Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Meijer

United States,
Michigan

Consumer complaints and reviews about Meijer

Tell it like it is Send email
 
Mar 22, 2019

Worker on phone shopping on Amazon

I was shopping at the Fort Gratiot Mi Meijer store #163 last night 3 -- 21 -- 19 and I went up to the service desk so I could purchased some lottery tickets and the lady working up there Carol was to busy shopping on Amazon on her phone to wait on me so I left . I will not by my lottery tickets from here anymore as long as the workers up there are on their phones .
This is a on going problem at this store , and Joanne the service Manager and other Managers know , but do nothing about it .
Get your workers to stay off their personal phones and smartwatches while they are at work .
WORKERS STAY OFF YOUR PHONES !!!!
Tell it like it is Send email
 
Mar 16, 2019

Managers and Lazy Cashiers

Store #163 Fort Gratiot Mi . Went shopping at this store last night 3/14/19 , when I went to check out there was a cashier by the name of Tab ( short , heavy set and brown hair ) just standing there reading or just looking at magazines instead of ringing up customers . So I had to go to another lane which the lady in front of me was having trouble with her EBT card going through and they had to call for a manager . The manager who came up LI ( Lee) blonde hair and colorful dresser . She took her sweet time coming up , just to say I don't know what to do I think it went through so just let her take the groceries and go.
Clearly she ( Li ) Lee doesn't want to tell someone no , because it was clear that she had know clue on what to do .
This store is so easy to get your way because Managers don't like to say know and if you raise your voice or argue they will give it to you and they pass out happiness cards so fast. All the Managers do this , they are so easy .
I have and do shop at other Meijer stores and Managers at those stores don't say yes to everyone .
Tell it like it is Send email
 
Mar 14, 2019

Service desk workers taking to long to wait on customers

Fort Gratiot Mi , store #163 Service Desk workers Jen and Carol . Jen is on her phone to show photos to workers and people she knows . She takes so long to wait on customers because she will be talking to them about her kid and everything else .
Carol is on her phone looking at her kid at home or playing games on it .
Joanne who is the manager of the service department knows this and does nothing about it , she also knows about employees that come into work early and just clock in so they can leave early .
Leon Liew Send email
 
Mar 7, 2019

LG248733014MY

My parcel stuck at PosLaju Parcel Hub (Consignment dispatch out from Transit Office) on Mar 05, 2019 12:02 AM

Tracking No. : LG248733014MY

Pls check what happened to my parcel? Ordered the item on Feb 27, 2019
Tell it like it is Send email
 
Mar 6, 2019

Managers

The Fort Gratiot Mi Meijer store #163 is the worst managed store I have ever seen . I could see this store closing down in another year or two unless corporate comes in and cleans house from the store director and down to all managers .
From the top they call store director Danielle B . to the service managers Joanne and Christian, and the other managers .
I can't believe that the service manager was a manager at Target , she is stupid as they come. She has been there for a while now and still can't make a schedule correctly or she can't authorize holding workers because they are busy and she didn't schedule correctly .
They will tell you that you can become a manager but it is all a lie unless you are related to another manager or you are one of their favorites .
Why do you think workers are leaving or transferring stores or departments it's because of the store director and managers .
To all the parents who have kids that are looking for a job , Tell them to stay away from this store .
[email protected] Send email
 
Nov 10, 2018

false adertising

Got the new Meijer ad in the mail yesterday that advertised rotisserie chickens for $3.99...YUM! So I went to my local meijer store today around 11:30am and there were no chickens out on the warming table- I asked the gentleman in the deli and he said "well, we usually don't put them out for another hour".

