Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

avangate.com

Netherlands

Consumer complaints and reviews about avangate.com

evan1138 Send email
 
Jun 14, 2017

No Problem actually over 10 yrs 2500 USD

I've had zero problems in 2008 and now 2017 with avangate for a pricey products from Caphyon.com totalling 2500 USD. Caphyon uses uses avangate as their designated reseller. Possibly the lack of problems is because there is no recurring option for the software I buy. Or not.

Go figure.
jojohn Send email
 
Apr 24, 2017

Fradulant Charge to Visa Card

This company Avangate.com has charged my Visa account two years running for AUD$29.95 without my authorisation. I have emailed the company to challenge these charges but they have just refused to answer. The New Zealand phone number they list on their website is non existant. It appears this is just a shell company hacking peoples Visa cards for fraudulent fees. I have never requested any services or received any services from this company. Beware, steer clear of Avantgate.com. They are fraudsters!
jojohn Send email
 
Apr 24, 2017

Fradulant Charge to Visa Card

Avantgate.com is just a ripoff company. They have charged me AUD$29.95 two years running without my permission. I have emailed them to sort it out but they just dont reply and the New Zealand phone number on their Web page doesnt exist. Do not have any dealings with this company as it just appears thay are a shell company that hacks peoples Visa details and rips them off without supplying any service for the charge. Steer clear of Avangate.com

John Lambert
New Zealand
Nik Novo Send email
 
Apr 9, 2017

Stealing money: 80 lvl

I found out that for almost two years, avangate stealing money from my account. Without any notifications or emails.
Initially, I canceled all auto-subscriptions (and several times in several services), sent them messages about it, but I could not even find out where and what service was carrying off the write-off data.

In total, the system has stolen almost 300 dollars in two years.
In general, it is not possible to find out the name of the service, nor the working conditions are signed from me, nor for which money was withdrawn. There is not even a notice of any subscription!
Obviously, no services were provided.
Therefore, I reasonably demand a refund: there was not a single service I received for this money
MHarris Send email
 
Mar 20, 2017

Double now Triple charges

In November, 2016, Avangate improperly charged my card twice. It took a month for them to fix.
March, 2017 they are improperly attempting to charged a prior card they had on file 3 times the amount I already paid on a different card and charging me an additional amount on that 2nd card for an item I did not purchase!

Solution: Do not buy from them and give them your credit card #.
They are NOT PCI compliant in that they are storing your credit card numbers and is NOT to be trusted.
jack c reilly Send email
 
Jan 23, 2017

j7reilly@gmail.com

You Cheated Me On Nov 25 2016
INVOICE NO# 2016-11-25 22:33:53 order id 54953508 for 35.99 USD

also invoice date 2016-11-25 22:39:02 order id 54858204 for 31>99 USD

WHY TWO CHARGERS and you only gave me seventy five days of coverage

I HAVE BEEN USING BIT DEFENDER FOR YEARS WITH FULL YEAR COVERAGE, WHY CHEAT ME NOW !!!

JACK REILLY j7reillyQgmail.com

today date Jan. 21 2017
Ac1990 Send email
 
Dec 24, 2016

Unauthorised charges AVANGATE/bitdefender

A year ago i purchased some internet security for roughly 30 dollars. Well a year later 122 dollars comes out of my account when i never signed up for automatic renewal. Will never deal with this company again.
Kevin K Send email
 
Nov 28, 2016

Illegal charges to my credit card by Bitdefender/Avangate

OMG. AVOID Bitdefender/Avangate. They take money from your credit card without your approval. I am now trying to get back the money that they took from me. I am certain that this will be a very tough thing to do. I did NOT renew but they charged me anyway for the software that I did not receive.

STAY AWAY FROM THEM!
NancyMarkon Send email
 
Oct 16, 2016

Avangate/BitDefender

BUYER BEWARE-- AVOID AVENGATE LIKE THE PLAGUE

I'm reviewing from the perspective of a software license purchaser, not as a business using Avangate to market products and services. If only ZERO stars were an option or, better yet, negative stars!

