Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Getaroom.com

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about Getaroom.com

clwyze Send email
 
Jul 14, 2017

Getaroom needs to get me MY room!

I received a reservation # R826420219 on July 4th which after 9 days is still showing as "unable to be found" when I log into the GETAROOM site to check the " my reservations" it states "sorry unable to locate". Which is the SAME issue I am having with Walt Disney Resort Reservations. So I took it upon myself to call the WDW property who by the way was AMAZING, they took the time to look in every possible spot using every possible way of locating my SO CALLED Reservation from Getaroom. Walt Disney is also telling me that there is nothing in their system and I should call the booking agent. I was also informed that the reservation SHOULD show on their end IMMEDIATELY "if" one was made. I am very frustrated as I am missing out on the opportunity to make dining reservations and or fast pass reservations. I am now also unable to book a room at the resort as it is currently completely booked. Each and every person I contact offers a different story, most although use the 5 more days are needed and of course the "I am sorry"! Why hasn't this company been shut down????????
My Original Ticket number issued is Request #1304435 submitted by Jeanette Ng.
s.e.carlson16@gmail.com Send email
 
Jul 13, 2017

Not the hotel brand's website, but cleverly disguised!

I googled a hotel brand & specific city --- the first listing looked legitimate and the web address included the brand's hotel name --- when I followed the link, again the website looked legitimate. I called the toll-free reservation number.
I should have known something was up when they had to put me on hold to find the wedding-block room rate, and when the rate quoted was for non-refundable reservations only.
After I'd booked the room, I realized that the "taxes & service fees" were 1/2 the room rate ---- much more than expected!
When I called back to have it explained and wasn't satisfied, I finally thought to call the actual hotel and found out I'd been dealing with a 3rd party vendor --- getaroom.com --- and not the hotel brand's reservation people!!
It took well over an hour and 3 different representatives before they agreed to both cancel the reservation AND provide a refund!!!
It was extremely frustrating and I felt like I was scammed by the way their website was listed/advertised!! They are definitely drawing people in with the listing's wording and the website's look --- they are not a reputable business in my opinion.
I have learned my lesson! Terrible company!
cmcochran20 Send email
 
Mar 29, 2017

No room after confirmed reservation

Arrived at Kempinski Hotel in Amman, Jordan. Even though I had a confirmed reservation and my credit card had been charged, the hotel said no record of it and none of those rooms available. Because I was stuck I accepted an upgraded room for a much higher additional charge. Hotel staff was cordial but this is ridiculous. When is a confirmed room reservation not. Doesn't the company that took the money have an obligation to provide the service? We will be taking Getaroom off my company's approved vendor list. Robert Diener, you have a problem
awiggie Send email
 
Mar 20, 2017

Lied about my room

This company is the absolute WORST booking agency EVER! The man I booked my reservation with guaranteed that I would have a room with 2 queen beds, because I told him I was travelling with 3 adults (2 that were elderly). When I got the email confirmation, it said 1 king or 2 queen beds. I called them back and they told me that I had to call the hotel directly. (That was another misleading experience, because the man intially told me they were the hotel, but then got cagey with his answers as I continued to talk to him). The hotel said they could not access my reservation with this 3rd party booking company, and could not guarantee the room, AND told me that they had NO roll-away beds, even if I wanted to pay for one. The Getaroom people kept me on the phone for almost 3 hours, over 3 different phone calls and would not help me whatsoever! I even found out that if I had booked through the hotel directly, their rates were much better. Don't be fooled by these crooks. They were rude and totally unaccomodating.
Fastwelder Send email
 
Feb 10, 2017

Taxes and fees. Room prices

I called hotels number i thought .The person who answered led me to believe he worked for LA Quinta. I booked a room for 159.00 +taxes and fees which turned into 241.19. When I got to hotel they said going rate was 151.49.taxes included but couldn't give me the lower rate because it was third party booking.getaroom had charged me 90.30 over going rate, 73.49 of it was billed as a tax recovery fee. When I called them to complain, they hung up on me 4 times. The 5th time I finally got someone to refund the 73.49, but wouldn't match the rate available at the hotel. Beware of this site.deceptive,and dishonest. SCAM .
bettymah68 Send email
 
