Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

avangate.com

Netherlands

Consumer complaints and reviews about avangate.com

Qwertyyy Send email
 
Apr 9, 2016

Bitdefender won't refund you

I saw a charge for $59.95 on my credit card, and I did not authorize this. I called Bitdefender on Sunday and asked for a full refund because I don't have a computer anymore. The rep said I will have a colleague email you. I didn't trust this so I emailed Bitdefender support and asked for a full refund because I don't have a computer. I was offered a discount and to only pay $29.97. I called again and the rep could not help further except to say I will refer you to my colleague who will enail you. He opened a 2nd ticket. I emailed again to follow up and explain that I require a full refund because I do not own a computer anymore. I then received a reply with an offer of only paying $19.95 when Bitdefender had already charged me for $59.95.

It has been 5 days since my initial request for a full refund. The phone reps cannot help. The support email reps are trained to try to refund less than the full charged amount if they can get away with it.

Every email alert up to this event was in spam. I have not updated Bitdefender as I cannot without a PC and I am still not being given a full refund.

Every email I receive which offers me a discount on keeping Bitdefender is a template, see my email and the response:

Hi,

Can I please get my full refund?

On Apr 5, 2016 06:10, "Bitdefender Support Center" <bdsupport@bitdefender.com> wrote:

Dear,

Thank you for contacting us with regard to this pressing matter. I realize that you have been greatly inconvenienced by this situation. Please accept my sincere apologies.

I have taken note of your refund request and I would first like to offer my assistance in this process.

Please note that the auto-renewal option is designed to help you by offering a continuous protection, without interruption. It also saves you the time of physically renewing every year. Indeed, it is processed for the full price of the product, since it is an automatic process, which does not take into account discount coupons/ promotional offers.

Your subscription was placed as an automatic renewal because this option was enabled when you first purchased the product from http://www.bitdefender.com website. Avangate (our online partner vendor) notified you via email regarding this process, some 5 days prior to the renewal; the email also provided you an option to disable this feature.

Your license key - renewed due to the fact that the option was not disabled.

On the other hand, to compensate for any inconvenience and also to keep you as our faithful customer, I could refund you 50% of the sum paid for the automatic renewal process. This way you will save 29.97 CAD.

please let me know if you accept the offer.

See my 2nd reply and theirs:

Hi, I just called again and the person who took my call didn't seem to understand my request, he just made a new ticket 201604062201002. I want a full refund, not a partial refund. I don't have a computer. I have no need for this. I feel that the below message was a copy and paste script.

I don't want to have to dispute this with my credit card company. Please let me know if you can give me a full refund. It an evident that I have not installed or updated anything on this license for a long time.

Bitdefender:

Thank you for contacting us in regards to this matter and please accept our apologies for the delay in our answer.

Your refund request has been acknowledged, however please note that the Auto-Renewal option is designed to help you by offering a continuous protection, without interruption. It also saves you the time of physically renewing every year. Please note that this order was placed as an automatic renewal because this option was enabled during your first purchase from http://www.bitdefender.com website.

Also, you have been notified via email regarding this process, 7 days prior to the renewal; the email provided you an option to disable this feature, by logging in to your Avangate account - https://secure.avangate.com/myaccount/

We now offer you the opportunity to keep your auto-renewal benefits along with a special 19.95 CAD discount from Bitdefender! The discount will be applied directly to the 59.95 CAD you paid for the renewal of Bitdefender Antivirus Plus 2015 license key and will be refunded back to your account in a few working days if you accept the offer.

please let us know if you would like to proceed with the offer or if you just need some further details.



I am still waiting for a refund.
SRBass Send email
 
Mar 31, 2016

Avangate - IObit

I agree with everyone about Avangate and IObit. They should be avoided at all cost. They say they will refund your money but have no intention of doing so. They are very unprofessional and disreputable. Avangate says they handle the billing and finance, but when you ask them to refund your money, they say you have to talk to IObit... LOL..WHAT A JOKE. ... It is the ole pass the buck trick. I have tried for weeks to get back a refund for a purchase which they tricked me into buying. They send you notices of ;your product expiring, when in fact it isn't but they trick you into buying the product even thought it is still valid. They should be avoided, believe me. I paid with PayPal and it says it right on my receipt, but they are so messed up they are trying to say I used my AMEX card, which I don't even own an American Express Card. Avoid the headache and misery folks.
Carl Bryan Send email
 
Mar 30, 2016

Never purchased iolo system mechanic

Please refund the amount of $32.05 charged to our Chase credit card to us immediately!!! We did not purchase or authorize automatic renewal of iolo system mechanic! This is fraud and we will contact the attorney general if not refunded within 10 days!