Given Avangate's use of stealth tactics and passive resistance in their interactions with software purchasers, I have no doubt that "retention rates" for software vendors using this company would skyrocket, initially anyway. Customers simply don't know they're dealing with Avangate until it's too late -- you have an unwanted "subscription" or software license renewal which you can't cancel without jumping through hoops and enduring a lot of hassle.

Communicating with Avangate's customer "service" team via email and phone are equally ineffective. They nicely tell you they'll help, and then do absolutely nothing to produce results. As I see it, these stall tactics create cash flow benefits to them and the businesses they represent -- they retain control of funds that should rightfully be in the accounts of their hijacked customers or the customers' credit card companies.

Avangate's version of customer service has cost BitDefender my business forever, even though I've been happily using their anti-virus software on multiple PC's for over 10 years. Not only that, but I will not patronize any business which has Avangate market their products or handle licensing and billing for them. That I'm willing to find a replacement for anti-viral software which has served me well over the years should underscore how powerfully negative an experience I had.

1) Avangate uses misleading practices when communicating about software license renewals -- sending out emails under the vendor's name to market the software at discounted prices without any mention of automatic license renewal, but then, for communications about automatic license renewal, switching to the Avangate name which the customer probably won't recognize as a company with whom they've done business. This is how Avangate locks you in. I doubt they're doing anything illegal, but their tactics are unethical, in my view.

2) Avangate emails say you can go to their website, create an account, and then click on "myAccount" to turn off the automatic renewal feature and request a refund. Not exactly true. There is no option (as of 04/23/16) on their site for requesting a refund. That trail leads to "Didn't find what you were looking for? Contact us" which puts you in an endless loop of emails about how they are reviewing your request for a refund, that BitDefeneder (or whatever vendor may be involved) will be contacted about your refund request, that "details" on the refund process will be forthcoming via email, etc. It never happens unless . . .

3) After 10 days of getting the runaround from Avangate, I had no option but to file a complaint with the BBB and dispute the charge via my credit card company. Shock of shocks! I had a refund NOTICE within hours. I've yet to determine if this is an actual refund, or if it's just another of Avangate's smoke-and-mirrors moves. Such strategies allow Avangate to remain in good standing with the BBB (customer complaints "quickly" resolved -- but only after you contact the BBB) and the credit card companies (refund issued -- but only after you dispute the charge) -- another example of how Avangate deceives and entraps those who want to deal in good faith. Who likes doing business with any company which views its customers as prey?
tylertony Send email
 
Sep 30, 2016

Automatic renewal

I also was shocked to find that a renewal fee had been taken from my bank account when I did not ask for the programme. hen I complain I was told that I had signed up for Automatic Renewal. This I do not recall, it certainly was not made clear to me at the time of the original order. I will certainly not deal with Avangate nor Bitdefender again and suggest everyone contemplating a purchase from either company, it should be no-no.
christiansteiner Send email
 
Sep 20, 2016

A Slippery Bunch!

Last year I purchased from East Tech a security bundle of software with an annual licence of $49.95. The purchase was made through Avangate with an auto annual renewal. Today I received email from Avangate telling me my credit card had been charged with the equivalent of $117 for a 12 months renewal - despite the current price advertised on East-Tec website as being $49.95.

I have asked them to provide me with a full refund and I shall never deal again with either Avangate or East-Tec.

I was told the refund would take at least 5 days.

