Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Care.com

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about Care.com

Howie024m Send email
 
Aug 7, 2018

Closed account with no explanation, this is legal?

Been using the service happily trying out several nannies. Thankfully they closed it after I had already found the right fit. I am a single dad however and was coming to depend on the service. There is nothing else comparable. For them to close without giving a reason or a chance to correct behavior is absurb. I have tried all other childcare service options. If I have to try to find a new nanny now I will be screwed. Calling their customer service has done nothing but get an apology. This is unacceptable for the type of service they are offering and must be illegal or it really needs to be. Livelihoods are at stake here. I know my son and I'm were before I found our nanny through this service.
Leightond Send email
 
Jul 16, 2018

no notice, REALLY

I applied to care.com and I am retired military with a clean background and was going to seek jobs for people that cant get around easy and I got a email that I was terminated. No reason so they say... don't have to tell you. Relly. B.S. I call!!! What a waste since I have read so many complaints this is ridiculous. So many people lose out on both sides.
Vermillion Send email
 
May 18, 2018

Care.com

I'm a middle-aged disabled woman looking for a housecleaner. Care.com "Removed me from the Care.com Community" 2 hours and 52 minutes after I joined. I didn't have a chance to contact anyone. I have no arrests. I had a car-related violation which was DISMISSED. It was not a moving violation. I used my real name, which is uncommon. There may be one other person with my name in the US, and I don't think she is a criminal. Unlike others here I had not paid for a membership.

In the hours before I was "removed from the Care.com community" I had submitted an ad. Care.com made me pick days and times for the "shifts" that I wanted covered, which really doesn't apply to house cleaners. I was surprised that they were that clueless. I picked a range of probable times but explained that was what they were. There was nothing inappropriate in my ad. Nevertheless Care.com emailed that "Your Job Post has not been approved." No reason was given. I was referred to their FAQ's but that link in turn referred me to customer care. Now that I have been "Removed from the community" am I not even allowed to look at the FAQ's with my criminal eyes?

Too bad, because there seems to be a lot of prospects there and they looked better than Craigs List. Not aware of a comparable resource.

In regard to these problems, Care.com's management is low-functioning, high-handed, capricious, and just plain negligent. Lives are in their hands. The stories of hard-working nannies here are particularly heart-breaking.

Care.com

NanP Send email
 
May 7, 2018

Care.com

Terminated without reason and displayed publicly wrong results in my background chech that was confirmed by Sterling who does their background checks.
catherine63 Send email
 
Apr 25, 2018

care.com termination after background check

I was also recently terminated on care.com with no explanation after a background check...I looked at my results for the background check immediately and, as I knew they would be, they were completely clean. I believe it may have been because I use my first and middle name on the site, not just my legal first name, or because of a recent attempt to switch my address so I would show up locally where I go to college rather than at my permanent home address. Regardless I was given no information for the termination and wanted to see what further action I can take. This policy is completely wrong. Is anyone still working on filing a class action lawsuit? Does anyone have more information about how to move forward with holding care.com responsible for this? If you have information, please e-mail me at todayinmiaminews@gmail.com (using a project e-mail as to not put out my private e-mail publicly, my name is Catherine).
alanarosee Send email
 
Mar 28, 2018

Care closed my account for NO REASON!

Ok so I am a babysitter. I had a care.com account for years. Someone requested me to do a background check. I agreed to it. I don’t have anything to hide. I do have two addresses though because my parents are divorced. I also have a motor background check I paid for, which I did a year ago. Anyway like a few hours later I get an email saying they removed my account. For some reason I ignored it. I was a little upset though because I would have to start all over and I had good reviews. Anyway I just created a new account. I was doing really well. I was in the care force pro. I got a lot of good reviews. I paid for a motor background check yesterday. I emailed care to inform them about my two addresses and all to get reassurance that my account will be fine. The care representer restated that everything will be fine and my account won’t be closed. I tried logging on to my care account on the app. I was logged out. Then sure enough I check my email and it said I had been removed. I had it for like two or three weeks. I am wasting my hard earned money on this stupid site. At least give me a refund. This was literally the last straw. I am calling them tomorrow and I am going to seriously yell at them. You know how hard I worked on my care profile to be perfect. I am beyond angry. This company deserves to be sued or something. They are destroying not only my business, but I am sure other people’s too. I don’t even want to use them again, that’s how disgusted I am. Any suggestions on what I should do?
alanarosee Send email
 
