Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

PNC Bank

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about PNC Bank

prasadshetty Send email
 
Oct 12, 2017

net banking

I have fill up the form of netbanking in kisan nagar wagle est bank and I have also told that when I have open the account that email id is change now prasadshetty2399@gmail.com now the 776 in it I have call them so many time they have enter wrong mail id in sytem that prasadshetty2390@gmail.com but not getting proper response from the exective person of bank my account no. Is2792 plzzz resolution this problem I have some emgergency of this.
JAGGARAO YALLA Send email
 
Sep 21, 2017

Delay of homeloan

I have applied home at Visakhapatnam,the executive person told to me within 4 days your was sanction.my regitration date fixed 23-09-2017.but till now not sanctioned loan, what happened delay my loan tell me.so please sanction loan immediately.
mestaunton Send email
 
May 18, 2017

Not Protected from Fraud

My Paypal Account was hacked and I stopped the payment through Paypal, as well as through the vendor from whom the criminal ordered merchandise. THREE DAYS LATER, PNC still removed and held the money from my account even after the payee reported it as fraud. This emptied my account and they resulted in fines and they will NOT restore my funds for another THREE DAYS. That's a good solid week of me with absolutely no money. I have experienced Fraud in the past and NEVER have I been treated with such a dismissive attitude and lack of action. No one cares and they are doing nothing to expedite a solution. I am FURIOUS! PNC is terrible.
Dissatisfied Send email
 
Dec 19, 2015

Holding a check

I have been a customer of PNC for quite some time. I deposited a check from my attorney for a settlement agreement and the check was held out by the deposit recovery unit per the consultant then answer my call when my account was overdrawn.! Mind you before deposit in the account into the ATM I called to verify that $100 will be available the first day and the balance will be there available the next day. Now I'm being told by a consultant and a "manager" Melissa Tolbert that it will be 5 days before they verify if the check is good. Needless to say I will be closing my account with PNC after having worked there for over 11 years! Note that checks are sent through a clearinghouse electronically so why would it take them 5 days to verify anything! Melissa told me to Google regulations CC that they have the right to do this. I found nothing in the Reg stating that! But I did see in the reg that $100 to $200 to be available the first day and additional amounts there after not holding the entire balance of my check that was deposited! It seems as though someone in the deposit recovery unit was having a bad day and subjectively made a decision to set the check of side until next week! Unacceptable to me.
steveben Send email
 
Mar 13, 2014

Extremely rude managers and tellers!!

In 2003 I was a victim of the Nigerian scam. I had an account at PNC Bank at the time and deposited a check that I thought was real. Come to find out, it was a fake check and I almost got sent to jail for it, like I was the criminal and not these Nigerian national terrorist con artist criminals. The bank immediately closed my account and asked me to leave. The people in Pittsburgh were extremely rude and threatened me on the phone. My family and I thought we were going to have to get a lawyer. In my recent dealings with PNC, I can't get an account due to being on food stamps, and the people at the Marlton, NJ Shoprite branch were extremely rude and said I needed to have an account with them to get the change I needed for public transportation. Even with my Dad standing there who has a PNC Card!! She was extremely rude and so was the manager I had to deal with who said the next time I come for change to please get an account. Never had that kind of trouble at any other bank but this one. My advice, avoid PNC like the plague!!! Greedy bastards!!!!
Jamlady10 Send email
 
Feb 27, 2014

credit card com[plaint

​Applied for an offer to get a credit card, whereby, if i charged $750 in the first three months, I would get equivalent of $44 in pts. I applied. I did not receive info as to the start date, and when I realized it, i called and was told I still could charge the $750, that I still had a few days to do so. I did so. The agent noted it in the record. When it came time to get the points, they told me I was past the 90 days. I told them to look at what their agent told me. They said, a supervisor would call me. I have an answering machine. Nobody called me within the 3-5 days I was told it would take to hear back. After 10 days, I called, which was 2/26/2014 and was told they weren't honoring the agents comments and that i had gone over the 90 days. If I had been told that when I called, I never would have charged the additional $750 as I did. They are scam artists. I looked on line and there are others who have similar complaints against PNC.
User924525 Send email
 
Mar 28, 2012

Scam charges

Can someone please tell me how I get a hold of Verizon Pen-it is showing on my credit report and I paid it over a year ago. I cancelled my landline and they evidently assigned me aother account number but never told me about it. I never received a bill until it went to a collection agency as soon as it was explained I went and paid it and now it is showing on my credit report paid but for pay status it is showing Collection/Chargeoff does any body have a number I can call to get status to show settled-it really messes your credit up when it shows up as Collection/Chargeoff. My email is jenf35@verizon.net.
User Send email
 
Mar 28, 2012

Scam charges

PNC bank, among others, uses the predatory practice of clearing checks 'highest to lowest' first. This creates a huge profit capitalizing on small customer errors.

