Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Choice Home Warranty

United States,
Maryland

Consumer complaints and reviews about Choice Home Warranty

AED Send email
 
Sep 25, 2018

Choice Home Warranty AC Unit Scam

Choice Home warranty is the worst. I called them a couple of weeks ago about my AC unit not working correctly. The technician that came dispatched to my home. He came up with several issues and then tried to sell me a complete system. When I declined, he reported to Choice Warranty that my system was operational but not to capacity, knowing telling them that, they would not honor the service call. Possibly hoping I would call him back to buy a complete system from him. His company name is "Big Chill". I went back and forth with Choice Home warranty. I was unaware of the tech telling them one thing and me another. Finally, Choice told me, if I get another service provider to come out at my cost and he says otherwise, Choice would honor it. I did just that.

I called another licensed AC technician and He said my compressor went out and that was the only problem. He also enlightened me to the fact that it was a hustle from the beginning and I did not bite. When a Tech comes to your home, they only earn the hourly rate. However If he is able to sell you a unit, he earns a healthy commission. I Choice what was going on and enlighten them that the second tech was still working on my unit after Choice's working hours, so I had to pay the man for His service. Choice advised me to have the tech call in with the information and they would Honor it.

That is not what happened. The second Tech called Choice and explained to them the situation. He is a 30 year licensed AC technician. He explicitly told them that the former tech misdiagnosed the issue. He did exactly what how he was instructed and Choice told him that they would contact me. Choice never called me back. A week and a half later, I called them to ask what the status of my reimbursement was. The Choice representative told me according to their guidelines I have to get prior authorization before having any work done................Huh? Didn't you just tell me to call another tech and you would honor it? Meanwhile I have to wait in 100-degree Florida heat for days before you to make up your mind. That is clearly a health and safety risk.

I asked the rep, was this his final decision and he said yes. This is why I am on this page for starters. Next, I will be actively looking for a Class action lawsuit, including ethics and EHS&S and any other commission that will provide assistance to stop this.
majello Send email
 
Sep 24, 2018

Claim denial

This company is a SCAM. Stay away from it. They'll play nice when they want your money, but will never honor a claim that is more expensive than 200-300$.

I've several examples. The latest: my AC compressor blew out. My tech made this diagnosis and we called the claim authorization department. When they heard the news they didn't even ask for the price to fix it/replace it but denied the claim right away (for ineffective maintenance because of some dirt around the base of the compressor). 7 days later they called me offering me 300$.

This is the WORST home insurance. Stay away. Spend your money in a good service agreement.
They are never going to fix anything expensive.
On top of that the customer service is rude and the technicians are late (takes 7 days to get one of their techs to your property) and often not skilled.

Also BEWARE: the internet is full with reviews with five stars are very likely fake. I put several claims with them and never once I thought they deserved 5 stars.
Chet Zaremba Send email
 
Sep 2, 2018

Washer

My washer had a leak. The first technician arrived on time.
he said he thought it was "probably" the water pump. He said he would order
a new one & it would be installed in a week or so. The second "technician" arrived
a week later. He could barely walk & I had to pullout & lift the washer for him to get
under it. After he installed the new part he filled the washer & it began to leak all
over the floor. He said they sent a faulty part & We'd have to wait another week
or so for another part to be shipped. then he left after putting one of my towels under
neath the leaking washer. My wife & I used 6 towels to dry up the mess. Shoddy work
nasty,rude customer service! We want what's remaining on our contract to be REFUNDED!!!
PHX2HOT4ME Send email
 
Aug 27, 2018

ELECTRICAL CLAIM

I had a loss of power in my office room in my home a week ago. I couldn't get the customer service to give me a time frame for them to dispatch an electrician. After several upsetting phone calls, and days later I found out that the electric company they dispatched could not come out for another 2 1/2 weeks!!! Then..., I would still have to wait and see if they would approve the work. Their exclusions list is a mile long, and they basically don't cover ANYTHING!!! This company is a total ripoff, never to be dealt with again!!!
Adacharles@bellsouth.net Send email
 
