Submit a Complaint

DSTV

South Africa

Consumer complaints and reviews about DSTV

TGoeieman Send email
 
Oct 27, 2021

double billed

I have been complaining about my double contract since may until today nobody helped me Multichoice billed me two Explora 3 payment plan 24months R49 and this put me under serious financial challenges and I have been complaining about this they send me form pillar to post instead of me paying R632 they add R49 for very same product I have and they said I have 2 decoders, I complained and am tired now I really need help please.0813951064
[email protected] Send email
 
Oct 26, 2021

CANT GET MY PAYMENT DATE CHANGED AS A PENSIONER AND OUR PAY DATE HAS CHANGED

My name is Ida Nobengazi Pheto aged 67 from Randfontein I have been using DSTV for over 12 years now until the covid pendemic and all changed for the worst. Our paydate changed and so did the service of multichoice, I would be disconnected and charged a reconnection fee every month as they can not change my pay date as per my request and i think dat is unfair to us old people, please do something about or u will loose a lot of your loyal customers

my contacts are 076 6238 322
thank u
SMJohnson Send email
 
Oct 17, 2021

OverCharged

Good Day

Customer Number:67003115.

I'm sick and tired of dstv every month I'm being over charged and no one can explain the break down of my bill I took a a package for r649.74 a month but every month they send me a different bill amount last month was over r800 this month its r799.

Can someone please get in touch with me about this issue.

Contact number:0631936217

Thanks
Schimene
Nontle Ntle Manyathi Send email
 
Sep 14, 2021

Incorrect billed

39997833 ref. I am sick and tired of bad service at dstv they said I upgraded,I spoke to Theodora TV is blocked
Nontle Ntle Manyathi Send email
 
Sep 14, 2021

Incorrect billed

Ref 39997833,I'm am divasted angry due to bad service at Multichoice I spoke to Theodora and Nhlanhla they did not help ,they saying I upgraded which I did not.asked to pay R1060 instead of R525 . please fix this
Nontle Ntle Manyathi Send email
 
Sep 14, 2021

Incorrect billed

Ref 39997833 please fix this it inconvenienced me,my family and my loved one billed R1070 my account blocked.i paidR525 as per my agreed channels,and account is locked
Loganreddy10 Send email
 
Sep 9, 2021

Overcharged

I was offered a DSTV package upgrade in June 2021 at a special discount price of R649 instead of R829 for 3 months. I accepted this offer on 30 June 2021 but was overcharged since the said date. Numerous telephonic conversations to the call center and emails have not assisted me in rectifying this overcharge.
Sandy# Send email
 
Aug 29, 2021

Incorrect charges

I have been fighting with DSTV for a while now. Last year they overcharged me and was never resolved as they said it was linked to my previous child account and money was just deducted on my debit order. I have changed my debit order to cash since as they kept deducting what they wanted and told me that the deduction shows correct on their side I was at the bank and sent statement yet nothing was done. On the 12th August I called to confirm my account had no balance and this was confirmed. I asked if I can move my payment date the guys said it will cost like 159 or something and I said rather not as it is unfair to pay more than a premium just for a date change, he also mentioned that a holiday care was activated on my account for July which I had no knowledge of and the phone died, I could not call back. I received an sms from dstv this week saying I should pay 159 this month. I feel DSTV knows they are in demand and just do as they wish and charge as they wish and this is unfair. I logged a complaint and chatted on facebook but the level of arrogance coming from them is frustrating. At months I even paid about R10 or 20 more than my premium yet that never reflects either. I am now in the process of taking my complaint to the ombits as I don't know how to deal with the incompetence of DSTV. It is unfair and robbery.
Stephanus Marx Send email
 