Example:

Account balance on any given day is $500. Yesterday, you used your bank card for $20 and say $30 and didn't enter the items in your checking account register (an error which I agree you should pay for, after all it is your mistake which will cause the following but it is PNC's greed which will exponentially raise the cost of your error).

At the same time those two debits are clearing a check which you wrote comes through your bank for $475. PNC now employs the predatory practice of what is called 'highest to lowest'. Here's how it works. By disregarding the order in which the debits are presented PNC formats their internal program to clear the highest presented item first and continue in that order until everything is cleared.

If by random chance the other items comes through first, here is what will happen to your account. Balance $500. Deduction $30 (cleared). New balance $470. Deduction $20 (cleared). New balance $450. Check in the amount of $475 (overdrafted) balance negative $25. Total NSF charges $36.

Here, instead the predatory way PNC calculates the withdrawals, disregarding the order in which they are actually presented but instead re-ordering them in the way most harmful to you and most beneficial to them. Balance $500. Deduction $475. New balance $25. Deduction $30 (overdrafted). New Balance -$5. Deduction $20. New Balance -$25.

So, because of their greedy, anti-customer predatory practices PNC has now manipulated your withdrawals to double the fees you were charged for your error. If you ask PNC why they did this, they will give you the continued repeated lie every bank involved in this process gives you. We take these out highest to lowest because the highest might be a mortgage and we don't want to ruin your credit or cause you any embarrassment.

BS!

The fact is, if your account is presented with a check for $475 which overdrafts your account $25 there is NO bank in the country which is going to return that check and cause you 'embarrassment' or 'ruin your credit'. NONE!

What makes this deceiving practice all the more detestable is this above stock lie they give you. Banks, wake up! You may be able to continue to lie to each other because you're all out of the same ilk (which is probably why none of you will lend any money to each other and we, the american people, have to go into our pockets to bail out your greedy ignorance) but don't underestimate the intelligence of the average american.

There are those of us that know exactly how you operate and this post is intended to inform even more.
User924523 Send email
 
Mar 28, 2012

Scam charges

I just went into a PNC Bank that is right across the street from me. Yesterday I asked for a check to be made out-she did that, then that night I had to open it and ripped the check-which is definitely my fault.But today I took the chek in and they said they needed the receipt, I called yesterday so why didn't they tell me then? When I was there I wondered why they wouldn't ask the person who had signed the check.I had to go back. Today I was calling about you doing it at every branch when on your answering service it asked for my ID # it should say 9 digit so I won't get confused, it asked a second time for a number I thought it was talking about my 4 digit # it wasn't- again it should say 9 or 4 digit # so I won't get confused.When I finally got thru I forgot what I was calling about.I was wondering if the receipt had to be sent to home office, is that the reason? Another thing why don't you have a Debit machine there for
the customer to use? Oh, and I do get confused-so please don't get me more confused, Okay? This branch is 11700 East 15 mile Sterling Heights Mi. I really like their personalities so please Don't change thir positions. Sincerely Jean Calder-I have to take a bus to get to other banks
BAGraff1 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Overdraft fees and Online banking

When I checked my online banking I noticed in the pending section that I was overdrawn on my checking account. I drove through snow on unplowed roads while Maryland was under a state of emergency declared by the governor to make a cash deposit to cover this pending withdraw. All to no avail. This bank calculated the largest withdrawal first then added the smaller ones in order to maximize the number of overdraft fees it could charge me. When I requested help from PNC customer service I was basically told "too bad, so sad" and just pay up. What used to be a customer friendly bank is turning into an institution that employs any trick it can to take more and more from its customers. Lucky for PNC those who continue to bank with them are human and will make mistakes from time to time. I am researching other banks and their practices and will soon be an ex customer of PNC. This bank should drop Pittsburgh from its name --it is nothing at all like the friendliest city on earth!
Photonex68 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Overdraft fees and Online banking

Gee, Ellen, you wouldn't happen to be a PNC employee, would you? You're aware that PNC got a class-action suit against it for the practice of reordering transactions so that they can claim you've incurred overdraft fees.

