made sure to charge me a $35.00 overdraft fee as they paid the ACH when there was not enough in the account. They paid at their discretion as I do not have overdraft protection. So if they had simply not honored the damn ACH I would have been fine. One of the reps actually had the nerve to say "well if they did that you would have been charged a $35.00 fee"? I reminded her that not only was I charged a $35.00 fee but I am out over $600.00. Funny how they have not honored items in the past, but this time they chose to and I get screwed.
It is a horrible situation as while the people themselves seem nice their system seems to work against their own clients.
Plus does anyone know what an ACH would be different then a written check? I was told if it was a check that I could get a provisional credit but as an ACH I cannot?
Amazing and scary.
Fed Up With The Tricks Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Unethical practices

I have been working with banks for over 40 years with no problems and found them honest with high ethics and morals however I have never experienced problems that I have with Wells Fargo! I wish you good luck.
Livepower Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Unethical practices

Anyone out there interested in joining with me on a class action suit against Wells Fargo? Have you had a similar experience? Please email me at [email protected]

My husband and I had a mortgage with Wachovia. In fact we had more than one mortgage with Wachovia and we also bank with Wachovia and have had a very pleasant experience since they first took over my husband's First Union account more than 8 years ago.

Then Wells Fargo bought Wachovia and two of our mortgages got transferred to Wells Fargo. Last year we ran into some financial problems which I won't go into here but we called Wachovia and they offered us a 2-month forbearance on the one mortgage they still held, which we accepted, and have since resumed payment on and everything is ok. They suggested we call Wells Fargo about one of the mortgages that was, at the time, one to two months behind, depending on the time of the month. :)

We called in November, were told they did not have a forbearance program (though it was mandated for this to be offered by all banks) but that we did not qualify for a modification which was the only program they had. I hung up pretty upset because they had been rude and condescending and not at all pleasant.

In December I tried to make a payment on the Wells Fargo mortgage and we had been blocked from making a payment online. So I called their customer service number. After speaking with a very pleasant helpful rep who suggested we apply for a modification and telling her about my previous experience with Wells Fargo she suggested we try it again with her. We were on the phone for over 45 minutes, she took me through our financial info and then told me we in fact qualified for a modification and proceded to tell me the terms of the modification. One payment had to be made by a date in January, a contract would be mailed to us which had to be signed and notarized immediately and sent back, and we would not pay instalments until June 2010, at which time our monthly payment would increase by approximately $24. I agreed, she outlined and recorded my agreement and I rejoiced!

Hah! No contract ever came and when I started calling Wells Fargo I got a different answer each time I called. They were waiting on documents from us, the contract had been sent, they would send a new one, our file was under review, etc. They danced me around for several more weeks. I finally spoke to a young lady who took my "one more payment" over the phone and gave me a list of documents to fax in.

Then, it was, one thing and another and more time passed.

One day when I called I was told that my husband and I had applied for a short sale on the property and the file had been transferred to the short sale department. THAT WAS NOT TRUE.

I had to go through a series of phone calls to their short sale department, requesting the file be sent back to loss mitigation, then wait a couple days, then call in again and formerly request the modification all over again, have that reinstated, then fax in the documents all over again.

Finally in April 2010, I got a phone call from Wells Fargo saying they needed additional documents. They wanted those documents by 1:45 pm the next day. I asked for more time since that deadline was unrealistic. They gave us until the following Tuesday at COB. I got them everything they asked for by the Friday BEFORE the Tuesday deadline. I was told everything was ok and the file is under review.

The next day, Saturday, my husband and I were served with foreclosure documents by a process server, who delivered the paperwork to my house and gave them to my son.

Each day I called in for the next two weeks, they asked for a new document. At one point they wanted me to include my son on the documents and I refused because I found out that they had reported us as being late and in foreclosure to the credit bureaus, totally messing us up with everyone else, in spite of the fact that we were supposed to have had the modification in place and we were supplying them with every document they asked us for.

They danced me around and stringed me along for almost three weeks, they stopped taking my phone calls, just around the time when my 20 days to file a response to the foreclosure paperwork were about due.

I have had one returned phone call from them since telling me I am only allowed to call once a week to check the status and that our file is still under review.

I have read literally hundreds of other and very similar stories on this and other websites.

My pastor recently told me that he had read an article which said that they had insured all their mortgage loans when they were being packaged as an investment and in fact the more loans that go "bad" or into foreclosure, the more insurance money Wells Fargo will collect. Plus they will still own the foreclosed property and can sell for additional profit.

So I don't think Wells Fargo is trying to save our properties. Seems like they are pushing some of us into foreclosure.

When this all started we were one to two months behind and trying to catch up with all of our other debts. Now we have caught up with most of our other debts or made arrangements with them but we are now several months behind in this particular mortgage. Which never would have happened if they had not told us we had been approved and NOT TO PAY until June.