The ad stated no time restrictions and the manager at the service desk wasn't any more help. I usually go to Meijer when they have great deals but I shouldn't have to wait an hour to get what they've advertised. Very disappointing.
Tell it like it is Send email
 
Sep 29, 2018

Managers incapable of scheduling enough utility workers on nights

On Friday 9 -21-18 and 9 - 28 - 18 there was only one utility working to get all the carts off the lot .WHY ! ! ! First of all Fridays nights are busy and it's redickalus that they don't have enough utility workers to clean the lot , or help an elderly customer load something in there vehicle . They don't even have enough cashiers working for Friday night .
I have been shopping at this store for over 20 years and have noticed that this store has gone to crap.
They have so many cashiers working in the morning but then when you come in later after 6:00 p.m they might have a total of 10 cashiers , which 3 of them work the u scans .
Then they schedule only 1 utility worker for a Friday night and expect him to get all the carts off the lot by himself , which is impossible to due. Let's see a Manager do it , they can't and won't . I feel for the utility worker and if I was him I would walk off the job before you get hurt for trying to do the job by yourself .
I would not let any of my children work here.
I am asking all my friends and family members to boycott Meijer's Fort Gratiot Mi store until they can schedule enough employees on nights and make sure that they have 2 or more clearing the parking lot .
ravisingh Send email
 
May 16, 2018

Store director was racist

So on may 14 around 4pm I was getting ready to pay for my 12pack soda and they were only 10 coke and 10 mountain dew at the self pay because lines were full and not enough counter open like always, I asked cashier to help , instead of helping me he called store director to come over and stop me and he said that there is limit, I saw the sign and I am 100% positive that there was no limit sign, now the store director tells me " you guys ???( racist) here a lot for sodas and I can't let u buy " seriously, and left the cart and went to Walmart and got the same thing and no discrimination.
I would like to ask that this was vendor stocking products, meijer doesn't pay for their employees to stock. What's the big issue. And even if they want people to buy only 5 , why don't they put sign a limit of 5 and not allow to buy by certain color of people. Our community have over 140 families in this city and I will spread the words as much as I can even at the church I go to so people choose different opinions like Kroger or Walmart and definitely not this MEIJER.
Tell it like it is Send email
 
Mar 14, 2018

Store Director didn't take complaint serious and laughed

I called Meijer Headquarters on 3 - 12 - 18 about someone hanging around the uscan on the north end . He had no badge on that showed he worked there and I didn't see the blue Polo shirt . He was wearing black jeans and a black coat . He was tall , skinny and black . The Meijer headquarters asked if I would like to talk with the store director and I said yes. When the store director answered I explained it to her and she laughed at me , she didn't even take it seriously . She didn't even tell me her name .
If this is the way that your company handles complaints then I can understand why more customers are shopping elsewhere . I will be canceling my credit card with you and I will be taking my business somewhere else .
Tell it like it is Send email
 
Mar 13, 2018

VERY NASTY , GROSS SORES

I went shopping at the Fort Gratiot Mi Meijer store #163 Sunday 3/11/18 around 4:00 p.m I used the self serve scan lanes on the north end . My complaint is that the cashier that was working has a bunch of nasty sores on her arms and hands , she should have them covered up . I have know idea if she has something that is contagious , it is very concerning . Besides the nasty sores she is very rude and disrespectful to customers .I don't know her name because she was not wearing a badge . She is tall , bad red dyed hair , heavy set and has tattoos on her arms one tattoo being angel.
She should have the SORES COVERED and something needs to be done about her being very rude and disrespectful to customers .
Tell it like it is Send email
 
Mar 6, 2018

Whining SC's and smoking

I shop at the Meijer's store in Fort Gratiot Mi store #163 , What has happened to this store they use to have plenty of cashiers so you didn't have to wait 20 minutes in line just to check out , in the meantime if you got ice cream it is already soft by the time you get to check out . Not to mention you have the SC ( Carol ) hiding in the woman's clothing behind a rack of clothes whining about the lanes getting back up and she can't take customers asking her if she is opening up more lanes , Then you have the SC ( Lauren N ) who likes to walk around or hide at the service desk to avoid customers all together .
I have made a complaint before about the only bench outside of the North end entry always has employees sitting there smoking , can't they go to there cars or can't you make a designated area for them to go and smoke ., so we the customers don't have to smell it or like it.
Tell it like it is Send email
 
