Submit a Complaint

DSTV

South Africa

Consumer complaints and reviews about DSTV

[email protected] Send email
 
Dec 11, 2019

DISCONNECTED

I have an account with multichoice which was on debit order for the 22nd of every month, so last month on the 22nd I did not receive a notification from my bank that the money was debited then on the 25th I gave them a call to debit the money and I was told the money is appearing on their side so I should worry and I was not disconnected, then 3 or 4 days later I was disconnected when I call them now I was told that I did not pay and I asked them to check their notes and comments then they recognised that it was their fault so I was connected again on the 28th and on that very date I paid R145.00. THEN again 3 days later I was disconnected I called in again then I was connected. Now Sunday the 7th I was disconnected again, I call in again then they told I have to pay R205.00 to be connected again and I told them my monthly package is R125.00 why am I supposed to pay R205.00 then the manager buy the name Handsome told me that I was charged like that by their billing department, then he is logging a query for me with that department and I will be called in the next 24 hours, I waited 24 hours passed I call them again I was told they will call me back in 72 hours nobody ever called me. I cant watch TV since Sunday till today can somebody help me please.
my number is 071 028 6562
Rynodeb Send email
 
Dec 7, 2019

Billing

Hi we took the Premium package..
1st month there was an error on installation..
2nd month you debited over and above..
3rd month same thing..
Now heading to to next billing again its R1330 instead of R956 like agreed so it goes without saying i am not happy with price lock package as they debit alot more than agreed and over and above package price if this problem does not get resolved i will be cancelling this service
lawrence44 Send email
 
Dec 5, 2019

Account Information

well done Dstv, welcome to the world of BAD service, fast becoming a government parastatal. I called Dstv for information on my Dstv account. The operator which I could not hear her name properly asked me if she could put me on hold which I agreed. From 10:24am to 10:49am I was still waiting for the operator to return to the call which she did not do. I have patience but this was beyond patience. I hung up.

If I had a choice I would cancel my subscription with Dstv.

You guys suck
Davidjihaan Send email
 
Nov 24, 2019

Incorrect billing and disconnect

54877954.... Call me back, sort out my problem, why aren't you assisting me...
Neluembeni Mulalo Mia Thompho Send email
 
Nov 22, 2019

POOR SERVICE BY CONSULTANT

I am very disappointed on the service I got from your consultant on 28/10/2019 @02h44s42. I phoned DSTV to change the debit date due to change of employment.

The consultant ensured me that the system has been amended and i was shocked to get a message on 20/11/2019 that my dstv has been stopped. I had to phone dstv on the same day and the consultant i spoke to alluded that he will escalate the matter and i should accept their call before end of business. They never phoned, i phoned again on 21/11/2019 and spoke to a consultant who knows her job and she explained everything into detail. An explanation or procedure which i got from Ngiphiwe Xulu was sufficient enough for me to understand why i got cut off.

It is so unfair that i had to pay the connection fee because of your consultant Sibahle Mancewu who failed to outline the procedure to be done since i am moving the date to the 25th.

I am hoping that this matter will not be left unattended as i am also expecting a feedback on how it was handled. Sibahle Mancewu was supposed to incur the connection fee not me. How would i have known that there is a pro-rata i was supposed to pay if Ngiphiwe Xulu never expalined to me.

I would like to applaud Ngiphiwe Xulu for her professionalism and understanding her role in serving clients.
NoniNkosi Send email
 
Nov 16, 2019

Connection

Good name my name is Nonhlanhla nkosi tel no. 0761712367. My partners name is mondli Buthelezi. Smartcard no 1027508833. We have a problem wth dstv they keep disconnecting there service but we up-to-date with our payment. We spending airtym now every 4 days trying to solve the problem but we failing. We spoke to several managers and consulted but no luck. Our money is waisted. Please assist us
Igzz Send email
 
Nov 6, 2019

Debit order refund

Good day

My Name is Igsaam Zass.. Dstv ran a debit order on my account for an amount of R1063.06. After my account has been deactivated for months. Now it's nearly two months trying to get my debit order to be reversed. I am spending hundreds of rands on airtime with a call center that give me story up on story.

Ref no: 87160972/I 70

Can this please be sorted out.

Regards
Igsaam
060 500 3018
Igzz Send email
 
Nov 6, 2019

Refund

Good day

My Name is Igsaam Zass.. Dstv ran a debit order on my account for an amount of R1063.06. After my account has been deactivated for months. Now it's nearly two months trying to get my debit order to be reversed. I am spending hundreds of rands on airtime with a call center that give me story up on story.

