Submit a Complaint

wen haircare

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about wen haircare

User665959 Send email
 
Apr 1, 2012

Products caused hair loss and damage

I have thick/coarse dark blonde hair and I get highlights / lowlights regularly. Dryness & frizz is always an issue and I was optimistic that wen would help. I used their products for about three months.

When I first started using them I was very pleased with the results, but after about two months I wasn't getting the same favorable results. I thought maybe I was having a weird case of "bad winter hair"...maybe it was due to some female hormone change...maybe what???

I am accustomed to shedding hair but I noticed I started shedding A LOT in the shower(more than usual.) Also, I was cleaning my brushes a lot and it was hard to keep them hair free (a personal pet peeve of mine.) I looked around my bathroom one day and it hit me suddenly - my hair was everywhere.

Next, brushes started getting stuck and tangled in my hair, which only happened very rarely before using wen, now it happens nearly every time I brush my hair. Just brushing my hair causes it to break :(

My hair length was below my shoulders when I began using wen's products. Last week I asked my hair stylist to cut off whatever she needed to - to get back to healthy hair. She cut off 3 to 4 inches, and my brush still gets tangled and breaks.

I don't know why it took me so long to realize wen was damaging my hair. I am back to using Aveda's Smooth Infusion line; it is a much better product for my hair type and I know this from years of my own experience.

As far as the scheduled shipments and the whole club kit program, 1) I always thought that was lame, 2) I just canceled today so I'll follow up with how that works out.
User926076 Send email
 
Apr 1, 2012

Products caused hair loss and damage

I used wen 5 times in a 2 week period & experienced hair loss
I am so upset ..my crown is thin & you can see my scalp
I feel like I lost a ton of hair just from 5 washes with wen
No one should use this product
It should be banned
Skippy554 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Over priced wen hair care products

Gloriab... It sounds like you were sold a 90 day supply the first time and then received a 90 day replenishment which is normal for the auto-ship program. Each 90-day shipment would be billed in 3 monthly payments with a shipping charge on one of the payments and the total cost for a 90-day supply is around $100.00. So, it doesn't sound like you were ripped off in this case, unless the salesperson didn't make it clear what you were buying.

I sold Guthy products for awhile. My customers always understood the auto-ship program and I never upsold to a 90-day supply without the customers understanding there were 3 monthly payments involved. Although, we were never able to match the sales of the folks in the foreign call center no matter how hard we tried. I would have to suspect it's only because they're deceptive at the time of the sale. There's really no other explanation. Sorry you had this experience. But, at least it looks like you did receive the products you paid for.
Lmwarner70 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Hidden "Membership"

Just to make it clear http://www.wenhaircare.com is NOT WEN company it is a marketing company that they use. I have heard bad things as well but I have never had a problem cancelling. I too used it and it did not work and now I have been using it for three days and my hair looks amazing and I have had so many compliments on it! There is a difference in formula and not all work for everyones hair. I am using the Winter Vanilla Mint. Here is what is on the page when you order the $29.95 introdcutory shipment, not saying that you did not read it but many people are just in a hurry to order and don't read all of this where it says you will be on autoship and it is even in bold letters.
Product description QTY CLUB PRICE

WEN® Healthy Hair Care System - Sweet Almond 30-Day Supply. WHEN YOU ORDER TODAY, YOU'LL RECEIVE TWO FREE GIFTS AND FREE SHIPPING! Starting 30 days from your order date, you'll receive a new 90-Day supply every 3 months at the guaranteed low price of just $29.95 per month plus $8.99 S&H per shipment, which will conveniently be charged to the card you provide today unless you call to cancel. There is no commitment and no minimum to buy. To customize this program or future shipments and charges, call customer service anytime. Every WEN® purchase includes a 60-day money-back guarantee of the purchase price less shipping and handling.
I really love the system and it was the only thing that saved my hair that was totally damaged from extensions my last stylist used and did not tell me they were GLUE! We had to cut many of them out and my hair is already looking 90% better after three cleansing's with WEN! If you want to try again, like I said, order from qvc.com - don't use the wen haircare site. they have better deals anyways.
Kakpit Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Horrible stuff

This stuff is horrible it i have very thick long hair, i figured i'd give this a try it made my rppts so greasy i was too grossed out to run my fingers thru my hair and my end were so dry they felt like hay my once beautiful shiny healthy hair was ruined in a matter of weeks by this *** product. you know whats an amazing shampoo and conditioner? aveeno active NATURALES. i didint see any sulfate in the ingredients either. aveeno has restored my hair plus it seriously moisterized my ends and made my roots soft anf fluffy with serious volume. i mean the *** infomercial shows them using wen on a model and then STYLING her hair with a blowdryer where as the other models hair is just air dried ya compared to that it looks great but it is crap save a BUNCH of money and buy the aveeno products they will do wonders with your hair and with the extra money you save you can buy yourself a gold star for making a better decision :)
Lmwarner70 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Horrible stuff

SOunds to me like you are not using it right - see before and after photos. When used correctly it SAVED my hair!
Y.I.S. Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Hidden "Membership"

