Submit a Complaint

Yelp.com

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about Yelp.com

Afinek Send email
 
Mar 16, 2012

They seem to filter reviews that are legitimate

Having trouble with their review policy. They seem to filter reviews that are legitimate.
Rs6er Send email
 
Mar 16, 2012

They seem to filter reviews that are legitimate

My company has 7 5-star reviews. Every one of them is filtered out. Yelp sucks!
Irvine Send email
 
Mar 15, 2012

Online scam

This site is for 'consumers' to rate business, like ripoff, but its more misleading. Thing is, when consumers report bad services *like being ripped off* most reviews *like mine which were mostly negative towards bad businesses cheating me out of money* were deleted b/c business owners got mad. Oh boo hoo.

Its annoying that only good reviews were allowed to stay and negative ones were deleted, when mine didn't violated the terms of use. A site for consumers to share their experience, positive a/o negative, are not given the full portunity to report bad service, since they'll be deleted right away.

Most are good and bad reviews but mine, which are about bad ripoff insurance agencies and banks were deleted b/c the YELP community felt it needed to be taken down. Plus business owners threw a wittle tantrum b/c I was giving them a bad name for their already bad service. Oh poor babies.

I find this yelp.com site completely misleading and favors bad businesses. If the consumers cant warn people about terrible businesses, which would help unknowing consumers of the trials and tribulations that they would mostly encounter, why even bother having the site at all. This site IS a RIP OFF!!
Landluvver Send email
 
Mar 15, 2012

Online scam

Well, there has been a lot of publicity, negative almost all of it lately, about Yelp and that the fix is in. If you advertise there, your reviews are good, if you decline, the magic filter makes you a hero. Well, before the bad publicity came to light, I trusted them on a stereo store that I threw a LOT of money at, based on the Yelp reviews. Well after getting the rig home, and after paying about 4k on digital upgrades, i went back to Yelp reviews to see why everybody was so thrilled, and after i looked at the all but hidden filter bar, i see that there were more negative reviews that were filtered out than there were positive that were posted. This is fraudulent and dishonest, and I will never visit Yelp again, and truly hope that somebody instigates a law suit. They say they have a secret algorithm that is proprietary and refuse to give their formula. Well, from a consumer standpoint, when there are 18 reviews, 5 positive, 12 negative and one rather neutral, all the positive show, along with the neutral, but the negatives are all hidden, or rather, filtered. SCAM, so the so called service is based on revenue, not consumer opinion. So yes, after I spent beaucoup dollars on electronics, I spent ample more to fix the f'ups that the inferior, recommended store provided, while the negatives that would have made me skeptical were hidden from view. Yelp is shi+ and dead to me, period. Never again will I even look.
Yelp Cowards Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Closed my account for no reason

On Feb 13 2012 Yelp closed my account for no reason. They said I had multiple accounts, which I did not. I had given a bad review of a business and the week before he became a Yelp sponsor. I think that is why they closed my account. I only had one and when I E mailed them "which other account is mine" they ignored me. I then E mailed then and said they had made a mistake but was blown off. I finally E mailed them "can I open another account now that I have none?" Still no reply as they hide behind their computers and if someone pays them sponsorship money, the account that you have for a year is closed. Yelp is a scam run by cowards.
Pump Guy Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Closed my account for no reason

I also was removed... so i removed them from MY Facebook page. two can play this game
Go to the Yelp fan page on Facebook.com by clicking here and click the "Remove App" link on the right hand side bottom of the page.
Yelp Closed Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Closed my account for no reason

I have been noticing a high number of "Closed Account" s on Yelp. And it dawned on me that it is a commercial site, and there might be censoring going on! Yelp benefits financially from the work of tens of thousands of free reviewers. I'd like to think their oppinions are shown, provided not profane! lol.
Yelp Closed Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Closed my account for no reason

I have noticed Yelp accounts Closed.
DavidBell144 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

SCAM

Let me start by saying that my name is Vic.M and I am the owner of Kis Kiss Hookah Bar, and whose business is obviously listed on Yelp.com. We had good & bad reviews as any other place, but more good ones, total of 47 reviews since we've been in the business for over 6 years.
Couple of months ago I got a phone call from a Yelp.com sales representative (whose name was Mathew) offering me to advertise on Yelp.com for about $300 per week, which I of course refused. A couple of days later Yelp.com removed 42 of my companies' reviews!!! Leaving us with only bad reviews...this type of activity is clearly fraudulent so please sway away from Yelp.com!!!

