Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

DSTV

South Africa

Consumer complaints and reviews about DSTV

Matumiso Send email
 
Jul 9, 2019

terminated services

I have paid multichoice and they switched off my services after payment. I was told to pay R147 of which I did and suddenly my services were switched off.

terminated services

Clint Lippert Send email
 
Jun 5, 2019

SERVICE

On the 29th of May, i visited the Multichoice branch in Newton Park, PE. The reason for my visit was to find out if i would be able to trade in my HD Decoder for one that's compatible with 3 view.

ANELE MANCIYA assisted me, and asked me if i had insurance on my decoder. I toldhim that i did not. He then continued to check his computer and asked his colleague or manager to come and check. After a few minutes he confirmed that they would not be able to do a trade on the Explora 3, but instead offered me the Explora 2. The only catch was that they did not have any stock at the time, and that stock would only arrive the following week. I was happy with that seeing i would be able to trade my old decoder for a new one that would be compatible with my setup at home. ANELE then took down my details and said that he would give me a call the minute there stock comes in. Leaving Multichoice as a very happy customer, spreading the news about the excellent service i have received.

After waiting for his call for a full week, i decided to go around to see if there stock has arrived yet. When i got there ANELE told me that there stock has not arrived yet, and that it would only be in the following week. I then made him aware of his promise to me, and then he changed his tune in a beat and advised me that he has one under his counter which was for another customer, but would in fact give that one to me. Once again, happy customer....

I then quickly rushed home to collect my decoder and returned to Multichoice. When i returned, ANELE then check his system again and then told me that they are unable to do a trade, and that i would have to purchase a new decoder. Needless to say i was not happy with this and asked to see the manager. SERGIO (not sure about surname as he did not want to disclose) then came and introduced himself as the manager. I was furious, and did not want to be told "Sorry, we made a mistake sir".

I felt that after ALL the up and down, and information fed to me by Multichoice, i should have been given the option to trade in my old decoder. This is the least they could have done for the balls-up from their side.

SERGIO was quite adamant that that was NOT an option. When asking to speak with his superior he told me that its not possible as well.

I would like to see how much DSTV actually appreciates its customers. The response i receive on this mail would definitely be a measure of that.

PS* I have also escalated this issue with the call center, and is waiting on a return call.

Kind Regards,
Mr. Clint Lippert
062 873 6122
Shezi Send email
 
May 22, 2019

FALSE PROMISES

I received an email from DSTV in February to say that if I paid my account on time for 3 months, I would get the 4th month free. On the 2nd April, the 3rd month, I was sent an email reminding me that I was only a few days away from a free months viewing. I duly paid my account on the 10th of April and was expecting May to be my free month. Instead my account has been suspended and depite numerous complaints, and having been reference numbers for each of my calls, and promises to call me back, nothing has happened. DSTV needs to put their money where their mouth is. I will be lodging a complaint with the Advertising Complaints Commission as well. On principle I am going to do everything in my power to see that they do not get away with this!
Johnny Zondo Send email
 
Mar 2, 2019

Bad Service & Bad Attitude

To whom it may concern:

Customer: 43885530


I have been a customer for DSTV for many years now but the Bad Service and Bad Attitude I received at RF Technologies in Welkom regarding my Explora Decoder that was malfunctioning was disgusting. The problem started last year in November 2018 when we were watching TV it will just freeze and we had to reboot the system almost daily. I took my decoder in and was told that we have a lot of recordings on the Explora's memory yet it was 60% memory used at that time. The decoder was resetted to factory fault but the problem persisted. In January 2019 I took my decoder in again and that's were I got a bad attitude from one of the technician consultants because I demanded to get a new decoder since well I have an insurance and his question with attitude was ' What makes me think the decoder is faulty and why must I get a new decoder'? I told him that I had all the rights to bring my faulty decoder and if its faulty I must get a new one without going through some interrogation.

