Submit a Complaint

Edgars

South Africa

Consumer complaints and reviews about Edgars

Doreen May Send email
 
Oct 27, 2020

airtime

Hi I am Doreen May.I have noticed a slow decrease in my account balance regardless payments being made.Thefore I have decided to cancel certain services i agreed upon with the company,but have no recollection about agreeing to airtime service.I opened an account in 2013,changed mobile nrs in 2017 which I updated at Edgars stores in Brackenfell Cape Town.I received communication from Edgars to my latest nr for the past 3 years.I kept paying regardless statements i could not open to review the content.Airtime was send to the old nr all along regardless updates.Can someone please assist.

Edgars acc nr 7000100100218143873

contact nr 064087201086

Email add [email protected]
mshoza Send email
 
Oct 22, 2020

damage cellphone

i bought a cellphone with Edgars lochlogan bloemfontein yesterday at 17:11 when i got home with the phone i have realised that the power button is not working well the phone restart itself. during my lunch i took back the phone to Edgars they told me that they can not refund me or give me another phone they will go fix the phone and i mite pay for the services as well. i need to know edgars are you selling damage goods to recover the loss of covid 19
[email protected] Send email
 
Oct 15, 2020

REFUND

My balance is zero on my Edgar's account. Yet I m expected to pay R29 service fee. I called their support no: 0860 111 826 and consultant said there's nothing she can do about it and I must send email to [email protected] I sent this email 16/09/2020 requesting my Edgar's account to be closed and the R29 to be reversed. Today I receive Edgar's statements and my account is not closed and another R29 added to my balance. I was an excellent customer. Paying beforehand and this is the crap I must deal with. Email ; [email protected] Tel: 0849191899
Amanda Els Send email
 
Oct 13, 2020

Account Fraud

Account number 7000100100005103296
Reference numbers: 2005075560597 Phindile
2008175629159
2009085652583 Prince
I am a loyal customer of Edgars for 30 years. i am on pension and my account is most of the time in credit. suddenly Edgars started phoning me every day to say i am debt and owe them such and such amount, every time another amount. i went to our local branch just to find out we suddenly have a cellphone subscription that we know nothing about. i have numerice reference numbers of my visits to the branch trying to resolve this. they told me to com in and listen to a recorded conversation where i admit to a subscription. i went to the store and was waiting for the recording. They told me their is no recording available. They promise to refund me in 10 days time. i still waiting and barring every days harassment on my phone. What to do now?
Johanvv Send email
 
Oct 9, 2020

Klientediens

Goeie Middag CEO Edcon/Edgars,
Sedert ongeveer 12/09/2020 het ek redelik gereeld ler epos kontak probeer maak, nafat ek besef het dat ek vir ten minste 3 maande geen state ontvang het nie. My navraag het ook enkele vrae gehad en n instruksie om klublidmaatskap te staak. Op dieselfde dag moes ek ook verskeie oproepe maak, alvorens ek by die regte oproepsentrum uitgekom het, maar is steeds nie gehelp nie. 'n Dag of so later het ek die uitstaande state ontvang, maar geen antwoorde en terugvoer is verskaf op my vrae / versoek. Sporadies het ek dit weer opgevolg, geen terugvoer... Vandag weer oproepsentrum geskakel, agtergekom my saldo het gestyg, maar die stelsel was glo af, daarom, geen verdere inligting - ek moet maar weer skakel, is gese. Die persoon had geen idee wat rondom my e-posse gebeur nie ek kon my ook nie verwys na die korrekte mense nie. Die nuwe saldo, nadat die rekening reeds 3 dae gelede ten volle vereffen is, het bewys dat my versoek ge-ignoreer is, gedateer 12/09. Daar was ook SMS-se betrokke, waarvoor die persoon verskoning aangebied het, maar ek twyfel of hy weet waar dit vandaan kom en hy het aanvaar dat die SMS-se en my e-posse n direkte verband het, wat nie 100% korrek is nie. Oor 3 dae is dit nou n maand reeds aan die gang, geen terugvoer steeds...
Dit dui vir my op die geen respek wat Edgars vir sy kliente het en bevestig dat Edgars vergeet het waaroor klientediens als gaan, terwyl sonder gelukkige kliente, daar geen Edgars meer sal wees. Dit sluit aan by die patetiese winkel-ervaring wat ek/ons middel September by u Kollonade winkel gehad het, toe loop ons maar...
Ek sou graag wou he dat ek spoedig, so gou moontlik telefonies gekontak word, synde e-pos nie gereken word nie.
Baie dankie
Mandla5131 Send email
 
