Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

avangate.com

Netherlands

Consumer complaints and reviews about avangate.com

redtears9 Send email
 
Oct 8, 2017

avangate

They just fraudulently charged my bank account and I never heard of them before ordered no services for any software
axemandan Send email
 
Sep 29, 2017

Avangate Auto-Renewal for Bitdefender

After reading all these complaints, I see I am not alone in my recent experience with this felonious company.
My software purchase was from Bitdefender, (through Avangate of course).
I was not asked to sign up for the Auto Renewal plan, nor did I request to be, but I was none-the-less auto-Magically signed up.
I was notified that my personal preferences account was set up to auto deliver and auto Bill for the next year's software upgrade.
So I went in to my personal preferences and changed the auto-renewal setting to 'Disabled'. Then I was billed anyway. Here's my tale of woe....
1) I sent them this email to Avangate...

Sep 25, 16:41 EEST

I DID NOT AUTHORIZE YOU TO BILL MY ACCOUNT!
I DID NOT AUTHORIZE YOU TO AUTOMATICALLY UPGRADE MY ANTI VIRUS SOFTWARE!
I TRIED NUMEROUS TIMES TO TURN YOUR CRAP OFF, BUT YOUR ACCOUNT SOFTWARE SEEMS TO DISFUNCTION FOR THAT PROCESS.
IMAGINE THAT...
I HAVE FILED AN ILLEGAL TRANSACTION TICKET AT PAYPAL FOR YOUR FELONIOUS ACTIVITY.
AND... BY THE WAY...
I WILL NEVER PURCHASE YOUR SOFTWARE AGAIN.
BIT DEFENDER PROMISES TO PROTECT MY COMPUTER, BUT FAILS TO PROTECT MY PERSONAL SECURITY BY LETTING YOU PROCESS THEIR SALES ACTIVITIES.

YOUR COMPANY SUCKS!
HAVE A NICE DAY!

2) They responded...
We have received your ticket (number 1485940) our support staff is currently reviewing it.

Avangate manages the eStore for various Software/SaaS companies. If you need support with a purchased product, please contact the owner (vendor) of the product. The contact details can be found either on their website, or by accessing your Avangate myAccount available at:

https://secure.avangate.com/myaccount/

Avangate myAccount also allows you to:
- retrieve your license code/registration information
- request a refund
- renew your service;
- stop the automatic renewal of your service/subscription
- download the invoices for your orders
- edit your personal data (billing information, credit cards);

To add additional comments or to update your request, just reply to this email or click the link below:
https://support.avangate.com/hc/requests/1485940

3) I received this email from Bitdefender...
Hello,
My name is David and I am reaching you on behalf of Bitdefender, from the Retention and Loyalty Department. I've picked up your refund request today and I'll do my very best to help you with your query.

Your order was auto-renewed, as this feature was enabled since your initial purchase. We strive to deliver the best service and with this feature we want to make sure that your devices and data remain protected against latest threats and that is why your subscription was prolonged.

We would really like to keep as our valuable customer, so what would you think of a 2 year extension to the validity of your product, so that you will have a total of 3 years of Bitdefender protection?
OR
If you don’t want to pay in advance for your protection, we could simply apply a 50 USD discount to the automatic renewal charge, so you will only pay 39.95 USD for 1 year of protection.

Before taking your decision, I think you might be interested in knowing that the latest tests and reviews reconfirmed Bitdefender as the #1 security technology.

Your private information, your credit card credentials or family pictures deserve being protected by nothing less than the best security protection!

Please pop us an email back confirming if you would like to accept our offer and continue using Bitdefender.

I hope to hear from you soon so I can sort this out for you. If you have any further questions, please let me know – I’ll be happy to help.

Best Regards,
David JITARIU
Retention & Loyalty Specialist

4) I responded...
David,
I appreciate your kind offer, but there is a bigger issue here.
The Avangate Personal Preferences page either is NOT Functioning properly, OR, they deliberately configure their website to periodically ALTER/CHANGE the customer preference for Auto-Renewal.

