Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Walden University

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about Walden University

smithjer Send email
 
Nov 10, 2017

Beware - False Promises

To whom it may concern,

I began attending Walden University in September of 2014 as a doctoral candidate in the Ed. D program. Since that time, I have been completing the required coursework for the program. Although I have earned a 4.0 grade point average, I found that the coursework was a reiteration of topics that I had covered in my undergraduate and post graduate work. I have expressed my concerns about the curriculum on each course evaluation but have yet to receive any feedback. I did have an opportunity to speak to Dr. Miller (Education Department) and he told me that the curriculum is currently being rewritten but I would not benefit from this as I have already completed the coursework.

I had always been skeptical of Walden’s online doctoral program but since it is “regionally accredited” and my school district assists with tuition I decided to continue. I began the dissertation process with a course called “Completing the Prospectus”. This is a five page application to conduct research on a particular topic. I have been submitting drafts of this document since April of 2017 and still do not have an approved prospectus.

Although the Walden literature on the program states that I will have an opportunity to choose my first chairperson from professors I have worked with or someone’s work I admire, I was randomly assigned a first chairperson. The first chair did not introduce herself or give her credentials. I called the first chair for an introduction. I asked him how many other doctoral students she had chaired and was told that it is none of my business. Although the first chair said that my first draft was very good, I continue to get minor revisions and the prospectus has not been approved. I asked my chairperson what the difference is between a project study and a dissertation and she told me that I should have learned that in my research coursework. It was not covered. She told me at one point that I need to change my entire topic because it dealt with special education practices that may be out of compliance. I then ask her if I could do a single-case study or a study that used my students as participants. She told me that the information is located on the Walden Research Center webpage and that she does not know. I Googled the first chairperson’s name and could find no information on her credentials or other work she had published. Recently, I was informed that she requested to have her assignment changed. She is no longer my first chair and is being replaced by the person who was my second chair. The second chair assignment is above the first chair in the committee hierarchy. I do not understand how these positions are being assigned.

I had qualified for the Post 9/11 GI Bill and 70% of my tuition has been paid for by the Veteran’s Administration. My school district also pays for 6 credits per year. I have paid about $10,000 out of pocket. Walden University presented the program as taking between 3 – 5 years. It has become obvious to me that this time-frame is not accurate. With the delay in submissions and minor changes suggested on each draft, there is no way that I can afford this program. I am currently considering disenrollment due to the “bait and switch” tactics employed by the university. I have done further research on Walden University and have found that there are many other students who have had the same experience.

Even though I have asked about these issues, the university has not been able to answer my questions or explain how I could possibly finish in the time-frame given.
MNikoloff Send email
 
Oct 11, 2017

No internship NO DEGREE

I like most here attended Walden University ONLINE for the past 5 years !!! WHY? Because after I finished ALL My classes in the Masters Clinical Mental Health Counseling,, I was told I had to find MY OWN internship. Well, I am 74 years old and I applied everywhere! no one ever got back to me. Now, I am beginning to see why.

In order to graduate from Walden with my Masters degree, I changed programs, ahh, but yes, that was another 30K because they said only ONE of my classes would transfer over. DO you see what is going on here. FOR PROFIT and MORE.

If there is any way that we can all band together and get justice for this wasted time and hundred of thousands of dollars in Student loans let us do something NOW. This is unfair to all trying to get ahead and with wasted years. I want those years back and the loans to be forgiven.

SO dissatisfied in Massachusetts
DRaphael Send email
 
Oct 10, 2017

Disgruntled Doctoral Students

Here is the site for the lawsuit against Walden University: http://www.waldenuniversitylawsuit.com/.
waldensucks Send email
 
Oct 10, 2017

Walden University is a big SCAM!

