Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Getaroom.com

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about Getaroom.com

Dstraver Send email
 
Jul 5, 2018

Overcharged $200 by Getaroom

I was overcharged $200. When I contacted customer service they were rude and unhelpful it was them who overcharged me and they refused to refund and cancel my booking. They offered to cancel my booking but still charge me in full, it was simply blackmail. So upsetting what should have been simple turned into being ripped off and treated so poorly.

Never ever use this company
Dstraver Send email
 
Jul 5, 2018

Overcharged $200 by Getaroom

I was overcharged $200. when I called customer service they were very rude and unhelpful refusing to refund and cancel booking even though I was overcharged, they kept quoting different terms terms and conditions that I hadn’t agreed to and changed what they were quoting eg dates and times of cancellation agreement. They are out and out con merchants, it is so horrible that feeling of being ripped off and this company rips you off and shows no empathy for their customer. The only assistance they offered was to still charge me in full and cancel my booking, a double slap in the face.
ranmcmahon Send email
 
Apr 28, 2018

Fraud

My Chase card accepted a charge for some reason. I don't know if getaroom was involved but it happened, about a $1150 charge that I immediately disputed. Thank goodness I have "card not present" text alerts on the account or I might not have caught it.

Chase is typically pretty good with the fraud alerts, even a bit overzealous but they missed this one.
Ragini Send email
 
Mar 4, 2018

Never recommend to anyone

Our recent experience with getaroom was very unpleasant. They have no consideration for their customers. There is flexibility or understanding about customers' unavoidable circumstances. We never recommend to anyone
Ragini Send email
 
Mar 4, 2018

Never recommend to anyone

Our recent experience with getaroom was very unpleasant. There is no flexibility or understanding about customer's needs.

I would not never recommend this website to anyone.
Robynne Send email
 
Jan 26, 2018

getaroom.com is a joke

Unfortunately I was ver unsatisfied with my recent experience with getaroom.com. I booked through them because I was able to save $30 a night for a stay at The Galt House in Louisville, KY. I specifically wanted to stay at the hotel because the event I was attending was located there. I found out 3 days before my check in date that they moved me from The Galt House to the Residence Inn which is about a mile away. This was very upsetting but I figured at that point, I had no other choice. When we checked into the Residence Inn, getaroom.com's credit card was being declined forcing us to wait in the lobby for nearly an hour while the attendant called getaroom.com, transferred several time, put on hold for long periods of time and was eventually told they would have to call her back. Luckily the attendant was very pleasant, told us she could clearly see it was their credit card that was causing the problem and let us go ahead and check in after spending about an hour in the lobby waiting. The Residence Inn's manager was finally able to straighten everything out with them the following morning. When I returned home, I emailed getaroom.com direct to tell them how upset I was with their service and they only offered me 10% back on my $400+ adventure with them. I told them I am not a fan of giving bad reviews but felt I had no other choice after they were unwilling to provide anything other than 10% back. Heck the cost of a night at the Galt House vs Residence Inn is alot more than that. I will never use this service again!!
Robynne Send email
 
Jan 26, 2018

unsatisfied with getaroom.com

Unfortunately I was ver unsatisfied with my recent experience with getaroom.com. I booked through them because I was able to save $30 a night for a stay at The Galt House in Louisville, KY. I specifically wanted to stay at the hotel because the event I was attending was located there. I found out 3 days before my check in date that they moved me from The Galt House to the Residence Inn which is about a mile away. This was very upsetting but I figured at that point, I had no other choice. When we checked into the Residence Inn, getaroom.com's credit card was being declined forcing us to wait in the lobby for nearly an hour while the attendant called getaroom.com, transferred several time, put on hold for long periods of time and was eventually told they would have to call her back. Luckily the attendant was very pleasant, told us she could clearly see it was their credit card that was causing the problem and let us go ahead and check in after spending about an hour in the lobby waiting. The Residence Inn's manager was finally able to straighten everything out with them the following morning. When I returned home, I emailed getaroom.com direct to tell them how upset I was with their service and they only offered me 10% back on my $400+ adventure with them. I told them I am not a fan of giving bad reviews but felt I had no other choice after they were unwilling to provide anything other than 10% back. Heck the cost of a night at the Galt House vs Residence Inn is alot more than that. I will never use this service again!!
John Smith Send email
 