Aug 10, 2018

AC Unit

CHW is a rip-off. They are refusing to make the repair on the unit because they came that I did not maintain the unit. I purchase the house 2016 and the unit pass inspection. Reading all these complaints I see that the treat all their customers the way. I will be suing and contacting the Better Business. I hate the company and I will contacting my local TV station.
Adacharles@bellsouth.net Send email
 
Aug 10, 2018

AC Unit

Same answer compressor is shot. CHW are a rip-off they are refusing to fix the unit are replace it because they claim I did not maintain the unit. I purchase the house two years ago and it passed inspection. I will be suing and calling the Better Busines
B C Send email
 
Jul 19, 2018

CHOICE

The worst home warranty company, my air conditioner was not working,called Choice for repair. They sent out a tech who left my air conditioner torn apart. he told me i had a leak, i paid for a leak test did not have a leak. Then he told me the compressor was bad, that was also untrue. He informed me that choice denied my claim. I talk to Mr. Garcia ext 8791 at the corporate office he informed me that I need to send him 3 service records showing the unit was serviced, I sent him the invoices showing that I had the unit serviced regularly. He then told me that the claim was denied because it was low on Freon and the compressor was bad. I had to pay for another service company to fix my home unit. The only problem was that an ant got into the panel. and shorted it out. He repaired it for 50.00. I called my Garcia back and relayed the story to him and he got extremely upset, I informed him that he was a liar!! I asked to speak to his supervisor ,he informed me he was the only person at the corporation that could make a decision. Needless to say I cancelled my service with Choice.
I also recorder his conversation and my attorney will contact their representative.
DO NOT USE THEM!!!
Mikesteig Send email
 
Jul 17, 2018

Ac Unit and Refergerator

I'm reading all these and wondering if anyone is going to help us. I waited 2 months in 95 to 100 degree temps for them to finally fix 1 ac unit when the trouble was with both units. I'm still waiting for them to fix my refer. it stopped working in May had to buy a new one and I'm still watiing for them to fix the one that was only 5 years old. They don't care they just take your money, when I asked the lady how long she could go without these things she replied. I would do what I have to do. Wow where are the people who should protect us from business like this. They didn't care that I had 4 young kids in the home, they didn't care that we lost all our food twice. THEY DONT CARE !
jhnemecekjr Send email
 
Jun 25, 2018

Denial of legitimate claim for HVAC system

CHOICE HOME WARRANTY
***** BUYER BEWARE *****

I am a retired senior citizen that was fooled into purchasing a CHOICE Home Warranty program by a smooth talking sales representative named David Martin [(732) 379-5308 x8275]. He convinced me that my major home systems and appliances would be repaired/replaced, even though my residence and some covered items were 15+ years old, by going through each covered item and explaining the inclusions/exclusions. What he failed to review were the nineteen(19) “Limitations of Liability” that would be unfairly leveraged to deny the replacement of my malfunctioning HVAC system.

When my HVAC system failed, I submitted a claim and a service technician from A1 Services Company [(804) 912-3320] was dispatched to assess the issue. After spending approximately fifteen(15) minutes on-site, he advised that my freon level was low and asked if I wanted it charged. I requested that he get approval from CHOICE Home Warranty before taking any action, so he got in his truck, made a phone call and then left.

I contacted the CHOICE Home Warranty claim service center repeatedly over the next four(4) hot summer days before receiving the claim denial response. In their technician’s opinion, my HVAC could not be repaired do to rust/corrosion that was an exclusion under the Limits of Liability as mentioned above. I engaged a HVAC service (at my expense) to perform an assessment and their conclusion was the failure was from normal wear, use and age. I submitted multiple appeals to CHOICE Home Warranty, which included the independent assessment, annual maintenance records and pictures to definitively show that there was no rust/corrosion on the components referenced in the claim denial, all of which were denied.

And now the real eye opener, another area that Mr. Martin failed to explain, my only recourse was to pay $200 and file for arbitration, that limited my potential recovery to $1,500 under the terms of the agreement. It was quite demoralizing when I realized that the “best case” scenario was to net $1,300 to offset my $7000 HVAC replacement cost required after being without air conditioning during the battle with CHOICE Home Warranty for twenty-one(21) hot summer days.

