Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

agoda.com

Singapore

Consumer complaints and reviews about agoda.com

lorettamae23@icloud.com Send email
 
Jan 12, 2018

Agoda.com

I made a booking on line through Agoda.com for 3 nights accommodation at Hotel Nova de Goa, Alto Porvorimfrom Sun 7 Jan 2018 to Wed 10 Jan 2018. I received an email advising that the booking was confirmed. I sent a courtesy email to the Hotel advising that my flight arrived in Goa at 6.00pm, so I would be checking in at about 7.00pm on Sun 7th. Imagine my surprise when I reached the hotel to be advised that they did not have a booking for me. The man at reception could not speak English, so with great difficulty I was able to make myself understood and I showed the reception clerk my email. He called the manager, who was not at the hotel at the time. The Manager spoke to me he said he would try and accommodate me. The room they gave me was not really prepared for a guest. There were no towels. The toilet was badly stained and looked dirty. All the furniture was splattered with paint and looked rather unsightly. My cousin who lives in Alto Porvorim rang the hotel several times to speak with me on Sunday night and Monday morning and was still told there was no booking for me. This created unnecessary anxiety for my family in Australia, as they did not know what had happened to me or my whereabouts.
I decided not to stay at the hotel, given the poor conditions. The manager got very angry and insisted that I had to pay for 2 nights, in spite of being there for less than 24 hours. For the 3 days I was in Goa, I kept receiving text messages for several other people saying that their booking was cancelled because of "no show". I even received a call from another company OYO.com about cancelling my booking, but they called me by another name. It seems like my contact number was put on several bookings incorrectly. There was a total lack of customer service and a lot of confusion and ultimately a very bad experience for me. I am never going to book with Agoda again or even think of staying at Hotel Nova de Goa. Loretta Mae Ross
Miss Integrity Send email
 
Dec 29, 2017

Terrible, dishonest service

I own and operate two establishments.
Last week we had a guest book through Agoda.
The booking was confirmed by all parties and the guest was billed (and paid) the full amount.
The guest was due at 1pm, but we had no way of contacting the guest as no details were forwarded to ourselves.
When the guest had not arrived by 8pm, I sent an email to Agoda stating that the guest was a no-show, the guest then did arrive at 9pm. I then immediately sent a second email to Agoda to inform them that the guest had arrived and that the booking should be reinstated.
After three nights, the guest departed amicably, I have emailed Agoda numerous times to inform them that the guest completed his stay and that we wanted to claim our payment from the company.
Yesterday, I received an appalling, rude and very condescending email informing me that the booking had been cancelled and that Agoda will NOT be paying me for the guest's accommodation, and neither will the guest be issued a refund on his "canceled" reservation.
This is theft in any language.
We will not be dealing with Agoda again and advise other parties to think twice before doing so.
Usha Send email
 
Dec 24, 2017

DE VILLA MELAKA

I want to complain that agoda have suggested a worst accommodation for high rate. I will never recommend this place to anyone as the staff respond in very irresponsible way.They fail to show their customer care...
troels Send email
 
Dec 13, 2017

Agoda Exchange Rate Scam

I booked a hotel a couple of months ago and was quoted $772 AUD (based on a charge in VND of 14,087,253). The exchange rate worked out at 18247.

This week I was charged the full amount but it was $860 - an 11% increase. The rate works out at 16380 which is just ridiculous.

It seems they can use their "exchange rate may vary" clause to charge whatever they want, with no notice of the significant change and no detail of what rate they have used.

Surely this is not even legal. I won't be using them again.
Rileywyna@hotmail.com Send email
 
Nov 7, 2017

Agoda

I have had serious problems with Agoda. I would have never used them but they subcontract through Priceline I guess .
Agoda is Rude, obtuse and incompetent .
I stayed in two hotels in South Africa/oct 2017 booker through Priceline / Agoda . They were booked at different times and on different days on the same day I stayed at these hotels. Aprox oct 14th and 17th. . I had been back in the US for two weeks when I started getting reminders from Priceline for bookings of these two hotels nov 5th and nov 6th. I called about a dozen times . Finally one of them cancelled but not the booking fir nov 6th. It’s so completly random and ridiculous . There is no possible explanation for me double booking these random hotels in November .
Agoda was worse than horrible . Grossly incompetent . Rude and just completely obtuse .
Finally had to call the hotel who were equally as ridiculous .