Jan 22, 2018

No refund

I will never use this company again! I thought I was calling a hotel directly and this company answered. The representative assured me that she could save me 30 percent off regular rates of hotels and I should book with the company. I explained to her that I wanted an oceanfront room. I had drove 1000 miles to see the ocean! She made the reservation. I again asked her to be sure that it was oceanfront. She put me on hold for almost 5 minutes and came back on the phone and said that she doubled checked with hotel directly and that it was. I then went to the hotel and proceeded to check in. This is when I was informed that I had a room facing the parking lot and street. I then called the booking company back and they told me that even though the mistake was their fault, I should had put company on hold and double checked the reservation with the hotel before I confirmed my booking. She went on to say that, no matter if my reservation was made to a wrong city, it would not be their fault even if they did it. They would give no refund. Therefore, my first big night at the ocean was ruined. I do not believe this is a legitimate company.
John Smith Send email
 
Jan 22, 2018

Getaroom.com

I will never use this company again! I thought I was calling a hotel directly and this company answered. The representative assured me that she could save me 30 percent off regular rates of hotels and I should book with the company. I explained to her that I wanted an oceanfront room. I had drove 1000 miles to see the ocean! She made the reservation. I again asked her to be sure that it was oceanfront. She put me on hold for almost 5 minutes and came back on the phone and said that she doubled checked with hotel directly and that it was. I then went to the hotel and proceeded to check in. This is when I was informed that I had a room facing the parking lot and street. I then called the booking company back and they told me that even though the mistake was their fault, I should had put company on hold and double checked the reservation with the hotel before I confirmed my booking. She went on to say that, no matter if my reservation was made to a wrong city, it would not be their fault even if they did it. They would give no refund. Therefore, my first big night at the ocean was ruined. I do not believe this is a legitimate company.
feehan2006 Send email
 
Dec 11, 2017

Over Charged

Stay away....Was over charged by $150 for the same nights same room as the hotel offered. I thought I was dealing with hotel directly as many others I see by the reviews. When I checked out I noticed a bill from the hotel for the $150 cheaper. Called the customer service and they stated "oh, they shouldn't of showed you that they were cheaper then us"..Offered no resolution of the situation.
battleborn Send email
 
Nov 7, 2017

Ripoff

YOU ARE AT YOUR OWN RISK OF HAVING YOUR BOOKING CANCELLED WITHOUT NOTICE IF YOU USE THIS COMPANY. I am not kidding, this company left me hanging after they'd already taken my money for the reservation. I get to the hotel and the manager says "Oh, getaroom.com has cancelled your reservation without reason." Now just imagine getting off a redeye to hear that about a room you already paid for. One thing that you CANNOT say after you read this is that "Well, nobody told me." You can't say that at all. This company is ran absolutely horribly, they are inattentive, and you will risk not having a room at all if you have the displeasure and unluckiness of having to contact them for a room. If you're third party website (expedia, travelocity, etc) sends you to them, cancel your itinerary immediately without delay and go with someone else. Better to start to the refund/reimbursement process as soon as possible, rather than delaying and having them get the upper hand, CANCEL THEM IMMEDIATELY.There are many other services out there who are about their business and will get you a room WITHOUT screwing you over in the process. Do not read this and be a dummy and try to say "I WASN'T WARNED!"
Jamimo Send email
 
