Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Multichoice

South Africa

Consumer complaints and reviews about Multichoice

layla2 Send email
 
Sep 17, 2018

BAD SERVICE

SINCE 13/09/2018 MY DSTV HAS BEEN OFF. I HAVE CALLED SEVERAL TIMES COSTING ME OVER R200 AIRTIME AND ALL THEY SAY ALL THE TIME THEY WILL SEND A SIGNAL ITS A E30 ERROR. THE ACCOUNT IS UP TO DATE BUT FOR 5 DAYS I HAVE BEEN SITTING WITHOUT SERVICE BUT YET I MUST PAY. THIS IS SO UNFAIR AND THE WORST SERVICE EVER. I WILL BE LEAVING THIS SERVICE AS IT IS PF NO BENEFIT FOR ME.
Kristan_solomon Send email
 
Sep 17, 2018

E48-32 error

Please please can someone assist with this persistent problem, im getting the E48-32 errors since last week Thursday morning 13 Sept 2018, after struggling to get through to DSTV Call Centre because the lines were extremely busy and my airtime was limited i got through Friday evening and the consultant helped me and we got the 2 single View HD decoders working the Explora 2 was working just fine, once the small decoders were working the Explora 2 started giving problems and still is, some channels are working like cartoons and none of the other channels as soon as i switch over i get the error or while my soon is watching cartoons the Explora 2 resets itself, this is extremely frustrating, i had people over and all that could play was cartoons for a picture on the tv... yet when the Compact Plus instalment is due i dont pay for cartoons only i pay for the channels that are not working... this is no value for money and airtime having to call in and spend all the time on the phone with the consultants and then the problem just reoccurs again.
sigidik Send email
 
Sep 6, 2018

Price lock incompetence

I haven't been subjected to a level of incompetence like the torture that i am currently being subjected to. Called in yesternight asking for a simple assistance to deal with an error message. In a speed of a lightning, the mediocre consultant managed to duplicate my accounts and i am currently owing R4165, despite being on price lock. Every consultant i had the displeasure of calling since then recited a phrase of escalating the issue. I haven't been able to watch TV even as I write this frustration. The consultants this morning are still escalating the problem. My loyalty is being tested in a mediocrity manner. As if it wasn't enough, there's is no number to call when frustrated by the blatant incompetence.
mbali78708 Send email
 
Aug 30, 2018

DSTV ACCOUNT

HI I PAID MY DSTV ON THE 26 OF JULY 2018 BUT ON THE 02 OF AUGUST THEY CLOSED IT SAYING I DID NOT PAY AND I KEPT CALLING THEY SAY I MUST SEND MY BANK STATEMENT AS PROOF OF PAYMENT I DID MULTIPLE TIMES THEY TOLD ESCALITING THE MATTER BUT STILL MY ACCOUNT IS STILL CLOSED I PAID AGAIN THIS MONTH ON THE 27 OF AUGUST STILL ITS CLOSED EVERY TIME I HAVE TO WATCH TV I HAVE TO CALL MULTICHOICE USING MY AIRTIME AND EVERYTHING STILL NO HELP I SPEAK TO DIFFERENT AGENTS EVERY TIME I CALL AND THEY ALL SAY THE SAME THING THAT I MUST SEND MY BANK STATEMENT AND I DO EVERY TIME STILL NO HELP SO WHAT SHALL I DO
lyn early Send email
 
Jun 28, 2018

dstv magazine not delivered

I am really fed up with Multichoce. I continually have to phone them every month as they do not deliver the DSTV magazine to me. I spend hours on the phone and am always told my problem will be escalated, but usually to no avail.They promise to post the magazine to me but seldom does it arrive. Typical example I phoned about 4 times in June requesting the magazine - am told they will do so but no magazine arrives. I eventually got a suoervisor who phoned me and she sent the June issue by courier and it was already into June so I missed the first week of programmes to check which ones I wanted to see. She assured me it would not happen again and I would get it every month. Well on the 25 June I received a copy of the magazine in the post, and guess what it was the June issue. The month is finished so it is of no use.

I am now waiting for the July issue which hasn't arrived AGAIN!!!!!

Why is it so difficult to get this magazine delivered to me, surely their postal department can do a simply thing like post a copy, it seems to me they are completely incompetent and couldn't be bothered to satisy clients. They are very quick to take the monthly subscription fee though.

I would be obliged if you could investigate this for me.

