Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

DSTV

South Africa

Consumer complaints and reviews about DSTV

Nicole15 Send email
 
Jul 4, 2018

POOR SERVICE

Very disappointed with the service I am getting from DSTV. The satellite is badly corroded and I was advised to not put it up at my new place as it will fall off the wall. Installer advised he will not be able to secure the bolts due to bad corrosion. I now need to get a new satellite. I contacted DSTV call centre to disconnect/freeze My account until I can get the new satellite. Only for them to advise me they are not able to disconnect/freeze My service. They can only disconnect it only my payment date, which mean I paid my subscription for no reason last month as I am not able to watch. Should DSTV not have managers who are able to override the system in cases like this. Surely there should be a way th at they can disconnect the service at any time?
Nicole15 Send email
 
Jul 4, 2018

Complaint

Very disappointed with the service I am getting from DSTV. The satellite is badly corroded and I was advised to not put it up at my new place as it will fall off the wall. Installer advised he will not be able to secure the bolts due to bad corrosion. I now need to get a new satellite. I contacted DSTV call centre to disconnect/freeze My account until I can get the new satellite. Only for them to advise me they are not able to disconnect/freeze My service. They can only disconnect it only my payment date, which mean I paid my subscription for no reason last month as I am not able to watch. Should DSTV not have managers who are able to override the system in cases like this. Surely there should be a way th at they can disconnect the service at any time?
Jakes Send email
 
Jul 3, 2018

24 month price lock

I got the Explorer on a 24 month price lock in 2018-02 with the price of R844 x 24. Till up to date and many calls to DSTV and promises I'm still not paying the R844. They are wasting my time as I have to call them each month. Absolutely unacceptable.
Ann Marshall Send email
 
Jun 20, 2018

OVER PAYMENT OF ACCOUNTS

We have been overcharged on our DSTV account for 2 years (since 2016).
During 2016 I brought in my Duel View decoder to the Durban branch of Multi Choice for repairs which was never taken off there system. At the time I was advised the these units were no longer available and that I must take the updated decoder.
On the 26 May 2017 I brought in my decoder that I received in 2016 for repair and was helped by Brain Joyisa and Faruk Latiff. I received a new decoder.
In June of this year I checked my account after speaking to friends who were paying a lot less than me. I then phoned Multi Choice and spoke to a gentleman by the name of Majalefa to query my account, he asked me to come in to your Durban office where I was helped by Fumane Nalle to look into the account from investigations, it was established that I have been paying for two Decoders since 2016. In 2016 when I brought in my Duel Decoder with the smart card it was never taken off there system and hence I have been paying for a decoder which I don't have. I have follow up my query with Fumane Nalle on the 9 June but have not had any feedback. I was told by her that she would have to get he Supervisor to investigate my account.
I would wish to state that I have never had two Decoders and only have 1 unit which is Black in colour with Smart a Smart car.

My next letter was to Salome,
Thank your for your prompt reply. Please be advised that I am not happy with it being my responsibility to disconnect the service to my Duel view decoder. The activation is not controlled by me but by yourselves and I would have thought that having a non functional decoder would automatically have cancelled such use. As stated previously, at the time of the exchange I was given a new Decoder as the older Duel view was no longer available. I am sure that you have the facilities to check on the use of the Smart card no 4251937474 which will show non use. The person serving me at the time was fully aware that I had a non functioning decoder and , in my opinion, should have disconnected the service to this old Duel view Decoder on my receiving the newer Decoder.
I am not happy with the responsibility being placed on my shoulders to have the service disconnected. I see this as an error on the part of the person serving me and request that I be compensated accordingly.

We urgently need this matter resolved as DSTV have stated they will not be refunding us our over payment of approximately R20 000. This I feel is unacceptable and If unresolved I will take this to East Coast Radio and Social media to make the public aware of this unfair treatment.
Looking forward to an amicable solution to this problem.
Lucille De Lange Send email
 
Jun 6, 2018

Reconnections for Nothing!!!

