Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

DSTV

South Africa

Consumer complaints and reviews about DSTV

clinton 123 Send email
 
Oct 10, 2018

shit service

i just wanna say that your service is up to shit. you are only in it for the money. you sell the WALKA and then you just stop with the service. when i phone to find out whats happening they put the phone down WHILE IM STILL BUSY. People should boicot DSTV. You got to big for your boots and i hope someone else would get into the market to close your busness down.
Bennie05 Send email
 
Oct 4, 2018

Cannot get someone from price lock to call me back to finalise my account

After more than a week of spending over R400 on calls to customer services, they logged calls to price lock to phone me, but still no call. And I can not sort my dstv account out. They dont have direct numbers. I dare them to call me..... 0828423974
Brian Lobb Send email
 
Sep 16, 2018

Not able to view my Premium package on DStv

Good morning Sir/Madam,

I am very disappointed and highly frustrated by your DStv
Premium package.
I have been not able to watch DStv for the week of 10th September 2018 to 16th September 2018.
Numerous phone calls to DStv ‭(011) 289-2222‬ whom were unable to reset my Xplora decoder and after numerous phone calls at my expense over 110 minutes on 12th September 2018 and yet again on 14th September 2018.

I was unable to view my DStv even though the Johannesburg DStv Head offices tried assisting me with numerous software updates to my Xplora decoder.

I am very disappointed by the fact that I pay R1079.00. for the Premium package, yet the problem persisted and after numerous phone calls at my expense DStv were unable to resolve my xtraview problem... once I contacted an accredited DStv installer the fault wasn’t my LNB or primary decoder but the software update from DStv.

I require to be credited for the entire week of the 10th September 2018 to 16th September 2018 as the accredited DStv installer charged me R300.00. for the call out which wasn’t necessary yet the DStv operator suggested this...

Should I not get any feedback regarding this problem, then I will take legal action and go public to the media regarding my bad after sales service and assistance...

I await a email and phone call regarding my technical problem encountered by DStv.

Yours Sincerely

Brian Lobb
stilbaai Send email
 
Aug 19, 2018

Bad service

Ek skryf in Afr omdat ek my beter kan uitdink in my taal.

Met hierdie brief wil ek my frustasie uithaal.

Ek is seker julle klomp daar agter die skerms onderskat julle kykers se intellengensie.

Ons betaal en helse bedrag om DSTV te hê maar die gemors wat julle wys is n skande

Eerstens daardie goedkoop Chinese/Japenese gemors wat julle wys. Tweedens wie met n hoê IK kyk na die vertaalde gemors op kanaal 141 Eva. Onthou ons betaal vir daardie gemors.

Wil net sê ons het al 18 jaar DSTV.

Nou kom ons by die fliek kanale. Flieks wat so oud is ons het al deur en deur vir dit betaal. Nou moet ons na ou flieks kyk wat ons jare terug al betaal het voor maar na n paar jaar dan kom die ou goed alweer terug maar ons fooie gaan elke jaar net op en op.

Sat aand die 18/8/18 vanaf 20.00 tot 24.00

KANAAL 3 FLIEK AGTERMEKAAR SE JAAR VAN VRYSTELLING

104 2017 2017 2017
105 2017 2017 2017
106 2016 2016 2017
108 1994 1997 2003
111 1969 1990 2016
112 2000 2012 2015
134 2008 1984 2001
138 2003 2015 2007
139 2002 2001

Dit is op n Sat aand wat ons ons self reg maak vir n lekker aand voor die tv dan moet ons na die gemors kyk.

Pretty Woman ken ek al elke woord

So kan ek nog baie baie flieks noem.

Julle sal julle sokkies moet optrek of julle gaan baie kliente verloor.

Hier in ons dorpie Stilbaai praat baie al dat hulle wil oor skakel na NETFLIX.
Wel as dit so aan gaan sal ek ook maar dit moet oorweeg

Hoop regtig julle gee aandag aan die saak

Baie dankie

Linda Rademan
PSingh Send email
 
Aug 13, 2018

Incompetent staff

2 months ago I had taken dstv price lock package On compact. I was told that I will be pay R549pm which will go out as a debt order. However to continue the application process I needed to send through the supporting documentation which also included a bank statement with my name address and account number. Only 2 find out end of July 2018 that my dstv is cut and my account isn’t paid due to an incompetent staff member who captured my banking details incorrectly. Every 5days I need to contact dstv explaining to that what has happened and to have them reconnect me. I will not be held accountable for their wrong actions! They was supposed to ensure they captured all information correctly. I will not pay anything nor will I pay reconnection fee. My credit score is currently being affected by this incompetent bull shit. If this is going to continue I will cancel my subscription due to the utter bullshit.
PSingh Send email
 
