Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Care.com

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about Care.com

JenGallo7 Send email
 
Jan 30, 2018

Account closed without any warning

I’ve been looking in for a nanny job through care.com for a few weeks. I just paid for premium service! Without any warning—they shut down my account. I have no idea why, and they responded through Twitter and this was their response:

“Hi Jen. I do see that your account has been closed. Pursuant to the http://Care.com Privacy Policy and Terms of Use, http://Care.com is not required to release the specific details as to why an account has been closed. We are unable to accept your membership and this decision is final.”


At the end of the day this just shows a lack of professionalism for a domestic website that cares more about the bottom line than the families and care givers it serves. It offers no real solution or resolution to address the problems with their website. The truth is this is not a website for respectable, household professionals—and that’s why they treat they’re customers like they do.

I will continue to speak out on social media against theses practices and the unprofessionalsim of care.com....the only thing they care about is the bottom line—so everyone should do the same!
JulesKat92 Send email
 
Jan 27, 2018

Wrongful Termination

I had a job interview tonight and Care.com terminated my pad for account without any reasoning, this is my lively hood! I am a college student, in a new state, totally alone and now my income has been taken from me for the first time in my life...I'm physically sick from the stress they have brought me, especially without investigation...what the hell is going on at Care.com?! Also on board for class action law suit against them.
Bolo Send email
 
Dec 26, 2017

Cancelled when desperate

I tough it out as a single dad with two babies, 5 and 14 months by surrogates, and an elderly mom. Mom is healing from a fractured hip. I am sick with a cold and fever. Right when I am overwhelmed they decide to cancel my membership. Why have I been paying this place? All the time that I have been watching my own babies they found it just fine to take my money. The minute I really need some help I am dumped.
Rachel432 Send email
 
Dec 5, 2017

Terminate care.com

Y’all are trash. Deleting people based on supposed “complaints” without any investigation into situation. Your business won’t even be around in 5 years. There’s a Facebook group of 7,000 people who have been wrongfully terminates by care.com and it’s growing every day. Once word gets out it will go under. You don’t mistreat your paying members and employees like that.
Bsnewberry Send email
 
Nov 14, 2017

Termination of acvount

Termmination of my account along with my 18 five star reviews..all my reviews are just gone and so is my account for a reason they won't tell me. I have used this website for 6 years and worked on on getting reviews. I am in for a lawsuit contact me. Bsnewberry50@yahoo.com
Bsnewberry Send email
 
Nov 14, 2017

Term I nation of account

I have been a member on care.com for 6 years and have 18 five star reviews. Care.com just closed my account and will not tell me why. I have paid them for 6 years and I did nothing wrong. I am in for a class action lawsuit. My email bsnewberry50@yahoo.com..contact me if their is a class action lawsuit. My reputation is now at stake and all my hard work in my business along with 18 5-star reviews is just gone..
vintagequeen Send email
 
Oct 31, 2017

Wrongful Termination

I have been on care.com since 2014. I have done 3 background checks between 2014-2016 and passed them all, even receiving emails that "it's time to renew your background check." On October 30th, I was informed via email that I was removed from the site. After contacting them asking why, here is what they sent to me:
"After researching this issue, I found that you previously had an account that was closed due to the results of your background check.

When your account was initially suspended, Sterling Talent Solutions sent you, via e-mail, the results of your background check. We then notified you, via email, of our policy: We allow 90 days to resolve the issue. After the 90 days your account is automatically closed. Unfortunately, the issue was not resolved within the 90 days, and therefore your account has been closed. This account can not be re-opened.

Unfortunately we are unable to accept your membership. This decision is final and irreversible. No exceptions will be made to these terms."
THIS NEVER HAPPENED. My account was never suspended, I passed all background checks, and never received one email from this company except for "please renew your background check" and "here are new jobs in your area."

I wrote back to them:
"I do not know what you are talking about. I never failed a background check through your company, never got an email from Sterling, and never got an email from you. I have received no communications from the agency you mentioned, I have no idea what issue you are referring to. I think you have mistaken me for someone else. If you damage my reputation based on your mistake, I will consider legal action. Please provide more information about this allegation or correct your mistake."

