Submit a Complaint

NYCHA

United States,
New York

Consumer complaints and reviews about NYCHA

Feduppeeople Send email
 
Sep 17, 2022

Upstairs Neighbor from Hell

TAFT Housings

I live in Robert H. Taft housing in East Harlem. I have a neighbor who has been terrorizing my elderly mother and I in the apartment above us, on the 12th floor. This guy has no respect or human decency and has been doing this now for over 2 years. He literally follows us around in our apartment and intentionally makes all types of noises, from loud bowling pins dropping, to banging on what is perceived to be a metal pipe with metal instruments.

I can be trying to get some sleep and all throughout the night leading up to the morning he is one step ahead of me, and continues to make noises. Whether it's moving furniture all throughout the day and night, to drilling and now smoking or letting off a distinct foul smell and odor which disrupts us from using the bathroom as we would like. His guise or at least what Taft management says is that the people in Apt. 12F are an elderly couple, we are not buying that nonsense. I have documents dating to last year on how many times I have had to contact 311 for the noise and every time supposedly NYPD comes no real solution is provided. The management office continues to take a passive approach in dealing with this issue. We've even contacted PSA and they too have done nothing.

It's to the point where we believe this guy is spying on us, and has the capabilities or devices to do these things.
The superintendent and his maintenance workers went up to see if there was a foul leak coming from his bathroom, and he provided access to that, but as soon as they made an attempt to gain access to his bedroom, he was spooked out and panicked telling them NO.

So again, this is not the way a tenant who has lived in housing for over 30 years should have to live.

It's unfortunate that there is nothing being done about this matter.

If you would like to contact me feel free to contact me via email at [email protected] I appreciate your time and listening to our concerns.

https://www.complaintboard.com/nycha-l2971.html
Feduppeeople Send email
 
Sep 17, 2022

Foul smell and Loud noises intentionally

TAFT Housings


I live in Robert H. Taft housings in East Harlem. I have a neighbor who has been terrorizing my elderly mother and I in the apartment above us, on the 12th floor. This guy has no respect or human decency and has been doing this now for over 2 years. He literally follows us around in our apartment and intentionally makes all type of noises, from loud bowling pins dropping, to banging on what is perceived to be a metal pipe with a metal instruments.

I can be trying to get some sleep and all throughout the night leading up to the morning he is one step ahead of me, and continues to make noises. Whether it's moving furniture all through out the day and night, to drilling and now smoking or letting off a distinct foul smell and odor which disrupts us from using the bathroom as we would like. His guise or at least what Taft management says is that the people in Apt. 12F are an elderly couple, we are not buying that nonsense. I have documents dating to last year on how many times I have had to contact 311 for the noise and every time supposedly NYPD comes no real solution is provided. I have video records of the loud noises that this tenant continues to make. Even, when I enter my bedroom he follows me there and continues making noises, at times it is faint and other times it is loud. The management office continues to take a passive approach in dealing with this issue. We've even contacted PSA and they too have done nothing.

It's to the point where we believe this guy is spying on us, and has the capabilities or devices to do these things.
The superintendent and his maintenance workers went up to see if there was a foul leak coming from his bathroom, and he provided access to that, but as soon as they made attempt to gain access to his bedroom, he was spooked out and panicked telling them NO.

So again, this is not the way a tenant who has lived in housing for over 30 years should have to live.

It's unfortunate that there is nothing being done about this matter.

If you would like to contact me to feel free to contact me via email at [email protected] I appreciate your time and listening to our concerns.
Monserratetorres56 Send email
 
Aug 9, 2022

NYCHA Transfer downside Apt

My name
Monserrate Torres
2-04 ASTORIA BLVD Apt 2F
Queens, NY 11102

I live alone 2-04 astoria blvd Apt 2F in NYCHA ASTORIA HOUSING
I'm having big problem here About my transfer I'm still waiting for 3 years NYCHA to downside me from 2 bedroom Apt into one bed room APARTMENT I'm willing give up my extra bedroom for family who needing it more than me and
I have been calling and posting to NYCHA they still haven't done nothing
CARVERH Send email
 