Dec 10, 2016

Wrong rates to hotel provided

My husband had called a hotel directly and somehow was transferred to a third party company (which he was not informed of), thus my husband had believed he was talking to the hotel directly and locally. The agent did not identify himself as an agent of Getaroom. He had identified that he was with the hotel. We are from Canada. The agent quoted him a decent rate for the hotel and had quoted him in Canadian dollars. He went ahead with the booking. After less than 10 minutes from the phone call, my husband received an email of the confirmation. We were astounded that it was booked and charged to our credit card in US dollars making the hotel rate much higher than what he was quoted on the phone. He called immediately and they had told him that there was nothing they could do and that cancellation had to be done 48 hours prior to day of arrival. The reservation was made on the day of his arrival (actually 5 hrs prior to his arrival). On the confirmation, it states in black and white that if he had to cancel, he needed to so prior to 4pm (local time) on the day of arrival. He called at 9am that day which is also 10 minutes after he made the reservation. In the end, they were really rude and unhelpful, considering they made the error. Then when he checked into the hotel, the hotel told him that he had to pay the Canadian amount after he checks out. He even showed him the confirmation that "Getaroom" had charged the full amount in US dollars to this credit card. The hotel says that they do not see that on their side. So now, we are fighting with the hotel and Getaroom as now the charge will be over $1000 instead of $400 for a 3 night stay.

Such a headache....Getaroom sucks big time, they are rude, not friendly at all. DON'T USE THEM AT ALL!!!!! VERY BAD COMPANY!!!!!
salah Send email
 
Nov 18, 2016

Getaroom with get lost attitude

Horrible Experience

"warning warning danger danger"
I have booked my hotel for six days 10 month's in advance costs me $900. I accidentally cancelled my reservation so i emailed getaroom about reinstating my reservation for the same period however getaroom advised me that this is non refundable reservation. I understand non refund policy but i don't want my money back just a bit of understanding,support and reinstating my reservation. Getaroom attitude was bad luck and Get lost with 0% sympathy.
Now i have no reservation or money in the bank😂😂😂.
Reservation # R667193200
THANK YOU VERY MUCH GETAROOM
Menofgod Send email
 
Oct 25, 2016

SCAM

The person on the phone portrayed themselves as being employed by of Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham on October 21st. He booked my room for 2 nights for November 4th and 5th. I called the Hotel to cancel the next day due to change of plans. I was told that I didn't book a room through their hotel, it was a third party by the name of get a room. She kindly cancelled my room and I called fetch a room. They told me to read your email their is No Refund. I told them that this should have been stated over the phone before my credit card information was taken and not in an email. I then notified my credit card company of this fraud. The company claims to be affiliated with price line. I called price and they also cancelled my reservation. I am reporting this company to the BBB. I have never used a company that takes pleasure in openly committing fraud . What a shame
svmlcp63 Send email
 
Jun 12, 2016

hotel under construction

Booked what I thought was a good hotel only to arrive and find out hotel is under construction. Told construction starts at 9 am every day. Total chaos. AC not working. Had to call front desk twice and all they did was lower the thermostat to 60 and still not cooling the room. This is a total sham and I would never recommend using this site. Good luck to anyone who wants a refund. This was a non refundable rate. If I had known hotel was under construction before I booked I would have passed on the so called great rate.
Stephaniefinley11 Send email
 
Jun 2, 2016

No confirmation at hotelj

I reserved a room at a hotel via getaroom.com. It took them over 4 hours to relocate us to another hotel, while they claim the hotel overbooked. However, their compensation was going from a 2 star to a 2.5 star property? Such compensation when you've been drug around for 4 hours and basically lied to by this company. I do NOT suggest booking through Getaroom.com. We travel frequently and you would think being with Trip Advisor, it would give them some type of dependability, wrong! They simply continued to throw the responsibility onto the hotel instead of taking responsibility for their actions.