I logged into my Personal Preferences page TWICE to verify the auto-renewal setting, only to find it was turned ON. I then Disabled it, Saved my change, logged out, logged back in again to verify my change was saved. AND IT WAS SAVED.

Then after some time had passed, I received an email from Avangate notifying me of my anti virus software expiration date, and not to worry, because it would auto renew.

SO...

I went back in to my Personal Preferences AGAIN, and went through the same process to DISABLE the auto Renewal setting.

NOW, I am being billed...

Since this unexpected billing, I have gone in to my Personal Preferences page just to see what the status is. I am seeing that my LAST purchase info has been reduced to a single line stating COMPLETED. However, for this new billing, I see that the setting for Auto-renewal is set to DISABLED. SO... Again, I am only surmising that my previous settings for last year's purchase were copied over onto this latest record.
(If they thought last year's purchase was set to Auto renewal, why then wouldn't the Newest record ALSO be set the Same Way?)

To ME, this is all a bunch of dubious skulduggery.

I believe someone of Major Authority at Bitdefender should discuss this with the individual(s) in charge at Avangate.

And, just for the record, I am not some dummy that doesn't understand website and software development. That just happens to be my lifetime activity. I've been doing just that for over 25 years.

This is why I believe 'for this situation to have taken place', is not just an honest mistake.

NOW...

IF... After you have read this diatribe, and still wish to make the offer you have emailed, let me know what you think. I am curious to see if any of what I have said makes sense to you or anyone else there at Bitdefender.

Thanks for you time.
Most Sincerely,

5) (Since they did not reply, I sent them this email)...
David,
Since I have not heard from you in reply to my email yesterday, I have decided to NOT ACCEPT either/any offer from your company.
I wish a complete REFUND!
YOU, Bitfender, & Avangate can go scratch.
So I'll be waiting to see if you all can get THIS right.
Most sincerely,

6) I filed a complaint with Paypal. They settled my complaint in favor or Avangate.

7) My reply to Paypal...
Status of a disputed payment
9/28/17 at 7:58 PM

Since you have found in favor of Avangate, what am I supposed to do NEXT YEAR when they bill me again? ....
Since you have given them the right to do so without authorization.
Don't you see/realize what you've done?
-----------------------------
Now, my advice to anyone presented with a situation requiring the necessity to deal with Avangate...
DON"T DO IT!
Then handle their business dealings with Most Disregard for their Customers.
They obviously have no Christian or Moral ethics...
evan1138 Send email
 
Jun 14, 2017

No Problem actually over 10 yrs 2500 USD

I've had zero problems in 2008 and now 2017 with avangate for a pricey products from Caphyon.com totalling 2500 USD. Caphyon uses uses avangate as their designated reseller. Possibly the lack of problems is because there is no recurring option for the software I buy. Or not.

Go figure.
jojohn Send email
 
Apr 24, 2017

Fradulant Charge to Visa Card

This company Avangate.com has charged my Visa account two years running for AUD$29.95 without my authorisation. I have emailed the company to challenge these charges but they have just refused to answer. The New Zealand phone number they list on their website is non existant. It appears this is just a shell company hacking peoples Visa cards for fraudulent fees. I have never requested any services or received any services from this company. Beware, steer clear of Avantgate.com. They are fraudsters!
jojohn Send email
 
Apr 24, 2017

Fradulant Charge to Visa Card

Avantgate.com is just a ripoff company. They have charged me AUD$29.95 two years running without my permission. I have emailed them to sort it out but they just dont reply and the New Zealand phone number on their Web page doesnt exist. Do not have any dealings with this company as it just appears thay are a shell company that hacks peoples Visa details and rips them off without supplying any service for the charge. Steer clear of Avangate.com

John Lambert
New Zealand
Nik Novo Send email
 
Apr 9, 2017

Stealing money: 80 lvl

I found out that for almost two years, avangate stealing money from my account. Without any notifications or emails.
Initially, I canceled all auto-subscriptions (and several times in several services), sent them messages about it, but I could not even find out where and what service was carrying off the write-off data.

