Submit a Complaint

Ashford University

United States,
Iowa

Consumer complaints and reviews about Ashford University

Tcarroll1975 Send email
 
Dec 12, 2019

BA of Art in Psychology

I attended AU and was down to my last 5 weeks before graduating. Suddenly they tell me that I had a charge that they missed when I first started totaling $3,000 and I had to pay it out of pocket before I could continue. I have not yet been able to pay the $3000 they said I owed so I was not able to complete my last 5 weeks nor earn my degree. This put me in a deep depression but the funny thing is I know a guy that said they did the exact same thing to him. I do not understand this. All the years that I had worked my butt off just to be booted out because of a mistake that I could not find once I went back and looked over all of the finances that were sent to the school and handled by the staff at AU.Unfair
Angie79$ Send email
 
Aug 2, 2019

Ashford university

I am a former stood in a I am a former student of S for University I feel the school has taken advantage of people to get them to enroll into their school they've taken advantage of not only students the federal government Department of Education and anybody and everybody it's not fair that they you failing Classes on the final paper that you are supposedly copying from other students when you cannot see what other Students write the only person that could see your paper is the teacher themself so I don't understand how you are supposedly cheating I just think something needs to be done about the school because it's not fair to Anyone
Angie79$ Send email
 
Aug 2, 2019

Former Ashford University student

I am a former student of asked for University I have a child and 2012 and they had me like if I was still taking classes when I was on a break. Not only that but I hide my child via C section So they ask me to cement proof of birth so I did and they still had me feeling classes that I was not even taking In the charges just kept adding up now they're stating that I owe thousands of dollars for classes I didn't even take and how can you fill classes while taking classes on a final paper or copying other students when you can't even see what other students right because it's a final paper that you have to write on your own and plus a 2゚ supposably that you cannot even use in the real world so they make all these false promises and they paint a pretty picture so they could get all these people to enroll. And I think they just took advantage Of so many people and a funds through the state Department of Education everybody something needs to be done about the school.
[email protected] Send email
 
Oct 8, 2018

unusable degree

Hello. My name is Laura. I went back to online school in 2009 so that I would be able to get certified in education. I live in Michigan and was told by a counselor that I could take the classes online and take the test to get certified for Michigan. Right before "graduation", I realized that my degree was actually called "Social Sciences" and that I wasn't qualified to take any sort of certification for education. I had previous college for education so the counselor told me that a lot of my classes would transfer (which they didn't). I just feel like I was totally lead astray. I do teach, but I teach preschool for a little over minimum wage. I can't even afford my student loans.

I would like to be a part of this lawsuit. I would like all of my student loans paid. This is ridiculous.
Lmartin Send email
 
Sep 13, 2018

Class Withdrawn/Transcripts Hold

I attended Ashford from 2008-2011. I graduated with a BA in psychology. I returned to get my MBA not knowing I would be scam to pay for a class that I withdrew from. I was hit with hurricane Sandy around that time and had no power. I emailed my advisor via cell and let him know I need to withdraw. He sent me a break form that I returned but they are saying that I still need to pay for the full class (1700.00) for 3 weeks of attendance. I also researched that the class was more than they quoted per credit hour of 541.00. I am not paying them, I will move forward in suing them and place my continuing education on hold.
alevan8541 Send email
 
Jul 9, 2018

ashford University

I got my Bachelor of Business Administration and Health care Administration(Master), no one would hire me because the companies think the degrees are no good. Cost for the degrees was high and very costly, can't get a job in those fields that I have those degrees in.( I have a high debt now because of Ashford lies about helping me get a job) THE DEGREES ARE USELESS.
Bmyers75 Send email
 
Jun 29, 2018

Wasn't qualified

Went to Ashford university online. I recieved my BA in organizational management in 2010 and was never qualified for a job in any part of management. Now my $25k for my piece of paper is over $45k. It's been a struggle to try and pay back. Most of the classes where just on ethics or irrelevant to management. Employers wanted me to have marketing, payroll, something viable to management. I wasn't even able to get in to an HR position because i didn't have an HR degree. I was sold a piece of paper.
8 years later and i can't go back because of my mounting student loans.
Expensive lesson. Promised a career and got nothing but debt.
If there's anyway to get out from under this I'd do it.
Jacqueline Geesey Wallin Send email
 
Jun 24, 2018

Multiple Issues

1st Ive had several employers tell me that they refuse to hire anyone that attended Ashford University because of the scandals involved with the school and because they are seen as a 'diploma mill' and that the degrees mean nothing.

