Submit a Complaint

CHANNEL 7

New Zealand

Consumer complaints and reviews about CHANNEL 7

My Opinion Send email
 
Sep 17, 2021

SAS Australia

I find SAS appalling. I compliment Manu for leaving. I was disturbed by the gassing, hoods on contestants and the amount of verbal abuse. Someone made a mistake about push ups and the host used it to make others gang up on the person and punish all. In Covid times where Domestic Violence increased I find this show should be shut down now. As a person aware of the holocaust I am disturbed. As a person who has read stories of families drowning kids etc I am appalled with the water in car scene. I have been abused by people for many years and tried using the courts to find relief. It is hard. This show is about Bullies. It is not humane. If the host is so good to train people maybe he use his tactics in Afghanistan. And considering the situation there, I find this show extremely Bad Taste.
[email protected] Send email
 
Sep 8, 2021

pack to the rafters

I was very disappointed last week, when I was watching Sunrise and they showed that Pack to the Rafters was returning, I was so thrilled as we enjoyed this family show. There are not many shows on at present, but this turned to disappointment as the show is going to Amazon, and we don't have Amazon only Netflix. I am sure that there will be a lot of people that would be disappointed too. Cheers
Bluewater heaven Send email
 
Aug 17, 2021

adverts for SAS

I have throughly enjoyed the olympics from Tokyo and the only jarring note were ads for SAS which depicts the very thing we are trying to rid outr culture of excessive bullying especially of women. This is not family viewing yet it it was on not only during the Olympics . The Voice has been exceptional this season . In the middle of a man proposing to his partner we switch to SAS bullying ads. Who was the producer of this disaster.
In this time of lockdown we have the right to watch feel good event without this debacle.

Then come the frightening scenes of the acute disaster of the take over of Afghanistan by the Taliban . The last thing we need to seee during this time is the torture seasons of people stupid enough to sign up for the SAS show. It is not what ,I believe, should ever be shown. To hear a women taking about loses a marriage and a baby and then see her tortured is not family viewing , or I would argue viewing for anyone.

I was an ABC viewer ,but had been won over to Channel 7 over the past month, well you will not see me again if these ads proceed . Do we want our teenagers seeing this type of torture? The participants are not brave just foolish.
[email protected] Send email
 
Jul 14, 2021

The Chase

Earlier this year we were advised that Andrew O'Keefe would be replaced at Easter. My partner and my friends were delighted to hear that. We do not like Andrew and were looking forward to a new host. Here we are, middle of July, and he is still on! Which Easter were you meaning? Next year, the year after? Please clear us up about what is going to happen. We wait with bated breath.
Janieg Send email
 
May 19, 2021

Commercials louder than program being watched

Volume has to be lowered every time a commercial comes on
westcoast fan Send email
 
Mar 21, 2021

afl

why is the westcoast Eagles first game against the sun's not on channel 7 ??? what happened to supporting our local teams ? you put the dockers game on .then put the West Coast game on . disgusted !!!
rugged1 Send email
 
Nov 11, 2020

Dancing With the Stars

This is not really a complaint but more of a observation regarding the content of last night's program. While I enjoy watching the dancing portion of the show, it seemed to move into a political arena rather than concentrating on dancing alone. The theme was "Icons" and while each star chose their individual "Icon", I think items were brought up that had nothing to do with dancing. Kari Ann Onabi's remark that "Black Lives Matters" was uncalled for since "All Lives Matter"! And the remark concerning "a new President" and maybe Broadway would open up is a joke since our "new President" wants to close the country up once again. I am unfortunately not a fan of your new host either, but that is irrelevant to my remarks. Can't the show just stick to dancing and not enter into political matters?
[email protected] Send email
 
Oct 9, 2020

Samantha Armitage's commentary on Queensland border closures

I am not politically aligned and have been a fan of Channel 7's Sunrise program for many years, enjoying the personable vibe, humorous banter and as balanced a commentary on Australian affairs as can be reasonably expected from any news source.

