Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Yankee Candle

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about Yankee Candle

ycrm2019* Send email
 
Apr 21, 2019

Yankee Candle Plug In

I recently bought several Yankee Candle "Citrus & Sage" refills and a new plug in for my bathroom. The scent is very nice, but the plug in does NOT work in my 120 volt outlet. They use to work fine, but something has changed????? I hope that the company will recognize and address the problem. Will return and have to find another product.
candidagilbert Send email
 
Feb 4, 2019

yankee candle

I have been using Yankee Candles for over 15 years. It is my Christmas gift from family members and I spend over 100.00 every 4 months on candles. This info is to tell you that I have never had a problem until Sunday night 2/3/19 at 6:50PM I was watching the superbowl when I started to smell wood burning. My candle had burned down to the bottom and it did not go out. It burned my wooden night stand. To prevent my house from burning down I had to carry it to the bathroom while using thick pot holders. I had to let it cool down in bathroom. Entire room filled with dangerous smoke. I have pics of Yankee candle sticker on bottle as well as pics of damage to nightstand. Thank GOD I was home. My entire home could have been burned down. I will never purchase another Yankee Candle ever again. It's not worth my life, my kids life or my animals lives. So thanks to Yankee I now have to throw away a $300.00 night stand. Great Job Yankee. Said no one ever.
Madashelllikeeveryoneelse Send email
 
Dec 11, 2018

Plug ins

Worked fine AT FIRST. Went to get a couple more & refills and absolutely nothing. So I’ve got 2 dozen refills and 5 plug ins that are useless. The 1St Time I’ve ever been to one of those stores and will be the last time. Can’t get a refund because gee, I don’t keep receipts for a month. It’s an hour and a half drive to take that garbage back. They will exchange but not refund. I don’t want ANY of their junk!
MRobertson Send email
 
Aug 13, 2018

Scent plug cannot be smelled

I bought 8 bottles of the Sage and Citrus oil plug-ins. I wish I had read this thread first. They are pricey and you cannot smell them. The glad version is so much better, just don't have the scent I like. I am so upset that I wasted my money on these. The only one that can be smelled at all is the one in my powder room. 4' X 7.5'. I will return these!
Jleep1 Send email
 
Aug 3, 2018

Wall diffuser

Bought a diffuser and placed Home Sweet Home fragrance in it. Turned it up high. Doesn’t smell at all unless I put my nose up to it. A complete waste of money. I have two more pods to go through. I would like my money back.
annilorri Send email
 
Mar 9, 2018

Wall plug-ins

I bought the Yankee Candle wall plug ins to try something new. I love the BBW Wallflowers, and even the Glade ones, but Yankee Candles plug ins are extremely disappointing. What a rip-off. Can't smell a thing, even on the highest setting, and the plug-in part gets warm, but apparently not warm enough to make the oil burn, or diffuse. Took the top off the oil bottle and poured it into a small burner instead. The product is pricey, but the quality of the plug-in is the pits. Wasted money and I won't be buying ever again.

And now I have to register, etc, just to leave some feedback. This is stupid!
Gailzambon Send email
 
Oct 29, 2017

Yankee Candle Plug Ins

My plug ins don't smell at all. I ordered two for a small space and you can't smell anything. Very disappointed in this product. Such a waste of money!
fapaljack Send email
 
Aug 19, 2017

Scent Plug Liquid Can Melt Plastic

It melted a small pit into my monitor base as well as a few deep ridges into my xbox one, luckily it didnt go deep but it did damage both my xbox one and my monitor due to defective design, the cap was on but it leaked around it. see attached photos for damage, the xbox held up better but that speck next to the hole on the monitor is a chunk of plastic that came from the monitor base.


criggerj Send email
 
Aug 16, 2017

ScentPlugs - can't smell them

I just spent $60 bucks on 4 different ScentPlugs and 4 refills...I am VERY disappointed! You can't smell them unless you stick your right next to it. I put 2 of them in my camper (small space) and when you walk in, you can't smell it at all! I should have saved my money and bought another brand of plug in air freshener. I've had them less than 1 week. Im going to attempt to return to store for a refund. I wouldn't recommend this product. Don't waste your money!!
mwagner Send email
 
Aug 15, 2016

Plug Ins Yankee Candle

I'm very disappointed in the Yankee Candle plug ins. They don't smell any longer! I have six of them plugged in and you can't smell one of them. I know I spend way too much money on the items and they have no smell. Very disappointed with the changes in Yankee Candle the past couple of years. I also have tried the scents they claim to be the strongest and those don't smell either. I'm done spending my money on a product that doesn't work.
JackieKoons Send email
 
Jul 11, 2016

Candle burst and caught cabinet on fire

I'm more concerned than anything because I have bought, received and burn Yankee candles all the time. They are my absolute favorite along with the wall plug ins!