Rileywyna@hotmail.com

I strongly recommend checking all bookings that go through companies to make sure they don’t go use Agoda .
Unless you want to deal with the hell of random booking for months after you come home .
This has been the most ridiculous thing I’ve ever been part of as far as travel and bookings . And I’ve used Priceline 100s of Times all over the world .
Rileywyna@hotmail.com Send email
 
Nov 7, 2017

Extra bookings

I have had serious problems with Agoda. I would have never used them but they subcontract through Priceline I guess .
Agoda is Rude, obtuse and incompetent .
I stayed in two hotels in South Africa/oct 2017 booker through Priceline / Agoda . They were booked at different times and on different days on the same day I stayed at these hotels. Aprox oct 14th and 17th. . I had been back in the US for two weeks when I started getting reminders from Priceline for bookings of these two hotels nov 5th and nov 6th. I called about a dozen times . Finally one of them cancelled but not the booking fir nov 6th. It’s so completly random and ridiculous . There is no possible explanation for me double booking these random hotels in November .
Agoda was worse than horrible . Grossly incompetent . Rude and just completely obtuse .
Finally had to call the hotel who were equally as ridiculous .

Rileywyna@hotmail.com

I strongly recommend checking all bookings that go through companies to make sure they don’t go use Agoda .
Unless you want to deal with the hell of random booking for months after you come home .
This has been the most ridiculous thing I’ve ever been part of as far as travel and bookings . And I’ve used Priceline 100e of Times all over the world .
ashtapad Send email
 
Oct 25, 2017

Cheating By Agoda

WE HAVE BOOKED A HOTEL THROUGH AGODA , CHECK IN ON 28.11.2017 AND CHECK OUT ON 29.11.2017

WE HAVE BOOKED THE SAME IN AUGUST 2017., WE HAVE CONTACTED HOTEL AND HOTEL CLAIMING THAT THERE IS NO SUCH BOOKING., WE ARE CALLING AGODA FROM LAST 3 DAYS AND THEY ARE CLAIMING THAT THEY ARE TALKING TO HOTEL AND HOTEL MISSED THE VOUCHER., WE HAVE CALLED HOTEL AND HOTEL TELLING CLEARLY THAT THEY HAVENT RECEIVED ANY VOUCHER FROM AGODA.

BASED ON BOOKING WE HAVE FIXED OUT TRIP AND NOW WE ARE FACING SUCH TROUBLE.

THIS IS SPOILING IMAGE OF AGODA., IN SUCH WAY WE WILL NOT BOOK ANY HOTEL THROUGH AGODA IN FUTURE AND ALSO SUGGEST PEOPLE NOT TO BOOK THROUGH AGODA

MY BOOKING REFERENCE NUMBER WITH AGODA IS : 223412701
3x1st3nc3 Send email
 
Oct 8, 2017

FRAUD - Took Advance Payment No Room Available

FRAUD - Took Full Advance Payment & No Room Available
Booking ID : 23166613
Property Booked : Marble Waters Hotel and Suites, Kernan
Property Contact : 1-904-337-1700
Mode Of Payment :By Credit Card
Number of Rooms : 1
Booking for : Oct 8-9, 2017

On arrival at Hotel, was told that there were no rooms available. When calling the customer service line, was told the last 4 numbers of the credit card used to pay for the room in full was not valid. This is impossible as I have a receipt showing the full payment made using this same credit card.

