Submit a Complaint

Dish Network

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about Dish Network

disgusted53 Send email
 
May 5, 2017

poor interntt svc

first, I have been with DISH network for the better part of 15 years , I have always been happy with the TV service and customer assistance.. I expected the same with internet svc.. that is poor at best... ( if I could rate it lower I would) I am apparently going through A LOT of data... I am currently at having 30 percent left till the 17th I am STUCK with a 24 mo. contract which I think I have 10 months to go . when it was installed the tech told me to be SURE not to use it for NETFLIX... Which I said I would not , and he assured me that what I have is good for what I do (mostly surf, FB, and CNN and emailing) to say the speed of the internet would be significantly reduced when the data is used up is an understatement! my dial up was faster!! .. I don't know if the tech help with the internet is the same ppl as for the TV, but it stinks ( very happy with the tv) so... I GUESS I am paying for a service that I HATE, that is doing me no good ... as far as I am concerned it is $$$ out the window !
tdeal3 Send email
 
Nov 9, 2016

ETF for nothing

I had dish for about 1 month and I moved. I put it on pause, beause I had a situation where I had to leave where I was living and moved in with my parents for a few months before moving to Texas. When I moved to TX, we moved into an apartment. I called dish because after I moved in I found out I wasn't allowed to have dish that I haAd to have only the company that was wired up in the apartment complex. I continued to keep my dish on hold because I did want to get it back. I was on pause for 9 months + when one day dish emails and sends letter that said I need to turn in my equipment and was being charged ETF. I called them and said I still wanted to keep it on pause and that I didn't want to turn in the equipment. They said well either turn it in or we are charging you for it. So I told them to send me the box. Which they said they did. I said I never received it. Looked it up and they sent it to my old house in Ohio. I had spoken several times with them since moving to Texas and they had my address. Anyway they told me to send the equipment then they may be able to work with me on the ETF. No such luck. I called them just a few weeks ago because I was moving out of my apartment and asked if I could get it back. They said had I not sent my equipment back they could just have restarted my contract. Now if I could just find a box to buy and hopefully the person didn't owe anything on it, I could get it back. So no such luck there. Then I contract directv, I then get a contract with them to find out after hooking me up I don't get local channels. I give up! I hate cable! If anyone knows what I can do about dish or directv please let me know! Thanks!
[email protected] Send email
 
Feb 16, 2016

Billing and Contract Issue

First off the only reason I even chose Dish was for the luxury of the month to month services offered. I did not want to be tied down to a 24 month contract as I tend to move a lot. Dish offered it and for a little extra a month it was completely worth it to me. I was happy and thought I was going to get what I asked for! However I come to find out that when they arrived to my house for the installation they had my fiancé sign an agreement that was a 24 month contract exactly what I didn't want!! I have called customer service numerous times and also corporate customer service who informed me I should hire a lawyer to subpoena the phone records. This is hogwash! In addition I was supposed to have internet bundled with the account which was never installed or sent out to me. So not only did I not get internet I was signed up for a plan I did not want or agree to! All you need to do is pull the original phone call that I made into Dish to inquire about the month to month program and you will obviously clearly see that I did not want or agree to a 24 month contract. This needs to be rectified and corrected. I should not have to hire a lawyer to subpoena phone records for your mistake. All I am asking is my account be corrected to what I agreed to! I never would have signed on with Dish on a 24 month contract I would have gone with Comcast and the superior internet service that they offer however the month to month appealed to me as I hate being tied down into 2 year contracts with cable!

Jonathan Lamet
[email protected]
[email protected]
Pissedoff999 Send email
 
Aug 30, 2015

Dish forged contract

Purchased new home had to move out while looking for new home called to cancle dish network i knew we had no contract was over for 3 years i wanted to send recievers back and if i wanted to continue later in our new home we would call them back to set up new installation new service ..any way custermer servive cancelation dept kept trying to tell us to to just keep recievers and suspend service till we got our new house finnaly i agreed with this ..three months later we moved into our new home called them up to set it up in new house i made sure multiple times that no new 2 year contract was needed made a point of this and was told no new contract was needed we singed nothing that said i was entering into a new contract made100% sure of this by reading what i was sighning..Well 14 months later was injued had surgery decided to cancle service .. They tell me i will pay a ETF i had no contract they said i do ...i asked to see it they sent it to me in the mail they forged a contract
This is just a trashy low life company
Got a email today that they are changing contract that we cant sue them with a jury or class action law suit bunch of low lifes never again will we ever use Dish Network is as low as you can go in buisness
User923800 Send email
 