He eventually gave me an Explora 2 like he said to me but still the problem continued. I had to call out three different accredited DSTV Installers which caused me more than R1340 to come and check my DSTV and yet the problem was still going on. Every time I went to explain to them with the decoder and showing them the errors that were appearing on the screen, they will just say its normal and they will fix it. I made a lot of calls to Customer Care asking for assistance and they will try to fix the problem but after 30 minutes of my call the usual error will appear again. On the 1st March 2019 I went again after an accredited installer came and told me that my decoder is faulty and I took it back again. I was there for almost 45 minutes and this lady technician was busy doing her child's school work while assisting me. Sadly, after 4 months of running to this store for assistance they eventually found that my Smartcard was faulty but as well I had to tell them because the call out guy that came in the morning told me that my smartcard is not registering at all. I have spend a lot of money and phone calls made just for my smartcard to be fixed. How much does a smartcard cost? I paid my monthly subscriptions without any hesitation but my family struggled to watch their favourite channels whenever they wanted to.


Incompetence is costing us alot of money that we will never get back. Please address this matter as soon as possible because I am not happy with the whole matter and the manner it was handled.


I hope to hear from you soon with action plan of my incident and how are you guys going to settle my expenses that I had to go through because of the incompetence of your staff members.


Regards


Johnny Zondo

0823012122
clinton 123 Send email
 
Oct 10, 2018

shit service

i just wanna say that your service is up to shit. you are only in it for the money. you sell the WALKA and then you just stop with the service. when i phone to find out whats happening they put the phone down WHILE IM STILL BUSY. People should boicot DSTV. You got to big for your boots and i hope someone else would get into the market to close your busness down.
Bennie05 Send email
 
Oct 4, 2018

Cannot get someone from price lock to call me back to finalise my account

After more than a week of spending over R400 on calls to customer services, they logged calls to price lock to phone me, but still no call. And I can not sort my dstv account out. They dont have direct numbers. I dare them to call me..... 0828423974
Brian Lobb Send email
 
Sep 16, 2018

Not able to view my Premium package on DStv

Good morning Sir/Madam,

I am very disappointed and highly frustrated by your DStv
Premium package.
I have been not able to watch DStv for the week of 10th September 2018 to 16th September 2018.
Numerous phone calls to DStv ‭(011) 289-2222‬ whom were unable to reset my Xplora decoder and after numerous phone calls at my expense over 110 minutes on 12th September 2018 and yet again on 14th September 2018.

I was unable to view my DStv even though the Johannesburg DStv Head offices tried assisting me with numerous software updates to my Xplora decoder.

I am very disappointed by the fact that I pay R1079.00. for the Premium package, yet the problem persisted and after numerous phone calls at my expense DStv were unable to resolve my xtraview problem... once I contacted an accredited DStv installer the fault wasn’t my LNB or primary decoder but the software update from DStv.

I require to be credited for the entire week of the 10th September 2018 to 16th September 2018 as the accredited DStv installer charged me R300.00. for the call out which wasn’t necessary yet the DStv operator suggested this...

Should I not get any feedback regarding this problem, then I will take legal action and go public to the media regarding my bad after sales service and assistance...

I await a email and phone call regarding my technical problem encountered by DStv.

Yours Sincerely

Brian Lobb
stilbaai Send email
 
Aug 19, 2018

Bad service

Ek skryf in Afr omdat ek my beter kan uitdink in my taal.

Met hierdie brief wil ek my frustasie uithaal.

Ek is seker julle klomp daar agter die skerms onderskat julle kykers se intellengensie.

Ons betaal en helse bedrag om DSTV te hê maar die gemors wat julle wys is n skande

Eerstens daardie goedkoop Chinese/Japenese gemors wat julle wys. Tweedens wie met n hoê IK kyk na die vertaalde gemors op kanaal 141 Eva. Onthou ons betaal vir daardie gemors.

Wil net sê ons het al 18 jaar DSTV.

Nou kom ons by die fliek kanale. Flieks wat so oud is ons het al deur en deur vir dit betaal. Nou moet ons na ou flieks kyk wat ons jare terug al betaal het voor maar na n paar jaar dan kom die ou goed alweer terug maar ons fooie gaan elke jaar net op en op.