Carl Bryan
8968 Marchbank Ln
Lewis Center, OH 43035

We expect confirmation that you have received this email and are proceeding with rectifying this situation immediately.
Please respond via email crbslb379@yahoo.com
billmess Send email
 
Mar 1, 2016

unauthorized withdraw

the same was done to me,i had a surprise withdraw of 66.37 ,the day after i made a call to them,i tried it and resolve my computer issues and ignored the time to renew message appearing on my screen,.,i,m having no success in contacting them once again.. these people are obviously truely scammers of the worst when they withdraw without my authorization,,any other time another company would try this on me ,i,de have my money returned in 3 days ,but its been 12 now.. there are in business to scam the innocent and t make make people miserable and should be stopped!
billmess Send email
 
Mar 1, 2016

unauthorized withdraw

the same was done to me,i had a surprise withdraw of 66.37 ,the day after i made a call to them,i tried it and resolve my computer issues and ignored the time to renew message appearing on my screen,.,i,m having no success in contacting them once again.. these people are obviously definitely scammers of the worst when they withdraw without my authorization,,any other time another company would try this on me ,i,d0 have my money returned in 3 days ,but its been 12 now.. there are in business to scam the innocent and t make make people miserable and should be stopped!
billmess Send email
 
Mar 1, 2016

refund

the same was done to me,i had a surprise withdraw of 66.37 ,the day after i made a call to them,i tried it and resolve my computer issues and ignored the time to renew message appearing on my screen,.,i,m having no success in contacting them once again.. these people are obviously truely scammers of the worst when they withdraw without my authorization,,any other time another company would try this on me ,i,de have my money returned in 3 days ,but its been 12 now.. there are in business to scam the innocent and t make make people miserable and should be stopped!
rboelen Send email
 
Jan 16, 2016

Avangate auto renewal

I upgraded my Bitdefender Internet Security 2015 to Total Security 2016 for 3 PC's early Dec 2015. Avangate then proceeded to auto-renew my previous installation (which was no longer current) and charged me an extra AUD 138.26 for the privilege! I have disputed the (unauthorised) transaction with Paypal. There has been no response from Avangate in 9 days now.

Apart from the underhand method of auto-renewing - you need to opt out, NOT opt in - this indicates a lack of both professionalism and competence. I will not be in any way renewing Bitdefender following expiry of my current software.
geoffrosenhain Send email
 
Dec 31, 2015

avangate tweakbit

I had $112.97 taken out of my account on 10/11/2015 which I never agreed to, as I only live at home by myself, and sent you an email telling you to stop and cancel what ever you thought I wanted, because all I want is for you to credit my account with $112.97. I don't even have any software on my pc, so please confirm this email.
I did not know until I received my 3 month statement from my bank, but it's money taken from me by mistake, I hope so, and at the moment give you the benefit of doubt, but time will tell.
I have tried to contact you with all my details but it won't go through. Thanks Geoff.
mockycarrie@yahoo.com Send email
 