Apr 6, 2012

Service and Cost

Or you could utilize the other 4 features blockbuster offers. Movie channels, dvd's in the mail, exchange in store, and online viewing. Still good deal for $10/month. Plus adding it on they read disclosures. They tell you yu must have hd dvr and internet for streaming prior to adding. So there's your choice.
User552676 Send email
 
Mar 27, 2012

As a former employee let me tell you

As a former employee of this godforsaken company, let me tell you for certain that they don't give a damn about either their customers or their employees. Permit me to elaborate:

1) Employees were told during the interviews that the company would work with their schedule. Soon as we're hired on, we're told "You work around Dish Network, not the other way around." Several employees turned in their gear because of that...we didn't want to spend the rest of our lives working for some miserable piece of shit company who thought that they were the center of the universe!

2) Agents are basically told that we have no power. That if we give more than a $5 adjustment, we're going to get lit up like a Christmas tree. We basically have to do a giant circle jerk just to get the right adjustments in!

3) We're not even allowed to set up for a technician to come out! That ability was removed from us...we now have to go through other channels- so much for cutting out the middleman.

4) They expect us to rearrange our lives for the company. For instance, anytime there's a fight/UFC event, they expect us to give up our Saturday nights. I know I for one jumped up my supervisor's ass about it, then I had to hear about it in stereo. Guess what? My days off are worth their weight in gold. I'm not going to give it up for these crack piping, asswiping, motherless lowlifes.

5) Who in their right mind expects their employees to work a regular schedule on Christmas f-ing Day?!! I've been in the workforce since 2003, and never once until this past Christmas Day did I have to work that particular day. Not only was my Christmas ruined, but I didn't get to spend some much deserved time with my family. If we called in, we would be automatically fired...even if our records and our numbers were flawless. We lost 15 people in my shift alone...and they have the nerve to say they're a family company?!

6) They also force their employees into nasty shifts without any sort of option...let me be clear. I worked the day shift for them, and then without any warning, I got thrown to nights. Not evenings...graveyard, as in 1:00am to 12:00pm. No chance to acclimate myself, no chance to try for another shift, just thrown onto graveyards. I get 5 times the workload and only 1 dollar upped in pay. Now correct me if I'm wrong, if I'm doing the work of several departments then the pay should be adjusted accordingly. Never mind that my supervisor said I had the pick of the litter for what shift I got thrown to...never mind that I was told "Graveyard is optional, never mandatory."

7) Their response to 99.99% of employee complaints? "Call centers aren't for everyone. If you don't like it, there's the door." No chance to rectify, no chance to elaborate or explain.

Let me make something perfectly clear folks: Before I worked for this band of thieves and liars, I was at an acceptable weight (220, a little pudgy but not to where I'd be considered a super heavyweight), I seldom drank, I never smoked and I wasn't on any prescriptions for depression...nor did I have suicidal thoughts.

After 1 year...
My weight ballooned to 300...
I nearly killed myself three times...
I ended up being put on two antidepressants (Paxil and Trazadone)...
I smoked 2 packs a day...
Every Friday I would drink myself into a stupor...beer, wine, liquor, whatever it took to dull the pain...

Basically, I became a wreck. And rather than Dish trying to offer compassion and support? All I get is told "You need to see a doctor if you want to keep your job." When I took a second round of leave due to depression issues, despite the fact that I had a note from my doctor, I was told the leave was never approved...so I racked up absences, they claimed a bullshit issue and kicked me to the curb.

Where am I going with this? Simple...

Dish Network doesn't give a damn about anybody but themselves. Trying to get them to understand this is a living, breathing nightmare.

Dish Network will f- their old customers...not giving them any incentive to stay and trying to charge them out the nose if they leave.

Dish Network will f- their new customers...they have no problem lying to them.

