Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Sears / Kenmore Elite Refrigerator

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about Sears / Kenmore Elite Refrigerator

ortegaland Send email
 
Nov 17, 2018

Refrigerator repair service call denied

Called to make service appointment and got a tech to "walk me through my problem." Told me no service person was being sent and that all I needed to do was to unplug my refrigerator for 8-10 hours, "take care to mop up all of the water that will leak out" and then my compressor should work just fine. How a noise that I described became the compressor is still a mystery to me. Sears is not even honoring their protection agreements anymore. I was told that there were no more "maintenance" services available regardless of what my protection agreement states, only repairs IF they qualified through a technician's verbal diagnostic. I was then told that my other two protection agreements for my washer and dryer, all bought at the same time with the refrigerator and same 3 year agreements, had been cancelled 5 months after purchase and that I had received a refund of close to $400 for those cancellations. When I asked further for proof, like a cancelled check or to speak to a supervisor I was promptly disconnected after being on the phone trying to simply make an appointment for my refrigerator repair.
mike@mkwe.com Send email
 
Nov 17, 2018

Kenmore Elite 795.7248

I won't bother with my now four-page, single-spaced history of our defective Sears Kenmore Elite refrig which we purchased in November, 2015 (still not 3 years old). It went bad the first week and the salesman replaced it with the current one - which lasted about 18 months, failing on September 27 2018. As I am writing this the Sears technician is in our kitchen - visit #6 - replacing pretty much all the parts, including the mother board, compressor and other parts, trying to get this pile of foreign junk to work. Today is day #54 without the refrigerator. We have a little rental refrig in the garage that Sears SAYS they will reimburse us for - along with all the food we lost. As others have experienced, we have been on phone with various Sears incompetent departments, talked to three managers at the store where we purchased the machine, and nothing. They are helpless to fix this and really could care less that we gave them $3300 in good faith, plus $500 for a "protection agreement" which is all useless. The Protection Agreement - it says after four fixes they will replace the refrigerator - well, folks, the fine print will tell you that those are four DIFFERENT fixes. If it takes them 54 days and 6 visits to fix the reported problems, that's ONE. So, $500 down the drain. My elderly mother-in-law who uses a walker can no longer get her own food since our rental refrig is in the garage where she can't go. Nice, Sears! 54 days. We see no solution and are past all the angry, outrage and horrified stages and now into resignation. Let the Buyer Beware should be the motto of Sears. $3800 lost. Small claims court? Well, doubtful. They don't seem to handle bad merchandise, only claims for cash money losses. If anyone out there has found a solution to these messes, please post and let us know. A Sears technician told us about several class-action lawsuits - but I can't find one that seems to apply to our situation. Maybe its time for Sears to declare full bankruptcy and shut down what WAS an amazing operation but which has deteriorated into a total scam? Good bye Sears.
jnnybrown Send email
 
Nov 10, 2018

Kenmore Fridge

Same as everyone else. Bought the Kenmore Fridge 9/2017 and it went out just under a year later. We've had the compressor, valves, and a number of other things replaced and check. They got it working twice but for less than 24 hours both times. Have had 6 service calls and been out of the fridge for 2 months. Have spent countless hours on this, lost all kinds of money on the food, work time having to cover these half day appointments, and having to eat out basically all the time. Even the $50 reimbursement check they sent for lost food bounced and I was charged $15 for that as well (not kidding!). Total insanity and reps have their hands tied and often couldn't care less. I have been transferred to random departments and hung up on so many times I've lost track. I am all in on a class action lawsuit, no one should have to deal with a company as unethical and manipulative as this. Final phone call was no they can't replace our fridge because the warranty is up since they have taken so long to resolve this despite 8-12 reps assuring me that they would replace it if we met certain requirements which we have. And to make it worse, Sears has know for years about the compression issues and not done anything about it.
jeffory Send email
 
Nov 8, 2018

hobbs

We bought a Kenmore Elite 795.74043.411 bottom freezer and compressor went out with circuit board of course food lost took 6 weeks to repair as no parts in US . We purchased another old refer from Goodwill for 50 bucks and it did fine. Got Kenmore Elite { what a joke name,nothing Elite about it.} Tech chanded compressor and circuit board and informed us that this refer was made by LG and that it had major problems. I wish I would have seen thee message boards before purchase.
Anyway today Nov.7 it did it again,,, no cooling no freezer,,nada. GOOD THING OUR TRUSTY gOODWILL 50.00 DOLLAR REFER WAS STILL IN THE GARAGE.
It works fine when we plugged it in nevertheless I have to try to get the other one fixed.I am beyond angry what a fraud. They should be made to pay for their bad product LG and Sears.
A poix on them both.
jeffory Send email
 
