Submit a Complaint

agoda.com

Singapore

Consumer complaints and reviews about agoda.com

Dumin Send email
 
Dec 7, 2019

We're SOLD OUT for the room you wanted.

I booked 2 room in Thailand and i understand well it is under no cancellation policy. Later, i received an email saying that my booking is confirmed. then later came another email saying that " We're SOLD OUT at XXX hotel for the room you wanted.". But i realized that money was deducted from my bank account. Thinking that I need to make proper cancellation to get refund, so I did.
But I am wrong. I emailed again and again to ask what is actually happen. But Agoda only replied that since my booking is under no cancellation policy, they can't refund. They never explain why in the first place I was told that Agoda sold off the room I want. This is cheating. If not because of that silly email, I won't cancel that booking.
I have being using Agoda for many years and trusted it so far. Never know that will be cheated like this.
I demand the refund.

Dumin
Dumin Send email
 
Dec 7, 2019

cancellation of hotel

I booked a hotel in Thailand and understand well it is under no cancellation policy. I first received an email saying that my booking is confirmed. Later another email came saying that " We're SOLD OUT at XXX hotel for the room you wanted." However, I found out money was deducted from my bank account. I thought I need to do proper cancellation to get refund. so I did.
But then i received email saying that I won't get refund because of no cancellation policy. Again and again I complain but Agoda never explain why they send that kind of email. Agoda just keep emphasized it is under no cancellation policy. I am mad for this is cheating.
KedarC Send email
 
Nov 24, 2018

Agoda charged me double for modification of the booking. No refund mail from agoda

Previously I had booked Sea Mist Beach Resort GOA for date 24-NOV to 27-NOV. I was charged Rs.13,148.74/- against that booking.

When I updated/modified date in December for same booking ID and hotel it again charged me Rs.14,466.54/-
Actually I should have been charged only the difference i.e Rs.1,318/- however whole amount has been deducted from my account which cost me total Rs.27,615.28/-

I have not received any refund mail from agoda.

When am trying to contact agoda customer care no one is responding to the calls. Am getting only machine answer.
KedarC Send email
 
Nov 24, 2018

Agoda charged me double for modification of the booking. No refund mail from agoda

Previously I had booked Sea Mist Beach Resort GOA for date 24-NOV to 27-NOV. This is the Booking ID - 313051177. I was charged Rs.13,148.74/- against that booking.

When I updated/modified date in December for same Booking ID - 313051177 and hotel it again charged me Rs.14,466.54/-
Actually I should have been charged only the difference i.e Rs.1,318/- however whole amount has been deducted from my account which cost me total Rs.27,615.28/-

I have not received any refund mail from agoda. Am trying to contact customer care however their numbers are not working at all. Am only getting machine answer.
sharmaarv2 Send email
 
Nov 15, 2018

Agoda is unnecessarily forcing for a ecash refund rather than cash revert to charged credit card

I had made a booking with Katriya hotel, Hyderabad using Agoda booking site and in meanwhile, there has been a personal loss in my family (my grandma's demise). I initiated the refund with Agoda and they were prolonging stating that they arent able to contact hotel. I spoke to hotel and explained them with the scenario of not being able to travel. Katriya hotel was very understanding and they agreed for a complete refund of amount.

In meanwhile, Agoda asked for death certificate and i have provided the same. They are now forcing that the refund will be made via agoda vouchers with validity only for 3months and are not reversing the charges applied on my credit card. This is unfair as the hotel management has agreed for full refund but the agoda is holding my money back. There is not call center number to connect and the chat format takes around 1-2 hours to reach up to the responsive number. Iam unable to follow-up with them and my money is stuck with agoda for no reason. I would require a complete refund of charged amount without any deduction.

My booking id with agoda is 311224489

Hoping this complaint would support me to escalate the matter to the right executives and enable my deserved complete refund from agoda.
bingm Send email
 
Sep 17, 2018

Refund

The hotel emailed us that we can get a refund but I rang Agoda many times but it was just an answering machine very poor service.hardly you can contact them..so disappointed I lost my money.
Keeper Send email
 
Aug 27, 2018

agoda booking

I booked a hotel in thailand for $49 per night including breakfast and was charged $62 and got no breakfast. I will never use agoda again. There also appears to be no avenue to complain to them.
Newme4444 Send email
 
Aug 4, 2018

Fradulant Activity

Merchant has fraudulent debited my credit card in the amount of 1,588.70 that I did not authorize
Tankokleong Send email
 