In total, the system has stolen almost 300 dollars in two years.
In general, it is not possible to find out the name of the service, nor the working conditions are signed from me, nor for which money was withdrawn. There is not even a notice of any subscription!
Obviously, no services were provided.
Therefore, I reasonably demand a refund: there was not a single service I received for this money
MHarris Send email
 
Mar 20, 2017

Double now Triple charges

In November, 2016, Avangate improperly charged my card twice. It took a month for them to fix.
March, 2017 they are improperly attempting to charged a prior card they had on file 3 times the amount I already paid on a different card and charging me an additional amount on that 2nd card for an item I did not purchase!

Solution: Do not buy from them and give them your credit card #.
They are NOT PCI compliant in that they are storing your credit card numbers and is NOT to be trusted.
jack c reilly Send email
 
Jan 23, 2017

j7reilly@gmail.com

You Cheated Me On Nov 25 2016
INVOICE NO# 2016-11-25 22:33:53 order id 54953508 for 35.99 USD

also invoice date 2016-11-25 22:39:02 order id 54858204 for 31>99 USD

WHY TWO CHARGERS and you only gave me seventy five days of coverage

I HAVE BEEN USING BIT DEFENDER FOR YEARS WITH FULL YEAR COVERAGE, WHY CHEAT ME NOW !!!

JACK REILLY j7reillyQgmail.com

today date Jan. 21 2017
Ac1990 Send email
 
Dec 24, 2016

Unauthorised charges AVANGATE/bitdefender

A year ago i purchased some internet security for roughly 30 dollars. Well a year later 122 dollars comes out of my account when i never signed up for automatic renewal. Will never deal with this company again.
Kevin K Send email
 
Nov 28, 2016

Illegal charges to my credit card by Bitdefender/Avangate

OMG. AVOID Bitdefender/Avangate. They take money from your credit card without your approval. I am now trying to get back the money that they took from me. I am certain that this will be a very tough thing to do. I did NOT renew but they charged me anyway for the software that I did not receive.

STAY AWAY FROM THEM!
NancyMarkon Send email
 
Oct 16, 2016

Avangate/BitDefender

BUYER BEWARE-- AVOID AVENGATE LIKE THE PLAGUE

I'm reviewing from the perspective of a software license purchaser, not as a business using Avangate to market products and services. If only ZERO stars were an option or, better yet, negative stars!

Given Avangate's use of stealth tactics and passive resistance in their interactions with software purchasers, I have no doubt that "retention rates" for software vendors using this company would skyrocket, initially anyway. Customers simply don't know they're dealing with Avangate until it's too late -- you have an unwanted "subscription" or software license renewal which you can't cancel without jumping through hoops and enduring a lot of hassle.

Communicating with Avangate's customer "service" team via email and phone are equally ineffective. They nicely tell you they'll help, and then do absolutely nothing to produce results. As I see it, these stall tactics create cash flow benefits to them and the businesses they represent -- they retain control of funds that should rightfully be in the accounts of their hijacked customers or the customers' credit card companies.

Avangate's version of customer service has cost BitDefender my business forever, even though I've been happily using their anti-virus software on multiple PC's for over 10 years. Not only that, but I will not patronize any business which has Avangate market their products or handle licensing and billing for them. That I'm willing to find a replacement for anti-viral software which has served me well over the years should underscore how powerfully negative an experience I had.

1) Avangate uses misleading practices when communicating about software license renewals -- sending out emails under the vendor's name to market the software at discounted prices without any mention of automatic license renewal, but then, for communications about automatic license renewal, switching to the Avangate name which the customer probably won't recognize as a company with whom they've done business. This is how Avangate locks you in. I doubt they're doing anything illegal, but their tactics are unethical, in my view.

2) Avangate emails say you can go to their website, create an account, and then click on "myAccount" to turn off the automatic renewal feature and request a refund. Not exactly true. There is no option (as of 04/23/16) on their site for requesting a refund. That trail leads to "Didn't find what you were looking for? Contact us" which puts you in an endless loop of emails about how they are reviewing your request for a refund, that BitDefeneder (or whatever vendor may be involved) will be contacted about your refund request, that "details" on the refund process will be forthcoming via email, etc. It never happens unless . . .