Sat aand die 18/8/18 vanaf 20.00 tot 24.00

KANAAL 3 FLIEK AGTERMEKAAR SE JAAR VAN VRYSTELLING

104 2017 2017 2017
105 2017 2017 2017
106 2016 2016 2017
108 1994 1997 2003
111 1969 1990 2016
112 2000 2012 2015
134 2008 1984 2001
138 2003 2015 2007
139 2002 2001

Dit is op n Sat aand wat ons ons self reg maak vir n lekker aand voor die tv dan moet ons na die gemors kyk.

Pretty Woman ken ek al elke woord

So kan ek nog baie baie flieks noem.

Julle sal julle sokkies moet optrek of julle gaan baie kliente verloor.

Hier in ons dorpie Stilbaai praat baie al dat hulle wil oor skakel na NETFLIX.
Wel as dit so aan gaan sal ek ook maar dit moet oorweeg

Hoop regtig julle gee aandag aan die saak

Baie dankie

Linda Rademan
PSingh Send email
 
Aug 13, 2018

Incompetent staff

2 months ago I had taken dstv price lock package On compact. I was told that I will be pay R549pm which will go out as a debt order. However to continue the application process I needed to send through the supporting documentation which also included a bank statement with my name address and account number. Only 2 find out end of July 2018 that my dstv is cut and my account isn’t paid due to an incompetent staff member who captured my banking details incorrectly. Every 5days I need to contact dstv explaining to that what has happened and to have them reconnect me. I will not be held accountable for their wrong actions! They was supposed to ensure they captured all information correctly. I will not pay anything nor will I pay reconnection fee. My credit score is currently being affected by this incompetent bull shit. If this is going to continue I will cancel my subscription due to the utter bullshit.
PSingh Send email
 
Aug 13, 2018

Incompetent employees

2 months ago I had taken dstv price lock package On compact. I was told that I will be pay R549pm which will go out as a debt order. However to continue the application process I needed to send through the supporting documentation which also included a bank statement with my name address and account number. Only 2 find out end of July 2018 that my dstv is cut and my account isn’t paid due to an incompetent staff member who captured my banking details incorrectly. Every 5days I need to contact dstv explaining to that what has happened and to have them reconnect me. I will not be held accountable for their wrong actions! They was supposed to ensure they captured all information correctly. I will not pay anything nor will I pay reconnection fee. My credit score is currently being affected by this incompetent bull shit. If this is going to continue I will cancel my subscription due to the utter bullshit.
Shehaam Nicholas Rossier Send email
 
Aug 13, 2018

DPP department

I've been having trouble with my account for a while now I keep phoning with Dstv customer care then they say they will Escalat to the DPP department and someone will contact me. Its been three weeks now and I'm still waiting. This isn't the first time I have to wait so long. Why can't we just have a number or email so we can contact them our self
kinderjoy Send email
 
Aug 10, 2018

Service

In July I bought a Dstv decoder. When I plugged it in my old dish which was previously working it didn"t work. So I called the
multichoice service centre to help me with the settings. I was just told to get an installer to come and change the settings and I
asked who is going to pay the installer. And why are not advised at the shop before buying the HD S5 that you will need to have an installer install it for you so you can make a decision before buying it. Why is multchoice ripping us of our hard earned money?
I mean buyind a decoder for R399.00 and you still have to get an installer for for something R350.00, Isn't cheap to buy a new set
all together wich was going for R450.00 with installation included.
enrico damon Send email
 
Aug 7, 2018

7 little johnstons and little people big world

Why does 7 little johnstons and little people big world
Dont show anymore

Any answers on this
lelo Send email
 
Jul 24, 2018

Payment arrangement and service

DS stupid TV failed to collect my subscription in July and therefore suspended my service. I call in to query a number of times and was advised that finance would contact me for a payment arrangement. Days later i call in to follow up as no contact was made. Yet again received bad service from consultants and managers who dont have a clue what the company processes are if any. My outstanding balance was elevated then eventually correct. I was promised a call from the finance department and yes, once again no call. I receive an sms today of an arrangement i never agreed to but the sms says you agreed to............
I call the call centre and was told that i have no say, arrangement is made on my behalf. I ask to be reconnected as they have done previously and i am told that re connection will not be possible without immediate payment. So much inconstancy and bad service i have received from DSTV, i regret the day i took out a binding contract. Im am definitely taking this further
Charlene Vermeulen Send email
 