Aug 13, 2018

Incompetent employees

2 months ago I had taken dstv price lock package On compact. I was told that I will be pay R549pm which will go out as a debt order. However to continue the application process I needed to send through the supporting documentation which also included a bank statement with my name address and account number. Only 2 find out end of July 2018 that my dstv is cut and my account isn’t paid due to an incompetent staff member who captured my banking details incorrectly. Every 5days I need to contact dstv explaining to that what has happened and to have them reconnect me. I will not be held accountable for their wrong actions! They was supposed to ensure they captured all information correctly. I will not pay anything nor will I pay reconnection fee. My credit score is currently being affected by this incompetent bull shit. If this is going to continue I will cancel my subscription due to the utter bullshit.
Shehaam Nicholas Rossier Send email
 
Aug 13, 2018

DPP department

I've been having trouble with my account for a while now I keep phoning with Dstv customer care then they say they will Escalat to the DPP department and someone will contact me. Its been three weeks now and I'm still waiting. This isn't the first time I have to wait so long. Why can't we just have a number or email so we can contact them our self
kinderjoy Send email
 
Aug 10, 2018

Service

In July I bought a Dstv decoder. When I plugged it in my old dish which was previously working it didn"t work. So I called the
multichoice service centre to help me with the settings. I was just told to get an installer to come and change the settings and I
asked who is going to pay the installer. And why are not advised at the shop before buying the HD S5 that you will need to have an installer install it for you so you can make a decision before buying it. Why is multchoice ripping us of our hard earned money?
I mean buyind a decoder for R399.00 and you still have to get an installer for for something R350.00, Isn't cheap to buy a new set
all together wich was going for R450.00 with installation included.
enrico damon Send email
 
Aug 7, 2018

7 little johnstons and little people big world

Why does 7 little johnstons and little people big world
Dont show anymore

Any answers on this
lelo Send email
 
Jul 24, 2018

Payment arrangement and service

DS stupid TV failed to collect my subscription in July and therefore suspended my service. I call in to query a number of times and was advised that finance would contact me for a payment arrangement. Days later i call in to follow up as no contact was made. Yet again received bad service from consultants and managers who dont have a clue what the company processes are if any. My outstanding balance was elevated then eventually correct. I was promised a call from the finance department and yes, once again no call. I receive an sms today of an arrangement i never agreed to but the sms says you agreed to............
I call the call centre and was told that i have no say, arrangement is made on my behalf. I ask to be reconnected as they have done previously and i am told that re connection will not be possible without immediate payment. So much inconstancy and bad service i have received from DSTV, i regret the day i took out a binding contract. Im am definitely taking this further
Charlene Vermeulen Send email
 
Jul 14, 2018

Account not debited

Good day

I have been trying to sort this out. I subscribed with the dstv price lock plan.debit order for 2 years as that is the only way you can subscribe. I used my savings account which I never use to draw funds I just deposit money in it for all my debits. For some reason dstv debit order didn't go off as one of my other debit their money the wrong date. For 10 months I didn't know. Dstv never put my account off after the first month when the debit order go off as they normally do.so I didn't know.so om the 11th month they put the dstv off. So I phoned to find out why as I have a debit order. Then they told me it has not gone off in 10months. I was shocked that I am left with a bill off more than R10 000.wich I can't pay once off. So I have been paying it off but by bit and my dstv has been off since.kta been now a very long time.i feel this is not fair as I want notified the first 2 months and the dstv wasn't put off.we love dstv and I feel this was not my fault as someone want doing their job.i should like to carry on watching but when I phone dstv they keep on saying the price lock department will phone me and they never do. So how must o get this sorted out as this is poor service delivery.
Nicole15 Send email
 
Jul 4, 2018

POOR SERVICE

Very disappointed with the service I am getting from DSTV. The satellite is badly corroded and I was advised to not put it up at my new place as it will fall off the wall. Installer advised he will not be able to secure the bolts due to bad corrosion. I now need to get a new satellite. I contacted DSTV call centre to disconnect/freeze My account until I can get the new satellite. Only for them to advise me they are not able to disconnect/freeze My service. They can only disconnect it only my payment date, which mean I paid my subscription for no reason last month as I am not able to watch. Should DSTV not have managers who are able to override the system in cases like this. Surely there should be a way th at they can disconnect the service at any time?
Nicole15 Send email
 