I have filed complaints with the Federal Trade Commission, Better Business Bureau and the state agency governing this type of service in Virginia and will wait to see what, if any, action is taken against CHOICE Home Warranty.

I admit that I was suckered into this situation. I read the agreement, but had to engage an attorney to fully realize the layers of limitations and how the exclusions could be generically leveraged by CHOICE Home Warranty, so I am posting this review to provide awareness about the program and hopefully spare everyone else this painful experience.

CHOICE Home Warranty markets a program that allows them to deny any claim, knowing that the consumer’s only option is to file arbitration which maximizes any potential recovery to $1,300, you draw your own conclusion.

That is there business model, so it must be legal, right, don’t find out, please avoid engaging CHOICE Home Warranty!!!!!
marianc Send email
 
Jun 15, 2018

Terrible lack of service

Could someone give me the address I can send a certified letter requesting cancellation of policy???

They won't answer my phone calls or emails.

I bought the policy for "peace of mind" and got nothing but repeated grief for over one year. I was talked into a three year agreement. Thanks for anyone's help.
Sgaiser Send email
 
Jun 13, 2018

Choice Home Warranty- Rip-off Kings

Our story about, Choice Home Warranty, is the same as everybody else’s. My wife and I purchased our Choice Home Warranty specifically to cover our aging A/C system. Nowhere in any part of our contract was it stated that age of our A/C system played any part of the determination of an A/C claim. Well, our system needed several small claims during the 4 plus years we had this policy. It was only when the service company that they sent to service our system, evaluated the problem and recommended full replacement of our A/C system to Choice that it really went bad. Well, it didn’t take long for them to deny our claim. Of course, I challenged their denial. After all, I had taken all of the required steps to properly maintain our system. We changed the filter monthly and had an annual professional cleaning of the inside and outside units, at our expense. We kept it in good running condition for all four years we owned this home. Now, this is an older system, and like all appliances, after a number of years of wear and tear, the system finally gave out and needed replacement. According to our Choice Warranty, they had an obligation to replace our system based on that recommendation of their service company. They failed miserably. They never had any intention of honoring our claim. Terrible company. If your smart, you won’t get sucked in by any Home warranty company. But Choice is in a class all their own. Don’t waste your money. Morgan & Morgan, are you out there? sgaiser1013@gmail.com
hawkins3 Send email
 
May 26, 2018

Please Stop Frauding Your Customers

You read through the complaints and you are still thinking about purchasing a warranty? Choice Home Warranty is not the right CHOICE! The comments that other families are leaving are real comments. I didn't believe it either. Now I'm caught up in a whirlwind trying to cancel my services at my primary residence and my rental property. This company not only does everything to deny a claim, but they also will send out contractors that are sub-par and are not qualified. Hopeful you follow this guidance. Make a different CHOICE!
cyngib Send email
 
May 24, 2018

Choice Home Warranty

DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THIS COMPANY--THEY TOOK MONEY FROM MY ACCOUNT WITHOUT FINAL AUTHORIZATION. I WROTE TO CANCEL MY POLICY ONLY TO BEGIN THE WORST EXPERIENCE OF MY LIFE. THE ARE AN UNSCRUPULOUS BUSINESS!!! DO NOT BUY A POLICY FROM THIS COMPANY, THEY ARE CROOKS!
Doctor r Send email
 
May 15, 2018

Air-conditioning

I have called for the last four days . And was told they would have someone contact me in 24 hours. Now I can’t get them on the phone at all . But I see they still take their money . Then I find out that they have so many complaints against them . I got an email that says: a contractor and then have them call them for payment. I was wondering why do I need to call the contractor and I pay them to do that. This company has a class action suit against them I would like to be a part of it. There’s been taking $37 and 50 Cent out of my pocket for months or over a year I would like my money back if I’m not going to be taken care of.
Barbara81 Send email
 
May 14, 2018

cancellation

In February of 2018 I called and spoke to one of your agents about cancelling my policy. I also sent a letter stating that I wanted to cancel the warranty. Today May 14, 2018 I check my bank account and noticed a withdrawal. I called today explaining the situation and the young lady stated that she had to transfer me to her supervisor. the phone rang for approximately 10 minutes and no one answered.
sstacy40 Send email
 