I am very unhappy with the service we are getting from DSTV.

First DSTV failed to action the arranged debit order from the bank and blamed my fiance for their short coming.
Then they put our DSTV off for a month.
We then paid the installment and a re-connection penalty fee in order for us to have DSTV for June!
We were able to watch TV for only a few days and DSTV disconnected us again.
When my fiance called them to ask what is going on, they advised that we still owe them over R500 claiming that we are behind.
When asking to speak with a manager, they're conveniently never available ...

HOW ARE WE BEHIND IF WE WERE DISCONNECTED FOR A MONTH ?!?!?!?!
AND HAD TO PAY A RE-CONNECTION PENALTY ??

Please can some-one assist with resolving this ?!?!?!?

You can call my fiance Frederik Joubert 0729942134
MunMay Send email
 
May 2, 2018

un satisfactory services

I gave been phoning Dstv call centre since April 2018 regards my services and everytime they said they will get back to me via email, up until today 2/5/2018 i have not received a statement or an email on request from all the consultants i have spoken to. They disconnected my dstv stating i owe them more than R2000plus and when i asked for a statement they cannot produce and when i asked to be called back they tell me their phones cannot phone out and their system is slow, in April 2018 when i spike to numerous consultants they said my account us up to date and when asked if they can reconnect my catchup channel they had problems connecting me and will escalate this, sad to inform till now i am waiting, today i phoned dstv again and again i was told the same old story, cannot phone out, will get my team leader to phone you, our systems are very slow yes we can see your payment you made in april2018 but wee need to go further into your account.
Best yet i have asked in emails for them not to debit order me as i have closed the back account and yet they try to process this transaction of which i refuse to pay the bank the penalty nor dstv fir ignoring my request.
I want dstv to contact me or respond to my calls for help and plea for assistance.
0715517766
jaco schutte Send email
 
Apr 19, 2018

Subscription

i was called about registering my DSTV as a debit order. this person also told me that the amount for registering a debit order would be R749 and this was the only reason i accepted the offer, after asking him if he has my bank details he replied yes and it was with Capitec bank. i received a sms from DSTV stating that my debit order was rejected, the problem was that it was on a old Nedbank account! After phonong DSTV and asking about this, they said they have the wrong bank details. I then asked what the amount will be and was told R899? I then told them the story and when i received the call. I then told them to listen to the recordings of the call that was made, i even gave them the number that i was phoned from. I was told that they would phone me back which didn't happen for a week! I then phoned DSTV again and asked the speak to a superior which was Michelle. She said she would look into this and get back to me, another week has passed without a call! I then phoned again today and the amount on the automated voice was over a R1000??? This lady Lerato said she would send a mail to Michelle to phone me which i guarentee you won't happen!!@!

PLEASE HELP
ElsabeV Send email
 
Apr 5, 2018

Insurance

I have paid my insurance on my HD Duel view PVR for the last couple of years now and now the thing is busy packing up.
DSTV is saying that this model decoder is no longer being insured because its to old but the took the payment every month!
I had 2 decoders on my name but sold one back to DSTV and they are now saying the insurance I paid was for the model I sold them and not the one currently on my name. I can now not claim for a new decoder as the insurance was not for this model.
How does this work? I pay for a service and wen you need it then they say your money was good enough but we can not provide you with the service that you paid for, for the past couple of years. you should bay a new decoder!
Letittia Send email
 
Apr 4, 2018

Removal of Glow tv from DSTV

Dear Dstv it is with sadness that i have to express my total disappointment. Glow tv is the one useful chanel on the compact package that me and my family is excited to watch. We pay for your services for goodness sake. Also Dstv dont come cheap yet ur service is so poor that you keep repeating the same movie several times on diffrent channels. Also i fail to understand that we that pay have no access to Glow tv or any of our soapies like True love and Colors of love, yet the Open view hd customers that pay a once off have all plesure of Glow tv.. THIS IS NOT FAIR. Does this mean we should start cancelling subscriptions? Start moving over to Open view hd? I mean it is for free is it not? DSTV PLEASE FIX YOUR MESS.
Letittia Send email
 