Jul 31, 2018

Service

I have log complain about my gift card. But still they did not solve my problem
Solehhin Ahmad Send email
 
Jun 12, 2018

Barang tak sampai2

EP514070190MY


Brg sye dah lame dah kat pos laju transit klia hub taw still delay at situh je taw..padehal membe sye post lmbt pon brg dia dah smpai padehal tmpat yg same taw..harap cm asap sye punya brg k nk raya nih bro..
psgwa Send email
 
Jun 12, 2018

another hotel with renovations

known one likes to be ignored, when you book a hotel and receive an email from that hotel telling me i must accept a lesser room in their hotel instead of what i paid for in their cottages, i am trying to contact Agoda their customer service is disgustingly bad.
I had this problem Agoda another hotel under renovation a few years ago, ive asked for my money back or a upgrade to a better room in the hotel part of this resort. Because i have no cancellation policy they are just ignoring me.

Very Disappointed

Gordon R
Jocelyn aguas Send email
 
May 25, 2018

Booking scam

I booked a room at a resort in Puerto galera...the payment was received and agoda event sent a confirmation number and when i get to the resort it is under renovation...its been under renovation for a year already...how can i get my money back?
G. Tan Send email
 
May 25, 2018

Agoda uses "Cambridge Analystica" method to get information

Last September I made a booking to Osaka and Kyoto through Agoda for April 2018. After a few days, we changed our minds and decided to go Australia instead. So I cancelled all my bookings, one in Osaka and one in Kyoto. Apparently, I have a duplicate booking in another hotel for the same dates and number of days in Osaka. The ID no. for these two hotels are almost identical except that the last few numbers are slightly jumbled, which I was not observant enough to realise that they are 2 different hotels. Agoda has a habit of inundating the same booking with emails..

The are numerous mysteries that surfaced up early this month.

There was an attempt by Agoda to deduct $900 plus directly from my joint bank account with my husband!! Fortunately the bank called my husband to verify this direct deduction. My husband did not acknowledge this charge as we never used Agoda for such a long time AND WE ONLY USE CREDIT CARDS TO MAKE PAYMENTS RATHER THAN BANK CARDS. So he thought that his bank card had been compromised and had it replaced.

Earlier this year I had cancelled my credit card (OCBC ) as I could not get a waiver for credit card fees. They offered another version of credit card that does not require credit card fees. I have no bank account with OCBC but have giro arrangement with our joint bank account to pay the credit card monthly payments. When my credit card statement came, I found that I was charged by Agoda for $700 plus on this NEW CARD and I had no idea what it was. So I believed that my new credit card had been compromised and had it replaced immediately.
MYSERY NO. 1: how did Agoda get our personal bank account no. and which bank?
MYSTERY NO. 2: who authorise Agoda to get money from our bank account?
MYSTERY NO. 3: how did Agoda get my new credit card information?

A few days later I received an email from Agoda about this second booking which they claimed I made and had a no show. In consequence Agoda is billing me for this and whether I wish to dispute. I gave them the email date whereby I requested cancellations. Agoda then highlighted that the ID no. is different:
first hotel was 227365365 and the second hotel was 227363569.
I then rechecked through my email and was actually surprised to see that there was a confirmation for the second hotel and both are confirmed on the same date! One was sent at 12:44 am and the other 12:59 am of the same day.
MYSTERY NO. 4: how on earth that I have 2 bookings on the same dates at 2 different hotels and with the ID no. looking so similar if one is not observant.

I am now at their mercy as they are going to use the proof from the confirmation email that I have made the booking.

I think it is about time the Authorities should investigate Agoda for conducting this kind of tactics. If you want to protect your personal information, DO NOT USE AGODA.
Kbon Send email
 
May 23, 2018

Hotel wouldn't honor reservation. Agoda wouldn't tefund

I booked a room for my son online at agoda.com. It wasn't until after I booked the room that they sent me the information saying that the same card had to be swiped at the hotel. Even though I was told over the phone that I could book as a third-party and pay as a third party. So, my son was left sleeping outside in the parking lot, because the hotel when I honor the reservation even though it was prepaid. Agoda refused to refund my money.
Doocey90 Send email
 
May 21, 2018

Messed up on the room

I paid for a double room with 2 double beds and only got one because agoda messed up so one person had to sleep on the floor this company is an actual disgrace and would warn everybody to steer well clear
Lynn Lee Send email
 