Dec 11, 2015

Froze my computer then charged me

I hate to admit that I was scammed but I just had my computer fixed and I thought it was my tech support from HP; I was very tired and ill at the time so I thought they were on the up and up. However after agreeing to purchase anti virus as I didn't want windows and was going to order anti virus Kaspersky and they said theirs was better; I have to admit I thought this was legit as it was a well spoken man who stated he was in West Palm Beach Fl and he seemed kind. He already seemed to be in my computer as he took control without me changing the controls which I had to do when I had a friend who was a highly trained computer person so I had no idea he was already in my computer however looking back I didn't give him permission. Unfortunately he told me that he could install a good antivirus program and quote twenty eight dollars. I just had a new wireless printer and since I was in another room I didn't see the cost till after the phone call. I then found out he charged me 474.75 and then I knew it was a scam. I remember that he said he was from microsoft and he quoted a company called virus defender. I noticed that there was no anti virus put on my computer and I still had windows defender which came with the computer. I have to admit before the exchange with this company "national Support Services" and Avangate was on the bill and I had very simple receipt from stating the price. I then realized I had been scammed and called my credit card company and asked for a new card. I then found this man had done a history and search of all the known credit cards that I could possibly. I have had a struggle as they put their names on my computer constantly and I remove them. I also have them removed from my controls but they have a way of hacking in and they give themselves permission to go into my computer...one way was saying I approved of guest browsing and another was giving them control/permission to go into my computer. I have had to remove them constantly. I spoke with the credit card company as well as US Bank. Since I the charges reversed and knew they would be renegotiating with my credit card and bank I wanted to know what I was up against. I then googled them and found out they had quite a set up stating they are microsoft affiliates and a very clean set up stating how American they were. The girl who called me and for the first time I spoke to since I knew they were crooked I went ahead to see who they were and she would not give me her last name. She also seemed educated and quite confident; she said they were all Americans therefore were not crooks. I then saw their their site on computer under avangate and national support services stated that with a large American flag to let older Americans and unfortunately people who think that Americans cannot scam. She also would not give me the address of her office saying they people with guns could come and shoot them and for security reasons they are not allowed to give out their names or addresses. However the curious part is there is an address listed with avangate and obviously they are getting paid for credit cards and banks. This outfit is very slick as if they are selling products that are overpriced it's legal but they didn't not sell me anything as I did not received any products. In addition they had no permission to go into my computer and change the settings after this happened which they did on a regular basis. They also have no right to enter my computer as well as call me many times using several different phone numbers. I am not sure what they wanted but I do know they wanted to gain further entrance into my life and finances since they did a history of credit cards that I was able to find and tried to delete the damage. I have to pay now for credit cards to be safe and called credit bureaus to make sure no further charges are put on my credit cards. I had to cancel and get a new card and hopefully they will leave me alone but I have my doubts. The girl who I spoke to from National Support Services I did take their phone number and she did email me a credit. I found it in my e mail and it was funny as I didn't give them my email address. They still had access to my computer. I had only let them print up the bill back on Nov 19th but I didn't give them my address as it wasn't necessary. I do know this girl spoke as she thought this company was legit; I asked her in what world did anti virus program cost $474,00 and she said well Best Buy charges you two fifty to repair computers. I said this was a new computer which had worked fine except for the hacking into my computer. That is when she did state she would refund my money; strangely I never told her I had my charges reversed and she never mentioned that as well. She didn't ask me for my credit card as she would of had to if they followed what normal business practice is as they are not supposed to keep your number on file I don't think but I do know this was one of the strangest encounter as their site does not in any way reflect what one would expect.. they obviously are well organized and have the support of people in the business world with their ultra patriotic stance . This girl as well told me if she were to tell me where they were located people with guns could come and kill them all. I then wondered if she knew how this company was operating or if she was stable. Of course as I stated she would not give me her name for her own "security" but she was able to get complete access of my identity from my computer. I don't think she could comprehend the irony of that.
I can see that this should be very important to the FCC as well as crime in our country. I am sure they prey on the elderly as well as interfere in the privacy of our citizens. I would hope that Microsoft would make them take off the information that they are microsoft certified making this outfit credible. As well the banks and credit people will not protect you if you do get overcharged for anything I was told. If there only way is to gain access is to hack into people's computer and put malware on them or even just deceive them into thinking their computer is not operating correctly I would think this would be a scam and not legal. It would be like a repairman fixes your hot water heater after damaging it or turning the controls and making the people think it needed fixing for safety reasons. I can see it's very hard for the system to go after this kind of theft and it makes low income and the elderly an easy target for abuse.
I hope that further investigation be done on this so clever web page of Avangate and National Support Services. I did note they had complicated information listed I am not sure most people have any idea of what it means. I will have it investigated by those that are very bright and worked for google so I can find out perhaps how they are operating.
BACKES Send email
 
Dec 1, 2015

unauthorized debit via VISA-CARD

U R G E N T
Received today monthly debit-report of my Visa-CARD
and find a debit of 69,95 € labelled "AVANGATE*BITDEFENDER Amsterdam"
Please refund this amount i m m e d e l y , as I never authorized this debit !
Should you not arrange Refund within a fortnight, this will end my BITDEFENDER affiliation !
Ernest BACKES
9, route du Vin
L-5405 Bech-Kleinmacher
Luxemburg
Gtmii Send email
 
Sep 30, 2015

Potentially Fake Activation Site

On September 30, 2015, I renewed my Advanced SystemCare Pro subscription for three machines. As soon as I authorized payment, I was taken to another site that informed me that I had to call 855-491-2544 in order to complete the renewal. I did so.