Dish Network will f- their employees...period. Because all we are is numbers on a grid to them. They get their 30 pieces of silver, their blood money, and we in turn get crucified.

Guess what Dish? This time, we fight back.

"If you do nothing to dissuade the wicked from their path, they will die for their guilt...but the blood will be on your hands. If you attempt to dissuade the wicked from their path, and they refuse to change, they will die for their guilt but you will be saved." Paraphrasing from Ezekiel 3:18-19.


The Iron Maverick
User923800 Send email
 
Mar 27, 2012

As a former employee let me tell you

The purpose of the phone line, BTW, is so a) if you want to order ppv, it is an option to do through your remote, rather than call in, and b) If you were ever to lose signal, or any other Dish related issue, it sends that data to our corporate office, and they do proactively send techs out, when this occurs. Everyone seems to be so Negative Nancy here, why not stop, chill, and look at it from all sides. At any job, I have never seen anyone fired just because they missed a little. Did you miss your metrics one month, or did you miss them repeatedly. As a CSR for a Call Center for an unnamed company, I do realize the value of a handle time. It shouldnt be to tight, but can not be loose either, this helps keep the sense of Urgency with the customer, so the customer can feel they have a reliable person helping them. If they wanted to take all day taking care of an issue, they might as well just go pull the manual out them selves. Handle times, are as much for a companies penny pocket, as they are for the customer though. Its a good business strategy and supported by most. So Stop, look at all sides, and then move forward. You might be singing a different tune after that.
User921812 Send email
 
Mar 27, 2012

Service and Cost

chadt41 give it a rest. I have been just as loyal paying for those services every month. I have no problem with what I pay or the increase for DVR what I have a problem with is fees and agreements. So I get blockbuster yet the leased equipment I am given doesn't support streaming blockbuster? So I have to either cancel the blockbuster and pay a fee for removing services, or agree to an agreement to get the equipment needed to use the service. I am not really given a choice am I? Shouldn't it work both ways?
User622068 Send email
 
Mar 27, 2012

Service and Cost

Hello wideglide10,

At the present time DISH does require a new 24 month commitment any time you upgrade your receiver. The credit card is requested to protect the company incase the equipment is not returned or if the commitment is not completed and a cancellation fee remains. We appreciate your feedback and hope your DISH service is working properly. If you have additional concerns you may contact me at my email address.

Thank You

Mark Haakenson
Internet Response Team
DISH LLC
[email protected]
User921812 Send email
 
Mar 26, 2012

Service and Cost

I called dish network because my reciever quit working. I was told I needed to pay $15 for freight which I politely said they should cover it so they did. I then asked since my reciever was broke could I get a better one with streaming and DVR capabilities. Sure they said but I would have to pay $95 for a tech to install it, put credit card on file, agree to 2 year agreement. I said if it is broke you make me install it but if I want a better reciever a tech has to do it? So they then agreed to mail me an upgraded reciever that I could install myself. I then asked why do I have to sign a contract and put card on file just to have equipment to use a service I was already paying for? Also they are getting $6 more per month out of me for DVR, I declined and told them just to send the basic receiver and I would be looking for service elsewhere. Kinda funny a long time customer has to go somewhere else over a contract and a credit card on file. My $100.00 a month must not be that important. Scott
User923800 Send email
 
Mar 26, 2012

Service and Cost

So just to verify, you want to make it unfair to the rest of consumers so you can feel special? Since dish has been so loyal to provide you with services shouldn't you be willing to say you don't mind if they raise your bill. Don't you feel the request should work both ways, or do you only care about yurself. I, myself, am satisfied with everything I'm getting, specially the fact I was able to get starz free for a year without even asking. Dish took care of me better than twc ever did.
User923800 Send email
 
Mar 26, 2012

Unjust cancellation charges

You are right, these are unjust cancellation fees. Dish spends $400-$900 to set you up and only charge $17.50 per month remaining in the commitment. You are robbing dish blind. That is completely unjust.
User923800 Send email
 
Mar 26, 2012

Dish Network has set me on fire today

They set you on fire by fulfilling the clause in their commitment that says "you are responsible for returning the equipment". There is nothing there that says 'at the companies cost'. You signed this. Willingly. You sir, are a complete ignoramous.
User923800 Send email
 