Aug 11, 2021

Poor service rendered by DSTV

DSTV e-mailed me on 14 May 2021 with a special price lock package by getting an EXPLORA ULTRA at a lower contract price of R899 per month valid for two years, which included Free delivery, Access Fee, Premium subscription, and Ultra 2-point installation free. I have accepted the offer on the internet and a DSTV consultant contacted me and explained the process on which I agreed to the contract on the 20th May 2021. I was also informed by the consultant that the installation date was scheduled for 07 June 2021 which did not happen. On 11 June 2021, I received an SMS notifying me that the installation will be done on the same date with a DSTV reference number XCR7BK which also did not happen. On 23 June 2021, I lodge a complaint with DSTV on the internet without any success. On 29 June 2021, I phoned the DSTV Durban call center and spoke to Simphiwe explaining my problem on which he informed me that he will follow up, also without any success. Another e-mail was sent again on 06 July 2021 without any success. On 09 and 16 July 2021, I received phone calls from DSTV and explained my story to them again also without any success. On 22 July 2021, I contacted the DSTV Durban call center again and spoke to Evelin and again requested assistance with the process also were promised to get feedback again without success. On 27 July 2021, I e-mailed again a query to the DSTV head office and received promises but without any success again. On 09 August 2021, I followed up with another e-mail and till to date still without any success. ALREADY PAYING FOR THE PACKAGE without the equipment. This is absolutely pathetic customer service by DSTV and when will I receive the equipment, service, and support as per the contract which I agreed upon and paying for?
Stephanus Marx Send email
 
Aug 11, 2021

Poor service rendered by DSTV

DSTV e-mailed me on 14 May 2021 with a special price lock package by getting an EXPLORA ULTRA at a lower contract price of R899 per month valid for two years, which included Free delivery, Access Fee, Premium subscription, and Ultra 2-point installation free. I have accepted the offer on the internet and a DSTV consultant contacted me and explained the process on which I agreed to the contract on the 20th May 2021. I was also informed by the consultant that the installation date was scheduled for 07 June 2021 which did not happen. On 11 June 2021, I received an SMS notifying me that the installation will be done on the same date with a DSTV reference number XCR7BK which also did not happen. On 23 June 2021, I lodge a complaint with DSTV on the internet without any success. On 29 June 2021, I phoned the DSTV Durban call center and spoke to Simphiwe explaining my problem on which he informed me that he will follow up, also without any success. Another e-mail was sent again on 06 July 2021 without any success. On 09 and 16 July 2021, I received phone calls from DSTV and explained my story to them again also without any success. On 22 July 2021, I contacted the DSTV Durban call center again and spoke to Evelin and again requested assistance with the process also were promised to get feedback again without success. On 27 July 2021, I e-mailed again a query to the DSTV head office and received promises but without any success again. On 09 August 2021, I followed up with another e-mail and till to date still without any success. ALREADY PAYING FOR THE PACKAGE without the equipment. This is absolutely pathetic customer service by DSTV and when will I receive the equipment, service, and support as per the contract which I agreed upon and paying for? PLEASE ASSIST.
Kidodo Send email
 
Aug 10, 2021

Dstv multichoice

My Story Good day,
I was told that I can reverse my money and pay R480.58 which I'm also disputing because Dstv is suppose to credit my account with R429. 03 which was from the two previous months that they debited me. I agree to a price lock package and was told that my monthly payment is R690 monthly to my surprise the first month was debited R829. 03 which I disputed and nothing was done. The second month was debited R980 and still disputing both those amounts to a point nothing is been done. This month was debited R2757.58 that I had to dispudispute and got and email that I can reverse my money and pay R480.58. But to my surprise when I wanted to do a EFT I'm told to pay R1178. 58 and I don't understand why and called the call center number for about 30 minutes on hold by the agent Zanele.
Please can matter be addressed and get assistance because I'm getting frustrated with all this and been promised it will be resolved but I'm always calling to get clarification about my account.
Did you manage to go through my story because I'm suppose to pay R290 because Dstv has to credit me back from the last 2months which is R429. 03 and I'm suppose to pay R279. 03.
alex.marais Send email
 
Jun 21, 2021

Cannot connect Showmax

Good day. After my previous decoder's hard drive keeping on wanting to be formatted, DSTV call centre indicated I should buy a new one. I have done that - R1000 bucks. Now Showmax is not working. I have spent an hour with a lady on a Sunday, after which she said she would call back at 18:00, which she never did. On 06 June I have spent another few minutes with them and eventually giving them my DSTV and Showmax password to try to sort it. That also did not work. Today (21 June) it took me another hour with a very helpful lady trying to assist, but it is still not working!!

