Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Choice Home Warranty

United States,
Maryland

Consumer complaints and reviews about Choice Home Warranty

marianc Send email
 
Jun 15, 2018

Terrible lack of service

Could someone give me the address I can send a certified letter requesting cancellation of policy???

They won't answer my phone calls or emails.

I bought the policy for "peace of mind" and got nothing but repeated grief for over one year. I was talked into a three year agreement. Thanks for anyone's help.
Sgaiser Send email
 
Jun 13, 2018

Choice Home Warranty- Rip-off Kings

Our story about, Choice Home Warranty, is the same as everybody else’s. My wife and I purchased our Choice Home Warranty specifically to cover our aging A/C system. Nowhere in any part of our contract was it stated that age of our A/C system played any part of the determination of an A/C claim. Well, our system needed several small claims during the 4 plus years we had this policy. It was only when the service company that they sent to service our system, evaluated the problem and recommended full replacement of our A/C system to Choice that it really went bad. Well, it didn’t take long for them to deny our claim. Of course, I challenged their denial. After all, I had taken all of the required steps to properly maintain our system. We changed the filter monthly and had an annual professional cleaning of the inside and outside units, at our expense. We kept it in good running condition for all four years we owned this home. Now, this is an older system, and like all appliances, after a number of years of wear and tear, the system finally gave out and needed replacement. According to our Choice Warranty, they had an obligation to replace our system based on that recommendation of their service company. They failed miserably. They never had any intention of honoring our claim. Terrible company. If your smart, you won’t get sucked in by any Home warranty company. But Choice is in a class all their own. Don’t waste your money. Morgan & Morgan, are you out there? sgaiser1013@gmail.com
hawkins3 Send email
 
May 26, 2018

Please Stop Frauding Your Customers

You read through the complaints and you are still thinking about purchasing a warranty? Choice Home Warranty is not the right CHOICE! The comments that other families are leaving are real comments. I didn't believe it either. Now I'm caught up in a whirlwind trying to cancel my services at my primary residence and my rental property. This company not only does everything to deny a claim, but they also will send out contractors that are sub-par and are not qualified. Hopeful you follow this guidance. Make a different CHOICE!
cyngib Send email
 
May 24, 2018

Choice Home Warranty

DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THIS COMPANY--THEY TOOK MONEY FROM MY ACCOUNT WITHOUT FINAL AUTHORIZATION. I WROTE TO CANCEL MY POLICY ONLY TO BEGIN THE WORST EXPERIENCE OF MY LIFE. THE ARE AN UNSCRUPULOUS BUSINESS!!! DO NOT BUY A POLICY FROM THIS COMPANY, THEY ARE CROOKS!
Doctor r Send email
 
May 15, 2018

Air-conditioning

I have called for the last four days . And was told they would have someone contact me in 24 hours. Now I can’t get them on the phone at all . But I see they still take their money . Then I find out that they have so many complaints against them . I got an email that says: a contractor and then have them call them for payment. I was wondering why do I need to call the contractor and I pay them to do that. This company has a class action suit against them I would like to be a part of it. There’s been taking $37 and 50 Cent out of my pocket for months or over a year I would like my money back if I’m not going to be taken care of.
Barbara81 Send email
 
May 14, 2018

cancellation

In February of 2018 I called and spoke to one of your agents about cancelling my policy. I also sent a letter stating that I wanted to cancel the warranty. Today May 14, 2018 I check my bank account and noticed a withdrawal. I called today explaining the situation and the young lady stated that she had to transfer me to her supervisor. the phone rang for approximately 10 minutes and no one answered.
sstacy40 Send email
 
Apr 10, 2018

AC UNIT

My complaint is the same as the rest on here. dirt on the lines coming into the house and the lines to the unit. Coils are sealed so how can dirt get in. lack of taking care of it. Seriously, i did not realize that dirt that falls to the lines from the rafters above need cleaned like the rest of my house. claim denied. They need sued. I initially called them in September of 2017, person never shows after I take off work. called again in October, don't hear from them. this time in March, I figured who wants to come out when it is zero out. major battle. I got to the Senior Resolution Manager who only reports to a board of directors, Hmmm. I don't think so.
Vriscigno Send email
 
Mar 30, 2018

AC Unit

the heat on our Unit went out again this winter after Choice sent their people out last winter and never did anything. They did replace a valve as there was a reon leak., It got warm before they ever fixed the heat last year!! I spent 8-10 hrs on the phone over that claim and they sent me $260, I paid my guy to put our unit back together after their service person couldn't figure out how to do it........ So in 2018 now, no heat again, guy comes out orders the heat strips for the unit and now it got warm again and no AC. He sends pictures to Choice and they say Oh, we see corrosion and that is not covered....... just like many other people had said. We cancelled the policy!!!! I will put that money toward the new unit we have to buy.

