Submit a Complaint

Nelnet

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about Nelnet

VENITA Send email
 
Nov 19, 2020

STUDENT LOAN TPD

WON'T RECOGNIZE DOCUMENTS TO PROVE THEIR REQUIRED REQUESTS TO FORGIVE A LOAN THROUGH TPD. (TOTAL PARTIAL DISABILITY)
Kan9876 Send email
 
Mar 5, 2020

Wrong Information Reported to National Credit Bureaus.

I'm in the process of trying to close on my home. When the underwriter pulled my credit I had 9 accounts from Nelnet that were reported 120 plus days late. Keep in mind, since completing graduate school my loans have been in forbearance and there is no way possible the loans could have been late. I spoke with over 30 plus customer service representatives at Nelnet who have not only voiced that this information is correct (meaning the loans were in forbearance during the reporting period) Now no one is willing to provide the additional information to the credit Bureaus to have this information deleted off my credit. Nelnet is a joke and is a con. Please also check your account for fraudulent student loans. I have loans on my account that posted after my graduation dates from college.
PShay Send email
 
Feb 26, 2020

Loan processing

Nelnet consolidated all student loans that were not behind but didn’t process the 2 that were behind after agreeing to process all of them to avoid any collection from the Dept of Education... now our taxes of $6k is being offset and we get nothing due to this negligence... Why would you not process the very ones that were the whole purpose of consolidating in the 1st place!? Angry isn’t even the word... it ain’t over. I’ll get to the bottom of this bull.
abcde123 Send email
 
Jan 22, 2020

repayment

I applied for a new repayment plan and i was approved I only wanted a admin forbearance for like 2 months. I got a new payment, payment was going to begin in March, and 4 days later i get another letter say I'm not approved and the whole deal is off. WTF I'm so pissed right now
Outlawz208 Send email
 
Nov 7, 2018

Nelnet

I filed for total and permanent disability in 2014 (February) and have completed the three years as requested to have my loan discharged. When contacted they stated they lost or misplaced paper work and so my beginning year was 2017. Then once they asked for the tax information that they wanted, I sent it to them and they never responded or dismissed the loans. In fact, they took the loan out of forbearance, made them active and then just sent the loans to collections to have them start garnishment phases. Is there someone I can talk to either resolve this or sue them for wrongful practices and get these removed? I am at wits end and amazed that there are no attorneys who are willing to take on this company. I mean really? any help is appreciated
kanagy Send email
 
Jul 8, 2018

Payments

I consolidated my loans with Nelnet and was told I needed to make payments based on my income for ten years and would then have my loans forgiven if I made all payments.

I cannot remember how long I have been paying, but for the past year I had automatic payments and was always on time. Since the payment monthly was based on my income, I was paying approximately $38 a month. I received a notice first of this year that my loans would be subject to increase in May based on my income from last year. I called and talked to them and was told my payments would go up to $160 a month. I was upset b/c I didn't increase my income by that much. NO WAY! That was crazy, but they told me they could not change it. I thought about it for a few months and decided it was worth it. Forget ever buying a new car. I would be stuck to that monthly amount for the next ten years, but again I felt it was worth it.

In May I was alarmed to see my bank account was overdrawn just two days before my rent check came out. I looked on line and discovered Nelnet had taken $1500 out of my account. I immediately called the bank and was taken straight to the escalation department. The lady informed me this had been happening quite a bit lately. She immediately returned my money and the overdraft charges and blocked any future automatic payments using that card number.

I have since sent 3 contact us forms to Nelnet and all I get is more late payments. My current statement:

Due Date: 07/22/2018
Past Due Amount: $3,041.44
Current Amount Due: $1,527.61
Payment Amount: $4,569.05

Really? If I paid $1500 a month to Nelnet, after rent I would not have enough money to pay utilities, car insurance, phone (these are necessities) let alone gas and groceries. I do not make enough money to cover $1500 a month. The sad part is I CANNOT EVEN USE MY MASTER'S DEGREE.

Nelnet LIED to me and should not get away with it. I'm not sure who I should talk to. Any advice is welcome.

