Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Zerowater

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about Zerowater

Onoren Send email
 
Apr 25, 2019

Lemon / Acid taste - 193 on meter

I called the Zerowater customer service line at ‭+1 (800) 503-2939‬ To complain about a lemony, acidic taste to the water with a filter I just recently installed. The TBS meter said 193, and our normal city water measures at 223. Normally I have a zero rating when the filter is installed. They were very nice and shipped out to me four replacement filters free of charge. They said to make sure to buy the filters directly from them because they have had complaints from customers who bought filters from other places, like Amazon for example. Very pleased with customer service. Will take 7 to 10 business days to arrive.
myus3rname Send email
 
Apr 19, 2019

Terrible tasting water!

I bought a ZeroWater 23 Cup Pitcher. Our house uses municipal water, not well water. I can't drink our tap water because it is disgusting. It is highly chlorinated and has off flavors of other chemicals. I opened them box, washed the pitcher, insert, and lid, and screwed in the new filter that it came with. I filled the pitcher (over about an hour or so) with tap water. I then poured some of the filtered water into a fresh, clean cup. I tested it with the included meter. It read 000 as promised. I smelled the water, and it smelled like tap water! It shouldn't have any odor. So, I tasted it. It was gross. It tasted like our tap water but with an added flavor of something which I simply can't describe. Some reviews say "fish" but that doesn't fit quite right. Definitely chlorine and something else, bad. I want to say it kind of tastes like a hint of rotten fruit.

So, I dumped the 23 cups of water and re-filled the pitcher in the hopes that it was just a new filter problem. Nope. Actually the taste got worse. I can't bring myself to drink that water. It worries me by how badly it tastes.

Our cold tap water had 230 ppm dissolved solids per the meter that came with the pitcher. I'd honestly rather drink our tap water than the ZeroWater purified water.

I'm going to remove that filter, and put in the second new filter that I bought when I bought the pitcher and try that one. Perhaps this filter is bad, but I'm not banking on it. I will likely return this pitcher and extra filter as defective and purchase a different brand.
Hoggitywa Send email
 
Jan 6, 2019

Zero Water

Bought a zero water system for my 93 year old mother. Less than 3 weeks I returned to her home to find a strong lemony/acid taste to the water. I changed the filter, water then seemed fine. I stayed with her for 3-4 days and had to change the filter again. She is now on her 3rd filter in less than a month. This must be most expensive system ever invented.
She is on city water known to be pretty good.
nozrydr1 Send email
 
Oct 8, 2018

water tast like lemon

I loved my zero water, but after about 2 months the water taste like lemon. There's only two people in my house only used for coffee.
so that's about 2 cups a day.
hobs Send email
 
Jul 13, 2018

short life of filter

Mine ZeroWater filter starts to taste bad after about 2 weeks of heavy use in very hard tap water (250 PPM, Southwest US). I suspect the foul taste that gradually gets worse is the iodine that is present in most water purifiers. It's a disinfectant that prevents bacteria from colonizing the carbon granules. I dissected my filter once and found that it was just a thin layer of black spheres (presumably carbon) on top of a bunch of yellow plastic spheres ("ion-exchange resin"?). I didn't notice any membrane or barrier separating the two layers. If you count the metal screen at the top, the hole in the plastic at the bottom, plus the "settling tank" above the filter, I think that would count as the "5 stage filter" advertised. purchased mine in bulk on Amazon. I wonder if those sold retail at target (especially those that come with a new pitcher) have more carbon beads, to improve the life of the filter for the first use.

short life of filter short life of filter

jonesy Send email
 
Oct 8, 2017

Fishy Smell and Taste from filtered water

We have been getting diarrhea and pains in the stomach after eating food cooked with zero water. It was not until after we cooked and ate that we smelled the fish smell coming from the water. We cleaned everything and filtered water again wit the same result, a nasty smell and fish taste. We have only had our Zero Water filter for a month.

I will not be buying a few filter! Looks like we purchased a very expensive cool aid container.

Very disappointed considering we filter all of our water for our 9 children and pregnant wife. NOT HAPPY!

Jonesy
jonesy Send email
 
Oct 8, 2017

Fish smell and taste

We have been getting diarrhea and pains in the stomach after eating food cooked with zero water. It was not until after we cooked and ate that we smelled the fish smell coming from the water.

I will not be buying a few filter! Looks like we purchased a very expensive cool aid container.

Very disappointed considering we filter all of our water for our 9 children and pregnant wife. NOT HAPPY!

Jonesy
merylopez Send email
 
May 3, 2014

Adress registration products

I bought recently a Zero Water filter. In the registration field doesn't provide to Puerto Rico buyers. Please add us. Thanks.
chadfusa Send email
 
Aug 14, 2012

Funny Taste when expired in Zero Water

So I bought the filter in later February and kept using it till August when my calculations showed I should have stopped using it in May. I figured what could happen, the water is still cleaner than from the tap. Well, the water started to filter with this metallic taste like putting a nickel in your mouth. So I ended up changing the filter and the new one works perfectly. I highly recommend Zero-Water.
User930051 Send email
 
Apr 11, 2012

Zero in your wallet

The fear of Fluoride is as absurd as 'nuclear panic". Both are a matter of inferior knowledge in a community that refuses to learn about the facts. The natural fluorides in Colorado water protect the citizens from poor teeth (aka; cavities). {by the way, use a grammar checker, spell checkers can’t tell the difference between To, Too and Two}
Using a water filter is a smart thing to do, especially if you are using ground water. All water is contaminated be agricultural chemicals, to some degree. Water softeners can also be healthier.
Jump'in_Joe
Chadfusa Send email
 