Their response:
"'m sorry for any inconvenience however, we are unable to provide any additional information. Unfortunately, you are not eligible to use the service. This decision is final and irreversible. No exceptions will be made to these terms. We appreciate your understanding in this matter."

I am a medical professional, licensed in all 50 states, and have passed numerous rigorous background checks both in private practice and hospitals. This whole thing is baffling. If there is a class action lawsuit, I would like to be a part of it.

After they remove you as a member, they also send an email to each person you made contact with, telling them you were removed but won't say why. For me, that is smearing my great reputation as a caregiver without just cause.

I am not the first person they have done this to.
dj15 Send email
 
Oct 28, 2017

Wrongful Termination

After having an account for years with Care.Com, I recently tried logging in and was told my email or password was invalid. Knowing this wasn't the case, I attempted emails. Then I tried creating a new account all together, no luck. After many emails sent, I finally received a generic response email, stating that I was terminated due to my background check. I worked on a college campus for 4 years. You have to pass a background and child clearance to do so, as well as teach pre-k sports in my community. I have no background to speak of. This came out of nowhere, but now I am seeing I am not the only one. I'd like to be a part of any action taken against care.com.
Leighanoel Send email
 
Oct 9, 2017

Automatic renewal

I signed up for Care.com and as soon as I found a nanny I closed my profile. I didn't realize that I was still being charged under automatic renewal. It took me 10 months to realize and when I called they took my information to review my account and responded in an email with no help to settle the problem. After another reply from me, they agreed to remove less then one month of charges.

They make it difficult to understand that your account isn't closed and count on this happening. New mothers like myself and elderly looking for care are the ones most likely to be caught in this.

I did not receive one email receipt saying that my card was charged. I was able to call my bank to disputed 120 days of the charges. This is pending.

Leigha
mariazoey Send email
 
Aug 25, 2017

Unauthorized use of my information

I signed up for a care.com account this week. I also paid for a background check. Today I was mystified to receive a message from someone I had never contacted thanking me for applying and saying the position had already been filled. Upon further investigation I saw that messages to several members were in the "sent" section of my message area. I opened them and saw that these members had received my bio as a job application.

I NEVER authorized care.com to apply for jobs on my behalf. Their use of my words, name, and photo for this purpose was unethical and completely unacceptable. I want a refund for the background check and my account closed. I will not do business with a company that uses my information as if they are me without my authorization.
Suzeriley Send email
 
Aug 9, 2017

Account terminated with no explanation

I am supposed to be meeting a new client tomorrow. She paid for a back ground check on me etc. I dont have anything in my back ground that would make me un-employable but now I'm nervous because I've given this site and a client that wanted to hire me personal information. Then I got an email saying I was terminated and they don't have to give me a reason?!! I'm very upset and worried this site might somehow scam me or steal my information
LoriC Send email
 
Aug 3, 2017

Care.com

I completed a profile for Care. com for an R.N. position for which I am very qualified. After approx. a week, I received an email telling me my profile had been deleted because I did not pass the background check. When I tried to find out why, I was unable to get back into the site using my password and they refused to send me a new one. I believe it was a matter of putting down the wrong college but I will never know......Very unethical and unprofessional company!!!
taleea30 Send email
 
Jul 17, 2017

I am sick! I have 3 clients that are getting my termination email

I am so embarrassed and can not for the life of me why! I am being terminated! I call and they sick with the lingo, they are not allowed to give me the information as to why to was "terminated"
I have clients that I have had for years on here and just ridiculous!
If someone is doing a class action LAW SUIT PUT ME IN!!!!
Clearly its not about the KIDS, and CARETAKING!!!!
Mari_dvieira Send email
 
May 25, 2017

I'm trying to cancel for 6 months already!!!

I am trying to cancel my membership for about 6 months already! Last time on the 02/23/17 I went to care.com and putted (no) for auto renew it! Everytime I do the same thing and you guys keep charging my credit card for 3 months!! Do you guys want me to sue the company??
Do me the refund otherwise I will call an lawyer to help me with it,
Customers service is a shit, never answers! I'm on hold for 1hr already!!