Apr 4, 2018

Removal of Glow tv

Dear Dstv it is with sadness that i have to express my total disappointment. Glow tv is the one useful chanel on the compact package that me and my family is excited to watch. We pay for your services for goodness sake. Also Dstv dont come cheap yet ur service is so poor that you keep repeating the same movie several times on diffrent channels. Also i fail to understand that we that pay have no access to Glow tv or any of our soapies like True love and Colors of love, yet the Open view hd customers that pay a once off have all plesure of Glow tv.. THIS IS NOT FAIR. Does this mean we should start cancelling subscriptions? Start moving over to Open view hd? I mean it is for free is it not? DSTV PLEASE FIX YOUR MESS.
Michelle Megan Thomas Send email
 
Apr 4, 2018

Not renewing Glowtv's contract

This is sickening we are paying so much money FROM R470 to R515! You take my favorite channel away this is not called for Dstv Glowtv was a channel not just watched by Indians but by blacks coloreds and whites! You just do as you please with your customers! Ebella sucks, zee world is the worst channel which should of be removed not glowtv. I hope you know thousands of people are flocking to OVHD due to this and I am following suit. Come month end I am unsubscribing to your service. 😡 angry customer
MrsH Send email
 
Mar 27, 2018

LIVID AT THE TERRIBLE SERVICE

I am LIVID i have been experiencing the same issue over and over again with DSTV because of incompetent staff - every month the same thing and its just getting worse because of their stuff up with providing half infomation to me on a number of times my account is in arears of R4500 and this month after they apologised for debiting my account last month by mistake and changed it to a manual payment - IT HAPPENED AGAIN -

They dont bother contacting you or compensating you and actually make you feel that its your fault - i've posted on social media - sent emails, called in got calls back hello peter and STILL NO JOY...

ITS TERRIBLE - Especially for me as i am in the service provider industry so i would expect to be treated with the respect and courtesy i treat my clients BUT THAT is not the case.

DSTV Call centre agents and team leaders are USELESS
MariusWilliam Send email
 
Mar 20, 2018

Shocking Service

On Saturday the 10th of March 2018 my mom and dad went to the DSTV branch on 214 Swartlaan Avenue on Ontdekkers to arrange a debit order as they order the new price lock special for the new DSTV explora from head office. The advised my mom and dad they are offline but will send it through on Monday morning which will be on the 12th of March 2018.

After numerous calls between my mom and a lady from DSTV head office last week selling the special to my mom, still can’t process the application as the debit order wasn’t done as yet.



Today the 20th of March 2018 I phone the DSTV branch on Ontdekkers where my dad signed the letter, only to get told that they are still offline (please note after two weeks they are still offline). I spoke to the manager Jane to ask if we can’t email the form through to head office, she advised NO. She then transferred my call to Pauline to see if she will be able to assist, Pauline also told me no, my parents need to redo the paperwork in Randburg. Surely if you experience internal issues with your system it needs to be sorted out internally and not be expected from your clients, we are living in Krugersdorp, how should my parents get to Randburg. WE ARE SHOCKED WITH THE BAD SERVICE RE RECEIVED SO FAR ONLY TO GET A NEW EXPLORA! We are thinking of canceling the whole DSTV package.
MariusWilliam Send email
 
Mar 20, 2018

Shocking Service

On Saturday the 10th of March 2018 my mom and dad went to the DSTV branch on 214 Swartlaan Avenue on Ontdekkers to arrange a debit order as they order the new price lock special for the new DSTV explora from head office. The advised my mom and dad they are offline but will send it through on Monday morning which will be on the 12th of March 2018.

After numerous calls between my mom and a lady from DSTV head office last week selling the special to my mom, still can’t process the application as the debit order wasn’t done as yet.



