Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Walden University

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about Walden University

saynoto walden Send email
 
Jul 11, 2019

Cannot speak to anyone/appointments never kept

I have emails as well as phone records to show times and dates of appointments with the field office that were never kept. Over a period of 3-4 months I never spoke to anyone in the field nursing office regarding my concerns. Prior to the spring of 2019 I had no complaints, at this point I regrets attending this University. This place needs a thorough investigation in the manner in which students are handled. Do not waste your time or money!
Veronica2013 Send email
 
Jun 18, 2019

NO JOB

Yes, I am in debt, Yes, I was able to complete my dissertation after working with 3 chairpersons. However, I HAVE NO JOB, NO ONE WILL HIRE ME. I HAVE GIVEN UP! I am sure the stockholders are happy. I'll never be able to pay my school loans, the Federal government probably has many such students from Walden. Greed
resource1 Send email
 
May 30, 2019

Walden Scam

I was official dismissed from Walden in 2018 due to receiving two unsatisfactory grades during my dissertation phase. I followed protocol sat out the one semester with the hopes of reenrolling. Low and behold I was told that because I live in the state of New York, Walden is not accepting any students from New York City. So I have started the process of repaying my student loan. Can I reenroll in Walden? No, they're still working around state legislation regarding New York City. At this point, all I have received from Walden was the certificate in advanced studies, and a huge amount of debt. Walden is about profit and not progress for it's students. Only a handful complete the PhD program, and are deeply in debt. I have learned a great deal from some of my instructors, and there were others who could care less. For the most part some were very respect, but others were not supportive. Last year I was part of a class action lawsuit, in which I received less than $7k. My student loan is $256,000. I am very apprehensive regarding attending any university like Walden. I am distraught being an ABD. If possible I would sue Walden again!
msgwenbethea Send email
 
Apr 24, 2019

Walden University

I was a student at Walden University from 2012-2013 in their PhD program. I had just started class and received notice that something was wrong with my financial aid and I could not attend class anymore. It was two weeks into class so I stopped attending. They turned around and sent me a bill when they told me that I could not attend! If I was going to be charged, I should have been allowed to finish the class. It is now in collections and has been detrimental to my good credit. I am going to find a group of individuals that have been affected like I have and file a formal complaint with the department of education and probably sue these people.
Walden University Send email
 
Feb 20, 2019

Walden University Experience

At Walden University, we take the concerns and experiences of our students very seriously, and wish to hear from you if your experience did not meet your expectations, so that we can work with you to try to resolve your concerns. If you would like to discuss your specific situation, we are here to help you.

If you are a current student, or attended Walden within the past year, please contact us by clicking on this link to complete this form https://www.emailmeform.com/builder/form/a01on77Qb5e5z1I and provide us with specific details of your situation, and one of our school managers will contact you.

If you are a former Walden University student who last attended Walden more than one year ago, please contact [email protected] and provide us with your name, student ID, program of study, dates of enrollment, location, and specific details of your situation, and a Walden representative will contact you.
trudel Send email
 
Feb 9, 2019

Dispute for charges of class

Last year I inquired about finishing my Doctorate with Walden... I had already completed my required courses and was at the state of writing my paper. I was told to take an assessment course to find out if I needed a refresher course. This assessment course was free and will not be charged to my account. Two weeks later, I learned that there was a charge for this course. I never received a bill and I NEVER agreed to any class other than the assessment class. I notified the head of the DBA department that I should not be enrolled in this course. I was told I would be removed from the course.

I have several documented conversations with the Bursar and with the Department Head that my account will be balanced. There was no further communication, no emails or mail about this account.

Today I learned that this was never removed and now showing up in my credit report.

I will now file a lawsuit against Walden University and notify the BBB.

Thank you
Smarty45 Send email
 
Jan 15, 2019

Misinformation about classes and finishing degree

I was given wrong information about completing Doctoral degree from all personnel. Took the money but never was honest about the completion of the degree. I am looking into the class action suit against the school. Thank you.
Walden University Send email
 
Dec 4, 2018

Walden University Experience

At Walden University, we take the concerns and experiences of our students very seriously, and wish to hear from you if your experience did not meet your expectations, so that we can work with you to try to resolve your concerns. If you would like to discuss your specific situation, we are here to help you.

If you are a current student, or attended Walden within the past year, please contact [email protected] and provide us with your name, student ID, program of study, location, and specific details of your situation, and one of our school managers will contact you.