Nov 8, 2018

hobbs

Bought new kenmore elite bottom freezer . compressor and circuit boards went out after 2 years
today nov.7 the refer quit working again.I am beyond angry. No recourse but to bite the bullet and pay.
Goodbye to Kenmore and Sears I am cutting up Sears Card.What a fraud,, a pox on both LG and Sears
Parnell Send email
 
Oct 29, 2018

Sears

Ditto, ditto, ditto.....our story is the same as everyone else's.... Paid a pretty penny for a Kenmore Elite French door model and enjoyed it for less than three years until the compressor went bad. After almost a month without a refrigerator, they had the nerve to offer us a $40 voucher so we could buy an ICE CHEST at Sears.com. After being told that they'd send someone right out after we had received all the parts, even if they had to pay someone overtime, we were then told it would be another two weeks. Still no refrigerator. Please please, can't something be done about these crooks?
beby12 Send email
 
Oct 27, 2018

Kenmore Elite Refrigerator

Refrigerator stopped co9ling items and was hot. sears said they would replace part as it is under warranty, still without a working refrigerator about 5 weeks now as "sears" say they are waiting n LG to deliver parts. I am definitely interested in a lawsuit for the aggravation, lost food items and no service.
BILL DAVIS Send email
 
Oct 26, 2018

FAULTY FREEZER

I BOUGHT THIS EXACT MODEL ; Kenmore 60412 18cu.ft. Top-Freezer Refrigerator with Wire Shelves TWICE !!

THE FIRST ONE WAS DELIVERED WITH A HOLE !! IN THE TOP FREEZER SECTION AND IT WAS RE-PLACED IN LESS THAN A WEEK ,

NOW THE SECOND Kenmore 60412 18cu.ft. Top-Freezer Refrigerator with Wire Shelves HAS DEVELOPED A CRACK IN THE SAME TOP FREEZER SECTION AFTER ALMOST 2 YEARS OF SERVICE .

I HAVE ASKED FOR A SERVICE TECH TO COME AND INSPECT THE PROBLEM AND I WAS TOLD "SORRY !! BUT YOU WILL NEED TO PAY $$ FOR A INSPECTION "

SO NOW I WILL NEED TO GO TO SMALL CLAIMS COURT AND SUE SEARS BECAUSE SEARS POLICY IS AFTER 1 YEAR THEY WILL NOT DO ANYTHING FOR FREE !! WOW !

I HOPE I WILL WIN IN SMALL CLAIMS AND GET LOTS OF LAWYERS TO START CLASS-ACTION SUITS AGAINST SEARS FOR FAULTY APPLIANCES .



Your Order
Placed on Oct 31, 2016 Order #992095086
Delivered
fulfilled by Sears
William Davis
1219 E Barham Dr 144,
San Marcos, CA 92078
760-480-2963
salescheck: 093003067061
return items
exchange items
Need more help? Let us know
get the number
view return policy
NOV
1
Delivered

Total: 1 Item
Kenmore 60412 18cu.ft. Top-Freezer Refrigerator with Wire Shelves - White
Kenmore 60412 18cu.ft. Top-Freezer Refrigerator with Wire Shelves - White$429.99
ssin: 04660412000P
Qty: 1

More support is available for your products.
Billing Address
William Davis
1219 E Barham Dr 144,
San Marcos, CA 92078

760-480-2963

karaokeman999@gmail.com
Order Summary
Merchandise Subtotal$429.99
Delivery Fee$69.99
Additional Discount-($69.99)
Pre-Tax Subtotal$429.99
Sales Tax$34.40
Order Total$464.39
You've earned $19.30 in points on this order.
base
$4.30 in points
bonus
$15.00 in points
view details
Payment Information
Visa ending in 8282 : $464.39
Ssalmones Send email
 
Oct 25, 2018

Sears Kenmore refrigerator

Bought my refrigerator March 2017, stopped cooling June 2018. Story short 4 months after, 3 Sears authorize repair accompanies, various parts changed, refrigerator still doesn't work. Multiples long calls with Sears reps. No help at all. If anyone is in a lawsuit or interested in organizing one please contact me.
Ssalmones Send email
 