Today the 20th of March 2018 I phone the DSTV branch on Ontdekkers where my dad signed the letter, only to get told that they are still offline (please note after two weeks they are still offline). I spoke to the manager Jane to ask if we can’t email the form through to head office, she advised NO. She then transferred my call to Pauline to see if she will be able to assist, Pauline also told me no, my parents need to redo the paperwork in Randburg. Surely if you experience internal issues with your system it needs to be sorted out internally and not be expected from your clients, we are living in Krugersdorp, how should my parents get to Randburg. WE ARE SHOCKED WITH THE BAD SERVICE RE RECEIVED SO FAR ONLY TO GET A NEW EXPLORA! We are thinking of canceling the whole DSTV package.
Sumaiya Send email
 
Mar 9, 2018

Dstv billing

Ive beening experiencing problems with my Decoder billing , I received calls everyday from agents to upgrade to price lock , finally i did but they made so many mistakes firstly : they delivered the decoders after 2 months .When we finally receive them they send in an extra one. Ive been calling in to report the errors that ive been received i was being billed double because of the extra decoder, my viewing keeps getting cut of everyday ..

When i call to report this they keep telling me they will send someone to come and collect it , but they never came since last year . I am so angry ,because now my mums viewing had been disconnected i call in to explain the situation they keep telling me i an owe . It looks really bad because now it looks like i dont pay my bills when i do ...
I want this problem fixed ASAP i'm am sick and tired of having to call everyday about one issues all the time , then consultants pretend to assist me . Come and collect your damn decoder , if this matter does get sloved i will return all your decoders , and want nothing to do with you again . This is really unfair . The worst part is that when i call i get placed on hold for so long my airtime runs out and no one even bothers to call me back .
Please get back to me on this Number 0717982971


I still haven't been assisted even after i sent and email,explaining my issues. I'm still sitting with an error in my screen like i dont pay my bills, what do i have to do to get assiatance . Im really frustrated right at this disgusting serivce.
Its been 3 days on tv .
Camillah Muhammad Send email
 
Mar 8, 2018

Poor service

DSTV keeps disconnecting my service even after I pay the fee they claim I owe for the months service. The payment includes re connection fee and not long after its put off again, I then pay and its off again not long after, which means I pay twice or even thrice for the month, after spending a lot of money on airtime to make inquiries they cant give 1 amount to pay, they don't even know if I'm Mr or Mrs, so who's account I'm I paying.
Feemo Send email
 
Feb 28, 2018

Price lock experience

Ive had a price lock experience for 2 years for R899pm with an extra-view setup and came to an end upon expiration.The consultant called asking if i would like a new price lock experience or continue with the old package with the monthly rates.

I opted for the new price lock experience costing R959pm for the next two years, They have delivered the new decoder in the month of December 27th to be specific. Debit order dates are the 1st of each month. Come January a pro-rata debit order has been charged for the new decoder and the old one simultaneously of which is correct.

The decoder was installed in the month of January with the new price lock of R959 and the old one came to an end, but surprisingly the 1st of February a debit order of R1646,46 has been debited as opposed to R959 . I called in to query this and they have told me that i have an outstanding balance on my previous price lock account and was due so charged me on that.

I explained hows that possible if i have been up to date with all payments and that when the new decoder installed with extra view and each month debit orders have been made and when the new decoder was installed i called in post the installer calling to notify of the installation and to activate the new decoder with the extra view and to cease the old price lock .

To date i have called and spoken to a number of consultants to query as to the overcharge on my account and to credit my account and going forward one account is active.

The old account has been closed and just one account is on file but the credit that i have due to the overcharge has not been addressed, journals have been raised and finance rejected due to insufficient evidence WHAT SHOULD THE EVIDENCE OR SUPPORT BE ?????