To learn more about Yelp Scams, please visit www.yelplosangeles.com which is a site I created.
Damaged By Yelp Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

SCAM

We declined their offer to "allow" us to advertise on Yelp for $350 a month. The next day all of our five star reviews were gone and magically replaced with a horrific one star review. What can be done?? These are cyber crooks and must be stopped
Jisslea Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Don't believe anything on yelp

Yelp is hot right now, i hope they crash and burn. yes my account just got canceled, and i have just spent several hours checking out others experience on different sites. go ahead, if your a business use them while they last. if your looking for a place to go, filtered reviews which lead to deleted reviews are more of the truth. yelp will probably change this soon. don't believe anything on yelp. its a shakedown operation for businesses where positive reviews are the carrot and negative reviews the stick. for us, the curious public, its just a road they walk.
Scammed By Yelp Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Don't believe anything on yelp

The very ugly truth about Yelp is that until you pay to advertise with them, all your positive reviews will be filtered. A few months ago we received a phone call from an employee at Yelp asking us to advertise with them. We declined their offer, it was going to cost us somewhere around $350 a month. The very next day ALL of out positive reviews were filtered and all of a sudden there were two one star, very negative reviews posted. Ther are scam artists and the site is completely fake, created to bully business owners into paying them for positive reviews. They did the very same thing to my friend who ownes a Pilates studio in Miami.
SBowner Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Yelp is not good for small business

I agree 100% with this review. I am a small business owner, and Yelp has contacted me several times to sign up for their $300 per month advertising. Every time I tell them I don't need to advertise, another one of my 5 star reviews gets filtered. They have only kept the 1 star reviews, one of which was written by one of my competitors, and the other one written by a customer I refused to treat for free. They finally convinced me to agree to a Yelp deal, from which they get 30% of the sales. After they contacted me last week to sell me advertising again and I turned them down again, two of my 5 star reviews got filtered. I couldn't believe it. Both of these reviews were written by people who purchased the Yelp deal from them directly. Yelp is a total scam and god help any business owner who refuses to buy advertising from them.
Scamed Florist Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Yelp is not good for small business

I own a Flower Shop in Boston and 9 good reviews are filtered but the 2 bad ones remain. None of my good reviews are shown since I declined to advertise with them a year ago.
Tonya269 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Yelp is not good for small business

You are dead on about Yelp. Yelp has filtered all of my legitimate reviews so now I have one review - a negative one from a group-deal purchaser upset with me because SHE waited too late to redeem a voucher. The reviewer never ever received services from my business but she basically skewers it, claiming it is so horrible that everyone should "stay away"! I am suspicious of Yelp. Earlier this year I was solicited by one of their reps (a guy) to advertise my massage and bodywork business with them. I've never been impressed by Yelp so I easily turned the offer down. Less than a week later I found a suspicious, fake review of my business supposedly by a male client. The name was unfamiliar so I searched my customer database and could not find anyone by that name. The 'so called client' gave a positive review for a therapist who supposedly worked at my business. The reviewer insinuated he'd received a happy ending!!! I was pissed! I am the sole proprietor and the only full time employee at my business. I have an independent contractor and both of us offer legitimate therapeutic massage and would NEVER do anything like what the reviewer insinuated. I didn't leave a 6-figure job, pay tens of thousands of dollars, and take 100s of hours of CES to become a friggin prostitute! I take my work and my business seriously. Why would I risk my entire life for any amount of money let alone a few bucks!! I immediately contacted Yelp but they refused to take the review off. (it eventually fell off due to the filtering algorithm, lol) They did, however, suggest I pay to advertise with them! Maybe if I had I wouldn't have gotten the fake review in the first place...hmmm??
Bradley Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Closed my account for no reason

I signed up for a Yelp Account (dean783 AT mail.com) My account was closed with no explanation of an email sent to me by Yelp.com I like the website and started to make friends on there but then suddenly my account gets closed for no reason.
Dbeardad Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Closed my account for no reason

I also cannot log in any longer.. They closed my account, as I suspect it is because I did
not sign up for their $300.00 to $500.00 monthly promotion. They seem to get me lots of work,
and I feel that just being a member, and doing reviews is better than nothing at all!
Hirka Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Yelp is not good for small business

I am an owner of recently open Thai restaurant. Below is solely my personal experience with Yelp that I would like to share.