Closing of the Queensland borders appears to have transformed Samantha Armitage from a provider of commentary to a political campaigner against the Queensland Government. I believe we all want the borders opened as soon as possible, however blind passion for freedoms and economic recovery breeds the unnecessary carnage endured in the Spanish flue of last century resulting in up to 100 million deaths. Our inability to learn from history is currently evidencing in alarming resurgences in Spain, France and the United Kingdom, to say nothing of uncontained outbreaks in the likes of Colombia, Argentina, Brazil and India. This coupled with the the growing evidence of long term health damage occasioned by the virus gives very strong reason for border control. The success of the measures taken in Queensland is reflected in the AFL and NRL being able to operate within the State and provide Australia with a refreshing glimpse of what was and will be.

We do not want to mirror the splintered and misinformed train wreck that is the USA; all the more confronting when you have loved ones residing there.

The Sunrise program would be enhanced by Sam abandoning the disparaging campaign against the way the virus is being managed in Queensland, showing some respect for both the State and its Government, and getting back to providing . commentary rather than political opinion.
UnhappyJan Send email
 
Sep 9, 2020

Plate of Origin

It was with disgust that I watched the Italian team score perfect 10’s for their pasta dish which resulted in them winning the challenge against the team from Venezuela. The program showed them failing with their squid ink pasta..it was crumbly and not forming into its strands well. The women rolling it declared it was not dry enough and ideally she needed longer to let it dry. Gary went over to their station and physically intervened. He took a sheet of her pasta , refolded it and put it through the pasta machine again..demonstrating to her that this is what she had to do. To give a competitor help like this was disgraceful...then to score them perfects for a dish when one of the components was “saved” by a judge is beyond poor.
Do other judges go up to the tables yes.. but they do not openly intervene. They might make a concerned face or perhaps voice a veiled hint that a competitor needs to think... but they do NOT cook for them..which is what he did!!!!!
Do I think the Venezuelan team were going to win the entire series....no. But they certainly went out sooner because of this intervention!!,
opelgypsy Send email
 
Aug 31, 2020

MIDDAY MOVIES

Channel 7, Why??????? Just why are you not showing midday movies every weekday. Repeats of your tired old shows that were shown the previous night are just rubbish. You have several channels to shows these repeats, but no, you continually remove the midday movies. Have you any idea of just how many people look forward to sitting down and chilling out for a couple of hours, have a bite to eat and be entertained by a movie. You mainly have such a good range of movies, so why not keep up the standard. I work in aged care and I can tell you, nearly all the residents love to watch the midday movies. You are destroying one of the few pleasures they have left in life. Please put your tired old reruns on one of your other channels and leave the midday movies on your main channel.
3 days this week we are subjected to another cooking show repeat instead of a movie. This is not good enough. Do you care about the people that tune into your station and get some enjoyment?
Please wake up and listen to the people that support your station.

PLEASE LISTEN.....................................................................FFS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
opelgypsy Send email
 
Aug 31, 2020

MIDDAY MOVIES

Channel 7, Why??????? Just why are you not showing midday movies every weekday. Repeats of your tired old shows that were shown the previous night are just rubbish. You have several channels to shows these repeats, but no, you continually remove the midday movies. Have you any idea of just how many people look forward to sitting down and chilling out for a couple of hours, have a bite to eat and be entertained by a movie. You mainly have such a good range of movies, so why not keep up the standard. I work in aged care and I can tell you, nearly all the residents love to watch the midday movies. You are destroying one of the few pleasures they have left in life. Please put your tired old reruns on one of your other channels and leave the midday movies on your main channel.
3 days this week we are subjected to another cooking show repeat instead of a movie. This is not good enough. Do you care about the people that tune into your station and get some enjoyment?
Please wake up and listen to the people that support your station.
gary colston Send email
 
