Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Government Vacation Rewards

United States,
Delaware

Consumer complaints and reviews about Government Vacation Rewards

van Send email
 
Apr 20, 2017

Government vacation rewards

Government vacation rewards is a big rip off every time I try to schedule a trip there is a problem. there prices are way to hi I brought this thinking I would get some good deal you better off checking others travel site out. so I call to get my money back a least half because I paided them in full they say they couldn't give be back anything and I can't sell it to any body. Bid Rip Off.$1900 for this
spdpro01 Send email
 
Apr 19, 2017

Fraud practices

I was told that if I paid $1000.00 dollars I would get an amount of points for a cruse. They told me that the points would never lose these points. Due to illness and long term problems I lost all my points. They in turn told me that if I paid an amount of money (I forget how much I could rein state them. I felt without costing me than the $1000. I would just forget these people. While I see what others have gotten swindled out of it really should have been a class action law suit against this agency. If there is a suit my E-Mail is azspeedpro@roadrunner.com.
bobneel Send email
 
Apr 14, 2017

Govt Vacations law suit group

Government Vacations Rewards does not keep its promises and this is obviously a wide spread practice. I accused them of being a scam early on in our business and they gave me 175,000 points and a promise that those would never go away. Low and behold a couple of months ago 50,000 disappeared along with the $3000 I paid which was not to go away as well. This bunch are a rip off group. I would like to form a law suit group to force them to fulfill their promises. If you wish to join please e-mail me at bneel821@yahoo.com
justicegaby197 Send email
 
Mar 25, 2017

Fraud

On February 2017 I logged into the MWR GOV site to explore the cruise prices based on points and found a cruise sailing in Aug for $0 if redeeming my points. So I called to redeemed 80,000 points and NOT to my surprise it turned out that INSTANTANIOUSLY the price changed from $0 to $802. I say NOT SURPRISED because its not the first time it happened; it actually happened for all previous bookings I've conducted with them but I chose to continue to do business with them in order to burn my points left and end our relationship. So I chose to still pay the amount and was told I can cancel at any time before May 2017 and receive reimbursement entirely for the amount spent and the points. FALSE!!! I cancelled due to inability to upgrade my stateroom and they kept my points.

NEVER AGAIN!!!

Julio Torres
dawn198316@yahoo.com Send email
 
Mar 18, 2017

Point

my complaint is the points was over 100,000 Then all at once I got a call and I have two days to use the points or I would lost them. And should did lost those and now i have 35,000. What in the world is going on with this company. It said it was a Veteran benefits with a relationship with the Government.
JJ@34211 Send email
 
Feb 21, 2017

Select Access

I am a Member of The So Called Select Access Club...Its supposed to give one special rates, 5x points per purchase, quarterly specials etc...I reluctantly After lots of pressure paid $1500 Now practically all that is gone with little or No Benefit At All...I could have done better by going Directly to the cruise line...Now GVR is asking me for another $1500 or $1900 that in their empty promises that will get me even More..A so called Saving Credit...When you figure it out...You're not getting Anything...You're Only getting to spen your own money...I Spoke with an agent there Named Glenda who I thought was very polite until I started to question what she was promoting and asking her for White Papers re this be either emailed to me or sent by us mail...Gale said that all of what she was offering to me is on their web site...No Such Thing...The Web Site is Silent on this Matter...I was Duped Once out of $1500 But Never Again..I Will Stay Away from Government Vacations Rewards and Will Advise All of My Associates to Do The Same...In my Personal Opinion...This Organization Should Be Investigated for Its Business Practices...Not Sure Why Our Exchange Services Allow Them Full Access to Our Star Card Charging Priviliges ...
Tcormier Send email
 
Feb 8, 2017

Cruise price

I bought a 5 day criuse my husband and myself. I used some of my credits and still laid the same price if not more as people who booked directly with carnival cruise. How is that possible if i used my select acess points which by the way i pay $87 monthly for. If i end up paying the same price as a civilian on carnival criuse website then why am i pay you 87.oo more monthly to get the same price as anyone else is getting. Im military and have select access and have points and my ticket price was the same as my cousin whos civilian and didnt have select or any points.
Demeita Send email
 
Jan 17, 2017

Just Pay a Travel Agent or Book on Expedia

RIP OFF!
Keep your money! When it was time for me to travel nothing was never available for my travel dates nor destinations I was inquiring about wasn't listed on the website! There is no price match guarantee, and they don't sponsor every hotel in the world like they "say". I will never refer this company to anyone I know! You are better off shopping on Groupon, Hotels.com, Expedia, and Priceline!
Rbranin Send email
 
