Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

The History Channel

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about The History Channel

hank2d2 Send email
 
Feb 16, 2019

Abraham Lincoln

Great movie except one thing. ABRAHAM LINCOLN WAS NOT A DEMOCRAT. FOR BEING THE HISTORY CHANNEL IT SURE SEEMS LIKE YOU DON'T KNOW SHIT!!! OR YOU DID IT ON PURPOSE WHICH IS WORSE. SHAME ON YOU SHAME ON YOU
Chillibibi Send email
 
Jan 13, 2019

Goddess Kali

In an episode the show Ancient Aliens called Goddess Kali, a Hindu God a demon and said she stole babies. Unfortunately this is far from the truth, and its the equivalent of saying that the Virgin Mary is a demon.

The story of Mother Kali is one where all the other Gods could not kill a demon called Maheshasur who had asked for a boon that he not be killed by man or God BUT he did not mention woman as he did not consider that a woman as being capable of slaying him.

So Goddess Kali was creation as an amalgam of the three Goddess Lakshmi, Parvati and Saraswati and she tried to cut off teh demon's head, but as the blood hit the ground, another head of the demon grew back. To prevent this she drank the blood and thus was able to slay Maheshasur.

To the western observer, the image of Kali, with skulls around her neck is terrible BUT she represents that look from your mother when you have done something wrong, and once you got 'that look' you resolved to NEVER do that wrong deed again.

She is considered more powerful that any other Gods and Goddesses in the Hindu pantheon and is NOT a demon.

As such "Ancient Aliens" episode that says this is offensive to me a Hindu.

I actually like the show and was upset that they had done so little research into Goddess Kali.
Tobiasmax12 Send email
 
Jan 4, 2019

History channel volume always messed up

Why does the volume constantly go up and down. It is very annoying. History channel needs to fix the sound quality. Its not my t.v. doing it and other channels don't do this. It is hard to even watch the history channel with the volume going up very loud then all the way down were I can barely hear it. It does this really bad when watching Ancient Aliens. It seems how all the programs that have a narrator, the volume gets quiet when the narrator talks and loud when other people talk. I watch history channel on different t.v.'s and at other peoples house and it is the channels volume that is out of wack.
Mia2018 Send email
 
Dec 10, 2018

Advertising of program

Will you please stop or at the very least slow down advertising your outrageously violent "Vikings" program! We get it already. Why is it that it needs to be advertised every commercial break.

GIVE THOSE WHO DO NOT LIKE VIOLENT PROGRAMMING A BREAK !
Praveen2682 Send email
 
Dec 2, 2018

History hd schedule wrong display

History hd channel schedule wrong display for example baggage battle show on channel but running program kings of restoration iam very confused pls check and action this complaint
Ranger2 Send email
 
Nov 11, 2018

Custer : the final mystery

This 3 part series started off strong but the content at the end really sucked should have done all the footwork in the first episode what a fn let down at the end to be kicked off the site because of a few bones wow that is a gd tragedy
Mind you I respect Indian rights and customs but for christ sake get your shit together and follow through with a proper ending

I feel let down and a total waste of time not sure why the family was happy I am totally pissed

my email is [email protected]
Shanet Send email
 
Oct 12, 2018

American Pickers

Listen, I understand money And programming! But 5 days a week watching idiots pick through garbage? Is there really that much interest in being a clepto or hoarder? I didn’t subscribe to your channel to watch junkers 5 days a week! Cut the crap before folks cut you!
Shanet Send email
 
Oct 12, 2018

American Pickers

Please!!!!!!! Take this crap off your programming! Here and there is cool! But I didn’t pay to watch some junkers pick through somebody’s garage for stuff that isn’t history in the since I want to watch this channel! I had rather watch a damn Jaws marathon than 5 days of junking!!!! Come on people!
CEnigma Send email
 
Oct 2, 2018

cat killing and am restoration

I find it distasteful for programming to include cat killing. These losers need a snowmobile, a pack of dogs, and probably bait. They then let these dogs tree the animal and kill it. How small is it? Anyway, it’s legal to hunt mountain lion in montana. Glorifying it makes me switch the channel.