Thank you
Lyn Early
Multichoice subscriber number 67857657
My cell - 0826249385
Prani09 Send email
 
Apr 3, 2018

Dissappointed

I would like to complain about the GLOW channel being taken off from DSTV, I enjoyed the Indian soapies on the channel and just when it got interesting the channel was closed by DSTV.

DSTV should have atleast taken into account the number of viewers the channel has before closing it.

A lot of members will move over to other competitors who still have the GLOW channel
shahiedaz Send email
 
Mar 26, 2018

refund

I have accidentally paid 10 000 rand to multichoice as opposed to 1000. They are refusing to refund me and providing me with nothing but excuses
maps Send email
 
Mar 19, 2018

incorrect billing

in September 2017 we started experiencing problems with multichoice- where account would be paid and not allocated. we had to allocate it manually using the app. we were on the price lock from 18/01/2016 to the 16/01/2018 price lock means that you would pay the same amount for the 24 months it would be more if one has insurance but It would be the same amount for the whole 2 years. Now multichoice started by suspending the account for payment on the dawn of the payment date. then they're cyborg systems sent an sms for an outstanding amount of R4450.00 thinking my account is paid for yearly. when I called to enquire, the call center agent who did know what he was doing advised me that they bill in arrears and my account is owing. WHAT IS IT OWING, WHAT IS PRICE LOCK IN THE FIRST PLACE? I called again the same day spoke to Lunga who confirmed that they bill in advance- forward billing the imbicile did not even know what a recon is. which by the way I am still waiting for from the 18/01/2016 to date. he furthermore told me that the account was in arrears with an amount of R246. I asked who did they inform about this amount due. he blamed it on their thinking system. I fail to understand why multichoice hire staff that can't think like systems, if your system is so advance why are you hiring incompetent people?
Lunga told me that the 246 accumulated to R945.50 and this amount needs to be paid by the 16/02/2018. I only paid the amount I know its due as to date I have not received proper statement showing how this amount accumulated. I was told to spend more of my money and go to a dstv outlet and request for these statements but why? is the branch using a different system that des not think and is actually able to get clients what they want.
I want the suspension to be removed because it is your incompetence that caused this, this all started when our account was given a different person to handle after the lady who was dealing with it left. Fix this **** as I am not owing anything I await statements showing how I accrued this debt.

I received 4 statement yesterday and it clearly shows an amount of R565.00 that was not allocated by multichoice and now they say I skipped a month without paying. why was the viewing not suspended and why is it that when an amount is paid the opening balance is not reduced but it increases?

This is very irritating and annoying to say the least. When you call you are always told about the system. no one is able to fix this problem and there is no way on earth I am owing multichoice.

Can the system or someone do something before I lose my cool.
Eva Parsuraman Send email
 
Mar 12, 2018

Refurbished Decoder

Good Morning

I have been having problems with my decoder recently. I have both decoders from branch new. The singly view was working fine and we had no issues with it. The PVR decoder has been losing some channels have now and then. I would then take the decoder in and they would reset it. But this was happening too frequently and after quite a few calls and many visits to the contact centre I asked them to change both the decoders on Saturday.

I spent over an hour at the Umhlanga Branch because the software had to be reloaded. The technician gave me only the refurbished single view decoder without a box, cables or remote. When we got home we tried using our other remotes to use the decoder but none would work. The PVR decoder had no display and the condition of it was pathetic. Even mine was in way better condition than that one.
So we went back on Sunday to see what was wrong with both the decoders. The technician told us that the decoder works with a different remote and would not work with what we currently have. So hey gave us the box with the cables and remote in it, which they should have given us on Saturday. Okay so we explained the issue with the PVR and they swopped it again for another refurbished decoder. While we were at the store, we did see that the technician was having problems with the remote signal to the decoder.
She did try several remotes and changed batteries whilst we were there. But maybe she thought that the software upgrade will sort that out. Anyways we waited another hour or so and she brought the decoder to us and we left.

When I arrived home we tried both the decoders - the refurbished single view works fine but the PVR is not receiving a signal from the remote. We contacted that call centre twice yesterday afternoon and everything was reset and tested. But it still does not receive a signal from the remote.

Now my question is how many times must we change to a refurbished decoder. We have been so inconvenienced and when is enough, enough? Why am I paying insurance then if you are going to give me refurbished decoders that donot work? Who is going to pay for my petrol and what about my time spent at the branch?

Your assistance is appreciated, please.