May 16, 2018

OVERCHARGED

Last April 30, 2018, i do online booking at the Crowne Plaza Hotel & Suites Landmark in Shenzhen. When I booked my room for May 3-5, 2018 (2 nights) the amount is $244.71(Pay at the Property) - including tax room charges . So to fast forward the story, I was quite shocked when i see the amount the hotel charged me. The Agoda price is $244.71 but the hotel charged me $330.00 so there was a price difference of $85.29 between the Hotel and the Agoda. Even though i have upgraded my room for RMB$100 X 2 night still there is discrepancy. Could there be any chance the Agoda or the hotel would provide to compensate for the price difference?
Please feel free to contact me at +673-7178533 or email me at [email protected]

OVERCHARGED OVERCHARGED

Sophie Deraspe Send email
 
Apr 26, 2018

Lucky hostel

Hello, we booked a room through Agoda at lucky Hostel in Battambang, cambodia for 2 nights. We chose that hotel because there was a pool and we could pay a little extra to have AC in our bedroom. We did pay the extra to have it, but when we got there they told us that the price we had paid was for without AC. We showed them the confirmation that said that we actually had AC but they never wanted to let us have the room as we were supposed to. They said to have AC we had to pay 10$ extra. we wanted to talk to the manager but he wasn't there and didn't want to talk to us on the phone because apparently he didn't speak English! It is extremely hot, we have two kids with us, but we have to sleep without AC because of that 10$ That we refused to pay because we have already paid the extra for the AC when we have booked! Very frustrating!! Also there is a pool but it is closed for two days for cleaning apparently! First time I hear that you have to close a pool for cleaning. The two reasons why we had chosen that hotel were AC and pool and we can't have any of them. Anything we can do when we fall on an owner who doesn't want to respect the conditions that we paid for?
Sophie Deraspe Send email
 
Apr 26, 2018

Lucky hostel in Battambang

Hello, we booked a room through Agoda at lucky Hostel in Battambang for 2 nights. We chose that hotel because there was a pool and we could pay a little extra to have AC in our bedroom. We did pay the extra to have it, but when we got there they told us that the price we had paid was for without AC. We showed them the confirmation that said that we actually had AC but they never wanted to let us have the room as we were supposed to. They said to have AC we had to pay 10$ extra. we wanted to talk to the manager but he wasn't there and didn't want to talk to us on the phone because apparently he didn't speak English! It is extremely hot, we have two kids with us, but we have to sleep without AC because of that 10$ That we refused to pay because we have already paid the extra for the AC when we have booked! Very frustrating!! Also there is a pool but it is closed for two days for cleaning apparently! First time I hear that you have to close a pool for cleaning. The two reasons why we had chosen that hotel were AC and pool and we can't have any of them. Anything we can do when we fall on an owner who doesn't want to respect the conditions that we paid for?
dsgs Send email
 
Apr 9, 2018

PAYMENT AND CUSTOMER SERVICE

This is the email i sent to their customer service team!

I am extremely annoyed by everything that has happened today and dealing with your customer service team. I called simply because my husband’s card has been cancelled due to fraudulent activity that’s happened recently.

I called to change my bank details over the phone which was fine my original booking was for £335 and the main reason I went for this booking was because you claimed at the time to have 30% off for an early booking. Once I was on the phone and the lady had taken all my details and never once mentioned that the booking rate has gone up since I made the booking to £350 I had to ask her once all my payment details had been taken then she stated it was £350 I said to her well I don’t have enough money in my account for that transaction. So I transferred £364 into my account just to make sure there was enough in my account. Once I called back the lady looked at my notes and once again never told me how much the transaction was going to be until she had taken the card payment but I never thought anything of it because the previous lady stated it was £350 I then asked her what is the amount she said £354 and I was extremely annoyed by this point because how has the exchange rate in the last couple of minutes gone up since my previous call I just said to her take the money I can no longer argue with you regarding the matter.

She took a while to speak to me whilst taking the transaction which I found odd then said to me your card has declined there is insufficient funds in your account I said that’s impossible she stated the last three digits to me again and I said that’s correct, whilst I was on the phone I checked my online banking and £264.44 had been taken out of my account and I mentioned this to her and she said no no that’s not correct we haven’t taken any money out of her account. Now this really got me angry because I am here looking at my account details stating AGODA RESERVATION INTERNET GB has taken £264.44 out of your account. I asked her to speak to her manager and the phone went down.

I have since checked my online banking and a further 90.27 has been taken out of my account without my authorisation which means you have kept my bank details. I am disgusted at how your customer service team speak to people and I wish for you to listen to the calls made earlier today the customer service women was called Sandra.