Aug 23, 2020

7 foot coverage

HI my name is Gary Colston .I have just seen worsfold press conference on the Essendon website it went for seven minutes 20 seconds. Why did channel cut it short after 2 minutes 45 seconds they did the same after the st.kilda game . It is not good enough there are a lot of people like myself and wife that would to see it all after on the tv after the game and not have to wait for it to come up on the Essendon website 12 hours later. I would like some one to please contact me about, i got no communicaion after i complained after the st.kilda game.about the issues. you can contact me on 0401208783 Cheers Gary Colston
tanibold42 Send email
 
Jul 24, 2020

Apple/TMobile holding phone

I have been with T-Mobile for 1 year 5 mos. I came with my own iPhone 8 Plus, I started out as prepaid and did this for 1 year which qualified me for post pay, with post pay I could upgrade the phone which I did, to an 11 Promax and pay up for the year on a monthly basis, I have been doing so faithfully. I also have insurance on the phone as well, with Assurant the insurance company for T-Mobile, having this qualifies me to receive a new phone if something happens to the phone. On June 24, 2020 I was busy at work and lost my phone, the next day June 25, 2020 I contacted T-Mobile paid the $250 deductible and they sent me out another phone, I received it on July 1, 2020, the phone was refurbished. The back of the phone got really hot, it kept freezing and the phone volume was going up and down as I talked on it, so I contacted T-Mobile and told them what was going on. T-Mobile's insurance company Assurant instructed me to send the phone to Apple to be repaired, I told T-Mobile that I did not want it repaired I wanted a new phone and the one they sent me was not. So now Apple has the phone they should be sending it back to me, but they are just sitting on it and T-Mobile is saying that they cannot do anything because the phone was sent to Apple but T-Mobile instructed me to send it to Apple and now they won't except any of the responsibility for the misleading instruction that they gave me. I'm constantly being charged and don't have the phone and no one is helping me, I have spoken to senior advisors and all gave me a different response and when I try to call them back as instructed to do by them, they never answer their phone, Please can someone help because they have my money and my phone and no one will assist me and get the issue resolved
owens Send email
 
Jul 12, 2020

THE FALCONIO CASE

I don't often watch Channel Seven as it is full of rubbish however I was interested to see what an allegedly fabulous criminal lawyer had to say over the Falconio murder .
The clai8ns made by Andrew Fraser amounted to a load of unconvincing rubbish AND IF THERE WAS ANY SUBSTANEC IN THEM WOULD HAVE BEEEN CANVASSED ON APPEAL .What has Mr.Fraser to say about that .Besmirching Joanne Lees evidence was a very sad and unethical act on his part .
Why is there not proper coverage of the prosecution ? I am appalled by this travesty and I believe the truth lies in in Andrew Frasers need for redemption .His ego remains intact .
I make these comments as a retired lawyer of 30 years .Does he think juries can not properly consider truthfulness. This woman would have been cross examined by the defence and the police were very unnecessarily aggressive .To advertise this matter in such an abhorrent sensationalist way was deplorable .
Peter M Send email
 
May 28, 2020

Old Classic Shows for the Elderly

Why oh why is there almost nothing on tv during the day/early evening time (9am-8pm) for the elderly. My mum is 83 and she always complains that there is nothing much on tv for her age group. Having recently spent alot of time visiting my father at a nursing home, I have to agree. Most of the tv shows and movies are the same stuff all the time. Think of what age group is at home the most during the day and I bet the elderly/pensioners come up first. Please, at least 1 station take some initiative into this. I thought channels like 7Flix was supposed to be for movies, 7Two for tv shows and 9Gem for old Classics. Maybe I am wrong. Anyway, please consider some of the following tv shows that I have listed:
Little House on the Prairie
The Sullivan's
Highway to Heaven
Bonanza
Rawhide
The Waltons
Anne of Green Gables
Wagon Train
Adventures of Rin Tin Tin
Chips
Grizzly Adams
Gunsmoke
The Addams Family
Lassie
Swiss Family Robinson
High Chapparel
Lost in Space
The Lone Ranger
The Munsters
Car 54 Where Are You
I could go on........
I hope someone listens to help out the elderly of Australia.
Thanks,
Peter in Perth
MYROTTY Send email
 