HEY, I LIVE ON A SMALL BUDGET AND COULD ONLY AFFORD THIS ON THIS PAST CHRISTMAS OF '11 FOR MY 14 YEAR OLD, AND WHAT THEY SAY ABOUT THIS MEMBERSHIP SHOULD NOT BE JUJUST IN SMALL, FINE PRINT. THEY SHOULD MAKE SURE THAT THE CONSUMER UNDERSTANDS THAT THEY WILL BE CHARGED MORE FOR 60 - 90 DAYS ADDITIONALLY AND CONTINUALLY UNTIL THEY ACTUALLY CANCEL. US CONSUMERS WERE DUPED BY WEN. THERE IS NOT A WORD OF IT ON THE ADS. IF THEIR IS, I APOLOGIZE. BUT THIS IS THE 2ND TIME THIS HAS HAPPENED TO ME. THE FIRST TIME I ORDERED IT WAS YEARS AGO, WHEN MY DAUGHTER WAS VERY YOUNG. I THOUGHT THIS WOULD HELP ME TO GET MY HAIR HEALTHIER. I WAS A FAIRLY NEW MOM OF 2 ( I ALSO HAVE A SON 11 MONTHS OLDER THAN HER) I HAD DRY HAIR FROM PREGNANCIES. WEN NEVER HELPED ME AT ALL-EXCEPT TO OVER CHARGE ME. I WAS SO DISSAPOINTED. PLUS I HAD TO PAY TO SEND IT BACK AND THEN OTHER NEW CHARGES. THEY LOST ME. I WILL NEVER ORDER FROM THEM AGAIN. MY POOR FINANCES AND 14 YEAR OLD TEENAGER. OH WELL.
Angelagail Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Lied to me

I signed up for WEN hair care and after a few months decided to cancel, but they were so insistent that they talked me into keeping my account but changing the products. When it started piling up in my cabinet I finally called and cancelled. The company rep told me I could return all unused and unopened product and I would be refunded. This was a lie and now they have the product I paid for but they won't refund my money. Also, after 3 months, they took another deduction out of my checking account and tell me it will take 6 weeks to refund it back. I wish I had found this website before I ordered from this company.
Y.I.S. Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Lied to me

NEVER ORDER WEN. THEY HAVE ADDITIONAL FEES THAT THEY CONVIENTNLY DO NOT MAKE SURE YOU, THE ORDERER/CONSUMER KNOW. THEY HAVE YOUR CC # ALREADY FOR THE FIRST ORDER OF $29.99 FOR A 30 DAY SUPPLY. THEN THEY KEEP CHARGING YOU FOR FUTURE ORDERS EVEN IF YOU JUST ORDERED ONE 30 DAY SUPPLY.
SO THEY CHARGE YOU INITIALLY FOR THE FIRST ORDER OF 30 DAY SUPPLY. SOMEHOW THEY KEEP CHARGING YOU BECAUSE YOU TOLD THEM "OK, BUT JUST FOR 30 DAYS THEN I'LL LET YOU KNOW IF I WANT TO CONTINUE." WELL THAT'S NOT THE CASE. THEY CHARGE YOU FOR MORE WHEN YOU DIDN'T WANT IT. NO SMALL PRINT. KEEP ON NOT ORDERING FROM THEM. SORRY WEN YOU SUCK! NOT ACTUALLY THE PRODUCT, MAINLY ADS.!!
Amywack Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Rip off

Wen hair care product is a rip off, make your hair oily and you are signed up for a club they will not let you cx, very rude on the ph. I had to cx my debit card to make payments stop. RIP OFF stay clear of this company!! Don't let the infomercial fool ya, the product smells like dog shampoo and makes your skin break out too!! Horrible! sneaky! bad! bad! bad! company!Please save yourself the hassle and your hair, this co. will keep charging your credit or debit card the only way to stop it is to cx your cards.
Y.I.S. Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Rip off

REALLY? CANCEL MY DEBIT CARD? BAD INDEED. I ORDERED THE 30 DAY SUPPLY AND BECAUSE THEY HAVE MY CC. # THEY WENT AHEAD AND CHARGED ME AGAIN. SO I CALLED THEIR CS AND WAS TOLD THAT I HAVE TO SEND IT BACK (PAY SHIPPING). CANCELING MY CC IS A BIG HASSLE FOR ME AND COSTS ME JUST BECAUSE OF THEIR CHARGE. I HAVE 2 KIDS AND CANNOT AFFORD TO WAIT FOR MY DEBIT CARD TO HAVE A NEW NUMBER TO BE ABLE TO WORK AGAIN. THIS SUCKS!
Gloriab Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Over priced wen hair care products

Purchased Wen in Oct 2010. Received initial order-fine. Had to call in Jan 2011 to see if I had another order coming. Received 2 bottles of shampoo, 1 condtioner and 1 hair balm, which they charged me extra for. So through March of 2011 they have charged me $207.73. That is all the product I have received. Have e-mailed them to complain, to no avail. I was able to cancel my account-thank goodness. Good product but too expensive for my tastes. They also told me they had sent out an order to me in March-which I have not received as of 4/11/2011. I hate being lied to!
Y.I.S. Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Over priced wen hair care products