That said, I wanted to bring this to your attention to see if you've heard of this happening with anyone else and maybe there's a pattern or reason for it that can be resolved by knowing about it.

My daughters bought me a couple Yankee Candles for Mother's Day this year and the first one was completely used but the second one you will be able to see from the pictures that I had only burned it about 4 times and used about 1 1/2" of the candle. So you know, I click the wick every time I burn candles to keep the flame down.

On Thursday, July 7, 2016, my husband lit the candle which was on our kitchen counter, went into the other room to work on the computer and our lab was in the kitchen when the candle for absolutely no reason burst and caught our knife handles on fire which were about a foot from the candle and the flames burnt our cabinet and bubbled our counter top. If it weren't for our dog alerting my husband who knows what would have happened.

This is extremely concerning and I want to make sure the powers that be know of this incident in hopes that it keeps this from happening to other customers and to have a recall done if necessary.

The knife block was back in the corner beside the picture and the candle was over to the left of where the paper towel is in the picture.

I've not sure whether I should stop purchasing Yankee Candles and tell friends and family to do the same or if this was a once in a lifetime nightmare.

Regards,
Jackie

Candle burst and caught cabinet on fire Candle burst and caught cabinet on fire Candle burst and caught cabinet on fire Candle burst and caught cabinet on fire Candle burst and caught cabinet on fire

Former Fan Send email
 
Feb 13, 2016

Yankee Candles

I read through a few the complaints regarding Yankee Candles because I too have been disappointed over the past year or so with several of their products.

The candles have left dark residual on my ceilings . Initial I thought it was because I had the candle too close to the ceiling . I relocated the candle & the same thing happened. I am not sure if the residue is now in my vents or not. After reading the other complaints by Yankee Candle users I realize it is not just me.

My second complaint regards the plug in wall fragrance item. It just does diffuse. I took one back to Bed Bath & Beyond because I thought it malfunctioned . however the new one I purchased does the same/ does not diffuse.

The fragrances are less appealing then previous as well.

I guess if the company was sold to another, this probably explains the decline in quality.

I will not be wasting my money any longer on their products.


"Former Fan of Yankee Candle"
jlamont Send email
 
Jan 26, 2016

Yankee Candles give of soot

I have been going through filing a claim with our Ins Co to have cleaning and painting done in my home. We lost power for 7 days in 2013 and were forced to use fireplace for heat and candles for light. The ins co sent in an engineer who evaluated the damage (grey dicolored ceilings and grey staining on crown molding and wallpaper as soot from Yankee Candles. Has anyone had similar issues such as these. I'm considering a next step but unsure how to proceed. I've called Yankee customer service phone and get no answer.
DAComplaint Send email
 
Jan 23, 2016

defective product - rude customer service

I burn at least 30 of Yankee Candles annually. Generally they burn to the bottom of the wick (leaving a very small residual amount of wax). I recently purchased 18 different scents of Yankee Candle's 22 oz. candles. The last 2 I burned leave 3/4" - 1 1/4" of wax and the wick can not be lit. I called their customer service dept (on 1/23/16) and was told, "Yeah, that's about right. It leaves at least an inch of wax, then you should throw it way." In the past they burned longer. Don't sell 22 oz candles that only allow you to burn 20 oz. unless you specify it in your marketing. Make them 24 oz with the knowledge you can burn 22 oz. Plus, customer service should not be so dismissive (especially when they know they aren't being completely honest with the burn rate). I believe they should send me 2 small or 1 medium jarred candle as a replacement because either these 2 are defective or the last 100+ I've burned are!
tmoreh2254 Send email
 
May 12, 2015

Yankee Candles

I would like to start a class action law suit and I will first thing in the morning find an attorney!! their candles have destroyed my home! over $60,000.00 in damages. Yankee Candle sold out to a company called Jarden Co in NY and their candles now are being MASS PRODUCED....the soot got into my return air vent and travel thru the duct ALL OVER MY HOME!! I am day 86 and still do not have my furniture and painting is still undergoing, carpet replace ....just been a nightmare,. Will be finding a lawyer for sure....I am at the end of my rope. These poorly made candle that you pay good money for are crap and do a LOT of soot damage. Anyone else have this issue? please contact me....I have had enough!!
bkkilpatrick Send email
 
Sep 3, 2012

Yankee Gel Car Air Freshenr

I also purchased a gel car freshener and it melted and ate through the dash and dripped and ate through the plastic cover surrounding my control panel. If there is a class action suit against Yankee I would like to participate in it. I was so disappointed to find out that these complaints have been going on since 2008 and they are still selling them today.
My2centsworth Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Delivery