Oct 25, 2018

Kenmore Elite Refrigerator

Bought my Kenmore refrigerator in March 2017. It stopped cooling in June 2018. Sears send a tech 3 weeks after to determine it was the compressor. He order the part came back in 3 weeks to replace it. It worked for 1 day. I called back had to wait 3 weeks for a tech to come out again. He order another compressor and the main board. Took another 3 weeks to come out and replace it. Worked for 1 day again. A 3 tech came out said it was a leak and order more parts. October 9,2018 they replaced the parts but didn't work at all. Called Sears they sent a different company that said it was a leak but it's not visible and they won't be able to fix it. Sears said they would send a third repair company. They came 10/23/19 and said it was the seal system and it is covered by the five year kenmore warranty. I called Sears warranty and they said it's Sears that needs to replace it. Sears said they can only replace parts, that Sear warranty should replace it. I am so frustrated going back and forth for 4 months without a refrigerator. I see this is a common complaint and if anyone is interested in filing a lawsuit please contact me.
AA WY Send email
 
Oct 6, 2018

Kenmore Elite Bottom Freezer Model 795.7402

Bought this $2,200.00 piece of garbage May of 2016. September of 2018 it quit working - refrigerator and freezer not cooling at all. Call the Sears/Kenmore customer service and they tell me there is no technician in my area to come diagnose it. They tell me I need to contact a local appliance repair company. So after calling a local company to come diagnose it he tells me the compressor is bad. I call Sears/Kenmore back and request the compressor to be replaced since the compressor has a 10 year warranty. They said it does but the only one who can order the part is a Sears technician. Since there is not one in my area they won't order it. I have to purchase it and pay for it to be repaired. I'd rather throw it away and never purchase LG or Kenmore again. What a joke this company is. They can't produce their own product so they source out to other companies to stick their label on. Shame on LG as well for their faulty products. BUYER BEWARE. Stay away from LG and Kenmore.
SJS902 Send email
 
Oct 5, 2018

KENMORE ELITE 795.74043.411

3 YRS only and does not cool at all , all my food went to waste, Sears said the closest appointment is not until Oct 19 !!
cannot believe it !!
I called a repairman and he said the main board might be the problem and that I will be better if I buy a new one .he did not want to work on it because he said there are a lot of people complaining....two repairman made comments to me about hating this brand and model !!
I hope there is a lawsuit against Kenmore or LG or Sears for selling such a piece of garbage , where can I found out ?
Mitchell04 Send email
 
Oct 2, 2018

Compressor failed

Purchased new Kennmore Elite series fridge from sears in April of 2016. Fridge got warm September 2018, I called sears, they send out repair tech. Tech tested and said it was circuit board but thought it was compressor as well. Sears would only authorize circut bord repair at first and said that when that is installed if its still not working they would authorize compressor repair. Fast forward 2 weeks tech comes out and installs circuit board and surprise compressor is bad as well. Tech reccomends to not waste money on repair and said he'd be back out within 2 years when the compressor fails again. Now going to buy new fridge without these butane compressors that fail.
frustratedelite Send email
 
Sep 26, 2018

Kenmore Elite 74015

Similar story, purchased 1/2017, failed 9/2/2018. Think it is compressor but can't be sure because repairman cancelled twice. Original appt, 9/28, changed to 9/10 (no show), changed back to 9/28, moved up to 9/25 (Sears Cancelled) current appt now 10/25!!!!!! yes over 7 weeks wait for repairman to even show up to diagnose.

Fridge does not cool at all, all the lights are working but not cold at all! Had to throw away all the food in fridge and freezer. Totally frustrated. Considering using independent repairman but concerned about making warranty claim and throwing more money at an appliance that is doomed to fail again. If anyone has advice, please speak up.
lapeterson Send email
 
Sep 15, 2018

Kenmore Elite Refrigerator French Door Bottom Freezer Snack Drawer

Sealed system failure 2.5 years after purchase from Sears $3,200, 7 parts are required to repair it. Technician says the replacement parts will likely fail too. Luckily we purchased the Sears Master Protection Plan, but had difficulty getting them send a technician and to honor the extended warranty. At the time of this writing, the parts have not arrived yet, one week and waiting. The technician said this is happening with all LG refrigerators (in this case the guts of our Kenmore Elite is LG). We had significant food loss too and can not submit a claim until the refrigerator is "repaired". We had to buy a small refrigerator to get us by until such time the refrigerator is repaired. There should be a class action suit. All of these units should be recalled, or out right replaced with no questions asked. LG should be out of business. Consumers should be compensated for the financial loss!
vnomad76 Send email
 