Apr 9, 2020

REPEATS OF HOUSE RULES

What's happened to the midday movies? Is channel 7 getting too lazy, or just trying to save money, by repeating House Rules, the next day, instead of putting on a movie, which I always looked forward to, because they were usually true stories. I'm sick of channels relying on repeat shows. We've already seen it when it was first shown, why do you think you need to, or that we would want you, to put it on again the next day? Come on channel 7, try a little harder and give people more variety, especially during these boring days of compulsory home stays.
Enough junk tv Send email
 
Feb 11, 2020

Unwanted and poorly timed ads.

Am disappointed about the excessive amount of and the times home and away ads get. When trying to watch news and only half an hour before it on is being advertised and same after in first half hour. If was so good would not need constant ads as would be watching it and if junk tv a thousand ads not going to get any viewers. Most of the people watch it school kids or young adults and ads put on when they sleeping, at school or otherwise not able to see the ad.Used to enjoy watching sunrise until they started hammering this programs ad and now do not watch and get my morning info from 9s today show. And 7 evening news on thin ice as well for the same reason as when on half an hour later is no reason to remind viewers. Some years back complained about putting car crash ads on around Christmas new year period when countless families already have trauma from loved ones being killed or injured in hiway accidents. All they did with my complaint was say not only young people watch it and nothing said about the car crash hammered every week. Same this year. From close in 2019 to 2020 all seen 30 times a week was car crash which shows contempt for viewers.
Know 1 person less is neither here nor there but hopefully many others are also annoyed with the constant ads and changing channels.We keep getting told how special. What is the viewer rating.?Will it make top 10(unlikely) top 100 or top 500 programs watched by viewers. Please advise your correct rating figure.
Two more last things. With a teenager orientated program cannot not understand how a cranky impatient overbearing person like alf stewart can be exposed to vulnerable minds and he needs to be run outa town and dropped in desert.
If less money spent on this program and other live rubbish and more spent on new release movies you would not need to repeat 30 year old movies so often.

an x viewer
Duncan200 Send email
 
Jan 13, 2020

BBL Cricket Camera Work

Whilst I watch the cricket on Fox, I know when Channel 7 cameraman are operating the cameras and the Channel 7 producers are picking the camera angles.

Most times when the ball is bowled you are too late to get back behind the wicket before the ball is bowled and your eyes take a split second to adjust to the image and half the time the ball is hit before your eyes have focused. It’s better to come back to the bowler half way in his run up, not when he’s passing the umpire.

Also, you zoom in too close to the fielder/batter/ball and the cameraman ends up loosing track of the play. It’s not AFL where we need to see the stitching on the ball.

Also, most close calls, half chances etc are not replayed.

C’mon channel 7, get your act together. Duncan
chrisshaw Send email
 
Jan 11, 2020

NO 50 OR 20 OVER AUS CRICKET GAMES BEING BROADCAST AGAIN THIS YEAR.

I WAS NEEDING SOME ADVICE...

MY COLLEAGUE'S AND I WENT THROUGH HELL AROUND THIS TIME LAST YEAR, WHERE WE WERE RESPONSIBLE FOR OVER 500 NURSING HOME RESIDENTS, AND THEIR SOCIAL WELL-BEING / COMFORT / HAPPIER DAYS THAN MOST.

THE PROBLEM LAST CRICKET SEASON, BEING OF COURSE, THE LACK OF FREE-TO-AIR CRICKET COVERAGE, "DUE TO WHO HAS PAID FOR WHAT RIGHTS".

