Submit a Complaint

Wells Fargo

United States,
Nebraska

Consumer complaints and reviews about Wells Fargo

Ellen67 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Lack of notification

Sure, whatever. At least 'we' understand SIMPLE bank processes. I wouldn't be so eager to post on the Internet how ignorant I was; do yourself a favor and research things before you whine about them or keep it in the closet.

1) cards have daily limits that can usually be temporarily raised (approx. $1000). The customer has to call. It is usually stated in disclosures.

2) if there is 'suspicious' activity, they will block the card to protect both the customer and the bank assets. Some bank's may have the ability to contact through messaging, but even then, the customer may not have access to that message while making a purchase. Phone call? If they have a home number on file, HOW are they going to call you while you are making a purchase? Let's add this: most of you complainers don't like paying monthly fees as it is, so you want them to add a new department full of people who are going to try to track you down by any and all means? That cost money and may not be feasable because of your contact info. I guess calling in is alot worse than having to deal with real fraud...

3) on behalf of...most people understand third parties have nothing to do with bank customer care. You didn't bother to educate yourself or chose to throw in that complaint.

Interesting how some people are so narrow minded; the same people are hypocrites when they are the employee and someone questions the 'job' they are doing...
Pawnraider Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Lack of notification

What sad, pathetic lives you all must lead if all you want to do is complain about the complaints.
Whythelongfaces Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Lack of notification

People always bitch about this very scenario until their account is wiped out then they bitch about it not being declined.
Whythelongfaces Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Lack of notification

NO bank is going to contact you for that. YOU have to call them if you are going to spend more than normal.
Ellen67 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Lack of notification

Pawn/OP: my bank does the same thing. That is how they contact you.

Some will try to contact you via messaging, if available. However, it is better if they prevent fraud then have you complain that they did allow it.

FYI: "on behalf of" must have a different definition for you. Next time they call, ask them if they can give you your account balance. Will that clarify it for you when they give you the predicted answer?
Pawnraider Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Lack of notification

whythelongfaces. If you had read the OP you would have known that my complaint is about their failure to contace me stating that they put a stop on my card and NOT about puting a stop on the card. You should read more carefully and not jump to conclusions as the others here have done.
Whythelongfaces Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Lack of notification

"but because they were suspicious about why I was spending so much which I usually don't."

OK...I will give you 30 seconds to read this again and see if it explains anything.

Nothing? OK...I will help you out here. You NORMALLY do not spend that much. THEY are suspicious about the amount that you are spending because you DO NOT normally do so. Criminals who steal credit cards spend MORE than YOU normally do when they try to wipe your account out. See why they declined it? I guess it would be better to let them let the charge go through though right? That way, if someone steals your card and starts spending all your money they will not be inconvenienced by a suspicious banker.
Pawnraider Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Lack of notification

OOPS! Sorry about my last comment. It was meant for another a complaint rather than this one.
Pawnraider Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Lack of notification

I was overcharged by them as well and didn't received the service that they said I would unless I paid for an additional service. When I contacted the Better Business Bureau it was only then that they decided to refund my money.
Pawnraider Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Lack of notification

"Thank you, however, for clarifying what the cause of the denied transaction was. Details do make a difference." All one had to do was read the subject line and that should have told you right away what the complaint was about.
Pawnraider Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Lack of notification

With all due respect you are the one who doesn't get it! The card takes money directly out of my account so there is no "limit". My other card which is a credit card and the one I didn't use has a limit which I'm well aware of. The banker I spoke with told me a stop or whatever was placed on my card because of suspicious activity and not because I had reached my limit.
Pawnraider Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Lack of notification

"Read your card agreement. Somewhere in there is a blurb about a daily limit." There is no daily limit. The money comes out of my checking account.
Pawnraider Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Lack of notification

"And the bank is a separate division from the insurance company. The bank follows their procedures and the insurance company operates on theirs. Do you really think they are one and the same?"
Then why do the telemarketers begin by stating that they are calling on behalf of Wells Fargo and go right into their sales pitch to get me to buy insurance?
Pawnraider Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Lack of notification

They didn't put a stop on the card because I had reached the limit-and I hadn't reached it-but because they were suspicious about why I was spending so much which I usually don't.
Ellen67 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Lack of notification

Brenda is correct. You may be able to get that limit raised if you call them.

And the bank is a separate division from the insurance company. The bank follows their procedures and the insurance company operates on theirs. Do you really think they are one and the same?
Pawnraider Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Lack of notification

I am constantly receiving calls from telemarketers asking to buy insurance from or sponsored by Wells Fargo. When I bought a computer I bought some of the extras that went along with it as well. When I tried to buy an additional item shortly thereafter the cashier told that my card had been refused. I then called my bank to find out what had happened. I was told a stop or whatever had been placed on my card because of the amount of my purchases. I then told the person that I was the one making those purchases. The complaint is that I wasn't notified by phone or email that such an action had been taken yet I constantly receive calls asking my to buy insurance from Wells Fargo! I guess it's just a matter of priorities to them. If the economy wasn't the way it is I would seriously consider switching banks.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username