If you are a former Walden University student who last attended Walden more than one year ago, please contact [email protected] and provide us with your name, student ID, program of study, dates of enrollment, location, and specific details of your situation, and a Walden representative will contact you.
mitcham1313 Send email
 
Nov 16, 2018

Incompetent

I enrolled in Walden University in 2013. I was told that it would take 3-5 years to complete my degree which included 54 credits and an additional 12 for the dissertation. While in school I received an A+ in every class. Many of my professors wanted to work with me once I got to the Dissertation level. I finally got to the Prospectus stage. Once there I worked diligently to complete it. Once it was completed it and made many changes, I uploaded it and was told by the Committee that I needed to make one change. I made the change and sent it back. I spent the next semester waiting for responses, but nothing came. My Chair told me to get started on my literature review, so I did. After receiving no responses, I decided I would take some time because I wanted to get started on researching more documents for the literature review, and I didn't want to waste anymore money. After time off, I began classes again. When I enrolled, I noticed that my Committee Member had changed. The new member said that I had to make numerous changes, so I did. I resubmitted, then she said that I need to change my topic. So, I did. I tried to submit it to Taskstream and couldn't. NOTE: I spent an ENTIRE semester writing a literature review on a topic that I wouldn't be using. Thus, all that writing was now useless. While my Chair spent 3 week trying to Taskstream, I could literally see 100's to 1,000's of dollars flying out of my pocket. The second to last day of the semester, I was able to upload it because I called in and told the person that I was going to join the class action lawsuit. Mysteriously, he was able to clear it right away. Wow! I should've taken that as a red flag, but I trusted Walden, so I enrolled for another semester. The next semester I spent 4 weeks waiting for a response from the Committee. No action was taken, so here I am 4 weeks in with nothing to show forth. This degree was supposed to cost 60,000. Here I am 80,000 and I'm no closer to having a degree than I was 5 years ago. This is absolutely ridiculous. Walden should be ashamed of themselves. They have not only wasted my time, they have wasted my money. At this time, I am looking for an attorney so I can at least recoup the money I spent on the dissertation which happens to be 4 semesters.
puncy15 Send email
 
Nov 4, 2018

Ed.D in Admin Leadership for Teaching and Learning

It is impossible to finish the degree. The university chair keeps sending back the paper back correct new things every time. It is impossible to pass Chapter 1 of the dissertation. Dr. Weintraub did a very bad job during my career at Walden. 3 years trying to finish Chapter 1 and he kept sending my paper back everytime to fix something that could have been fix the first time.
Amandansimpson Send email
 
Feb 10, 2018

Walden University

I started school at Walden January 2018. Since then I still have not seen my transferred credits from my previous school Umpqua Community College. I had spoken with numerous people from your university and no one had any clue what was wrong with my account. There was no apparent urgency to help me with this situation on any one of those calls to your university. There were two separate occasions when I had been told by my advisor he would call me back the following week to check on this matter. I never received those calls from him. I had to continue to set new appointments with other advisors. When I spoke with someone in your financial department a few weeks ago about why my account was locked she was unbelievably rude to me. I am shocked at the lack of organization, professionalism, and knowledge from the staff at Walden University. I feel I have wasted the last five weeks attending a class that will not transfer and I only continued to go because my advisory told me if I withdraw I will have to pay for it anyway. I was also told if I withdraw now I could be put on academic probation with my financial aid. I am being charged $1700 for this class. The class is a required class specific for Walden University and it will not transfer to any other school. Walden enrolls their students in this class automatically. This is a scam. I have never in my life had such and awful experience with any other business.
DRaphael Send email
 
Jan 30, 2018

Unnecessary Prolonged Doctoral Classes

If this is YOU -
Here is the site for the lawsuit against Walden University: http://www.waldenuniversitylawsuit.com/.
DRaphael Send email
 
Jan 30, 2018

Attn: Doctoral Students

Disgruntled Doctoral Students
Here is the site for the lawsuit against Walden University: http://www.waldenuniversitylawsuit.com/.
Happygirl2018 Send email
 
Dec 20, 2017

Walden University is a joke

I’ve been attending Walden since September of 2012 in hopes of obtaining my bachelors in Criminal Justice and it’s not happening. The school is a rip off they add all these extra classes to the curriculum that have nothing to do with your degree until your financial aid is exhausted and you’re stuck going nowhere. I’ve had so many academic advisors that I’ve lost count and currently I don’t have one again because my last one quit. I can’t believe this school is being allowed to cheat people out of an education and nothing is being done about it. Don’t even try to get anything resolved by the ombudsman because he’s pathetic and just collecting a pay check not to mention countless number of calls to him that go unanswered. I can understand if I’ve failed classes or didn’t participate in class as the reason for a 4 year course going on this long but that’s not the case. This school is thriving off of unethical practices and the students are suffering as a result of it. I was quoted one price to attend this school and now I’m way over that amount with no explanation as to why because everyone you talk to provide you different answers to the same questions. What does it take to get this school investigated or my credits transferred to a more credited school? Can someone please advise I’m at the point of just starting class completely over at another school because I can’t get help about my concerns.
Cats123 Send email
 
