Submit a Complaint

Edgars

South Africa

Consumer complaints and reviews about Edgars

Lurato Send email
 
Jul 10, 2020

Airtime

Hi my name is lerato menyatsoe.I went to Edgar's to pay my account, last I was owing two hundred and something now when I get to the store they say I am owing 600.50, they said am getting airtime that I don't know, I requested the recording for the time I agreed to receive the airtime. Tebogo said to me I will get the recording within 48 hours even today I did not get it.
NEEBZ Send email
 
Jun 16, 2020

CELLPHONE INSURANCE DENIED TO DUE EDGARS

To whom this may concern,

My wife has logged a claim in November /December last year 2019 and to date No Feedback nor the return of the handset as I went to Edgar's personally to collect and the sales agents confirms Finrite never repaired nor returned the handset, they have shown and printed me the corresponding emails. This is unacceptable!!! I'm going to make a case of theft and claiming damages.


Account no. :6008 1501 4705 4706

Cell phone in question : Samsung J1 Ace White

Contact details : 0761134623
SYLVIA CARGOXXXX Send email
 
Jun 10, 2020

My brother David has been diagnose with ALS for a little more than a year.

My brother David has been diagnose with ALS for a little more than a year. He showed signs of it for close to three years and no Doctor was able to figure out what was wrong, until my sister whom he had been living with kept trying to bring him to each doctor ---- finally found a doctor who recognised almost immediately that he had ALS. He has been taking medication that was made available to him only through a medical grant funding from those who have donated to the continuing research for a possible cure. He has slowed down in the progression, but without side affects. My hopes and prayers are that, you can also contact the Doctor for possible cure if you have ALS or any relative suffering for same disease here is their email [email protected]
Nwaphale Send email
 
Jun 9, 2020

Online order not delivered

On the 29th of April 2020, I placed an online order with Edgars order number: 2000099688 and it still has not been delivered. I have attempted to contact the customer service to no avail. What is even more confusing is that I placed another order a week and a half ago, and it was delivered.
Annelise Martins Send email
 
Jun 8, 2020

Unfairly charged,unhelpful staff

It is with great irritation, frustration and sadness, that I am writing this review. I have written a review about Edgars and the incompetence of the staff previously but nothing has improved. In 2017 my Edgars account was settled via an insurance claim, I was then informed by the assistant in the branch that my account has been settled and will be closed. 2 years later after applying for a place to stay I was declined due to an outstanding balance on my Edgars account. I was not contacted in this regard. The company had my email address an frequently sent promotional emails but no effort was made to contact me in this regard. I then contacted the customer care in 2019 to enquire about this and to get a statement after 3/4 months of back and forth a statement was sent to me. To my disgust I was charged interest upon interest that make up the outstanding balance also since the day I contacted the customer care there was suddenly collection charges added after I initiated contact with Edgars it seems my account was handed over. Fast forward to 29 May 2020 I contacted the call centre again to try and get banking details just to pay the outstanding amount and I got no assistance. The 1st person I spoke to was rude and said she could not help me, gave me another number to call for RCS NHC, I called said number and the person I spoke to was also rude, put the phone aside and decided to have a conversation while I was on the line waiting when she finally returned said she does not work with handed over accounts and I had to call the call centre again, which I did. I then spoke to another agent who took down my details and said she would send me the balance and banking details for which I am still waiting to this day. All I want to do I to clear my credit profile as it is only Edgars that has an adverse effect on my record and it is bring my life to a standstill.
Annelise Martins Send email
 
Jun 8, 2020

Unfairly charged

It is with great irritation, frustration and sadness, that I am writing this review. I have written a review about Edgars and the incompetence of the staff previously but nothing has improved. In 2017 my Edgars account was settled via an insurance claim, I was then informed by the assistant in the branch that my account has been settled and will be closed. 2 years later after applying for a place to stay I was declined due to an outstanding balance on my Edgars account. I was not contacted in this regard. The company had my email address an frequently sent promotional emails but no effort was made to contact me in this regard. I then contacted the customer care in 2019 to enquire about this and to get a statement after 3/4 months of back and forth a statement was sent to me. To my disgust I was charged interest upon interest that make up the outstanding balance also since the day I contacted the customer care there was suddenly collection charges added after I initiated contact with Edgars it seems my account was handed over. Fast forward to 29 May 2020 I contacted the call centre again to try and get banking details just to pay the outstanding amount and I got no assistance. The 1st person I spoke to was rude and said she could not help me, gave me another number to call for RCS NHC, I called said number and the person I spoke to was also rude, put the phone aside and decided to have a conversation while I was on the line waiting when she finally returned said she does not work with handed over accounts and I had to call the call centre again, which I did. I then spoke to another agent who took down my details and said she would send me the balance and banking details for which I am still waiting to this day. All I want to do I to clear my credit profile as it is only Edgars that has an adverse effect on my record and it is bringing my life to a standstill.
Melantiful Send email
 