Ref no: 87160972/I 70

Can this please be sorted out.

Regards
Igsaam
060 500 3018
Mapokiza Send email
 
Oct 31, 2019

Terrible service

I am unhappy with the way I'm being treated by Multichoice, for the third time this year my services are disconnected for something they always apologize for. I have 2 decoders and 1 of those I'm not using,so I took R99 subscription for Dstv Access in 2018 however I'm being told now that it went up to R105 since April 2019 .I've been paying R99 without any communication being sent to me or services disconnected but all of a sudden my services are disconnected this month saying I owe them reconnection and subscription for the decoder I've never activated. What frustrates me the most is the fact that I spent my airtime and time calling them but they have different answers

Terrible service

Johanrey2 Send email
 
Oct 30, 2019

Poor Customer service

See my e-mails to Multi Choice (DSTV) I asked two questions no answer just cut off:

From: Johan Reynecke Transnet Engineering GRM
Sent: 30 October 2019 11:36 AM
To: 'Dstvhelp' <[email protected]>; '[email protected]' <[email protected]>
Subject: RE: [EXTERNAL] CUSTOMER NUMBER:4146514

Hallo Getty

You totally misunderstand me I said after the Rugby world cup ( the world cup did not end yet ) I am going to cancel.

I did not yet ask you to cancelled it.

So you know what to do now (these is the type of things why want to cancel people don’t understand what the Client want).

This terrible please read the e-mail again and tell me if you see a date.

J.J.C Reynecke

From: Dstvhelp [mailto:[email protected]]
Sent: 30 October 2019 10:22 AM
To: Johan Reynecke Transnet Engineering GRM <[email protected]>
Subject: Re: [EXTERNAL] CUSTOMER NUMBER:4146514

ENQUIRY REFERENCE NUMBER : 2633098
Good day

Thant you for your e-mail

We will regret losing you as our customer.

Kindly note that service are already disconnected.

Should you need any assistance, please contact us anytime.

Kind regards,
Getty Dhlamini
On Tue, 29 Oct at 6:49 AM , Johan Reynecke Transnet Engineering GRM <[email protected]> wrote:
Good day

Since Sunday I am receiving a message for my decoder to the signal is weak and it comes and go.

What could be the problem. Herewith the details of my decoder:

PS Number Decoder Number Decoder Model and Description
23456612 TDS850 P300121736

Also advise me how the cancel my subscription with you after the Rugby world cup I want to cancel.

The reason for that is because I cant chose the channels that I want to wacth and I don’t want to pay for something I am not watching.

Regards

J.J.C Reynecke
Sadiya Send email
 
Oct 30, 2019

Incorrect Debit order. Failure to deliver

I requested that the unused Xtra view be disconnected and have another one activated the agent that assisted had disconnected the incorrect one even though serial numbers and decoder details where provided on the 24/09/2019. I immediately notified her and was advised that the problem was not her doing and that I am now responsible to pay for an installer to fix the problem. I then took all 3 of my decoders to the Randburg branch where they proceeded to check the decoders. the DSTV app shows that the decoder is active but we are still experiencing no connectivity. Fast forward 6 weeks late are still experiencing the same problem we have called DSTV and are told to get an installer. we then decided to swop the inactive decoder that was initially asked to be removed and connected that one as the one that suppose to be active is still not active, to our surprise the inactive decoder works. this morning 30/10/2019 I called in (reference number for call - 23424977) to have them assist again the agent had then went and activated an entire new package resulting in the account being debited with R500.00. I asked for a refund as this is not what I asked for and only received the amount of R369 back and my entire dstv not working.
Craigzwe Send email
 
Oct 29, 2019

Price Lock Fraud

I entered into a Price Lock agreement in 2018 for R750 per month. This was not honored by them and they continued to bill me R809 until I complained in 2019. I have not received the refund.
DSTV are now billing me in excess of R900 yet I'm still in price lock agreement for R750.
I requested a settlement so I can cancel my service, but have not received feedback.
Herewith references.
2392120, 2633400, 2465827, 2465445, 2465018, 2413307, 2401923.2392487.
This excludes phone calls, dstv community reporting and hello Peter reporting.
Monique94 Send email
 
Oct 21, 2019

Unfair disconnection

Hi,
I have had the DSTV Compact subscription for 3/4 years.

In August i agreed to the pricelock for an explora, when it was deleivered i found out R900 would be debited from my account which i couldnt afford, immediately cancelled it and it was sent back.

thereafter i was told i am no longer on debit order but cash payment.