If this happens to you, continually call them until you get rebooked into another hotel. While on the line with them, if possible, go to the relocated property to ensure they have a reservation for you.
Dalisch Send email
 
May 6, 2016

Hotel doesn't have the reservation

I reserved a hotel room in Athens through getaroom, i'm in the hotel now and they told me that they haven't received any reservation on my name from getaroom, and that they don't even know getaroom... And now I'm in Athens with no place to stay, and getaroom has already take the money... What can I do?
Booking ref: 1197025.
kenny0213 Send email
 
Apr 26, 2016

Suddenly cancel my booking

On 14 April, I booked one room in Hong Kong Gold Coast Hotel and the check in date is 1 May. Which is confirmed immediately. I am looking forward to spend my holiday with my family there. However, on 23 April, I received the email saying that my booking is cancelled due to the rate that I booked is only for US residents only. But the problem is I never see that terms during my booking and they suddenly added this terms 10 days after confirmed my booking? If they have stated this terms clearly during the booking or cancel my booking immediately I still have chance to book somewhere else with a reasonable price, but now i can only book the same room with 4 times the original price! My holiday is destroyed by this company. The worst is their staff didn't answer my email, they only reply "we expressly reserve the right to correct any pricing errors of Travel Agent Services and/or pending reservations made under an incorrect price.", but this term never show during my booking either. I feel angry and very disappointed and never refer this company to any of my friends.
Sktlamour10 Send email
 
Apr 20, 2016

Unauthorized charge

Never authorized charge!!!!
lisielove2 Send email
 
Feb 20, 2016

Getaroom.com HUGE scam! BEWARE

I found what I thought was a great rate on Best Western, called them, the agent answered, took my request and said Best Western in North Myrtle Beach had no vacancy, but she had other room available at another location. I told her I wanted a queen suite because there were 5 of us and I needed be close to the Pirates Voyage Dinner Theater in North Myrtle Beach, on the strip. Agent was super excited about the deal she found me, and even upsold me on a "premium room" I asked her what the difference of a delux and premium room was. She said a Premium room was on a higher floor. I like higher floors so I paid an additional $20 to have a higher floor. I verified the location with her and she even gave me driving directions. She asked me if I knew where the amusement park was on the strip, I said no, but I know where the sky wheel is. She said "OH GREAT! its just a few blocks from there". She said it was between Tanger outlets and Pirates Voyage. PERFECT! sold! I get to Myrtle Beach, finish up at Tanger, put my directions in and the hotel was over 16 miles away! We go past Pirates Voyage dinner theater and drive another 30 minutes. Mind you this was on Valentines and was a special treat for my husband and 3 teenage kids. We get there, and our room was just 2 queen beds. I pull up my receipt from getaroom, and it says 5 people / premium queen suite. The lady then "upgrades me" for free! REALLY... she upgraded me to what I paid for! Get to the room and it stunk! TERRIBLE TERRIBLE smell. called Getaroom, they said go to the lobby and file a complaint. I did. They said call Getaroom to get your refund authorized. I did. I spent over 1 hour on the phone on hold with getaroom. It is now 1 week later and neither getaroom nor the hotel will refund my money. Getaroom will NOT let me listen to the recorded phone call. They said the agent told me tanger was 7 miles not blocks. Well.. thats great because the agent and I never discussed miles, or how far from Tanger it was. We discussed how far from the sky wheel it was - a few blocks. The hotel was not even in North Myrtle and no where near the strip, the sky wheel, Pirates voyage.. nothing! The hotel, Springmaid Beach Resort, didn't check us out even though we gave them our keys 15 minutes after we checked in and left. They will not print us a record of our reservation. HORRIBLE experience. HORRIBLE hotel. HORRIBLE booking service. Lesson learned! My bank is now fighting this. BEWARE! customer service is aweful at Getaroom. They DO NOT know what they are talking about. They just want to make a hard sell and get your money.
kannanrn Send email
 
Feb 9, 2016

Dont book with cheating company

I booked a hotel for my holiday and they got back to me after 30 days and said that they are unable to secure reservation and offering worst rated alternative options . Such an unprofessional customer service .
Helene mckay Send email
 