THE VERY MAJOR PROBLEM WE ALL FACED TO SOME DEGREE DURING LAST SEASON WAS, THAT HERE WE HAVE IN TOTAL, HUNDREDS OF ELDERLY, VULNERABLE SENIOR CITIZENS (NO DOUBT, 10's OF 1000's NATION WIDE), WHO THE MAJORITY HAD ROUTINE IN THEIR LIVES (IN EVERY ASPECT)...
..........................
I.E. SINCE , AND THE BEGGININGS OF CHANNEL 9's "EXTENSIVE" CRICKET COVERAGE, ESPECIALLY THOSE 50 OVER DAYnNIGHT GAMES....

SO HERE WE ALL ARE, TRYING TO CARINGLY MASSAGE THE SAD NEWS INTO OUR RESIDENTS, THAT THERE WILL NO LONGER BE CRICKET ON THE TV IN YOUR ROOMS (as facilities as such don't have cable tv installations), THAT YOU'VE AWAITED WITH ANTICPATION TO WATCH OVER THESE PAST 40 YEARS OF AUSSIE SUMMER'S.....
........
BECAUSE IT GAVE THESE SENIOR MEMBERS OF OUR COUNTRY
"SOME MUCH NEEDED, EXCITING TV FOR A FEW WEEKS OF THEIR LIVES"
FOR THOSE PAST 40+ YEARS, THIS AGE GROUP IN OUR SOCIETY, ACTUALLY EMBRACED AUSSIE CRICKET LIKE NO OTHER DEMOGRAPHIC,

BECAUSE THEY WERE A PART OF IT,

FROM THE FIRST BALL BEING BOWLED ON THAT DAY, BACK IN 1977....

AND "YOU" CHANNEL 7,

YOU NEED TO UNDERSTAND, THAT FOR 40+ YEARS CRICKET CAME TO OUR SHORES AND INTO OUR HOMES EVERY SUMMER (thanks to CHANNEL 9), AND ALTHOUGH MOSTLY FRAIL, MANY OF THIS AGE GROUP ARE AWARE ALMOST TO THE WEEK THAT ITS AUSSIE CRICKET TIME, AS EACH YEAR THE SEASON ROLLS AROUND....

SO AGAIN THIS CRICKET SEASON, WE DISAPPOINT SO MANY OF ALL GENERATIONS, NATION WIDE...

NOT TO MENTION THE MAJORITY OF AUSSIE HOUSEHOLDS, WHO AS WELL AS THE ADULT POPULATION MISSING OUT ON THESE "MORE EXCITING" FORMATS OF CRICKET BRING BROADCAST ON THEIR HOUSEHOLD TV's, WHILST IN THE COMFORT OF THEIR OWN HOMES....
................
BUT WE FORGET TO MENTION THE OTHER VULNERABLE GENERATION....

"WHAT ABOUT THE KIDS"....

SORRY KIDS, BUT UNLESS YOU ARE ONE OF THE (slight), MAJORITY HOUSEHOLDS WITH CABLE TV (foxtel) INSTALLATIONS, YOU, UNLIKE MANY OF YOUR FRIENDS AT SCHOOL, CAN NO LONGER HAVE THOSE DREAMS OF YOURS COME TO LIFE, WHERE YOUR DAD &/OR MOTHER USED TO LOVE SEEING THE EXCITEMENT YOU EMITTED WATCHING YOUR HEROES LIVE.......

ON THE BIG TV, IN YOUR OWN HOME, WITH THE PEOPLE YOU LOVE;
JUST LIKE GENERATION'S BEFORE YOU.........

"HAD
BEEN
DOING
FOR
DECADES"

I CANNOT BELIEVE THAT THE SATISFACTION FROM MAKING A FEW EXTRA MILLION IN PROFITS,
WILL AGAIN THIS YEAR, WILL BE AT THE EXPENSE OF HAPPIER, FAMILY BONDING TIMES IN SOooo MANY AUSTRALIAN HOUSEHOLDS,
WHO FEEL SOMEWHAT LOST WITH WHAT HAS BEEN TAKEN FROM THEM.