Jan 25, 2018

Smoking out front of entrance and only bench out front

I went shopping Sunday at store #163 Meijer in Fort Gratiot Mi , my complaint is you have one bench outside on the North end and it always has employees sitting there on there phone and smoking , so when your waiting for the bus you have to stand and wait not to mention you have to smell that nasty smell of cigarettes . Can't they go over around the corner by the curb side or go to there vehicle seeing that they park so close to the entrance anyway and as customers you have to park in the last two lanes by Walmart .
Tell it like it is Send email
 
Jul 3, 2017

Management incompetent

The Meijer's store # 163 has the worst store director Lisa and team member ( manager ) Dale for the Service Department . Since they fired the team leader Angel that place for service has gone down so bad . Dale doesn't even know crap about the department or how to make a schedule . When you go into the store you don't even see him , at least Angel could make the schedule and she would be out on the floor to help and be seen . They really should get Angel back she was much more help.
Tell it like it is Send email
 
Jun 27, 2017

Fruit , vegetables , deli worker

I went shopping at Meijer's store # 163 today and the lady working at the deli said "we will be with you in a minute I dropped the salad " then laughed about it . She cleaned it up witch took about 20 minutes . She then complains about how the manager doesn't know how to schedule workers . Now onto the fruit and vegetables . I don't know where or who they get them from but they should stop . The salad Cucumbers are slimy , half rotten and so small . The Strawberries are just as bad . I have always shopped at Meijer's because the fruit and vegetables were much better than Krogers but now I am going to check out Walmart's and Krogers .
Jadavija Send email
 
Jun 23, 2017

Racism

I am a black male that's treated like I am nothing when I walk through your doors. I speak to your staff including supervisors and managers and they turn their heads and roll their eyes at me. Are they allowed to say hi to blacks? Or have a nice day when one leaves the store. What happened to good hospitality in your stores?
[email protected] Send email
 
Jun 17, 2017

Employees yield at me

I was shopping the guy working at 1:15am said I wasn't in the rift pace to shop I have money what's the problem I left went to walmart
Tell it like it is Send email
 
Apr 30, 2017

Cashier

I used the u scans ( self check out ) at the North end of the store . It was a very busy Saturday around 1:45p.m. When one of the Cashiers Becca G left to hide behind a standing sign on the right side of the entrance to the Optical Store to talk to the lady sitting behind the desk while it left the other Cashier Katie L to handle all 10 lanes herself . We had to wait for the cashier who was working to finish helping the customer on lane 6 before she could help us on lane 10. I called the store to make a complaint about Becca G . for hiding in the Optical Store behind the standing sign because it is obviously she doesn't want to work and should have been sent home , and this is not the first time that I have seen her walk away from her position to hide or talk to someone else and leave her coworker to handle the 10 lanes .
I shop at this store 3 times a week and see that she is still allowed to work that area and still takes off on the coworker .
I will not shop there anymore more because it is obviously that Meijer's doesn't take customers complaints serousily.
Astokes4 Send email
 
Feb 26, 2017

Bench seat carts

I have 2 year old twins and i can no longer shop at the mason Mi meijer unless they get the bench carts back. Its not safe for one of my children to sit in the cart. What happens if they stood up and fell? I will no longer shop at our local meijer unless the bench carts come back.
TruthBTold Send email
 
Apr 14, 2012

Racist Greeter

I went to this particular Meijers because I was at a basketball game and it was right around the corner from the school. I don't shop at this store so I wasn't familiar with the setup. There were 2 white people who walked in before us and the greeter was really friendly, we came in behind them and the greeter turned his head. My grandson had waived his hand at him and he ignored him. I was looking around to see which way to go for what I was looking for, then comes in another white person and the greeter again was really friendly & smiling. I stood there for a few seconds and then I said to him, "isn't it your job to greet everyone who enters the store and he said yes, so I asked him why did you turn your head and didn't greet us but you were friendly to the other people. Oh, I'm sorry, I didn't mean too. Yeah right, 2 times and you continued to do the same thing even after we were walking away. I requested to speak to a Store Mgr, and explained what had happened and she was very apologetic about it, said that she would take care of it because she didn't want me to think that their store was like that. I could have just left it alone and walked out of the store, but why? If you were hired to be a greeter, be courteous and friendly to everyone who enters through the doors. I could care a less if you are COLOR STRUCK, when you applied for the position, that is a piece of information that you should have shared with Human Resources! MEIJERS YOU REALLY NEED TO DO ANOTHER TRAINING SESSION FOR THE EMPLOYEES! As for Dave C, greeting/customer service is not your calling!!!
User930065 Send email
 