Jun 8, 2020

Undelivered Order

ORDER #2000104019
CELLPHONE :0670905135
ORDER STILL SAYS CONFIRMED
PLEASE ADVISE AS THIS IS EXACTLY 6 WEEKS LATER DON'T TELL ME TO DOUBLE CHECK ORDER NUMBER AS ITS WHAT YOU SENT ME
Nthabiseng01 Send email
 
May 26, 2020

fraud acc

I am going through the exact problem so many have mentioned over and over again,account opened in my name.How is it possible that accounts are easily opened in someone else name especially someone who has never had an account there. To make things worse is that you have to do the runaround. I have never misplaced my documents!When the account was opened in my name, I wasn't even in the country to make matters worse. This is affecting my credit scores. Edcon needs to sort their mess up!!!
Belinda Pretorius Send email
 
May 21, 2020

Purchase

Good day Edgars Team,
Trust my email finds you well and safe.
On the 21st of May 2020, my son had some errands to run at VaalMall Shopping Centre in Vanderbijlpark. The previous day I received a voucher for my birthday via email, Voucher Number: 3794352359. Seeing that Damian went to Edgars, I asked him to kindly pay my account and purchase a specific pair of shoes, pay cash for the shoes and use my voucher. Now, Damian has used my card on several occasions previously and all was ok. Damian phoned me and told me that the cashier would not allow him to make the purchase upon which I spoke to “Thabo”, presumably the floor manager. Thabo informed me that if I can send a picture of my ID via Whatsapp as well as confirm via Whatsapp that I give Damian permission to use my card, they could proceed with the sale. So I forwarded a picture of my ID, Driver License and a note on Whatsapp stating that I was giving Damian permission to make the purchase, but it was denied seeing that they wanted a signed letter. Ok so then I told Damian to simply pay my account and buy the shoes cash- which I also find rather contradictory – you can pay and not buy. Now, please note the transactions would have taken place in the following order: Damian would have paid my instalment of R510-00 first (an how did he know it was R510?). Then he would have purchases the sneakers cash – which was only for the amount of R379-00 and then would simply use my voucher for the sneakers. Which means I would have paid the difference of R205-00. Now, I am well aware of the fact that a number of rules are implemented and applied in order to protect a client, but does the whole situation come across as a fraudulent transaction by any means. NO !!! If Damian tried to purchase the shoes (which was actually very cheap) on my account and no instalment was paid I would have understand. The following evidence of us being related was apparent:
1. Damian Pretorius – I am Pretorius
2. The voucher was sent to MY email address – thus the only way he could have provided the voucher number is if he got it from me- and my I add that the voucher was a screenshot from the email I got.
3. Damian could present the staff with his ID and Driver’s licence upon which mine followed from the mobile number you have on your system.
4. He first paid my instalment, and then bought the shoes cash upon which he would have used the voucher – which by the way is a size four shoe, thus obviously not for himself.
5. After all of this, he was allowed to pay my account (which then is noted as a transaction) and he bought my shoes cash.
Now, as I stated, I do understand that measures should be taken due to fraud and all the other nasty things going on around us in this “beautiful” country of ours, but I think better judgement could have and should have been applied. There was ample evidence that this was not a fraudulent attempted transaction.
So now, the good news for Edgars is that I will not be utilizing the voucher seeing that Vaal Mall is quite a distance from where we stay – so I have saved you R175-00. I will also rather just settle my account and then give my final “wave good-bye” to Edgars. I have been a loyal customer for many years, but honestly cannot deal with a company who cannot even apply logic. I wanted to bring this to your attention seeing that we are all aware of the fact that Edgars is currently in a financial mess, yet will rather chase a longstanding client away for a mere R175-00. By the way, what comes to mind now, all my details are on the system, why did they not just simply give me a call on my cell phone to verify details. After all, when a client contacts your offices for information, security questions are asked and if verified is A ok. In any case, I just wanted to brought it to your attention and I sincerely hope this was viewed by a loyal employee who will communicate this to relevant senior staff of concern.
Sincere regards
RSWART Send email
 