Forget my credit. I have worked so hard over the years to raise my credit score so I could buy a home in the next year. Those chances are shattered forever. I will never have good credit again b/c I cannot make those payments and I am not eligible for a deferment or forbearance. I'm screwed thanks to Nelnet. They should be put out of business.
angryborrower Send email
 
Jun 25, 2018

Account services

Nelnet was assigned as the service provider for my student loans. I can already see I'm in for hell when it's actually time to pay my loans.

I have tried more than once on multiple platforms to register an account. Every time, I get an error that says my information doesn't match what they have on record. I've contacted their customer support three or four times. NONE of the representatives were able to help me! One even verified that all of my information was correct and just said he doesn't know what to tell me. Seriously?!

A different rep told me Nelnet doesn't allow accounts to be registered from Mac/Apple devices for security reasons. That has to be the most garbage reason I've ever heard! And guess what? I tried on my Windows computer and - surprise, surprise - it still didn't work. I'm sure their computer error won't be accept as an excuse for why I can't pay when it's time for my loans to be due.
Tom Doucet Send email
 
Jun 15, 2018

slow response

My complaint is Nelnet has been slow to respond to my case. The case was opened on September 06,2016, Case 18372240 and the Dept. of Education discharged my federal student loan based on my disability which was confirmed at the time by the Social Security Administration. Around 11.17.17 and 3.12.2018 I spoke with two Nelnet representatives to change my status from Social Security disability to Veterans Administration service connected disability. Which I may have made huge mistake because of the way Nelnet has responded, in an unprofessional manner, confusing correspondence and an extremely slow response

On April 16,2018 Per Nelnet's request I mailed/faxed a Veteran's Administration 100% service connected Disability Rating form 310/NPCC/PC. Prior to the above VA letter, I sent another letter 27/eBenefits dated 03.042018 to Nelnet summarizing VA benefits: 100 % unemployable due to service connected disability., Branch of Service, Air Force, Dates of service and monthly award amount. Still a slow response for Nelnet
Had I stayed with Social Security Administration and not attempted to change to the VA the Nelnet monitoring period would be finished in six months

Thank you,
James Thomas Doucet
somewhereinpa Send email
 
Mar 9, 2018

Nelnet

I'm also a victim with Nelnet and am trying to get out from under them. I spent 30 minutes speaking to Jeffrey and he basically told me there is nothing to do short of dying; I'm bound to them until the $42,000 is repaid. I went thru bankruptcy and was in forbearance for 5 years only to have Nelnet come back with a vengeance. I DO NOT believe there isn't a better way to repay a student loan.
I certainly would be interested in hearing other people's take on this type of situation.
grandmarie48 Send email
 
Jan 20, 2018

NelNet

Today, I spoke to Mike an account manager in Lincoln, NE. I had called in 2012 to get a payoff amount for all three of my accounts. I was told that it was $24,000+. I paid the exact amount and thought I was done with my student loans. Fast forward almost 6 years later and I begin getting statements saying that I owed $0. Those came for the last 4 months until this week when the statement that came said that I owed $124. I called NelNet and talked to a representative. I asked for my account history. I was told that she would put in an order. I told her what the problem was. She said that I hadn't paid off my loan in 2012. She put me through to Mike. Mike said that he could see that I paid the amount NelNet had given me but at the time my payment posted, my third loan did not show on their system because it was during their conversion to a new system. He said that he needed to get others involved to help him figure out why my account was showing up the way it was (in fact, it took them 32 min to even figure out what happened with my loan, all the while I am waiting on hold.) Finally he got back on the line and told me that although NelNet gave me the wrong amount to pay off back in 2012, I still owed $9,000+. (Supposedly it was $8,000 + 5 years of interest for a loan I did not even know I had.) I said that if I do owe it I would like to see the account history. I asked for him to email me the information. He said he was unable to do that. I said that I felt if I did owe the $8,000, that that I did not owe the interest because I had obviously tried to pay it all off back in 2012. He said he could not do anything about the amount. He said that was not a NelNet rule but a Dept of Ed rule and there was NOTHING I could do about it. He went on to tell me that he could see there was an error on NelNet's part but that it could not be fixed. When I asked to talk to one of his superiors, he refused to let me speak to anyone higher in management than him. He then said he hoped I had a better day and hung up. UUUUUUGGGGGGGGG!!!!
td38583 Send email
 