Therefore, DSTV, take 12 hours and sort this, or I will cancel my subscription. I will then look into some alternative forms of entertainment.

Thanks.

Alex
Bianco Jantjies Send email
 
Feb 26, 2021

Disappointed

We cancelled our Dstv subscription end November 2020. Cancellation went through successfully, however we were in credit of over R700. We have beem sending the relevant documents for a refund, but when we call its a different story as to why the money cannot be refunded.

We will take this matter futher

M Jantjies
Terrye Send email
 
Feb 17, 2021

Volume of their ads

When Dstv aires their ads they increase my volume to excessively high levels & this is a total invasion of my health and preference and must not be allowed !!
Terrye Send email
 
Feb 17, 2021

Volume of their ads

When Dstv airs its ads they increase my volume
Excessively against my will & this is totally
Unacceptable!!!
Eulalia Send email
 
Feb 15, 2021

Refund

Good day, trust you well. I am still waiting for my money to be refunded for two months that the price lock debited in correctly. Keep well and stay safe. Kind regards
lesegogp Send email
 
Dec 12, 2020

Fradulent explora

My name is Xolani Mpongose. Every month around the 4th I always pay for my decorder of which I'm on the compact subscription. Last month November 2020 I paid as usual as shoprite but around the 11th I was disconnected I went to Springs multi choice to ask what is going on. I was told I bought an explora decorder and I'm on price lock I havent paid got it yet that's why I got disconnected.

I explained that I only have 1 decoder which is your normal HD I even went further to explain that a couple of months ago I lost my ID which I reported to the police station even showed them my affidavit. I asked the lady for the address that appears on the system she refused to give me she called the contact centre and they said the logged the call with price lock team they will call me back to resolve the issue.

When I got home my services were reconnected and I was never called.

This month December sam problem. On the 11th I was disconnected I called the contact centre they said the price lock team will call me back I asked for their contact number the lady Sinegugu Dlangamandla said they dont have a direct line what they do is log a call and they call clients.

She asked me how do I pay for my decorder every month I said st shoprite then she said cause on the system it shows debit order. I said no. I asked her for the address that appears it does not match mine.

What also confuses me is that how do you pay for compact and explora decoder at same time. When you buy explora the HD gets disconnected and what gets done is extra view. If I owe the explora subscription why disconnect my HD that I paid for. Why not disconnect the explora then the real culprit can be found.

To this day the price lock team gas not called me. My services that I paid for are still disconnected. Meaning multi choice/dstv are so ### up that they bill someone for 2 different services even when the 1 service is paid for they still disconnect it.

What is so difficult by disconnecting that ## explora I have saying the same thing since November that I dont have an explora I never bought one. What is ## difficult by picking up the phone and calling a client when the request has been logged.

My number that is registered with dstv 0769734697

Alternative number 0640031736
sips352 Send email
 
Nov 1, 2020

Catch up download

I’m hereby complaining that DStv make us download the content first before we can be able to watch from DStv catch up
nmpinga Send email
 
Oct 2, 2020

Extremely poor customer service

Extremely poor customer service. Incompetent agents. I’ve been contacting Dstv for three days and the problem still persist.
Clinte01 Send email
 
Sep 3, 2020

Debit order loaded without permission

Hi.. My name is Clint Esau. I reinstated my account with dstv with the option of cash monthly payments... I was advised that a debit order went off in error. I called 3 times and refund was not gone. Recordings drawn proved that consultant 1 promesd refund in 2 days.. Consultant 2, same day and today, I was told I must just wait or go to a dstv walk in center if I need the refund so badly.. This is so unacceptable and unprofessional. DSTV NEEDS TO LEARN CUSTOMER CARE AND TAKE OWNERSHIP FOR THIER ACTIONS. As per law, Noone can take funds without authorisation
reneet Send email
 
Aug 24, 2020

Is this value for money?