Nov 2, 2017

Dumb ass Employees

What rat customer service, instead of them paying for there mistakes, me and my family did!!! These scumbags are illeterate dumbasses . I reapeatedly said I needed a pet friendly hotel, and these sons of bitches .. Booked my hotel room for a non pet friendly hotel. When I clearly said pet friendly and the stupid lady agreed.. Now good thing I called and confirmed. Because me and family wouldn’t have a chance to fix this messed they created..I asked them , now what am I supposed todo about having a place to stay for my family.. These assholes had the nerve to insult me with 10% discount.... Now a real company would’ve done anything to make there customers happy.. But I was only offered 10 ### %%%% Scum bags ..... Warning this so called Company are bunch of Scam artist
Jamimo Send email
 
Nov 2, 2017

Disrespectful Scumbags

Worst So called Company... Full of shit scumbags.... Dumb customer service.. I reappeted my self several times I have to small animals , and I wanted a pet friendly hotel.. so she offered Days In hotel. Good thing I called to confirm, because it was kind of strange I didn’t get a confirmation email.. So the hotels saids they are not pet friendly, and then I called this so called company back. What I got as a compensation, from there ### up!!! Is a ### 10% discount.. Now, I do not know if there trying to insult me? But I definitely know that was an insult.. I will definitely not recommend this company.. They are the worst of worst... I don’t know how they can take your money right away and not give it back right away.. This assholes need to learn, what good Customer Service is... Retarded Impudent Employees
rbc Send email
 
Oct 14, 2017

Scam

I went on a specific hotel site. I thought I was booking direct with a hotel. After I submitted my request - I got an email from getaroom.com.... It was for the WRONG hotel - and had a service fee tacked on that exceeded one nights room rate

I called within 12 hours and asked to cancel this reservation - they have refused to do anything. ( the reservation request is for May 2018) They say it is ALL non refundable.

I called the reservations desk at the hotel. Yes, they have a reservation in my name, correct dates, wrong hotel - there are multiples os this same hotel chain in the city). The reservation was made thru Priceline.

Getaroom.com is not a booking site. It is a scam. A con, they take a huge fee for doing something another company does.

I do not know how they manage to substitute their site - for the hotel site.

I want a refund
Jackhr99 Send email
 
Sep 9, 2017

getaroom.com

This is a deeply rooted unethical company. After calling a 1 800 number and thinking I was talking directly to a hotel, I gave them my credit card number. When I realized what company I was talking to I asked to cancel this reservation because one was already booked for me at the hotel I thought I was calling. They refused to cancel and sent me to another customer service line who then proceeded to tell me they have a no cancelation policy.

I have called multiple times and found that this would have happened again if I were not wiser. In other words, the fraud here is deeply rooted. My guess is that this exceeds what we have seen at Wells Fargo. Please avoid this company and be on the watch for an appeal to join a class action lawsuit.
maite Send email
 
Aug 31, 2017

getaroom.com

FRAUDE!!!
Do not book with getaroom.com , they are a cheating company!!!

I booked my room and they charged me full. When I arrived to the hotel 24 days later, there wasn´t any room for me, no reservation made from getaroom and they didn´t give me back my money.
No vacation and no money.
annapurna Send email
 
Aug 31, 2017

getaroom.com

I, TOO, WAS A VICTIM OF FRAUD BY GETAROOM.COM. I WENT TO THE FAIRFIELD MARRIOT WEBSITE TO BOOK DIRECT BECAUSE THE ROOM RATE WAS THE SAME AS THE VARIOUS ONLINE BOOKING AGENTS. I BOOKED MY ROOM AND PUT MY CREDIT CARD INFO IN. WHEN IT CAME BACK WITH WHAT MY CARD WOULD BE CHARGED THERE WAS $169.00 FEE ATTACHED. I IMMEDIATELY CALLED THE NUMBER AND WAS TOLD TOO BAD, THIS WAS IN SOME FINE PRINT. I CALLED THE HOTEL DIRECT AND WAS TOLD I HAD A RESERVATION THROUGH EXPEDIA.COM NOT THROUGH MARRIOT. I GOT A CONFIRMATION ON MY EMAIL SAYING I HAD BOOKED THROUGH GETAROOM.COM WHO I HAD NEVER HEARD OF. I CALLED MY CREDIT CARD COMPANY IMMEDIATELY TO DISPUTE THE CHARGE, BUT IT HASN'T SHOWN UP YET. THIS COMPANY MUST BE MADE ACCOUNTABLE FOR THEIR FRAUDULENT ACTIONS.
Mrs johnson Send email
 