Mar 26, 2012

Billing

Just so everyone knows you can go online and view your bill. I do this with my dish, my brothers direct tv, my electric and water. I refuse to receive paper bills, since I can view and dispute all online. Saves time, money, and makes life easier. Did you try that?
Galiffe Send email
 
Mar 13, 2012

Scammed into a bundle package

The bundle packages that Dish Network and Fronteir Communications have together is a scam. First of all I recieved a phone call from my telephone company asking would I like to join in a bundle package with Dish Network. They gave me the sale pitch and told me I could lock in my price for 2 years. They failed to tell me that I was locking a 2 year contract with Dish on Dish's terms. They also failed to tell me after a year the locked price for the phone would stay the same but the price for Dish would go up an additional 25.00 a month.

So therefore Fronteir Communications lied to me when trying to sale the bundle package. I call Dish Network and they tell me that if I have to cancel my network then I will have to pay 379.00 for breaking a contract that I have never signed with them. The only contract that I signed was with Frontier. I feel that I was cheated and lied to because the details were never described to me. I told the lady I never signed a contract with dish. She told me that if there is no contract then I have to pay a 99.00 disconection fee. So I will let everyone know that the Dish Network bundles are scams. I'll let everyone know that cable is indeed better.
[email protected] Network Send email
 
Mar 13, 2012

Scammed into a bundle package

Galiffe,

I can understand why you would be frustrated. I would be more than happy to help, if I could just get some more information. When you chose to bundle your services, did you already have DISH service?

All companies have special offers for new customers. After that promotion period ends the bill goes up accordingly to the package you subscribe. We offer the lowest pricing in the Pay-TV industry with 5 packages under $45 for the first 12 months. After those 12 months the bill will increase, however we do still offer the best value with our low cost packages.

You can send me a message here, or an email to [email protected] for further assistance. I can answer any questions or concerns.

Tommy Faust
DISH Social Media Representative
Whythelongfaces Send email
 
Mar 13, 2012

Scammed into a bundle package

ALL locked in prices are for a contract. ALL special promotions last only a short time. Any reasonable person knows that.
[email protected] Network Send email
 
Mar 12, 2012

Unjust cancellation charges

Lippea,

I am sorry for any mis understanding and frustrations you experienced. I would be happy to provide more information to assist with this.

The price freeze until 2013 took effect in February 2011 after a $5 price increase. The other increase you experienced sounds like it may have been from a promotion. I would have to look at the account to get more exact information on the increase.

You are allowed by law to have a dish on any of your exclusive property such as a Balcony, or Patio. This link http://www.fcc.gov/guides/over-air-reception-devices-rule can provide more detailed information. Our technicians would have to check for line of sight from an available area to see what would be possible.

As purpledice mentioned, you can definitely change your programming package. If you would like any assistance with that change, or if you have any questions, please message me here. You can also reach me at [email protected] to look into anything further.

Tommy Faust
DISH Social Media Representative
Lippea Send email
 
Mar 11, 2012

Unjust cancellation charges

I had service since November 2010, by January 2011 charges increased and again continued to increase steadily because of increased pricing, according to them, even though I supposedly had a 'Price Guarantee Package'. NOT so!! I called several times expressing concern as to why each time I received a statement which had to be auto billed to receive 'price guarantee', the charges were higher.

In August I lost my job and called them to cancel service for obvious reasons and on 8/15/11 spoke with csr, Sarah. Explained to her my situation which also resulted in having to move from service address and she explained my options. 1 of 2 things, I can put account on pause for 6mos until my job situation improves, or move outside of service area, I can cancel without fee. I called today to ask where to return equipment and/or how and was informed by csr, Joyce, that I was given 'wrong' information and that I still would be responsible for the $295.00 cancellation fee. I explained once again that I still am out of work and moved into a room-4-rent and that cable is provided and LL doesn't allowed any installation of dish/satellites. I sent them a letter as instructed by 1st rep, sarah, from me and also a letter from my LL stating this. Joyce reminded me that I had a commitment and I would be charged for this no matter what my issues were! I reminded her that Dish also made a commitment to me when I signed up for service that I had a "Price Guarantee" 'til 2013 that they were responsible for, I had service for less than 8 months and my charges increase 3 times. Where's their commitment for price guarantee??
Purpledice Send email
 