Jul 4, 2018

Complaint

Very disappointed with the service I am getting from DSTV. The satellite is badly corroded and I was advised to not put it up at my new place as it will fall off the wall. Installer advised he will not be able to secure the bolts due to bad corrosion. I now need to get a new satellite. I contacted DSTV call centre to disconnect/freeze My account until I can get the new satellite. Only for them to advise me they are not able to disconnect/freeze My service. They can only disconnect it only my payment date, which mean I paid my subscription for no reason last month as I am not able to watch. Should DSTV not have managers who are able to override the system in cases like this. Surely there should be a way th at they can disconnect the service at any time?
Jakes Send email
 
Jul 3, 2018

24 month price lock

I got the Explorer on a 24 month price lock in 2018-02 with the price of R844 x 24. Till up to date and many calls to DSTV and promises I'm still not paying the R844. They are wasting my time as I have to call them each month. Absolutely unacceptable.
Ann Marshall Send email
 
Jun 20, 2018

OVER PAYMENT OF ACCOUNTS

We have been overcharged on our DSTV account for 2 years (since 2016).
During 2016 I brought in my Duel View decoder to the Durban branch of Multi Choice for repairs which was never taken off there system. At the time I was advised the these units were no longer available and that I must take the updated decoder.
On the 26 May 2017 I brought in my decoder that I received in 2016 for repair and was helped by Brain Joyisa and Faruk Latiff. I received a new decoder.
In June of this year I checked my account after speaking to friends who were paying a lot less than me. I then phoned Multi Choice and spoke to a gentleman by the name of Majalefa to query my account, he asked me to come in to your Durban office where I was helped by Fumane Nalle to look into the account from investigations, it was established that I have been paying for two Decoders since 2016. In 2016 when I brought in my Duel Decoder with the smart card it was never taken off there system and hence I have been paying for a decoder which I don't have. I have follow up my query with Fumane Nalle on the 9 June but have not had any feedback. I was told by her that she would have to get he Supervisor to investigate my account.
I would wish to state that I have never had two Decoders and only have 1 unit which is Black in colour with Smart a Smart car.

My next letter was to Salome,
Thank your for your prompt reply. Please be advised that I am not happy with it being my responsibility to disconnect the service to my Duel view decoder. The activation is not controlled by me but by yourselves and I would have thought that having a non functional decoder would automatically have cancelled such use. As stated previously, at the time of the exchange I was given a new Decoder as the older Duel view was no longer available. I am sure that you have the facilities to check on the use of the Smart card no 4251937474 which will show non use. The person serving me at the time was fully aware that I had a non functioning decoder and , in my opinion, should have disconnected the service to this old Duel view Decoder on my receiving the newer Decoder.
I am not happy with the responsibility being placed on my shoulders to have the service disconnected. I see this as an error on the part of the person serving me and request that I be compensated accordingly.

We urgently need this matter resolved as DSTV have stated they will not be refunding us our over payment of approximately R20 000. This I feel is unacceptable and If unresolved I will take this to East Coast Radio and Social media to make the public aware of this unfair treatment.
Looking forward to an amicable solution to this problem.
Lucille De Lange Send email
 
Jun 6, 2018

Reconnections for Nothing!!!

I am very unhappy with the service we are getting from DSTV.

First DSTV failed to action the arranged debit order from the bank and blamed my fiance for their short coming.
Then they put our DSTV off for a month.
We then paid the installment and a re-connection penalty fee in order for us to have DSTV for June!
We were able to watch TV for only a few days and DSTV disconnected us again.
When my fiance called them to ask what is going on, they advised that we still owe them over R500 claiming that we are behind.
When asking to speak with a manager, they're conveniently never available ...

HOW ARE WE BEHIND IF WE WERE DISCONNECTED FOR A MONTH ?!?!?!?!
AND HAD TO PAY A RE-CONNECTION PENALTY ??

Please can some-one assist with resolving this ?!?!?!?

You can call my fiance Frederik Joubert 0729942134
MunMay Send email
 
May 2, 2018

un satisfactory services

I gave been phoning Dstv call centre since April 2018 regards my services and everytime they said they will get back to me via email, up until today 2/5/2018 i have not received a statement or an email on request from all the consultants i have spoken to. They disconnected my dstv stating i owe them more than R2000plus and when i asked for a statement they cannot produce and when i asked to be called back they tell me their phones cannot phone out and their system is slow, in April 2018 when i spike to numerous consultants they said my account us up to date and when asked if they can reconnect my catchup channel they had problems connecting me and will escalate this, sad to inform till now i am waiting, today i phoned dstv again and again i was told the same old story, cannot phone out, will get my team leader to phone you, our systems are very slow yes we can see your payment you made in april2018 but wee need to go further into your account.
Best yet i have asked in emails for them not to debit order me as i have closed the back account and yet they try to process this transaction of which i refuse to pay the bank the penalty nor dstv fir ignoring my request.
I want dstv to contact me or respond to my calls for help and plea for assistance.
0715517766
jaco schutte Send email
 