I will send notes to all my friends that are realtors to NEVER recommend Choice Warranty
vanessacenteio Send email
 
Mar 20, 2018

SCAMMING OUT

AC unit was having problems, called CHW, 48hours later AC repair company came out. They couldn't find anything wrong with the unit but said if we pay 230 dollars they would check if there is a leak. Paid cash, an hour later technicians said it was the coils that were corroded on the unit causing a leak and we needed to get them replaced, they would submit the information to CHW and there shouldn't be a problem with fixing the unit.

Silence for 6 days,

I finally call CHW and the "supervisor" says she needs pictures from the AC repair company before they approve or deny the claim, puts me on hold, 7 minutes later she gets back on the line and says the claim is denied because it was our fault we didn't service our unit thus resulting in corrosion on the coils and they made this decision based off the picture.

Who determined this? I did based on the recommendation from the Authorization department!

How does a picture describe what the cause of the problem is in 7 minutes? Thats what the Authorization department said.

This is not the same thing that the technician reported to us, why did the stories/diagnosis change? Because the Authorization department said it.

Can we speak to the Authorization department? No, they do not speak to customers.

What are their qualifications to determine something based on a picture? They have experience in this stuff. You don't have to go to school to look at a picture and tell if something is corroded. (DUMBFOUNDED LOOK, scratching head,)

What caused the corrosion? Ummm I don't know because I am not a technician. Im not familiar with the AC unit, but the authorization department said thats what it is, and thats what I am telling you it is!

If thats the case, how are you authorized to make that decision? Because I work for CHW and I am a supervisor.

Can I speak to your supervisor? I am the only supervisor but I can transfer you to cancel your service.

DEEEEEEEP BREATH IN AND OUT, MOMENT OF SILENCE,
Whats the appeal process? You can write a letter but our decision is final.

Can we get a second opinion? We cant stop you, but its at your own cost and we will not pay for it regardless what they say.

Can I cancel? yes Ill transfer you, and she hangs up the phone.


Called the AC repair place, they say they never said anything to the company about it being our fault but that it was normal wear and tear/manufacturers fault, but that was no fault of ours that a 7 year old system would have this type of problem. They disclosed that the only thing they submitted was the pictures and said we needed coils replaced.

Called CHW only to be told the what I was told the first time. Asked for a supervisor, she was the supervisor and said we SOL we caused the problem.

Called AC repair place for a proof of verbiage about the cause of the AC coil problem. They provided a copy of the original problem on a receipt and a quote for $1050-$1995 for a repair/replacement.

Called CHW and spoke with another girl who said the same thing the first 2 said (almost identical verbiage). This one disclosed that the Authorization Department is the one who denied the claim a few days prior based on pictures (the same pictures they received when I initially called 45 minutes prior, the authorization department are people who can look at a picture and say what the problem is and how it happened, almost as good as TELEDOC's. So we asked for an appeal, NO SUCH THING, their decision is final. We asked for her boss, SHE IS THE BOSS, we asked to cancel and the phone hung up.

Called CHW AGAIN, tell the story for the 4th time. She says the same thing the other 3 say and finally transfers us to a cancelation department. Centrell, who is not allowed to give out her last name, lady schooled us on the company being #1, they settled previous lawsuits, they may have bad reviews, but so does other companies, they were firm with their decision and we could right a letter but it would do no good and for use to have a good day and hung up after cancelling the service without a confirmation number.