May 21, 2020

Order outstanding

I've placed an order online its more than 2weeks ago, they took my money buy where os my parcel all I have is order number it cant take this long to send put an order. My order number is. 2000111840 I would like proper feedback wherebmy parcel is at an for how long more do i have to wait. This is clothing for my 5month old son im relying on this. So is so ### up service.
Dineo77 Send email
 
May 17, 2020

Unauthorized Airtime Subscribtion

Good day. I am an Edgars acc holder and need some assistance regarding my account. I recently went through my statement and found that there is a airtime and sms susbriction that i never giave any consent of, please advise as to how this was activated on my Account without my permission. This as been going for almost a year now. I am highly disappointed. Kindly send feedback asap.

Dineo Langa
Esmerelda Send email
 
May 15, 2020

Shoddy and PATHETIC service

Absolutely shoddy and pathetic service!! Online shopping for Edgars was open during lockdown, NO notice saying that online shopping will only be "dealt with" after lockdown. Only in confirmation email was it stated - this is sent after your order is complete! Order done 22 April for winter clothes for my so (18 months) ..... NO communication from Edgars until Wednesday 06 May after I had to phone, hold on for NO less than 30mins at a time. Got email adress for 2 managers Patricia Brown & Cynthia Chetty Up to date, NO response on email sent 07 May to both managers! Eventually I got a call, informing me that there is a massive backlog due to Covid-19 lockdown. Later the afternoon I got a call, telling me that most of the clothes I ordered are out of stock, they will let me k ow the Friday 08 May how long it will take to source the items, but I can cancel the order and request a refund. I got an email on Friday confirming the call and the out of stock items. I responded, requesting the order to be canceled and a refund to be done. Monday morning 11 May - NO response on email. I sent another mail asking confirmation of receipt of my email. Monday afternoon - STILL NO answer on the email sent. I sent yet another email.... Tuesday 12 May - STILL NO RESPONSE I phoned @ 15:24 just to get told that all of a sudden now that department of Edgars are closed.... Seriously, close a department and not even communicate to customers. What happens to the huge backlog in orders? They do not answer all or emails? What do you stand to do? When do you get your refund, not to even mention the clothes ordered. Edgars might as well close down completely, with service like this, I will NEVER buy from ANY Edgars or related store! It is pathetic to say the least!


Today is the 15th of May and STILL I have not heard a word, yet I get phoned for R45. 00 owed in my account!
No even has the decency to phone me regarding an online order of R1 500. 00 but I get contacted for an outstanding amount of R45. 00.

This is unacceptable
Leon28 Send email
 
Apr 17, 2020

Unauthorised airtime subscription

Good day. I am an edgars acc holder and need some assistance regarding my account. I recently went through my statement and found that their is a airtime and sms susbriction that i never give any consent of, please advise as to how this was activated on without my permission. This as been going for 10 months now. I am very disappointed. Please send feedback asap.
MAN OF STEEL Send email
 
Feb 19, 2020

Airtime subscription

Good day
For the past 2 to 3 years ive been paying for airtime subscriptions i know nothing about,i tried raising this to edcon a lot of times invain,the last time i called they promised to invistigate this and refund my money but no 1 has helped me up to this day,my cellphone number is 0795721093
NANDI47 Send email
 
Feb 10, 2020

FRAUD done with muy account

I have been with edgars for 10years last year someone took clothes amount of R10000.00 reported with edgars signed the dispute form it was cleared this year on the 25th purchased at Westgate on the 26th received an SMS that there was a purchase amount of R9000.00 , I have submitted the dispute form 2 weeks ago ,on the 08.02.2020 received a call for me to pay my Edgars account , I really don't understand if they system does show that there was a dispute against this account .
Naidio Send email
 