Placed an order, on time, according to their rules, with guaranteed delivery by Christmas. Friends will not receive the candles because "we are backed up in our warehouse without enough help for the Christmas rush." Are you kidding me???? A company like this? With orders galore and catalogs sent out every month???? No "guarentee" delivery." What a joke. I lit my last candle from these buffoons. Time to buy air fresheners.
JuliePooh51265 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Delivery

Next time don't wait until December 15th to place orders. Even when it's not the holiday rush, some places take longer than 10 days.
Justice4balls Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Delivery

December 13th would be much better!
WGAS Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Delivery

Yes, what is a joke is people ordering their Christmas gifts online at such a late date expecting it to arrive ontime. If you are going to order online, do it well in advance of the holidays. If you wait til such a late date, you might as well get in your car and go shopping in person.
G. Hollis Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Gel Air Freshener can melt plastic

£2133 damage to my Merc CD player and fascia. Insurance co has settled so am asking YK to pay the £250 excess or will send off N1 form to the UK small claims court for £ 35 as the evidence is pretty damning. They have 14 days to agree before I send the claim and documentation/pictures to the court. Wil probably use my solicitors to rep. me so thieir costs will escalate and if I wee in their shoes I would pay up and avoid the bad publicity and WITHDRAW THE PRODUCTS that cause these ( DOH!)
Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Gel Air Freshener can melt plastic

I purchased a vanilla scented YANKEE CANDLE GEL AIR FRESHENER for my 2007 Toyota Tundra. I hung it on one of the knobs on my dash and when I went out to my truck after it had been there several days, I noticed a messy substance on my dash behind the freshener. I got a rag with warm water to wash it off and the plastic finish came right off and the plastic dash is actually pitted from the gel, like it had melted a little bit. I looked for a warning on the product and there was nothing that said not to let it come in contact with your cars interior. I have contacted Yankee Candle Company but have yet to hear from them. At this point, I'm just posting this as a warning. Hopefully the company will own up to it. If not, I'll be back...
Afhsheldon Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Gel Air Freshener can melt plastic

I wish I would of knew this sooner :-( My center console of my car has drop indents in the plastic and i also all the plastic is bubbling up and coming off...is anyone starting a class action law suit? for the damages?

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    sundae cone - price differences
    price of a sundae cone in juru R&R is higher than...
    Poslaju Parcel Hub - Item stuck at KLIA Hub
    My parcel stuck at Pos Laju Transit Office (Consignment...
    [email protected] - brajamjou1
    Saben no puedo entrar a mi pagina de tagged y llevo varios...
    IRCTC - Mob no change
    User id -Raj Name-Rajkumar Singh Dt of birth-30-05-1973...
    Alabama Power - ALABAMA POWER_HORRIBLE COMPANY
    Unbelievable ..I leave town for a month on a import trip...
    PCH Games - Security questions
    I have started getting a security question after every...
    POSLAJU KLIA HUB - Brg msih x gerak lg ERA152555785MY
    Brg masih di post laju transit klia.. Brg sapai di post...
    Sun Community, Inc - Rent Increase
    Received an official letter of rent increase (90 day...
    ICshopmaster - Unauthorised Charges
    ICshopmaster has been taking monies from my account...
    HOME DEPOT STORE EMPLOYEE COMPLAINT - payout of vacation pay
    I retired from home depot on April18 the next payday was...

    Recently Updated Complaints

    sundae cone - price differences
    price of a sundae cone in juru R&R is higher than...
    Poslaju Parcel Hub - Item stuck at KLIA Hub
    My parcel stuck at Pos Laju Transit Office (Consignment...
    [email protected] - brajamjou1
    Saben no puedo entrar a mi pagina de tagged y llevo varios...
    IRCTC - Mob no change
    User id -Raj Name-Rajkumar Singh Dt of birth-30-05-1973...
    Alabama Power - ALABAMA POWER_HORRIBLE COMPANY
    Unbelievable ..I leave town for a month on a import trip...
    PCH Games - Security questions
    I have started getting a security question after every...
    POSLAJU KLIA HUB - Brg msih x gerak lg ERA152555785MY
    Brg masih di post laju transit klia.. Brg sapai di post...
    Sun Community, Inc - Rent Increase
    Received an official letter of rent increase (90 day...
    ICshopmaster - Unauthorised Charges
    ICshopmaster has been taking monies from my account...
    HOME DEPOT STORE EMPLOYEE COMPLAINT - payout of vacation pay
    I retired from home depot on April18 the next payday was...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username