Dec 14, 2017

Disgraceful scam at walden university

Walden University. Nothing to show for my six years. I did not even have a chair person to chair my dissertation in the Phd program. The chair persons kept on leaving and they were collecting tuition. I had very shabby treatment and ended up thousands of dollars in dept.
Cats123 Send email
 
Dec 14, 2017

Victim of Wlden university

Six years in debt and no Phd. Very disrespectful proffers leaving in the middle of chairing my dessertation without informing me. Where do i file a class action lawsuit
Cats123 Send email
 
Dec 14, 2017

Disgraceful scam

Walden University. Nothing to show for my six years. I did not even have a chair person to chair my dissertation in the Phd program. The chair persons kept on leaving and they were collecting tuition. I had very shabby treatment and ended up thousands of dollars in dept.
Cats123 Send email
 
Dec 14, 2017

Disgraceful scam

Nothing to show for my six years. I did not even have a chair person to chair my dissertation. The chair persons kept on leaving and they were collecting tuition. I had very shabby treatment and ended up thousands of dollars in dept.
1adam1243 Send email
 
Dec 12, 2017

Student loan debt

I was a PHD student at walden for 6 years. After finishing all my classes and started in on the dissertation process. I found it almost impossible to finish this process. Just too hard online and working full time. I have a massed a huge student loan debt and nothing to show for it. I will take some blame in this game, but I will tell others who are just starting the process....don't go with Walden. Go to a local school to complete your degree.....just too many problems with this process online.
smithjer Send email
 
Nov 10, 2017

Beware - False Promises

To whom it may concern,

I began attending Walden University in September of 2014 as a doctoral candidate in the Ed. D program. Since that time, I have been completing the required coursework for the program. Although I have earned a 4.0 grade point average, I found that the coursework was a reiteration of topics that I had covered in my undergraduate and post graduate work. I have expressed my concerns about the curriculum on each course evaluation but have yet to receive any feedback. I did have an opportunity to speak to Dr. Miller (Education Department) and he told me that the curriculum is currently being rewritten but I would not benefit from this as I have already completed the coursework.

I had always been skeptical of Walden’s online doctoral program but since it is “regionally accredited” and my school district assists with tuition I decided to continue. I began the dissertation process with a course called “Completing the Prospectus”. This is a five page application to conduct research on a particular topic. I have been submitting drafts of this document since April of 2017 and still do not have an approved prospectus.

Although the Walden literature on the program states that I will have an opportunity to choose my first chairperson from professors I have worked with or someone’s work I admire, I was randomly assigned a first chairperson. The first chair did not introduce herself or give her credentials. I called the first chair for an introduction. I asked him how many other doctoral students she had chaired and was told that it is none of my business. Although the first chair said that my first draft was very good, I continue to get minor revisions and the prospectus has not been approved. I asked my chairperson what the difference is between a project study and a dissertation and she told me that I should have learned that in my research coursework. It was not covered. She told me at one point that I need to change my entire topic because it dealt with special education practices that may be out of compliance. I then ask her if I could do a single-case study or a study that used my students as participants. She told me that the information is located on the Walden Research Center webpage and that she does not know. I Googled the first chairperson’s name and could find no information on her credentials or other work she had published. Recently, I was informed that she requested to have her assignment changed. She is no longer my first chair and is being replaced by the person who was my second chair. The second chair assignment is above the first chair in the committee hierarchy. I do not understand how these positions are being assigned.

I had qualified for the Post 9/11 GI Bill and 70% of my tuition has been paid for by the Veteran’s Administration. My school district also pays for 6 credits per year. I have paid about $10,000 out of pocket. Walden University presented the program as taking between 3 – 5 years. It has become obvious to me that this time-frame is not accurate. With the delay in submissions and minor changes suggested on each draft, there is no way that I can afford this program. I am currently considering disenrollment due to the “bait and switch” tactics employed by the university. I have done further research on Walden University and have found that there are many other students who have had the same experience.

Even though I have asked about these issues, the university has not been able to answer my questions or explain how I could possibly finish in the time-frame given.
MNikoloff Send email
 
Oct 11, 2017

No internship NO DEGREE

I like most here attended Walden University ONLINE for the past 5 years !!! WHY? Because after I finished ALL My classes in the Masters Clinical Mental Health Counseling,, I was told I had to find MY OWN internship. Well, I am 74 years old and I applied everywhere! no one ever got back to me. Now, I am beginning to see why.

In order to graduate from Walden with my Masters degree, I changed programs, ahh, but yes, that was another 30K because they said only ONE of my classes would transfer over. DO you see what is going on here. FOR PROFIT and MORE.