Dec 29, 2020

UNRULY TENANT

LOUD MUSIC DAILY, BANGING ON WALLS, YELLING, SMOKING WEED IN APARTMENT AND STAIRWELLS. WEED SMOKE GETTING INTO OTHER TENANTS APARTMENTS. HARASSING OTHER NEIGHBORS WITH PRANK CALLS TO POLICE OUT OF RETALIATION. NO SOCIAL-DISTANCING, MANY PEOPLE COMING IN AND OUT OF APARTMENT. IN FEAR OF MY FELLOW NEIGHBORS' LIVES. THEY REFUSE TO REPORT BUT I'M REPORTING ON THEIR BEHALF AND I LIVE DOWN THE HALL. POLICE AND NYCHA HAVE DONE NOTHING ABOUT IT. CAMERAS NEED TO BE INSTALLED IN NYCHA HALLWAYS AND LOBBIES.

LOCATION: 55 EAST 99TH STREET APT 11-F (MANHATTAN) - CARVER HOUSES
NH73 Send email
 
Dec 21, 2020

Weed Smoke

I have the "honor" of residing in West Brighton on Staten Island. The entire 8th floor smell like a weed dispensary almost every weekend. I've been experiencing head aches, itchy eyes and nausea, from the constant stream of smoke that drifts into my apartment. NYCHA's "Smoke-Free" initiative is complete B.S. The tenants obviously don't take the rules seriously, and management makes no effort to enforce them. People shouldn't have to live like this.
NH73 Send email
 
Dec 21, 2020

Weed/Cigarette Smoke

I have the "honor" of residing in West Brighton on Staten Island. The entire 8th floor smell like a weed dispensary almost every weekend. I've been experiencing head aches, itchy eyes and nausea, from the constant stream of smoke that drifts into my apartment. NYCHA's "Smoke-Free" initiative is complete B.S. The tenants obviously don't take the rules seriously, and management makes no effort to enforce them. People shouldn't have to live like this.
NH73 Send email
 
Dec 21, 2020

Weed/Cigarette Smoke

I unfortunately have the "Honor" of living in West Brighton here on Staten Island. The 8th floor smells like a weed dispensary almost every weekend. I've been experiencing itchy eyes, head aches and nausea from the constant stench of smoke that drifts into my apartment. NYCHA's "Smoke-Free" initiative is complete B.S. None of these tenants are following the rules, and management has no way of enforcing it.
upsetNan Send email
 
Jun 27, 2020

Noisy neighbor

I am complaining about NYCHA Pomonok in Flushing NY..I have been a tenant here many years and have lived a horrific horrible existence!! Right now what I'm experiencing is more constant noise from one of the neighbors, he comes right below my window to barbecue when barbecuing is not even allowed over here, he blasts music and has been doing fireworks!! He does this for at least 10 hrs straight!! I have to keep calling the housing police the regular police..this is appalling and must be stopped immediately!! I am very sick right now battling with an illness and to be on the phones and so upset and stressed constantly is appalling!! Please help me with my complaint..I need this to stop immediately! Thank u!!
Cassie1987 Send email
 
Jan 20, 2020

Drugs and loud music

I have a complaint about the 130 Clymer st. Brookltn, NY 11249 Independence Towers building. There are people who do drugs on the 6, 9, 10, 11, 12, 17 and upper floors. These same people smoke it on the stairways. There are also people who play loud music until 5 in the morning. There are a lot of people who work and kids who go to school. DO SOMETHING. WHY DO YOU HAVE THESE TYPE OF PEOPLE LIVING HERE. I FEAR FOR ME AND MY FAMILY LIVES. There are people who live in 14A who play music. I knocked on their door and tried to talk to them and they told me they pay rent and can so what they want. DO SOMETHING.
Rivera Send email
 
Nov 15, 2019

NYCHA - NO HOT WATER

Every morning I have to submit a ticket for NO HOT WATER. I have back problems and cannot heat up water to carry it to the bathroom in order to wash myself. I need the hot water to shower in the morning in order to get some relief from my back pains. I reside in The Bronx, Pelham Parkway. Seems like management does not take the hot water issue seriously as this is everyday. By law they need to provide the services needed This is becoming a health issue.
Rivera Send email
 