2nd they sold information 'to the highest bidder' regarding my financial aid and now members of my family (contact information) are getting harassing phone calls, all the time, years now. I REGRET EVER GOING TO ASHFORD. My BA in LEA isnt worth the paper its on and that was 4 years that I busted my ass, kept an A average, stayed on the Deans List, and graduated Cum Laude honors, MEANS NOTHING.

So ANGRY.
shirleylenford Send email
 
Jun 14, 2018

Ashford University Student Loan Debt

I am a very dissatisfied former student of Ashford University. I was a single mother when I started Ashford University online on July 2010. At the time I was 44 yrs. old and unemployed when I decided to further my education. My desire was to teach then had a change of heart and decided to take Business. I enrolled for Associates Degree in Business and had future dreams to returning for my BA in Business. At the time of enrolling I was told by a advisor that I would receive grants for being a single parent and a minority. Neither the less, I did enjoy the fact that I could further my education and it not interfere with my job duties as a mother.

I found the courses to be interesting and enjoyable. But to be totally honest some courses seemed to be a waste of time and money plus there were over 20 class courses. And, I wondered what does this have to do with my business degree? My second year October 2011, as a online student of Ashford University, I worked as a teacher assistant and part time at fast food restaurant. Fast forward to present, the fast food was just 7 months employment.
However, since my graduation (My Day of Fame) was January 07,2013. I have applied for several jobs and attaching copies of transcript and degree. Meanwhile, having a Associate Degree in Business has not brought me any luck. Ashford University claim to be Accredited University, but name is unknown to many businesses. Then shortly afterwards Nelnet: Your Student Loan Service/ U.S. Department of Education was sending payment request of several loan forms. In the monthly amount due was $330.24 and Current Balance $35,667.66. I realized that my diligence to Ashford University curriculum has put me in tremendous and crucial debt. And, affecting my credit report status as delinquent. Also, I wrote to Nelnet inquiring of the Hazelwood Act but was inform that Ashford or Nelnet does not honor the Hazelwood Act. I am currently still with the school district as a paraprofessional / teacher assistant and again a single woman. I was hoping that furthering my education would be a blessing Not a Curse! Please assist me in taking part of this class action lawsuit all parties involved in the misleading of information and mismanagement.

Thank you,
Shirley
murphylee402 Send email
 
May 31, 2018

school loans

I went to school from 2010-2014 for my Bachelors in Health and Human Services. I just recently started going back to school to notice how much my loans were from Ashford. I did some research and noticed that I got pretty much scammed. I was told that by the time I graduate the market would be in high need for social workers, which I specifically told them that is not what I wanted to do. I told them I wanted to work with the elderly and I wanted to do some administrative work. I was not offered an externship and I was never followed up with after my graduation. I was told that I needed to take out those loans to be able to go to school. I do know that I had financial aid, which I shouldn't of needed to take out all those loans. I have been searching for employment for almost 4 years with my degree and only get offers in social work, which is not what I wanted. I now am in the process of trying to buy a home and they seemed to notice I have mulitple loans and my question is why is there mulitipl? Alll loans should be consolidated first of all, and second of all I did not realize my payments were going to be so high. Which they told me my payments were going to be around $25-$50 a month. I just recently started going for my Masters and you want to know why? I am going so I do not have to pay any loans right now and because I was put on a forgiveness program until I started going to school. I recently noticed that the forgiveness plan does not help me it actually hurts me. I
vonnie4757 Send email
 