Mar 11, 2012

Unjust cancellation charges

Yes, you do have to pay to return their equipment which I was not willing to do after having been a customer for numerous years so I did this upon their recommendation: Call and ask to switch to the welcome package. It is at least 60 channels plus local stations and only 15 a month and you can stay on it as long as you want.
Embra Send email
 
Mar 6, 2012

Dish Network has set me on fire today

Dish Network has set me on fire today. I canceled my service after two and half years, because Direct TV offered me an incredible discount. I fulfilled my two year contract. I am more than willing to give their equipment back; however, I refuse to pay $15 per box. I do not see how it is my responsibility to pay for this shipping cost. I contacted Dish and was switched around to four people and finally got a hold of the executive branch and he informed me that it was their policy and that I signed a contract stating that. I said show me a copy of my signature with that statement; I informed him that I had the original contract in hand. The only agreement I signed was if I was in fault of my two year contract then I would be responsible for shipping. I fulfilled my contract. It also said that it is my responsibility to return the equipment in good condition within 30 days of cancelation. He laughed and said, "exactly, we don’t state what you will have to do, we simply state it is your responsibility to return the equipment." I said, "I am more than willing to drop it off at the nearest Dish location. He said they will not accept it and I will be charged for the equipment. I said fine I will have all the boxes pulled together; I will even climb a ladder to get your part off the satellite and they will be sitting on my front porch, come and get it, my responsiblity is fulfilled, you know where the boxes are. It is on my front porch and it is now trespassing on my property. He hung up on me.

I think this should be illegal, if it is not already illegal. I never signed any documents stating that I would agree to this charge. Dish Network made a lot of money from me, and to do this to me is so sorry. This is making a lot of people very angry. I could understand if I didn't fulfill my contact, but I did. I could have switched months prior to save money, but I didn't, because I wanted to fulfill my agreement with Dish. How sorry of a company to try to nickel and dime you once you cancel. And the worst of it is, that every two years Direct TV and Dish network send me something to make me want to switch, Its a game for them and I play the game. I more than likely would have switched back to Dish once I was done with my agreement with Direct TV; because the initial yearly cost is worth it. But this has made me so angry that I will not switch back to Dish. I switched from Direct TV to Dish over 2 year ago, (really because Bellsouth did and I followed) and they never charged me this fee.
Jeanetteoro Send email
 
Mar 6, 2012

Dish Network has set me on fire today

They have me on fire too. It amazes me how they can still be in service. I still cannot get an invoice correct. There ad for FREE HD and anything else along with a 19.99 promotion is just a gimmick to entice people. They refuse to deal with my issues, better put they will deal with them for a fee since, I don't have the added warranty, REALLY. I am so unhappy with this service and the best they could do was tell me "I am sorry, we can remove Dish for a $380.00 early termination fee at this time". I cannot even watch TV with the channels changing by themselves, workmanship was very poor, cables everywhere, DVR does it's own thing when it wants, Controls are out of control, no pun intended, just change randomly, and the best they could say there is that they can get a technician to re-program their very sensitive remotes, for a fee!
[email protected] Network Send email
 
Mar 6, 2012

Taking Money & Not Refunding As Promised

mfradiue,

We are here to provide assistance to customers online. I would be happy to look this over and provide any assistance. Can you send me a message here with more information please?

Tommy Faust
DISH Social Media Representative
[email protected] Network Send email
 
Mar 6, 2012

Dish Network has set me on fire today

Embra,

I can definitely understand why you would be frustrated over that $15 return fee. The fee can be found at www.dish.com/legal in our Resdiential Customer Agreement. We do value your service with us, and I would be happy to review your account and look into this further with you. Can you send me a message here with more information? If you feel more comfortable, you can reach me at [email protected] and I can check this out.

Tommy Faust
DISH Social Media Representative
Mfradiue Send email
 
Mar 6, 2012

Taking Money & Not Refunding As Promised

Its good to know there is someone you can talk to. Dish owes me money; I canceled my subscription while still on the phone with Chauncey, who by the way did not cancel, but charged me extra money and hung up in my face!!!

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username