Jan 19, 2018

Nelnet

I pay additional amounts on my student loans each month at least a week before they are due. Nelnet never applies the additional amount even when I stipulate to pay by group. I was told several years ago to select the "do not advance button" and it would apply only to begin receiving late notices for payments the very next month. After calling for several months in a row to attempt to get a reason they are saying my payments are late I get a very rude male agent on the phone who advises me back in 2013 when I had to request a forbearance due to job loss for 4 months I missed a payment. I inquired how that could be when I was in forbearance at the time and he couldn't advise. He ended that call rather abruptly and disconnected. I then called and spoke with someone else who advised the reason it was stating I was late was because I has selected the "do not advance button" which which causes everything I have paid since that selection to not move forward. I still do not understand that explanation. Bottom line in 1999 I owed 25,000.00 in student loans and today (2018) I still owe 19,000.00. with the exception of 2013 for 4 months I couldn't afford to pay. I feel like Nelnet is nothing but a major ripoff.
Rptailor503 Send email
 
Nov 27, 2017

Loan payment

I am enrolled in IDR plan and I was a student last year with zero income. My understanding is that the payments are based on last year’s income tax although they ask for this year’s plan. My colleagues who are in the same situation as me with a different servicer ask making zero payments while earning the same amount of money as me and had zero income last year. Nelnet refuses to listen and says it’s based on the paychecks I am receiving right now. It hasn’t been the case for anyone else I know although they also had to submit pay stubs from this year. Customer service is very rude including the manager and they keep redirecting you to other plans even though you tell them that’s not what you are interested in.
Sav218 Send email
 
Aug 18, 2017

Inability to apply payments correctly

I have requested several times that anything get the normal payment amount be applied directly to the highest interest grate loan. I have been calling for a month and a half.. 4 payments have posed and are still not applied correctly. I received a call telling me they were however when I logged on and looked nope still not fixed. They are the worst people I have ever delt with
NelNet scammed Send email
 
Aug 8, 2017

Group loan payment denied

Read the fine print on the website, set a specific amount to pay on the smallest group loan (1 of 11 loans under NelNet) (No thanks to the Art Institute of Phx), and turns out they refuse to make any payments on specific loan groups. Turns out its my fault because even though my loans are on Administrative Forbearance, that they are considered late and my specific loan payments would not be applied to specific group loans. Through several emails they fixed nothing. It'll take me until I am 40 (I'm 33) to pay off this $52,000 loan.
vidaurrie Send email
 
Jul 9, 2017

Incompetent Representatives

I called representative #1 asking to change my loan due date to the 11th of each month instead of the 3rd, I asked her to send me an email to confirm this change on my account. I waited and waited, the email never came. I called back and spoke with representative #2 who said the first gal didn't change anything on the account. Said he made the change in the system and now I have a past due account (he ensured that the system is a little off and that in reality I would not have to pay any late fees). Due date arrives and Im stiffed with a $250 extra charge. I call representative #3 who explains my account is late because my first payment was due in June rather than July and not because of the mistake of rep #1 and #2. The lady talked around in circles and when I asked to speak to someone with clearer info said "she was here to help me and suggested I take an additional forbearance on my account. Lady are you insane?! You really think I'm going to add a heap of interest to my loan on your mishap!! This organization truly is the biggest scam out there! Nelnet sent me email reminders frequently that ALL stated July as my payment due date NOT June. I asked the rep to provide me with correspondence proving June was in fact my due date as they said. Been on hold for 45 min now waiting for their response....
Chalan Send email
 
May 8, 2017

Nelnet

I inadvertently overplayed them by 2,276.00. They would not refund my money. They stated they only refund money if it were there mistake. The customer service rep stated this was the company policy. I then went on to request a copy of this policy. Eric then stated that it does not exist in writing so he could not give it to me. I then went on to file a complaint with the Consumer Protection Financial Bureau.
Sunflower7i9 Send email
 