I've gone around and around with PNC on this issue. My partner can't get direct deposit on his check because the business where he works refuses to do it, so he has to deposit his checks manually. Conveniently enough, the deposit cutoff time keeps changing so that his money generally doesn't become available until two or more days after we put the check in. That's the AVAILABLE balance, not the ledger balance, BTW; that's usually another day of waiting--and this is on a payroll check that draws from an account at the very same branch! Explain to me how a deposit that's listed as "pending" doesn't immediately add to one's available balance when a pending withdrawal subtracts from one's available balance immediately.

PNC's very good at playing with one's "available balance" so that they can hit you with overdraft fees. Here's a good one for you: On 2/3/12, I placed an order that immediately showed as a pending transaction. Fair enough. The next day (2/4/12), I called and canceled the order, and the company removed the authorization. When I checked, the pending transaction was gone. But miraculously, on 2/7/12, the pending transaction was back--just in time for PNC to claim that I'd overdrawn my account. What's more, PNC claimed the pending charge had never been taken off, complete with backdating the pending charge to 2/3--and never mind that the company in question e-mailed me confirmation that they had indeed removed their authorization on 2/4. And what makes this whole scenario even more suspicious is that the letter I got in the mail a few days later that detailed how I'd overdrawn my account listed my rent payment first, even though it wasn't the first transaction that would have gone through, so that the bank could claim I had multiple overdrafts instead of one.

What happened, simply put, is that PNC FACTORED IN UNPROCEESSED TRANSACTIONS--TRANSACTIONS THAT HADN'T POSTED TO MY ACCOUNT--TO DETERMINE THAT I'D OVERDRAWN MY ACCOUNT. That defies logic and ethical accounting practices. I could possibly have lived with this travesty, if PNC had automatically refunded the overdraft fee as well, but I had to write to them through their own site, get no response, and talk to a rep before they manually removed the charge "as a one-time courtesy." "One-time courtesy" my eye; it was PNC's screw-up and their own questionable accounting practices that incurred the fee in the first place.

But you, Ellen67, say that the original complaint is invalid because BAGraff1 said s/he was "overdrawn." Let's clarify: BAGraff1's account was NOT overdrawn at that time, as shown on the ACTUAL LEDGER BALANCE that accounts for posted items. BAGraff1's account would have been overdrawn IF ALL ITEMS POSTED. What's more, BAGraff1 made a CASH deposit, which means there's no question of waiting for a check to clear. Explain to me why a cash deposit doesn't immediately clear. In fact, it was my understanding of PNC's funds availability policy that cash deposits *are* posted immediately *because* it's cash and doesn't have to wait to clear like a check would. That being the case, then unless PNC posts transactions retroactively--an unethical, if not actually illegal, accounting practice--BAGraff1's deposit should have posted before the ledger balance--the balance that PNC SHOULD be checking for overdrafts--would have been overdrawn.

So no matter how you cut it, Ellen67, you're full of it to say it's all the customer's fault. Next time, try being a customer at PNC instead of (as you pretty obviously are) one of its employees before you blame the customers.
Michiqutina Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

loan-checking charges

Went to PNC for a loan to replace my ac central unit. I felt my human rights were violated, It is summer, we all are strugguling with the weave heat. I never behind in my mortgage payments. Because my credit score of 6.10 they requiere 6.85, I wasn't eligible for the 23 hundred dollars to replace my central ac and here I am tolerating dehidration, sweeting unable to sleep at nights. Pray to GOD protect mi from heart attack. What a shame. Thought they care for the human being part but obviuosly money is first for PNC.
OLBigdaddyhoss Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

loan-checking charges

That is really sad, Pnc stand's for PEOPLE NOT CARING ! and they do a great job showing it !
hope you were able to get your air fixed. God Bless !
Slpsms111 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

