Submit a Complaint

Edgars

South Africa

Consumer complaints and reviews about Edgars

Tanya89 Send email
 
Oct 16, 2021

No assistance.

After paying insurance on my account, when i got retrenched and submitted all the documents they did not assist me, they black listed me.

Where did the insurance money go, why did they black list me not assist me?

This needs to be addressed and the account needs to be settled.
Tanya89 Send email
 
Oct 16, 2021

Insurance

Good day.
I have been handed over to itc because of Edgars.
Even after sending all my documentation of retrenchment.
And not working 9 months.
Insurance never paid out.
Resolve this matter.
I want the account settled.
VijayaG Send email
 
Oct 13, 2021

Unauthorise contracts on my account

Acc -7000100100005267505
I did not make any purcahes on this account in over 2 years, all of a sudden i have a vodacom subscription, i dont even have a cell phone . This is unacceptable , I need this subscription to be cancelled and the amount to be reversed (EDC091300570733) if my credit record goes bad because of this, i will hold Edgards accountable. All the complaints on thi site is about the same thing! Edgards is a comitting fraud on their customers accounts.
maria thompson Send email
 
Oct 8, 2021

EDGARS ACCOUNT 7000100100077143238

When the country went into lockdown in March 2021, I stopped making purchases on my Edgars account. My last settlement payment on my Edgars account happened at the end of June 2021. In August I received a statement with a purchase for a Cell-C contract which I did not make. I never owned a Cell-C contract - I have been with Vodacom all my life. My Edgars account has always been in good standing and I queried the amount that was charged to my account. The answer was: 'send us a letter', which I did. Then the phone calls started... the same thing every so often, same response from me. Then I got letters and phone calls from Blake and Ass. I explained the same thing to them, sent off the same letter explaining the whole situation. That didn't help either, because on a daily basis I got my phone call demanding that I pay. Their phone calls stopped when MDB starting phoning. Every day of every week I got messages on my phone and a phone call. I must have spoken to every person in the company. In the end I asked my husband to take the calls because these people wouldn't listen or make any notes on my file. This had gone on for a year and two months - every day. Needless to say, I am now close to having a stroke, heart attack or something worse! Lo and behold I get a phone call today from VVM Attorneys - the third lot of debt collectors working for Edgars!!! Well, you can imagine what my heart rate, blood pressure and mood was when I heard they wanted payment for my Edgars account. WHAT HAS HAPPENED TO THE EDGARS? Can nobody in that company and the companies that work for them understand English? I don't owe you a cent and I am not going to pay for some fraudulent amount made on my account. PLEASE STOP PHONING ME AND CLOSE MY ACCOUNT!!!! 7000100100077143238
KUMARIE Send email
 
Jul 22, 2021

EDGARS ACCOUNT CLOSURE

I am SO frustrated.

My Edgars account (7000100100008278475) was paid on 27/11/2020.

I started receiving calls from March 2021 to advise that I owe money on my Edgars Account. I have proof - numerous emails have been exchanged between Edgars and myself, CSC apologising for the inconvenience. Club fees have been debited to this account. Since last week I have been receiving at least 3 to 4 calls a day from Blake & Associates. The Consultants have no telephone etiquette, no manners and can be rude. I explained to them that I don't owe any money and they need to please make note of this onto their system, to avoid so many calls. This is still happening and calls have never stopped. I started to also receive emails about my account R583,21 outstanding. I once again emailed Edgars Account Closure and Edgars Customer Care Retailability and have no joy. It seems this is ignored, no one wants to take an extra step and close this account. This is totally disappointing to see how incompetent employees of Edgars are. They have no respect for their jobs nor their Customers.
FraudScared Send email
 