3) After 10 days of getting the runaround from Avangate, I had no option but to file a complaint with the BBB and dispute the charge via my credit card company. Shock of shocks! I had a refund NOTICE within hours. I've yet to determine if this is an actual refund, or if it's just another of Avangate's smoke-and-mirrors moves. Such strategies allow Avangate to remain in good standing with the BBB (customer complaints "quickly" resolved -- but only after you contact the BBB) and the credit card companies (refund issued -- but only after you dispute the charge) -- another example of how Avangate deceives and entraps those who want to deal in good faith. Who likes doing business with any company which views its customers as prey?
tylertony Send email
 
Sep 30, 2016

Automatic renewal

I also was shocked to find that a renewal fee had been taken from my bank account when I did not ask for the programme. hen I complain I was told that I had signed up for Automatic Renewal. This I do not recall, it certainly was not made clear to me at the time of the original order. I will certainly not deal with Avangate nor Bitdefender again and suggest everyone contemplating a purchase from either company, it should be no-no.
christiansteiner Send email
 
Sep 20, 2016

A Slippery Bunch!

Last year I purchased from East Tech a security bundle of software with an annual licence of $49.95. The purchase was made through Avangate with an auto annual renewal. Today I received email from Avangate telling me my credit card had been charged with the equivalent of $117 for a 12 months renewal - despite the current price advertised on East-Tec website as being $49.95.

I have asked them to provide me with a full refund and I shall never deal again with either Avangate or East-Tec.

I was told the refund would take at least 5 days.

Avangate are best to be avoided at all costs. A real slippery bunch indeed!
AVANTGATE R SCAMMERS Send email
 
Sep 15, 2016

Unhelpful and scammers

Purchased bitdefender IS from this company last year and when it was time to renew, I renewed my subscription. They gave me the same code they gave me last year, I called customer support and they told me that they could not help, Customer service was rude and refused to help at all. DO NOT TRUST.
mobistealth Send email
 
Jul 16, 2016

Closed My Account

Totally WTF game. Avangate has closed my account and my company is freeze or you can say ruined due to avangate. I have to quite my business, transactions and each and everything. I mean I can't express what happened to me because of this payment method avangate shit. It looks like I am dead now.
jamcrky Send email
 
Jul 10, 2016

over charged

This seems to fit a pattern from what I read so far, and my situation is the same.....I re-newed my Bitdefender for $39.99 through PayPal and the next thing I see is a 2nd charge for $31.99 on my account......I asked what the hell is this and wanted a refund. Their response was that they sent Bitdefender a request for me for a refund, and they would send the refund. It's been only 5 days and still waiting for a response from Bitdefender, if not will be on the phone to Bitdefender next week.

This is BS and out right fraud based on what I have read about this company
JG999 Send email
 
Jul 4, 2016

Unauthorized charges

Took money out of my account unauthorized and won't refund it.
Charged me AU $140 for subscription renewal when I never agreed to one. Kept my account details without authorisation and now won't refund my money.
The worst!!!
jwd Send email
 
Jun 6, 2016

Avangate charge

So I just spent an hour on the phone trying to figure out what the erroneous charge on my Paypal account was after purchasing Bitdefender through Avangate. Even though Avangate is headquartered in the USA, an exchange rate FEE was deducted from my Paypal account by Avangate...because apparently the charge was from overseas!

Avoiding Avangate from now on!
Qwertyyy Send email
 
Apr 9, 2016

Bitdefender won't refund you

I saw a charge for $59.95 on my credit card, and I did not authorize this. I called Bitdefender on Sunday and asked for a full refund because I don't have a computer anymore. The rep said I will have a colleague email you. I didn't trust this so I emailed Bitdefender support and asked for a full refund because I don't have a computer. I was offered a discount and to only pay $29.97. I called again and the rep could not help further except to say I will refer you to my colleague who will enail you. He opened a 2nd ticket. I emailed again to follow up and explain that I require a full refund because I do not own a computer anymore. I then received a reply with an offer of only paying $19.95 when Bitdefender had already charged me for $59.95.

It has been 5 days since my initial request for a full refund. The phone reps cannot help. The support email reps are trained to try to refund less than the full charged amount if they can get away with it.