Jan 16, 2016

Not explain it was a Us site

I was charge $449.19 on my credit card because I was not explain that I was reserving a room on a US site and I was to stupid to know that....The gentlement was reserving me a room At the Springhill Suite in Vaughan Ontario, The cost was $309.90 and when I receive the confirmation it was $449.19.I tried to cancel and get my money back but it was not refundable...they were able to cancel my room...the hotel were not going to charge them but they were charging me...getaroom resaver is rip off company...they shouldnt exist..they should advise people they are calling a US site..they should advise people that it would be converted when they receive there invoice..
Helene Mckay reservation number127170061604 I would like you to know that getaroom charge my american $449.19 ....do you think that is right and fair??????? Do you think that a company like this should exist....????? Please advise me ...what should I do...Im not the only one that it happens too....I call Getaroom resaver and they were able to reverse the cancellation ...why should I not get the room when I have to pay this large amount and not stay there?????....Why would they cancel my room.....??????.
Helene mckay Send email
 
Jan 16, 2016

Not explain it was a Us site

I was charge $449.19 on my credit card because I was not explain that I was reserving a room on a US site and I was to stupid to know that....The gentlement was reserving me a room At the Springhill Suite in Vaughan Ontario, The cost was $309.90 and when I receive the confirmation it was $449.19.I tried to cancel and get my money back but it was not refundable...they were able to cancel my room...the hotel were not going to to charge them but they were charging me...getaroom resaver is rip off company...they shouldnt exist..they should advise people they are calling a US site..thet should advise people that it would be converted when they receive there invoice..
Helene Mckay reservation number127170061604
mkalui Send email
 
Oct 27, 2015

no confirmation for my booked room

I need a hotel confirmation to claim insurance , but I still not received yet.
I booked a room of Cebu "Radisson Blu Cebu" hotel on 20/10. And the check in date is 20/10 to 21/10 , stay one night that under guest of Mr. Yu hiu fung.
The payment had done by HK Citibank CREDIT CARD that under name of LUI MAN KAM.
Since I forgot the booking no., so I hope you can check and resend the confirmation to my email address of
"perry_mankam@yahoo.com.hk".

Thanks so much

Perry LUI
From hk
ettal5 Send email
 
Oct 21, 2015

Over Charging

I booked two rooms for a trip for my daughter's birthday. When I gave my credit card info to reserve the rooms, I was charged by the booking site $245.96. When I got to the hotel, which was an unsavory place to stay, I was also charged $191.72. I called getaroom.com to complain about the double charging. While I did get a refund from the hotel, the refund ended up being the lower amount. Even though the rooms were cheaper, I had to pay the higher amount. This booking site is a huge disappointment and I will not use it again.
SandRoe Send email
 
Aug 10, 2015

Getaroom.com

I was charged authorisation on my credit card and no booking confirmation sent to me. When I called them I had to wait ages on the phone only to be told they could not book the room at advertised rate. I don't understand how they could charge my credit card if they knew at the time there was no way they could book the room. They would not remove the authorisation and instead kept saying it was my bank's fault and the charge should eventually go off my card. Wrong I trust my bank after many years of dealing with them and knowing
I have an organisation I can complain to in my country about such credit card fraud and bank customer service. I provided a fax number for getaroom.com to send a written request to remove the authorisation which is the only way it will be removed. Getaroom.com advised me verbally that they had sent the fax. My bank has no record of it at all. Getaroom.com refused to provide to me the written notice they sent by fax and the confirmation that the fax was received. This is unacceptable given it is charge they put against my credit card unlawfully. The less that helpful American prat service or should I say disservice lady offered the helpful suggestion that I should get my bank on the phone and then contact them and what wait 20 plus mins for no service for them to rectify are charge they never should have made and where they have admitted to me in writing that they could not complete the transaction and where the bank is going to what accept what the say verbally. I know I was stupid to book in first place but I'm not that stupid. To stop this farce I have had to dispute this transaction with the bank which may take up to 8 weeks and in meantime I have had to cancel my credit card and I will still be charged interest which I will hopefully be refunded by my bank but what about other things I have coming up where further credit I'm looking to get is reliant on what is charged against my credit card now. DO NOT EVER USE THIS SITE their customer service is SHIT and their actions fraudulent. I am assuming that you could make a complaint to here though to http://www.consumerfinance.gov
Brtnbunny Send email
 
Apr 12, 2015

LIARS, NO CUST SERVICE, FRAUD

I attempted to cancel a hotel reservation I made through tripadvisor; apparently they automatically link you to GETAROOM to finalize the reservation. The reservation I made is for the Vintro Hotel in South beach 4/16-4/21.