Regards
Eva Parsuraman
0848819911/0313363347
Alfredine Heemro Send email
 
Feb 17, 2018

Arrears

I was on the pricelock account with dstv. In May 2017 i settled this account. I never received any correspondence from dstv until January 2018 when they dusconnected my services. After many calls and emails they rectified this but now suddenly there was arrears for their mistake. I went to dstv agency in newton park and they said there is nothing they can do about it i have to pay arrears of R1700. I payed it and on thursday suddenly there was more arrears of R298. This morning i woke up my services is suspended again. And now they say the arrears is R717. I cant understand this where is this arrears coming from. Please help me
nbarnard Send email
 
Jan 19, 2018

No feedback from Customer Service

We recently moved and have decided to upgrade to an Explora. We were advised to apply for the pricelock option. The whole process was completed via phone and we were told that it was approved and that the Explora will be deliverd within 3 to 5 working days. This is now almost three weeks later and still no Explora. After several phone calls to multichoice we still don't have an answer as to why we have not received it yet. We went to the Multichoice customer care centre where we were told that someone will contact us regarding the issue. Yet again two days later no call. Our next step will be to cancel our subscription after 10 years. This is truly unacceptable as we are paying for a service that we are unable to use.
Portia lepolesa Send email
 
Dec 4, 2017

Unallocated dstv payment

I paid my dstv account on the 29th of September 2017 an amount of R 1157.00.
Payment method that was used was EFT SO which means dstv account is already a beneficiary on nedbank internet.
I wa told that I paid into the wrong account which belongs to dstv Africa.
I made severralss calls to dstv for them to assist me with these as I believe this problem should be soughted by them as dstv Africa is one of their brnaches.

My services has been on and off because of these and every time when I phone I get a different person.I will be told that they have reconnected my services but every time I will only watch for few days after that they are suspended again.

Right now they are currently suspended.
Ever since September they cannot seem to solve the problem by speaking to dstv Africa to reaalocate the funds to my account.

Lastly I phoned and I spoke to anther lady who told me to pay r 447.32 AND THE LADY TOLD ME SHE REVERSED THE CHARGES AND I MUST PAY THAT AMOUNT.SHE ACTIVATED MY SERVICES.

RIGHT NOW THEY ARE DISCONNECTED.SINCE SEPTEMBER DSTY CANNOT SEEM TO ALLOCATE MY PAYMENT.

I AM SO DISSAPOINTED WITH THEIR SERVICES.
lungilemngoma Send email
 
Nov 28, 2017

debited wrong amount

Multichoice debited R1500 instead of R549 form my account , becaue of that the premium for the car insurance was not met, I ws not aware of this only today when i submitt the calim to the insurance becasue my car was involved in the accident then the iunsurance told me I didnt pay, when i go to the bank only to find that multichoice took all the money for other debits,

I want them to pay for my car to be fixed, I want them to get me a hired car to use when the car is still in for repairs. Every month i call multichoice more tha 5 times , I also fax them proof of payment when Ive done the payment . I want them to do the print out of how many times i have called mutlichoice begging them to sort out this problem. Im up to date with my payments, everytime when you call them they say the matter will be escallated and look what happened now, im not going to suffer becasue of their incompetence. Im prepared to take this matter further , im not going to allow them to do this to any other customer.


my id number - 7003230375088
my email address - lungile.mngoma@eskom.co.za
my contact number - 0648742863
ndiza35 Send email
 
Oct 18, 2017

Fraud

I want to lay a charge/complaint against your company or whoever that’s been busy accessing my DSTV acc without my concern

Yesterday I received an sms on my prepaid number of which I never registered it with multichoice about my R365 debit order running on the 20th Oct to my knowledge you people have my contract number(0826952665) which I never updated on your systems to my surprise the message came through on my prepaid number (0608417402) meaning someone is been fiddling with my acc cause I never called in & updated anything until this morning. I suspect fraudulent activities happening in my acc because this morning I received this below email which I know nothing about.

Whoever that has access to it has my private details such as my ID number etc and this is unsafe, I want action taken up against your company before taking it further with the Ombuds

Awaiting feedback ASAP

Angry customer
N
ClarkSamantha Send email
 
Sep 15, 2017

False arrears on credit score

Good day,we applying for a bond and my multichoice account is showing that I have 7 months in arrears which is affecting me from getting a bond with SA home loan.Ive called in Tuesday for a letter stating I was not in arrears till this day I have not received it.I have received a letter stating my account is paid up which does not help because it speaks nothing about arrears.My subscriptions has never been disconnected?How difficult is it to get the letter?