overdraft charges

The first two months with PNC...they denied a mortgage payment on my practice despite over $500K in assets with the bank because they stated the check signature did not match that on record, despite the fact that I had been making that payment monthly for years, formerly with National City and then the past month with PNC. Took a bit to straighten that out and no less than six calls to half a dozen departments to find someone that had a clue how to resolve the issue. A few weeks later, I am in the bank attempting to cash a $200 check from the same account and they will not cash it because they do not have a signature on record in their national database. Really? So first my signature didn't match the one you had on file and after supposedly resolving that issue I don't have a signature on record?? Maybe another half dozen calls to get it straightened out again. The comedy of errors just continued for the next few months before I recognized the fragmentation within the bank, the lack of professionalism, the inability to resolve bank issues, and the complete lack of inter-departmental communication. That's all I needed to let me know there is no way I would trust this bank with my personal finances or my the finances of my practice. 15 years with PNC without complaint. Now, several months with BMO Harris, Chase, and Fifth Third without issue. PNC doesn't get another chance, however...horrible bank.
PNCisterribel Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Stay far away from this bank

PNC Bank has horrible customer service. They have employees that are very hateful. I was threatened and harrased by one of their reps. I tried to contact the managers and no one ever called me back. STAY AWAY FROM THIS BANK. THEY ARE HORRIBLE! If you like to be disprespected this is the bank for you!
Slpsms111 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Stay far away from this bank

I second that, third it, fourth it, and fifth it...unequivocally horrible bank with even worse customer service.
Coachpickles Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Executive hangs up on customers

Vice President of Business banking hangs up on customers.
When questioned about the financial products she was sold us...unable to remember. When questioned about promises she made during our account opening...unable to remember. When asked about the value of working with PNC bank...unable to articulate a good reason. When questioned about not knowing the answers to basic questions we had...she said file a complaint and hung up!!! Totally unprofessional. Closing our business accounts at PNC, today
Slpsms111 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Executive hangs up on customers

There personal banking is so poor that there is NO way I was going to trust them with my practice. There are just too many quality options. For those that want just a small overview...do a simple search for "Forbes and PNC". There are a few on this forum that will try to dupe you into believing you are in error, but my guess is most of these have extremely limited, small-time banking needs and/or are bank employees or have family members that are such. Otherwise, you will find the reviews and the ratings among the worst for any bank, big or small. But do what you will. As for me, I have found several options for my personal and professional banking needs and have been more than happy with each, as was I with National City before the PNC transition.
Slpsms111 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Executive hangs up on customers

Oops...typing and watching kids...make that "their" personal banking...
Slpsms111 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Stay away

I actually agree with Mellen...granted, the bank is inept on most every other level and there are reasons aplenty to stay a good country mile away from PNC, but balancing an account and avoiding overdraft fees should be obligatory. Granted, there are a few banks that queue transactions in a manner to maximize penalties and PNC is among those, but you really have to make sure that you have enough to cover all pending transactions, even those they are holding for 10 days in order to avoid penalties. That one goes on the consumer. PNC is certainly the worst bank I have encountered in 25+ years, without question, but ineptitude on their part shouldn't excuse one from maintaining an accurate account ledger. Yes, some banks will charge you overdraft fees, although a few (Huntington, for one) allow a grace period to cover overdraft charges and many don't utilize the same penalty maximization algorithm, but you can't use this as an excuse for firing a bank, especially when there are so many other legitimate reasons to avoid PNC for anything more than the most simple checking account.
Slpsms111 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

Stay away

...as an aside, I like the "read the disclosures...they will tell you they hold the smallest to largest transactions". That is good stuff. Again, correct in that people have to be responsible in maintaining an accurate account ledger, but that statement alone speaks volumes as to the practices of the bank and one should easily infer that their strategy is one of maximizing penalties and less to providing customer-oriented service. I agree, read your disclosures and THEN find another banking option.
Ellen67 Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