Avangate are best to be avoided at all costs. A real slippery bunch indeed!
AVANTGATE R SCAMMERS Send email
 
Sep 15, 2016

Unhelpful and scammers

Purchased bitdefender IS from this company last year and when it was time to renew, I renewed my subscription. They gave me the same code they gave me last year, I called customer support and they told me that they could not help, Customer service was rude and refused to help at all. DO NOT TRUST.
mobistealth Send email
 
Jul 16, 2016

Closed My Account

Totally WTF game. Avangate has closed my account and my company is freeze or you can say ruined due to avangate. I have to quite my business, transactions and each and everything. I mean I can't express what happened to me because of this payment method avangate shit. It looks like I am dead now.
jamcrky Send email
 
Jul 10, 2016

over charged

This seems to fit a pattern from what I read so far, and my situation is the same.....I re-newed my Bitdefender for $39.99 through PayPal and the next thing I see is a 2nd charge for $31.99 on my account......I asked what the hell is this and wanted a refund. Their response was that they sent Bitdefender a request for me for a refund, and they would send the refund. It's been only 5 days and still waiting for a response from Bitdefender, if not will be on the phone to Bitdefender next week.

This is BS and out right fraud based on what I have read about this company
JG999 Send email
 
Jul 4, 2016

Unauthorized charges

Took money out of my account unauthorized and won't refund it.
Charged me AU $140 for subscription renewal when I never agreed to one. Kept my account details without authorisation and now won't refund my money.
The worst!!!
jwd Send email
 
Jun 6, 2016

Avangate charge

So I just spent an hour on the phone trying to figure out what the erroneous charge on my Paypal account was after purchasing Bitdefender through Avangate. Even though Avangate is headquartered in the USA, an exchange rate FEE was deducted from my Paypal account by Avangate...because apparently the charge was from overseas!

Avoiding Avangate from now on!
Qwertyyy Send email
 
Apr 9, 2016

Bitdefender won't refund you

I saw a charge for $59.95 on my credit card, and I did not authorize this. I called Bitdefender on Sunday and asked for a full refund because I don't have a computer anymore. The rep said I will have a colleague email you. I didn't trust this so I emailed Bitdefender support and asked for a full refund because I don't have a computer. I was offered a discount and to only pay $29.97. I called again and the rep could not help further except to say I will refer you to my colleague who will enail you. He opened a 2nd ticket. I emailed again to follow up and explain that I require a full refund because I do not own a computer anymore. I then received a reply with an offer of only paying $19.95 when Bitdefender had already charged me for $59.95.

It has been 5 days since my initial request for a full refund. The phone reps cannot help. The support email reps are trained to try to refund less than the full charged amount if they can get away with it.

Every email alert up to this event was in spam. I have not updated Bitdefender as I cannot without a PC and I am still not being given a full refund.

Every email I receive which offers me a discount on keeping Bitdefender is a template, see my email and the response:

Hi,

Can I please get my full refund?

On Apr 5, 2016 06:10, "Bitdefender Support Center" <bdsupport@bitdefender.com> wrote:

Dear,

Thank you for contacting us with regard to this pressing matter. I realize that you have been greatly inconvenienced by this situation. Please accept my sincere apologies.

I have taken note of your refund request and I would first like to offer my assistance in this process.

Please note that the auto-renewal option is designed to help you by offering a continuous protection, without interruption. It also saves you the time of physically renewing every year. Indeed, it is processed for the full price of the product, since it is an automatic process, which does not take into account discount coupons/ promotional offers.

Your subscription was placed as an automatic renewal because this option was enabled when you first purchased the product from http://www.bitdefender.com website. Avangate (our online partner vendor) notified you via email regarding this process, some 5 days prior to the renewal; the email also provided you an option to disable this feature.

Your license key - renewed due to the fact that the option was not disabled.

On the other hand, to compensate for any inconvenience and also to keep you as our faithful customer, I could refund you 50% of the sum paid for the automatic renewal process. This way you will save 29.97 CAD.

please let me know if you accept the offer.

See my 2nd reply and theirs:

Hi, I just called again and the person who took my call didn't seem to understand my request, he just made a new ticket 201604062201002. I want a full refund, not a partial refund. I don't have a computer. I have no need for this. I feel that the below message was a copy and paste script.

I don't want to have to dispute this with my credit card company. Please let me know if you can give me a full refund. It an evident that I have not installed or updated anything on this license for a long time.