Jun 15, 2021

FRAUD FRUAD FRUAD: Frustrated and scared

On the 3rd of February 2021 I made a payment of R690 into my Edgars account with the meaning of completely settling my account. I had a surplus of R5.68 in my account. Hence I did not expect to make any more payments toward my account until I use it to buy something in store again. Hence, I did not check my account or statements. On 10 May I received a mail letting me know that I have missed a few instalment and that I now owe R301.21 on my account. I was shocked as I did not use my Edgars account at all and I am very diligent on paying my instalment.
This amount kept increasing and after investigation I discovered that I was being charged monthly fees for two plans, a Family Provider plan and a Personal Funeral plan, that I never consented to, asked for or signed for with my knowledge. Ontop of the fees for these two fraudulent plans they were charging me account admin fees and interest of these plans. I contacted the Edgars on May 10th to query my account and to ask them to stop these plans and to subtract the money from my account as I will not pay for something that I did not consent to. The first reply I received was on May 22 asking for my ID number so they can "look into it". I replied on May 24 with the info. Finally on May 28 they did send me an email mentioning that the plans were cancelled. No mention was made that the money they charged me with fraudulently was subtracted from my account. On inspection some money was removed however I still owe over R200. I have been trying to get this sorted out and trying to close my account because I do not want to support a company that supports fraud. I have phoned every number available to me and have been told multiple times that they will add a dispute on my account, or that they have sent a email to the complaints section to help me with this. However nothing is happening. I have been told to go into an Edgars to the support staff there to try and sort this out. This made me super angry, because in times of Covid running ramant I know have to put my health on the line to go and sort out an issue that was not my fault in the first place. I have been receiving a call almost every second day of someone from their collection department wanting to know when I will be paying my account. I have tried to stay calm and told them the same thing every time, that I will not be paying that money because it was fraudilently added to my account. I am told the same old story that they will add a dispute to my account. I am now being charged collection fees and also for collection letter fees on my account, but nothing is being done. I know that it is not a lot of money but I am not going to pay for anything that I did not consent to! This is FRAUD!! If anybody knows of anything I can do please let me know because I am running out of options. I am scared that this will get me blacklisted and affect my credit score which is really sad because I opened my edgars account with the whole idea of trying to build a good credit score!

FRAUD FRUAD FRUAD: Frustrated and scared

Yolandรจ Westraadt Send email
 
Jun 4, 2021

Theft and fraud

I have an account with Edgars. I defaulted during 2020 - lockdown and made an arrangement for payment. Since then I have been paying my account monthly, into my Edgars account into their bank. They have now given me up at the credit bureau stating that my debt was written off due to bad debt (this is false information as I am still paying them monthly). I have requested statements which they can not provide me, because they say my account was handed over. I requested proof that they send me a final letter of demand before they handed my account over as per the national consumer law. They can not provide me with this either. I then also requested a letter from them stating that I am still monthly paying my account as I need to clear my name with the credit bureau. They can not provide me with this either. So in short they handed my personal information to a random company without my knowledge - THIS IS FRAUD. They can not tell me where the money is that I have been paying them monthly. - THIS IS THEFT.

Someone from this company better phone me within the next 3 business days with my relevant documentation as requested or I am posting this everywhere on social media, I am reporting them to the NCR and I am opening a legal binding case for Theft (where is my money) and Fraud (my details given to a company without notice of this given to me) against Edgars. I will also include harassment I have been receiving from some random company and the fact that my name has been made bad on the credit burau.

I want to know where is my money, my statements, the letter stating I am still paying this account as well as the letter informing me of the intent to hand me over.

I have send numerous emails and they send reply with an email saying " your account has been charged of". What does that even mean. I AM STILL PAYING THEM MONTHLY!!!!!!!!

Phone me: 0765207554 and I will give all other relevant information. You have 3 business working days.
Masakhane Nsele Send email
 
May 17, 2021

Fraud Account Under My Name

Please note that i do not have an account with Edgars or any account under my name, however i received a message from VVN stating my balance of R6859.33 which i have no clue about. Please keep in touch with me so we can sort out this matter very soon.
EDGARS Ref : 7000100110014103351
For more details please feel free to contact me.

