Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Gotham Steel Cookware

United States,
Virginia

Consumer complaints and reviews about Gotham Steel Cookware

morti Send email
 
Apr 9, 2019

non stick pan...ha!

So much for the Gotham Steel warranty for their copper cookware! My $20 copper pan has failed miserably just months after purchase. The company policy is mail back the pan ($7.00) and send $9.95 for them to replace pan which is warranted. This so called policy means I have just paid almost the full amount all over again for a supposed warranted item....quite shrewd indeed for this company!

Based in New York, Gotham Steel should be ashamed of their useless warranty.
searay0509 Send email
 
Feb 9, 2019

DOLLAR STORE QUALITY! STAY AWAY!

My partner bought into they're infomercial that included the "LIFETIME WARRANTY! that's since been revised to 30days! ours is the LIFETIME CLAUSE GUARANTEE! we've waited 8mths for our 2nd set replacmnts w/mny calls since all lies!! Lie 1. It was on back order. Lie 2. Its been shipped, but no tracking & a lot of bck peddling talk ..(btw, wldn't get awy w/speaking to me) ultimately weve yet to receive them, 8mths later! The end all.. to be told today you ship bck your pcs on your dime & we'll replace them! MY ADVISE DO NOT, I CAN'T STRESS THIS ENGH Buy into there newly improved BS! NOT ONLY are these the WORST pots, pans pcs I've ever used to the point of my frustration now dread entering the Kitchen knowing my works of art will burn, stick or end up raw. This is very sad I feel this way I'm ITALIAN. I LOVE FOOD. I LOVE TO COOK! NOT so much THESE DAYS. The moment HEAT HITS these pcs they WARP badly causing heating inconsistencies! Scratches, & Pits. forget about wiping clean is a farce! the quality they show while cooking on tv are clearly far superior pcs then what you will receive. One side is done the other stuck, burned or raw! This comes from someone whose mastered cooking w/SS pcs! I'm a firm believer in proper technique when it comes to using the correct tools in the kitchen, regardless of there testimonials claims or other! They are the worst pcs I've had the displeasure of using! STAY AWAY!
Jeanette Ott Send email
 
Feb 6, 2019

Sticking and scratching

This has to be the biggest SHAM I have ever seen! Every pan I have sticks they have scratches on them and I don’t abuse them. Their guarantee is absolutely hilarious I could not believe what they asked me to do. I have to pay for my own shipping back, then I have to pay nine dollars shipping and handling for each SINGLE PAN that they send back under the warranty to me!!!!!!!!!!! I might as well go buy a brand new set of cookware that is decent and will do a lot better job than Gotham has done. This lifetime warranty crap is just what I said crap. The customer service agent told me that in order to get your eggs not to stick they have to be room temperature. I must have missed that part of the commercial. Seriously people stay away from them their product is no good and THEY DO DOT HONOR their promise to the customer!!!!!!!!!!!! Complete BS
[email protected] Send email
 
Jan 21, 2019

9 inch pan

everything sticks from day one, absoute trash and waste of money
Natasha15 Send email
 
Dec 27, 2018

Pots and pans

after using these pants for over a week I've noticed that the pots get a film on them they are definitely not dishwasher safe Gotham steel needs to read define their commercial with the truth.
jhbeaver Send email
 
Dec 6, 2018

Gotham Steel Copper pans

We purchased two Gotham Steel pans, a 12 and 10 in pans. I have the same problem with either. After about a week of use the pans are either scratched or the copper is worn thin. In either case the pan is o where close to the advertised pans. Food will stick, food does not slide across the pan and clean up is once again just another pan to scrub. Unfortunately the advertisement on the pan was tossed with the first use. My advice is stay away from the Gotham Steel kitchen pans.

Jerry Beaver - [email protected]
joymkr Send email
 
Nov 19, 2018

inferior quality and dangerous handles

I just purchased the two-piece set of Gotham steel cooking pans. My first use of the small egg pan was a total disaster. The eggs (2) stuck solidly to the sides and it was impossible to release them without a scraper. The eggs burnt easily due to the very thin nature of the pan.
The handles are very uncomfortable to use and get extremely hot during the cooking process. Fortunately, I have a stove mitten which prevented some serious hand burning.
This product is heavily advertised in my area; unfortunately, the product does not perform as advertised. I noticed that there is a $9 fee for returning the skillets; in addition, one needs to use some postal service which will also charge for delivery. It almost costs more to return the product that the purchase price. Fortunately, the True Value Hardware store in my community has excellent customer service and they will refund the total cost of the skillets.
I also noticed the legal document which states that only arbitration may be used to remedy a sale/return. I assume that there are many complaints regarding the skillets. 75% of testers at Consumer Reports posted a negative rating. There were also many negative ratings at Amazon.com.