Apr 10, 2018

AC UNIT

My complaint is the same as the rest on here. dirt on the lines coming into the house and the lines to the unit. Coils are sealed so how can dirt get in. lack of taking care of it. Seriously, i did not realize that dirt that falls to the lines from the rafters above need cleaned like the rest of my house. claim denied. They need sued. I initially called them in September of 2017, person never shows after I take off work. called again in October, don't hear from them. this time in March, I figured who wants to come out when it is zero out. major battle. I got to the Senior Resolution Manager who only reports to a board of directors, Hmmm. I don't think so.
Vriscigno Send email
 
Mar 30, 2018

AC Unit

the heat on our Unit went out again this winter after Choice sent their people out last winter and never did anything. They did replace a valve as there was a reon leak., It got warm before they ever fixed the heat last year!! I spent 8-10 hrs on the phone over that claim and they sent me $260, I paid my guy to put our unit back together after their service person couldn't figure out how to do it........ So in 2018 now, no heat again, guy comes out orders the heat strips for the unit and now it got warm again and no AC. He sends pictures to Choice and they say Oh, we see corrosion and that is not covered....... just like many other people had said. We cancelled the policy!!!! I will put that money toward the new unit we have to buy.

I will send notes to all my friends that are realtors to NEVER recommend Choice Warranty
vanessacenteio Send email
 
Mar 20, 2018

SCAMMING OUT

AC unit was having problems, called CHW, 48hours later AC repair company came out. They couldn't find anything wrong with the unit but said if we pay 230 dollars they would check if there is a leak. Paid cash, an hour later technicians said it was the coils that were corroded on the unit causing a leak and we needed to get them replaced, they would submit the information to CHW and there shouldn't be a problem with fixing the unit.

Silence for 6 days,

I finally call CHW and the "supervisor" says she needs pictures from the AC repair company before they approve or deny the claim, puts me on hold, 7 minutes later she gets back on the line and says the claim is denied because it was our fault we didn't service our unit thus resulting in corrosion on the coils and they made this decision based off the picture.

Who determined this? I did based on the recommendation from the Authorization department!

How does a picture describe what the cause of the problem is in 7 minutes? Thats what the Authorization department said.

This is not the same thing that the technician reported to us, why did the stories/diagnosis change? Because the Authorization department said it.

Can we speak to the Authorization department? No, they do not speak to customers.

What are their qualifications to determine something based on a picture? They have experience in this stuff. You don't have to go to school to look at a picture and tell if something is corroded. (DUMBFOUNDED LOOK, scratching head,)

What caused the corrosion? Ummm I don't know because I am not a technician. Im not familiar with the AC unit, but the authorization department said thats what it is, and thats what I am telling you it is!

If thats the case, how are you authorized to make that decision? Because I work for CHW and I am a supervisor.

Can I speak to your supervisor? I am the only supervisor but I can transfer you to cancel your service.

DEEEEEEEP BREATH IN AND OUT, MOMENT OF SILENCE,
Whats the appeal process? You can write a letter but our decision is final.

Can we get a second opinion? We cant stop you, but its at your own cost and we will not pay for it regardless what they say.

Can I cancel? yes Ill transfer you, and she hangs up the phone.


Called the AC repair place, they say they never said anything to the company about it being our fault but that it was normal wear and tear/manufacturers fault, but that was no fault of ours that a 7 year old system would have this type of problem. They disclosed that the only thing they submitted was the pictures and said we needed coils replaced.

Called CHW only to be told the what I was told the first time. Asked for a supervisor, she was the supervisor and said we SOL we caused the problem.

Called AC repair place for a proof of verbiage about the cause of the AC coil problem. They provided a copy of the original problem on a receipt and a quote for $1050-$1995 for a repair/replacement.

Called CHW and spoke with another girl who said the same thing the first 2 said (almost identical verbiage). This one disclosed that the Authorization Department is the one who denied the claim a few days prior based on pictures (the same pictures they received when I initially called 45 minutes prior, the authorization department are people who can look at a picture and say what the problem is and how it happened, almost as good as TELEDOC's. So we asked for an appeal, NO SUCH THING, their decision is final. We asked for her boss, SHE IS THE BOSS, we asked to cancel and the phone hung up.