Please let's get together and stop the lying and stealing of properties all for profit.
Gatortracks Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Bad Customer Service/Overdraft Fees

You wrote a check against unavailable funds. Don't do that.
Justmyself01 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Bad Customer Service/Overdraft Fees

@Iron I did, just oh no you have to write here and it takes two weeks. They told me to go inside the branch, I couldn't there isn't one close where I work and they are closed by the time I get home. I figured they would at least waive it once that is what I was asking for. When it was Wachovia, it wasn't like that. They wouldn't post until the next day if anything was deposited after 3PM, the rep told me 9PM w/ Wells Fargo (I have to test out that theory myself to see if putting money in the ATM up until 9PM will post the same day). I just wanted it one time and it's messed up they can't/won't do that. I tried corporate again and nope. Point blank, all these banks are freakin rip offs. I see if it was a day or two later, it was only a 4-5 hours window tops before money was in there.
Justmyself01 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Bad Customer Service/Overdraft Fees

I wanted to share the customer service that Wells Fargo provides to their customers.

I have a checking account with Wells Fargo. It was Wachovia when I started and I have been with Wachovia/Wells Fargo for 10 years (including the merger).

Last night, I paid my landlord her rent. She deposited her checks around 8:00PM. At midnight (give or take an hour) my normal direct deposit check for about $900 went in. So, give or take 4 hours ok, they hit me for $70.00 ( 2 @ $35.00) overdraft fees because of a four hour lapse. When I called Wells Fargo customer service center to see as a courtesy could they waive the fees ONCE, I talked to a “Calisha” and she stated they could do NOTHING for me there and she wasn’t very nice. I asked for her supervisor, I got Greg, he wasn’t nice either. I asked him as a onetime courtesy for an account in good standing and a good customer, could they waive the fee. He stated there was nothing he can do at ALL and try going into the bank branch. I stated I can’t make it to a branch and they are no help either. I asked him for their corporate number, he flat out LIED and said there isn’t a corporate number and did not give it to me. I asked for his supervisor. He said his supervisor was out, he can take a message and they will call Monday. I said no that’s ok, I will find your corporate number.

I had to Google Wells Fargo Corporate Number, in order to get it. To me, I think that’s SO shady, when a company won’t give out their corporate number. I deal with customers on a daily basis and if a customer wants corporate, I always give the phone number.

I called and spoke to one woman, she stated they can do half ($35.00) and I said ok and accepted and see if she do the other half. She stated no. I had to hang up (I’m at work) and just to get things moving, I took it. I called back on my lunch break got another representative. I explained the situation. First when she looked at my account, the initial reimbursement wasn’t processed and not even approved, after I told it was good to go. She put me on hold and got back on the line. She then stated, they put through the $35.00 and that’s all they can do and they are already going BEYOND for waiving one fee. Then stated to tell me about their procedures on how we have until 9PM to deposit money and for it to be posted on the same day. I never heard of that. Then she said she can’t do anything else. And the thing is, I have another debit posting to my account and I’m short because of this issue and I will be hit another $35.00.

Number one, when it was Wachovia, they process debits first and then credits, they do the opposite, which is TOTALLY backwards anyway. I begged and asked them to please waive the second fee. I don’t have the money to pay for the overdraft at the time, I’m a single mom and I just paid my bills today and I’m totally broke and didn’t even get to buy food yet. They still said no. I didn’t ask for the world, and I told them they only can do it once and I would NEVER NEVER EVER ask again, and again I begged, they still said no. I just wanted them to waive the 2nd fee as a courtesy. I see if the money didn’t appear into my account for 2-3 days later, I can see paying for it and I would have, however, for about a 4-6 hours lapse, you can’t waive $70.00 ONCE for an account in good standing for a loyal customer? Yes, I will definitely NOT refer them to anyone else ever, that’s why when I take survey’s I always give Wells Fargo low scores and in a month, when I can afford the minimum balance, I’m taking my business somewhere else. With the taxpayers paying bail outs and the CEO get their bonuses why they are crying they are broke and their ridiculous fees, I can’t believe that Wells Fargo cannot do anything once for a customer. What great customer service. I just wanted to put the word out there about the kind of service Wells Fargo does and does not provide. I don’t think they went BEYOND anything, going beyond would have been returning both over draft fees. I go over and beyond for my customer every day, I could teach them what that is because they have no clue.
Al Garcia Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Customer Service

I occationally go to wells fargo on 770 St. Michaels drive in Santa Fe, and I dont have an account there, but it sems like every time I need to cash a check there, they always refer me to some lady there that makes me feel very uncomfortable, she makes me feel like I am a criminal...I realize that they want me to open an account there, but, why would I put my money in a bank that makes me feel that way, so please if you could do not keep her in that position, , , shes driving customers away, also i have 2 friendshat feel the same way about this branch.
Jean K. Stallings Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Customer Service

Wells Fargo has the worst cutomer service EVER. It has taken them a year and a half to to take care of forced insurance coverage and as of today, a supervisor, Marcus Tucker, and his customer service agent talked to me as if I am in the wrong and keep calling me on my job. The customer service rep Renee Matters hung up on me after she told me to contact my agent to see if I had insurance coverage. I have had insurance coverage and my insurance agent has personally submitted all insurance information to them. But today they called my job again. I have contacted an attorney for harrasment and I am contacting the BBB in NC.

I am not sure who trains them, but there customer service skills leaves alot to be desired for. But after speaking to the supervisor, I see that wells fargo did not invest much into training at all.
Maggiemct Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Tired of fees

Even a credit union will charge you an overdraft fee if you spend money you don't have in your account. Check register, people, check register.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username