Every email alert up to this event was in spam. I have not updated Bitdefender as I cannot without a PC and I am still not being given a full refund.

Every email I receive which offers me a discount on keeping Bitdefender is a template, see my email and the response:

Hi,

Can I please get my full refund?

On Apr 5, 2016 06:10, "Bitdefender Support Center" <bdsupport@bitdefender.com> wrote:

Dear,

Thank you for contacting us with regard to this pressing matter. I realize that you have been greatly inconvenienced by this situation. Please accept my sincere apologies.

I have taken note of your refund request and I would first like to offer my assistance in this process.

Please note that the auto-renewal option is designed to help you by offering a continuous protection, without interruption. It also saves you the time of physically renewing every year. Indeed, it is processed for the full price of the product, since it is an automatic process, which does not take into account discount coupons/ promotional offers.

Your subscription was placed as an automatic renewal because this option was enabled when you first purchased the product from http://www.bitdefender.com website. Avangate (our online partner vendor) notified you via email regarding this process, some 5 days prior to the renewal; the email also provided you an option to disable this feature.

Your license key - renewed due to the fact that the option was not disabled.

On the other hand, to compensate for any inconvenience and also to keep you as our faithful customer, I could refund you 50% of the sum paid for the automatic renewal process. This way you will save 29.97 CAD.

please let me know if you accept the offer.

See my 2nd reply and theirs:

Hi, I just called again and the person who took my call didn't seem to understand my request, he just made a new ticket 201604062201002. I want a full refund, not a partial refund. I don't have a computer. I have no need for this. I feel that the below message was a copy and paste script.

I don't want to have to dispute this with my credit card company. Please let me know if you can give me a full refund. It an evident that I have not installed or updated anything on this license for a long time.

Bitdefender:

Thank you for contacting us in regards to this matter and please accept our apologies for the delay in our answer.

Your refund request has been acknowledged, however please note that the Auto-Renewal option is designed to help you by offering a continuous protection, without interruption. It also saves you the time of physically renewing every year. Please note that this order was placed as an automatic renewal because this option was enabled during your first purchase from http://www.bitdefender.com website.

Also, you have been notified via email regarding this process, 7 days prior to the renewal; the email provided you an option to disable this feature, by logging in to your Avangate account - https://secure.avangate.com/myaccount/

We now offer you the opportunity to keep your auto-renewal benefits along with a special 19.95 CAD discount from Bitdefender! The discount will be applied directly to the 59.95 CAD you paid for the renewal of Bitdefender Antivirus Plus 2015 license key and will be refunded back to your account in a few working days if you accept the offer.

please let us know if you would like to proceed with the offer or if you just need some further details.



I am still waiting for a refund.
SRBass Send email
 
Mar 31, 2016

Avangate - IObit

I agree with everyone about Avangate and IObit. They should be avoided at all cost. They say they will refund your money but have no intention of doing so. They are very unprofessional and disreputable. Avangate says they handle the billing and finance, but when you ask them to refund your money, they say you have to talk to IObit... LOL..WHAT A JOKE. ... It is the ole pass the buck trick. I have tried for weeks to get back a refund for a purchase which they tricked me into buying. They send you notices of ;your product expiring, when in fact it isn't but they trick you into buying the product even thought it is still valid. They should be avoided, believe me. I paid with PayPal and it says it right on my receipt, but they are so messed up they are trying to say I used my AMEX card, which I don't even own an American Express Card. Avoid the headache and misery folks.
Carl Bryan Send email
 
Mar 30, 2016

Never purchased iolo system mechanic

Please refund the amount of $32.05 charged to our Chase credit card to us immediately!!! We did not purchase or authorize automatic renewal of iolo system mechanic! This is fraud and we will contact the attorney general if not refunded within 10 days!