Called CHW AGAIN, tell the story for the 4th time. She says the same thing the other 3 say and finally transfers us to a cancelation department. Centrell, who is not allowed to give out her last name, lady schooled us on the company being #1, they settled previous lawsuits, they may have bad reviews, but so does other companies, they were firm with their decision and we could right a letter but it would do no good and for use to have a good day and hung up after cancelling the service without a confirmation number.

We all need to come together to SUE, I have a new baby and 3 other children in the humid heat of Alabama/Georgia stateline, we will die in this heat. Obviously I am going to have to fork out the money before summer, but I will save every receipt and I will fight to the death for what is right. They cannot get away with this.
bblfn Send email
 
Mar 9, 2018

CHOICE HOME WARRANTY HORRIBLE SERVICE

I recently had a breakdown of my air conditioning unit at my home in Florida. Since I've been paying for a Choice Home Warranty policy for a number of years, I called them for this service call. After they sent a company from another city, they got back to e to inform me that they wouldn't cover a compressor because it must not have been normal wear and tear. Seriously? This unit has been in place for a number of years with no issues and normal regular service. Their people fielding calls that are supposed to be either supervisors or claim specialists Evette and Lindy are totally useless and quite frankly "dumb" with communication skills slightly below that of a 4th grader only reading off prepared and canned responses apparently. Well, after years of paying for the warranty, I will cancel it today. I've had other home warranties in the past but have never had this poor of service ever! There are many warranty companies out there and all I can say is I'll never pay another penny to Choice and would never recommend them for anything.
acdames Send email
 
Nov 30, 2017

Home Warranty Scam

Absolutely horrendous company. If I could give Choice Home Warranty (CHW) a zero, I would. We bought our home 3 months ago, and the seller gave us a warranty through CHW. I called in a claim at 7:30 AM last Wednesday because the first floor bathtub had developed a scalding leak at the hot water faucet.

CHW dispatched a rooter company and said that the technician would arrive sometime between 11 AM and 3 PM. When I questioned their choice of vendor, the customer service rep said that rooter companies did some plumbing and that their business model basically broadcasted customer issues that their selected vendors then bid on. Once a vendor accepted a CHW bid, they contact the customer and send out dispatch details.

The rooter technician arrived at 3 PM smelling of cigarette smoke. Before he inspected my bathroom, he demanded that I make out the $65 deductible directly to him, personally. He would not even examine the repair site until he was paid. Once he had the check in hand, he went into the bathroom and said, "I can't fix this. I thought you had a broken toilet." I never once mentioned the word toilet when I called CHW. He immediately left -- spent less than 5 minutes in my house -- and refused to refund the deductible.

I called CHW. They found another repair technician to come out 2 days later (Friday). But they wanted ANOTHER deductible. I complained and they said I would not have to pay another deductible. The technician did not arrive on the day/time of the agreed service call. My husband had taken a day of vacation with no repair whatsoever.

We called CHW and they contacted the technician, who said that the person they were sending was hurt on the job. They rescheduled the repair for the following week. This meant my husband had to take, yet another, day of vacation. They gave me the phone number for the second repair company; however, this company does NOT answer their phone number and their voice mail is always full. The only way I was able to communicate with this second company was via text message, which often went unanswered, or SMS.

When the technician finally DID call me back, he told me to go to Home Depot and pick up a variety of supplies -- things that should have been covered by the warranty. Despite my concerns, I purchased these items as a safeguard.

When he arrived today -- one week after my initial repair claim -- the technician immediately started padding the bill. He wanted to repair things, like the sink, and other things in the bathroom and throughout the house that we had NOT asked to be serviced. These items were working properly. When I insisted that he focus entirely on the plumbing leak, he told us that we would have to pay $500 out of pocket to cover the amount of work NOT covered by the warranty. I told him to to nothing until I spoke with the CHW.