Walden University is a big SCAM and the faculty members are in on it. They all stick together to make sure they drag out your PhD studies, even when you are close to the end. A white professor from another university said PhD is the good old boys' club and they will make sure to do everything so you would not get in. Well Walden faculty falls in line with that, namely one called Beck. Good thing I don't go to this university but I have heard the stories about faculty member Beck and his other supporters who purposely try to block students from graduating. He must be getting a kickback for his efforts.  Their day will come though. It's called karma. I will make sure my friends sue the university and that Beck guy. If you see his name for any of your classes, RUN! He is not there to help you graduate. He also directs you down the wrong path and I believe it is intentional.
waldensucks Send email
 
Oct 10, 2017

Purposely Prolonging PhD Studies

Walden University is a big SCAM and the faculty members are in on it. They all stick together to make sure they drag out your PhD studies, even when you are close to the end. A white professor from another university said PhD is the good old boys' club and they will make sure to do everything so you would not get in. Well Walden faculty falls in line with that, namely one called Beck. Good thing I don't go to this university but I have heard the stories about faculty member Beck and his other supporters who purposely try to block students from graduating. He must be getting a kickback for his efforts.  Their day will come though. It's called karma. I will make sure my friends sue the university and that Beck guy.
Powellc4 Send email
 
Oct 7, 2017

Tuition Waiver

I attend Walden University. While I was enrolled I had several dramatic situations occur to me. My father and uncle passed away and one of my major caregivers, my aunt, was diagnosed with stage four cancer. I spiraled into a great depression is seeked medical treatment to address my depression. Since I was unable to care for my autistic son and myself or participate at work/school, I was placed on a medical leave. I had withdraw from classes. I provided medical documentation and after nearly three months, they denied my request for a tuition waiver stating my medical statement did not state I could not participate in online classes. I couldn't understand because the document listed all workplace duties which included the same tasks that I would engage in to complete online course requirements. When I appealed the decision, it took less than five days for the final decision.
bigscene14 Send email
 
Sep 21, 2017

Tution too high

I had high hopes of getting an degree at Walden University. I thought that I was finally going have my bachelor degree. I am three classes from finishing and now I can not get my degree because I have used all my financial aid and I do not have any out of pocket money to pay for the classes. It makes me so upset to know I have come this far and can not finish. It does not make sense how much the courses and tuition cost at this school. The really mess up part is if I don't come up with the money to pay for the courses now then all that I did is lost because they are getting rid of the program. I do not understand how this school can get away with this.
britt08 Send email
 
Sep 20, 2017

Financial Aid

Firstly I'm currently a student here and I thought by going through all the red tape of getting enrolled here I would enjoy it but I don't! I wrote appeals, paid for transcripts and turned everything in but on my body parts all, I wanted to further my education. I in my second quarter with my books! I have to google or go to the public library to get help on certain questions so I don't pass now my fourth week and still no book. My financial Aid disbursed on Monday tell me why I haven't got my refund yet? Most colleges disburse soon as they get it to the school this college make you wait the whole 14 days after I guess. And I'm direct deposit and still nothing. And steal no book I don't even need it now I have two more weeks before the end of the quarter and why would I spend $200.00 dollars for a book that I don't even need at this point their financial system SUCKS!!!
cyndiblevins Send email
 
Sep 14, 2017

Tuition Waiver Rip Off

I attend Walden University and its the worst decision I could've ever made. Walden is refusing to refund my money from last quarter since I had to withdraw from classes after the 4th week of due to brain inflammation. I provided medical documentation and after nearly two months, they denied my request stating I didn't have a letter from my doctor stating I couldn’t continue on in the class. They never requested a letter from the doctor as part of the form I submitted. What are my options as I’m currently enrolled at Walden, but plan to discontinue this program at the end of this Qtr because I don’t believe in this institution anymore. They are money hungry and don’t live by their mission. I didn't have a common cold, I was hospitalized for weeks due to inflammation on the brain. I have a 4.0 GPA and enrolled in my 4th Qtr.
Lisa M Send email
 
Sep 3, 2017

Walden University

Here is the site for the lawsuit against Walden University: http://www.waldenuniversitylawsuit.com/
brigitte1973 Send email
 
Aug 29, 2017

tuition

When I started my program with this university two years ago, the cost of books was included in the tuition. After the first year, they switched to the student having to order his or her own books online, giving the choice to order from the university bookstore or other sources online. However, the tuition didn't change to accommodate having to order books. I called the school about my complaint and was told the tuition was raised and that's why it didn't reflect the difference. I spoke to another friend of mine who had the same complaint and she stated she called them and raised heck with them and they, in turn, sent her a $400 check to offset the difference! I was so upset! I think it was just another way to gouge the student for money.
Elowens1 Send email
 