Aug 18, 2017

Over charge

$400 fee on 1100 room. Scammers. How can we shut them down?
susan88 Send email
 
Aug 15, 2017

FRAUD

WAS DIRECTED TO GETAROOM.COM WHILE ON MARRIOT HOTELS WEBSITE WITHOUT MY KNOWLEDGE, ENTERED MY CARD INFORMATION , WHEN SCREEN TO REVIEW CHARGES APPEARED THE CHARGE WAS $200.00 MORE THAN ROOM CHARGE! I DID NOT AUTHORIZE CHARGE AND IT AUTOMATICALLY CHARGED MY CREDIT CARD. IMMEDIATELY CALLED NUMBER ON RESERVATION CONFIRMATION EMAIL (NOT FROM MARRIOT AS EXPECTED BUT FROM GETAROOM.COM), THEY REFUSED TO CANCEL, "NO REFUNDS". WE INFORMED THEM THAT WE DID NOT AUTHORIZE THE CHARGE AND NO INTENTION OF BUSINESS WITH THEM, NO HELP FROM THEM. WHEN WE CHECKED INTO HOTEL, IN THEIR COMPUTER STATES "PRICELINE.COM". TRAVELERS BEWARE OF THIS SCAM!
Dtagg99 Send email
 
Aug 11, 2017

DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY

I booked a non refundable room through this site. Sadly when I booked the room I was directed from the hotels website to this company. The charge was way more than expected. Then they didn't pay the Hotel so I was charged again by the hotel. The direct bill was $94 dollars cheaper than using this site. Next time I will call the hotel and book direct. Use them if you're interested in spending an extra 30-40 minutes on the phone trying to get your money back...
Dtagg99 Send email
 
Aug 11, 2017

Hotel not Paid

I booked a non refundable room through this site. I stayed the one night and was billed again by the hotel due to non payment. Sadly direct billing was $99 cheaper. 35 minutes on the phone is not time well spent. They supposedly paid the hotel and I should see a refund from the hotel. I will never use this site again. Rip Off
clwyze Send email
 
Jul 14, 2017

Getaroom needs to get me MY room!

I received a reservation # R826420219 on July 4th which after 9 days is still showing as "unable to be found" when I log into the GETAROOM site to check the " my reservations" it states "sorry unable to locate". Which is the SAME issue I am having with Walt Disney Resort Reservations. So I took it upon myself to call the WDW property who by the way was AMAZING, they took the time to look in every possible spot using every possible way of locating my SO CALLED Reservation from Getaroom. Walt Disney is also telling me that there is nothing in their system and I should call the booking agent. I was also informed that the reservation SHOULD show on their end IMMEDIATELY "if" one was made. I am very frustrated as I am missing out on the opportunity to make dining reservations and or fast pass reservations. I am now also unable to book a room at the resort as it is currently completely booked. Each and every person I contact offers a different story, most although use the 5 more days are needed and of course the "I am sorry"! Why hasn't this company been shut down????????
My Original Ticket number issued is Request #1304435 submitted by Jeanette Ng.
s.e.carlson16@gmail.com Send email
 
Jul 13, 2017

Not the hotel brand's website, but cleverly disguised!