Please sort out this matter as soon as possible, I need to get my Life going.
I am a professional ๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ญ
Masakhane Nsele Send email
 
May 17, 2021

Fraud Account Under My Name

I received a message claiming i have an account with Edgars, However i do not have any account. Account held with VVN Attorneys Ref : 7000100110014103351.
[email protected] Send email
 
May 7, 2021

Failure to allocate my payment to Account/Harrasment

I have an Edgars Account that I want to paid it off but the problem is they cant send me settlement amount. In 2020 I have paid my Account for August and September but my payment was never allocated to my account. I went to Edgars and Jet store to give them proof of Payment but still not allocated that payment. I received an E-mail to say my account has been handed over to Blake & Associates. I responded to say let them allocate my payment and send me Settlement amount, until now that they keep on calling and sending threatening messages. on the 11 March 2021 I have spoken to Ms Bianca Ngcobo who was promissing to attend to the matter because she requested the dates that I have send proof of payment and she confirmed that the emails are there. they requested that I must go to my Bank account and request that they must indicate who was the Beneficiary on the payment that I have made. I went to Wonderpark Mall to my Bank, the manager called Blake and Associates to clarifies that the payment that I have made it was not a transfer payment it was a straight payment from my account to Edgars and after that they have send that proof of payment straight to Edgars, RCS, Blake and Associates but until now nothing that is happening. what frustrates me a lot is that my Edgars account is increasing on a monthly basis and I cant even make any payment as they are not allocating it. Please assist me in this regards very frustrated. Mirriam Masango
tmalaza Send email
 
Apr 15, 2021

BILLED AFTER ACCOUNT CLOSURE

edgars Account: 7000100100223424441 - My account has been in good standing with Edgars. Due to the fact that I am retiring I decided to closed all my accounts. I went to Middelburg Mall Edgars to close the account. I was told to pay off the balance and I discovered that day that I have an insurance for the Edgar's store card, club fee and interest that I am obliged to pay every month, I asked who authorized those fees as I did not authorize them. The store assisted me in calling their call center and got a closing balance which was paid in full on 19 December 2020. I have requested for the account to be closed and confirmation of account closure to be sent to me, which I never received. In January 2021 I received an SMS and a statement on my email which indicated that I had a balance on my account. I went back to their Middelburg Mall branch, they again called their call center wherein I was advised that by the time I close the account and cancel the other fees it was already in the middle of the month, hence a January bill I accepted the explanation and paid off that balance . to my surprise in February 2021 I received an SMS and a emailed statement, I immediately responded on that email and called their call center a lady that assisted me said she is forwarding an email to their legal services. in March I received another statement and the amount keeps on increasing, I am really frustrated It is like edgars is doing this deliberately or maybe it is how they are making their profit this is unethical practice), Thereafter from the period December 2020 to date, my account remains open, unauthorised fees being charged and I have informed 6 agents about this but did not receive any assistance. Every consultant that had called me had informed me that they sending an email. is only once agent that copied me the email they forwarded to their legal services, due to irregular administrative practices my account is being kept open to accrue amounts for malicious collection practices. Please can I have a copy of my credit agreement which indicates that Edgars can refuse closure of my account and that without contacting me and reviewing my account which would have shown a payment bringing my balance to zero and that the credit facility is being used to charge fees that were not authorised and add interest. Please also advise on the date on which system changes were made to my account to add unauthorised club fees, the amounts that have been deducted which I would like refunded to me.
Marlene van Wyk Send email
 
Apr 13, 2021

Edgars

Failure to get a paidup letter

I have an account with Edgars which was settled over 5 months ago.
My account was handed over last year to ???rci / norman bisset / blakes attorneys??? none of these mentioned can get hold of my paid up account and assist me with a paid up letter. This appears on my credit record and my son cannot get a student loan because of that.
Can Edgars manager explain to me what is it that needed to be done to close that damn account of yours.