We all need to come together to SUE, I have a new baby and 3 other children in the humid heat of Alabama/Georgia stateline, we will die in this heat. Obviously I am going to have to fork out the money before summer, but I will save every receipt and I will fight to the death for what is right. They cannot get away with this.
bblfn Send email
 
Mar 9, 2018

CHOICE HOME WARRANTY HORRIBLE SERVICE

I recently had a breakdown of my air conditioning unit at my home in Florida. Since I've been paying for a Choice Home Warranty policy for a number of years, I called them for this service call. After they sent a company from another city, they got back to e to inform me that they wouldn't cover a compressor because it must not have been normal wear and tear. Seriously? This unit has been in place for a number of years with no issues and normal regular service. Their people fielding calls that are supposed to be either supervisors or claim specialists Evette and Lindy are totally useless and quite frankly "dumb" with communication skills slightly below that of a 4th grader only reading off prepared and canned responses apparently. Well, after years of paying for the warranty, I will cancel it today. I've had other home warranties in the past but have never had this poor of service ever! There are many warranty companies out there and all I can say is I'll never pay another penny to Choice and would never recommend them for anything.
acdames Send email
 
Nov 30, 2017

Home Warranty Scam

Absolutely horrendous company. If I could give Choice Home Warranty (CHW) a zero, I would. We bought our home 3 months ago, and the seller gave us a warranty through CHW. I called in a claim at 7:30 AM last Wednesday because the first floor bathtub had developed a scalding leak at the hot water faucet.

CHW dispatched a rooter company and said that the technician would arrive sometime between 11 AM and 3 PM. When I questioned their choice of vendor, the customer service rep said that rooter companies did some plumbing and that their business model basically broadcasted customer issues that their selected vendors then bid on. Once a vendor accepted a CHW bid, they contact the customer and send out dispatch details.

The rooter technician arrived at 3 PM smelling of cigarette smoke. Before he inspected my bathroom, he demanded that I make out the $65 deductible directly to him, personally. He would not even examine the repair site until he was paid. Once he had the check in hand, he went into the bathroom and said, "I can't fix this. I thought you had a broken toilet." I never once mentioned the word toilet when I called CHW. He immediately left -- spent less than 5 minutes in my house -- and refused to refund the deductible.

I called CHW. They found another repair technician to come out 2 days later (Friday). But they wanted ANOTHER deductible. I complained and they said I would not have to pay another deductible. The technician did not arrive on the day/time of the agreed service call. My husband had taken a day of vacation with no repair whatsoever.

We called CHW and they contacted the technician, who said that the person they were sending was hurt on the job. They rescheduled the repair for the following week. This meant my husband had to take, yet another, day of vacation. They gave me the phone number for the second repair company; however, this company does NOT answer their phone number and their voice mail is always full. The only way I was able to communicate with this second company was via text message, which often went unanswered, or SMS.

When the technician finally DID call me back, he told me to go to Home Depot and pick up a variety of supplies -- things that should have been covered by the warranty. Despite my concerns, I purchased these items as a safeguard.

When he arrived today -- one week after my initial repair claim -- the technician immediately started padding the bill. He wanted to repair things, like the sink, and other things in the bathroom and throughout the house that we had NOT asked to be serviced. These items were working properly. When I insisted that he focus entirely on the plumbing leak, he told us that we would have to pay $500 out of pocket to cover the amount of work NOT covered by the warranty. I told him to to nothing until I spoke with the CHW.

Bottom line: I phoned CHW and spoke with 2 supervisors and a manager. They said that 75% of the costs were NOT covered by the warranty -- the supplies I had purchased at Home Depot and 2/3 of the technician's cost. I informed all parties that my next call would be to my attorney. They ultimately agreed to send me a check for $250, which is the only amount they would agree to cover with the technicians in their network. I agreed to receive the check and hire my own trusted handyman. Even if my handyman's costs go above $250, I know he's not out to pad the bill. CHW said the check would arrive at my home within 30 days.

We told the second technician to go home, and that we would have someone else repair the leaky bathtub faucet. More than likely this is a simple washer and valve repair. It will not require the unnecessary repairs he had insisted on.

Ten minutes later, the claims department from CHW called me back and told me that the technician was requesting full payment for the repair. I told CHW that no repairs had been made by either of the technicians they dispatched and reiterated WHY we had refused their services. The second technician wanted the $250 CHW had promised to send me. Again, I insisted that if the check were not sent to me directly within the 30 days they had promised that I would be seeking legal action.

This company is a scam. They take premiums and deliver nothing. The repair technicians in their network know how to work the system so that they get paid for either doing nothing -- bidding on work they can't do and claiming the deductible as their own -- or by padding the bill. They should not be allowed to prey on consumers.
acdames Send email
 
Nov 30, 2017

Total Ripoff and Scam!

Absolutely horrendous company. If I could give CHW a zero, I would. We bought our home 3 months ago, and the seller gave us a warranty through CHW. I called in a claim at 7:30 AM last Wednesday because the first floor bathtub had developed a scalding leak at the hot water faucet.