Occtober payment was made on the 1st then my account was debited for almost R600 after they told me i was a cash customer.
Reversed the payment with the bank as they were unable to assist.

few days later they disconnected me, phoned and i was reconnected, few days later disconnected again and told there is an outstanding amount due now so they can not reconnect me. Phoned again and someone reconnected me. few days later disconnected again, same story, I have spent so much money on phoning them to reconnect me, each time same story that they will log a dispute.

If they can not assist on the phone they cut you off.
Absolutely disgusting to think i am paying for a service not working and no one can assist.
Tshego Desery Send email
 
Oct 8, 2019

Poor service

Dstv keeps on saying that the amount of money I paid was reversed I don't know to who as it never reflects into my account. I paid 508 for both my two decoders. But now m being told I must pay another amount.. How inconvenient is this.. Very poor service ever. Please reconnect my access decoder. Id number 9311050495086
Tshego Desery Send email
 
Oct 8, 2019

Poor service 😠😠😠

Dstv keeps on saying the amount I paid was reversed.. I don't know to who as my transaction does not show any amount in. I paid 508 which is for my two decoder.. They switched the access one off telling me to pay another amount. Like this is really disturbing. How poor is your service. Please sort this out as I sent proof of payment. My ID is 9311050495086
E Goodwin Send email
 
Oct 4, 2019

Over charging

Good day, I have the premier bundle with a price lock and a fixed monthly amount. I have been a subscriber for over 20 yrs and this month DSTV deducted 3 times my normal subscription from my debit order. A total of 2627.00 was deducted where its only R974.00 including my extra view.

Upon visiting my local DSTV office in town, I was told that its a systems error and that they cannot refund me directly, and that I must wait and see what happens end of this month.

That's absolute bullshit, and unacceptable from such a corporate business.

Can we please have answers as previously colleges of mine had the same happen to them.

E Goodwin
DSTV subscriber
sim card no.: 10197064826
Hobbi1979 Send email
 
Sep 17, 2019

Extra view not working

For two weeks my extra view is not working after numerous calls I still haven't received any assistance.My screen keep on saying not part but of my package but the main decoder is working properly now I know why people unsubscribe I think I'll be next
Hobbi1979 Send email
 
Sep 17, 2019

Not getting my money's worth

It has been two weeks i'm phoning DStv to fix my problem my extra view jus started showing from channel 110 but I have the full boquet after that it jus switched off showing its not part of my package after numerous calls still nothing but end of the month they expect full payment for half service
nrolinyathii Send email
 
Aug 8, 2019

Disconnected without a reason

I'm very dissatisfied by Dstv staff as whole from junior to senior staff, I paid 400 on the 28th, 7 days later disconnected, I called and send from pillar to post without any success, they mention that the was R128, that reconciled in May, this is was never mention to me before, now I'm disconnected yet I paid. They I must pay R299 to get my service back. This has never happened before, I'm disgusted, furious, frustrated....................i don't have mine full of money to waste on your incompetence, I want my dish connected ASP, I'm gonna take this with my lawyers if I'm not connected immediately, South Africa need to have good competitor as possible, this is a daylight robbery that is done by this service provider.
ATmartins Send email
 