Sep 13, 2018

Kenmore Elite Refrigerator

The compressor went out on my Kenmore Elite Refrigerator in less than 3 years. 1 month to have it replaced and have to pay installation costs. Kenmore repairman tell me this is a constant problem and LG will not admit they have a problem with their compressors. Repairman tells me he will see me in about two years to replace the one he just installed. Can't believe there is not a class action law suit.
ToniSalopek Send email
 
Sep 8, 2018

Kenmore Elite Refrigerator

Our 1 yr, 4 month old refrigerator has a failed evaporator coil. Our repairman will not even replace it; he said that every three years these fail. Cost of parts and labor $771.47. I am not willing to do this every three years so we are heading out to get a new refrigerator, however, I am looking to join a class action suit against them. If not, my plan is to sue them in small claims court to recover my $2,055.45 that we paid for this refrigerator. If I have to go that route, I will also ask for my $175 in repair fees ($90 and $85) and a month and a half without a refrigerator.
BETTY WEBBER Send email
 
Sep 6, 2018

Kenmore Elite refrigerator

Ditto all the complaints I have read here. I hear that Sears is closing in our town - GOOD RIDDANCE - I actually worked for Sears a short time back in the 70's - surely would not work for them now. I spent over $12,000 to outfit my kitchen with Kenmore when I remodeled about 2 yrs ago (almost $4,000 on that piece of Kenmore Elite refrigerator junk). I will probably now have to pay someone to get rid of that thing and buy A REFRIGRATOR that actually works. I hope for better luck this next round.
5craigs Send email
 
Aug 28, 2018

Kenmore Elite 72480

I paid $2800 for this refrigerator in April 2016. 9 months ago the door dispenser for ice and water stopped working and now August 2018 the compressor has stopped working. Had to pay sears tech $100 to come look at and tech said it will cost me another $600 just in labor cost to fix it. I have not got an estimate on fixing the door dispenser. The Sears home number is a joke . The operator acted like she could not hear me and told me to call back. The tech that came out to my house was supposed to be there between 0800 and 5 pm but he did not show up to my house until after 7 pm.
lacona Send email
 
Aug 27, 2018

Kenmore French Door Elite Refrigerator

I purchased the refrigerator in July 2016. On June 12th, 2018 the compressor died. It is now 77 days, 9 service calls later and my refrigerator is still dead. I am so tired of getting the run around with Sears and their horrendous 1-800-MYHOME line on some foreign country. I will give negative reviews wherever I can regarding Sears and am thankful they are slowly dying a slow death. I have already been in contact with 2 local news stations and am hoping to be able to retrieve some part of the over $3000 I have spent on the initial price plus the labor for this obviously faulty compressor installed in all of these refrigerators. I would gladly get involved in a class action lawsuit against Sears & LG.
Lz0kc6 Send email
 
Aug 26, 2018

Kenmore Elite Refrigerator

Another refrigerator / freezer disaster. Purchased the 74023 in 9/16 and now, in 8/18, we awoke to all our food spoiled. It's a Sunday and we're dead in the water. So sad and angry looking at the reviews above. Never again Sears. I've now got what appearappears to be a $2500.00 paper weight.
StampingSue Send email
 
Aug 25, 2018

3 month old Elite frig DEAD

Our Kenmore Elite Refrigerator died after 3 months, 1 week on August 23, 2018. We called the repair number and were told that there were no available appointments for a repairman and we would have to wait 72 hours to get a call back. After calling the next day, were told that they would get back to us within an hour. No call. We did get an email that told us our service was scheduled for 13 days later.
It sounds like we will have to pay the service man anyway. Two weeks waiting for service is unacceptable. If there is a class action suit against Sears, count me I only wish I had seen this long list of complaints before buying my frig at Sears.