Mar 1, 2018

financial aid Scam

I was a student at Ashford University from 2015 - 2017. I transferred in credits but was told that those credits were not relevant to my degree. I continued on anyway. In 2016 I filed my FASFA, Ashford was aware that I had maxed out my financial aid, yet they let me continue classes , sending me graduation notice only to get a call from the business office that I owe $10,000.00. I disputed it they locked down my classes, access to my transcript. I became "Persona-non-Grata." It is almost a year since I have been out of school, no degree and still living below the poverty level.
Jackaro13760 Send email
 
Jan 13, 2018

Ashford Fraudulent Degrees

I've been fighting this battle for years now. After Storm Sandy Ashford began messing with me. They stole nearly 50k in over four years. I was an ideal student. I maintained 3.8 gpa and got excellent grades and no missed time for FOUR Years! These people liked, manipulated and Extorted Federal Government Money that I am now being forced to pay back. Three years of tax returns TAKEN, so not only was the Government Fraudulently taken, now these Criminal Scumbags are Stealing My Tax Returns to pay back the money they stole! Incredible! I'm sick and tired of this. I WANT My Money Back and I want a chance to attain A Real Degree from a Real School who isn't Using folks Desires to better their lives as a way for the Colleges to Pillage Money! It's Sick And THE Law Needs to Step Up and DO Their Jobs! We couldn't depend on a demoncratic administration to anything What Will This Trump Republican administration do? I Bet Nothing! TRUMP This Is NOW Your Mess To Clean Up! Hold these criminals accountable and get all their victims out of financial bondage! It's Thievery and it's Totally Un-America. President Trump Your going to let them getaway with this, will you just he added to the problem or part of the solution?
Bigrob50 Send email
 
Jan 10, 2018

Hiding loans

I attended Ashford 2010-13 with a degree in ELL. The week of graduation found out about a loan that with the school and unril it is paid for they are holding my transcripts and my degree, so I cannot continue my education or getting a job in education because I cannot prove that I have a degree
Hunterkenzie79 Send email
 
Dec 27, 2017

Screwed me over

They screwed me over bad after the loss of a child
dkorn92779 Send email
 
Oct 31, 2017

So much debt

I was about three classes away from getting my degree when I was told by my student adviser that I needed to make a payment to get my Ashford debt below 5k in order to be set up for payments. I was given different information from about five different people since my Financial adviser could not be bothered to answer emails not only from me, but from my SA as well!! I gave pretty much everything I had to get below the 5k mark and was scheduled for my next class. Just before the start of class, I get a call stating that I needed to get my balance to almost zero and was effectively forced into drop/withdrawal status!!! After trying to re-enroll, I find out that the curriculum is not recognized by my state and am now unable to finish classes!!!! I started with a debt of 50K to Nelnet for ONLINE CLASSES and even after making payments for about two years my balance is 55K!!!! I need help!!!!
Happy311986 Send email
 
Oct 26, 2017

Ashford University

How can I sue Ashford University??

I was enrolled with Ashford University in 2011, I went on a break to have my baby for two weeks, after I came off my break I was dropped from the University, and owe them 1,200 now, in order to get back in school I will have to pay out of pocket, I will like to know the name of the law firm people are using to sue this school..
Cle3506 Send email
 
Oct 11, 2017

Ashford University

This school is a scam. They say I owe money to them. I called FAFSA and they said I didn't owe the school nothing, that they paid for all my classes. Called the school, and they admitted they were paid. I asked for all my paperwork they had including my time clock, all they sent was a bill. They were trying to get me to retake classes I have already taken. I withdrew from classes because all you did was read, with all the classes, which I can do on my own, but the counselors said I didn't owe for them, and would not be charged. This needs to be shut down, I will never trust another online school after this experience. Don't do this school!
specialkny Send email
 
Sep 16, 2017

Class Action Law Suit

I too attended Ashford University and they refused to refund my tuition. Terrible school.
Redwoodscloud Send email
 
Sep 4, 2017

I want to sue ashford.....who's with me !!