Mar 28, 2018

Keeps Closing my accounts for no reason

Ok so I am a babysitter. I had a care.com account for years. Someone requested me to do a background check. I agreed to it. I don’t have anything to hide. I do have two addresses though because my parents are divorced. I also have a motor background check I paid for, which I did a year ago. Anyway like a few hours later I get an email saying they removed my account. For some reason I ignored it. I was a little upset though because I would have to start all over and I had good reviews. Anyway I just created a new account. I was doing really well. I was in the care force pro. I got a lot of good reviews. I paid for a motor background check yesterday. I emailed care to inform them about my two addresses and all to get reassurance that my account will be fine. The care representer restated that everything will be fine and my account won’t be closed. I tried logging on to my care account on the app. I was logged out. Then sure enough I check my email and it said I had been removed. I had it for like two or three weeks. I am wasting my hard earned money on this stupid site. At least give me a refund. This was literally the last straw. I am calling them tomorrow and I am going to seriously yell at them. You know how hard I worked on my care profile to be perfect. I am beyond angry. This company deserves to be sued or something. They are destroying not only my business, but I am sure other people’s too. I don’t even want to use them again, that’s how disgusted I am. Any suggestions on what I should do?
Anonymous55 Send email
 
Mar 4, 2018

Account Terminated without Explanation

I recently had my account terminated by Care.com without any explanation whatsoever. This is extremely disturbing to learn that a company that supposedly prides itself on professionalism does not even have the decency to offer members an explanation on the specific reasons that their account was closed and a way for members to contest such a decision. The company's CEO is Sheila Lirio Marcelo, and I would strongly advise individuals who have had their accounts arbitrarily terminated to complain to this person directly. If she gained any common sense from Harvard, then she will know she needs to change her business practices immediately. At this time, I would never recommend this company to anyone based on their horrific business practices and lack of professionalism.
JenGallo7 Send email
 
Jan 30, 2018

Account closed without any warning

I’ve been looking in for a nanny job through care.com for a few weeks. I just paid for premium service! Without any warning—they shut down my account. I have no idea why, and they responded through Twitter and this was their response:

“Hi Jen. I do see that your account has been closed. Pursuant to the http://Care.com Privacy Policy and Terms of Use, http://Care.com is not required to release the specific details as to why an account has been closed. We are unable to accept your membership and this decision is final.”


At the end of the day this just shows a lack of professionalism for a domestic website that cares more about the bottom line than the families and care givers it serves. It offers no real solution or resolution to address the problems with their website. The truth is this is not a website for respectable, household professionals—and that’s why they treat they’re customers like they do.

I will continue to speak out on social media against theses practices and the unprofessionalsim of care.com....the only thing they care about is the bottom line—so everyone should do the same!
JulesKat92 Send email
 
Jan 27, 2018

Wrongful Termination

I had a job interview tonight and Care.com terminated my pad for account without any reasoning, this is my lively hood! I am a college student, in a new state, totally alone and now my income has been taken from me for the first time in my life...I'm physically sick from the stress they have brought me, especially without investigation...what the hell is going on at Care.com?! Also on board for class action law suit against them.
Bolo Send email
 
Dec 26, 2017

Cancelled when desperate

I tough it out as a single dad with two babies, 5 and 14 months by surrogates, and an elderly mom. Mom is healing from a fractured hip. I am sick with a cold and fever. Right when I am overwhelmed they decide to cancel my membership. Why have I been paying this place? All the time that I have been watching my own babies they found it just fine to take my money. The minute I really need some help I am dumped.
Rachel432 Send email
 
Dec 5, 2017

Terminate care.com

Y’all are trash. Deleting people based on supposed “complaints” without any investigation into situation. Your business won’t even be around in 5 years. There’s a Facebook group of 7,000 people who have been wrongfully terminates by care.com and it’s growing every day. Once word gets out it will go under. You don’t mistreat your paying members and employees like that.
Bsnewberry Send email
 
Nov 14, 2017

Termination of acvount

Termmination of my account along with my 18 five star reviews..all my reviews are just gone and so is my account for a reason they won't tell me. I have used this website for 6 years and worked on on getting reviews. I am in for a lawsuit contact me. Bsnewberry50@yahoo.com
Bsnewberry Send email
 
Nov 14, 2017

Term I nation of account

I have been a member on care.com for 6 years and have 18 five star reviews. Care.com just closed my account and will not tell me why. I have paid them for 6 years and I did nothing wrong. I am in for a class action lawsuit. My email bsnewberry50@yahoo.com..contact me if their is a class action lawsuit. My reputation is now at stake and all my hard work in my business along with 18 5-star reviews is just gone..
vintagequeen Send email
 
Oct 31, 2017

Wrongful Termination

I have been on care.com since 2014. I have done 3 background checks between 2014-2016 and passed them all, even receiving emails that "it's time to renew your background check." On October 30th, I was informed via email that I was removed from the site. After contacting them asking why, here is what they sent to me:
"After researching this issue, I found that you previously had an account that was closed due to the results of your background check.