Apr 11, 2012

Overpriced, terrible service and product quality

In my opinion if you go shopping on holidays or weekends its your own fault you have to wait in a long line. Would you rather go to the walmart by my house that has only 1 cashier, no u scan on a weekend night. Stand and wait behind 15 to 20 people with shopping carts overflowing no joke, i should have taken a pic. Or the meijers i work at the ussually doesn't have more than 4 or 5 people even when its busy. The customers I think are the most rediculous are the ones that complain about standing in a line with 5 people in front of them, when they are the ones that waited til christmas eve to do $300 dollars of shopping or more. sometimes we will have all our lanes open including photo, sports and garden, and customers still complain. I love how customers talk at cashiers and employees as if this stuff is our fault. No matter how much you complain to us it wont change, we have no control over that. Managers and corporate are the ones to complain to. But good luck they tend ignore most stuff.
User930065 Send email
 
Apr 11, 2012

Overpriced, terrible service and product quality

ill-informed? what do expect a specialist? employees are not your personal encyclapedia you can google search just about any product or question you have. Do u realize how many different products we sell. I would like to see u memorize all that information.
User Send email
 
Apr 11, 2012

Overpriced, terrible service and product quality

The Meijer Grocery Store in Canton, MI is deplorable! I just returned from what will be my last trip. First and foremost they are TOTALLY overpriced. I might be able to tolerate this overpricing a bit more in exchange for the convenience of shopping 24 hrs if it weren't for the following:

There are NEVER enough cashiers, resulting in extremely long lines. So I, being the clever thinker that I am, utilize the convenience of their 24 hour shopping to avoid these lines. However during these late hours they have not ONE... I mean ZERO cashiers working. Call me crazy, but when I'm spending 200.00 on groceries, I do NOT want to use the U-SCAN! I would think with all of that money that they are overcharging the consumers, they could afford to hire a few night cashiers! In the time it took me to look up all of the codes for my produce and await "customer assistance" 12 times from the head cashier/u-scan watcher my meat was warm and my ice cream had melted. Not to mention the fact that I overcharged myself 3.00 on watermelon because I mistakenly pushed the wrong 'watermelon' button on the produce look-up screen!! When I pointed this out to the attendant... she informed me that the service desk was closed and I'd have to come back for my refund... BUT OF COURSE!

Let me point out some other complaints about this store: The produce... always poor quality and picked over. The outdoor/flower department... their flowers are in the worst condition I've ever seen. Who in their right mind is going to pay 12.99 for a wilted, burnt hanging basket??? Obviously there is a market out there for them, because every time I check that's what they're selling!

Customer service... horrible. There is never any one available to help and if there is they know NOTHING or are rude to customers. As I mentioned I am a frequent late night shopper. I "get" that they use this less busy time to restock their shelves, however I am the customer. I do not expect to be glared at as I squeeze between the their mile high boxes and restocking carts to reach some cereal. Customers are made to feel as if they are 'in the way' and not ONE of these employees offer to move or assist.