False arrears on credit score

JCvR Send email
 
Jul 18, 2017

Lack of Service

It seems everybody has a complaint about Multichoice service which is paid for at a very high price for the quality of service and product. I have subscribed to this service for years and in the beginning when a simple card switch was sufficient to activate the service you paid for all was ok. Now the switching of service takes anything from 3 hours to a day by phone or sms. Every time a switch is done there are errors. Check and re-checks are required until eventually after spending a lot of time the switch is done. NO credit is passed for the lack of service! Our guests or family have already given up on a system dearly paid for on installation and on a monthly bases. The visiting family have already given up and are watching their TV directly from the internet. Before using DSTV rather do the internet connection. It is cheaper and is NOT RESTRICTED to where you are!
Smkhize Send email
 
Jul 14, 2017

False sales

On the 13th of July 2017, I have called in requesting an upgrade with channel 103 in my engagement with the call center agent Olwetho Bafo she advised that I can upgrade to Dstv extra which has this specific channel 103. Nevertheless the same night I watched the channel as the upgrade was processed. The following day 14 July 2017 all upgraded channels were not playing. I have contacted Multichoice contact center 3 Times with the same complaint and I was told my upgrade is pending then my question was how did I manage to have access to these channels if my upgrade is pending. No proper response was given but sir will reinstate your upgrade. Only to find out that channel 103 was not playing. Then I called back only to be told this package does not have channel 103, now in in a predicament of paying for an upgrade that has no channel that I wanted. This is really uncalled for and immediate action must be taken as I am not willing to be paying for satisfactory service. Regards Mr SR Mkhize, at 0835661197 smart card number 1030150906
lionel Send email
 
May 3, 2017

Decoder change of ownership

First things first multichoice service is absolute garbage and are here to charge you for unesserray things.
So a relative gave me an hd pvr and it was missing a smart card, so called customer care to find out the correct procedure to follow.
The lady tells me all i need to do is print out the forms and get the previous owner to sign. Iv done my research before i called.
I asked if i will need a copy of the previous owners id.
She says no, with the new forms all i don't, just the previous owers id number and signature.
Multichoice office is really far from me and after getting there they say they cant do anything without the previous owners id. Customer care consultants are not up to date or mislead people. That was just 1 issue, the second is that i will have to purchase a new smart card as the 1 from my old decoder is linked to the old decoder. So i have to buy 1 for R120.
This is bullshit because if what they say is true then then would not be able to sell you a new one.
They however can programme your old card for new decoder but wont cause they want to charge you for a new one.
I know this cause a friend with the same issue threw a fit with them and all of a sudden they were able to progame the old smart card.
Multichoice are thieves, just here for your money. They really dont care about anyone.
fact is multichoice is shit and people rather close there account and use the internet.
JAY ICARANOM Send email
 
Apr 28, 2017

No connection

I paid my bill through multichannel while my decoder was off.. The payment didn't go through. What will I do?
tngece Send email
 
Feb 2, 2017

DOUBLE BILLING

On 01/02/2017, Multichoice double-billed me with R1518,00 instead of R759,00 and that led to my bank account being overdrawn.I sent them numerous messages and made phone calls.They said they will refund me with R759,00 but they refuse to reimburse me with bank charges. Up until now my bank account has not been re-credited.
ertia Dithipe Send email
 
Jan 11, 2017

disconnect dstb

My dstv has been disconnect since around 11H00 today and i call but could not getany assistance as it is still not working. My method of paymet is debit order. Please connect my dstv and also phone me on this number 0766588842
ertia Dithipe Send email
 
Jan 11, 2017

disconnect dstv

My dstv has been disconnect since 11H00 and i called for assistance but even now it's not working. I'm paying via debit order and when i encounter a problem like this it up set me because my account is up to date. Please contact on this number as soon as possible 0766588842
Brandonv Send email
 
Dec 5, 2016

Bad Services

I made contact with Multichoice 30/11/2016 regarding a connection installation error, they referred me to a technician 'IP Installations' Indrin was the contact person 0832883233, who advised me that he only has an opening to come out to my place on Saturday 03/12/2016 @ 11am and requested that I send him an sms with my details to confirm our appointment, At 12pm on Saturday I phoned Indrin as he was a no show for our 11am appointment, I asked him if he had forgotten our 11am appointment and from his response I could hear that he had made no effort to diaries our appointment. I confronted him on this in which he then dropped the phone on me. I called Multichoice advising them of my bad service experience that I had received from their technition in which the servicing consultant provided me with another technicians number, I left the person a detailed msg to call me back regarding an error on my dish, to date the 2nd technician has not phoned me back.
nomathemba Send email
 