Bitdefender:

Thank you for contacting us in regards to this matter and please accept our apologies for the delay in our answer.

Your refund request has been acknowledged, however please note that the Auto-Renewal option is designed to help you by offering a continuous protection, without interruption. It also saves you the time of physically renewing every year. Please note that this order was placed as an automatic renewal because this option was enabled during your first purchase from http://www.bitdefender.com website.

Also, you have been notified via email regarding this process, 7 days prior to the renewal; the email provided you an option to disable this feature, by logging in to your Avangate account - https://secure.avangate.com/myaccount/

We now offer you the opportunity to keep your auto-renewal benefits along with a special 19.95 CAD discount from Bitdefender! The discount will be applied directly to the 59.95 CAD you paid for the renewal of Bitdefender Antivirus Plus 2015 license key and will be refunded back to your account in a few working days if you accept the offer.

please let us know if you would like to proceed with the offer or if you just need some further details.



I am still waiting for a refund.
SRBass Send email
 
Mar 31, 2016

Avangate - IObit

I agree with everyone about Avangate and IObit. They should be avoided at all cost. They say they will refund your money but have no intention of doing so. They are very unprofessional and disreputable. Avangate says they handle the billing and finance, but when you ask them to refund your money, they say you have to talk to IObit... LOL..WHAT A JOKE. ... It is the ole pass the buck trick. I have tried for weeks to get back a refund for a purchase which they tricked me into buying. They send you notices of ;your product expiring, when in fact it isn't but they trick you into buying the product even thought it is still valid. They should be avoided, believe me. I paid with PayPal and it says it right on my receipt, but they are so messed up they are trying to say I used my AMEX card, which I don't even own an American Express Card. Avoid the headache and misery folks.
Carl Bryan Send email
 
Mar 30, 2016

Never purchased iolo system mechanic

Please refund the amount of $32.05 charged to our Chase credit card to us immediately!!! We did not purchase or authorize automatic renewal of iolo system mechanic! This is fraud and we will contact the attorney general if not refunded within 10 days!

Carl Bryan
8968 Marchbank Ln
Lewis Center, OH 43035

We expect confirmation that you have received this email and are proceeding with rectifying this situation immediately.
Please respond via email crbslb379@yahoo.com
billmess Send email
 
Mar 1, 2016

unauthorized withdraw

the same was done to me,i had a surprise withdraw of 66.37 ,the day after i made a call to them,i tried it and resolve my computer issues and ignored the time to renew message appearing on my screen,.,i,m having no success in contacting them once again.. these people are obviously truely scammers of the worst when they withdraw without my authorization,,any other time another company would try this on me ,i,de have my money returned in 3 days ,but its been 12 now.. there are in business to scam the innocent and t make make people miserable and should be stopped!
billmess Send email
 
Mar 1, 2016

unauthorized withdraw

the same was done to me,i had a surprise withdraw of 66.37 ,the day after i made a call to them,i tried it and resolve my computer issues and ignored the time to renew message appearing on my screen,.,i,m having no success in contacting them once again.. these people are obviously definitely scammers of the worst when they withdraw without my authorization,,any other time another company would try this on me ,i,d0 have my money returned in 3 days ,but its been 12 now.. there are in business to scam the innocent and t make make people miserable and should be stopped!
billmess Send email
 
Mar 1, 2016

refund

the same was done to me,i had a surprise withdraw of 66.37 ,the day after i made a call to them,i tried it and resolve my computer issues and ignored the time to renew message appearing on my screen,.,i,m having no success in contacting them once again.. these people are obviously truely scammers of the worst when they withdraw without my authorization,,any other time another company would try this on me ,i,de have my money returned in 3 days ,but its been 12 now.. there are in business to scam the innocent and t make make people miserable and should be stopped!
rboelen Send email
 
Jan 16, 2016

Avangate auto renewal

I upgraded my Bitdefender Internet Security 2015 to Total Security 2016 for 3 PC's early Dec 2015. Avangate then proceeded to auto-renew my previous installation (which was no longer current) and charged me an extra AUD 138.26 for the privilege! I have disputed the (unauthorised) transaction with Paypal. There has been no response from Avangate in 9 days now.