Nov 15, 2019

No Hot Water

Every morning I have to submit a ticket for NO HOT WATER. I have back problems and cannot heat up water to carry it to the bathroom in order to wash myself. I need the hot water to shower in the morning in order to get some relief from my back pains. I reside in The Bronx, Pelham Parkway. Seems like management does not take the hot water issue seriously as this is everyday. By law they need to provide the services needed This is becoming a health issue.
victor melendez Send email
 
May 9, 2019

Roof likin

soy victor melendez
1970. Amsterdam Av
new york ct ny .10032
mi complain es Ase
4 Anño qwe bivo Aqwi Y.el rufo esta botando Agua
ino bienen Areglarlo esto qweda en la parte nort Al lado de mi Apartamento
i en el apartamento qwe qwe da al lado de mi apartameto lla esen mas de cuatro
anño qwe no vive nadie pol qwe se llena de Agua. qwe esta pasado
At victorr melendez lo siento mucho por dar tanto complay pero tengo
qwe aserlo
Alfonso Acevedo Send email
 
Jan 4, 2019

rent

hi. im having problem with june rent 2018 they clam i never made this payment id was paid on june 2/2018l please i need help with this problem .

Alfonso Acevedo
330 wilson av,3D
brooklyn NY.11221
Jess121 Send email
 
Oct 29, 2018

1780 1st Ave Apt 14F Holmes Tower Noise Harrassment

I am writing about my noisy upstairs neighbor. She is banging on the risers with an object in my living room. It is annoying. Someone is helping her. This is everyday, has been going on for over 6 years. I bought documents into my management, was told to call 911 by my Housing Assistant. I am not going to do that. My life is not threatened. These are smartasses, it is to annoy me. In my bedroom they are using some kind of gadget to make loud snapping noises. This throughout the day. I go out, come back, they continue. I cannot get any sleep. They will start in the mornings at 7:00am, continue at 1:30am in the morning, then 3:30am in the morning. Nothing is being done about this. My former manager Mr. Diaz took them to Court over this some years back. This same woman was on probation for a year. Mr. Diaz is no longer our manager. I could not show up to Court because I was sick at that time. These disrespectful tenants never do this in the Summer Months. They start as soon as the heat comes up, I cannot make this up. Are they stupid enough to think I believe they are the Super. I used to hear banging many years ago, I don't hear that anymore, haven't heard it in a long time. The noise would come from the radiators, not the risers. I have a right to live in my apartment in peace & quiet within reason. Normal people play Music or their TV, not bang on the risers with an object. I used to think this woman was crazy, but she's not, this is to annoy me. If you can stop all Summer, you can stop in the Winter Months also. The manager needs to enforce this rule. She is continuing to get away with this. My Housing Assistant is doing nothing also, she told me, let me know if she does it again. It is everyday! Please do something about these non-human people. I live in 1780 1st Ave Apt 13F. I cannot talk to this woman, tried that, she lied to the Police that I pushed her, I know better than to do that. They came to my door, told me is she would have had bruises, I could have been arrested. She filed a false Police Report. My manager name is Aida George, the assistant manager is Liping Tsaun, and my Housing Assistant is Delores Seabrook. They all came to my apt, but it is still going on. Dated 10-29-18..
Trouble Send email
 
Sep 18, 2018

Noise

I reside at 893 schenck ave Brooklyn ny 11207 my neighbors are to loud and always blasted loud music and smoking all day in there apartment which the smell comes into my apartment and have made over 20 complaints and noone has addressed it i am so tired of this BS i work hard and pay rent to be able to live in peace.
Belle78 Send email
 
Sep 17, 2018

Upstairs neighbor bathroom leak

484 East Houston street
Apt 8D
New York, NY 10002

Neighbor residing in the above address REFUSES to call maintenance to fix their bathroom pipes. Over 20 calls have been made for the past 3 years. Growing tired of working hard just to pay rent for a shitty apartment.
Belle78 Send email
 
Sep 17, 2018

Upstairs neighbor bathroom leak

This is RIDICULOUS! I swear I think NYCHA is trying to get rid of me on purpose. Why else would they continue to ignore my complaints about the upstairs toilet leaking problem?? For 3 YEARS I've had a leak problem. They seem to ALWAYS come back with "pipe problems from another neighbor" and not do a DAMN THING! Tonight a pipe definitely broke upstairs and not only did it FLOOD my bathroom AND kitchen but ALSO MY BEDROOM!! WHAT THE ###?! I work AND pay rent EVERY month ON TIME.I seriously cannot say the same for the people who live above me. THIS IS ###.