Aug 7, 2019

Terrible service

I have the worst experience. I made arrangements the end of last month for the 15th and wasn't done and now my dstv is disconnected and no one is prepared to help until I have made a payment and I emailed and got a reference which said 8 working hours of which it wasn't and the day I phoned I was told I can't be transferred to the correct department but the lady I spoke to took my banking details and will escalate from her side so come today no dstv and after years of always paying on time and now with a debit order this happens and every time you get asked do you want a debit order. Customer nr ********** 5. The I get a reply of : We're saddened that you feel this way about our service. Sadly we do not have a payment arrangement facility for normal Residential accounts, as such, we're unable to help in this regard. I replied : So because your call centre stuffed up I have to pay reconnection fees and make a plan to pay today and the 15th now wonder you guys are losing clients your service is the worse because you trust someone will keep to their word and escalate for you because she can't transfer your to the department but just once proven again you can't trust anyone and I can't sit on the phone the whole day to sort out nonsense as I work long hours in a call centre and plus my husband spent R120 holding on with a agent and not getting help so what now. PATHETIC ???? And once again they said : We really cannot apologize enough for the frustration. Which department were you looking for? & Unfortunately, our services are Prepaid Anel. But you don't get it I made arrangements for a damn debit order that wasn't done and I took the ladies word for it she would escalate it for me since she can't transfer me since when can't you not be transferred to a dept. You guys service is the worst ever because since yesterday I have not been able to sort this out but no effort what so ever from dstv from one person to the next that is all that happens
AM
Anel M:
07 Aug 2019, 07:14
It is now the *th and no one had even made an attempt to contact me. I paid on Friday and it was reconnected and this morning disconnected and this after I had to make a plan to pay because I did not have the money to do so. This after an agent called me a liar that I phoned on the **th of June to set up a debit order and we spent R*** in airtime on Friday the **/** to get this sorted out with no success, I am so annoyed with this whole issue all you get with response on social media is we are sorry you feel this way, is this the way to treat your clients????? I work in a call center myself and behavior like this would not be tolerated no wonder your company is losing money. You don't even get offered some sort of gesture from your side, the answer is just no we can't help you we are not a pre-paid service and the answers you get is actually very rude, not how may I assist you, is there anything I can do for you to make the situation better, just no help from your side and the after informing the agents they can't contact me because of me working in a call center they will still tell me they can't get hold of me so never mind that they don't have listening s****s they don't have reading s****s neither because since last week Friday I have asked please phone my husband he is on the account but no why would they. You must be the first company that can't transfer a person to add a debit order, because to come back to my whole issue if my debit order was loaded like I have asked my services would not have been disconnected but you are not even taking ownership of this problem, your agent made me a liar to say I didn't phone and if I was not on pre-paid I would have sent you my itemized billing. I know this is just a waste of time because nothing will get resolved I will just have to pay reconnection fees because I am the client and I am always wrong and your agents are the best and your service excellent.
Monique88 Send email
 
Aug 2, 2019

Incorrect billing

I'm still waiting for your response ,no was has contacted me .

I received this sms tonight - ( DStv Alert! You won't be able to watch DStv from tomorrow as we've not received payment. Please pay today https://payat.io/dstv/. If paid, please ignore.)

I want this sorted ASAP , otherwise I will be going to the ombudman , this is really unprofessional , no one can assist me ,I phoned on Monday was told this will be sorted out and someone will get back to me , and apologized for the error and I owe nothing on my account .

I phoned again today 01/08/19 due to an sms that was received and my DSTV will be switched off for overdue monies, again someone will phone me , I sent an email states within 8 hours someone will phone me , no one is phoning .

Now I received again the sms that my DSTV will be switched off tomorrow and once again who is making contact, I'm doing all the phoning and e-mailing , this is so unprofessional , customer service my ass.

Once again I contacted DSTV 02/08/19 , holding for 20mins on to be told I must phone back cause there system is Frozen REALLY !!!! , I phoned them back again to be told I do have a credit but I owe them for a discount reversal that was done for March , WHAT DISCOUNT !!!! , plus we in August 2019 .

DSTV is fast to TAKE our money and switch off , but they cannot assist with anything .

So many people are complaining regarding this same issues .

Contact me 084 471 4066
Customer Number 90013902
Munnik Send email
 
Jul 26, 2019

Bad service delivery

1st, I don't know if complains here, are attended to by dstv, but after this, I'm copy past it to hello Peter and the ombudsman
Last year I went on easy view dstv, due to bad service delivery and repeating of movies over and over. I paid R29 only, this was fine, this month they opened Access Channel and I got interested into certain channels, R105, still fine. So Monday 22 July 2019 I phoned call Centre, really my blood pressure was high after the call Centre male assisted me, numerous times I asked over and over what amount they will be deduct for last 9days of month, it was difficult, no wonder dstv is going down. I asked him when debit order will go through, he said 24 hours, until today, Friday 26 July 2019 no debit order and I wake up with a sms for disconnecting due to no payment, again I phone from my cell, informed that I had to pay, I informed the lady that I want tel conversation to be drawn, maybe it don't exist, but they say recording, now I have to wait until they escalate the complain, again, I got into certain channels now, but I think I'll give difference from R29 and R105 to airtime for Netflix, I didn't have problems

No wonder dstv is dying, just invite me to the funeral, so I can clap hands and dance, they disurve it
Matumiso Send email
 
Jul 9, 2019

terminated services

I have paid multichoice and they switched off my services after payment. I was told to pay R147 of which I did and suddenly my services were switched off.

terminated services

Clint Lippert Send email
 
Jun 5, 2019

SERVICE

On the 29th of May, i visited the Multichoice branch in Newton Park, PE. The reason for my visit was to find out if i would be able to trade in my HD Decoder for one that's compatible with 3 view.