Oct 6, 2020

Account

I am Edgars customer with account (7000100100020443016 )and pay my through debit order on the 25th of each month, during the month of August Edgars change the date without consulting me to the 4 September.I called their call center on the 15th September and the gentleman I spoke to promised me that they will change the debit order date to the 25th but there wont be on for the month of September 25 because there is one that that went through on the 4th and the next will be only in September 25.To my surprise there was debit order on the 25th of September for double the amount.on the 28th of September I then sent email to Edgars complaints department and Patrick from Admin called me back and promised that they will refund me with the overcharged amount but until today they have not done the refund.I find Edgars not be trustworthy and over promise and under deliver.
sharonn Send email
 
Sep 28, 2020

Payment confirmation not reflecting on your system

Dear Mam / Sir

I have been a customer for Edgar's for years. I have paid my account each month. I have now been listed as having arrears on my name. I have gone into the store and no one was able to assist and explain to me the receipt totals. Can someone please call me
WilmaB Send email
 
Sep 18, 2020

account no 7000100100175706837

Account Number 7000100100175706837
I have paid this account on the 1st June 2020. The store told me what the settlement amount is and I paid this amount with the request that this account must be closed. I also asked that all other extras for instance funeral policy, be cancelled with immediate effect. From there on I still receive monthly accounts where they add fees on. I have visited the stores in person, I have sent emails and made phone calls to complain, to no avail. Why do I have to battle like this.....is the staff incompetent.
ElzaneM Send email
 
Sep 8, 2020

Settlement amount missing

I have settled my Edgars account in full during July 2020. Edgards did not allocate my payment to my account. I have been phoning and emailing them daily for the past 2 months, I just got ignored and the issue with my account is still not resolved.

I have tried everything in my power to sort this out. I still get charged finance fees and Interest on the full amount, that I settled and paid in July.

I have collected several email addresses and contacts. But I just get ignored.
ElzaneM Send email
 
Sep 8, 2020

Settlement amount missing

I paid my account in full during July 2020. They did not allocate the payment to my account. They are still charging finance fees and interest on my account. I have phoned them 12 times, I have sent 43 emails, I have made a complaint at Hello Peter. They just ignore you. I have over these 2 months gathered more that 10 email addresses where I have sent my proof of payment to, and still nothing. They stole my money and now they are charging me extra for an account that was in truth settled.

I have never as a customer been treated this poorly.

I will never support any business that has any connection with Edgars/ Edcon/ RCS ever again.

I will now have to proceed to appoint an attorney, as I don't know what else to do.
ElzaneM Send email
 
Sep 8, 2020

Settlement amount missing

I paid my Edgars account in full during July 2020. They never deducted the payment from my account. Since then, they have been loading my account with finance charges and interest. I have phoned them more that 15 times, I have sent more than 30 emails to every single person and contact I could reach at this group. I have sent through my proof of payment, daily for 2 months since I have been totally ignored. There is no customer service. They stole my money and now they are charging me extra. I have never been treated so poorly at any other company.
Loret Jenkinson Send email
 
Sep 6, 2020

Account

I have been struggling for 2 years to get a CELL C product off my account.

Since the middle of last year (June 2019), I saw another 2 CELL C products added onto my account. This amounts to roughly R110 per month (excluding interest). How does EDGARS justify addition of products if the client has not approved it?

I can not close my account (already tried 4 times), until this subscriptions are cancelled. The help-desk consultants can not assist in this cancellation, you have to phone EDGARS?

I have paid over R2 000 for a product that I do not want and have not used at all. I have never owned a CELL C sim card in my life. So why would I ask for a CELL C subscription.

The help-desk consultants would assist me in phoning EDGARS, I will then speak to a consultant over the phone, and then the popular responses of: "system is offline", "You are contacting the wrong center", "I can not assist", and so the list goes on of useless excuses.