If there is any way that we can all band together and get justice for this wasted time and hundred of thousands of dollars in Student loans let us do something NOW. This is unfair to all trying to get ahead and with wasted years. I want those years back and the loans to be forgiven.

SO dissatisfied in Massachusetts
DRaphael Send email
 
Oct 10, 2017

Disgruntled Doctoral Students

Here is the site for the lawsuit against Walden University: http://www.waldenuniversitylawsuit.com/.
waldensucks Send email
 
Oct 10, 2017

Walden University is a big SCAM!

Walden University is a big SCAM and the faculty members are in on it. They all stick together to make sure they drag out your PhD studies, even when you are close to the end. A white professor from another university said PhD is the good old boys' club and they will make sure to do everything so you would not get in. Well Walden faculty falls in line with that, namely one called Beck. Good thing I don't go to this university but I have heard the stories about faculty member Beck and his other supporters who purposely try to block students from graduating. He must be getting a kickback for his efforts.  Their day will come though. It's called karma. I will make sure my friends sue the university and that Beck guy. If you see his name for any of your classes, RUN! He is not there to help you graduate. He also directs you down the wrong path and I believe it is intentional.
waldensucks Send email
 
Oct 10, 2017

Purposely Prolonging PhD Studies

Walden University is a big SCAM and the faculty members are in on it. They all stick together to make sure they drag out your PhD studies, even when you are close to the end. A white professor from another university said PhD is the good old boys' club and they will make sure to do everything so you would not get in. Well Walden faculty falls in line with that, namely one called Beck. Good thing I don't go to this university but I have heard the stories about faculty member Beck and his other supporters who purposely try to block students from graduating. He must be getting a kickback for his efforts.  Their day will come though. It's called karma. I will make sure my friends sue the university and that Beck guy.
Powellc4 Send email
 
Oct 7, 2017

Tuition Waiver

I attend Walden University. While I was enrolled I had several dramatic situations occur to me. My father and uncle passed away and one of my major caregivers, my aunt, was diagnosed with stage four cancer. I spiraled into a great depression is seeked medical treatment to address my depression. Since I was unable to care for my autistic son and myself or participate at work/school, I was placed on a medical leave. I had withdraw from classes. I provided medical documentation and after nearly three months, they denied my request for a tuition waiver stating my medical statement did not state I could not participate in online classes. I couldn't understand because the document listed all workplace duties which included the same tasks that I would engage in to complete online course requirements. When I appealed the decision, it took less than five days for the final decision.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    TN-tnpaym.com - Un Authorized money deduction
    This website has taken almost $65 out of my account and I...
    TESTIMONY ON HOW MY EX CAM BACK TO ME - sucks
    Cheating can be so disgusting and painful i know, because...
    Eden Housing Lahore Pakistan - Eden Garden Extension Lahore
    I have paid all installments of my 5 Merla Plot. Period...
    AMOKA INFO SOLUTIONS PVT LTD - CHEATING CANDIDATES
    Dear Friends AMOKA INFO SOLUTIONS PVT LTD its a no 1...
    Chowking - Chowking Citymall Dipolog
    Good day. I would like to air out my grievance towards...
    Chowking Citymall Dipolog - Non honoring of Voucher
    Good day. I would like to air out my grievance towards...
    PAY TM - AMOUNT CHEATING
    PAY TM getting money from all the customers its charging...
    POSLAJU KLIA HUB - KLIA HUB slow
    - EP628035479MY - Please upgrade your service. Buat...
    Eskom - Power supply
    Since the beginning of winter we have a problem that...
    STC - STOP 0.65 daily charge
    Please stop VAS charge daily deduction of 0.65 halalas on...

    Recently Updated Complaints

    TN-tnpaym.com - Un Authorized money deduction
    This website has taken almost $65 out of my account and I...
    TESTIMONY ON HOW MY EX CAM BACK TO ME - sucks
    Cheating can be so disgusting and painful i know, because...
    Eden Housing Lahore Pakistan - Eden Garden Extension Lahore
    I have paid all installments of my 5 Merla Plot. Period...
    AMOKA INFO SOLUTIONS PVT LTD - CHEATING CANDIDATES
    Dear Friends AMOKA INFO SOLUTIONS PVT LTD its a no 1...
    Chowking - Chowking Citymall Dipolog
    Good day. I would like to air out my grievance towards...
    Chowking Citymall Dipolog - Non honoring of Voucher
    Good day. I would like to air out my grievance towards...
    PAY TM - AMOUNT CHEATING
    PAY TM getting money from all the customers its charging...
    POSLAJU KLIA HUB - KLIA HUB slow
    - EP628035479MY - Please upgrade your service. Buat...
    Eskom - Power supply
    Since the beginning of winter we have a problem that...
    STC - STOP 0.65 daily charge
    Please stop VAS charge daily deduction of 0.65 halalas on...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username