Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Getaroom.com

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about Getaroom.com

annrandy123 Send email
 
May 15, 2019

getaroom

I booked a room at the Days Inn website (or what I thought was their site) After booking I noticed there was a use and resort fee added. I was not informed of this before I booked, When we got to the Days Inn I complained about it. The owner was there and said they would do what they could to make things right that all I had to do was cancel the reservation and the company that accepted the reservation would confirm the cancellation which they did. They gave me a case number and said to wait 5 days for a credit to appear on my PayPal account. I waited the 5 days and of course there was no refund. I tried calling and couldn"t talk to anyone. It was all automated. Go figure! I'm out the money and on top of that Days Inn charged me for a room minus the use ans resort fee. All in all it cost me two and a half times what the normal price for the room would be plus they neglected to tell us that the pool was down for renovations. We were in town for doctor appointments. NEVER again!!!
jkoeniger Send email
 
Jan 4, 2019

Fraudulent Company

I unfortunately have also been scammed by getaroom.com. I went to the Hampton Inn website to book a room. Somehow this company has figured out how to intercept direct bookings without thenusthe user knowing what has occurred. I was traveling at the time I booked so it was nearly a week before I realized that my card had been charged an excessive amount of money over the taxes and fees associated with the room (I was unaware that I was even booking a prepaid room). I located the confirmation email and cancelled the room but I am being told that my money will not be refunded (even though the hotel allows cancellations until 24 hours before check in). This company needs to shut down and sued for their fraudulent business practices.
FROCH Send email
 
Dec 4, 2018

GETAROOM

I used this company to book a reservation for two nights with Pinnacle Hotel in Vancouver, BC, Canada. I was unaware that the site is not based in Canada and thought I was booking directly with the hotel.

When I booked the reservation, the young man (who was very difficult to understand) offered me a 25% deal - one room for one night at $144. He stated that in order to get the deal, he would need to book each night separately. During the reservation process, I clarified that he was offering $144 CAD per night for the room and he agreed.

I then checked my email, only to find a charge of $165.32 USD per reservation per night. This is nothing short of fraud. I tried to cancel one of the reservations – and Getaroom then cancelled the room but charged $165.32 as a cancellation fee.

I called the agency twice and was told the manager was at lunch, then not available. I asked for a supervisor and was told there is no supervisor. The company issued two “untitled tickets” so that I could state my complaints. I completed them and have received no response.

I tried to reverse the charges on my credit card, but Getaroom wasted no time in charging my credit card. I am now out $436.06 CAD for one night as the other reservation has been cancelled.

If I could give no stars, the rating would be more accurate. This company should be shut down.

RESERVATION #: R1306944119 AND R1306946859
eli_deleva Send email
 
Oct 16, 2018

Missing Reservation

DO NOT USE GETAROOM.COM.
This company is useless. I have confirmed reservation for hotel in Larnaca, Cyprus and when I went to the hotel they told me they do not have it. I called GETAROOM.COM , sent them an email but they haven't done anything .
I have to pay again and still waiting for refund.
NEVER USE GETAROOM TO AVOID STRESSFULL HOLIDAY..............
cjarpps Send email
 
Sep 12, 2018

policy/price

DO NOT USE GET A ROOM!!!!

Like others, I thought I was on the hotel website. I booked a room in an emergency, hurricane. They charged more than the hotel and the fees were greater than a night's stay. The time to change the reservation was 2 hours earlier then the actual hotel's policy. When I told them the hotel's policy, they stated that I did not book through the hotel. I could change my reservation, pay for the original booking and the new booking too. They are horrible.
cjarpps Send email
 
Sep 12, 2018

policy/Price

Booked a room in an emergency situation, hurricane. I was over charged compared to the actual hotel price and the cancellation time frame was 2 hours earlier than the hotel's. Like the other people posted, they said I could cancel and rebook but I would have to pay for the original booking too. When I told them the hotel's policy, they told me I did not book through the hotel. And like the previous post stated, the website is cleverly disguised. Do not use this service!!! They are horrible.
Dstraver Send email
 
Jul 5, 2018

Overcharged $200 by Getaroom

I was overcharged $200. When I contacted customer service they were rude and unhelpful it was them who overcharged me and they refused to refund and cancel my booking. They offered to cancel my booking but still charge me in full, it was simply blackmail. So upsetting what should have been simple turned into being ripped off and treated so poorly.