So DSTV i humbly ask to sort out your systems an refund my money and to all of those customers that had the same issue

Faheem Mayet
Customer account number : 4660310
076 809 5158
Morne Send email
 
Feb 20, 2018

Bad service

To start with, DSTV if you are training your employees to be RUDE and SARCASTIC well then you are doing a great job. I went this morning to HENBERG Vaalpark with my faulty decoder, only to arrive there and be assisted by a very rude and sarcastic lady. She took my decoder and plugged it in only to reveal that once again my power supply is faulty for the third time in 10 months. Each time I have to take off from work and travel to HENBERG to find out my power supply is faulty and each time I have to buy a new power supply as they refuse to test nor exchange the faulty decoder even though I am paying for insurance on two decoders. Each time it is costing me R550,00: R180.00 for a new power supply + Travel Cost + one hour off from work each time, I could have actually bought a DSTV Explorer with all the money I have already lost however DSTV Dont give a Damn about their Customers. They will rather protect a Rude and Sarcastic person than to assist their customers. Is it fair towards me as a customer to loose R550.00 each and every five months. Why don't they test the decoder and fix it, why do we pay insurance each and every month for NO service. Is there any person decent enough to help and assist me, or will this complaint also just be in vain.
Mphozam Send email
 
Feb 5, 2018

Poor service and communication

My name is given i m very angry and confused, I made an agreement with dstv explora contract so apparently I was suspended at work BT I make an arrangement with them to pay, yes I did so to pay 600 every month BT the switched off they told with other account while I have 1 account, I explain to them and I ask them to call me they didn't even bother to call, and they don't send me a SMS or notifications they treat me very very badly
CAdams Send email
 
Dec 9, 2017

Connectivity

Dstv's system of communication and payment request is terrible .I checked my account from the 2nd of Dec to date and even today my app said payment is due the 24th of Dec . This is a huge inconvenience and terrible service as your app states I should have received a mail ststing payment is due. Yourll have no regard for loyal client that pay on a regular basis. Now I have to settle to view till the 25th .

Connectivity

PeterC Send email
 
Nov 27, 2017

Accounts & billing

This company has gone from bad to worse. I refuse debit orders not only for Dstv but in principle. If a supplier cannot send you an invoice for their services for you to pay then they do not deserve your business. I have NEVER received a statement, by mail or email, I used to get SMS and decoder message reminders when our payment renewal was due, but that has stopped, and clearly all the poor call center agents are told is to get customers to sign debit orders. This 24 month price lock is also an attempt to lock you into their crap service knowing that Netflix and other platforms are taking over their market. Here's an idea DSTv why not compete by improving your service or are you all to dumb to do that???
So if you think cutting me off worries me boy are you wrong. I've got Netflix and now I will look into other alternatives and only turn on Dstv when it suits me (sport).
Good luck with your crap service I look forward to the day we have real competition in this market.
mogalei Send email
 
Nov 23, 2017

Fraudulent smartcard activation on my account

I received a notification that a smartcard number A100537730 was activated on my account on 13 November 2017. I logged a complaint about this on 16 November 2017. I was notified that this matter would be escalated and resolved and someone would call me. on 21 November I called again and spoke to a consultant by the name of Zandile who said she had escalated my grievance to a Xolani Mzolo and gave me reference number 72489410-I144, I still have not received any feedback from anybody at Multichoice contact centre. I called again today and spoke to another consultant who advised me that the matter had not been escalated.

I have sat on the phone on numerous occasions now trying to resolve a rather serious matter and i am not getting any service from DSTV except empty promises that somebody will contact me. If this matter is not resolved and a debit order does go through on my account heads will roll. This is fraud because I did not even receive this decoder and advised the consultant that I am relocating and therefore they needn't proceed until I advise. I would like to know that if I did not receive the decoder or activate it, then who received this decoder and activated it. Your urgent advices on the resolution of this matter are much anticipated.
Heleen Wartington Send email
 