Jan 17, 2017

Rip off

Has anyone filed a lawsuit or been successful in getting there money back i also paid about 2k and had all my points taken cause i didnt use them within the 2 years.
Joanie k Send email
 
Dec 28, 2016

Deceptive

This is a total rip-off. They are very good at their promises and sales pitch. Using the government and military to make money off of families should be against the law. If you're reading this and considering it...DON'T! It is nothing like they promise.
garciafamily Send email
 
Nov 30, 2016

Fradulent Activity

I just had my second misadventure with this company. In October of 2016 they deducted over $900.00 for a transaction of $200.00 because the online reservation did not go through three times, yet they held the money for over 5 days, we had to scramble around to find money to deposit to our account so the rest of our payments did not bounce. Did we learn? Of course not, we thought we'd give it one more try, this time I thought that using my STAR card would be better, since it had a zero balance and they could not charge it multiple times, right? WRONG. They just place three holds of $273.00 per transaction for the same reservation, that, mind you, was never successfully booked. I called GVR and they stated the reservation was not available for the quoted price and that the money will be back to my account in 3-5 days. How they get away with this is beyond my understanding. To end this with a bang, I call the STAR customer service department and they said they can't do anything and that this is GVRs usual procedure. This company has to be closed for many reasons. If anyone out there is planning a class-action lawsuit, count me in!
gailli Send email
 
Nov 18, 2016

Taken

I purchased this with the girl telling me how great it is and that I can even take cruises for free with my points and savings credits but when I priced a cruise it costs more than I could book it for myself. Ripoff, don't fall for this. I paid a lot of money for it, we should all file a class action suit for our money back
madasheck Send email
 
Oct 4, 2016

Fraud

Complete fraudulent business practices. They say they confirm reservations and then when you can't confirm with the resort Government Vacation's won't give you back your money.

Total scam of the military service members - don't buy into their deceptive practices
Cliffordsgal Send email
 
Sep 23, 2016

Fraud - Small claims suit

I will be filing a small claims suit against Government Vacation Rewards. I purchased the rewards package for $1,499 and was promised the ability for price matching and for booking outside of their website. Now here I am months later and I get a letter in the mail offering the same program for almost no cost. On top of that, I was on the phone for 90 minutes trying to book outside of their system and after 4 transfers and waiting a considerably long time I am told that I will be charged an additional 20% fee on top of the cost of stay and taxes. A fee is understandable, but 20% and on top of the taxes already being paid, that is illegal. I will see these people in court very soon.
Ken Taylor Send email
 
Sep 14, 2016

Dishonest Business Practices

I’d like to comment on what I think is an unfair and dishonest business practice. MWR Exchange Vacations has repeatedly not honored listed prices on air travel tickets.
I’ve made three attempts to purchase tickets only to have my money placed in a pending status. To further investigate as to why the transaction did not go through I contacted
MWR Exchange Vacations. Reason, price for that ticket wasn’t correct according to the associates (Manuel & Jorge). It’s advertised as offering the lowest and most current price.
The first occurrence was last year, I paid the higher price without questioning. This weekend I attempted to purchase tickets twice online with neither transaction going through due to price.
On both occasions I was offered a much higher price than what was listed, $1,063 ticket that was listed at $702 and $1,027 for a ticket listed at $694. I’ve purchased a ticket using Just Fly for $674.
Best price guarantee is far from the truth and to have funds sit in a pending status for up to three days (no longer on my account to utilize) is a disservice to the customer. I believe this is an intentional act
only to increase their bottom line; an increase of 39.59% above what I eventually purchased from another source (by the way that wasn’t the lowest price but a company a friend recommended).
GVR only rewards and lines their pockets; never another dime from me.
Ampie82 Send email
 
Aug 26, 2016

ampiepieterse82@gmail.com

just wont to know when will i get my mibfa fund paid id nmr8204195294087
lachman1@hotmail.com Send email
 