Never ever use this company
Dstraver Send email
 
Jul 5, 2018

Overcharged $200 by Getaroom

I was overcharged $200. when I called customer service they were very rude and unhelpful refusing to refund and cancel booking even though I was overcharged, they kept quoting different terms terms and conditions that I hadn’t agreed to and changed what they were quoting eg dates and times of cancellation agreement. They are out and out con merchants, it is so horrible that feeling of being ripped off and this company rips you off and shows no empathy for their customer. The only assistance they offered was to still charge me in full and cancel my booking, a double slap in the face.
ranmcmahon Send email
 
Apr 28, 2018

Fraud

My Chase card accepted a charge for some reason. I don't know if getaroom was involved but it happened, about a $1150 charge that I immediately disputed. Thank goodness I have "card not present" text alerts on the account or I might not have caught it.

Chase is typically pretty good with the fraud alerts, even a bit overzealous but they missed this one.
Ragini Send email
 
Mar 4, 2018

Never recommend to anyone

Our recent experience with getaroom was very unpleasant. They have no consideration for their customers. There is flexibility or understanding about customers' unavoidable circumstances. We never recommend to anyone
Ragini Send email
 
Mar 4, 2018

Never recommend to anyone

Our recent experience with getaroom was very unpleasant. There is no flexibility or understanding about customer's needs.

I would not never recommend this website to anyone.
Robynne Send email
 
Jan 26, 2018

getaroom.com is a joke

Unfortunately I was ver unsatisfied with my recent experience with getaroom.com. I booked through them because I was able to save $30 a night for a stay at The Galt House in Louisville, KY. I specifically wanted to stay at the hotel because the event I was attending was located there. I found out 3 days before my check in date that they moved me from The Galt House to the Residence Inn which is about a mile away. This was very upsetting but I figured at that point, I had no other choice. When we checked into the Residence Inn, getaroom.com's credit card was being declined forcing us to wait in the lobby for nearly an hour while the attendant called getaroom.com, transferred several time, put on hold for long periods of time and was eventually told they would have to call her back. Luckily the attendant was very pleasant, told us she could clearly see it was their credit card that was causing the problem and let us go ahead and check in after spending about an hour in the lobby waiting. The Residence Inn's manager was finally able to straighten everything out with them the following morning. When I returned home, I emailed getaroom.com direct to tell them how upset I was with their service and they only offered me 10% back on my $400+ adventure with them. I told them I am not a fan of giving bad reviews but felt I had no other choice after they were unwilling to provide anything other than 10% back. Heck the cost of a night at the Galt House vs Residence Inn is alot more than that. I will never use this service again!!
Robynne Send email
 
Jan 26, 2018

unsatisfied with getaroom.com

Unfortunately I was ver unsatisfied with my recent experience with getaroom.com. I booked through them because I was able to save $30 a night for a stay at The Galt House in Louisville, KY. I specifically wanted to stay at the hotel because the event I was attending was located there. I found out 3 days before my check in date that they moved me from The Galt House to the Residence Inn which is about a mile away. This was very upsetting but I figured at that point, I had no other choice. When we checked into the Residence Inn, getaroom.com's credit card was being declined forcing us to wait in the lobby for nearly an hour while the attendant called getaroom.com, transferred several time, put on hold for long periods of time and was eventually told they would have to call her back. Luckily the attendant was very pleasant, told us she could clearly see it was their credit card that was causing the problem and let us go ahead and check in after spending about an hour in the lobby waiting. The Residence Inn's manager was finally able to straighten everything out with them the following morning. When I returned home, I emailed getaroom.com direct to tell them how upset I was with their service and they only offered me 10% back on my $400+ adventure with them. I told them I am not a fan of giving bad reviews but felt I had no other choice after they were unwilling to provide anything other than 10% back. Heck the cost of a night at the Galt House vs Residence Inn is alot more than that. I will never use this service again!!
John Smith Send email
 