CHW dispatched a rooter company and said that the technician would arrive sometime between 11 AM and 3 PM. When I questioned their choice of vendor, the customer service rep said that rooter companies did some plumbing and that their business model basically broadcasted customer issues that their selected vendors then bid on. Once a vendor accepted a CHW bid, they contact the customer and send out dispatch details.

The rooter technician arrived at 3 PM smelling of cigarette smoke. Before he inspected my bathroom, he demanded that I make out the $65 deductible directly to him, personally. He would not even examine the repair site until he was paid. Once he had the check in hand, he went into the bathroom and said, "I can't fix this. I thought you had a broken toilet." I never once mentioned the word toilet when I called CHW. He immediately left -- spent less than 5 minutes in my house -- and refused to refund the deductible.

I called CHW. They found another repair technician to come out 2 days later (Friday). But they wanted ANOTHER deductible. I complained and they said I would not have to pay another deductible. The technician did not arrive on the day/time of the agreed service call. My husband had taken a day of vacation with no repair whatsoever.

We called CHW and they contacted the technician, who said that the person they were sending was hurt on the job. They rescheduled the repair for the following week. This meant my husband had to take, yet another, day of vacation. They gave me the phone number for the second repair company; however, this company does NOT answer their phone number and their voice mail is always full. The only way I was able to communicate with this second company was via text message, which often went unanswered, or SMS.

When the technician finally DID call me back, he told me to go to Home Depot and pick up a variety of supplies -- things that should have been covered by the warranty. Despite my concerns, I purchased these items as a safeguard.

When he arrived today -- one week after my initial repair claim -- the technician immediately started padding the bill. He wanted to repair things, like the sink, and other things in the bathroom and throughout the house that we had NOT asked to be serviced. These items were working properly. When I insisted that he focus entirely on the plumbing leak, he told us that we would have to pay $500 out of pocket to cover the amount of work NOT covered by the warranty. I told him to to nothing until I spoke with the CHW.

Bottom line: I phoned CHW and spoke with 2 supervisors and a manager. They said that 75% of the costs were NOT covered by the warranty -- the supplies I had purchased at Home Depot and 2/3 of the technician's cost. I informed all parties that my next call would be to my attorney. They ultimately agreed to send me a check for $250, which is the only amount they would agree to cover with the technicians in their network. I agreed to receive the check and hire my own trusted handyman. Even if my handyman's costs go above $250, I know he's not out to pad the bill. CHW said the check would arrive at my home within 30 days.

We told the second technician to go home, and that we would have someone else repair the leaky bathtub faucet. More than likely this is a simple washer and valve repair. It will not require the unnecessary repairs he had insisted on.

Ten minutes later, the claims department from CHW called me back and told me that the technician was requesting full payment for the repair. I told CHW that no repairs had been made by either of the technicians they dispatched and reiterated WHY we had refused their services. The second technician wanted the $250 CHW had promised to send me. Again, I insisted that if the check were not sent to me directly within the 30 days they had promised that I would be seeking legal action.

This company is a scam. They take premiums and deliver nothing. The repair technicians in their network know how to work the system so that they get paid for either doing nothing -- bidding on work they can't do and claiming the deductible as their own -- or by padding the bill. They should not be allowed to prey on consumers.
onlycme23 Send email
 