I plan on filing a complaint with the Arizona State Attorney General's Office, the Federal Trade Commission, and our local Better Business Bureau.
It is very unfortunate that this highly advertised product has received such an outpouring of complaints.
Robert W Brooks
Prescott, AZ
[email protected]
Suanne Send email
 
Nov 18, 2018

9" Gotham Pan

This Pan is JUNK everything sticks you can't even flip an egg without a complete mess. I have 2 each used once or twice and will throw away as JUNK
Gina Alford Send email
 
Oct 28, 2018

Sticking

Pans only used few times now it's sticking. Will not buy anymore
pmarwick Send email
 
Oct 27, 2018

91/2 inch pan

I am just like the other hundred complaints. It works great until the warranty runs out. I cooked a fish in the pan and couldn't get it out. It was completely stuck to the pan. What a piece of junk. I was just about to buy the complete set of pots and pans for a gift. I guess I will save the $125. dollars. Definitely will NEVER buy that crap again.
Paulah May Send email
 
Oct 26, 2018

Gotham Steel Copper pans

What a total load..Save your money.~ you may as well use your clothes iron or your car radiator to cook on. Theyre that bad!!

Yes as everyone else has said, the pans are non stick for a short time, then you might as well be trying to fry plastic bags.

After a couple months of really enjoying this set of pans, I set about making breakfast and there were more eggs stuck to the pan than we even were able to chisel out onto our plates, probably because as the egg was cooking, a layer was getting hopelessly and almost permanently stuck to the pan, and the layer of egg above the burnt and embedded egg was still raw and would not cook through, as soon as i pried some burnt egg layer back to try to cook the remaining goo, it would stick then burn and meld with the pan,
someone likened these pans to cast iron, and i have to say that i have cast iron cookware, I have successfully seasoned it and although it would not be my first choice for cooking eggs, im confident i wouldnt have as much of a mess and disaster as i would from these stupid gotham pans.
Oh, and dont let me forget to add that after the eggs burnt, stuck and melded with the copper fry pan they were nearly impossible to remove even after soaking the pan overnight! Finding them still adhered snugly to the so-called "nonstick surface', I tried pouring boiling water and a little dish soap in and let that sit awhile~ i still needed a scouring pad to remove the egg and I honestly have not had eggs stick to a pan in this way since i first began cooking and had no idea about using oil and low heat to properly cook most things in a skillet. i wanted to throw the damn pan away right then but i and both of my daughters got entire sets of these shit pans from my dad for Christmas last year and it would hurt his feelings to find out theyre awful and the whole damn set is trash! So each of us has set aside our least used and maybe still somewhat functional pan in the set to use only when "Papa" comes for dinner!! Doesn't that just suck? this company should be ashamed of making claims that they cant deliver on about a tool we all need to function in our lives. SHAMEFUL!! we cant all afford to go out and replace an entire set of pans every three months! What kind of business does such bad business?? One that should be put OUT of business, Thats what kind! Horrible people behind this rip off.
That being said, i even tried to season my copper pans like you would a cast iron skillet, hoping to find a way to salvage the investment my father made for all of us to have brand new sets of pans to cook in... and even after the seasoning process that works like a charm for my cast iron...AND adding a couple tablespoons of oil before cooking and using a very low heat.... anything i put in those pans immediately sticks like a tongue on a frozen flag pole. WIsh we had all held on to our old worn out cookware after recieving these new pans from my dad, because id rather have my old ugly worn stuff than be stuck with a cupboard full of unusable frying pans! Ive had to dig out the pan i use for camping just to be able to scramble eggs or make pancakes and have them actually make it to the plates!

THESE PANS BARELY MAKE IT THROUGH A 90 DAY WARRANTY!!

for $20 a piece, let alone the cost of a whole new set, you might as well buy aluminum foil and try to cook breakfast on that, at least you can throw it away each time and start fresh.

GOTHAM STEEL PANS SUCK. Theyre not for everyday cooking, unless you only plan on cooking in them for one day. They only live up to the advertising claims the first three or four uses.