Jan 22, 2018

No refund

I will never use this company again! I thought I was calling a hotel directly and this company answered. The representative assured me that she could save me 30 percent off regular rates of hotels and I should book with the company. I explained to her that I wanted an oceanfront room. I had drove 1000 miles to see the ocean! She made the reservation. I again asked her to be sure that it was oceanfront. She put me on hold for almost 5 minutes and came back on the phone and said that she doubled checked with hotel directly and that it was. I then went to the hotel and proceeded to check in. This is when I was informed that I had a room facing the parking lot and street. I then called the booking company back and they told me that even though the mistake was their fault, I should had put company on hold and double checked the reservation with the hotel before I confirmed my booking. She went on to say that, no matter if my reservation was made to a wrong city, it would not be their fault even if they did it. They would give no refund. Therefore, my first big night at the ocean was ruined. I do not believe this is a legitimate company.
John Smith Send email
 
Jan 22, 2018

Getaroom.com

I will never use this company again! I thought I was calling a hotel directly and this company answered. The representative assured me that she could save me 30 percent off regular rates of hotels and I should book with the company. I explained to her that I wanted an oceanfront room. I had drove 1000 miles to see the ocean! She made the reservation. I again asked her to be sure that it was oceanfront. She put me on hold for almost 5 minutes and came back on the phone and said that she doubled checked with hotel directly and that it was. I then went to the hotel and proceeded to check in. This is when I was informed that I had a room facing the parking lot and street. I then called the booking company back and they told me that even though the mistake was their fault, I should had put company on hold and double checked the reservation with the hotel before I confirmed my booking. She went on to say that, no matter if my reservation was made to a wrong city, it would not be their fault even if they did it. They would give no refund. Therefore, my first big night at the ocean was ruined. I do not believe this is a legitimate company.
feehan2006 Send email
 
Dec 11, 2017

Over Charged

Stay away....Was over charged by $150 for the same nights same room as the hotel offered. I thought I was dealing with hotel directly as many others I see by the reviews. When I checked out I noticed a bill from the hotel for the $150 cheaper. Called the customer service and they stated "oh, they shouldn't of showed you that they were cheaper then us"..Offered no resolution of the situation.
battleborn Send email
 
Nov 7, 2017

Ripoff

YOU ARE AT YOUR OWN RISK OF HAVING YOUR BOOKING CANCELLED WITHOUT NOTICE IF YOU USE THIS COMPANY. I am not kidding, this company left me hanging after they'd already taken my money for the reservation. I get to the hotel and the manager says "Oh, getaroom.com has cancelled your reservation without reason." Now just imagine getting off a redeye to hear that about a room you already paid for. One thing that you CANNOT say after you read this is that "Well, nobody told me." You can't say that at all. This company is ran absolutely horribly, they are inattentive, and you will risk not having a room at all if you have the displeasure and unluckiness of having to contact them for a room. If you're third party website (expedia, travelocity, etc) sends you to them, cancel your itinerary immediately without delay and go with someone else. Better to start to the refund/reimbursement process as soon as possible, rather than delaying and having them get the upper hand, CANCEL THEM IMMEDIATELY.There are many other services out there who are about their business and will get you a room WITHOUT screwing you over in the process. Do not read this and be a dummy and try to say "I WASN'T WARNED!"
Jamimo Send email
 