Aug 27, 2017

Fraud

I registered for 2 doctorate classes with Walden. Due to medical reasons I was unable to continue with the classes. I dropped the classes within 2 weeks of the classes, and submitted documentation to their registrar's office. Walden is reporting a $5000 negative balance on my credit to all 3 credit bureaus. I am asking that they remove these negative items off of my credit reports immediately. This is fraudulent and is negatively effecting my credit.
skrgurl Send email
 
Aug 18, 2017

Financial aid problems

If i weren't too far along in my studies i would have left Walden. I wish i had actually followed my gut in the beginning when i first started attending and had constant problems with the school haggling me by phone against my wishes like going to college was my first rodeo hence i'm in GRAD school! But i kept going as my employer finances a huge chunk. For the first time in almost 1.5 years of being a student have i had to consider taking out some form of loan. I had a Perkin's which should have been forgiven as i'm a nurse and have always provided the proof necessary to my past schools for forgiveness, however this one school unfairly never notified me they didn't receive it all the while i thought it was taken care of. I took care of the small remaining balance got the clearance letter and presented that to Walden as they requested. They sent me a message telling me i was cleared then several times they came up with lies telling me they need a letter from the Department of Education who doesn't even do that. After i proved that the next day they came up with some bogus lie that i was in default of another loan! After constant calls to the Department of Education/NSLDS to check they keep telling me in so many words Walden is fudging it and lying. Even requested i have them call in on the line with me. Oddly Walden sends a bunch of emails with no direct names so you never know whose handling your stuff. I really hate this school but i've already given them too much money to quit now. My employer which is a major corporation has gotten wind of the issues with Walden from several people and i hear of plans to pull the contract to supply a voucher to this school as they are not proving reputable, hopefully after i graduate. They have contacted me to ask about the affairs of the school however i never gave any bad feedback despite all of my negative experiences, but i definitely will be reporting them now. What's odd is that i hear on this board where they're giving folks all of these high price loans and all i'm asking is for $3-4000 maybe less! My sound advice to anyone willing to listen is do your homework on this school and don't just stop here. Find out upfront if they have the accreditation you need. Don't be fooled by the easy entrance into programs; it will make no difference if they stiff you on the financial aid end and you can't complete your degree track. There are many other colleges out there which won't send you through so much unnecessary stress and grief and that has a much better reputation! Everywhere i go when i mention this school's name people crinch or make some kind of negative comment....i'm honestly becoming embarrassed to tell people where i go and i want to be taken seriously in my profession. Just hoping if i graduate from here that it won't negatively affect my employment opportunities since they don't have such a good reputation.
RFL89 Send email
 
Aug 15, 2017

Lied to about tutorial/registration

I was lied to by Walden University which told me that I can enroll in tutorial and experienced how I liked the program and that if i didn't like it I could un-enroll and not be charged. Well I did that and was still charged. 8k and I'm not sure what for. If there is some sort of lawsuit out there please add me to it!
drizzy91 Send email
 
Aug 10, 2017

misinformed and made to pay for the costs

i was made to believe i am attending an orientation with tutorials and that i could apply for financial aid with the university which i did but was never contacted by the financial advisors until when i decided to stop the tutorials realising that i cannot go on with the studies as my schedule was not allowing. that is when i was told i am owing the institution $2000 which i feel is just a reap off and i was tricked in the whole process to believe i am attending tutorials that orientate me on the course as i await my financial aid. i am scared as i do not have such an amount of money and i was not even ready to start studying as i was just exploring my options. what am i facing here?
cypayne25@gmail.com Send email
 
Jul 26, 2017

A great deal of money and no degree

I am a victim of Walden University taking at advange of students for thousands of dollars and no doctorial degree to show for, just a big debt of student loans. I have read many reviews and this has been going on for years and yet nothing has been done.

I have made it through all my classes and to the last chapter of my disertation. They had me revising for years with no light at the end of the tunnel.

I thought I had financial aide money my last semester. The university sent my semester materials as they always do. I checked into my class. No one said anything about me not having money. They didn't drop me from the roll.

Therefore I though financial aide was paid. They let me continue in that class. It was at the end of the semester when the university made me aware I did not have financial money and they did not pay for the semester completed.

They also informed me that I owed them four thousand dollars and that it had to be paid before I can register for the next semester.

I did not have four thousand dollars to pay the semester that was completed nor an additional four thousand to take the class in upcoming semester in order to complete the degree.