Bottom line: I phoned CHW and spoke with 2 supervisors and a manager. They said that 75% of the costs were NOT covered by the warranty -- the supplies I had purchased at Home Depot and 2/3 of the technician's cost. I informed all parties that my next call would be to my attorney. They ultimately agreed to send me a check for $250, which is the only amount they would agree to cover with the technicians in their network. I agreed to receive the check and hire my own trusted handyman. Even if my handyman's costs go above $250, I know he's not out to pad the bill. CHW said the check would arrive at my home within 30 days.

We told the second technician to go home, and that we would have someone else repair the leaky bathtub faucet. More than likely this is a simple washer and valve repair. It will not require the unnecessary repairs he had insisted on.

Ten minutes later, the claims department from CHW called me back and told me that the technician was requesting full payment for the repair. I told CHW that no repairs had been made by either of the technicians they dispatched and reiterated WHY we had refused their services. The second technician wanted the $250 CHW had promised to send me. Again, I insisted that if the check were not sent to me directly within the 30 days they had promised that I would be seeking legal action.

This company is a scam. They take premiums and deliver nothing. The repair technicians in their network know how to work the system so that they get paid for either doing nothing -- bidding on work they can't do and claiming the deductible as their own -- or by padding the bill. They should not be allowed to prey on consumers.
acdames Send email
 
Nov 30, 2017

Total Ripoff and Scam!

Absolutely horrendous company. If I could give CHW a zero, I would. We bought our home 3 months ago, and the seller gave us a warranty through CHW. I called in a claim at 7:30 AM last Wednesday because the first floor bathtub had developed a scalding leak at the hot water faucet.

CHW dispatched a rooter company and said that the technician would arrive sometime between 11 AM and 3 PM. When I questioned their choice of vendor, the customer service rep said that rooter companies did some plumbing and that their business model basically broadcasted customer issues that their selected vendors then bid on. Once a vendor accepted a CHW bid, they contact the customer and send out dispatch details.

The rooter technician arrived at 3 PM smelling of cigarette smoke. Before he inspected my bathroom, he demanded that I make out the $65 deductible directly to him, personally. He would not even examine the repair site until he was paid. Once he had the check in hand, he went into the bathroom and said, "I can't fix this. I thought you had a broken toilet." I never once mentioned the word toilet when I called CHW. He immediately left -- spent less than 5 minutes in my house -- and refused to refund the deductible.

I called CHW. They found another repair technician to come out 2 days later (Friday). But they wanted ANOTHER deductible. I complained and they said I would not have to pay another deductible. The technician did not arrive on the day/time of the agreed service call. My husband had taken a day of vacation with no repair whatsoever.

We called CHW and they contacted the technician, who said that the person they were sending was hurt on the job. They rescheduled the repair for the following week. This meant my husband had to take, yet another, day of vacation. They gave me the phone number for the second repair company; however, this company does NOT answer their phone number and their voice mail is always full. The only way I was able to communicate with this second company was via text message, which often went unanswered, or SMS.

When the technician finally DID call me back, he told me to go to Home Depot and pick up a variety of supplies -- things that should have been covered by the warranty. Despite my concerns, I purchased these items as a safeguard.

When he arrived today -- one week after my initial repair claim -- the technician immediately started padding the bill. He wanted to repair things, like the sink, and other things in the bathroom and throughout the house that we had NOT asked to be serviced. These items were working properly. When I insisted that he focus entirely on the plumbing leak, he told us that we would have to pay $500 out of pocket to cover the amount of work NOT covered by the warranty. I told him to to nothing until I spoke with the CHW.

Bottom line: I phoned CHW and spoke with 2 supervisors and a manager. They said that 75% of the costs were NOT covered by the warranty -- the supplies I had purchased at Home Depot and 2/3 of the technician's cost. I informed all parties that my next call would be to my attorney. They ultimately agreed to send me a check for $250, which is the only amount they would agree to cover with the technicians in their network. I agreed to receive the check and hire my own trusted handyman. Even if my handyman's costs go above $250, I know he's not out to pad the bill. CHW said the check would arrive at my home within 30 days.

We told the second technician to go home, and that we would have someone else repair the leaky bathtub faucet. More than likely this is a simple washer and valve repair. It will not require the unnecessary repairs he had insisted on.