Lillan Wald houses SUCK!

You'll be hearing from my lawyers!
like me now Send email
 
Sep 10, 2018

bullying harrasment

Nycha has maintain the following unlawful process of an unlawful eviction of Kevin Crump on May 1 2018 resulting from retaliation of unreported assault on Mr Crump by two supervisor who failed to report incident on Aug 17 2015. Mr did report assault and was arrested and found not guilty was still terminated even after being denied an safety transfer previously . Mr Crump was reinstated in his apartment wrongful eviction was proven only to receive a letter to vacate on Sept 8 2018 by Oct 31 2018 This apartment is a turn over occupied with no rent arrears since July 1995 this bullying and intimidation harassment by Nycha must cease.The address is 84-14 rockaway beach blvd #4-D Far Rockaway Ny 11693
bicentenio Send email
 
Aug 28, 2018

very rude and inconsiderate neighbor

i live @ 70 Gouverneur St. (Vladecks) and have a neighbor @ 6F who is taking over a section of NYCHA ground as if her own and threatening us that she will remove all the plants in this garden (on the street-side of Gouverneur) right away. She hasn't produced any paper work that she has the spot to start planting. We on the other hand have been doing what we can to get the soil fertilize. Which no one else in the building has done for at least 13 years, and now out of nowhere because a son of hers has died a month ago, she wants the garden spot all for herself to plant flowers and a mortuary honoring him. We our selves have not received any notices for renewing the garden nor were we told or notified that renewal was necessary. During these 13 years we have tried and finally succeeded to get plants growing again; only to have this woman of 6F to take it away when she has her own garden spot that is located in front of the building 2 the address above. there is no phone number of to whom we can contact with NYCHA gardening.
Any help and or assistance would be greatly appreciated on this nasty outtake.
Jose
email: [email protected]
Nikipets17 Send email
 
Aug 15, 2018

Nasty Neighbours

I reside at 2065 Dean Street Brooklyn, NY 11233. I will like to bring an ungoing problem to your attention,as of recently the new neighbour that moved in across the hall from me in apartment 3B have been the most obnoxious,inconsiderate,vail human beings I have ever encountered in my whole 31 years of living.They think this is their private home and have no consideration for myself and other neighbours.I am unclear as to exactly how many people live in this apartment as I have seen many different people in and out,I have also witness about 10 kids at a time playing in the hallway that looked to be all under the age of 10.The kids themselves have no behaviour they are quite rowdy and seem to have no decorum.While they play in the hallway they can be heard from inside my apartment,they bang on my door with their balls,hand etc and when I brought this to the attention of their parents nothing was done.Why should of have to put up with such a disturbance in what is suppose to be the comfort of my own apartment.They play loud music at all hours whenever they feel,they are always in the hallway hanging out and when they are finish smoking,drinking and eating their garbage is being felt in the hallway.They have been a major contribution to the disgusting state the hallway on the 3rd floor.They are clearly in breach of many of NYCHA's rules and regulations eg.1.Conduct or behaviour that presents a danager to the health and safety of neighbours 2.Poor housing keeping 3.Behaviour that is considered to endanger the peaceful occupation of other residents and 4.Smoking. I have also witness the police warning them about this behaviour.I do feel very much unsafe living next to neigbours like this as they have so many people coming and going and the constant strange charactors hanging out in the hallway.This is not the type of enviroment I find adequate or becoming for me to be raising my 11 years old son in.
Nikipets17 Send email
 