I have left 4 messages to resolve this issue. Please process this refund for the full amount charged to my Visa card. This is a fraudulent transaction. I will be reporting this transaction to Chase Bank Credit Card Fraud Division to retract payment, and will report Agoda as a fraudulent business to every agency and review site possible.
Devid Send email
 
Sep 27, 2017

Agoda

Booking ID: 228064845 & 228062629

My name is Devid and i have used your app for booking rooms for a few years. All have been going smoothly till this few days.

We are planning to go to Hokkaido Japan this coming December-January (24 people altogether). As you can see from your app, i have booked quite a few rooms from 26th to 31st December and is planning to book some more rooms from 1st to 5th January.

I am writing this email to lodge a complaint regarding the booking id as stated above. I have booked and paid for the two rooms but the vendor (Tang Jun) have sent us a message via your Agoda in app messaging service that says they cannot accept our order as the room (C6030) is full. The other room (C5022) is also hosted by the same vendor, so we are worried that the same problem would crop up as the C6030 room. As of the time of writing, if i were to input the search parameter 30th Dec to 1st January Shimukappu, the room C6030 would still pop up as being available.

For your information, we have had 5 rooms booked in the mountain ski resort area for the other family members. Most of the rooms in the area are full and if we cannot resolve this situation soon, i am afraid our family members would be separated in a foreign land and in the not so accessible mountainous area.

I have called your customer service 4 times in a span of ten days and each time, they would be saying that they know of this problem and are looking into it and looking for alternatives.

Please resolve the matter in a week from now (that is supposed to be your business procedure as i have heard from your customer service team) so that my family can make preparations for our lodging for the upcoming holiday.
Poly88 Send email
 
Sep 6, 2017

poor customer service

Agoda is one of the worst website I've ever used !!
I booked a hotel from Toronto to Bangkok "Eastin Grand Hotel " and never received a confirmation email
I called my bank and they said the payment never went through and since I didn't have my booking ID Agodo's Customer Service would not talk to me. So I went ahead and booked with Expedia now I'm double booked and Agoda wont even provide a gift certificate for this error.
I will never book with this site again !!
three Send email
 
Jul 28, 2017

Never leave your credit card data in Agoda Aps

I was very upset when i check my credit card billing, there was transaction for hotel booking somewhere in Budapest Hungary by Agoda using my credit card, the Agoda hotline service or call center cannot do anything about it, even you send email or call you will still as the reservation number which was not exist and never did.
Funny things is this hotel name was none and only mentioned city name and country, therefore i have decided to close my credit card and the bank issue the new one for security purpose.
so guys please DON'T SAVE or ADD any of your credit card information in your travelling aps (hotel, travel, uber, grab etc).
JojoJ Send email
 
Jun 13, 2017

Charged 4 mths before arrival when it says "Pay at hotel"

the Agoda website advertise "pay at the hotel", we choose the higher rate for pay at hotel. then found out we've charged 4 months before we arrived the hotel. When I question who authorise the charge on my credit card, they reply there was an error, but nothing they can do about it... Can you trust to leave your credit card details with such a website?!?! This put a very stressful financial situation on us before we are heading to the holiday :(
Gnanams hotel Send email
 
Jun 13, 2017

lost of user name and password

We are The Ganams Hotel jaffna Srilanka.


We have lost our ycs agoda username and password.


Please help us to find out our username and password.
cdlcampejos Send email
 
Jun 10, 2017

Agoda is a fraud

My booking was 5 months advance dated January 6, 2017 for my 3 days & 2 nights schedule June 6 to 8 Hotel Accommodation. But the problem was hotel has no record of my booking from Agoda. Even if I showed them my bank statement indicating that it was fully charged to my credit card. I immediately call to Agoda for help and waiting for them more than 2 but to no avail, no one answer my calls. I am very disappointed, my daughter feels hungry and tired from our long travel. I am expecting a refund.
johnny8480 Send email
 
May 2, 2017

Misleading--at best on AGODA.com

Checked AGODA for potential bookings for a one week stay on the island of BOHOL, Philippines, for 2 rooms for 4 adults and 4 children (ages 16, 10, 10 & 10) for a total of 8 people. Clearly in the search bar at the top and showed 2 rooms, 4 adults and 4 children.