I attended Ashford University from 2015 to 2017. I'm a single father and a care taker for my mother who has numerous medical conditions which made it impossible to go out job hunting or attend a on campus school. So I looked around and found Ashford, thought this would be an amazing way to secure a career in the future and I can do it all from home so I won't be away from where I'm desperately needed. I got approved for a grant and a subsidized and unsubsidized loan, my SA said that I wouldn't have to pay any money until I graduated or until I was done going to school if I chose to even further my education. I told my SA that I did not work so had no money and they assured me no money would come out of pocket. A year and a half when I was nearly half way through with school I took a course that no matter what I did the instructor did not like it, or said I did it wrong, even when I only did what her instructions said to do, either way I ended up failing the class and then was threatened that I was going to be dropped, I talk to my SA and the financial department because I was told I had to fail 3 classes in order to be dropped, thought I cleared everything up only to have them 6 months later tell me I owed them over 2,000$ for said failed class. How do I owe you guys anything when I failed only one class and haven't even retaken the class, on top of that 3 months after I failed the class I took the part 2 of the same class, same instructor and passed it with an A+ !!!! I had anxiety when I knew I was taking the harder version of the class I failed only to pass with flying colors. Long story short, after completing 2 years of school, I was dropped for failing one class, and feel like I've wasted all that time, they won't give me my transcripts because I owe them money. Does anyone want to join forces and take this fake a!& school down ?!?!?!
klv0420 Send email
 
Aug 21, 2017

krista marshall

This school is under going a class action lasw suit. I have credits from this school that will not transfer to anywhere else. I owe them money and they did nothing for me but take my money and my fafsa and grants and loan money.
Topperville123 Send email
 
Aug 17, 2017

Response to those that have NONE

According to the Federal Trade Commission. Schools/Universities which advertise continuously as Ashford University does online is considered to be a Diploma Mill. They make it sound like after receiving your degree, you can get a job anywhere in the field which you are getting your degree in. The truth is, there is no guarantee on anything in life, so making such "promises" is a definite red flag. Someone put the blame on the students if the "University" aided them in gaining more debt past the understanding when first agreed upon. First, that demeans the experience that these students have had. The truth is, Ashford does everything above board until you are close to graduation, had an issue in class, or become ill, then all of a sudden they want more money. Students are left to their own devices more often than naught. I am a student who was given the opportunity to have stipends or "let the college" keep the money. Since I was guaranteed by their continuing education financial department that I had more than enough funding left, I was not concerned about "running out" of money through my 3rd-4th year, that is until two months before graduation and I had to inform Ashford that there was a problem with the money they were claiming I had. My numbers said something different. After 4 phone calls, I finally got someone who admitted that "Oh, yeah, you don't have enough money. You are going to have to pay us if you want your diploma." Now, most people believe as I do that if placed in this position the pervious year I would gladly have allowed them to keep some of my stipends, or gained scholarships to aid in my academia. The problem is, the school has kept almost $27.000.00, even though my FAFSA claimed I was to receive at least $8.000.00 of that money. The possibility of this occurring was not given to me at the time of registration, nor was I notified during my career as a student that by the time all was said and done that there may be a balance owing. My point is, not everyone's experience is the same. Therefore, making a statement as to how a student should have conducted themselves in certain situations is not only ignorant but bias. It is difficult enough being a college student, worrying about financing and being taken advantage of should not be among our stressors. There should be a line drawn between providing an education and taking advantage of students who are trusting you to aid them in their pursuit of an education. As for me, I am very disgusted with this college, and if life had a do over button, I would be pressing the crud out of it right now!
[email protected] Send email
 
Jul 24, 2017

I owe more even after having a zero balance

Was sure to pay any monies owed to Ashford outside of what was borrowed prior to graduation. Upon applying for graduate school not yet having my degree in hand and receiving an email that my degree was on its way I received a letter saying I now owe over $7K. Now AU is holding my degree and any ability for me to get my transcripts for a job. How is this even possible?
CB1 Send email
 