My account is petchicpage@hotmail.com
chelswest Send email
 
May 11, 2017

care.com account closed

how long did it take for them to notify everyone?
chelswest Send email
 
May 11, 2017

care.com account closed

How log did it take for you all to be notified? I have been trying to log into my account but it just tells me that the email is invalid or not found, on both the website and app. I am so upset and confused? I was active on it even less than an hour before I could no longer log in. I tried calling the 1-800 number but they are closed for the day. I am so scared that my account has been terminated like all of yours but for the life of me cannot figure out why! Can someone please help me?
gshepp86 Send email
 
Apr 22, 2017

Closed my care.com account

Care.com had closed my account as well. They had told me that I didn't meet the eligible requirements. And I think it had to do with my background check I only had a traffic violation on there from 6 years ago. And I have no points on my license to this day. I am a nursing assistant and do Home Health Care and have been one for several years and I have gone through many background checks and BMV checks and this has never been a problem. Does care.com tell the families that you have applied to on there why they have closed your account?
Sotelodomenique Send email
 
Apr 21, 2017

Not happy

I would like to be apart of this my account has been terminated as well and that is a job I love
To be a Nanny I am so upset
Sotelodomenique Send email
 
Apr 21, 2017

Domenique

I have got kicked of it is a good income for me I would like to be a part of the lawsuits against them.
concerned dad Send email
 
Mar 10, 2017

cancellation of account

care.com emailed me saying per your request we have closed your account. I called and asked who closed my account because I didn't and they have replied saying I am ineligible to use the service. they followed up saying I can no longer be a member, I had another account that was closed for cause and the decision is final and irreversible. I'm kicked out and cannot figure out why. I am a member looking to hire help, not like most of the others that are caregivers complaining about the boot, so its curious. Has anyone figured out what is going on?
kieraruthhh Send email
 
Feb 23, 2017

Account was closed for no reason

I had my care.com account since 2011 or 2012, and just a month ago they decided to close the account for no reason. When I email them, they don't email back. When I call, the customer service rep says theirs nothing they can do, and when I ask for a supervisor they ALL say they don't have anyone to speak to right there and that I'll get a call back. I NEVER get a call back and have called over 5 times requesting a supervisor, also emailed 4 times asking for a supervisor to call me. How is it that there is no one able to fix these issues? Why are they closing peoples accounts for no reason and not contacting back about it? What kind of company doesn't have an available and ready supervisor to hear out a customers concerns? I don't understand it. I had successfully gotten NUMEROUS nanny jobs and pet sitting jobs off of that site, and now because they want to all of a sudden close my account for no reason, I can't use the site anymore to get a job anymore? Not to mention, NO ONE WILL HELP OR EXPLAIN WHY? I'm so livid. How is this company still open? Why're we unable to do anything about this. I spent YEARS, perfecting my profile for nanny seekers, and never had an issue getting a job. It took me forever to build my account and profile! I had reviews from other people and everything I needed to attract nanny seekers. I'm so frustrated and want to know what I can do about this. PLEASE SOMEONE HELP.
Kara Send email
 
Jan 29, 2017

Terminated for reporting my boss to CPS

I was recently terminated from care.com, and I'm livid. The first family I originally worked for was great. They gave me a raise when I was offered another a job, and never complained about my work. I stayed with them until the children were old enough to be on their own, and still visit with them.
I started with a new family last June, and as time went by I realized how abusive the Mom was. Unfortunately, I had to report her to CPS. I lost my job, obviously, and have been kicked off of care.com. I'm being punished for doing the right thing.
This is so wrong!!!
I would love to be part of the lawsuit.
elizabeth37 Send email
 
Jan 28, 2017

care.com

I just tried to log into my account to find that I could not. I checked my email to find out they terminated my account. I am having the exact same response as everyone else. I am a great nanny, I have found all of my the families that I work for on Care.com. I have always given them great praise on how everyone should use them. Now this is how I am treated? Seems like they would at least explain as to why. I am so upset.
azgunslinger Send email
 