She has now emailed me explaining she did wrong and wishes ad goodwill gesture to honour the original agreement of £335 but I do not believe this is good enough this should have been honoured the first time I spoke to the women on the phone or when I spoke to the women the first time when I explained the second price quoted was £350. I would like a reply from a manager. I will never use this travel agent again if I don’t hear back and I will made sure I spread the word online if this isn’t dealt with better and future training is given to your customer service team.

Sandra changed the exchange rate from US dollars into GB pounds which is what gave her £264.44 then said this money is on hold and gave me all kinds of back talk to cover herself. I actually can’t believe this happen to me today I have never experience a more unprofessional travel agency.

This is Sandra’s email to me:
Thank you for your call earlier today!
I apologize that I have made a mistake and you felt I do not know what I am doing.
Once I got back after putting you on hold, I could not here you on the line and I have tried multiple time to reach you at 07932733079, but it was not successful.
I wish to inform you that I have settled the amount successfully for 354.71 GBP and sent you the receipt to confirm it.
In addition, as a gesture of goodwill and hoping that it will at least a little bit brightens your mood, I wish to inform you that I am honoring the original price of the booking: 335.58 GBP.
The difference in price on creation and settlement day (19.13 GBP) will be refunded back to you!
Due to the technical limitations, 24 hours must pass between the settlement of the amount and refunding it back. Therefore, as soon as the necessary time pass, I will refund that amount back to you and send you the email to confirm.
Once again, I am truly sorry for all the inconvenience and frustration and I do hope you enjoy your stay at Ilunion Barcelona Hotel in Barcelona, Spain!
Happy anniversary!

Please see attached an incorrect receipt made to me which states £705.15 was charged to my account.

What is going on with this company use are really unprofessional and dont know what you are doing sort it out!!!!!!!!
dsgs Send email
 
Apr 9, 2018

payment and customer service

I am extremely annoyed by everything that has happened today and dealing with your customer service team. I called simply because my husband’s card has been cancelled due to fraudulent activity that’s happened recently.

I called to change my bank details over the phone which was fine my original booking was for £335 and the main reason I went for this booking was because you claimed at the time to have 30% off for an early booking. Once I was on the phone and the lady had taken all my details and never once mentioned that the booking rate has gone up since I made the booking to £350 I had to ask her once all my payment details had been taken then she stated it was £350 I said to her well I don’t have enough money in my account for that transaction. So I transferred £364 into my account just to make sure there was enough in my account. Once I called back the lady looked at my notes and once again never told me how much the transaction was going to be until she had taken the card payment but I never thought anything of it because the previous lady stated it was £350 I then asked her what is the amount she said £354 and I was extremely annoyed by this point because how has the exchange rate in the last couple of minutes gone up since my previous call I just said to her take the money I can no longer argue with you regarding the matter.

She took a while to speak to me whilst taking the transaction which I found odd then said to me your card has declined there is insufficient funds in your account I said that’s impossible she stated the last three digits to me again and I said that’s correct, whilst I was on the phone I checked my online banking and £264.44 had been taken out of my account and I mentioned this to her and she said no no that’s not correct we haven’t taken any money out of her account. Now this really got me angry because I am here looking at my account details stating AGODA RESERVATION INTERNET GB has taken £264.44 out of your account. I asked her to speak to her manager and the phone went down.

I have since checked my online banking and a further 90.27 has been taken out of my account without my authorisation which means you have kept my bank details. I am disgusted at how your customer service team speak to people and I wish for you to listen to the calls made earlier today the customer service women was called Sandra.

She has now emailed me explaining she did wrong and wishes ad goodwill gesture to honour the original agreement of £335 but I do not believe this is good enough this should have been honoured the first time I spoke to the women on the phone or when I spoke to the women the first time when I explained the second price quoted was £350. I would like a reply from a manager. I will never use this travel agent again if I don’t hear back and I will made sure I spread the word online if this isn’t dealt with better and future training is given to your customer service team.

Sandra changed the exchange rate from US dollars into GB pounds which is what gave her £264.44 then said this money is on hold and gave me all kinds of back talk to cover herself. I actually cant believe this happen to me today I have never experience a more unprofessional travel agency.
dsgs Send email
 
Apr 9, 2018

payment and customer serice

I am extremely annoyed by everything that has happened today and dealing with your customer service team. I called simply because my husband’s card has been cancelled due to fraudulent activity that’s happened recently.