1. Biggest mistake I made was talking to Yelp. Once they know I own the restaurant they keep on calling to get us to subscribe to $300 per month advertise with them. There is nothing wrong with that; however, there are no reason for us to advertise on a site where I don't think it portrays business fairly.

2. Filtered system is bogus. All of our legitimate positive review got filtered and they don't filtered bad review. We would be 4 star restaurant, but it keep us at 3.5 star (like that matter, but again I think it is not fair)

3. I used to use Yelp and review restaurant and service. More and more unfair practice I might stop them completely.

4. Sad but I have to say this Yelp's customers (more than 90%) are cheap and rude. We used opentable reservation and we can see the world different between yelp's customer and open table customer. Opentable's customer who actually dine at the restaurant can review the restaurant. On yelp, you can't even tell when they dine at the restaurant or what they said is directly from their experience not from competitor or someone who hate the restaurant.

As much as I like their idea of website, I hope Google place and their newly create restaurant review take over them. Yelp is not good for small business.
Expatbrit Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Yelp is not good for small business

What you say is 100% correct! Yelp's so called algorithm is just a means to get you to pay their sales people, that way as far as I can see the good reviews get re-instated and the company paying is given a way to remove bad ones. I must be one of the lucky ones as 1 bad review actually got filtered but not until we lost business because of people believing that Yelp was a honest review site!

To my thinking Yelp should be forced to reveal their business practices and algorithm to a federal judge so that the courts can decide what is fair and what's unfair!
TruthIsNowTold Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

scam

expatbrit-I know exactly what I am speaking about and I am actually on Yelp.com for your information and my information is correct information. It is always correct!

I am awake and already have a life and I got it a long time ago. Only those asleep and in need of a life speak in such terms like this where you say to: "wake up and get a life"

I support truth and not error. I agree that filtering out good reviews is wrong but the site is NOT a scam! It has worked for me and my "master research" that you are correct about that I always enunciate well on because TRUTH always is masterful
Jakemorro Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

scam

Not sure if you knew this. But if you are paying for your ad/listing on Yelp, no one can leave a bad review on it. This is part of the scam I am sure. If you choose not to pay them, most of the good reviews will eventually disappear and go to the filtered list. I hope they really ARE getting sued for all of this. Do you know what the current situation is with this?
Thanks.
Kevin
Expatbrit Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

scam

TruthIsNowTold you are spouting a load of mistruth! I was contacted by Yelp asking for an exorbitant fee to list me and manage my reviews then when I refused all my good reviews were "filtered" while the two bad ones were left available!!

I have no problem with people leaving a bad review and always try to address any concerns, but filtering out good reviews while leaving up bad ones if you won't pay them is a scam and an illegal ripoff. If you doubt this then wake up and get a life instead of trying to justify a company that is only interested in extorting money from business owners!
Expatbrit Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

scam

TruthIsNowTold I agree that they are not responsible for comments posted but they are responsible for removing good posts and leaving the crap available if you don't fork out your hard earned cash!

So again please before posting to support your masters research and be sure your info is correct. Otherwise all you do is show people taht you are either an employee or someone being paid to defend them.
Master Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

They delete complaints

Yelping on yelp. If you post a consumer complaint and others don't like it including other patrons Yelp will take it down. However, they will let the patrons personally and publicly attack you for voicng an opinion.
Expatbrit Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

They delete complaints

DynamicDeebythesea

You are both right and wrong about this scam artist company. If a business pays them they fall over backwards to help them as you have seen. But if you refuse they remove all good reviews and only leave the bad ones. So it would seem that the company you posted about was a paying member (around $200/week) and as such is entitled to have anything they disagree with deleted!

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username