If this is a genuine Avangate call center, it shouldn't be. With every word the rep at the other end spoke, my suspicions grew. He said he needed to look at my configuration, and when he did so, he pointed out a number of services I had stopped. The then told me he could save me $400, blah, blah, blah.

That's when I ended the call.

Is this really part of Avangate?
BILLYBRISTOL Send email
 
Sep 22, 2015

REFUND DUE TO ME

I PAID FOR SERVICES NOT GIVEN IN COMPUTER SECURITY IN THE AMOUNT OF $924.98. THAT WOULD MAKE AN HONEST COMPANY OF YOU .AT THIS POINT IN TIME I CONSIDER YOU A VERY DISHONEST COMPANY AND I AM WRITING TO THE YOUR STATE BBB AS I HAVE BEEN TRYING TO GET THE REFUND FOR A MONTH AND CANNOT DO SO .THE ORDER # 35643549

I CAN BE REACHED AT 352-751-6993 OR TWINTROLLER@GMAIL.COM


SINCERELY W.B.SHELTON
BILLYBRISTOL Send email
 
Sep 22, 2015

REFUND OF SERVICES PAID.FOR.

I HAD PAID $924.98 AND RECEIVED NO SERVICE FOR MY COMPUTER SECURITY. I HAVE BEEN TALKING TO VARIOUS PEOPLE AT AVANGATE AND HAVE BEEN PROMISED THE REFUND BUT AS ALWAYS NO REFUND HAS BEEN DONE. I AM ABOUT TO WRITE A VERY STRONG LETTER TO THE BBB CONCERNING THIS PROBLEM .I AM OF THE THOUGHT THAT YOUR COMPANY IS A SCAMMER AND WILL NEVER RETURN ANY FUNDS.I CAN BE CONTACTED @1-352-751-6993 OR TWINTROLLER@GMAIL.COM. ORDER # 35643549

SINCERELY W.B.SHELTON
judiwar Send email
 
Sep 15, 2015

unauthorized charges to my account

Avangate and Bitdefender (a Roimanian company) have charged me twice for a product I did not like, did not renew, do not have and do not want. They won't give me a credit even though I discovered the latest charge of $90 on the day it was charged and immediately asked for a credit. I have lodged a dispute with my credit card company and will send this to the Federal Trade Commission and perhaps the office of the Attorney General of MA.
SHANEDECKERT Send email
 
Sep 14, 2015

Payment made Key Code INVALID

I purchased Tunes Cleaner through your company and a email receipt was sent back with a key code and all the support info, I thought i needed. It wasnt! the key code did not work. I recieved an email saying that it was Tunes Cleaners fault and to contact them. I have contacted them and you again. NEITHER HAVE REPLIED. FULL AMOUNT PAID NO SERVICES OR SUPPORT RENDERED. AS OF NOW I WOULD SAY TO NOT DOWNLOAD OR PURCHASE ANY SOFTWARE THAT IS TIED TO AVANGATE IN ANY WAY! TOTAL SCAM! IF YOU PLAN ON RECTIFYING THE ISSUE MY EMAIL IS shane@outrightentertainment.com and reference number is 42184789. DOUBT ILL HEAR ANYTHING FROM EITHER OF THE PARTIES THO.
Allan Send email
 
Aug 16, 2015

Charged Twice

Avangate has debited my Visa twice $92.44 on the 31st July 2015 for Tweakbit!! Please arrange a refund
SeanMc98 Send email
 
Aug 10, 2015

Avangate and iolo.com

I have been billed by Avangate for an un-ordered "renewal" of iolo.com's product "System Mechanic Professional. Although I have been a long-time customer of iolo.com, I did not receive any (Electronic or paper) notification of Avangate's involvement with iolo.com.

The first notice was the unauthorized billing to my credit card for iolo.com's product. When I had originally supplied that card number to iolo.com, it was touted as "secure". I have NEVER given iolo.com authorization or consent to divulge ANY personal or financial data to ANY third-parties.