Onto my real complaint. Your programming allows for cat killing and follows fake fur traders, while you also took ricks restoration down. And tried replacing it. American restoration was cool, bring it back with Ricks Restoration and cast. Consider the removal of programming that includes harming of wolves, big cats, and anything else only being hunted for tv, not for any real reason. Your show also pitches misinformation on wolves. They hunt small animals like rabbits and mice, not humans.
Pat Dunne Send email
 
Sep 18, 2018

American pickers

Every time I turn on the history station it’s American pickers what the hell? Like history but enough of the scavenger hunting.
Pat Dunne Send email
 
Sep 18, 2018

Same show

Every single time I turn on the history station, it’s American pickers. You people are so lazy you can’t put something else on here that’s real history.
John44 Send email
 
Sep 11, 2018

Forged in Fire cutting simulated humans

I have a big problem with the show Forged in Fire, which shows "cutting simulated human bodies" with various blades they make.
I just saw a promo for a new episode called "Throat Cutting". This is sick and perverted and should not be shown on television,
where children can see it. The History Channel needs to remove this program from the air since it is as much about
promoting violence by showing cutting simulated bodies as it is about blade making. This has to stop.

I switch the channel as soon as I see a promo for it but the picture of a torso being cut in half or a throat cut is already
planted in my mind. Children are seeing this and as a parent, I want this show taken off the air NOW !!!

Those that agree with my complaints need to follow me in complaining to not only the History Channel but also to
the Federal Communications Commission and the White House !!!
TRIEDOFIT Send email
 
Sep 2, 2018

HISTORY CHANNEL FORGED IN FIRE NOT NEEDED

YOUR CONSTANT PROMOS FOR THIS STUPID SHOW CAUSES ME TO CHANGE THE CHANNEL

104 MIL VIEWERS IN ONE CASE YOUR PROMO STATED THIS WAS A NEW HIT SERIES

STOP LYING AND DO THE RIGHT THING

CANCEL THIS JUNK SHOW AND JUST RUN OLD STUFF AT LEAST ILL STOP CHANGING THE CHANNEL
ChuckP Send email
 
Aug 20, 2018

Commercials

All though I have watched and enjoyed the mountainmen series, I've noticed that you are now filling the one hour program with at least 50% of commercials which is very annoying. Unless your decision changes don't expect my continued patronage.
Michael Pellas Send email
 
Jul 30, 2018

" Reality Shows" History Channel

I firmly believe the shows you've been putting on the last few years is a Sacrilege to the People who love History. You were once my favorite channel and I thought and hoped this would pass, but now I see it won't. What the hell does Counting cars,Pawn Stars,Pickers,and Rednecks catching alligators in the swamp have to do with history. You're doing a great disservice with these "Reality Shows" Please ENOUGH ALREADY! for the love of God put History back on!

Sincerely,
Michael Pellas from Cleveland Ohio
cdalcony Send email
 
Jul 12, 2018

Shows

OH MY GOD. enough WITH AMERICAN PICKERS.
What happen to you guys? This no history no more. A bunch of nonsense shows. Swamp people? What the hell ...
Paw Star??? Give me a break. SCI Chanel is kicking your ass.
marygene Send email
 
Jul 3, 2018

american pickers pawn stars

take them off enough is enough, for pete's sake its a history channel, I can't wait till oak island comes its the only show worth watching on the history channel. where's the history on the the Roman Empire, on A merica Knights Templar, Greece Christ etc.!!!!!!
rustmanrob Send email
 
Jun 25, 2018

Found

I had more faith in the history channel than this, I guess that faith was miss placed. I recently watched the Found episode featuring the Nair Stone with the deserters story etched in it. You make the claim the gentleman, Nick, “found” the stone while digging a flower bed for his wife. Unless the gentleman was over 110 years old at the time of filming I highly doubt he was the one who found the stone. The story of the stone being found first appeared in 1911. This is fake history at best and flat out lying at worst. The history channel is better than this. If you’d like to to present the story of the artifact that’s fine, but don’t make things up
Shsongbird Send email
 