Apart from the underhand method of auto-renewing - you need to opt out, NOT opt in - this indicates a lack of both professionalism and competence. I will not be in any way renewing Bitdefender following expiry of my current software.
geoffrosenhain Send email
 
Dec 31, 2015

avangate tweakbit

I had $112.97 taken out of my account on 10/11/2015 which I never agreed to, as I only live at home by myself, and sent you an email telling you to stop and cancel what ever you thought I wanted, because all I want is for you to credit my account with $112.97. I don't even have any software on my pc, so please confirm this email.
I did not know until I received my 3 month statement from my bank, but it's money taken from me by mistake, I hope so, and at the moment give you the benefit of doubt, but time will tell.
I have tried to contact you with all my details but it won't go through. Thanks Geoff.
mockycarrie@yahoo.com Send email
 
Dec 11, 2015

Froze my computer then charged me

I hate to admit that I was scammed but I just had my computer fixed and I thought it was my tech support from HP; I was very tired and ill at the time so I thought they were on the up and up. However after agreeing to purchase anti virus as I didn't want windows and was going to order anti virus Kaspersky and they said theirs was better; I have to admit I thought this was legit as it was a well spoken man who stated he was in West Palm Beach Fl and he seemed kind. He already seemed to be in my computer as he took control without me changing the controls which I had to do when I had a friend who was a highly trained computer person so I had no idea he was already in my computer however looking back I didn't give him permission. Unfortunately he told me that he could install a good antivirus program and quote twenty eight dollars. I just had a new wireless printer and since I was in another room I didn't see the cost till after the phone call. I then found out he charged me 474.75 and then I knew it was a scam. I remember that he said he was from microsoft and he quoted a company called virus defender. I noticed that there was no anti virus put on my computer and I still had windows defender which came with the computer. I have to admit before the exchange with this company "national Support Services" and Avangate was on the bill and I had very simple receipt from stating the price. I then realized I had been scammed and called my credit card company and asked for a new card. I then found this man had done a history and search of all the known credit cards that I could possibly. I have had a struggle as they put their names on my computer constantly and I remove them. I also have them removed from my controls but they have a way of hacking in and they give themselves permission to go into my computer...one way was saying I approved of guest browsing and another was giving them control/permission to go into my computer. I have had to remove them constantly. I spoke with the credit card company as well as US Bank. Since I the charges reversed and knew they would be renegotiating with my credit card and bank I wanted to know what I was up against. I then googled them and found out they had quite a set up stating they are microsoft affiliates and a very clean set up stating how American they were. The girl who called me and for the first time I spoke to since I knew they were crooked I went ahead to see who they were and she would not give me her last name. She also seemed educated and quite confident; she said they were all Americans therefore were not crooks. I then saw their their site on computer under avangate and national support services stated that with a large American flag to let older Americans and unfortunately people who think that Americans cannot scam. She also would not give me the address of her office saying they people with guns could come and shoot them and for security reasons they are not allowed to give out their names or addresses. However the curious part is there is an address listed with avangate and obviously they are getting paid for credit cards and banks. This outfit is very slick as if they are selling products that are overpriced it's legal but they didn't not sell me anything as I did not received any products. In addition they had no permission to go into my computer and change the settings after this happened which they did on a regular basis. They also have no right to enter my computer as well as call me many times using several different phone numbers. I am not sure what they wanted but I do know they wanted to gain further entrance into my life and finances since they did a history of credit cards that I was able to find and tried to delete the damage. I have to pay now for credit cards to be safe and called credit bureaus to make sure no further charges are put on my credit cards. I had to cancel and get a new card and hopefully they will leave me alone but I have my doubts. The girl who I spoke to from National Support Services I did take their phone number and she did email me a credit. I found it in my e mail and it was funny as I didn't give