I googled a hotel brand & specific city --- the first listing looked legitimate and the web address included the brand's hotel name --- when I followed the link, again the website looked legitimate. I called the toll-free reservation number.
I should have known something was up when they had to put me on hold to find the wedding-block room rate, and when the rate quoted was for non-refundable reservations only.
After I'd booked the room, I realized that the "taxes & service fees" were 1/2 the room rate ---- much more than expected!
When I called back to have it explained and wasn't satisfied, I finally thought to call the actual hotel and found out I'd been dealing with a 3rd party vendor --- getaroom.com --- and not the hotel brand's reservation people!!
It took well over an hour and 3 different representatives before they agreed to both cancel the reservation AND provide a refund!!!
It was extremely frustrating and I felt like I was scammed by the way their website was listed/advertised!! They are definitely drawing people in with the listing's wording and the website's look --- they are not a reputable business in my opinion.
I have learned my lesson! Terrible company!
cmcochran20 Send email
 
Mar 29, 2017

No room after confirmed reservation

Arrived at Kempinski Hotel in Amman, Jordan. Even though I had a confirmed reservation and my credit card had been charged, the hotel said no record of it and none of those rooms available. Because I was stuck I accepted an upgraded room for a much higher additional charge. Hotel staff was cordial but this is ridiculous. When is a confirmed room reservation not. Doesn't the company that took the money have an obligation to provide the service? We will be taking Getaroom off my company's approved vendor list. Robert Diener, you have a problem
awiggie Send email
 
Mar 20, 2017

Lied about my room

This company is the absolute WORST booking agency EVER! The man I booked my reservation with guaranteed that I would have a room with 2 queen beds, because I told him I was travelling with 3 adults (2 that were elderly). When I got the email confirmation, it said 1 king or 2 queen beds. I called them back and they told me that I had to call the hotel directly. (That was another misleading experience, because the man intially told me they were the hotel, but then got cagey with his answers as I continued to talk to him). The hotel said they could not access my reservation with this 3rd party booking company, and could not guarantee the room, AND told me that they had NO roll-away beds, even if I wanted to pay for one. The Getaroom people kept me on the phone for almost 3 hours, over 3 different phone calls and would not help me whatsoever! I even found out that if I had booked through the hotel directly, their rates were much better. Don't be fooled by these crooks. They were rude and totally unaccomodating.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Sears / Kenmore Elite Refrigerator - Kenmore elite French doors / bottom freezer
    After 3 years the COMPRESSOR DIED .. called service...
    Hallmark channel - Scientology Commercial
    I am disgusted -- I just saw a Scientology commercial on...
    POS MALAYSIA - Poslaju makin slow
    Saya notice skg ni poslaju makin2 slow. Barang smp dlm...
    ROSES DEPARTMENT STORE - Refusing refund
    Went to Ross yesterday to return a phone charger and...
    Lufthansa - non refund of ticket
    Dear Sir / Madam I had booked a ticket - Frankfurt -...
    Selene Finance - Selene Finance
    I JUST had my loan sold from Plaza Mortgage to Selene...
    DHA - Fruad, Heaven Estate
    I booked from HEAVEN ESTATE in DHA 10Marla , 1 canal &...
    PCH - Technical Issues Not Being Fixed
    Since February 2014 I have been playing pch.com and...
    TE Data - إلغاء خدمة النت
    انقطع الإنترنت كذا مرة لمشكلة...

    Share this site with others

         
          

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Sears / Kenmore Elite Refrigerator - Kenmore elite French doors / bottom freezer
    After 3 years the COMPRESSOR DIED .. called service...
    Hallmark channel - Scientology Commercial
    I am disgusted -- I just saw a Scientology commercial on...
    POS MALAYSIA - Poslaju makin slow
    Saya notice skg ni poslaju makin2 slow. Barang smp dlm...
    ROSES DEPARTMENT STORE - Refusing refund
    Went to Ross yesterday to return a phone charger and...
    Lufthansa - non refund of ticket
    Dear Sir / Madam I had booked a ticket - Frankfurt -...
    Selene Finance - Selene Finance
    I JUST had my loan sold from Plaza Mortgage to Selene...
    DHA - Fruad, Heaven Estate
    I booked from HEAVEN ESTATE in DHA 10Marla , 1 canal &...
    PCH - Technical Issues Not Being Fixed
    Since February 2014 I have been playing pch.com and...
    TE Data - إلغاء خدمة النت
    انقطع الإنترنت كذا مرة لمشكلة...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username