May 31, 2018

Six on the History Channel

My husband and I were looking forward to the new season of Six which aired on Monday, May 28 and again on Wednesday, May 30 of 2018. Both of these showed a man and woman engaging in sex. Not only that, but showed way too much of the act.
We watch this show because of the information presented about Seal Team Six, not to watch couples engage in sex. I am extremely disappointed in the History channel. This show does not need acts of sex to make it a good show; it's a good show on its own merit. We will not be watching any more. Clean up your act - you're better than this.
iamica Send email
 
May 16, 2018

Forged In Fire

Please stop using dead animal carcasses on Forged In Fire. It's disgusting and unnecessary, especially when there are so many other materials that can be used on the show to test a weapon. It's inhumane and cruel. Please stop.
[email protected] Send email
 
May 6, 2018

American Pickers

With all of your VAST material.... I know some people most likely like the"Pickers"... But having them on 3 fricking days a week..... STOP IT be smart and use other inventory..... PLEASE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Please!!!!!!!!!!!! Please!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
[email protected] Send email
 
May 6, 2018

american pickers

With all of your VAST material.... I know some people most likely like the"Pickers"... But having them on 3 fricking days a week..... STOP IT be smart and use other inventory..... PLEASE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Ioannis Send email
 
Apr 8, 2018

Macedonia

Please clarify your maps in your documentaries.

Macedonia is not a country.
It is a Greek province.
Show some respect for our history and culture.

Alexander the Great was Greek and he spoke Greek.
A student of Aristotle.

There is no modern Macedonian Language.
The occupants of Skopje are Slavic and speak a Bulgarian -Slavic dialect.
They are not Greeks and therefore not Macedonians.

Macedonia was and always will be Greece or use our real name HELLAS!!
Ioannis Send email
 
Apr 8, 2018

Macedonia

Macedonia is not a country.
It is a Greek Province.
Please clarify this in your documentaries.

The language of Macedonia and Alexander the Great is Greek.
There is no such thing as the Macedonian language or a separate country called Macedonia.
Please respect our history and our culture.
Macedonia is a part of Greece.
The so called Slavic region needs to find another name or let them keep Skopje.

Macedonia and Alexander the Great belong to Greece or lets use our real name HELLAS!!
Graham70 Send email
 