They harassed me daily for this money that I did not have. They placed it with the credit agencies. I would like my degree and the four thousand removed from me and the credit agencies. If they can do that I'm happy.
puncy15 Send email
 
Jul 11, 2017

Ed.D program (dissertation phase)

I have been trying to complete my Proposal and the URR keep saying that I have to make revisions. Its an ongoing thing for the past 3 years and Im still in the proposal. I have invested so much money for nothing. Im not planning to spend any more money, is NOT WORTH IT! Seems numerous students are experiencing the same problem.
Mr. Lewis Send email
 
Jul 7, 2017

III was taken advantage of too

Glad I found this. I'll read more. I too have been seriously abused by fraud and loan practices and false claims.

What I hope to find here is a suit to join. Anyone have a legal contact for me? Anyone in a class action or mass action suit whim I can contact?
RWB Send email
 
Jun 30, 2017

Con Artists

For those of you who were scammed by Walden, as well, there is an attorney's office handling student claims. The website http://www.waldenuniversitylawsuit.com/ has the details. So, if you, too, were conned by Walden, as many us have been, reach out to the attorney's office. Good luck to all of you!
distress_student Send email
 
Jun 21, 2017

Walden University is a FRAUD

Walden University is the reason for profit schools get a bad name. I took over 11 years trying to complete a PhD program in Public Administration with no success and over $200,000 in student loan debt. Walden University is specifically designed to:
• Keep you tied to ensure the student takes as many courses and gets into the most amount of debt in federal student loans. This is done by regularly and inexplicably changing the Programs of Study by constantly changing and adding classes to programs to make students take more classes and pay more tuition.
• Dissertation process is amorphous, ill-defined and grossly uncoordinated. Dissertation chairs do not communicate with other committee members and in my case were unsure of the Walden Dissertation process.
• In addition to this, contradictory reviews of dissertation proposals makes the student confused and frustrated. My URR for instance contradicted the approval of the dissertation chair when she had no experience in the field of Public Administration!
• Changing committee members for students is impossible even when members are under performing.
• It takes up to 10 business days to get any feedback on your work on the dissertation drafts. In a 12 week semester, this ensures student work will barely be looked at, vague feedback is provided and students has to go back and rewrite work with vague directions. These edits are later contradicted by the university reviewer or a committee member. Students are basically on their own with this horrible school.
Myrnafig Send email
 
Jun 16, 2017

Financial aid abuse

Considering that I like the education I am getting, I am more than disappointed and even furious at the disrespect the school's financial aid process. Having 0 hold and over 3.5 gpa in my 4th term, and after spending out of pocket money for my residence, the school has not released my funds in 9 days since it was disbursed. Even more infuriating, is that I told them that this has put my son and I in a precarious situation, but the school's attitude is 'oh well, we have 14 days if we wish'. While they are accruding interests in money that does not belong to them, my son and I are asking people to lend us money so we can have groceries. HOW IRRESPONSIBLE AND GREEDY of this school. I bow to report this to various agencies and let other potential students know about this disregard for students.
anious51 Send email
 
Jun 10, 2017

debt

I would like to get in on the claim, i think students are over charged, Walden is too expensive, it seems I will never pay back my loan, I was left with a balance of 1,500, I am writing a letter to the President as we speak, I am looking for help in this matter so I will be able to get a copy of my transcript. I was sent to Allied services collection to pay the bill, and its all self learning with little help from the instructor, its sad all that money that the school took from my loans and nothing, I can't even find a job, I'm wondering if it was a waste of time and money, students are sweet talked into it after that there is no one to help us. I want to get some kind of help to pay the creditors so I am able to get my transcript to get a better job. I am going for my Masters in a year or two and it will not be with Walden.I think we were all drained its all money, being greedy

Antron
R3nee41A Send email
 
May 25, 2017

Walden University

I was one of those persons who could not understand why others had complaints about their schook. I figured you do the work, comply with everything and everything will be alright. I've been a student at Ashford University, graduated with honors for my Bachelor's degree. I was a student at Liberty University for my Master's Degree abd now Walden University for my Ph.d. Well, I am happy to say to all those people who have ever had problems with their school, I apologize, because Walden University is so messed up I think I made a bad choice in choosing this school for my Doctorate. The enrollment advisor told me it would take three years to complete, but when I check my completion date it says 2023, that's seven whole years and a lot of money. I feel as though they suckered us in and we are left to fend for ourselves. We do not get feedback on assignments, we do not hear from our academic advisor and the financial aid department are all idiots. I'm into my third term and I want to quit and find another school, but I'm sure the money I have paid into it will be wasted, not to mention I'm sure I will run out of money way before 2023 or be over $200,000 in debt with a degree most employers won't hire. So, stay away from Walden University. At least pick online school that actually have a physical school because Walden University is in it for the money, they are not concerned with you.
Gcashme Send email
 