Booked the hotel stay and got the "voucher" for the reservations. To my surprise, it said 2 rooms and 4 adults -- no children. Contacted AGODA customer service and they were LESS THAN HELPFUL--told me I needed to "clean out my cookies" for their web-page to work correctly. They had no concern about the misinformation in the booking, and seemed less than enthusiastic about helping me correct it.

I contacted the hotel directly and they appear to be more than willing to work with me at a reasonable rate.

My problem with AGODA is that it will NOT take into consideration the "children" when you look for prices at the time of the actual booking, and TO MY SURPRISE, their policy (they blamed it on the hotel and said that the individual hotels make the rules up themselves and tell them what to put on the website) -- their definition of a child is "7 and below in age".

I was told that my booking should have been for 8 adults instead of 4 adults when, again, the kids are 16, 10, 10 & 10 years old. Where in the world in hotels are any "adults" considered at 8 years old and above? In the USA, a child is a child with ages 17 and under.

Under the "details" on the booking page they had the definitions of the children (ages 2 and under free, ages 3-7 stay free using existing bedding in gray, and then there was a thing you had to click on to get the good info which said ages 8 and above is considered an adult--well, they could have done one more line so you can see that all together with the other two categories, but they didn't and the only reason I can speculate as to why they didn't is to get people like me--confuse them and shaft them). SHAME ON YOU AGODA! NOTHING about it at check out--just let it go.

AGODA did NOTHING other than be combative with me on the phone (yes, I probably escalated the situation, but they could have very easily fixed this, but they chose not to).

Bottom line, I will NEVER book with AGODA again--YOU LOST A CUSTOMER IN ME!

I hope others will take heed and use other sites, too, as you will get the shaft from AGODA!
celt81 Send email
 
Apr 27, 2017

Agoda

I travel a lot, but recently used agoda for the first time. I had major problems at the actual hotel, the owner's check in time did not match what was on my agoda documentation and when I said that he shouted and swore at me, called me names which I won't repeat here, then threw a pen at me before his son came rushing in to apologise. The man continued to shout and swear at me while his son tried to calm the situation down, the man continued to throw small items from time to time while other staff members eventually calmed him down. By this stage I was wishing I had waited until my husband finished work to check in together, as I felt very intimidated on my own. I had things thrown at me, but if the man's son hadn't arrived at the moment he did, I think I was in danger of physical attack. There was no way to complain there without further escalating the situation. When I read the tripadvisor reviews afterwards, it became clear this was not an isolated incident.
So, I got in contact with agoda, and to start with, their response seemed fantastic. They immediately apologised and offered a refund, but stated it could take a while to come through. I sent them an email saying thank you and how impressed I was with their customer service. They responded that they'd also contacted the hotel and removed them from their website. I hadn't asked them to do that, so was quite impressed.
Having been impressed, a few days later when booking a trip in the same city I went to their page. The first hotel to appear on the search was the one they'd told me- unprompted- that they no longer work with. The refund also still hadn't arrived. I emailed them to say I didn't care who they worked with, but ask why they'd lied to me about not working with the hotel anymore. They responded they hadn't lied, and that they were not available to be booked on the site. This went back and forth three times, them just lying each time. Still no refund either. I sent them links to the booking page. They sent back an email saying "kindly be informed this matter has been dealt with. You may book at any of the other hotels.". So completely avoiding confronting the fact they'd lied, continually, for no reason. Anyway, still no refund. Stay away from this mob.
Mypoint Send email
 
Apr 1, 2017

Over charged

I booked 4 nights for a hotel in Dubai and was told I would be charged 2191.95 AED in sterling at the rate of the day - they advised that this would be around £477.