Jun 21, 2017

Ashford Stealing University

I can not believe after losing everything in Katrina. A university would steal money from me, my family members, and friends. Thanks Ashford University for stealing our American DREAM!
Tennessee 75 Send email
 
Jun 7, 2017

Ashford university

Was a online student of Ashford university when I had turned in a assignment and was failed for plagiarism by one of their student teachers. Brought it up to the instructor ( which took her 4 days to get back to me) told me it was a mistake on the student teacher, but yes I passed that week and could now start on the weeks assignment. Knowing I had 36 hours to do a week's worth of work she would not give me an extension and told me if I don't complete the weeks assignment by the deadline then I would fail, but for extra money I can repeat the course. I informed her if it wasn't for her teacher's aid messing up in the first place I would not be in this position and should get an extension for this reason. Needless to say I failed the course and still can't get any responses as to what I needed to do to get credit for what I did complete and still get calls about me still owing money to them.
ablkdiva4atl Send email
 
May 15, 2017

I owe who??

I attended Ashford and passed and completed all of my courses required to obtain a Bachelors degree in CriminalSocial Justice and Psychology. I filed all the paperwork for any balance to be paid to the school before i was issued a refund. Instead they sent the entire refund and are witholding my degrees saying i owe them $2500. If i get 3 refunds each over $2000, why was the amount not taken out like it was supposed to?? I completed in 2012 with a 3.88 gpa and i can't get my degrees?? I can't even get a copy of my transcript. How do i owe them when i have $40,000 in student loans just for Ashford???????? Im pissed cause i feel i wasted 4 years of my life to get screwed. They won't even take my calls or respond. What do i do????

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Poslaju Parcel Hub - Mesin Pengimbas Kad Debit Rosak
    Pada 28/1/20 saya menghantar secara pukal 4 barang yg...
    Compensation fund - Still waiting for payout since work injury in 2012
    My name is Ashton More, my claim number is . I was...
    McDonalds - Cold tastless food
    We recently visited a McDonalds store in Burke st in...
    McDonalds Australia - Cold tastless food
    We recently went to the McDonalds in Bourke St in...
    NORTON.COM/NSCA - NORTON.COM everything
    I mistakenly installed this system - I already had McAfee...
    Sears.com - did not receive my ouder
    made order through sears.com did not receive order...
    Sears - did not receive my ouder
    made order through sears.com did not receive what i...
    Melaleuca, Inc - Update
    I, Ken Klocke believe you would have to be a complete and...
    Finnovative ventures - Finnovative ventures — Bank Instrument Scams -...
    Here am exhibiting new scam artists for all of you!...
    Meijer - Busy talking , instead of waiting on customers
    I went shopping Sunday January 26 , 2020 at the ...

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Poslaju Parcel Hub - Mesin Pengimbas Kad Debit Rosak
    Pada 28/1/20 saya menghantar secara pukal 4 barang yg...
    Compensation fund - Still waiting for payout since work injury in 2012
    My name is Ashton More, my claim number is . I was...
    McDonalds - Cold tastless food
    We recently visited a McDonalds store in Burke st in...
    McDonalds Australia - Cold tastless food
    We recently went to the McDonalds in Bourke St in...
    NORTON.COM/NSCA - NORTON.COM everything
    I mistakenly installed this system - I already had McAfee...
    Sears.com - did not receive my ouder
    made order through sears.com did not receive order...
    Sears - did not receive my ouder
    made order through sears.com did not receive what i...
    Melaleuca, Inc - Update
    I, Ken Klocke believe you would have to be a complete and...
    Finnovative ventures - Finnovative ventures — Bank Instrument Scams -...
    Here am exhibiting new scam artists for all of you!...
    Meijer - Busy talking , instead of waiting on customers
    I went shopping Sunday January 26 , 2020 at the ...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username