Jul 14, 2018

Account not debited

Good day

I have been trying to sort this out. I subscribed with the dstv price lock plan.debit order for 2 years as that is the only way you can subscribe. I used my savings account which I never use to draw funds I just deposit money in it for all my debits. For some reason dstv debit order didn't go off as one of my other debit their money the wrong date. For 10 months I didn't know. Dstv never put my account off after the first month when the debit order go off as they normally do.so I didn't know.so om the 11th month they put the dstv off. So I phoned to find out why as I have a debit order. Then they told me it has not gone off in 10months. I was shocked that I am left with a bill off more than R10 000.wich I can't pay once off. So I have been paying it off but by bit and my dstv has been off since.kta been now a very long time.i feel this is not fair as I want notified the first 2 months and the dstv wasn't put off.we love dstv and I feel this was not my fault as someone want doing their job.i should like to carry on watching but when I phone dstv they keep on saying the price lock department will phone me and they never do. So how must o get this sorted out as this is poor service delivery.
Nicole15 Send email
 
Jul 4, 2018

POOR SERVICE

Very disappointed with the service I am getting from DSTV. The satellite is badly corroded and I was advised to not put it up at my new place as it will fall off the wall. Installer advised he will not be able to secure the bolts due to bad corrosion. I now need to get a new satellite. I contacted DSTV call centre to disconnect/freeze My account until I can get the new satellite. Only for them to advise me they are not able to disconnect/freeze My service. They can only disconnect it only my payment date, which mean I paid my subscription for no reason last month as I am not able to watch. Should DSTV not have managers who are able to override the system in cases like this. Surely there should be a way th at they can disconnect the service at any time?
Nicole15 Send email
 
Jul 4, 2018

Complaint

Very disappointed with the service I am getting from DSTV. The satellite is badly corroded and I was advised to not put it up at my new place as it will fall off the wall. Installer advised he will not be able to secure the bolts due to bad corrosion. I now need to get a new satellite. I contacted DSTV call centre to disconnect/freeze My account until I can get the new satellite. Only for them to advise me they are not able to disconnect/freeze My service. They can only disconnect it only my payment date, which mean I paid my subscription for no reason last month as I am not able to watch. Should DSTV not have managers who are able to override the system in cases like this. Surely there should be a way th at they can disconnect the service at any time?
Jakes Send email
 
Jul 3, 2018

24 month price lock

I got the Explorer on a 24 month price lock in 2018-02 with the price of R844 x 24. Till up to date and many calls to DSTV and promises I'm still not paying the R844. They are wasting my time as I have to call them each month. Absolutely unacceptable.
Ann Marshall Send email
 
Jun 20, 2018

OVER PAYMENT OF ACCOUNTS

We have been overcharged on our DSTV account for 2 years (since 2016).
During 2016 I brought in my Duel View decoder to the Durban branch of Multi Choice for repairs which was never taken off there system. At the time I was advised the these units were no longer available and that I must take the updated decoder.
On the 26 May 2017 I brought in my decoder that I received in 2016 for repair and was helped by Brain Joyisa and Faruk Latiff. I received a new decoder.
In June of this year I checked my account after speaking to friends who were paying a lot less than me. I then phoned Multi Choice and spoke to a gentleman by the name of Majalefa to query my account, he asked me to come in to your Durban office where I was helped by Fumane Nalle to look into the account from investigations, it was established that I have been paying for two Decoders since 2016. In 2016 when I brought in my Duel Decoder with the smart card it was never taken off there system and hence I have been paying for a decoder which I don't have. I have follow up my query with Fumane Nalle on the 9 June but have not had any feedback. I was told by her that she would have to get he Supervisor to investigate my account.
I would wish to state that I have never had two Decoders and only have 1 unit which is Black in colour with Smart a Smart car.