I was actually charged £500.25 so I checked the spot rate on the day and I should have been charged - £475.25 However when i checked with my card provider I was told that Agoda had requested the sterling amount and no conversation rate had been given.

When I challenged Agoda they simply said 'Kindly be informed that it is stated in the voucher that you will be charged according to the exchange rate on the charge date. You card was successfully authorised on the 24th of March'17 and charged on the 27th of March'17.'

On the 27 March the spot rate was 4.6122 to the £ so it should have been £475.25.

I have been ripped off the tune of £25. Please do not use this unethical company - be warned!
brbob56@hotmail.com Send email
 
Mar 27, 2017

Fee to be paid at hotel

Used them many times but 'tis will be my last.
Booked hotel and came back with pay at the hotel on arrival,I complained this has never happened before I wish to pay now.
In short cannot be done quote incorrect as hotel will want $50 more than what their agreed price,still don't know have not got there yet and the bludgers can charge anything as they have credit card details.
LAST TIME I SILL NEVER USE AGAIN
CarolT Send email
 
Mar 12, 2017

Transfer request

Booked 3 nights at Sheraton Denarau Fiji on Agoda. I had stayed at Starwood's other site, Westin next door & took the opportunity with the exceptional offer to try the Sheraton. As a Starwood Privilege member & SPG member I am aware these 2 hotels are under the Starwood banner & drinks & meals from either site can be billed to your account to pay on check-out. I contacted Sheraton at Denarau Fiji as reviews seemed to suggest this site was more suitable for families & found this was indeed their niche. As I am travelling on my own I requested Agoda advise me if I could transfer my payment to the Westin which appears more suitable for solo travellers. Agoda advised "cancellation is out of the question as well due to YOUR cancellation policy which won't allow a free cancellation policy". I didn't ask or expect a free cancellation, I asked for a transfer. "YOUR Policy"? I agreed to Agoda's policy. Agoda's response was abrupt, curt & definitely not designed to encourage me to rebook any further bookings with Agoda. As a frequent Business & First Class traveler, this level of communication was below par on a Customer Service scale. Not because I requested a transfer, because of their abrupt dismissive rude response. I have no wish to book with Agoda in the future. I suggest there are better customer service focussed sites with equally great deals.
Virender Kumar Bansal Send email
 
Jan 2, 2017

Fraud- Took Advance and No Booking

Booking ID : 116132150
Member ID : 30492230
Property Booked : Hotel Ranthambhore Resort, Ranthambhore Road, Swaimadhopur, Ranthambhore,India- 322001
Property Contact : +911244307627
Mode Of Payment :By Credit Card
Number of Rooms : 2 (Deluxe)
Booking for : 28th Dec.'16

On arrival at Hotel, Hotel Manager Mr Chadha, informed that booking was done through Dewdrop Hospitality, Gurgaon and they had cancel the booking because of Non receipt of payment.

Issue: Payment was made in full in advance at the time of booking and there was no request from my side to cancel the booking.
Need the details and reason for cancellation along with my refund.
sixpackpayne Send email
 
Aug 19, 2016

Refund

Agoda is terrible. They do not honor their word. The told me I would be refunded at my next booking but will not answer a single email about how to use this refund when I book again.
adit Send email
 
Jun 29, 2016

Ripped off by agoda.com

agoda has the worst service ever. got me stranded twice over with hotels bouncing me off. left me with huge expenses on phone & taxis and no place to stay. and now they refuse to honour their word of refunding me. total harassment - never ever agoda
udassani Send email
 
Jun 9, 2016

Fraud Company, took advance, no room & no refund

Booking ID 95102102. The worst customer support one can expect from an International travel booking site. On our family trip to Rishikesh we booked three rooms through Agoda in Hotel SK International. We paid the hotel charges in advance to Agoda and got the room confirmation. On 14th May, Saturday, we reached Rishikesh as per our booking plan and on reaching hotel they said the rooms are not available you can check somewhere else. On calling the customer support of AGODA three times and wasting almost an hour and half on call the only response we got that they have spoken to hotel and hotel guys will help you in finding another hotel. It was jam-packed in Rishikesh and we spent our half day in finding another hotel with help of SK International. We got a low grade hotel on one corner of Rishikesh with lift not working on the floor we were allotted rooms. Our whole day was waisted and our Single day trip to Rishikesh was completely spoiled. We were forced to pay our hotel bill on checkout when we were moving to next destination as per our Itinerary.