Apr 19, 2018

Subscription

i was called about registering my DSTV as a debit order. this person also told me that the amount for registering a debit order would be R749 and this was the only reason i accepted the offer, after asking him if he has my bank details he replied yes and it was with Capitec bank. i received a sms from DSTV stating that my debit order was rejected, the problem was that it was on a old Nedbank account! After phonong DSTV and asking about this, they said they have the wrong bank details. I then asked what the amount will be and was told R899? I then told them the story and when i received the call. I then told them to listen to the recordings of the call that was made, i even gave them the number that i was phoned from. I was told that they would phone me back which didn't happen for a week! I then phoned DSTV again and asked the speak to a superior which was Michelle. She said she would look into this and get back to me, another week has passed without a call! I then phoned again today and the amount on the automated voice was over a R1000??? This lady Lerato said she would send a mail to Michelle to phone me which i guarentee you won't happen!!@!

PLEASE HELP
ElsabeV Send email
 
Apr 5, 2018

Insurance

I have paid my insurance on my HD Duel view PVR for the last couple of years now and now the thing is busy packing up.
DSTV is saying that this model decoder is no longer being insured because its to old but the took the payment every month!
I had 2 decoders on my name but sold one back to DSTV and they are now saying the insurance I paid was for the model I sold them and not the one currently on my name. I can now not claim for a new decoder as the insurance was not for this model.
How does this work? I pay for a service and wen you need it then they say your money was good enough but we can not provide you with the service that you paid for, for the past couple of years. you should bay a new decoder!
Letittia Send email
 
Apr 4, 2018

Removal of Glow tv from DSTV

Dear Dstv it is with sadness that i have to express my total disappointment. Glow tv is the one useful chanel on the compact package that me and my family is excited to watch. We pay for your services for goodness sake. Also Dstv dont come cheap yet ur service is so poor that you keep repeating the same movie several times on diffrent channels. Also i fail to understand that we that pay have no access to Glow tv or any of our soapies like True love and Colors of love, yet the Open view hd customers that pay a once off have all plesure of Glow tv.. THIS IS NOT FAIR. Does this mean we should start cancelling subscriptions? Start moving over to Open view hd? I mean it is for free is it not? DSTV PLEASE FIX YOUR MESS.
Letittia Send email
 
Apr 4, 2018

Removal of Glow tv

Dear Dstv it is with sadness that i have to express my total disappointment. Glow tv is the one useful chanel on the compact package that me and my family is excited to watch. We pay for your services for goodness sake. Also Dstv dont come cheap yet ur service is so poor that you keep repeating the same movie several times on diffrent channels. Also i fail to understand that we that pay have no access to Glow tv or any of our soapies like True love and Colors of love, yet the Open view hd customers that pay a once off have all plesure of Glow tv.. THIS IS NOT FAIR. Does this mean we should start cancelling subscriptions? Start moving over to Open view hd? I mean it is for free is it not? DSTV PLEASE FIX YOUR MESS.
Michelle Megan Thomas Send email
 
Apr 4, 2018

Not renewing Glowtv's contract

This is sickening we are paying so much money FROM R470 to R515! You take my favorite channel away this is not called for Dstv Glowtv was a channel not just watched by Indians but by blacks coloreds and whites! You just do as you please with your customers! Ebella sucks, zee world is the worst channel which should of be removed not glowtv. I hope you know thousands of people are flocking to OVHD due to this and I am following suit. Come month end I am unsubscribing to your service. 😡 angry customer
MrsH Send email
 
Mar 27, 2018

LIVID AT THE TERRIBLE SERVICE

I am LIVID i have been experiencing the same issue over and over again with DSTV because of incompetent staff - every month the same thing and its just getting worse because of their stuff up with providing half infomation to me on a number of times my account is in arears of R4500 and this month after they apologised for debiting my account last month by mistake and changed it to a manual payment - IT HAPPENED AGAIN -

They dont bother contacting you or compensating you and actually make you feel that its your fault - i've posted on social media - sent emails, called in got calls back hello peter and STILL NO JOY...

ITS TERRIBLE - Especially for me as i am in the service provider industry so i would expect to be treated with the respect and courtesy i treat my clients BUT THAT is not the case.