May 17, 2017

Fraud

I to have fallen to be a victim of what so many people are claiming happened to them. This is not right or fair to be in so much debt and nothing to show for it. I'm not sure if there are lawsuits still happening but if so can someone let it be know I would like to be apart of the lawsuit
theroys88 Send email
 
May 14, 2017

financial aid office

Was set to start the RN to MSN FNP program 5/30/17. Since Walden is not on the list for private loans I filled out my FASFA and all required documents that Walden requested. Federal loans were approved and even dispersed on the financial portal. I emailed and called the financial aid department just to make sure that everything was ok and could not get through but was told they would contact me withing 2-3 business days. I also emailed them and they never returned the call or email. On 5/5/17 I received a email only telling me my financial awards had changed and to accept them on the tab in the financial aid portal. When I went to the portal, all of the loans had vanished. No award tab also. I called them twice that week and again they are always to busy to talk to you. I was told by the rep that again they would contact me withing 2-3 days. I also emailed them twice and no response. I contacted my enrollment counselor and she looked into my account and told me that since I was starting in May I would have to fill out another FASFA and make some other corrections but could not give me a way to contact the financial aid office. She stated not to worry and that I had 3 months to pay for the courses once started. She stated she was sorry I felt I was unsupported on this issue. Basically there is no communication with the financial aid office and why I prefer to get private loans which are painless. I was told by Discover that schools such as Walden do not qualify for private loans because of the low graduation rates. Because of this, it makes no sense that their financial aid department would not be squared away since loans and grants through them are the only option besides self pay. I sent a withdraw form in yesterday since it had been over a week and I still have not been able to speak to anyone in the financial aid department and have not received a call back or email.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    McDonald's malaysia - HAPPY MEAL
    KECEWAAAA.. MANA SAYA PUNYA MAINAN HAPPY MEAL .. BUAT APA...
    Panasonic Elga L2 - mobile lost
    Name:sagar Gaikwad Mobile :Panasonic elugal l2 IMEI...
    DSTV - Closed contract
    I've been struggling for months to get Dstv...
    Airasia - AirAsia System Cheat
    I have 11 person and I can only buy 9 tickets at 1 time ,...
    ica Singapore - Regarding OJT problem
    I stayed in a hostel which is in geylang , the owner is my...
    Get a room.com - Stole my money
    I made a resarvation and when I tried to cancel they...
    MIBFA - PENSION FUND PAYOUT
    THE CALL CENTRE OF MIBFA IN JHB IS...
    SBI ATM Card - Fghbv
    Need Help related SBI Bank Call with Us. Call Customer...
    Hallmark channel - Not enough Diversity
    Actually there is no diversity. There is a severe lack of...
    Samsung note 3 neo - Stolen
    I lost my phone IMEI number 351665065395472 My number...

    Share this site with others

         
          

    Recently Updated Complaints

    McDonald's malaysia - HAPPY MEAL
    KECEWAAAA.. MANA SAYA PUNYA MAINAN HAPPY MEAL .. BUAT APA...
    Panasonic Elga L2 - mobile lost
    Name:sagar Gaikwad Mobile :Panasonic elugal l2 IMEI...
    DSTV - Closed contract
    I've been struggling for months to get Dstv...
    Airasia - AirAsia System Cheat
    I have 11 person and I can only buy 9 tickets at 1 time ,...
    ica Singapore - Regarding OJT problem
    I stayed in a hostel which is in geylang , the owner is my...
    Get a room.com - Stole my money
    I made a resarvation and when I tried to cancel they...
    MIBFA - PENSION FUND PAYOUT
    THE CALL CENTRE OF MIBFA IN JHB IS...
    SBI ATM Card - Fghbv
    Need Help related SBI Bank Call with Us. Call Customer...
    Hallmark channel - Not enough Diversity
    Actually there is no diversity. There is a severe lack of...
    Samsung note 3 neo - Stolen
    I lost my phone IMEI number 351665065395472 My number...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username