When your account was initially suspended, Sterling Talent Solutions sent you, via e-mail, the results of your background check. We then notified you, via email, of our policy: We allow 90 days to resolve the issue. After the 90 days your account is automatically closed. Unfortunately, the issue was not resolved within the 90 days, and therefore your account has been closed. This account can not be re-opened.

Unfortunately we are unable to accept your membership. This decision is final and irreversible. No exceptions will be made to these terms."
THIS NEVER HAPPENED. My account was never suspended, I passed all background checks, and never received one email from this company except for "please renew your background check" and "here are new jobs in your area."

I wrote back to them:
"I do not know what you are talking about. I never failed a background check through your company, never got an email from Sterling, and never got an email from you. I have received no communications from the agency you mentioned, I have no idea what issue you are referring to. I think you have mistaken me for someone else. If you damage my reputation based on your mistake, I will consider legal action. Please provide more information about this allegation or correct your mistake."

Their response:
"'m sorry for any inconvenience however, we are unable to provide any additional information. Unfortunately, you are not eligible to use the service. This decision is final and irreversible. No exceptions will be made to these terms. We appreciate your understanding in this matter."

I am a medical professional, licensed in all 50 states, and have passed numerous rigorous background checks both in private practice and hospitals. This whole thing is baffling. If there is a class action lawsuit, I would like to be a part of it.

After they remove you as a member, they also send an email to each person you made contact with, telling them you were removed but won't say why. For me, that is smearing my great reputation as a caregiver without just cause.

I am not the first person they have done this to.
dj15 Send email
 
Oct 28, 2017

Wrongful Termination

After having an account for years with Care.Com, I recently tried logging in and was told my email or password was invalid. Knowing this wasn't the case, I attempted emails. Then I tried creating a new account all together, no luck. After many emails sent, I finally received a generic response email, stating that I was terminated due to my background check. I worked on a college campus for 4 years. You have to pass a background and child clearance to do so, as well as teach pre-k sports in my community. I have no background to speak of. This came out of nowhere, but now I am seeing I am not the only one. I'd like to be a part of any action taken against care.com.
Leighanoel Send email
 
Oct 9, 2017

Automatic renewal

I signed up for Care.com and as soon as I found a nanny I closed my profile. I didn't realize that I was still being charged under automatic renewal. It took me 10 months to realize and when I called they took my information to review my account and responded in an email with no help to settle the problem. After another reply from me, they agreed to remove less then one month of charges.

They make it difficult to understand that your account isn't closed and count on this happening. New mothers like myself and elderly looking for care are the ones most likely to be caught in this.

I did not receive one email receipt saying that my card was charged. I was able to call my bank to disputed 120 days of the charges. This is pending.

Leigha
mariazoey Send email
 
Aug 25, 2017

Unauthorized use of my information

I signed up for a care.com account this week. I also paid for a background check. Today I was mystified to receive a message from someone I had never contacted thanking me for applying and saying the position had already been filled. Upon further investigation I saw that messages to several members were in the "sent" section of my message area. I opened them and saw that these members had received my bio as a job application.

I NEVER authorized care.com to apply for jobs on my behalf. Their use of my words, name, and photo for this purpose was unethical and completely unacceptable. I want a refund for the background check and my account closed. I will not do business with a company that uses my information as if they are me without my authorization.
Suzeriley Send email
 
Aug 9, 2017

Account terminated with no explanation

I am supposed to be meeting a new client tomorrow. She paid for a back ground check on me etc. I dont have anything in my back ground that would make me un-employable but now I'm nervous because I've given this site and a client that wanted to hire me personal information. Then I got an email saying I was terminated and they don't have to give me a reason?!! I'm very upset and worried this site might somehow scam me or steal my information
LoriC Send email
 
Aug 3, 2017

Care.com

I completed a profile for Care. com for an R.N. position for which I am very qualified. After approx. a week, I received an email telling me my profile had been deleted because I did not pass the background check. When I tried to find out why, I was unable to get back into the site using my password and they refused to send me a new one. I believe it was a matter of putting down the wrong college but I will never know......Very unethical and unprofessional company!!!
taleea30 Send email
 
Jul 17, 2017

I am sick! I have 3 clients that are getting my termination email

I am so embarrassed and can not for the life of me why! I am being terminated! I call and they sick with the lingo, they are not allowed to give me the information as to why to was "terminated"
I have clients that I have had for years on here and just ridiculous!
If someone is doing a class action LAW SUIT PUT ME IN!!!!
Clearly its not about the KIDS, and CARETAKING!!!!
Mari_dvieira Send email
 
May 25, 2017

I'm trying to cancel for 6 months already!!!