SEND ME MY PAID UP LETTER !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! PLEASE AND CLEAR MY CREDIT RECORD

Account Number: 7000100100003622883 - Full and Final Payment

My name has been registered with the Credit Bureau thus affecting my credit status. I need Edgars to clear my name at the credit bureau and the debt collectors. This should be done in writing. Please assist.
Lorraine Caetano Send email
 
Mar 23, 2021

INTEREST CHARGED ON 6 MONTH ACCOUNT

I have a six month interest free account with Edgars. Purchases were made in June 2020 and the account settled in full in August 2020. Since then I receive a statement every month reflecting INTEREST CHARGES. I have sent various e-mails, received no reply, only the AUTOMATED RESPONSE and even tried phoning their 0860 number on which I am cut off after holding on for 1 minute. I will not pay the INTEREST CHARGED. EDGARS needs to sort out their billing problems. PLEASE CAN THIS MATTER BE RESOLVE ONCE AND FOR ALL AND MY ACCOUNT BE CLOSED WITH IMMEDIATE EFFECT.
Lorraine Caetano Send email
 
Mar 23, 2021

INTEREST CHARGED ON 6 MONTH ACCOUNT

I have a 6 month Interest Free Account with Edgars. I paid this account in full in August 2020. Since then I am being charged interest on this account.

I send various e-mails but no response except for the automated response.

Please can this matter be dealt with and my account be closed.
Celz777 Send email
 
Feb 22, 2021

PAYMENT MADE BUT STILL KEEP GETTING CALLS

I am SO frustrated.

My Edgars account (7000100100111439287) was paid on 27/11/2020.

Every week I get calls from Edgars saying my account is in arrears.

Today was the cherry on top when the lady that called just put the phone down in my ear while I was trying to explain.
It seems that even Edgars staff members are no interested in sorting out these payments.

I just want to close my account and carry on with my life - this is such a mess and I don't know when Edgar's collections will ever read the numerous email I have sent.
Freego Send email
 
Feb 16, 2021

Still getting charged on an EDGARS account that was settled in November 2020

The most pathetic service I have ever had with Edgars in the recent years and it just seem to be getting worse. I've been a customer of Edgars for a good couple of years now but sadly to say, I want nothing to do with this store anymore. I settled my Edgars account in November 2020 only to find out that I'm still been billed for interest or service fees (R30.00). Is this some sort of tactic that is used on all customers that accounts is settled in full. So just to avoid long waits and running around to get issued like this sorted out and avoiding a bad record with the Credit Bureau, customers end up paying these fees. I think lots of other customers should look into this when also settling their accounts and not just pay to avoid problem.

I had the most embarrassed moment at the Eastgate Edgars store on 13/02/2021 when I ended up wanting to purchase an outfit (suite), pair of Raybans, and a watch to wear for my sister's wedding which is now on the 18/02/2021. After standing in a long que, only to find out that my account declined the purchases. I found it very strange as my account was up to date and settled in full. The consultant told me that my account is in arrears by R60.00 and that I should pay that amount to get the account up to date again and to buy the items. What bull is that.

So again, can someone please help me out and explain to me again, why do I have to pay on an account that was already settled in November 2020. From the supporting documents attached to this complaint, the statement for 08/11/2020-minimum amount due was R130.00 and total amount owing was R249.98, with the interest (fees) of R30.00 which added up to R279.98. On the 13th November 2020, I made a payment of R280.00 which at the time already included the interest (fees). When I spoke to a consultant (supervisor) at the Alberton City Edgars store I was advised that my Edgars account is paid up and that I will not be billed for anything. The only time I would get billed again was if I purchase something of which the interest (fees) would then apply. Now I'm been given the run around again to get this problem sorted out and been charged interest every month for an account that I am not using. Edgars just lost another customer. I would also like for this account to be closed off now. Thank you.My details-0818525838, [email protected]
[email protected] Send email
 