overdraft charges

Having $10 k in an account is different than running $10 K though an account. Another point: any bank can be sued doesn't mean the policy is wrong. Just alot of people got a lawyer. BOA was one of the first banks to credit your deposit before taking your debits out. I know Colonial Bank was the opposite. If it is legal, they will do it, even if customers don't like it. The key is that banks will change procedures if they lose alot of revenue generating customers over it. As far as fees on Saturdays: posting is M-F. But electronic debits can be 'pending' during the weekend. Did you think you could use your debit card over the weekend and it won't be deducted from your balance? Well, if you overdraft you account on Friday, the fee will show pending the next day, per usual. If you overdraft your account on the weekend, you have till Monday business cut off time to deposit money to avoid fees. Lastly, posting from largest to smallest. The only state that is legally not allowed is Nevada. If you don't OD your account to begin with, than it is a non-issue. But when you opened an account, they provided you the terms. Like the other poster said, it may be inconvenient to you, but they are just following through with their policies. When people complain like this, it reminds me of people who take less than sub prime loans: you have bad credit and can't get a good car loan, so you take 'another' type of loan because you are happy to get the car. But sometime later, when you default on the loan and get the harassing calls, you complain about the interest rate and the calls. It is black and white. You will bounce from bank to bank if you accept their terms but complain later when your actions cause fees.
Rob A..... Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

overdraft charges

PNC charges incorrect overdraft charges by putting through the largest amount first which is the exact same reason Bank of America had a lawsuit which forced them to refund money to millions of their customers. Not only that. They charged these fees on a Saturday when there system does not process deposits. There was about $700 in ACH deposits that are coming in over the weekend, which if this was a weekday, would have offset the small amount. The account went over by one small amount less than $50 from one transaction, which resulted in 4 overdraft charges.

The cost to them will be I am removing my account with $10, 000 a month in transactions over this $144 fee. The fees and abuse needs to stop.
Peter Brockman Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

overdraft charges

If you have $10, 000 per month going through the account, it is ludicrous to believe that you have overdrafts. You're lying through your crooked brown teeth.
Jaberwocky Send email
 
Feb 23, 2012

overdraft charges

if you went over, even by a small amount, that means YOU screwed up and need to learn to balance a checkbook.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    UMOBILE Amateur Success Marketing Sdn Bhd - RUDE/UNPROFESSIONAL STAFF
    Been to Umobile Amateur Success Marketing, located at...
    TD Bank - Holds Overdraft
    I AM EXTREMELY DISTRAUGHT!!! I WENT TO YOUR BRANCH/STORE...
    AWOK - blender
    I bought a blender from you 10 days ago when I tried it I...
    BENEFAX SDN BHD. 1173924-K - It's Fake Information
    This complain totally fake, and this section made for...
    IMF - TRUE OR FALSE Fund Deposited of mine
    FUND DEPOSITED IN IMF. THEY SEND MAIL TO ME TO CONTACT...
    KFC Malaysia - delivery kfc (man)
    penghantar makanan kfc yg biadab, disebab kan sy sedang on...
    OCBC BANK - Heartless Bank
    OCBC is one big heartless bank who only thinks of itself...
    POS MALAYSIA - NO ONE PICK UP CALL
    There's no one pick up call.. PLEASE ANSWER CALL...
    KFC - Warning me don't oder online
    Today I'm just oder kfc online at website..in few...
    SNGPL - Application for Gas Connection
    Dear Sir, I Give Application for Gas Connection date of...

    Share this site with others

         
          

    Recently Updated Complaints

    UMOBILE Amateur Success Marketing Sdn Bhd - RUDE/UNPROFESSIONAL STAFF
    Been to Umobile Amateur Success Marketing, located at...
    TD Bank - Holds Overdraft
    I AM EXTREMELY DISTRAUGHT!!! I WENT TO YOUR BRANCH/STORE...
    AWOK - blender
    I bought a blender from you 10 days ago when I tried it I...
    BENEFAX SDN BHD. 1173924-K - It's Fake Information
    This complain totally fake, and this section made for...
    IMF - TRUE OR FALSE Fund Deposited of mine
    FUND DEPOSITED IN IMF. THEY SEND MAIL TO ME TO CONTACT...
    KFC Malaysia - delivery kfc (man)
    penghantar makanan kfc yg biadab, disebab kan sy sedang on...
    OCBC BANK - Heartless Bank
    OCBC is one big heartless bank who only thinks of itself...
    POS MALAYSIA - NO ONE PICK UP CALL
    There's no one pick up call.. PLEASE ANSWER CALL...
    KFC - Warning me don't oder online
    Today I'm just oder kfc online at website..in few...
    SNGPL - Application for Gas Connection
    Dear Sir, I Give Application for Gas Connection date of...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username