NO DOUBT, SO MANY CRICKET FANS OF ALL AGES WITHOUT CABLE AFFECTED BY THIS.

AND YOU, BIG PLAYER CHANNEL 7, HAD THE GALL TO HEAVILY ADVERTISE THAT YOU WILL TELEVISE,

"EVERY SINGLE TEST MATCH" (which most general cricket fans would swipe left to anyway)
AND THEN ANOTHER CHEEKY SHOT WITH OVER EMPHASIS ON THE WBBL, (cuz it'd be really cheap to have them on board i guess)

IF IT WERE MY DECISION, I REALLY FEEL I WOULD TAKE THE STEPS REQUIRED TO CONTINUE ROLLING, WITH A

"40+ YEAR
AUSTRALIAN
ENTERTAINMENT
SPORTS
ICON"

(& yes i do realise, that compassionate traits, will never get me that annual multimillion dollar bonus, but hey thats ok...)


NOT FAIR

NOT AUSTRALIAN

IT'S
JUST
NOT
CRICKET!
Ralph Big Girl Send email
 
Jan 11, 2020

Lack of TV Coverage for WA BBL

Once again WA is disadvantaged.! Your advertising stated at the beginning of the series free TV coverage for all Big Bash Games.
When it comes to the Scorchers playing in our home state this appears not to be the case. The poor cousins once again.
Do you actually take into account that country fans are seriously disadvantaged. We would have to travel a total of 9 hours to see a game live and the not to mention the finance costs involved.
Very disappointed Channel 7
Murdocht Send email
 
Jan 8, 2020

Bbl print colour

Hi channel seven we are trying to watch bbl Thunder v Stars both green vertically impossable to read the white print on a green back ground would be much better if the print was black I have noticed other viewers have already raised this issue do you read these posts ?????
Langridge Send email
 
Jan 5, 2020

John Howard

I understand that former PM Howard will be interviewed at tea at the Sydney test today. While much of NSW is on fire and many other parts of the nation, you are interviewing an avowed climate change denialist. It is an outrage, and a slap in the face to all those Australians who have been personally impacted by the bushfires, including especially those who have lost loved ones, property and livelihoods. You do all Australians a disservice - except perhaps those who are still to be convinced that climate change is real, like the current PM
Gman91 Send email
 
Jan 4, 2020

Channel 7 and there sporting broadcast

So you say that your the most passionate sporting broadcaster of all games live and ad free channel 7 that also what you said about cricket When you brought the rights from channel 9 but truly you couldn’t give a shit about the cricket! You better do what is right and give the rights back to channel 9 or else you will get the worse whiplash ever that will kill channel 7 for good like these fires are in Australia!! The biggest game of the big bash and you aren’t broadcasting live as you have proudly advertising about your love of sport!! I’m Australian and I’m appalled by your actions. Get rid of a lot of your sport broadcasting especially your cricket broadcasting or you will be the death of sport like cricket in Australia!!!!
Darryl B Send email
 
Dec 27, 2019

Inappropriate and offensive actions

This advertisement was screened twice during the Judge John Deed episode on Channel 7 2 on Thursday 26/12/2019.
The advertisement implied sexual activity and included scantily clad women in a demeaning way.
This is most offensive and an insult to decency in human relationships which are private and personal between consenting adults and not to be used in the public arena in an advertising context.
As shareholders in 7 Group Holdings we are offended and disappointed with your ethic standards regarding what you permit as advertising on free to air television.
Yours sincerely,
Darryl and Robin Beitsch
Dasher Send email
 
Dec 27, 2019

Test commentary team

Smith was dismissed on a no ball, the bowlers foot slipped over the line prior to him letting the ball go.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username