Aug 25, 2016

Lucky Me

I spent today 2 hours on the phone with a Mr Vu that was fast talking to me about all the great travel benefits I would get by paying the money over 18 months and 29 bucks renewal fee annually. I listened very attentively to his marketing style when I interrupted his sales pitch and asked him to run an airline ticket for me. I had told him that for 660 dollars I could fly two people from North Carolina to Las Vegas and return for 1320, he ran his estimate and it was a little more then 400 dollars per person for a to and from flight. Interesting enough my online booking for Las Vegas for $1320 did not only include the round trip air-fare but also 5 nights at the Excalibur Casino. GOV Vacations did not have the best deal. Bottom line, I was passed over to an account verification specialist that read a scripted to me and during that reading I declined their program. I was passed back to Mr Vu who was disappointed in my decision and before he hung up on me his statement was well you just lost all your benefits. I asked him what he had meant by that statement "did I loose my star card benefits or the great deals from GOV Vacations, ---- He hung up on me - Lucky me!
Mdford35 Send email
 
Aug 24, 2016

RIP OFF!!!!

I was told when I signed up for this plan again after a first bad experience, so the lady was nice so we thought hey why not try it again.
she said we wouldn't loose any points also said here is my number and EXT well I called and she would never return my calls. I complained they gave me 10,000 points and then took them away! So I just get on her now to book my Vacation and what do you know now I only have 85,000 point lost my cruise Cert as well... I well Never again buy into this Piece of crap Vacation plan.. Has anyone contacted the BBB? what a bunch of lies they tell you... I would never recommend this to No One!!!!been on hold now to talk to a manager for over a hour!! Any Suggestions? I talked to Kelly EXT...5473
user26 Send email
 
Aug 17, 2016

Car Rental

I rented a vehicle through GVR Travel. I returned the vehicle two days early and should have been refunded 108.17USD. Now the rental company says that GVR Travel owes me the money and GVR Travel says that they have not received the money from the car rental agency and they will not refund me the money either and then get the money back from the car rental company. Epic poor customer service.
JRAZZY Send email
 
Aug 9, 2016

Fraudulent Promises

We signed up for this service Jan. 2014 ONLY because our Carnival vacation membership was sold to Gov. Vaca. We still had points & would lose them if we didn't transfer. Spent $3k for an additional 150k points. Never indicated, we had 2 yrs. to use or lose the points, so this month I came to find out we lost $800 in points. When we signed they guaranteed to price match. Up until recently I have always been able to price- match & use points towards a reservation. Apparently there is a new UNWRITTEN policy that applies to all customers regardless of contract, stating they cannot use multiple discounts. How is this a discount when I am using points I paid for, essentially pre-paid vacation? They cannot answer that question & cannot direct me to the location where this is stated in the terms & policies. I never received a copy of the disclosure, terms & policies & the one online DOES NOT state anything about not being able to use points & price match. The supervisors tells me they reserve the right to deny a request to price match & use points, once again, dictating how I spend my money. Essentially you are screwed, they find a way to suck more money out of you. We have never been able to use our 7 day resort because it is only for Mexico, I have fought with them about this as Mexico is off-limits for active duty, whether or not people defy the policy is not my problem but we will not & this is the argument Gov Vaca gives us as to why they have not pulled it from the list of options. At this point I feel I have gained nothing & lost a lot of money from my lost points. It took 5 months to get earned points from a cruise. Never again, I will not pay the yearly again & I am using up my points to finally be done with them. The points that I have used have not even come close to $1k. In doing the math, I have used less than $1k in points, lost $800 in points, and only have 60k points left which is equivalent to $600. They are making about $1800 off me in the end. I really wish the MWR would investigate & retract endorsement because they are ripping people off. It is a business at the end of the day but this is just fraud.
Elizabethmolina Send email
 
Jul 29, 2016

Fraud

On July 26th Carol Cunningham, presented by phone a vacation package for $1,499. She said it was for 10 years and haf the benefit of having a cheaper price. But if I bought a few points then gave us a free stay and would gateways to $49 per night. I indicated that my husband an I had a trip to stay in Denver from December 29th , 2016 to January 4, 2017 and we were interestef in a hotel in downtown. Carol told us that she left us a free stay with points accumulating (1,500) additional offer free vacation cruise that came out of any port. I could also catch the destination and any date. She promised send everything by email and to call het to have doubts.

Trusting representing the military and veterans buy the package. But never received the terms and conditiond of the vacation package agreements. Entering to GVR page for search reservationd in downtown Denver hotels and can't apply the 1,500 rewards points and agrees to pay the stay when she promised that if was free. In the resirtd that offer with the bonus of 53,000 are distant and not date tells and she promised me a hotel in downtown.