Oct 24, 2017

No sense of urgency and then DENIED

I urge you not to waste your time with this company. Unless it is given to you for "free" when you purchase a home then only then consider calling them but have a backup plan. 99% of the time it will take several days for a tech to come out. Then extra days for them to diagnose the issue. Then extra days for them to order and receive whatever parts are needed. Then extra days for them to reschedule to come back out and fix it... AND this is all "IF" they approve the claim. Our last claim for our refrigerator was placed on 10/09 it is now 10/24, and I just received word that our claim is DENIED! The first tech that came out diagnosed the problem, got approval, ordered the part when he did not call to reschedule as he stated he would "I" had to follow up. Not Choice Home Warranty. When I did, I was told the tech went out of business! Their highly professional tech! Um... what would have happened if I didn't call? I will tell you. Nothing! They wouldn't have followed up. They took my service fee money and ran. Anyway, they rescheduled with another tech but not until they received the part back from the first tech. Think about that for a second. As if the first tech gives a crap about sending this part back. He went out of business! Finally, the second tech comes, he thinks he fixes it. NOPE. Next day call him back, and we tell him the same thing is happening. He tells us what the issue is and what the part will be. He has to wait a day before he can call it into CHW because they aren't open on Sunday's. When he calls on Monday CHW doesn't call me. I email and call them again only to find out they deny my claim because they say it is a leak! That is not what the 2nd tech called it at all. I am calling this a total SCAM! I waiting patiently as possible, was as nice as possible, to every single person I spoke to, wrote down every one of their names, when I called, etc. I was told it is like when you take your car in. At first, it might be one problem... then it becomes worse and is another problem. Really? If it is worse, it is because the first tech jacked it up or because it took too darn long for you to fix it! If I continued driving a car that was failing she was right... it might get worse! I am filing complaints with BBB, Attorney General, and State Insurance Agency. I suggest anyone else that gets taken for a ride by Choice Home Warranty does the same! Hopefully, we can stop others before they buy into it. Oh... and they sent me a free month if I sign up for another year. They have to be kidding me!
debcoe Send email
 
Oct 13, 2017

Refrigerator claim

I filed a claim for my refrigerator, oven, and garbage disposal mid September 2017. First of all I was charged 120.00 onstead of 60.00. The refrigerator was never fixed so I called back to reschedule and was first told that will be another 60.00 and I said no it won't because it was never fixed the first time. So last Wednesday the 4th of October almost 4 weeks later UHMC comes out for Choice Home Warranty. They decided that I needed parts of my Kitchenaid Refrigerator. Yesterday 10/11/17 I received a call from UHMC telling me that my part was in and someone would be here today 10/12. I waited all day. Not a phone call at all. So I called Choice Home Warranty and was told that the part is just being ordered. This company is crap. Do not waste your time and your money. They have no sense of urgency if your refrigerator has gone bad and frankly don't care. Debra Floyd
Lwooten Send email
 
Sep 27, 2017

Choice home warranty

We just purchase this warranty about 4 months ago. Called to put in a claim for our Hvac system and they sent a technician out paid $45. Waited about 3 day for an update and was told the technician hadn't submitted the finding yet and they would give the company a call to see what the hold up was. Called back later that day after missing a call from them was told that there was a leak in our coil and unfortunately they would have to deny our claim because of rust, corrosion, and poor maintain. I explain the rust came from the leak and the coil being old how is that poor maintain and it should be consider normal wear and tear with the unit being 10yrs old. We've had this unit looked at and worked on several tines and was told rust is normal. I asked to speak to a supervisor and was told it's in our policy that we don't cover rust and corrosion. I told her most A.C. unit or coil from what I'm being told will have rust and your company knows this and you put that statement in your policy to be able to wiggle out of paying for a claim. I told her your company is out for self and making money off of their clients. I wouldn't recommend anyone to use them.

If anyone know anything else we can do about this company please share.
pendis Send email
 
Sep 19, 2017

Denial of claim for AC unit

After being aggressively upsold I took out a 3 year plan only to find that my first claim for my air conditioning system was denied. Call your credit card company and dispute the charges. Keep records of your correspondence. There's a good chance you will get your money back. In my case they didn't even challenge the charge back - I wonder why?? Choice Home warranty will look for any way to wiggle out of their obligations. They are intentionally misleading when selling you their services. They will tell you what you want to hear and leave out relevant specifics. If your AC system is low on Freon you will have to pay to get a leak test done which is not included in the coverage. When you do get the leak test done they will require you to send them a paid invoice and picture of where the leak is coming from. Any spec of rust or corrosion on, near or around the area will result in a denial of you claim. More important then anything else is section F in the contract under limitations of liability - "The following are not included during the contract term; malfunction or improper operation due to rust or corrosion of all systems and appliances, collapsed ductwork, known or unknown pre existing conditions." This one section effectively gives Choice Home Warranty the ability to deny anything making their coverage useless. Don't fall for this BS service and don't believe all the positive reviews as I'm sure the majority are bogus. If you cant click on the links below just cut and paste them into your address bar.

http://www.nj.com/politics/index.ssf/2014/07/edison_home_appliance_warranty_company_accused_of_fraud_by_nj_attorney_general.html

http://www.washingtontimes.com/news/2015/jun/15/home-warranty-firm-to-pay-780000-to-resolve-state-/