Dec 27, 2016

Care.com

I was a care.com member, paid for a subscription so I could submit a paid want ad for services. I posted my ad and I first received notice that my ad was posted and the next notice I received a millisecond later was that my account was revoked. In my ad were the lyrics to the "PERFECT NANNY" from Mary Poppins. In that Disney song are such objectionable lyrics as "must not smell of barley water", "must not have warts" and other childish things. I said in my ad that if you knew where this song comes from, you might be a good fit for our family. I immediately sent them a ticket complaining about this, but after reading this site, I am not too optimistic. I will be reversing the charge for this stupid company if they don't reinstate me. Even if they reinstate me...they're still stupid. I suspect someone who speaks english as a second language and perhaps never heard of Mary Poppins (which should be required viewing for this type of site). I would think this is on them, not me.
DontCare Send email
 
Dec 6, 2016

Account deleted with no reason!

I'm yet another unsuspecting care.com member who has had their account mysteriously deleted for an unknown (if there even is a) reason.
I, like the rest of you, am pissed to say the least! 😡
I have been a care member since 2008, and wanted to offer services. I created a new caregiver account as the site's help pages instructed, and applied to nearby jobs I was interested in. I was excited to check the site earlier today, hoping I'd have a lead or two. I was instead frustrated by not being able to login. I knew something was wrong when I tried to reset my password and the system didn't recognize my email addy. I "put it on the back burner" to continue my day, and only found out that the account was deleted when I checked my email hours later.
I think it's really sad that a site of their size and popularity feels it's okay to throw their members under the bus to make themselves look better.
I hope in the end this practice turns around and somehow bites them in the ass!
Okay, rant over lol. So, what was the other site people are switching to? Sittercity? I offered housekeeping also, is there another site for that anyone knows of?

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Coca Cola - lottery wining
    i got a messages from +94776323350 saying your dialog...
    Mobily - daily deduction 0.15 halala
    Please need your assistance to stop deduction 0.15 halala...
    Zain KSA - zain sim not removed my aqama
    Sir, Zain is the worst service provider firstly they...
    POS MALAYSIA - barang tak sampai
    dari 31/01/2018 in transit to malaysia...sampai hari ni...
    Poslaju - lambat
    barang yang saye pos belum smpai tolong cepat kan pls tu...
    Mc Donald’s - Very very Rude behavior of night manager and staff member
    I stay one block Close to 3855 W Lawrence Ave...
    SNGPL - Problems to Residents Due to SNGPL projects
    Dear Sir; I am a resident of Street# 6/B, Prince Road...
    Pizza hurt danau kota - Pizza over cooked
    Really really very disapointes....the pizza i order over...
    COCA COLA MOBILE DRAW UK - Coca-Cola UK Raffle Awards2018
    Am Frank Warioba 28yrs old I received text inform me that...
    Sono Bello - No results
    I paid in full approximately 7500 cash with the hope that...

    Share this site with others

         
          

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Coca Cola - lottery wining
    i got a messages from +94776323350 saying your dialog...
    Mobily - daily deduction 0.15 halala
    Please need your assistance to stop deduction 0.15 halala...
    Zain KSA - zain sim not removed my aqama
    Sir, Zain is the worst service provider firstly they...
    POS MALAYSIA - barang tak sampai
    dari 31/01/2018 in transit to malaysia...sampai hari ni...
    Poslaju - lambat
    barang yang saye pos belum smpai tolong cepat kan pls tu...
    Mc Donald’s - Very very Rude behavior of night manager and staff member
    I stay one block Close to 3855 W Lawrence Ave...
    SNGPL - Problems to Residents Due to SNGPL projects
    Dear Sir; I am a resident of Street# 6/B, Prince Road...
    Pizza hurt danau kota - Pizza over cooked
    Really really very disapointes....the pizza i order over...
    COCA COLA MOBILE DRAW UK - Coca-Cola UK Raffle Awards2018
    Am Frank Warioba 28yrs old I received text inform me that...
    Sono Bello - No results
    I paid in full approximately 7500 cash with the hope that...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username