I started calling the 24/7 customer service line to cancel my reservation on 4/11 at 11:50pm. I was on hold for the fist two attempts for over 10 min; a person never picked up. I finally got through to someone one the third call. It was an unsuccessful nightmare that took approx 30 minutes and they refused to cancel my reservation at the end of it all. So by 1:42am I didn't get anywhere with them.

During the last call I told the first customer service rep Mark at 1:16am that I need to speak with a supervisor. I was on hold until 1:23am when Mariana picked up; she said she wasn't a supervisor and then put me on hold and transferred me through to the first menu of options when someone first dials their number. I was on hold again until 1:35am when Natasha picked up. She claims she is a customer service rep and she refused to pass me to a supervisor or manager. She said she needs all my information before she can do that. I gave it to her, trusting that I would be able to speak with a supervisor. Then she still wouldn't put me on with her superior. She straight out lied to me. At the end of the phone call she hadn't even cancelled the reservation I called about!

I booked this room on the tripadvisor website where it states there is free cancellation. When I couldn't find the cancellation policy on their site, I called Vintro hotel. On 3/30 I spoke with Nicolas with the Vintro Hotel; I specified that I'm about to book their hotel through the Tripadvisor site but I need to know what the cancellation policy is. I asked if it's their policy or Tripadvisor's. Nicolas said its the same cancellation policy, which is no penalty if the reservation is cancelled 72 hours prior.

I'm not even scheduled to check in for another 4 days and I'm dealing with this unprofessional nightmare. The hotel and the company are not on the same page and GETAROOM won't even cancel my reservation after spending over an hour an a half to do so, 5 days prior to checkin. Nightmare and waste of time!
steeli Send email
 
Oct 26, 2014

Fraud

WARNING!! Do not use this site under any circumstance if booking outside of USA. The price they quote is a scam and exchange rates are a lie. You will be charged in US dollars and face a hefty fee from your bank for paying in a foreign currency as well as the exchange rate being completely different to the one you are quoted. The customer service is rude and unhelpful. Avoid at all cost (literally)!
signature24 Send email
 
Jul 9, 2014

FRAUD

DON'T GIVE THIS ORGANIZATION ANY CREDIT CARD NUMBERS, DEBIT CARD NUMBERS OR ANY!!! INFORMATION ABOUT YOURSELF.
getaroom.com Texas HACKED INTO MY BANK ACCOUNT FOR $1 AND THEN PROCEEDED TO MAKE SEVERAL PURCHASES AT DIFFERENT HOTELS ALONG THE WEST COAST.
WHEN I CALLED THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE NUMBER THEY REFUSED TO ANSWER ANY OF MY QUESTIONS AS TO WHY THEY WOULD ALLOW A $1 TAP.
EACH TIME I ASKED TO BE TRANSFERRED TO THEIR FRAUD DEPT THEY HUNG UP ON ME.