Jan 4, 2020

Fraud on my account

Fraud on my account.. Online purchase of flight tickets.. Handed over to fraud department in July.tied calling them many times but was rudley sed I have to wait coz there is many other cases. Got a call 2 months ago from fraud department it was sorted n to go into store to get a new card.. Last week found out all late payments was charged to me n new card payment... The bluff store not helpful alwaz have down time issues.. Very disappointed customer
ChrisSA Send email
 
Dec 20, 2019

Black Friday Special Misunderstanding

On Black Friday, in the online store, I ordered a pair of jeans with a buy 2 pay for 1 special. Not knowing, I placed an order for one pair, paid the full price and expected to receive two pairs. After 1 pair was delivered, Edgars Customer Service informs me I should have ordered 2 pairs. Now who in their right mind would want to order one pair on Black Friday on a 2 for 1 special? I have pleaded with Edgars to be understanding and deliver the extra pair as per the special. Edgars says NO, not willing to HELP at all. What a difference it would make for Edgars to compromise. Now I have to let everyone know to be wary of Edgars' specials and know that if you make a mistake they will not help. I would have preferred to tell people about the awesome service I received.

Very disappointing Edgars. It would have taken nothing from you to be understanding.

Next time, please update your online store to highlight that if you order one item you will not be eligible for the special!
Zee1208 Send email
 
Dec 11, 2019

Pathetic service

I am highly disappointed at the service I’ve received at Edgars and the incompetence I had to deal with and if that is not bad enough the pathetic website they have that apparently can only work on Google chrome so for us apple users that use Safari I’m sorry but Edgars cannot accommodate us! I tried to buy 3 pairs of Sketchers sneakers on Cyber Monday from 7pm until 12am and to no avail it took hours to get into the website and when I finally got in at 11:15 and tried to purchase the sneakers the website refused to link my account card to my profile at 12 I finally decided to give us as the prices reverted back to the old price when I called the customer center on Tuesday 3 December 2019 at 9:00am to inform them of my struggles I was told that I needed to be using Google Chrome and I used the incorrect browser, I told the lady it was unacceptable because I’ve been using Safari for years and have never encountered such a problem she promised to get back to me on Thursday 5 December 2019 she even gave me a reference number which was 19120300289/go having to received any feedback on Thursday I then made another call to Edgars and spoke to another consultant that said she will look into my case and call me back she then called back to tell me my account card was not linked to my profile I explained to her that was the issue I was trying to link the card but it refused to link I explained that I even took a screenshot of the error she said to email her the screenshot and she would definitely get this sorted for me and since the 5 December 2019 I have not received any communication from Edgars even after trying to email them there has just been no response this is terribly disappointing as I’ve had my Edgars account for a while now.
chubby Send email
 
Dec 10, 2019

account protection

I have had an account with edgars for all most 40 years, I went to the fourways branch to cancel my edgars club life as i can no longer
afford it whilst there i enquired regarding the partner protection fund for my husband on my account, as he is now unemployed, needed to know how this worked, spoke to someone from your head office who informed me that because my husband was self
employed and we lost our business of 34 years due to a fraudulent deal there is no proof that he is unemployed ref no 19120100453
I find this very unfair and then cancelled his partner protection plan feeling that we had been ripped off and money taken every
month to line someones pocket, i feel that i should be reimbursed all the money taken off for the partner protection plan or some help
given for the unemployment, as soon as we are back on our feet and are able to pay this account and mine we will definitely be closing our accounts as this is not good enough the public are being ripped off by the big companies and never allowed to say anything.
Nomthetho Xaba Send email
 
Dec 9, 2019

Sim swap fraud

Good evening

I have had a bad experience with Edgar's for unauthorized billing on my account of R50 rand cellc airtime that I know nothing about. I never subscribed to airtime with any company and give permission to bill it to my Edgar's account. I have gone in store since last year I started receiving this bill on my statement to cancel it, all I am given are references each time. I am truly disappointed with Edgar's after being with them for a long time. The worse part I never received the airtime, how can I pay for something I never used or received. My question is why is Edgars allowing this to happen to my account, and I know I am not the only one because there are several people who came to the shop with the same issue. So Edgars is taking us for fools allowing 3rd parties to bill into our accounts without authorization. Something needs to be done because I am tired of this and keep on demanding me to pay for services never rendered. Why is it difficult to cancel, it has been 8 months going to shop for cancelation. Why people at the head office not doing there job. Something isn't right. I am truelly disappointed with Edgars, all I am getting is one reference after another and nothing happening for 12 months, but keep sending messages of demand and phoning to pay up. This is not on, and totally unacceptable
Last week Friday someone made sim swap with my number 0827677514 and I called Vodacom to block that person and I went to police station to report that and open a case for sim swap fraud and I went to Vodacom to make sim swap and I talked to Thabo he told me to go at Edgars/Jet to make sim swap at Edgars they told me to go to Vodacom store and buy contract sim card. I went back to Vodacom store to buy R110.00 contract sim card and they called RMCS I talked to a guy and he said to me the issue will be resolved within 48 hours and he promised to call me he never did. It was on 2/12/2019 till today on 9th /12/2019 the issue is still not resolved.
Abel3000 Send email
 