Hope this helps...
Georgia2015 Send email
 
Sep 19, 2017

AC

We bought our house less than 2 years ago. The a.c. downstairs went out paid $45 service fee and $119 to check for leaks, Contacted choice. Technician came inspected and compresser was out. Tech, stated we may need a replacement unit. Choice representative called and said that it looked like we didn't maintain the unit? We had just purchased the home and both a. c. Units passed inspection and was serviced. That was in 2015/2016. Now the upstairs unit just went out a few days ago. Same response, that we didn't maintain the unit, and in addition to the $45 service fee had to pay $119 for a leak check that wasn't covered under warranty. Technician stated they couldn't fix the leaks due to location.Technician again stated choice should replace furnace and unit. I wouldn't recommend them and I pray they are held accountable and close down!
Amarable Send email
 
Sep 18, 2017

Air conditioning unit

Choice home warranty is a rip off! They will not replace any appliances if it cannot be fixed. My air conditioner unit was worked on twice and third time the compressor went out do to the wiring from the previous repairs that was done. Choice warranty refused to replace the unit by using an excuse about maintenance is needed every year and if not they will not replace anything. I have been with them for two years and all my money has gone to nothing! Please don't use them as your home warranty place. Better yet file a class action lawsuit and see how many people join the suit. I will be the first.
Woodruff Send email
 
Aug 29, 2017

AC

Choice Home Warranty denied my Air Conditioning repair/replacement because it was not working. I joke, but seriously they said because there was a leak they would have to deny my claim. So what's the point??? I had my unit serviced last year but that did not matter to them. I had to pay for the entire cost of replacing my system. They are the absolute worse home warranty company....do not contract with them!!
davefisher5 Send email
 
Aug 26, 2017

A/C Nightmare

Been with Choice Home Warranty for 7 years. 21 year old A/C unit was having problems. 17 days later (summertime in AZ!!) they tell me that the compressor needs to be replaced but they will not cover it due to "lack of maintenance". How do they think it lasted 21 years if I did not maintain it? Make sure you are contacting your Attorney General and file a complaint against this ripoff company.
mdonosa Send email
 
Aug 20, 2017

Choice Home Warranty

All I will say is that this company will sent you a tech to look at the problem but Home Choice Warranty 80% of the time will tell you that the problem is not covered for one reason or other. You will end wasting money with copay and technician tests that you will have to pay to find out that your issue is not covered. Specially when the problem is related to AC units. I highly advice to stay away from this company if possible. Otherwise, welcome to the club.
65satellite Send email
 
Aug 19, 2017

A/C

We live in Canada and bought a house in Surprise AZ in 2011. It has been rented out till March 31 2017. We went down to clean it etc to get it ready to rent again. While we were there the A/C was acting up so called HCW that is what we had it for. The first company came out and replaced a fan motor in the outside unit and said that was the problem and left. We were in AZ for a few more days then we left and came back to Canada, in the meantime the real estate person who was renting out the house phoned and said the air conditioner was not working so I phoned CHW again and they sent out another tech and they said it needed freon so filled it and said it was working, when the real estate got there with a prospective renter it was not working at all. So I phoned CHW again and this time they sent out a new company to look at it. They said it looked like there was a leak in the condenser coil and CHW would not let them proceed til I paid $200.00 for a leak test which was not covered. So I paid the $200.00 and they performed the leak test. They said the coil was made of aluminum and was basically worn out. CHW then said we don't cover coils. The A/C company said that they would get a new coil and install it with the added freon, which CHW, does not cover and it would be $1160.00. CHW at this point said they would give me $500.00 towards this repair. So I sent the $660.00 balance to the new A/C company and they ordered a new coil. After a month they said they could not get a coil it had to be made at the factory a
nd they did not know how long it would take. So now it is July 15 it is 120 degrees in Surprise and the family of 4 cannot go upstairs in the house because it is well over 100 degrees. They said they are moving out if the A/C is not repaired. So I had no choice but to have a new Unit installed and it cost me $6200.00 Cad. This CHW is just a scam, if you listen to their ads on the phone while you are waiting for a rep they keep telling to get peace of mind because everything wears out and you will be covered. There needs to be another class action lawsuit filed for the cost of repairs and the stress involved over 3 months trying to get the repair done
C. Mayfield Send email
 
Aug 11, 2017

Choice Home Warranty

May we be added to the class action law suit on Choice Home Warranty, headquartered in Edison NJ and regional office in Kennesaw Ga.
thanking you in advance for your assistance to this concern of ours with regard to this fraudulent, illegal and egregious company.
hazel binns Send email
 