STAY AWAY FROM THIS WEBSITE!!!
jvdavis Send email
 
Feb 7, 2014

NYC Hotel Booking

Total scam of a company!! Do not use this company EVER!!
Booked the Pearl Hotel in NYC back in Oct 2013 for a 7 night stay during Jan 2014.
They offered what I thought to be a fantastic rate for that hotel.
A few days before my visit, I called the hotel direct to check that my booking was confirmed.
I was not booked in and the hotel had no knowledge of my booking!!
Called Hotel-Rates.com customer service number ( same company as getaroom.com ) only to be given a total run around!
Despite having an email confirming my booking with a booking reference number, they tried to convince me that I had booked a different hotel!!
It took me several calls ( from the UK ) before they eventually confirmed that they had made an error and booked the wrong hotel.
I can accept that people make errors, but the service I got after that was simply unacceptable.
As I was not due to travel for several days, I simply asked them to honour the booking and correct their error.
They refused point blank to do this, saying that the Pearl Hotel could not be booked for the price I had been charged when I initially made the booking?
When I pointed out that it was their web site had offered that price and ( in my opinion ) their confirmation email was a binding contract they simply blanked me completely.
I was forced to cancel my booking and rebook the Pearl Hotel using Expedia.
This new booking cost me an extra $573.
I was eventually refunded my initial charge of $1318, but as I live in the UK, I lost out to the sum of £93 GBP due to differing currency exchange rates.
I approached the company again, asking for compensation and after several emails they agreed to repay me the $20.99 booking fee they charge, plus a $100 "gesture" payment.
However this money has never been refunded and the company has stopped responding to my emails! I now realise that I am never going to see any further payment.
As I live in the UK, it is virtually impossible to sue a US company, so will have to give up on this really bad experience.
Had I lived in the USA, then I would definitely have sought legal advice in order to recover all my financial losses.
Keep away! You have been warned.
User866314 Send email
 
Apr 6, 2012

Don't do business with this company

I booked and prepaid for a room through this site and received both a receipt and confirmation email. When I arrived at the hotel they had no record of my reservation. They called the company and were disconnected (after many transfers) four times! The website had booked me at another hotel and tried to play it off as my error even though I had a print out of my confirmation with me! They were rude, no even remotely helpful and told me to just pay for another room at the hotel I wanted to stay at and then send in my emails for review. They wouldn't give their last names and no supervisors were available to come to the phone. DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THIS COMPANY!!

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    EPOCH.COM*ICFTECHNOL - CREDIT CARD DEBIT
    The following transaction debited from my credit card have...
    UNITED STATES POST OFFICE, EVERGREEN PARK, IL - No mail
    I have not received mail in 5 days and utility bills that...
    Weirs Cash and Carry Umtata - Not received UIF benefits
    I was dismissed from work on 11/03/2017 and has applied...
    Michael Pacha - M. Michael Pacha et ses problèmes frauduleux en matière...
    Les règles des résidents aux EAU sont très claires....
    Reliance Home Comfort - water damage
    second water heater that failed and flooded...
    Dollar General - Store Manager
    I have worked for Dollar General 3 times. I left twice...
    Celcom - very poor customer service
    recently i have tried to make a housing loan and i...
    kahe diya pardes - objectionable telecast
    Hi, I am Shamika Kulkarni from Mumbai. This is...
    Dri* Avast Software Orderfind.com - unauthorized payment
    I've been charged in my credit card: DRI*AVAST...
    cbse - selling stationery n uniform in school
    GR GLOBAL ACADEMY, KENCHIYAN AT NH 62 SRIGANGANAGAR...

    Share this site with others

         
          

    Recently Updated Complaints

    EPOCH.COM*ICFTECHNOL - CREDIT CARD DEBIT
    The following transaction debited from my credit card have...
    UNITED STATES POST OFFICE, EVERGREEN PARK, IL - No mail
    I have not received mail in 5 days and utility bills that...
    Weirs Cash and Carry Umtata - Not received UIF benefits
    I was dismissed from work on 11/03/2017 and has applied...
    Michael Pacha - M. Michael Pacha et ses problèmes frauduleux en matière...
    Les règles des résidents aux EAU sont très claires....
    Reliance Home Comfort - water damage
    second water heater that failed and flooded...
    Dollar General - Store Manager
    I have worked for Dollar General 3 times. I left twice...
    Celcom - very poor customer service
    recently i have tried to make a housing loan and i...
    kahe diya pardes - objectionable telecast
    Hi, I am Shamika Kulkarni from Mumbai. This is...
    Dri* Avast Software Orderfind.com - unauthorized payment
    I've been charged in my credit card: DRI*AVAST...
    cbse - selling stationery n uniform in school
    GR GLOBAL ACADEMY, KENCHIYAN AT NH 62 SRIGANGANAGAR...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username