My next letter was to Salome,
Thank your for your prompt reply. Please be advised that I am not happy with it being my responsibility to disconnect the service to my Duel view decoder. The activation is not controlled by me but by yourselves and I would have thought that having a non functional decoder would automatically have cancelled such use. As stated previously, at the time of the exchange I was given a new Decoder as the older Duel view was no longer available. I am sure that you have the facilities to check on the use of the Smart card no 4251937474 which will show non use. The person serving me at the time was fully aware that I had a non functioning decoder and , in my opinion, should have disconnected the service to this old Duel view Decoder on my receiving the newer Decoder.
I am not happy with the responsibility being placed on my shoulders to have the service disconnected. I see this as an error on the part of the person serving me and request that I be compensated accordingly.

We urgently need this matter resolved as DSTV have stated they will not be refunding us our over payment of approximately R20 000. This I feel is unacceptable and If unresolved I will take this to East Coast Radio and Social media to make the public aware of this unfair treatment.
Looking forward to an amicable solution to this problem.
Lucille De Lange Send email
 
Jun 6, 2018

Reconnections for Nothing!!!

I am very unhappy with the service we are getting from DSTV.

First DSTV failed to action the arranged debit order from the bank and blamed my fiance for their short coming.
Then they put our DSTV off for a month.
We then paid the installment and a re-connection penalty fee in order for us to have DSTV for June!
We were able to watch TV for only a few days and DSTV disconnected us again.
When my fiance called them to ask what is going on, they advised that we still owe them over R500 claiming that we are behind.
When asking to speak with a manager, they're conveniently never available ...

HOW ARE WE BEHIND IF WE WERE DISCONNECTED FOR A MONTH ?!?!?!?!
AND HAD TO PAY A RE-CONNECTION PENALTY ??

Please can some-one assist with resolving this ?!?!?!?

You can call my fiance Frederik Joubert 0729942134
MunMay Send email
 
May 2, 2018

un satisfactory services

I gave been phoning Dstv call centre since April 2018 regards my services and everytime they said they will get back to me via email, up until today 2/5/2018 i have not received a statement or an email on request from all the consultants i have spoken to. They disconnected my dstv stating i owe them more than R2000plus and when i asked for a statement they cannot produce and when i asked to be called back they tell me their phones cannot phone out and their system is slow, in April 2018 when i spike to numerous consultants they said my account us up to date and when asked if they can reconnect my catchup channel they had problems connecting me and will escalate this, sad to inform till now i am waiting, today i phoned dstv again and again i was told the same old story, cannot phone out, will get my team leader to phone you, our systems are very slow yes we can see your payment you made in april2018 but wee need to go further into your account.
Best yet i have asked in emails for them not to debit order me as i have closed the back account and yet they try to process this transaction of which i refuse to pay the bank the penalty nor dstv fir ignoring my request.
I want dstv to contact me or respond to my calls for help and plea for assistance.
0715517766
jaco schutte Send email
 
Apr 19, 2018

Subscription

i was called about registering my DSTV as a debit order. this person also told me that the amount for registering a debit order would be R749 and this was the only reason i accepted the offer, after asking him if he has my bank details he replied yes and it was with Capitec bank. i received a sms from DSTV stating that my debit order was rejected, the problem was that it was on a old Nedbank account! After phonong DSTV and asking about this, they said they have the wrong bank details. I then asked what the amount will be and was told R899? I then told them the story and when i received the call. I then told them to listen to the recordings of the call that was made, i even gave them the number that i was phoned from. I was told that they would phone me back which didn't happen for a week! I then phoned DSTV again and asked the speak to a superior which was Michelle. She said she would look into this and get back to me, another week has passed without a call! I then phoned again today and the amount on the automated voice was over a R1000??? This lady Lerato said she would send a mail to Michelle to phone me which i guarentee you won't [email protected]!