Apr 4, 2018

Scotlands braveheart

Your information is incorrect!!
At long last, in May 1328 Edward III of England finally signed the treaty confirming Scotland as a unique and independent kingdom with Robert I at its head. Robert the Bruce had achieved all of his objectives. Scotland was free again.
Only a year later King Robert I died at the age of just fifty-four. We are led to believe that he had leprosy – a disease the erroneous “Braveheart” movie showed his father as having contracted, not Robert the Bruce himself. Perhaps actor Angus Macfadyen was too handsome to be encumbered with such a disease in the film?
So the Bruce found himself lying on his death bed with minutes before he finally met his maker. Around him were friends and family and his great right-hand-man, Sir James Douglas, hero of the Scottish wars of independence.
Robert the Bruce, at some point during that last day, must have realised that his final journey would be down the fiery staircase to hell, for not only did he have the mortal sin for the murder in the church hanging over him, but he had also failed to fulfil his solemn vow to go on the religious crusade. Breaking that vow was a second mortal sin and the Bruce would now be certain in his own mind that there could be no escaping the fires of hell.
But just a minute ... surely one of the greatest schemers and planners of the time should be able to find some sort of escape route. His mind alive within a dying body silently screamed a medieval version of “eureka” and he called Sir James over to his bedside.
Barely able to speak, in a hushed voice the king told Sir James his plans to help him escape the dreadful wrath of God over his mortal sins.
“Douglas, help me.” he whispered, “When I die you must cut my heart from my body and take it on a crusade.”
With a final croak the king passed into eternity and the loyal knight plunged his dagger into the king’s chest, sawed open the rib cage and removed the still heart. This he placed into a hurriedly prepared lead casket which he then hung on a chain around his neck. Marching from the room, he then formed a volunteer Scottish army and set off on the crusade.
Douglas probably wasn’t too keen on undertaking this crusade, but he had promised his king and that was enough.
Off they went but, when they arrived in Spain, Douglas discovered that it was crawling with Saracens and Moors. They weren’t Christian, so they were fair game to be murdered during his crusade. Not only that, but by having his Crusade in Spain he could be back in time for Christmas.
He ordered the Scots to charge … without checking how many Saracens they were facing. They were vastly outnumbered, perhaps even by as many as five to one!
The battle was going badly. The Saracens had fought off the initial charge and began a counter charge.
Fighting a retreating action in medieval warfare is never a good idea and the Scots were dying like flies.
Sir James and some fellow knights found themselves isolated from the main force. They were about to be surrounded and he knew that they would soon be dragged from their mounts and killed. As the army’s leaders, their death would be likely to be long and horrible.
With no real alternative apparently open to him and with the king’s heart still around his neck, Sir James decided that a dramatic gesture was all that was left to him.
He took the heart, held it by the chain, swung it around his head like a hammer at the Olympic Games and hurled it into the affray, charging in after it and screaming at the top of his voice, “Lead on Braveheart, as thou dost!”[2].
As the heart fell to the ground Douglas leapt on top of it, protecting his king to the last. Sir James Douglas throws King Robert the Bruce's heart into the Saracens
What greater love can a man have for his king? And that is where the name “Braveheart” originated. A dead Robert the Bruce, not a live William Wallace, although to be fair to the filmmakers I don’t think they ever actually say who Braveheart is within the film.
Sir Robert The Bruce, King of Scotland and Sir James Douglas, his great and worthy friend paved the way for Scotland’s self determination and they will probably remain among Scotland’s very greatest heroes long beyond the current millennium, growing in stature as the past continues its relentless retreat.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    POSLAJU KLIA HUB - Parcel stuck
    Hi my parcel have been stuck at POSLAJU KLIA HUB. Would...
    POS LAJU - Pos ekspress is stuckk
    My parcels have not been updates since 17th and 21st June...
    KTMB - Registered but not valid
    1. Very hard to register in the online system. 2. System...
    TeleCheck - Check Declined at Walmart
    My husband and I went into Walmart on June 25 to pick up a...
    TeleCheck - Check Declined
    My husband and I went into Walmart on June 25 to pick up a...
    Aramark uniforms - aramark uniforms
    they changed the contract date from 3 years to 5 ,...
    Ckcd auth it *score - withdraw of 24.00
    I did not authorize withdraw or purchase cancell
    Radhakrishna - Radhakrishna
    Plzzz telecast Radhakrishna or atleast upload Radhakrishna...
    serial - For cut the Radhakrishna serial
    Plzzz telecast Radhakrishna utleast in hotstar plsss...
    Scorp Tech - Vinothkumar has cheated Rs. 70,000 from me by sending a...
    Hi, My name is Mohamed Khudus (9003224332). I have lost...

    Recently Updated Complaints

    POSLAJU KLIA HUB - Parcel stuck
    Hi my parcel have been stuck at POSLAJU KLIA HUB. Would...
    POS LAJU - Pos ekspress is stuckk
    My parcels have not been updates since 17th and 21st June...
    KTMB - Registered but not valid
    1. Very hard to register in the online system. 2. System...
    TeleCheck - Check Declined at Walmart
    My husband and I went into Walmart on June 25 to pick up a...
    TeleCheck - Check Declined
    My husband and I went into Walmart on June 25 to pick up a...
    Aramark uniforms - aramark uniforms
    they changed the contract date from 3 years to 5 ,...
    Ckcd auth it *score - withdraw of 24.00
    I did not authorize withdraw or purchase cancell
    Radhakrishna - Radhakrishna
    Plzzz telecast Radhakrishna or atleast upload Radhakrishna...
    serial - For cut the Radhakrishna serial
    Plzzz telecast Radhakrishna utleast in hotstar plsss...
    Scorp Tech - Vinothkumar has cheated Rs. 70,000 from me by sending a...
    Hi, My name is Mohamed Khudus (9003224332). I have lost...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username