them my email address. They still had access to my computer. I had only let them print up the bill back on Nov 19th but I didn't give them my address as it wasn't necessary. I do know this girl spoke as she thought this company was legit; I asked her in what world did anti virus program cost $474,00 and she said well Best Buy charges you two fifty to repair computers. I said this was a new computer which had worked fine except for the hacking into my computer. That is when she did state she would refund my money; strangely I never told her I had my charges reversed and she never mentioned that as well. She didn't ask me for my credit card as she would of had to if they followed what normal business practice is as they are not supposed to keep your number on file I don't think but I do know this was one of the strangest encounter as their site does not in any way reflect what one would expect.. they obviously are well organized and have the support of people in the business world with their ultra patriotic stance . This girl as well told me if she were to tell me where they were located people with guns could come and kill them all. I then wondered if she knew how this company was operating or if she was stable. Of course as I stated she would not give me her name for her own "security" but she was able to get complete access of my identity from my computer. I don't think she could comprehend the irony of that.
I can see that this should be very important to the FCC as well as crime in our country. I am sure they prey on the elderly as well as interfere in the privacy of our citizens. I would hope that Microsoft would make them take off the information that they are microsoft certified making this outfit credible. As well the banks and credit people will not protect you if you do get overcharged for anything I was told. If there only way is to gain access is to hack into people's computer and put malware on them or even just deceive them into thinking their computer is not operating correctly I would think this would be a scam and not legal. It would be like a repairman fixes your hot water heater after damaging it or turning the controls and making the people think it needed fixing for safety reasons. I can see it's very hard for the system to go after this kind of theft and it makes low income and the elderly an easy target for abuse.
I hope that further investigation be done on this so clever web page of Avangate and National Support Services. I did note they had complicated information listed I am not sure most people have any idea of what it means. I will have it investigated by those that are very bright and worked for google so I can find out perhaps how they are operating.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Award Notification Commission - Recieved Letter
    Recieved the letter. Please add me to the lawsuit....
    Choice Home Warranty - Choice Home Warranty
    My AC went out. I filed a claim and a technician came to...
    PAYTM - refund....ll
    Dear Sir / Madam, Thank you very much for the support...
    KTM Komuter - Train inconvenient
    Train system is so bad! Not reaching on the estimated...
    Apria HealthCare - delay the say no delivery you need to buy on your own
    I was new to apria and their words sounded good. We went...
    GKR Karate - Disgusted in GKR
    This is the biggest bunch of b.s I have come across I was...
    Diamond Resorts International - Diamond International Resort Points
    Same as other buyers, I purchased the point from DRI under...
    Singtel - charges on roaming call
    I am working onboard a ship for the last 30 years and has...
    Eskom - Very bad service
    On the 25 of June 2017 I went to police station to open...
    Commissioner of Judging Processing Division - Award winner
    Such a scam sending certified letters please add to...

    Share this site with others

         
          

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Award Notification Commission - Recieved Letter
    Recieved the letter. Please add me to the lawsuit....
    Choice Home Warranty - Choice Home Warranty
    My AC went out. I filed a claim and a technician came to...
    PAYTM - refund....ll
    Dear Sir / Madam, Thank you very much for the support...
    KTM Komuter - Train inconvenient
    Train system is so bad! Not reaching on the estimated...
    Apria HealthCare - delay the say no delivery you need to buy on your own
    I was new to apria and their words sounded good. We went...
    GKR Karate - Disgusted in GKR
    This is the biggest bunch of b.s I have come across I was...
    Diamond Resorts International - Diamond International Resort Points
    Same as other buyers, I purchased the point from DRI under...
    Singtel - charges on roaming call
    I am working onboard a ship for the last 30 years and has...
    Eskom - Very bad service
    On the 25 of June 2017 I went to police station to open...
    Commissioner of Judging Processing Division - Award winner
    Such a scam sending certified letters please add to...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username