Carl Bryan
8968 Marchbank Ln
Lewis Center, OH 43035

We expect confirmation that you have received this email and are proceeding with rectifying this situation immediately.
Please respond via email crbslb379@yahoo.com
billmess Send email
 
Mar 1, 2016

unauthorized withdraw

the same was done to me,i had a surprise withdraw of 66.37 ,the day after i made a call to them,i tried it and resolve my computer issues and ignored the time to renew message appearing on my screen,.,i,m having no success in contacting them once again.. these people are obviously truely scammers of the worst when they withdraw without my authorization,,any other time another company would try this on me ,i,de have my money returned in 3 days ,but its been 12 now.. there are in business to scam the innocent and t make make people miserable and should be stopped!
billmess Send email
 
Mar 1, 2016

unauthorized withdraw

the same was done to me,i had a surprise withdraw of 66.37 ,the day after i made a call to them,i tried it and resolve my computer issues and ignored the time to renew message appearing on my screen,.,i,m having no success in contacting them once again.. these people are obviously definitely scammers of the worst when they withdraw without my authorization,,any other time another company would try this on me ,i,d0 have my money returned in 3 days ,but its been 12 now.. there are in business to scam the innocent and t make make people miserable and should be stopped!
billmess Send email
 
Mar 1, 2016

refund

the same was done to me,i had a surprise withdraw of 66.37 ,the day after i made a call to them,i tried it and resolve my computer issues and ignored the time to renew message appearing on my screen,.,i,m having no success in contacting them once again.. these people are obviously truely scammers of the worst when they withdraw without my authorization,,any other time another company would try this on me ,i,de have my money returned in 3 days ,but its been 12 now.. there are in business to scam the innocent and t make make people miserable and should be stopped!
rboelen Send email
 
Jan 16, 2016

Avangate auto renewal

I upgraded my Bitdefender Internet Security 2015 to Total Security 2016 for 3 PC's early Dec 2015. Avangate then proceeded to auto-renew my previous installation (which was no longer current) and charged me an extra AUD 138.26 for the privilege! I have disputed the (unauthorised) transaction with Paypal. There has been no response from Avangate in 9 days now.

Apart from the underhand method of auto-renewing - you need to opt out, NOT opt in - this indicates a lack of both professionalism and competence. I will not be in any way renewing Bitdefender following expiry of my current software.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Saltines - Quality complaint
    I am completely obsessed with your premium saltines and...
    Match.com Wmv - Fraud charge
    I was charged 79.92 from match.com for wmv? I have never...
    WINTERHOUSE - ITEM STUCK AT ECBC
    MY ITEM HAS STUCK AT ECBC SINCE 17 JANUARY 2018. UNTIL...
    Mr. Lube - Tire refund not processed
    Hello, On 19th December 2017, I went to Mr. Lube at 520...
    Nabisco - Nabisco Saltine crackers
    It had been maybe decades since I bought the subject...
    Hallmark channel - Political correctness
    Please tell me that Hallmark is not being sucked into the...
    Never. Com18008917846 - Money taking off my card for no reason
    Hi there I have a load and go australia post card and...
    US Pharmacy - Vbnnn
    You dumbasses saying to put yourself on the do not call...
    POS MALAYSIA - Late in update tracking status
    Dear pos, I have receieved a notice to pick up my parcel...
    stc land line - Not internet connection
    No internet connection but we already pay call 900 but i...

    Share this site with others

         
          

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Saltines - Quality complaint
    I am completely obsessed with your premium saltines and...
    Match.com Wmv - Fraud charge
    I was charged 79.92 from match.com for wmv? I have never...
    WINTERHOUSE - ITEM STUCK AT ECBC
    MY ITEM HAS STUCK AT ECBC SINCE 17 JANUARY 2018. UNTIL...
    Mr. Lube - Tire refund not processed
    Hello, On 19th December 2017, I went to Mr. Lube at 520...
    Nabisco - Nabisco Saltine crackers
    It had been maybe decades since I bought the subject...
    Hallmark channel - Political correctness
    Please tell me that Hallmark is not being sucked into the...
    Never. Com18008917846 - Money taking off my card for no reason
    Hi there I have a load and go australia post card and...
    US Pharmacy - Vbnnn
    You dumbasses saying to put yourself on the do not call...
    POS MALAYSIA - Late in update tracking status
    Dear pos, I have receieved a notice to pick up my parcel...
    stc land line - Not internet connection
    No internet connection but we already pay call 900 but i...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username