Nov 22, 2019

Late Delivery

I purchased some items online and was notified that my items will arrive on 21 November before 17:00 - see attached image.

Nothing arrived.

I called the number listed to call regarding online order (0800 203 925). They did not know who handled their deliveries and could not check in with the courier for an update.

OCC:0000074000001278

They simply left it at "it will probably arrive the next day".

Disgusting service, to say the least.

Late Delivery Late Delivery

ntombi82 Send email
 
Nov 18, 2019

Payment done but not reflecting

I went to Edgars festival mall on 04 October to pay my mother's account. I paid an amount of R313.00 which was the balance due. But apparently there was a system error on that day. The funds went out of my account but the money was never credited on my mother's account. Her account is blocked as we speak. I started going to Edgars to enquire on 11th of October after my mother got an sms that her account has been handed over. Sheila and Pride Mthabela are the 2 store managers who are busy giving me the run around and Goergina Skomono is the initial person who took in my receipts but never did anything with them. I reported the matter to Durban account and also jhb account but till today no one has assisted me. I even liased with the Durban supervisor Lihle Thutshini after failed attempts with Ntokozo Mzute and Shiluba Nkuzana.We are fighting at home because my mother does not believe me when I say I paid the account. Even though I showed her the receipt. Now her account is blocked and credit limit has been reduced. She gets called everyday about her account being in arrears whilst that is not the case.My number is 0748864886
ntombi82 Send email
 
Nov 18, 2019

Amount due paid but account not credited

I went to Edgars festival mall on 04 October to pay my mother's account. I paid an amount of R313.00 which was the balance due. But apparently there was a system error on that day. The funds went out of my account but the money was never credited on my mother's account. Her account is blocked as we speak. I started going to Edgars to enquire on 11th of October after my mother got an sms that her account has been handed over. Sheila and Pride Mthabela are the 2 store managers who are busy giving me the run around and Goergina Skomono is the initial person who took in my receipts but never did anything with them. I reported the matter to Durban account and also jhb account but till today no one has assisted me. I even liaised with the Durban supervisor Lihle Thutshini after failed attempts with Ntokozo Mzute and Shiluba Nkuzana.

We are fighting at home because my mother does not believe me when I say I paid the account. Even though I showed her the receipt. Now her account is blocked and credit limit has been reduced. She gets called everyday about her account being in arrears whilst that is not the case.

Edgars is the worst shop ever!!! I have never had such an experience. I call them with my airtime and drive to the store with my petrol all for nothing.

My number is 0748864886
abohardien Send email
 
Nov 13, 2019

Blocked account

Hi i have an Edcon account with the department store Edgars, it is currently blocked I have no access to my online account and making purchases on it, I recently made 2 successful purchases and tried making another purchase how ever it seemed account was being billed and billed but no successful orders was received them they cancelled my existing orders blocked my account and then credited my account, it was then unblocked until yesterday it was blocked again why it was blocked it's due to fraudulent activity, now I need to visit a store to unblock my account which I do not have time for, my account has never been in arrears ever since having this account for years it's been paid up on time I've made mango airline ticket purchases before and never had issues, could you kindly help resolve this issue s I'm not satisfied with this services rendered by Edgars Accounts Department, I have also informed then I will not make payment on this account that I have no access to.
I am Abdul Gamiet Bohardien contactable on 0606187995
Id no 7203205280087
Malenda Send email
 
Nov 11, 2019

Online ordee

Since 28 October 2019 and I am still waiting for my parcel. The amount of R1319.85 was debited on my account but only credited my account with an amount of R299.95.
Please urgently advise.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username