On claiming the refund of booking amount, AGODA is not ready to refund what it has charged us for booking hotel SK International and did not gave us rooms.

We don't go to the same destination again and again on holidays so we try to cover maximum attraction of the destination with advance planning and thus have pre-booked our rooms through AGODA to avoid last minute surprises. AGODA customer support did not even bothered to call us to check our status.

AGODA may not have control on hotel but, we expected it to have strong customer support to help you in the event of such surprises. I will give them a big ZERO for customer support and call them CHEAT for not refunding the booking amount.
Eldernlim Send email
 
Mar 26, 2016

Charging of credit card

Agoda says they won't charge my credit card when I did the booking. And when I wanted to cancel the booking I can't cancel it because I did not receive anything from agoda.tried calling the hotel the hotel says they can't help.tried calling agoda and they kept asking us to leave a message.this is is just a rip off
Daphne Send email
 
Jan 25, 2016

Tricked into Agoda Website

I recently looked at website of a Bintan Royale in Penang I wanted to book into and gave my details and when gave credit card details ..discovered the hotel website had been hijacked by Agoda booking ID 85551677 .Consequently I paid more than the price on the Hotel Website. I am an older person and not very skilled on the computer and because I specifically chose the hotel website thought I was booking directly. This sort of trickery is appalling. I was also charged more than the original quote for conversion rate , which is against my country' s consumer protection act. I emailed Agoda and have received no reply. I contacted Bintan Royale to discover that they have had problems with Agoda, and that they have not received my payment.
This deceit and lack of transparency should be stopped

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Getaroom.com - unethical charges
    I was lead to believe I was booking direct with the...
    Lincare - won't take cpap mask that did,t fit right
    Was American home patient client lincare bought then out...
    Hanh - Pham
    Pleas , tell me why ?
    Pham Hanh - Viola
    I see the fee deducted from facebook for no reason. Please...
    cyprexx - Incompetent managers and coordinators
    I have recently pulled out of Cyprexx after nine years,...
    mobile draw@live.com - 2018 Microsoft Mobile draw
    You have been awarded of 800000 pounds in the 2018...
    Scotia Itrade - Customer service
    Scotia Trade has the worst customer service I have ever...
    Pall mall double casual XL - Faulty cigarette
    Hi I always purchase the same cigs everytime I go to the...
    Clark Shoes - Color rubbing off
    In October 2017 I purchased a brown pair of Clark shoes...
    Hallmark channel - Emma Fielding
    I was looking forward to this mystery series, but at 22...

    Share this site with others

         
          

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Getaroom.com - unethical charges
    I was lead to believe I was booking direct with the...
    Lincare - won't take cpap mask that did,t fit right
    Was American home patient client lincare bought then out...
    Hanh - Pham
    Pleas , tell me why ?
    Pham Hanh - Viola
    I see the fee deducted from facebook for no reason. Please...
    cyprexx - Incompetent managers and coordinators
    I have recently pulled out of Cyprexx after nine years,...
    mobile draw@live.com - 2018 Microsoft Mobile draw
    You have been awarded of 800000 pounds in the 2018...
    Scotia Itrade - Customer service
    Scotia Trade has the worst customer service I have ever...
    Pall mall double casual XL - Faulty cigarette
    Hi I always purchase the same cigs everytime I go to the...
    Clark Shoes - Color rubbing off
    In October 2017 I purchased a brown pair of Clark shoes...
    Hallmark channel - Emma Fielding
    I was looking forward to this mystery series, but at 22...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username