WE SHOULD ALL GET OUR MONEY BACK!!! The ads are totally misleading and false. The company should be held accountable and we should all be very very mad about this fraud. I dont care if "its only a $20 pan ", Ive had better $15 pans time and time again!! and they didnt claim to be "the last pan you'll ever need".!!!
richiehat Send email
 
Oct 18, 2018

dont work

the pan was good for about 3 weeks after that everything sticks, and to get a replacement you have to pay 9.95 shipping and handling plus you have to pay to send it back apx $7 dollars , so how is that a FREE REPLACEMENT, scammmmm
marrxx Send email
 
Oct 1, 2018

GOTHMA STEEL FRAUD

NON STICK???????THAT'S A LAUGH. ANYONE NOTICED UNEVEN HEATING AND HOT SPOT IN THE CENTER THAT BURNS EVERYTHING ON MEDIUM HEAT WHILE THE PERIMETER IS LUKE WARM???
I USED THE LARGE ONE FOR BREADED CHICKEN CUTLETS. NOTHING GETS GOLDEN BROWN UNLESS YOU AMP UP THE HEAT AND THEN THE BEADING STICKS TO THE 'WONDERFUL COPPER NON STICK' SURFACE. WHO EVER MAKES THESE AND ADVERTISES THEM SHOULD BE PROSECUTED. I AM LOOKING INTO A CLASS ACTION SUIT. ANYONE INTERESTED?
kirkdoran Send email
 
Oct 1, 2018

junk don't work

hands down the worst pans and pots. I used cheap ones from Walmart that works better. they all chipped and stuff sticks and burns . they dont work as promised and advertise. I smell lawsuit
kirkdoran Send email
 
Oct 1, 2018

junk don't work

hands down the worst pans and pots. I used cheap ones from Walmart that works better. they all chipped and stuff sticks and burns . they cook every thing bad . so I feel there is alot of false advertising. we are not getting as they say we do. so I feel they should have to refund every one. Even a class action lawsuit. you cant advertise and make promises. when your product does not hold up to them.
rcgold Send email
 
Sep 27, 2018

Food Sticks to Pan

I'm glad I checked this site because when I called the 888-326-0978 number the operator Joy told me that I had a lifetime warranty on the pan and to return it and they would send me a new one. She told me to send it to: Gotham Cookware, 230 5th Ave, suite 800, NY, NY, 10001. I boxed it up enclosed a letter and it's ready to ship. For some reason, since the address did not sound good to me, I checked it out on line. There is no such company at that address. The suite 800 belongs to some electronics export firm. Good thing I did I would have really been pissed to spend the money to send it to some phone address.
I'm going to unpack it tomorrow and throw it away and not even try any further. Lesson learned: do not buy things that you see advertised on tv! End of story.
tms2018 Send email
 
Sep 14, 2018

Food Sticks and Scratches

My husband bought me the whole set of Gotham Steel, pans and pots for a gift. After using for about two months, the food began sticking to the pan and it was hard to get clean without soaking for a couple of hours. Very disappointed with this product. When I called Customer Service, they said I would have to send back for them to make a decision. I firstly went to Showcase in Winnipeg at 1485 Portage Avenue and they said they could do nothing for me. I would have to contact the company. In the past I have purchased many items from various outlets/stores and I never had so much trouble in explaining my concerns about the products. Will not be buying this product and will let my friends and family know about my concerns and how I was treated.It sure would be nice for someone to contact me with my concerns.
Lisa R Send email
 
Sep 2, 2018

Very disappointed

First two months everything good as well. Then one day being used cooking eggs and pancakes, it all stuck to the pan.
it also left black marks on the pan. We tried it over and over again in hopes to get different results. It was always the same. I would not recommend getting these pan. The label says lifetime replacement warranty. That means I should be able to return every time I get one.
kbrealtron Send email
 
Aug 27, 2018

Everything Sticks

First two months everything good as well. Then one day being used cooking eggs and beacon and pancakes, it all stuck to the pan.
it also left black marks on the pan. We tried it over and over again in hopes to get different results. It was always the same. I would not recommend getting these pans.
Janet09 Send email
 
Aug 19, 2018

Gotham pans

I loved my 9.5 fry pan for about the first two months. Nothing stuck, then one day everything started sticking, even bacon. Forget trying to cook eggs., unless you like scrambled. I am so disappointed. What a waste of money. Back to lagostina, don't even waste your time trying to call, they don't answer.
Sydney Grant Send email
 