Ten minutes later, the claims department from CHW called me back and told me that the technician was requesting full payment for the repair. I told CHW that no repairs had been made by either of the technicians they dispatched and reiterated WHY we had refused their services. The second technician wanted the $250 CHW had promised to send me. Again, I insisted that if the check were not sent to me directly within the 30 days they had promised that I would be seeking legal action.

This company is a scam. They take premiums and deliver nothing. The repair technicians in their network know how to work the system so that they get paid for either doing nothing -- bidding on work they can't do and claiming the deductible as their own -- or by padding the bill. They should not be allowed to prey on consumers.
onlycme23 Send email
 
Oct 24, 2017

No sense of urgency and then DENIED

I urge you not to waste your time with this company. Unless it is given to you for "free" when you purchase a home then only then consider calling them but have a backup plan. 99% of the time it will take several days for a tech to come out. Then extra days for them to diagnose the issue. Then extra days for them to order and receive whatever parts are needed. Then extra days for them to reschedule to come back out and fix it... AND this is all "IF" they approve the claim. Our last claim for our refrigerator was placed on 10/09 it is now 10/24, and I just received word that our claim is DENIED! The first tech that came out diagnosed the problem, got approval, ordered the part when he did not call to reschedule as he stated he would "I" had to follow up. Not Choice Home Warranty. When I did, I was told the tech went out of business! Their highly professional tech! Um... what would have happened if I didn't call? I will tell you. Nothing! They wouldn't have followed up. They took my service fee money and ran. Anyway, they rescheduled with another tech but not until they received the part back from the first tech. Think about that for a second. As if the first tech gives a crap about sending this part back. He went out of business! Finally, the second tech comes, he thinks he fixes it. NOPE. Next day call him back, and we tell him the same thing is happening. He tells us what the issue is and what the part will be. He has to wait a day before he can call it into CHW because they aren't open on Sunday's. When he calls on Monday CHW doesn't call me. I email and call them again only to find out they deny my claim because they say it is a leak! That is not what the 2nd tech called it at all. I am calling this a total SCAM! I waiting patiently as possible, was as nice as possible, to every single person I spoke to, wrote down every one of their names, when I called, etc. I was told it is like when you take your car in. At first, it might be one problem... then it becomes worse and is another problem. Really? If it is worse, it is because the first tech jacked it up or because it took too darn long for you to fix it! If I continued driving a car that was failing she was right... it might get worse! I am filing complaints with BBB, Attorney General, and State Insurance Agency. I suggest anyone else that gets taken for a ride by Choice Home Warranty does the same! Hopefully, we can stop others before they buy into it. Oh... and they sent me a free month if I sign up for another year. They have to be kidding me!
debcoe Send email
 
Oct 13, 2017

Refrigerator claim

I filed a claim for my refrigerator, oven, and garbage disposal mid September 2017. First of all I was charged 120.00 onstead of 60.00. The refrigerator was never fixed so I called back to reschedule and was first told that will be another 60.00 and I said no it won't because it was never fixed the first time. So last Wednesday the 4th of October almost 4 weeks later UHMC comes out for Choice Home Warranty. They decided that I needed parts of my Kitchenaid Refrigerator. Yesterday 10/11/17 I received a call from UHMC telling me that my part was in and someone would be here today 10/12. I waited all day. Not a phone call at all. So I called Choice Home Warranty and was told that the part is just being ordered. This company is crap. Do not waste your time and your money. They have no sense of urgency if your refrigerator has gone bad and frankly don't care. Debra Floyd
Lwooten Send email
 
Sep 27, 2017

Choice home warranty

We just purchase this warranty about 4 months ago. Called to put in a claim for our Hvac system and they sent a technician out paid $45. Waited about 3 day for an update and was told the technician hadn't submitted the finding yet and they would give the company a call to see what the hold up was. Called back later that day after missing a call from them was told that there was a leak in our coil and unfortunately they would have to deny our claim because of rust, corrosion, and poor maintain. I explain the rust came from the leak and the coil being old how is that poor maintain and it should be consider normal wear and tear with the unit being 10yrs old. We've had this unit looked at and worked on several tines and was told rust is normal. I asked to speak to a supervisor and was told it's in our policy that we don't cover rust and corrosion. I told her most A.C. unit or coil from what I'm being told will have rust and your company knows this and you put that statement in your policy to be able to wiggle out of paying for a claim. I told her your company is out for self and making money off of their clients. I wouldn't recommend anyone to use them.