ANELE MANCIYA assisted me, and asked me if i had insurance on my decoder. I toldhim that i did not. He then continued to check his computer and asked his colleague or manager to come and check. After a few minutes he confirmed that they would not be able to do a trade on the Explora 3, but instead offered me the Explora 2. The only catch was that they did not have any stock at the time, and that stock would only arrive the following week. I was happy with that seeing i would be able to trade my old decoder for a new one that would be compatible with my setup at home. ANELE then took down my details and said that he would give me a call the minute there stock comes in. Leaving Multichoice as a very happy customer, spreading the news about the excellent service i have received.

After waiting for his call for a full week, i decided to go around to see if there stock has arrived yet. When i got there ANELE told me that there stock has not arrived yet, and that it would only be in the following week. I then made him aware of his promise to me, and then he changed his tune in a beat and advised me that he has one under his counter which was for another customer, but would in fact give that one to me. Once again, happy customer....

I then quickly rushed home to collect my decoder and returned to Multichoice. When i returned, ANELE then check his system again and then told me that they are unable to do a trade, and that i would have to purchase a new decoder. Needless to say i was not happy with this and asked to see the manager. SERGIO (not sure about surname as he did not want to disclose) then came and introduced himself as the manager. I was furious, and did not want to be told "Sorry, we made a mistake sir".

I felt that after ALL the up and down, and information fed to me by Multichoice, i should have been given the option to trade in my old decoder. This is the least they could have done for the balls-up from their side.

SERGIO was quite adamant that that was NOT an option. When asking to speak with his superior he told me that its not possible as well.

I would like to see how much DSTV actually appreciates its customers. The response i receive on this mail would definitely be a measure of that.

PS* I have also escalated this issue with the call center, and is waiting on a return call.

Kind Regards,
Mr. Clint Lippert
062 873 6122
Shezi Send email
 
May 22, 2019

FALSE PROMISES

I received an email from DSTV in February to say that if I paid my account on time for 3 months, I would get the 4th month free. On the 2nd April, the 3rd month, I was sent an email reminding me that I was only a few days away from a free months viewing. I duly paid my account on the 10th of April and was expecting May to be my free month. Instead my account has been suspended and depite numerous complaints, and having been reference numbers for each of my calls, and promises to call me back, nothing has happened. DSTV needs to put their money where their mouth is. I will be lodging a complaint with the Advertising Complaints Commission as well. On principle I am going to do everything in my power to see that they do not get away with this!

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Edcon - cellphone insurance
    Good Day, I would like to put in a complain regarding...
    Handphone - Parcel stuck
    My parcel stuck at KLIA HUD for 2 days...and this problem...
    ADT Security - Very delayed response to alarm activation
    My alarm went off at 8.25 this morning. I received a call...
    rhb bank malaysia - BERHENTI HANTAR SMS
    Mohon Pihak Tuan/Puan berhenti menghantar sms mengenai...
    Axis Bank - Money transfer problem
    I made a payment and its failed Axis Bank customer care...
    POSLAJU BALAKONG - Where is my parcel?
    Semua kat pos laju balakong ni dah mati ke?? Call dari...
    Multichoice/DSTV - Connection termination
    After switching to a Price Lock packageat the end of...
    Con Agra/Marie Callender's - Sharp plastic shard in food
    So the tv dinner i had, had a piece of plastic in it. I...
    Hallmark channel - Can't believe this
    I have been a subscriber to Hallmark channel and have...
    cyncb/ppc - past due balance
    I have tried to pay off this balance. I asked for my...

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Edcon - cellphone insurance
    Good Day, I would like to put in a complain regarding...
    Handphone - Parcel stuck
    My parcel stuck at KLIA HUD for 2 days...and this problem...
    ADT Security - Very delayed response to alarm activation
    My alarm went off at 8.25 this morning. I received a call...
    rhb bank malaysia - BERHENTI HANTAR SMS
    Mohon Pihak Tuan/Puan berhenti menghantar sms mengenai...
    Axis Bank - Money transfer problem
    I made a payment and its failed Axis Bank customer care...
    POSLAJU BALAKONG - Where is my parcel?
    Semua kat pos laju balakong ni dah mati ke?? Call dari...
    Multichoice/DSTV - Connection termination
    After switching to a Price Lock packageat the end of...
    Con Agra/Marie Callender's - Sharp plastic shard in food
    So the tv dinner i had, had a piece of plastic in it. I...
    Hallmark channel - Can't believe this
    I have been a subscriber to Hallmark channel and have...
    cyncb/ppc - past due balance
    I have tried to pay off this balance. I asked for my...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username