Aug 8, 2017

CHOICE WARRANTY COMPANY SCAM

Choice Home Warranty
My AC went out. I filed a claim and a technician came to look at my system. When he put the gauges on the unit it showed that it needed 3 pounds of Freon. I had to pay an additional fee for the tech to run a leak test. When the tech sent in his evaluation to Choice Home Warranty, they said he had told them that the a-coil was rusted in the back where the leak was. The tech couldn't even see the back of the coil and the picture he sent was from the front of the unit. I received an email from CHW giving me a number to call in reference to my claim. When I called I was told my claim was denied because there was rust on the backside of the a-coil. I told the lady that the unit was 17 yrs old, that's what happens when a unit was this old. The salesman that sold me the policy actually used this as one of the selling points. Also, the tech that was sent out broke the disconnect box and added this to the claim. CHW told me that they were not responsible for negligence of the technician, and that would not be covered either. Needless to say, I was livid. I asked to speak to a supervisor and the lady said she was a supervisor. I then requested to speak to a manager. She said that she was a manager. the two people I spoke with was extremely rude to us when we questioned to speak with someone higher.
I HAVE NOTICED THAT THIS IS THE SAME THING THAT HAS HAPPENED TO MANY OTHERS WHO USES THEM. DO NOT USE THEM, GO TO AMERICAN HOME SHIELD THEY STAND BEHIND THEIR WORK
Sammylong Send email
 
Aug 5, 2017

Choice Home Warranty is a RIP-OFF

We purchased a 3 year protection plan from CHW and have had some issues with our refrigerator, hot water heater, garage door opener, and recently A/C. Of all the claims that were filed none were made right. We have pleaded and argued with these people and they have 1001 excuses not to pay for any claims. For our refrigerator we went round and round and asked for our money back
, which they prorated our plan cost and we would have been getting back less than a third our what we paid in less than a year after the policy was purchased. We ended up negotiating to recover part of the cost of our refrigerator repair. Our hot water heater was not replaced but they were generous to pay $200.00 towards the replacement, which cost us almost $800.00. Our garage door openers were not replaced or repaired because they were too old(?) Finally our A/C story is very similar to the complaint filed by melgraves above. Our unit is over 23 years old and also had some rust and corrosion in the coils and our condenser went out also. We were told that because of the rust/corrosion they would not pay because of the rust/corrosion. I do not see how rust or corrosion can be eliminated on the coils after 23 years of service. The replacement was costly for a retired couple on a budget. There was no negotiating for this expense all we got was a sorry, but we're here if you need us. This is when consumers could use a class action law suit to help justice to the consumers.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    POS MALAYSIA - My parcel missed out
    ER272527874 MISSING OUT OF DELIVERY
    Ecco Shoes - Soles disintegrated
    I have a pair of echo lace up black oxford. I really love...
    U Mobile - Internet sucks
    Internet so sloww..in the big city download speed is about...
    Sun Communities - Practices
    No accountability, gouging lot rent, unethical...….
    Buddygays.com - cant login
    forgot my password not sending to my email
    TN-Bill4tn - Unauthorized charges
    Stop changing my bank account money for something I never...
    TN-Bill4tn - Unauthorized charges
    Stop changing my bank account for something I never sigbes...
    TN-bill4tn.com MT - Automatic charging from my account
    Stop charging automatically from my account. U charged me...
    Good Morning America - Biased news reporting
    I have Faithfully watched Good Morning America since it...

    Share this site with others

         
          

    Recently Updated Complaints

    POS MALAYSIA - My parcel missed out
    ER272527874 MISSING OUT OF DELIVERY
    Ecco Shoes - Soles disintegrated
    I have a pair of echo lace up black oxford. I really love...
    U Mobile - Internet sucks
    Internet so sloww..in the big city download speed is about...
    Sun Communities - Practices
    No accountability, gouging lot rent, unethical...….
    Buddygays.com - cant login
    forgot my password not sending to my email
    TN-Bill4tn - Unauthorized charges
    Stop changing my bank account money for something I never...
    TN-Bill4tn - Unauthorized charges
    Stop changing my bank account for something I never sigbes...
    TN-bill4tn.com MT - Automatic charging from my account
    Stop charging automatically from my account. U charged me...
    Good Morning America - Biased news reporting
    I have Faithfully watched Good Morning America since it...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username