So how long will this take to get resolved?
Or how long will it take to just get a response?
Loret Jenkinson Send email
 
Sep 6, 2020

Account

I have been struggling for 2 years to get a CELL C product off my account.

Since the middle of last year (June 2019), I saw another 2 CELL C products added onto my account. This amounts to roughly R110 per month (excluding interest). How does EDGARS justify addition of products if the client has not approved it?

I can not close my account (already tried 4 times), until this subscriptions are cancelled. The help-desk consultants can not assist in this cancellation, you have to phone EDGARS?

I have paid over R2 000 for a product that I do not want and have not used at all. I have never owned a CELL C sim card in my life. So why would I ask for a CELL C subscription.

The help-desk consultants would assist me in phoning EDGARS, I will then speak to a consultant over the phone, and then the popular responses of: "system is offline", "You are contacting the wrong center", "I can not assist", and so the list goes on of useless excuses.

So how long will this take to get resolved?
Or how long will it take to just get a response?
marks Send email
 
Sep 1, 2020

damaged phone

I bought Samsung phone at Edgars clearwater mall in September 2019. by December 2019 the phone was not charging. I took back the phone to the same store on January 2020 for repairs . the phone is still sitting with them as we speak. they refuse to fix the phone which is still under warranty. I took the matter with ombudsman on 05/06/2020 they have not responded back to ombudsmen. I contacted their complaint department and I am getting no assistant.
Mamokgadi Koneshe Send email
 
Aug 30, 2020

Poor Service

On the 12th August, I made an electronic payment of R430.00, which I was supposed to have been paid end of July 2020. It was a delayed payment. Subsequently, I received numerous phone calls from collections department. I explained that the payment was done. I was advised to send proof of payment to the following email address: ***********. I sent the proof on the 24th August. Today on the 30th August, I received an SMS indicating that I have not paid. I am disgusted to say the least. I am constantly being humiliated by Edgars, to pay the outstanding amount, which I have already paid. I have been a good customer to Edgars, and that has not been taken into account. Why was given an email address if its serving any purpose. Please sort out this mess. Some of us are good, responsible customers.
Kateb Send email
 
Aug 26, 2020

Edgars Fraud

Please note I have been communicating with Edgars since the 28th July. There has been fraud happening in my account since the 24th of July 2020

I received an sms the 27th confirming purchase on my account, I called immediately and the consultant said they are going to block my card and I should go to the store the following day to fill the dispute forms.
The 28th I went to the store, filled the form and within few days the problem was sorted and I was told about another one that happened the 24th. I communicated with the head office, emailed the dispute form again and on the 5th August 2020 head office called me to confirm the dispute is sorted.

On the 6th August 2020 I started receiving strange sms confirming someone is busy with my account, I was shocked as I knew my card is blocked according to Edgars, I called the customer service immediately and was told someone used the account even if it is blocked.
Went to your store on the 10th August 2020 to sign the attached forms, to date I am still waiting for this to be resolved, I am receiving statement from Edgars asking for monthly payments which I am not going to pay for something that I don’t know.I paid the R720.28 that i owe Edgars on the 10th August 2020,the account and card is blocked, i need this account to be closed immediately and my name cleared.
Kateb Send email
 
Aug 26, 2020

Edgars Fraud

Please note I have been communicating with Edgars since the 28th July. There has been fraud happening in my account since the 24th of July 2020

I received an sms the 27th confirming purchase on my account, I called immediately and the consultant said they are going to block my card and I should go to the store the following day to fill the dispute forms.
The 28th I went to the store, filled the form and within few days the problem was sorted and I was told about another one that happened the 24th July 2020. I communicated with the head office, emailed the dispute form again and on the 5th August 2020 head office called me to confirm the dispute is sorted.