Nov 2, 2017

Dumb ass Employees

What rat customer service, instead of them paying for there mistakes, me and my family did!!! These scumbags are illeterate dumbasses . I reapeatedly said I needed a pet friendly hotel, and these sons of bitches .. Booked my hotel room for a non pet friendly hotel. When I clearly said pet friendly and the stupid lady agreed.. Now good thing I called and confirmed. Because me and family wouldn’t have a chance to fix this messed they created..I asked them , now what am I supposed todo about having a place to stay for my family.. These assholes had the nerve to insult me with 10% discount.... Now a real company would’ve done anything to make there customers happy.. But I was only offered 10 ### %%%% Scum bags ..... Warning this so called Company are bunch of Scam artist
Jamimo Send email
 
Nov 2, 2017

Disrespectful Scumbags

Worst So called Company... Full of shit scumbags.... Dumb customer service.. I reappeted my self several times I have to small animals , and I wanted a pet friendly hotel.. so she offered Days In hotel. Good thing I called to confirm, because it was kind of strange I didn’t get a confirmation email.. So the hotels saids they are not pet friendly, and then I called this so called company back. What I got as a compensation, from there ### up!!! Is a ### 10% discount.. Now, I do not know if there trying to insult me? But I definitely know that was an insult.. I will definitely not recommend this company.. They are the worst of worst... I don’t know how they can take your money right away and not give it back right away.. This assholes need to learn, what good Customer Service is... Retarded Impudent Employees
rbc Send email
 
Oct 14, 2017

Scam

I went on a specific hotel site. I thought I was booking direct with a hotel. After I submitted my request - I got an email from getaroom.com.... It was for the WRONG hotel - and had a service fee tacked on that exceeded one nights room rate

I called within 12 hours and asked to cancel this reservation - they have refused to do anything. ( the reservation request is for May 2018) They say it is ALL non refundable.

I called the reservations desk at the hotel. Yes, they have a reservation in my name, correct dates, wrong hotel - there are multiples os this same hotel chain in the city). The reservation was made thru Priceline.

Getaroom.com is not a booking site. It is a scam. A con, they take a huge fee for doing something another company does.

I do not know how they manage to substitute their site - for the hotel site.

I want a refund
Jackhr99 Send email
 
Sep 9, 2017

getaroom.com

This is a deeply rooted unethical company. After calling a 1 800 number and thinking I was talking directly to a hotel, I gave them my credit card number. When I realized what company I was talking to I asked to cancel this reservation because one was already booked for me at the hotel I thought I was calling. They refused to cancel and sent me to another customer service line who then proceeded to tell me they have a no cancelation policy.

I have called multiple times and found that this would have happened again if I were not wiser. In other words, the fraud here is deeply rooted. My guess is that this exceeds what we have seen at Wells Fargo. Please avoid this company and be on the watch for an appeal to join a class action lawsuit.
maite Send email
 
Aug 31, 2017

getaroom.com

FRAUDE!!!
Do not book with getaroom.com , they are a cheating company!!!

I booked my room and they charged me full. When I arrived to the hotel 24 days later, there wasn´t any room for me, no reservation made from getaroom and they didn´t give me back my money.
No vacation and no money.
annapurna Send email
 
Aug 31, 2017

getaroom.com

I, TOO, WAS A VICTIM OF FRAUD BY GETAROOM.COM. I WENT TO THE FAIRFIELD MARRIOT WEBSITE TO BOOK DIRECT BECAUSE THE ROOM RATE WAS THE SAME AS THE VARIOUS ONLINE BOOKING AGENTS. I BOOKED MY ROOM AND PUT MY CREDIT CARD INFO IN. WHEN IT CAME BACK WITH WHAT MY CARD WOULD BE CHARGED THERE WAS $169.00 FEE ATTACHED. I IMMEDIATELY CALLED THE NUMBER AND WAS TOLD TOO BAD, THIS WAS IN SOME FINE PRINT. I CALLED THE HOTEL DIRECT AND WAS TOLD I HAD A RESERVATION THROUGH EXPEDIA.COM NOT THROUGH MARRIOT. I GOT A CONFIRMATION ON MY EMAIL SAYING I HAD BOOKED THROUGH GETAROOM.COM WHO I HAD NEVER HEARD OF. I CALLED MY CREDIT CARD COMPANY IMMEDIATELY TO DISPUTE THE CHARGE, BUT IT HASN'T SHOWN UP YET. THIS COMPANY MUST BE MADE ACCOUNTABLE FOR THEIR FRAUDULENT ACTIONS.
Mrs johnson Send email
 