Aug 3, 2018

Gotham 12 inch frying pan sticking

I bought a 12inch Gotham frying pan and had some spray on oil stick to it and I cannot get it off. I have tried various methods and ending up scratching the pan.
Karonkrueger Send email
 
Jul 23, 2018

Complete pan set

Oh my goodness, my pan set is not what I thought it would be. I'm 65 so I have went thru my share of pan set. But yesterday I steamed some breaded chicken and it stuck to the pan so bad I thought it was like using cast iron. It took me 20 minutes,to get it off the bottom of the pan. I'm not joking. I have used very cheap Teflon pan and have never had anything stick as bad as this did. My friend thought I was being to gentle so she tried and I was so close to throwing it in the trash. I've used mostly Wearever pan then went to Rachel Ray pans but left them behind in the move her. Never have I had a pan that is supposed to be non stick even when yhey are all scratched o heck. I'm going to buy me another brand since these look like new but stick to bad for me to use. Is there anything I can do to these to make them useable again?
Patsy Morgan Send email
 
Jul 6, 2018

Everything sticks regardless of use or care

I received these as a gift and was delighted until I started to use them. The first day I tried to cook an egg in it and IT Stuck to the pan!! I even tried putting water in the pan and poach an egg but it sticks all the time! I am very, very, very disappointed with all the skillets & pans! I have never used any utensil on it except plastic, never put it in the dishwasher, or used any spray on it. I hand wash all my pans & (My Gosh) never used any metal utensil or especially an electric mixer on it. Yes, I too would like my money back so I can purchase a different set of pans that actually do what they say!!!
Momma Bear Send email
 
Jul 1, 2018

fry pan sticking

Was given a Gotham Steel Fry Pan for Christmas. Was amazed on how well it worked and how easy it was to clean well that lasted 2 months. Then everything started to stick and burn on the pan. I have never used any oil or spray products and do not cook at high temperatures. VERY unhappy with this product.. Can't find any where to send the company a direct complaint (funny how that works(
Middleton Send email
 
Jun 25, 2018

12" Fry Pan

Purchased Gotham Steel 12" fry pan around October 2017. Worked beautifully for the first 2 months. Thereafter three spots on surface would have the food sticking to it. Thought it was warrantied against this but told by customer service that it is only warrantied for 90 days. I'm sure that this was not stated on the labelling card that came with it.

Price is competitive but quality sucks big time.

Will not buy Gotham Steel products anymore will go back to Lagostina. More pricey but quality is great.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Macys Worry No More Protection Plan - Worry No More is a scam
    Do NOT let any technician write up an order to replace the...
    IC free shipping.com - Unauthorized withdrawal
    IC shipping has been taking automatic $12.97 out of my...
    Zerowater - Terrible tasting water!
    I bought a ZeroWater 23 Cup Pitcher. Our house uses...
    Facebook - Identity regarding employee
    I had received an email from Facebook company last...
    dri*avast software orderfind.com - Unauthorized charges
    I was charged 39.39 and 85.59 on my credit card. These...
    Pfizer / Tetracycline - Tetracycline Staining
    I was given oxytetracycline for 15 years back in the early...
    microsoft*store msbill.info wa - Xbox one
    Good morning my son made to Purchases one for 9.99 and...
    Edgars - Edgars
    Good Day I am really unhappy with the recent...
    Jet Phalaborwa - Bad attitude
    Good morning I went to jet Phalaborwa yesterday 17...
    MIBFA - Surplus benefits
    I am lost for ideas and ways of working out how the MIBFA...

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Macys Worry No More Protection Plan - Worry No More is a scam
    Do NOT let any technician write up an order to replace the...
    IC free shipping.com - Unauthorized withdrawal
    IC shipping has been taking automatic $12.97 out of my...
    Zerowater - Terrible tasting water!
    I bought a ZeroWater 23 Cup Pitcher. Our house uses...
    Facebook - Identity regarding employee
    I had received an email from Facebook company last...
    dri*avast software orderfind.com - Unauthorized charges
    I was charged 39.39 and 85.59 on my credit card. These...
    Pfizer / Tetracycline - Tetracycline Staining
    I was given oxytetracycline for 15 years back in the early...
    microsoft*store msbill.info wa - Xbox one
    Good morning my son made to Purchases one for 9.99 and...
    Edgars - Edgars
    Good Day I am really unhappy with the recent...
    Jet Phalaborwa - Bad attitude
    Good morning I went to jet Phalaborwa yesterday 17...
    MIBFA - Surplus benefits
    I am lost for ideas and ways of working out how the MIBFA...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username