Dec 5, 2016

connection failure

On the 30th of November late in the evening there was a storm and strong wind since then the connection on my decoder was lost. i called multi choice customer care on friday and i was told to re start everything including the network cable but the error still kept popping up on y screen. Saturday morning i called again and i spoke to 3 people who also could'nt help the last lady told me to go to the nearest multichoice agency in springs and i did they tested the decoder and it was fine by them. They told e i must take it back home connect it and if it still gives he same error then they will send a technician but they going to charge me for a call out ................ when i got home connected the decoder it still gave me the same error. Today i called and i spoke to the technician and he said they can come and fix it but i have to pay R300.00 cash.
Now this is what annoys me, 1. My account i up to date. 2. it is not my fault that the connection was affected by the weather which i have no control over but God does. 3. i didnt connect this myself but people from multichoice did meaning they where suppose to know that days with the bad weather are coming therefore tighten it or whatever measures they had to take to make sure not matter how strong the wind is it does not lose connection. 4. i have been without tv for the past 6 days 5. i have to pay R300 which i do not have "bear in mind that i m a single parent with 3 kids". 6. what if i pay today and they fix it and later today we the same weather and it looses connection again!!!!!!! then i'll have to pay another R300 AGAIN????????????????? Its a rip off, it is unfair, it is ridiculous and it is money making skeem.

My id:8209031229080
Acc no:1029877073
Smartcard: 4360676
Cell no: 078 4074980
nomcebo Send email
 
Nov 16, 2016

there is no signal

I have been calling dstv the whole day today. 2 channels (Mzansi Magic 161 and Etv) have been giving me signal problems while other channels are working as normal. I want to watch these channels at certain times and I cant cause of this signal I've been getting the past weeks. Please sort this out as I am a paying customer and right now I am not satisfied with the service. I have been re-setting my decoder the whole day. I dont have the airtime to be calling you the whole day.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    The skin - Updating my complaint
    Am updating my complaint because apparently this company...
    Titlemax - Rip off they need to bee closed down
    We borrowed 2000.00 they told us any thing over will go on...
    المصريه للاتصالات - طلب تعويض
    تحيه طيبه وبعد كانت لى شكوى منذ...
    people magazine - Magazine I did NOT order
    Have been receiving People Magazine and I did NOT order...
    Sterling dual capsule - Cigs
    Bought a 20 pack of sterling dual capsule from the Tesco...
    Charmat*reportspc.com 86656056.. - I was randomly charged
    I was randomly charged £59.94 i am assuming my card got...
    Kfc drive thrue kajang - 21 october 2.30am
    21 october 2018 2.30am Drive thrue kajang makanan yang...
    Kfc drive thru kajang, bandar kajang - 21 october 2.30am
    Pada 21 october 2018 jam 2.30 pagi drive thrue kfc kajang,...
    DIRECT MARKETING-INBOUND TELEMARKETING MERCHANTS - SCAMMED
    I got a random charge fee of 59.95 GBP and i feel stuck...
    Nor-dtfee Internet Mh - Multiple unknown charges
    I have received 4 seperate charges that i did not agree to...

    Recently Updated Complaints

    The skin - Updating my complaint
    Am updating my complaint because apparently this company...
    Titlemax - Rip off they need to bee closed down
    We borrowed 2000.00 they told us any thing over will go on...
    المصريه للاتصالات - طلب تعويض
    تحيه طيبه وبعد كانت لى شكوى منذ...
    people magazine - Magazine I did NOT order
    Have been receiving People Magazine and I did NOT order...
    Sterling dual capsule - Cigs
    Bought a 20 pack of sterling dual capsule from the Tesco...
    Charmat*reportspc.com 86656056.. - I was randomly charged
    I was randomly charged £59.94 i am assuming my card got...
    Kfc drive thrue kajang - 21 october 2.30am
    21 october 2018 2.30am Drive thrue kajang makanan yang...
    Kfc drive thru kajang, bandar kajang - 21 october 2.30am
    Pada 21 october 2018 jam 2.30 pagi drive thrue kfc kajang,...
    DIRECT MARKETING-INBOUND TELEMARKETING MERCHANTS - SCAMMED
    I got a random charge fee of 59.95 GBP and i feel stuck...
    Nor-dtfee Internet Mh - Multiple unknown charges
    I have received 4 seperate charges that i did not agree to...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username