Aug 15, 2018

Nasty Neighbour

I reside at 2065 Dean Street Brooklyn NY 11233.I will like to bring an ungoing problem to your attention,as of recently the new neighbour that moved in across the hall from me in apartment 3B have been the most obnoxious,inconsiderate,vail human beings I have ever encountered in my whole 31 years of living.They think this is their private home and have no consideration for myself and other neighbours.I am unclear as to exactly how many people live in this apartment as I have seen many different people in and out,I have also witness about 10 kids at a time playing in the hallway that looked to be all under the age of 10.The kids themselves have no behaviour they are quite rowdy and seem to have no decorum.While they play in the hallway they can be heard from inside my apartment,they bang on my door with their balls,hand etc and when I brought this to the attention of their parents nothing was done.Why should of have to put up with such a disturbance in what is suppose to be the comfort of my own apartment.They play loud music at all hours whenever they feel,they are always in the hallway hanging out and when they are finish smoking,drinking and eating their garbage is being felt in the hallway.They have been a major contribution to the disgusting state the hallway on the 3rd floor.They are clearly in breach of many of NYCHA's rules and regulations eg.1.Conduct or behaviour that presents a danager to the health and safety of neighbours 2.Poor housing keeping 3.Behaviour that is considered to endanger the peaceful occupation of other residents and 4.Smoking. I have also witness the police warning them about this behaviour.I do feel very much unsafe living next to neigbours like this as they have so many people coming and going and the constant strange charactors hanging out in the hallway.This is not the type of enviroment I find adequate or becoming for me to be raising my 11 years old son in.
dfranklin Send email
 
Jul 30, 2018

No smoking as of july 30, 2018

Does the new no smoking rule apply to marijuana smoking as well. My father lives in senior housing and is surrounded by individuals who use the tables and seats for seniors and smoke from the morning to night. Nobody does nothing. Seniors are too afraid to complain. So the no smoking rule apply to marijuana smoking as well? Ex: Lobby, staircase, individuals who do not live there. Security does nothing. They are afraid of any retribution.
Nefertiti A. King Send email
 
Jul 22, 2018

3444 White Plains Road, Apt. 12a. A family of hostile people.

I live in building 3444 White Plains Road in The Bronx with my twin sister.

In November of 2017 a new family moved into the apartment above me in 12a, and right from the start they were disruptive. At all hours of the day, all days of the week the family and children alike would pour into the room above my bedroom to stomp, shout, scream and blast music.

Any time I made a 311 complaint against this family, they would blatantly lie to the police. Either by smiling and reassuring them they'd lower the volume only to intentionally raise the noise they were making to spite me, or by playing the victim by insisting the children are very young and therefore it's justified that they're a disruption.

This justification makes absolutely no sense, as they blast music at unreasonable volumes and let the young children stay up often late into the night, sometimes until 2am. The parents actively encourage the children as well, telling them to be louder when complaints are levied against them.

They're a very combative, hostile family so I haven't been able to speak to them and find out their names, but I'm fairly certain they're the Figeuros based on the information I could find online about the current leaseholders.

I don't know what this is going to do, but everyone should at least know about this deeply abusive family and how uncooperative they are when it comes to co-habitation. They're incapable of it and make no attempts to change.
Clifford melvin Send email
 
May 3, 2018

Taking advantage of a senior

Complaint against Ms.Tabatha Blue housing employee has access to Mrs.Susie Melvin of cypress hill project brooklyn keys Bank card and code food stamp card apt6E from my understanding city worker's should not have access to tenants apt. Weather u know them or not and Mrs.Melvin is in rehab and not in her right mind.I need. Cypress hill to investigate this matter asap I appreciate your help I need Ms Blue to stay out my family affair which is causing family friction or be transferred.Thank you
CarmaConklin77 Send email
 
May 1, 2018

stalking

I am being stalked by my daughters biological fathers ex girlfriend who is my next door neighbor. I live in Baruch Houses in Manhattan. I went through mediation with social services and was granted permission to move but my management office blocked my transfer. I've gone to the police and they will not help me because they say her actions are non violent. Every time I put in a complaint against what she is doing they close it out and wont even question her actions. I fear for the safety and well being of my daughter and I. I feel she is trying to provoke violence with her actions. Can someone please offer me some assistance. Thanks in advance

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username