I called to change my bank details over the phone which was fine my original booking was for £335 and the main reason I went for this booking was because you claimed at the time to have 30% off for an early booking. Once I was on the phone and the lady had taken all my details and never once mentioned that the booking rate has gone up since I made the booking to £350 I had to ask her once all my payment details had been taken then she stated it was £350 I said to her well I don’t have enough money in my account for that transaction. So I transferred £364 into my account just to make sure there was enough in my account. Once I called back the lady looked at my notes and once again never told me how much the transaction was going to be until she had taken the card payment but I never thought anything of it because the previous lady stated it was £350 I then asked her what is the amount she said £354 and I was extremely annoyed by this point because how has the exchange rate in the last couple of minutes gone up since my previous call I just said to her take the money I can no longer argue with you regarding the matter.

She took a while to speak to me whilst taking the transaction which I found odd then said to me your card has declined there is insufficient funds in your account I said that’s impossible she stated the last three digits to me again and I said that’s correct, whilst I was on the phone I checked my online banking and £264.44 had been taken out of my account and I mentioned this to her and she said no no that’s not correct we haven’t taken any money out of her account. Now this really got me angry because I am here looking at my account details stating AGODA RESERVATION INTERNET GB has taken £264.44 out of your account. I asked her to speak to her manager and the phone went down.

I have since checked my online banking and a further 90.27 has been taken out of my account without my authorisation which means you have kept my bank details. I am disgusted at how your customer service team speak to people and I wish for you to listen to the calls made earlier today the customer service women was called Sandra.

She has now emailed me explaining she did wrong and wishes ad goodwill gesture to honour the original agreement of £335 but I do not believe this is good enough this should have been honoured the first time I spoke to the women on the phone or when I spoke to the women the first time when I explained the second price quoted was £350. I would like a reply from a manager. I will never use this travel agent again if I don’t hear back and I will made sure I spread the word online if this isn’t dealt with better and future training is given to your customer service team.

Sandra changed the exchange rate from US dollars into GB pounds which is what gave her £264.44 then said this money is on hold and gave me all kinds of back talk to cover herself. I actually cant believe this happen to me today I have never experience a more unprofessional travel agency.
Amitava D Send email
 
Apr 9, 2018

Agoda Refund

Hi,

My Booking Id - 259364545

I booked 1 room in Hotel Sonar Bangla for 30th March,2018 with check out on 31 st March.Due to some family problem we have to cancel the booking on 28 th March 2018 and as per their policy of cancellation the amount has to be refunded back to my account through the credit card used for booking within 10 working days.I have written thrice on their mail ie [email protected] .com .I have been calling them for many times but when I select refund option then no is answering and the recorded music plays for more than 30 mints then I cut the call.

Please suggest me how should I get the refund.
Thanks
Amitava Dey
Sudhahar Srinivasan Send email
 
Apr 5, 2018

Agoda Refund-cheating

Hi,

My Booking Id - 260153417

I booked 2 rooms out of which I called agoda to cancel one room on previous day. They told me that they can't cancel as per their rule. I reached the hotel with the assumption that I will getting 2 rooms. But the hotel told me that Agoda cancelled one room and got the amount back from the hotel and they didn't provide me the second room. So I expect Agoda to refund the second room charge.

My actions so far

1. I have been calling them for many times but when I select refund option then no is answering and the recorded music plays for more than 30 mints then I cut the call.
2. I have sent an email to [email protected] but there is no response yet
3. Sent a query to GetHuman but there is no response yet.

Please suggest me how should I get the refund.


Thanks,
Sudhahar.S
tanbirrda Send email
 
Mar 19, 2018

Harrasment from Room Booking and Refund

Booking ID- 259758893259758893
The hotel people denied to provide rooms, they told me that they informed Agoda not to provide rooms. You cannot imagine how the situation was for me! first time in Kolkata along with six of my students!
Whatever, please refund my money back,

Regards
tanbirrda Send email
 
Mar 19, 2018

Harrasment from Room Booking at Kolkata

Booking ID: 259758893
It was terrible and a disaster to me while I along with my 6 students went to Hotel Nest Kolkata on 17th March. We've flied to Kolkata after getting successful booking by Agoda. But the hotel receptionist refused to allow us in the hotel. He told me that they informed Agoda not to take booking.
Whatever, now I need to get my money back. Hope to hear from you soon.

Kind Regards

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints


    Recently Updated Complaints


         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username