If anyone know anything else we can do about this company please share.
pendis Send email
 
Sep 19, 2017

Denial of claim for AC unit

After being aggressively upsold I took out a 3 year plan only to find that my first claim for my air conditioning system was denied. Call your credit card company and dispute the charges. Keep records of your correspondence. There's a good chance you will get your money back. In my case they didn't even challenge the charge back - I wonder why?? Choice Home warranty will look for any way to wiggle out of their obligations. They are intentionally misleading when selling you their services. They will tell you what you want to hear and leave out relevant specifics. If your AC system is low on Freon you will have to pay to get a leak test done which is not included in the coverage. When you do get the leak test done they will require you to send them a paid invoice and picture of where the leak is coming from. Any spec of rust or corrosion on, near or around the area will result in a denial of you claim. More important then anything else is section F in the contract under limitations of liability - "The following are not included during the contract term; malfunction or improper operation due to rust or corrosion of all systems and appliances, collapsed ductwork, known or unknown pre existing conditions." This one section effectively gives Choice Home Warranty the ability to deny anything making their coverage useless. Don't fall for this BS service and don't believe all the positive reviews as I'm sure the majority are bogus. If you cant click on the links below just cut and paste them into your address bar.

http://www.nj.com/politics/index.ssf/2014/07/edison_home_appliance_warranty_company_accused_of_fraud_by_nj_attorney_general.html

http://www.washingtontimes.com/news/2015/jun/15/home-warranty-firm-to-pay-780000-to-resolve-state-/

Hope this helps...

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Poslaju Parcel Hub - STUCK
    ER 646924961 MY ER 654233530 MY Dari 13 nov sampai...
    MYDIAL DIGITA LED A MEDIA PVT.LTD. - My dial
    Akash SARODE sabke paise lekar bhag gya h mere bhi 500000...
    Horizoncardserviceses.com - Y’all scammed me out of my money
    Give me my money back now or you will be hearing from my...
    EMS Speed Post - Mumbai, India - ATM Card
    I have applied for the ATM card on 26th October 2018 I...
    POS MALAYSIA - Parcel Not Delivered
    ER605756005MY Parcel stuck at ECPC subang jaya for more...
    Edcon - R1200-00 voucher if you buy for R1200 or more
    I got and SMS advising me if I buy for R1200-00 I will...
    POS LAJU - PARCEL NOT PROCEED
    ER705307525MY Status - Your parcel has departed the...
    pizza hut malaysia - BAD SERVICE
    The price for a take away pizza is suppose to be rm10....
    Vodacom - SASUNG NOTE 9S
    REF: 128 532 80 082 448 3100 SAMSUNG S9+ in for...
    capfin - Paid Up letter
    I have paid up my Capfin account in December 2017 and sent...

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Poslaju Parcel Hub - STUCK
    ER 646924961 MY ER 654233530 MY Dari 13 nov sampai...
    MYDIAL DIGITA LED A MEDIA PVT.LTD. - My dial
    Akash SARODE sabke paise lekar bhag gya h mere bhi 500000...
    Horizoncardserviceses.com - Y’all scammed me out of my money
    Give me my money back now or you will be hearing from my...
    EMS Speed Post - Mumbai, India - ATM Card
    I have applied for the ATM card on 26th October 2018 I...
    POS MALAYSIA - Parcel Not Delivered
    ER605756005MY Parcel stuck at ECPC subang jaya for more...
    Edcon - R1200-00 voucher if you buy for R1200 or more
    I got and SMS advising me if I buy for R1200-00 I will...
    POS LAJU - PARCEL NOT PROCEED
    ER705307525MY Status - Your parcel has departed the...
    pizza hut malaysia - BAD SERVICE
    The price for a take away pizza is suppose to be rm10....
    Vodacom - SASUNG NOTE 9S
    REF: 128 532 80 082 448 3100 SAMSUNG S9+ in for...
    capfin - Paid Up letter
    I have paid up my Capfin account in December 2017 and sent...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username