Since I have never authorized the release of my information to Avangate, I have forwarded all material to my credit card company as well as to the Office of the Attorney General for the State of New York.
Lawman Send email
 
Jul 29, 2015

Avangate

I use Batch Word Find and Replace Lantech who use Avangate.
Last year after about 6 months it stopped working and as i could not get any help from Avangate/Lantech i just paid another subscription. I renewed Batch Word Find and Replace through Avangate in January 2015. It is now 29 July 2015 and i get a message telling me i am using a demo version and activation key no longer works.
This time i am more serious about getting help from Avangate but get no real help. They do give the appearance of a poorly organised or even a scam outfit.
garrett Send email
 
Jun 1, 2015

charged my credit never ordered anything

I got charged twice once for 52.61 on apr 20 and one other charge same day for46.17 . Im sure you know my credit card no so all you have to do is credit that card , and never charge that card again
compton Send email
 
May 21, 2015

Auto renewal

I am Terence Michael Compton. I unsubscribed to Bitdefender in Sept 2014 by following the on line instructions on your website. On the 24th April you made a deduction from my credit card for a renewal of your product which was not authorised by me. The details are as follows :

25th April 2015 £53.95 Avangate Bitdefender Amstelveen NLD. Kindly refund this amount to my account immediately as I unsubscribed to Bitdefender therefore no automatic renewal is applicable.

Please be advised thast you do not have my authority to deduct any monies from any bank account or credit card whatsoever in my name. my e mail address is tmcompton@hotmail.co.uk
compton Send email
 
May 21, 2015

Auto renenwal

You have deducted £53.95 from my credit card on 24th April 2015. I unsubscribed to your service in Sept 2014 when I emigrated from the Uk to South Africa. I downloaded the unistall instructions from your website and followed the instructions on how to unsubscribe. You are not authorised by me to make any deductions from my credit card as I do not use your services. Kindly issue a refund. T M Compton tmcompton@hotmail.com
shirlgig Send email
 
May 12, 2015

automatic renewal

I was using Bitdefender without a problem for 2 yrs., but this year, after buying the protection again, another charge came thru; after several calls, I found out they had automatically renewed my contract, but for $50 more than I had previously paid. They said the automatic renewal is checked, and if I don't want it, I need to DE-select it. I complained to Paypal, to Bitdefender and to Avongate.

They cancelled the Key and finally said I'd get a credit, but 2 months later, there still is NO credit. Bitdefender said that the credit was stopped as soon as I complained to Paypal. Paypal says I need to settle it with bitdefender. I had no idea there was so much trouble with these companies until I started searching this on the web . I haven't called the BBB yet, but since other people have done this, why isn't something being done to stop the outright stealing? From the complaints that I've read, it's been going on for years.
Lloyd Yoder Send email
 
Mar 3, 2015

Year dues paid but no program after only 6 months

I purchased the Avangate Secure for a year term but it has expired in 6 months. My order # was 1228817. What goes here?
ventre4 Send email
 
Feb 24, 2015

Investigating potential elder abuse

My 81-year-old mother was just sold a computer "cleanup" and lifetime identity protection package by Avangate. My sister and I were appalled at the $3000 in charges. They "fixed" her computer remotely and showed her the numerous attempts made by "Russians" to hack into her accounts. I looked at the rates for Lifelock and their most expensive protection plan is $330/year. Again, my Mom is 81 so, clearly, someone saw an opportunity to scare an elderly person who isn't tech-savvy. We are digging into this and Avangate will be hearing from us if not from her.
joseph atwood Send email
 
Feb 16, 2015

program not responding

product ID:4619036 perchest on 02-01-2015 not responding. No tec. support. No contact number.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Share this site with others

         
          

    Recently Updated Complaints

    cop@vsnl.net - loss of mobile phone
    Name: rahul mahadev kale ADD :main rode,kale...
    TEAMLAVA - Raven Haven
    Raven Haven on Pet Hotel story is threating every one and...
    Moto G 3 - i lost My phone
    Hello Sir I lost My phone on 29 APR 2016 i tried to...
    Lean Muscle X - Cancel membership
    Bonjour, J'ai commandé un échantillon pour un essai...
    Mexican Timeshare - My timeshare scam experience
    I came across Mexican Timeshare Solutions on the web and...
    Award Notification Commission - 13570 award letter scam Judging Office & Decision...
    I just received the same scam. I am also interested in the...
    SafeWay - Allegedly accused by zkenny Han of changing my...
    May 2nd I went to the pharmacy at 1814 19th street to see...
    AARP - "Insulated Travel Bag"
    I just opened the little mailer that included my free gift...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username