PLEASE HELP
ElsabeV Send email
 
Apr 5, 2018

Insurance

I have paid my insurance on my HD Duel view PVR for the last couple of years now and now the thing is busy packing up.
DSTV is saying that this model decoder is no longer being insured because its to old but the took the payment every month!
I had 2 decoders on my name but sold one back to DSTV and they are now saying the insurance I paid was for the model I sold them and not the one currently on my name. I can now not claim for a new decoder as the insurance was not for this model.
How does this work? I pay for a service and wen you need it then they say your money was good enough but we can not provide you with the service that you paid for, for the past couple of years. you should bay a new decoder!
Letittia Send email
 
Apr 4, 2018

Removal of Glow tv from DSTV

Dear Dstv it is with sadness that i have to express my total disappointment. Glow tv is the one useful chanel on the compact package that me and my family is excited to watch. We pay for your services for goodness sake. Also Dstv dont come cheap yet ur service is so poor that you keep repeating the same movie several times on diffrent channels. Also i fail to understand that we that pay have no access to Glow tv or any of our soapies like True love and Colors of love, yet the Open view hd customers that pay a once off have all plesure of Glow tv.. THIS IS NOT FAIR. Does this mean we should start cancelling subscriptions? Start moving over to Open view hd? I mean it is for free is it not? DSTV PLEASE FIX YOUR MESS.
Letittia Send email
 
Apr 4, 2018

Removal of Glow tv

Dear Dstv it is with sadness that i have to express my total disappointment. Glow tv is the one useful chanel on the compact package that me and my family is excited to watch. We pay for your services for goodness sake. Also Dstv dont come cheap yet ur service is so poor that you keep repeating the same movie several times on diffrent channels. Also i fail to understand that we that pay have no access to Glow tv or any of our soapies like True love and Colors of love, yet the Open view hd customers that pay a once off have all plesure of Glow tv.. THIS IS NOT FAIR. Does this mean we should start cancelling subscriptions? Start moving over to Open view hd? I mean it is for free is it not? DSTV PLEASE FIX YOUR MESS.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Hallmark channel - Where’s Golden Girls
    I watch Golden Girls every morning and every night. I...
    Mydin - STAFF BIADAP
    Pada tarikh 23/07/2019 lebih kurang jam 0100pm saya dan...
    Esse Immigration pvtltd - This is an official response from Esse Immigration
    Hi Srinivasan, This is an official response from Esse...
    Leons Furniture - False Advertising and Misleading terms and Conditions
    BUYER BEWARE! There is no such thing as "Integrity...
    ENOC - Promotion
    Respected sir, I am Abdul Hakeem...
    Pos Laju Transit Office - Item not received yet
    My item still at pos laju transit office and i waiting so...
    PCH Games - Keno ads interference with game
    I can't even play 2 boards on KENO, because of the...
    HackerForHireReview.com | Neighborhoodhacker.com - Hacking Service
    Hello everyone, i would like to share my story with you...
    Celcom - FULL BAR 4G LINE MCM E HANAT
    Mcm pantat line 4G full bar download 300+ kb/s anjing line
    Nor-dtfee.com - Addebito non autorizzato
    addebito non autorizzato buongiorno da un controllo si...

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Hallmark channel - Where’s Golden Girls
    I watch Golden Girls every morning and every night. I...
    Mydin - STAFF BIADAP
    Pada tarikh 23/07/2019 lebih kurang jam 0100pm saya dan...
    Esse Immigration pvtltd - This is an official response from Esse Immigration
    Hi Srinivasan, This is an official response from Esse...
    Leons Furniture - False Advertising and Misleading terms and Conditions
    BUYER BEWARE! There is no such thing as "Integrity...
    ENOC - Promotion
    Respected sir, I am Abdul Hakeem...
    Pos Laju Transit Office - Item not received yet
    My item still at pos laju transit office and i waiting so...
    PCH Games - Keno ads interference with game
    I can't even play 2 boards on KENO, because of the...
    HackerForHireReview.com | Neighborhoodhacker.com - Hacking Service
    Hello everyone, i would like to share my story with you...
    Celcom - FULL BAR 4G LINE MCM E HANAT
    Mcm pantat line 4G full bar download 300+ kb/s anjing line
    Nor-dtfee.com - Addebito non autorizzato
    addebito non autorizzato buongiorno da un controllo si...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username