Similary when look for Caribbean cruises do not leave the port of San Juan and the dates are from other ports 2017 y 2018 to Caribbean. Some are 1 day per 20,000 points.
I call several times Carol and send emails to call me, she never returned the call or the email. I nerded she send the agreements and promises ans ckarfies doubts, but never answer.
Elizabethmolina Send email
 
Jul 28, 2016

Fraudulet Promises

Carol Cunniingham calle insistently to offer a vacation package . And offer me a 53,000 points formfree vacaction and $1, 500 rewards point. when looking for a hotel not credit all points when you are looking for a cruise depart for next year and many of them a day per 20,000 points.

Call Carol GVR more than three times and send email and never returned my call . Chooses to open a dispute to military star to hold military charges and return the money.
MSGT Parent Send email
 
Jul 25, 2016

Fraudulent Promises

We signed up for the special program where we paid and would get 100,000 points . We paid and the only points they gave us was 1000 points. I called several times over the next 18 months and say and I can't book anything with 1000 points! 3 times ..they were supposed to fix this & this last time I was on the phone for over 2 hours they promised to fix it and book us on a cruise out of San Diego. the next day when I called to confirm with our agent, She refuses to call back! DO NOT GIVE THEM YOUR MONEY!!
Pinky0826 Send email
 
Jul 18, 2016

Nearly 100% Markup

Booked a hotel room near Memphis through the website. GVR charged me $93 with no cancellation possibilities got to the hotel and the room was only $52 with taxes included and before a military discount. Beware when booking hotels with these guys. Anyone know how the "price match" they advertise works?
cscasi Send email
 
Jun 23, 2016

GVR

I have read all these complaints here and my question to all of you is, whey don't you go to your Commanding Officer and complain about this? If enough complaints are registered, the military will take action; like making sure this company cannot do business with military personnel or their dependents. Even if you are retired you should be able to write a letter. Write your Senators and Congressman and tell them what this company is doing to "military" members. File complaints with the local Better Business Bureau. And, if our military exchanges are involved (this is where I first saw an ad for it on the exchange's home page online), complain to them.
Don't give up and just write a complaint here. Keep after them.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    pinacle financal.in - BIG FRAUD COMPANY
    DEAR FRIENDS, Don't take any kind of services from...
    PINACLE FINANCIAL.IN - BIG FRAUD COMPANY
    DEAR FRIENDS, Don't take any kind of services from...
    PINNACLE FINANCIAL SERVICES - PINNECLE FINANCIAL A BIG FRAUD
    DEAR FRIENDS, Don't take any kind of services from...
    Unknown - Fraud
    I'm being charged for something that I didn't...
    Straight Talk - STalk Model #LGL62UL
    Since we have had this phone i have tried to access WiFi....
    Secretsales.com - No goods received in 10 weeks!
    I ordered just under £100 worth of goods from...
    seven seas airport and seaport management service india pvt ltd. - renewal of contract.
    renew the contract asap m selected throught the sevesnseas...
    POS MALAYSIA - Unsuccessful deliveries too many times
    When I track my stuff it said its out for delivery but...
    English Premier League Award - cybercrime bureau dept
    Contact anti fraud investigation office...
    Swamp people - Trivialising the slaughter of alligators
    A disgusting programme! Reality TV has sunk to a new low;...

    Share this site with others

         
          

    Recently Updated Complaints

    pinacle financal.in - BIG FRAUD COMPANY
    DEAR FRIENDS, Don't take any kind of services from...
    PINACLE FINANCIAL.IN - BIG FRAUD COMPANY
    DEAR FRIENDS, Don't take any kind of services from...
    PINNACLE FINANCIAL SERVICES - PINNECLE FINANCIAL A BIG FRAUD
    DEAR FRIENDS, Don't take any kind of services from...
    Unknown - Fraud
    I'm being charged for something that I didn't...
    Straight Talk - STalk Model #LGL62UL
    Since we have had this phone i have tried to access WiFi....
    Secretsales.com - No goods received in 10 weeks!
    I ordered just under £100 worth of goods from...
    seven seas airport and seaport management service india pvt ltd. - renewal of contract.
    renew the contract asap m selected throught the sevesnseas...
    POS MALAYSIA - Unsuccessful deliveries too many times
    When I track my stuff it said its out for delivery but...
    English Premier League Award - cybercrime bureau dept
    Contact anti fraud investigation office...
    Swamp people - Trivialising the slaughter of alligators
    A disgusting programme! Reality TV has sunk to a new low;...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username