On the 6th August 2020 I started receiving strange sms confirming someone is busy with my account, I was shocked as I knew my card is blocked according to Edgars, I called the customer service immediately and was told someone used the account even if it is blocked.
Went to your store on the 10th August 2020 to fill the dispute forms again, to date I am still waiting for this to be resolved, I am receiving statement from Edgars asking for monthly payments which I am not going to pay for something that I don’t know. When i call fraud department they telling me Edgars has changed to RCS i should send dispute form, i think Edgars is just playing me and jeopardising my name and my credit record. I paid the R720 that i owed Edgars and asked the consultand to close my account which they said NO, only they can block the card and account since there still amount outstanding for fraud to be cleared.
HENTIE Send email
 
Aug 25, 2020

TILLS FOR PAYMENT

Good Afternoon,

I went to the Estee Lauder counter to buy some cosmetics. Not the first time that there was no tills available for payment. I had to run after the lady of the Estee Lauder counter to 3 tills and then she asked me to wait until she finds a till where I will be able to pay the items. At the end I walked out of the shop without my stuff because I was not prepared to wait while I had to go other places in my lunch hour. I can also just mention that at the main till there was only one person available. No acceptable at all.
Dean.Blumenthal Send email
 
Aug 24, 2020

persistent calling and demanding

Edgars has been hounding me for payment, even though was given a payment holiday due to Covid-19, i was then retrenched as a result of the company downsizing. I informed them, they told me i had no iinsurance on the account,which is BS as i remember asking for it. So i managed to scrape up 1 part payment, and send it to 5 email addresses associated with Edcon, they still called me to pay even though i told them i the issue to be told oh sorry hasnt cleared yet so what are you calling, then paid another 2 payment totaling what they wanted in full, and still same issue, keep calling like 3--6 times a day... they said no payment or email, they obviously cannot read or use banking properly , always the same story with Edgars 4 years to clear a payment.. Head doesnt know what the ass is doing, no wonder why they closing, ... chasing poor people for money they dont have , taking food away from families instead for reasoning for an option that helps all.

pathetic, i will now consult in matter of pressing charges for Harassment .
Phumza Wamamvulane Nkangeni Send email
 
Aug 19, 2020

Paid up letter

Greetings

I've been calling Edcon consultants since Friday the 14th August 2020, I am requesting them to provide me a paid up letter for my account and they promised me to email it on my emails, n there's nothing on my emails. I have settled the account on Friday the 14 Aug 2020,please tell me what must I do now..


Thanks
Stefy Send email
 
Aug 17, 2020

Credit my account

It has taken Edgar's since 30th May to credit my account for an order placed.

Placed order on 2 may and today the 17th August I'm still waiting.

Pathetic service.
Lurato Send email
 
Jul 10, 2020

Airtime

Hi my name is lerato menyatsoe.I went to Edgar's to pay my account, last I was owing two hundred and something now when I get to the store they say I am owing 600.50, they said am getting airtime that I don't know, I requested the recording for the time I agreed to receive the airtime. Tebogo said to me I will get the recording within 48 hours even today I did not get it.
NEEBZ Send email
 
Jun 16, 2020

CELLPHONE INSURANCE DENIED TO DUE EDGARS

To whom this may concern,

My wife has logged a claim in November /December last year 2019 and to date No Feedback nor the return of the handset as I went to Edgar's personally to collect and the sales agents confirms Finrite never repaired nor returned the handset, they have shown and printed me the corresponding emails. This is unacceptable!!! I'm going to make a case of theft and claiming damages.


Account no. :6008 1501 4705 4706

Cell phone in question : Samsung J1 Ace White

Contact details : 0761134623
SYLVIA CARGOXXXX Send email
 
Jun 10, 2020

My brother David has been diagnose with ALS for a little more than a year.

My brother David has been diagnose with ALS for a little more than a year. He showed signs of it for close to three years and no Doctor was able to figure out what was wrong, until my sister whom he had been living with kept trying to bring him to each doctor ---- finally found a doctor who recognised almost immediately that he had ALS. He has been taking medication that was made available to him only through a medical grant funding from those who have donated to the continuing research for a possible cure. He has slowed down in the progression, but without side affects. My hopes and prayers are that, you can also contact the Doctor for possible cure if you have ALS or any relative suffering for same disease here is their email [email protected]
Nwaphale Send email
 
Jun 9, 2020

Online order not delivered

On the 29th of April 2020, I placed an online order with Edgars order number: 2000099688 and it still has not been delivered. I have attempted to contact the customer service to no avail. What is even more confusing is that I placed another order a week and a half ago, and it was delivered.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username