Feb 29, 2012

Zero in your wallet

I just bought Zero Water because I'm paranoid about Fluoride and stuff in the water. Sometimes the water tastes like a chlorinated swimming pool here in Iowa. I used to think the only way to eliminate the Fluoride was through reverse osmosis but I kept having to fill up gallons at Walmart with the Cullegan Machine and bring in 2 to 4 gallons to my work desk every week. With the zero water fillter I just use the water fountain tap and fill up regular water bottles, bring them to my desk where I can slowly put them through the filter, and it stays cold too. I also didn't buy the zero water picture, I just bought a very large drinking glass at Walmart that the filter fits into perfectly and I can drink right out of the glass, pretty sweet. I usually drink 60-80 oz of water a day or 2 to 4 gallons a weeks so this is going to be a great time and money saver, and a huge convenience!!! Thanks Zero Water!!!
LittleNDude Send email
 
Feb 27, 2012

Zero in your wallet

Again, to those who seem to conjure this notion that this company would actually taint their own filtration product... You have to seriously consider the logistics of that charge. The consumer is inevitably going to have to replace the filter NO MATTER WHAT. The *filter* is their patented product. Why introduce into the system this complicating timed, foul odor inducing mechanism, that will theoretically have the customer needing a new filter after three weeks no matter WHAT? How would such a mechanism function inside of a plastic-encased mutli-stage water filter... which anybody willing can dissect?

The ZW filters just take the purification to a level beyond what the more common BritaPur filters can provide. These are typically activated charcoal and ion-exchange resins as these substances help remove odors, minerals and other solids. ZW filters are more a intensive 5-stage design. Each filter is capable of effectively accumulating a certain amount of dissolved solids.

So the life of your filter and the quality of filtered water after x weeks depends on the quality of the tap water you put into it. When I was using ZW filters lasted up to a couple months(the tap water going in was 50-70 ppm).
AnT74 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Zero in your wallet

Owned the Zerowater (sold at Target)purifier for three months. Expensive initially and purifiers are twice what others sell for. Touted as cleanest water purifier. Box says purifier should last 2-3 months. Our lasts a month. When purifier needs changing, the water in the pitcher tastes terrible has to be tossed, unlike other purifiers. There is indication mfr puts sometime in the unit to make us change it. YOU CANNOT RETURN IT TO TARGET. Box says call Customer Service but the don't return calls. This product appears to be expensive hype to me. AND, if you return used purifiers to mfr, you pay postage and you get a coupon for $5 off next purchase which barely covers postage. Bottled water is cheaper easier better. A total money suck with no customer service.
Kallylg Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Zero in your wallet

I bought Zero water 3 weeks ago, Loved it at first! at 3 weeks i poured a glass and almost vomited the smell was TERRIBLE it smelled like dead fish, There is just my husband and I and we work all day so we did not use it that much, I do believe they put something in the filter so you will replace the filter more often.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Faded Glory Jeans Company - faded glory jeggings
    Why would you discontinue a great product like faded glory...
    POS LAJU - Pos lajuu lambat order kat lain okay je cepat
    Check tracking ERA111206958MY darii 6/5 arii tuuu poss...
    Government Vacation Rewards - Terrible customer service
    I have booked about five vacations with this company...
    JUST ANSWER - Fradualent withdrawal from my Bank/Acct
    I submitted a question to Just Answer and they said they...
    Comerica Bank - Fraud
    You won't get anywhere with filing with any...
    ABC Good Morning America - Bias
    Economy is better than ever, never hear about...
    Flydubai - CUSTOMER SERVICE AGENT RUDE
    I CALLED AT THE FLY DUBAI DUBAI CALL CENTER, NOT ALL OF...
    SU QIAN HUAN YU PLASTIC PRODUCTS CO,.LTD - Verification
    I want to know his quality of product
    U-MOBILE - Line teruk sangat
    Minta maaf nk bertanya ni.. kenapa Line Umobile makin...
    cbse - Unsatisfied after verification result
    I have got 67 in english out of 100 which I don't...

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Faded Glory Jeans Company - faded glory jeggings
    Why would you discontinue a great product like faded glory...
    POS LAJU - Pos lajuu lambat order kat lain okay je cepat
    Check tracking ERA111206958MY darii 6/5 arii tuuu poss...
    Government Vacation Rewards - Terrible customer service
    I have booked about five vacations with this company...
    JUST ANSWER - Fradualent withdrawal from my Bank/Acct
    I submitted a question to Just Answer and they said they...
    Comerica Bank - Fraud
    You won't get anywhere with filing with any...
    ABC Good Morning America - Bias
    Economy is better than ever, never hear about...
    Flydubai - CUSTOMER SERVICE AGENT RUDE
    I CALLED AT THE FLY DUBAI DUBAI CALL CENTER, NOT ALL OF...
    SU QIAN HUAN YU PLASTIC PRODUCTS CO,.LTD - Verification
    I want to know his quality of product
    U-MOBILE - Line teruk sangat
    Minta maaf nk bertanya ni.. kenapa Line Umobile makin...
    cbse - Unsatisfied after verification result
    I have got 67 in english out of 100 which I don't...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username