Nov 21, 2017

Closed contract

I've been struggling for months to get Dstv MultiChoice to close a contract. I applied for the advertised price lock contract with free installation. Instead I was given the wrong contract and a decoder was delivered at my home. I asked them to cancell everything and fetch the decoder. My biggest concern is that it is negatively affecting my credit score. According to my credit record I now have two conracts with dstv, which I don't have. I have an excisting explora contract with Dstv for R 874 pm and the price lock would have replaced it. Please advise. I only need a letter from Dstv that the contract is terminated. It need to be removed from the credit bureau. I want them to take action and stop harassing me with smses.
Renier Oosthuizen Send email
 
Nov 11, 2017

Lack of service

Today , 11/11/2017, Multichoice or Dstv has suspended my services for the 7t time in 24 days, because according to them my account is in areas..... . The problem is I had dstv for very long, I subscribe 2 years ago to their price lock plan. It has run out last month and I went back on the normal plan, now some idiot their keeps crediting my normal account and put the money in the price lock account. I have phoned in, message them, email them, I have proof that they say I am not behind as I have a debit order, in fact they owe me money..... nobody seems so close my price lock account, my dstv keeps being suspended, I do not get the service that I am paying for..... that is a breach of contract from them....... every time I have to phone to get it connected that cost me money.....I do not need a apologies I need action.
Dion Holtzhausen Send email
 
Oct 31, 2017

e 32 error

Since I have asked to switch off my access part of my PVR I keep on having an e 32 error every 10 minutes. Sorry but this not acceptable at all. Do you want me as a client? Please answer me back.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Hallmark channel - Hallmark Christmas shows almost all year
    I pay extra money to see murder she wrote mattock &...
    POS MALAYSIA - no tracking number, no information about my parcel at all
    Hello. Pos laju please update my parcel. It was sent at...
    Audi Company - verdadero o falso?
    me llego un correo de que gane un audi Q7 2018 modelo. y $...
    Parcel hub shah alam - Item stuck at Parcel Hub
    Parcel saya stuck dari 12.7.18 hingga harini 16.7.18 di...
    Circle K - Store ows me gas
    I went to get gas at location # 3220 in Cecilia Ky this...
    KFC Malaysia - pekerja kurang ajar
    this happen in kfc indera mahkota 8 kuantan yesterday. the...
    nto solutions reward - solutions VIP Plus
    I noticed this charge appearing on my credit card...
    MICROSOFT *OFFICE 36 MSBILL.INFO AU - Unauthorised transaction of money
    Unauthorised transaction through Microsoft office 36ms...
    POS LAJU - ER321836857MY
    Hi, Kindly expedite to deliver parcel ER321836857MY...
    A loyal Frasier watcher - Christmas moves replacing frasier
    I love to watch The Golden Girls and Frasier at the end of...

    Share this site with others

         
          

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Hallmark channel - Hallmark Christmas shows almost all year
    I pay extra money to see murder she wrote mattock &...
    POS MALAYSIA - no tracking number, no information about my parcel at all
    Hello. Pos laju please update my parcel. It was sent at...
    Audi Company - verdadero o falso?
    me llego un correo de que gane un audi Q7 2018 modelo. y $...
    Parcel hub shah alam - Item stuck at Parcel Hub
    Parcel saya stuck dari 12.7.18 hingga harini 16.7.18 di...
    Circle K - Store ows me gas
    I went to get gas at location # 3220 in Cecilia Ky this...
    KFC Malaysia - pekerja kurang ajar
    this happen in kfc indera mahkota 8 kuantan yesterday. the...
    nto solutions reward - solutions VIP Plus
    I noticed this charge appearing on my credit card...
    MICROSOFT *OFFICE 36 MSBILL.INFO AU - Unauthorised transaction of money
    Unauthorised transaction through Microsoft office 36ms...
    POS LAJU - ER321836857MY
    Hi, Kindly expedite to deliver parcel ER321836857MY...
    A loyal Frasier watcher - Christmas moves replacing frasier
    I love to watch The Golden Girls and Frasier at the end of...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username