Feb 15, 2021

CLOSE MY ACCOUNT PLEASE I'M BEGGING

7000100100179043872 I have asked EDGAR'S politely to close my account prior to Edgar's going into shambles almost a year later I get messages saying my account in arrears ***UDGE I immediately got all my correspondence when I asked the account to be canceled and at the time of my instruction I immediately cut up my card. Nobody from Edgar's got back to me no replies to my emails no replies from Nazlie Andrew's who helped me no replies at all I tried calling Edgar's and got transferred to several departments and nobody competent to help can see why the company went down. I tried yet again to contact RCs group and Nosipho helped me greatly I told her my story she thenconfirmed that she will put through a cancelation and it takes 30 days my fees will be reversed and my account zero rise and myself and credit union will receive a paid up letter. But then got a call and sms from Blake attorneys ***UDGE is there no communication between the parties?? I explained my story to Gugu shange who understood my case and asked me to email my cancelation instruction to *********** which I did. And few days later I got an sms saying I'm being handed over ***UDGE!!!!! Am I dealing with a bunch of what? Is it people? Why is nobody helping me why is everybody so incompetent!!!! People never open Edgar's account its not worth it and the company does not understand and know its customers - Edgar's is another word for failure
[email protected] Send email
 
Feb 15, 2021

Edgars account

Good day
I have asked EDGAR'S politely to close my account prior to Edgar's going into shambles almost a year later I get messages saying my account in arrears ***UDGE I immediately got all my correspondence when I asked the account to be canceled and at the time of my instruction I immediately cut up my card. Nobody from Edgar's got back to me no replies to my emails no replies from Nazlie Andrew's who helped me no replies at all I tried calling Edgar's and got transferred to several departments and nobody competent to help can see why the company went down. I tried yet again to contact RCs group and Nosipho helped me greatly I told her my story she thenconfirmed that she will put through a cancelation and it takes 30 days my fees will be reversed and my account zero rise and myself and credit union will receive a paid up letter. But then got a call and sms from Blake attorneys ***UDGE is there no communication between the parties?? I explained my story to Gugu shange who understood my case and asked me to email my cancelation instruction to *********** which I did. And few days later I got an sms saying I'm being handed over ***UDGE!!!!! Am I dealing with a bunch of what? Is it people? Why is nobody helping me why is everybody so incompetent!!!! People never open Edgar's account its not worth it and the company does not understand and know its customers - Edgar's is another word for failure
Carel Stoop Send email
 
Feb 12, 2021

Closing of Account

Edgards Account 7001000053451107 70012081ย 

This Edgards Account was closed on 1 Jul 2020 at the JET branch in Bethal.ย ย 
The account was however never closed

The local store advised us to contact Edcon and we even tried from the store without any success. On queries the helpline said the problem came with the takeover from EDCON to RCS and that the relevant information was never communicated to RCS.ย 
To date multiple calls of several hours was made to the following number (031 538 4000, 086 172 9727, 086 023 6289, 086 011 1826) and most often resulting in being transfer from one section to another and then eventually being cut off031 538 4000, 086 172 9727, 086 023 6289, 086 011 1826

We already went from pillar to post in trying to resolve the matter with multiple mail numerous phone calls but the whole issue kept ongoing in circles not solving the problem

The latest is a Sms that the account holder has been handed over for further action which is causing extreme stress to the account holder who already suffer from medical conditions
Delia Sherratt Send email
 
Feb 11, 2021

EDGARS SOUTH AFRICA

I paid my final installment (R194.18) on my account at Mall of the South on 16 Dec 2020 and asked for my account to be closed. I was told I would receive a SMS or email confirming the closure of the account. I phoned on 21 Dec 2020 and was told the account had been finalized and I would receive notification within 30 days that the account had been closed. I phoned again on 11 Jan 2021 to enquire and was assured that an email would be sent to me around 22 Jan 2021. I then received notification of a monthly service fee debit of R30. So phoned again on 25 Jan 2021 and spoke to Tekara, who assured me that she would send an email to the department requesting they close the account and reverse the R30 debit. On 2 Feb 2021, I once again phoned the Customer Services and spoke to Andile, who said he would escalate the matter to the manager and that I would hear from Edgars within 7 days. It is now 11 Feb 2021 and all I have heard is that an additional debit of R30 service fee has been added to my account. My account now stands at R60. I do NOT owe Edgars anything and they owe me a CREDIT OF R60 & CLOSURE OF MY ACCOUNT. On the last two occasions I have phoned, no one has answered the call. I am sure the excuse will be COVID 19 (which seems to get the blame for everyone's GROSS INCOMPETENCE).