So in summary if you're looking to buy overpriced food and merchandise of poor quality, from understaffed, ill-informed employees who provide service with a glare... Meijer Canton, MI is your store!
User930065 Send email
 
Apr 11, 2012

Overpriced, terrible service and product quality

The best time to shop is before noon monday to thursday at the store i work at, between 6a to 10a. I agree meijer isn't the cheapest but i dont think they overcharge, they just try to make as much money as possible. my suggestion; Avoid shopping between 8p and 11p. And Avoid weekends Friday night to sunday night. Meijer's never seems to schedule enough cashiers on holiday weeks, sales specials, etc.. I myself prefer Aldi's.
User930065 Send email
 
Apr 11, 2012

Overpriced, terrible service and product quality

the The reason its hard finding someone to help u in the GM area, is because they schedule the least amount of people possible to each job. Sometimes they will have one person runing the floor. And when it gets busy at check out they call store number to check out over the pa system. example "222 to checkout" or "222 to service". Then everyone in GM comes up to work on a lane. when this happens there is either no one on the floor, or just one(the manager). So you can blame the customers that complain about there not being enough lanes open and the managers that dont schedule enough people.
RetailWatcher Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Alcohol Purchashes

Meijer has lost a long time customer. I am 37 years old, a father of two and a husband. My parents shopped at Meijer since I can recall, all that is forever changed from last night’s shopping adventure at the Auburn Hills Meijer. We stopped at Meijer to pick up dinner, Sunday breakfast and a bottle of wine. We also took the kids down the toy isle so they could window shop for Christmas – money that was planned to be spent at that Meijer at a later date. At the checkout, the cashier asked to see my ID for the wine, no problem I produced it for her. She said she needed my wife’s’ as well, who did not bring in her purse. Long story short, after some discussions with the store manager, we left all $75 worth of groceries in the line and walked away. It’s my understanding that this is Meijer’s new policy to check everyone’s ID. While I commend Meijer for helping to stop underage alcohol purchases, Meijer could use some common sense! Do you also need to check my 6, and 8 year olds ID? What if I was buying alcohol and brought my 16 year old son, would Meijer not be able to sell to me? Meijer has used very poor judgment in this policy and has forced me to spend my money at another retailer. Not a smart move in this economy. I struggle to believe that Meijer is really living up their mantra of “Customers don't need us, we need them”.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    EDCON/JET - New Account
    I went to open a new clothing account at Jet on the 11th...
    POSLAJU KLIA HUB - Stuck 10 hari
    ERA134522560MY ERA134513700MY Stuck dri 14hb. Nak...
    Unifi billing sysytem - Wrong charging
    23/5/2019 Pengurusan Kredit & Kutipan Telekom...
    cbse - Complaining about revaluation
    I'm Shreyansh Agarwal and I had once got my copies...
    POS LAJU - Late delivery
    Item shipped on the 18th May 2019. Consignment dispatched...
    apple couture kebaya lateefa - Barang belum terima
    Barang saya belum terima sehingga sekarang Tracking no...
    Microsoft OneDrive - Unauthorized access to OneDrive
    This evening, shortly after 20:00 someone accessed my...
    MasterCraft/French doors - Leaking
    I bought a set of outside French doors for my kitchen...
    Nor Cal Truck sales - reseller
    A re seller of Google services has contacted me and has...
    Tele- Aid by Mercedez Benz - discontinue service and refund to credit card
    Dear Sir/ Madam, I would like to discontinue the tele-...

    Recently Updated Complaints

    EDCON/JET - New Account
    I went to open a new clothing account at Jet on the 11th...
    POSLAJU KLIA HUB - Stuck 10 hari
    ERA134522560MY ERA134513700MY Stuck dri 14hb. Nak...
    Unifi billing sysytem - Wrong charging
    23/5/2019 Pengurusan Kredit & Kutipan Telekom...
    cbse - Complaining about revaluation
    I'm Shreyansh Agarwal and I had once got my copies...
    POS LAJU - Late delivery
    Item shipped on the 18th May 2019. Consignment dispatched...
    apple couture kebaya lateefa - Barang belum terima
    Barang saya belum terima sehingga sekarang Tracking no...
    Microsoft OneDrive - Unauthorized access to OneDrive
    This evening, shortly after 20:00 someone accessed my...
    MasterCraft/French doors - Leaking
    I bought a set of outside French doors for my kitchen...
    Nor Cal Truck sales - reseller
    A re seller of Google services has contacted me and has...
    Tele- Aid by Mercedez Benz - discontinue service and refund to credit card
    Dear Sir/ Madam, I would like to discontinue the tele-...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username