I have sent a few compaints to DSTV / Multichoice regarding the poor quality of programmes, the continued repetition of old programmes presented to subscribers as "new" and have yet to receive any answers to my queries / complaints.
More and more channels are "terminated" without (to my knowledge) any surveys being conducted with subscribers.
BBC channels are terminated, Crime and Investigation terminated, etc etc and then to add injury to insult they re-screen old 132 crime programmes on 170. Who are we fooling here?
Why can I as a subscriber not have a choice as there are only about 6-8 channels I watch. I do not watch reality TV programmes, yet that continues. If you are on Compact, channels get added, but if you are a Premium subscriber, channels get terminated without any explanation.Seems quite discriminatory. How things have changed since the start of this company!!
There are so many old programmes being re-hashed or just moved to channel 131, ie Homicide Hunter so we have less and less to choose from. Why should I pay for "Catch-up" as it isn't needed. Programmes are repeated ad infinitum anyway so why bother?
I am also sick and tired with the pop-ups on the screen to "upgrade". As if that will ever change as things are so abysmal now.
I am now looking into the black box and Netflix as that gives me more quality for far less money. If DSTV cannot afford decent programmes, please do not under-estimate your viewers intellect. I sincerely hope this complaint will be visible although I think it will just be ignored once again. Big Brother obviously has all the power and "some animals" seem to be "more equal than others." Tired of rubbish shows. If DSTV does not have the money to provide decent programmes, please be honest enough to share this information with your subscribers or give them a choice whether they want to remain with you or not. Regards. RR-Taylor
Maitland01 Send email
 
Aug 14, 2020

DSTV NO GRACE FOR COVID-19

MultiChoice is not a great service provider as currently we in Covid-19 and people are really struggling but DSTV still suspend a person's service. I am a very long time client and just because one time I can't pay but is prepared to make full payment at the following month but still refuse. Not a very happy client
Saadiqah86 Send email
 
Aug 5, 2020

Bill

I am not happy as a new customer this is so disappointing. I want to raise a complaint. I have never missed a payment since l have installed my dstv which is a few months old. Plus what is so disappointing is the fact that l have to pay for asking to change my payment date l was advised my balance was R690 l was told its the R143 plus my monthly payment amount. It came as a shock to me that my balance is R740 when l paid the R143 yesterday as l was asked to do so l was told that l should only pay my monthly installment but now l hear l am in arrears with R135 which l dont think its right.
Hermalini Send email
 
Jul 13, 2020

REF: 51350280- DSTV FRAUDULENTLY AND ILLEGALLY DEDUCTED MONEY FROM MY ACCOUNT AND I AM NOT EVEN A CUSTOMER!

Good day 


I am no longer a DSTV customer, I cancelled my subscription over 2 years ago. I was shocked to discover that on the 04/07/2020 DSTV illegal deducted the amount of R399.00 from my account.


I called the call center on 06/07/2020 and spoke to Stephen Senamolele, he assured that my money would be refunded in 48 hrs, he even provided me with an email to confirm this. Please see the email thread below to show the confirmation of a 48hr refund. I sent a follow up email to Stephen on Friday 10/07/2020 to enquire the status of my refund and he has not responded.


On 08/07/2020 The refund had not taken place. I contacted your Facebook messenger customer service and was told my funds would be refunded on Friday the 10/07/2020 or alternatively Monday 13/07/2020. To date DSTV has not refunded the money that they fraudulently stolen from my account. I have sent a query again this is the response I received "Hi Hermalini, we cant access the account to check We are carrying out planned system maintenance and we can only assist with technical queries and general inquiries. We apologize for any inconvenience caused. ~KM"


As per attachments, please see conversation had with the FB messenger customer service. On multiple occasions when I have asked for the Director's and legal department's contact details to escalate the matter, they have ignored the request.


DSTV are THIEVES, stealing from people who are not even customers.


Regards

Hermalini Moodley

0812136018

REF: 51350280- DSTV FRAUDULENTLY AND ILLEGALLY DEDUCTED MONEY FROM MY ACCOUNT AND I AM NOT EVEN A CUSTOMER!

Akhona12 Send email
 
Jul 4, 2020

Extra view always in error

My extra view is always not working. I lodge a complaint with DSTV everyday and still it gives the error. I’m paying every month for this but still I’m not getting any joy from it. I’m a pensioner who is trying to stay at home with this COVID19 but now I’m frustrated with my extra view.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username