Apr 14, 2017

Refuses to provide documentation

I've decided to go back to school. Nelnet deferred my loans, but refuses to provide me with my deferment approval letters. I know I have a right to obtain them for my records, but all they want to do is tell me my payments are deferred and not to worry about it. I WANT MY DOCUMENTS. I don't want to explain myself over and over to never be heard. Why don't they learn how to listen, read, and read the notes on my account!? I'm seriously going to talk to my congressman, lawyer, Dep of Education, and anyone else that could possibly make a difference. So tired of the costumer service!
Hab5188 Send email
 
Jan 21, 2017

Payment Plan

I just want to say this company has given the most unprofessional and unhelpful customer service I have EVER received. Had payment scheduled to come out, had an issue happen that caused the payment to be returned. They hit me with a $30 fee, which is understandable. I called SAME DAY of payment, assured them the money is in it and asked to resubmit payment. They refused and also refused to wave the fee. Just another greedy company refusing to help their consumers, WHOM KEEP YOU IN BUSINESS!! Once my agreement is completely, I will NEVER work with this company again.
ckc2000rn Send email
 
Jan 4, 2017

Payments do not go toward Principle

I hear everyone's frustration with Nelent on this site. I am glad I came here as I feel so frustrated as well. They use to be a good company way back in the day. Seems like now they just focus on their interest rewards. I do understand the person who tried to send in forms and catch up on their multiple loans and they kept sending them more forms and then deny them and charge more late fees and interest during the process. I did have to get Department of Education involve to help me get Nelnet to get my loans all on one page and consolidated. Unfortunately, they consolidated at a higher average rate, not based on the % rate of the largest loans(which were lower rates) I am caught up now for a year but just noticed they are not paying down my interest. I have my bank send weekly (so they can not alter the pay date) more than what my monthly payment is. My balance seems to go up and not down over this year. There are other options and I feel we should try to give other services our money and not Nelnet's greedy people. Try SoFi .com, DRB, Earnest, or LendKey. They actually will allow you to pay high payments at lower % rate and pay off quicker. Good luck to us all.
mep123 Send email
 
Aug 29, 2016

Playing games to rip us off

Every time i go to renew my income-based repayment pal, it's always the same problem. I feel like they are doing it on purpose to use up my deferment time. I submit all of my forms, etc based on what they tell me to send and then twice, they gave me the wrong email address to send it to. Then they told me to send it via their new app. That didn't work and they never received it. Finally, they received it and forms were missing and they didn't let me know for 2 months. Again, this year they told me to send proof of income. I did. Then they sent me an email that the forms were incomplete. When i called to find out what the new problem was, they said that i needed to send an AVERAGE of my income, not an itemized income statement. They weren't able to calculate the average on their own.On the last phone call, the representative told me to send the "average" and 5 minutes later, I asked her to please repeat what I needed to send and she omitted the word "average" and told me to send my gross monthly income. I called her out on it and told her she just gave me conflicting and inconsistent information all in the same call and to please review the recorded call, when she got defensive. She told me that they don't read from a script. I told her that they NEED a script so that they are giving consistent information. Again, I find all this out 2 months after my first submission of documents. Someone needs to put together a class action lawsuit against them
hampstead Send email
 
Jun 15, 2016

Nelnet

I appreciate this website, so I know what others are dealing with and I do not feel like my hunches are wrong about Nelnet's integrity. Their website was nelnet.net last month and this month it is nelnet.com and all the pages have changed - AGAIN. They constantly change the pages for where you find the Statements, the Account Summary, the Loan Benefits and Details. To monitor your loan information from one month to the next is infuriating. They do not make it possible to view all the complete Loan Benefits and Details in one page. The presentation of the information drastically changes from month-to-month so to make it as confusing as possible. My hunch is that Nelnet is purposefully changing the information all around to keep me confused so i cannot properly track the balances in order to detect errors on the part of the servicer. I did not know the college loans could be transferred to a different company, but i will investigate this possibility. Thank you to all the posters who have described their problematic dealings with this miserable Nelnet.
saraboykin0204 Send email
 