.RUN FROM SEARS APPLIANCES!
LadyTennis Send email
 
Aug 20, 2018

Kenmore Elite

I too bought a Kenmore Elite remembering the reputation for quality Kenmore once had. Our refrigerator is less than three years old. It stopped producing cold air. After a 9 day wait for a Sears service appointment, the technician said the compressor was bad. It would take another 14 days for the parts to arrive and to schedule the replacement. Finally the compressor was replaced. Three days later, the refrigerator stopped producing cold air again. This time, a technician came within a day. Our Kenmore Elite has an internal leak that cannot be fixed. Thank goodness we went to RentACenter and rented a refrigerator. If you plan on purchasing a Kenmore Elite, I suggest becoming familiar with your local RentACenter. You will soon need a temporary frig until yours is either fixed or replaced.
V Cutler Send email
 
Aug 19, 2018

Poor Quality Elite Bottom Freezer Refrigerator

Seems like there this a common theme with the Freezer Compressor and Refrigerator Compressor parts going out after a year with the other one going out aft two-three years. I purchased the Elite Bottom Freezer in June 2015. Less than a year the Freezer Compressor went out that created a huge amount of ice that collected in the back of freezer and within the Freezer compartment. In July 2018, the top refrigerator compressor went out and needed to be replaced. Ice appeared at the bottom of the drawer. Another $575 spent. This time I selected a LG service provided as Sears would not replace the compressor at am economical cost.

The other complaint I have is the extreme poor quality of the stainless steel on both compartments. I've tried everything from Kenmore Creme Stainless polish and spray and practically every other cleaner on the market. Stains come back within a day; water marks, uneven surface marks that seems to come from the cold of the freezer, striations that don't go away . It takes me forever to polish up the stainless which makes me want to go back to white appliances.

I figured after paying $2,500 for an Elite, that I would enjoy the refrigerator everyday, but it's been a thorn in my side and I would not give it way to my worse enemy.
QualityCounts Send email
 
Aug 16, 2018

Kenmore Elite Refrigerator

Kenmore Elite 33 cu ft. French Door Bottom-Freezer Refrigerator (Model 72099) was purchased May, 2013. (5 years old now) Recently large blocks of ice were forming inside the freezer compartment. Repair company said the door gasket needed to be replaced. The refrigerator is black. But Sears (LG) no longer makes the gasket in black - just grey or white. The problem is the gasket is visible on both sides when the door is closed so the freezer compartment looks like an oreo cookie - chocolate cookie with cream center. Not exactly the look we purchased at a cost of almost $3k. Love the refrigerator, but we purchased black because we wanted black. Not black and grey. Can't count on Sears anymore.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Chowking Market Market - Service
    It took 20 minutes before I got my ordered food. If I...
    Poslaju Parcel Hub - STUCK
    ER 646924961 MY ER 654233530 MY Dari 13 nov sampai...
    MYDIAL DIGITA LED A MEDIA PVT.LTD. - My dial
    Akash SARODE sabke paise lekar bhag gya h mere bhi 500000...
    Horizoncardserviceses.com - Y’all scammed me out of my money
    Give me my money back now or you will be hearing from my...
    EMS Speed Post - Mumbai, India - ATM Card
    I have applied for the ATM card on 26th October 2018 I...
    POS MALAYSIA - Parcel Not Delivered
    ER605756005MY Parcel stuck at ECPC subang jaya for more...
    Edcon - R1200-00 voucher if you buy for R1200 or more
    I got and SMS advising me if I buy for R1200-00 I will...
    POS LAJU - PARCEL NOT PROCEED
    ER705307525MY Status - Your parcel has departed the...
    pizza hut malaysia - BAD SERVICE
    The price for a take away pizza is suppose to be rm10....
    Vodacom - SASUNG NOTE 9S
    REF: 128 532 80 082 448 3100 SAMSUNG S9+ in for...

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Chowking Market Market - Service
    It took 20 minutes before I got my ordered food. If I...
    Poslaju Parcel Hub - STUCK
    ER 646924961 MY ER 654233530 MY Dari 13 nov sampai...
    MYDIAL DIGITA LED A MEDIA PVT.LTD. - My dial
    Akash SARODE sabke paise lekar bhag gya h mere bhi 500000...
    Horizoncardserviceses.com - Y’all scammed me out of my money
    Give me my money back now or you will be hearing from my...
    EMS Speed Post - Mumbai, India - ATM Card
    I have applied for the ATM card on 26th October 2018 I...
    POS MALAYSIA - Parcel Not Delivered
    ER605756005MY Parcel stuck at ECPC subang jaya for more...
    Edcon - R1200-00 voucher if you buy for R1200 or more
    I got and SMS advising me if I buy for R1200-00 I will...
    POS LAJU - PARCEL NOT PROCEED
    ER705307525MY Status - Your parcel has departed the...
    pizza hut malaysia - BAD SERVICE
    The price for a take away pizza is suppose to be rm10....
    Vodacom - SASUNG NOTE 9S
    REF: 128 532 80 082 448 3100 SAMSUNG S9+ in for...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username