From Delia Sherratt (Phone 082 757-7592)
nanda26 Send email
 
Feb 11, 2021

Credit Refund

I have been trying to close my Edgars account since 05/11/2020. I overpaid by R300.00 so i have a credit with Edgars.
I have sent all the documentation as requested by them numerous times and everytime i call i keep getting the same feedback.
I'VE HAD ENOUGH OF YOUR INCOMPETANCE!!!!!!!!
YOU ARE WANTING TO STEAL MY MONEY.

Can someone contact me URGENTLY!!!!! 082 716 8315
UMPANYANE Send email
 
Feb 4, 2021

Paid up account handed over to debt collectors.

My name is UM Panyane : Cell number 083 371 9841

I paid off my account and closed it in November 2019. Later I received a flurry of telephone calls telling me that I owe R500 in arrears. Upon inquiry I was told that I owe insurance which I knew nothing about .Strange enough the amount keeps on accumulating from R500 and now they say it is R1000.00. My understanding is that any insurance that is unpaid lapses instead of accumulating! But I still dispute that I took out any insurance with Edgars, especially when I have paid off and closed the account. On one occasion I went to Edgars Jabulani Mall to complain by I did not get any assistance. Then on several occasions I went to The Glen Mall where I was advised to send an email to a certain email account but it kept on bouncing back . Finally, I on the 28 of July 2020 at 13hrs 28 called the Edgars call center (after many days and hours of unanswered calls) and I was assured that the account was closed and given a reference number : 200728025184/50. However since then I am being harassed by debt collectors via SMSs and daily telephone calls. My name has been registered with the Credit Bureau thus affecting my credit status. I need Edgars to clear my name at the credit bureau and the debt collectors. This should be done in writing. Please assist.
DorothyLottering Send email
 
Jan 28, 2021

account insurance 7000100100205566235

I received my last statement 5 years ago, and after my retrenchment in 2016 I sent my retrenchment documents, as I have been paying for account insurance with Edgars since I opened the account.
This account should have been closed over 3 years ago. - now I see its listed on ITC for non payment!!!
I have been phoning and emailing, NO RESPONSE.
Ajames Send email
 
Jan 20, 2021

Payment made

Since the start of the lockdown in March 2020, I have been paying my Edgars account via my cell phone banking with no issues. All of a sudden for November 2020, Edgars has not received my payment I have made due to the migration to RCS which was confirmed by the Edgars advisor. I used the correct account details, correct reference number and yet no payment is reflecting. I have provided my banking proof to Edgars on numerous occasions. Edgars sent me an email stating my account is no longer on the collections department (I assume they have then allocated my payment) but yet I have them chasing me for an account which they claim is in arrears. They are charging me now collection fees and telephone fees BUT I HAVE PAID MY DAMN ACCOUNT! ITS NOT MY FAULT THAT THEY HAVE NOT RECEIVED MY PAYMENT AND I SHALL NOT BE LIABLE FOR ADDITIONAL LATE FEES. I WILL BE CLOSING MY EDGARS ACCOUNT SOON. TO HELL WITH EDGARS!!!!!!!
Ajames Send email
 
Jan 20, 2021

Account payment

Since the start of the lockdown in March 2020, I have been paying my Edgars account via my cell phone banking with no issues. All of a sudden for November 2020, Edgars has not received my payment I have made due to the migration to RCS which was confirmed by the Edgars advisor. I used the correct account details, correct reference number and yet no payment is reflecting. I have provided my banking proof to Edgars on numerous occasions. Edgars sent me an email stating my account is no longer on the collections department (I assume they have then allocated my payment) but yet I have them chasing me for an account which they claim is in arrears. They are charging me now collection fees and telephone fees BUT I HAVE PAID MY DAMN ACCOUNT! ITS NOT MY FAULT THAT THEY HAVE NOT RECEIVED MY PAYMENT AND I SHALL NOT BE LIABLE FOR ADDITIONAL LATE FEES. I WILL BE CLOSING MY EDGARS ACCOUNT SOON. TO HELL WITH EDGARS!!!!!!!

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username