Aug 18, 2017

Over charge

$400 fee on 1100 room. Scammers. How can we shut them down?
susan88 Send email
 
Aug 15, 2017

FRAUD

WAS DIRECTED TO GETAROOM.COM WHILE ON MARRIOT HOTELS WEBSITE WITHOUT MY KNOWLEDGE, ENTERED MY CARD INFORMATION , WHEN SCREEN TO REVIEW CHARGES APPEARED THE CHARGE WAS $200.00 MORE THAN ROOM CHARGE! I DID NOT AUTHORIZE CHARGE AND IT AUTOMATICALLY CHARGED MY CREDIT CARD. IMMEDIATELY CALLED NUMBER ON RESERVATION CONFIRMATION EMAIL (NOT FROM MARRIOT AS EXPECTED BUT FROM GETAROOM.COM), THEY REFUSED TO CANCEL, "NO REFUNDS". WE INFORMED THEM THAT WE DID NOT AUTHORIZE THE CHARGE AND NO INTENTION OF BUSINESS WITH THEM, NO HELP FROM THEM. WHEN WE CHECKED INTO HOTEL, IN THEIR COMPUTER STATES "PRICELINE.COM". TRAVELERS BEWARE OF THIS SCAM!

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Hallmark channel - Where’s Golden Girls
    I watch Golden Girls every morning and every night. I...
    Mydin - STAFF BIADAP
    Pada tarikh 23/07/2019 lebih kurang jam 0100pm saya dan...
    Esse Immigration pvtltd - This is an official response from Esse Immigration
    Hi Srinivasan, This is an official response from Esse...
    Leons Furniture - False Advertising and Misleading terms and Conditions
    BUYER BEWARE! There is no such thing as "Integrity...
    ENOC - Promotion
    Respected sir, I am Abdul Hakeem...
    Pos Laju Transit Office - Item not received yet
    My item still at pos laju transit office and i waiting so...
    PCH Games - Keno ads interference with game
    I can't even play 2 boards on KENO, because of the...
    HackerForHireReview.com | Neighborhoodhacker.com - Hacking Service
    Hello everyone, i would like to share my story with you...
    Celcom - FULL BAR 4G LINE MCM E HANAT
    Mcm pantat line 4G full bar download 300+ kb/s anjing line
    Nor-dtfee.com - Addebito non autorizzato
    addebito non autorizzato buongiorno da un controllo si...

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Hallmark channel - Where’s Golden Girls
    I watch Golden Girls every morning and every night. I...
    Mydin - STAFF BIADAP
    Pada tarikh 23/07/2019 lebih kurang jam 0100pm saya dan...
    Esse Immigration pvtltd - This is an official response from Esse Immigration
    Hi Srinivasan, This is an official response from Esse...
    Leons Furniture - False Advertising and Misleading terms and Conditions
    BUYER BEWARE! There is no such thing as "Integrity...
    ENOC - Promotion
    Respected sir, I am Abdul Hakeem...
    Pos Laju Transit Office - Item not received yet
    My item still at pos laju transit office and i waiting so...
    PCH Games - Keno ads interference with game
    I can't even play 2 boards on KENO, because of the...
    HackerForHireReview.com | Neighborhoodhacker.com - Hacking Service
    Hello everyone, i would like to share my story with you...
    Celcom - FULL BAR 4G LINE MCM E HANAT
    Mcm pantat line 4G full bar download 300+ kb/s anjing line
    Nor-dtfee.com - Addebito non autorizzato
    addebito non autorizzato buongiorno da un controllo si...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username