I am trying to cancel my membership for about 6 months already! Last time on the 02/23/17 I went to care.com and putted (no) for auto renew it! Everytime I do the same thing and you guys keep charging my credit card for 3 months!! Do you guys want me to sue the company??
Do me the refund otherwise I will call an lawyer to help me with it,
Customers service is a shit, never answers! I'm on hold for 1hr already!!


My account is petchicpage@hotmail.com
chelswest Send email
 
May 11, 2017

care.com account closed

how long did it take for them to notify everyone?
chelswest Send email
 
May 11, 2017

care.com account closed

How log did it take for you all to be notified? I have been trying to log into my account but it just tells me that the email is invalid or not found, on both the website and app. I am so upset and confused? I was active on it even less than an hour before I could no longer log in. I tried calling the 1-800 number but they are closed for the day. I am so scared that my account has been terminated like all of yours but for the life of me cannot figure out why! Can someone please help me?
gshepp86 Send email
 
Apr 22, 2017

Closed my care.com account

Care.com had closed my account as well. They had told me that I didn't meet the eligible requirements. And I think it had to do with my background check I only had a traffic violation on there from 6 years ago. And I have no points on my license to this day. I am a nursing assistant and do Home Health Care and have been one for several years and I have gone through many background checks and BMV checks and this has never been a problem. Does care.com tell the families that you have applied to on there why they have closed your account?

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    RESERVE BANK OF INDIA FOREIGN REMITTANCE DEPARTMENT - True or fake
    See this images and tell this is true or fake i ask money...
    Asianet - Vanambadi serial and Padmini
    Please stop the ever ending tantrums by Padmini. This...
    CHEVROLET AUTOMOBILE COMPANY PROMOTION/PRIZE AWARD DEPT CENTER - fake or true
    CHEVROLET AUTOMOBILE COMPANY PROMOTION/PRIZE AWARD DEPT...
    Triton Global Assist-ann - charge on my Bell Bill
    Noticed had charge on my Bell Bill for Triton Global...
    Agoda - no confirmation on my cancellation
    I travel now in Europe and have no access to my private...
    cop@vsnl.net - Lost my phone
    Ravikant Sharma Patna College mahendru Patna...
    TE Data - No refund and waste time
    الاسم / محمد فوزي حنفي رقم...
    RCBC JCB - Continuous bill of cancelled health insurance
    I received a tele marketing call and was offered a health...
    MIBFA - Need an update of my 2018 profident fund amount.
    Hello this is Wynand Haywood. Id nr 8704185093084 I...
    TradeKey.com - Can Take More Chance with Tradekey
    I have been with tradekey to do international trade. A lot...

    Recently Updated Complaints

    RESERVE BANK OF INDIA FOREIGN REMITTANCE DEPARTMENT - True or fake
    See this images and tell this is true or fake i ask money...
    Asianet - Vanambadi serial and Padmini
    Please stop the ever ending tantrums by Padmini. This...
    CHEVROLET AUTOMOBILE COMPANY PROMOTION/PRIZE AWARD DEPT CENTER - fake or true
    CHEVROLET AUTOMOBILE COMPANY PROMOTION/PRIZE AWARD DEPT...
    Triton Global Assist-ann - charge on my Bell Bill
    Noticed had charge on my Bell Bill for Triton Global...
    Agoda - no confirmation on my cancellation
    I travel now in Europe and have no access to my private...
    cop@vsnl.net - Lost my phone
    Ravikant Sharma Patna College mahendru Patna...
    TE Data - No refund and waste time
    الاسم / محمد فوزي حنفي رقم...
    RCBC JCB - Continuous bill of cancelled health insurance
    I received a tele marketing call and was offered a health...
    MIBFA - Need an update of my 2018 profident fund amount.
    Hello this is Wynand Haywood. Id nr 8704185093084 I...
    TradeKey.com - Can Take More Chance with Tradekey
    I have been with tradekey to do international trade. A lot...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username