I TOO ORDERED ONLY ONE 30 DAY SUPPLY. OR SO I THOUGHT. CANCELED MEMBERSHIP ( WHICH I HAD NO KNOWLEDGE OF) BUT NOW HAVE TO PAY MORE TO SHIP IT BACK. PLUS ADDITIONAL FEES OUT OF MY POCKET FOR NEW CHARGES BECAUSE OF THEM. I WAS DUPED INTO MORE CHARGES I DID NO AUTHORIZE. SO BYE BYE WEN. THANKS FOR NOTHING. THE 30 DAY SUPPLY MAY NOT HAVE DONE ITS JOB BUT I CANNOT AFFORD MORE CHARGES AND TO BE LIED TO.
Upsetkendall2011 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Hidden "Membership"

So I ordered the 30 day supply to TRY this product and you are forced into a "membership" so they can keep charging your card! They said they already sent me the new product so i have to return that before i get my refund. SO MAD! My papers I recieved do not say anything about automatically sending new product and charging the card. i had to go digging into the terms and conditions online in order to find the itty bitty fine print that says by ordering you opt into automatically getting the product sent monthly! The product itself made my fine hair feel dirty all the time and like a waxy wire feeling, its gross... DO NOT BUY
Lmwarner70 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Hidden "Membership"

This is not true. When you order the product from wen haircare it tells you in the fine print that you will be starting a membership that you can cancel at any time! On the letter in your initial shipment at the bottom it also states the date of your next shipment and tells you that you can cancel the auto shipment or you can change the dates and the amounts to suit your needs. I get so angry at people that put this great company down because THEY don't read the information that is sent to them! That is the consumers fault for not reading the information before agreeing to it and when the initial first shipment arrives. I have never had a problem cancelling auto shipment immediately. I order from QVC to get the larger size that wenhaircare.com does not offer.
Jay Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

False advertisement

First off the piggyback off of publisher clearing house apearing to be one of the same second the make it seem like there layway is a system where you are paying a monthly bill like a credit card but once they get your first payment thats when they spring the old when payment is in full that when you will get your merchandise to me thats the same thing as a scam and iam going to my ag with this and believe me i will let as many on liners no to stay clear of your so called sweepstakes and any thing else that bears your stamp!!!
V. Elizabeth Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

False advertisement

BOA will refund anyone's fees, I happen to agree with the previous posters. If your child support is routinely late you should not be writing checks for funds you do niƄ yet have. Especially considering checks are electronically drafted these days and your deposit has to be manually entered. I happen to know that BOAT deposits ACH on the day specified by the issuer as my checks have been direct de
posited on my payday every two weeks for two years now.


Filing a frivolous complaint based on your own irresponsiblesibility is exactly why you got trolled. I'm not always happy with BOA. But in this circumstance you were the one
at fault.
Melrusty Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Scam, $200! For 90 days, watch your credit card bill carefully!

I order the Wen Hair Care System and was pleased with the way it worked, until I started noticing all the charges on my credit card account. I was billed twice a month and received a 90 day supply! It ended up costing me over $250. for 90 days of shampoo! I will try the Shampoo 1 from Sally's Beauty Supply. I have seen good reviews and I am just really tired of being screwed and not being kissed!!! Wen Hair Care is a huge scam! They even say there were 2 accounts with my name on them, shipping to another address!! Are they going to credit my account?? I doubt it! It is a scam!
MoJo66 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Scam, $200! For 90 days, watch your credit card bill carefully!

If you have issues with the amounts charged to your card call your credit card company and they will take care of it! Its is pretty much as simple as that! Seriously don't you all know that if you charge something to your credit card you are protected with each and every purchase!
MoJo66 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Scam, $200! For 90 days, watch your credit card bill carefully!

Seriously people if you have issues with charges being made to your credit card call your credit card company and they will take care of them. Like if your not smart enough to know this you seriously have no business having a card much less making charges on it!
Krisdito Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Greasy Hair

Wen makes my hair extremely greasy after a couple uses. If I use other shampoo/conditioner for a few days and then use when twice a week, it seems fine, but to use Wen for everyday use, my hair looks like it hasn't been washed in days. Even a coworker asked if I was even washing my hair. Not good! Also, this same person ran her fingers through my hair, and although she said it was soft, she noticed her fingers were oily and smelled like grease. I like to use it one or two times a week because it will make it shiny and it has a mentholatum feel on your scalp, but I cannot use it everyday or I would look like a grease monkey.
Whereyaheaded Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Greasy Hair

I am so glad that someone else is having the same problem with Wen that I am. I couldn't agree with you more. Wen is good to use maybe once a week but otherwise I think I'll stick to my regular shampoo and conditioner for my regular washes. Wen started out making my hair look great the first month, but now the roots feel so greasy and my hair looks like I haven't washed it in days. I think it's on conditioner overdrive and needs shampoo!!

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username