DSTV Call centre agents and team leaders are USELESS
MariusWilliam Send email
 
Mar 20, 2018

Shocking Service

On Saturday the 10th of March 2018 my mom and dad went to the DSTV branch on 214 Swartlaan Avenue on Ontdekkers to arrange a debit order as they order the new price lock special for the new DSTV explora from head office. The advised my mom and dad they are offline but will send it through on Monday morning which will be on the 12th of March 2018.

After numerous calls between my mom and a lady from DSTV head office last week selling the special to my mom, still can’t process the application as the debit order wasn’t done as yet.



Today the 20th of March 2018 I phone the DSTV branch on Ontdekkers where my dad signed the letter, only to get told that they are still offline (please note after two weeks they are still offline). I spoke to the manager Jane to ask if we can’t email the form through to head office, she advised NO. She then transferred my call to Pauline to see if she will be able to assist, Pauline also told me no, my parents need to redo the paperwork in Randburg. Surely if you experience internal issues with your system it needs to be sorted out internally and not be expected from your clients, we are living in Krugersdorp, how should my parents get to Randburg. WE ARE SHOCKED WITH THE BAD SERVICE RE RECEIVED SO FAR ONLY TO GET A NEW EXPLORA! We are thinking of canceling the whole DSTV package.
MariusWilliam Send email
 
Mar 20, 2018

Shocking Service

On Saturday the 10th of March 2018 my mom and dad went to the DSTV branch on 214 Swartlaan Avenue on Ontdekkers to arrange a debit order as they order the new price lock special for the new DSTV explora from head office. The advised my mom and dad they are offline but will send it through on Monday morning which will be on the 12th of March 2018.

After numerous calls between my mom and a lady from DSTV head office last week selling the special to my mom, still can’t process the application as the debit order wasn’t done as yet.



Today the 20th of March 2018 I phone the DSTV branch on Ontdekkers where my dad signed the letter, only to get told that they are still offline (please note after two weeks they are still offline). I spoke to the manager Jane to ask if we can’t email the form through to head office, she advised NO. She then transferred my call to Pauline to see if she will be able to assist, Pauline also told me no, my parents need to redo the paperwork in Randburg. Surely if you experience internal issues with your system it needs to be sorted out internally and not be expected from your clients, we are living in Krugersdorp, how should my parents get to Randburg. WE ARE SHOCKED WITH THE BAD SERVICE RE RECEIVED SO FAR ONLY TO GET A NEW EXPLORA! We are thinking of canceling the whole DSTV package.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    TN-tnpaym.com - Stop takin money off my card my card ends with 6181 I want...
    Stop takin money off my card I want my money back ASAP my...
    Nestle Nescafe Instant Coffee - New Nescafe Gold Blend
    The new Gold Blend coffee is an abysmal disaster! You have...
    WageWorks - Suspended card
    Apparently since I paid a bill in January of 2018 and...
    TN-tnpaym.com - Cancel and refund
    Cancel what ever this is and refund my money back
    Gilt.com - Fake and used items on Gilt
    Beware! I purchased several items throughout, and was a...
    Reserve Bank of India [RBI] - pendding payment
    ture or false Dear Krishna Inbox x Reserve Bank Of...
    OYO - Poorest and life taking risk
    My self Rohit Kumar Singh booked a Holiday package from...
    Unknown - charges to my card
    2 months charges of 13.66 the last one has ref.#...
    DEPARTMENT OF LABOUR - late payment
    I signed for my last payment on the 8/10/2018 and up to...

    Recently Updated Complaints

    TN-tnpaym.com - Stop takin money off my card my card ends with 6181 I want...
    Stop takin money off my card I want my money back ASAP my...
    Nestle Nescafe Instant Coffee - New Nescafe Gold Blend
    The new Gold Blend coffee is an abysmal disaster! You have...
    WageWorks - Suspended card
    Apparently since I paid a bill in January of 2018 and...
    TN-tnpaym.com - Cancel and refund
    Cancel what ever this is and refund my money back
    Gilt.com - Fake and used items on Gilt
    Beware! I purchased several items throughout, and was a...
    Reserve Bank of India [RBI] - pendding payment
    ture or false Dear Krishna Inbox x Reserve Bank Of...
    OYO - Poorest and life taking risk
    My self Rohit Kumar Singh booked a Holiday package from...
    Unknown - charges to my card
    2 months charges of 13.66 the last one has ref.#...
    DEPARTMENT OF LABOUR - late payment
    I signed for my last payment on the 8/10/2018 and up to...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username