May 16, 2016

IDR

My husband and I are currently stationed in Germany. When I first found out that I was going to be having to pay back the loan I immediately applied for the IDR repayment plan. I was told that I was good and it would be processed. Then, I call back several times to make sure. Then, I get a lady who says oh you can't do this until the grace period is over at which point I received an email telling me all of my application was on hold until the grace period was over and I need not do anything else. Well as it is approaching closer I decided that I should call and check again since everyone I talk to tells me something different. So, I call back and they say I have to do the application all over again because the information is older than 90 days. So, two weeks ago I fill out all of the information and send it by email. I call to make sure it is all in order when the lady tells me I shouldn't have sent in a POA. My husband is deployed so I signed by POA and sent it in. I also wrote a lengthy email describing everything attached in the email. I then get an email today stating that I need to send a paystub stating how often my husband gets paid. I stated this specifically in the email and yet again I have to upload all the forms again. So, I call yet again trying to figure out the problem. They said oh we can't read your documents. So, I said well how am I supposed to get them to you when I can read them perfectly on my end and sent them to myself to make sure they were readable. Again, they said well you need to redo it and on top of that it is going to take another 30 days each time they need updated information. So, basically the whole process starts over. I now have to wait two days to find out if they can even read the documents I sent. If not, I have to resend it again.

I have another student loan and the IDR took only 2 days and was such as easy painless process. This one is a pain and has taken months and is still not clear. I literally hate this company!!!
Bigtex0066 Send email
 
May 16, 2016

Autopay

I signed up for autopay, but accidentally gave the wrong account number. Instead of simply sending me an email to let me know the problem they put it on the message center of the website. I set up autopay so I wouldn't have to log into the website regularly and check on my payments. I didn't know anything until my payment was overdue. When I called the customer service representatives on two occasions were incredibly rude and condescending. It was like talking to a robot! She kept telling me that they gave me notice, I just fail to read it. WHY WOULD I FEEL THE NEED TO LOG INTO THE SITE IF I DON'T KNOW THAT A PROBLEM EXISTS?! it's not like they don't have my email address! They could have told me by email that there was an issue with my account number. The customer service representatives on the phone need to be fired and replaced with human beings!
rdaws001 Send email
 
Mar 29, 2016

More issues w/ Nelnet..

I have several issues with Nelnet like other folks have mentioned. One of my major complaints is that each time I call their Customer Support line, I always get a different answer to my questions. The first person I spoke to said I was eligible for a repayment plan, but then the next guy I spoke with said I wasn't legible and had to apply for another plan..

Either way, I eventually talked to someone that I thought had set up my income based repayment plan, and was told to wait for further correspondence about actions needed on my part. Two months later I call to see what the heck is going on, after not hearing anything. The person I talked on the phone told me that my application for income based repayment had actually not been finalized, and that I needed to pay a small fee and sign some document (none of this last information had ever been communicated to me, I even checked my email). What really bothered me though was that for the last 2 months I had gained several hundred dollars in forbearance fees, waiting to hear back about my application.

I attempted to speak to a supervisor about this issue, and he simply said he would talk to his rep but there was no other action that could be taken. I find the whole practice totally unacceptable, and can't believe how inconsistent their information can be. They also have no recourse to correct miss-information or mistakes made on the part of their team. Making payments and financing students loans can be a difficult journey on its own, but this company only makes the experience even more painful. I will definitely be looking to move my student loans away from Nelnet ASAP.
barry98 Send email
 
Jun 27, 2015

Nelnet scams its customers

We had a loan from Direct Loan Service Center and everything worked smoothly. Nelnet took it over and it has been a rough road ever since. First they claimed that we had to initiate the auto debit ourselves even though they stated in their welcome letter that everything would transfer automatically (but check it in case it doesn't lol). We did that and made the first payment with Nelnet five days before the due date. We even received an electronic confirmation email of our first payment that we kept. They claimed that they never received the auto debit but waited until 10 days later, after the due date, to MAIL us a delinquent notice. We received late fees and an interest rate hike. The late fees were removed upon proof of the initiated payment but they refused to budge on the interest rate hike, even though we showed them proof of payment. They claim that we provided incorrect auto debit information, but could never provide proof of that. This company is a scam artist and should be avoided if possible. We unfortunately have no choice.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username