Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

sterling cigarettes

United Kingdom,
England|Suffolk

Consumer complaints and reviews about sterling cigarettes

williams7 Send email
 
Aug 4, 2017

wrong sterling in multipack

i have bought a pack of 100 sterling superkings green but when i got home and opened them up 60 were sterling blue i could not take tham back as i had opened the multipack seal! please reply on where i can return as this is a lot of money to waste!!
Foyzur Rashid Send email
 
Jul 3, 2017

Complaint

Hi.. sterling tabacco 30g dont contain 30g it contains 20g why does it say on the tabacco package 30g when its 20g that's fraud with the whole package its 30g on the box it shoud say 30g and just the tabacco shoud say 20g and that misleading customers and not happy at all because ive been buying sterling tabacco for ages now if my complaint don'tget looked into i will be reporting this to rip of Britain and crime stopers this is fraud I've measured it in weighing scale and its measures 20g not 30g
Julz Send email
 
Jul 2, 2017

STerling red kingsize

I have been buying sterling red for some time I always buy a blister pack 200 when I opened one pack it was sealed like the others to my surprise there weren't any cigarettes in the packet I wasn't happy as it was my last packet and didn't have any more money to buy any more very dissatisfied with this
Hopefully we can sort this out my email is juliepugsy@gmail.com please could you deal with this problem thanks julie
Catrina Send email
 
Jun 5, 2017

Stirling blue

Stirling blue

I have been smoking for over 30yrs and have never had cigarettes this bad for quality before. After lighting the cigarette and having a couple of puffs, when you flick the ash the hole tip comes away with. It's like the cigarette is not packed tight enough. You loose a lot of the cigarette with this. I smoke 20 a day and since the packets have been changed 80% of my cigarettes are doing this. They are not cheap and am now looking for a better quality cigarette.
Catrina robertson
bayles100 Send email
 
Jun 4, 2017

Sterling Superkings Menthol

The taste has changed dramatically. They are harsh, unpleasant, not menthol, make you cough and make you actually want to stop smoking. Not a bad thing many would say. However, I feel that consumers are being ripped off in a totally immoral and inappropriate manner. On this website no spokesperson from the manufacturer has made any comment. Why is that? 43
Sammyb9621 Send email
 
May 26, 2017

"Dual cigarettes"

This has happened several times to me now where i have purchased "sterling fresh burst" and i've now had a full packs worth of cigarettes with no clicker to pop to get the menthol flavour. They taste horrible to me without the menthol addition and it's actually technically false advertising if the product does not include the MAIN FEATURE / PURPOSE. It is disgraceful that this has happened and its quite frankly not good enough.
AMYCOOPER Send email
 
May 20, 2017

Sterling fresh taste/dual

I brought a packet of sterling dual and each cigarette had a cherry smell and taste to them when I clicked to make it menthol. I spend nearly £9 and they are just thrown in the bin. Absolutely disgusted. What a waste of money. Please explain to me what that was?!
blacknight Send email
 
May 14, 2017

sterling superking green

Iam not sure if you're company will read these reviews,but i like many others who after smoking sterling menthol Superkings for years had to purchase the new designed pack of "Sterling Green".Okay you change the design,but it clearly has not gone unnoticed by smokers that the cigarette itself has been changed also!.It is without a doubt the worst cigarette iv ever smoked,the menthol catches you're breath,it makes you're mouth dry,burns quicker,and burns you're tongue.Th e following day i cough more and for longer.Recently i had to go to the doctors,with a big swelling round my neck and jawline(my salivary glands were blocked,im not surprised as you have to squeeze every muscle,tendon of you're neck and lower face around you're jaw to try take a draw to inhale,that it is highly likely why my glands are blocked,squeezing the living daylights of them to inhale.My local newsagent is aware of the complaints of these "New" Cigarettes.Today alone a friend text me and said did i think the Sterling greens gave you a dry mouth.So conclusion, after many years of handing my money over counters for "Sterling menthol superkings" which i know the original no longer exists,i will be researching other brands of menthol cigarettes to buy,that wont give such a horrible experience.And on a final note for whatever reason you have changed a good leading brand of cigarettes,be it profit? or cost effective for you're company? my advice to you first and foremost is to take in account reviews from people AND LISTEN TO YOU'RE LONGSTANDING CUSTOMERS!!
Njp Send email
 
May 1, 2017

Sterling Menthol

Having Smoked Menthol cigarettes for 35 years I find that since the packets have been re-designed so have the cigarettes.They taste disgusting, they smell disgusting and I find I'm now smoking 30-40 instead of 20 as they just don't give the same satisfaction.
I've tried other brands too and they are just as disgusting.
Would you drink decaf instead of strong coffee or dunk your teabag twice.... I doubt it... so my should smokers of Menthol Cigarettes have to put with something half as nice at the same price?
sherrierobbie Send email
 
Apr 30, 2017

STERLING SUPERKINGS RED

ARE YOU USING US AS MINDLESS GUINEAPIGS?
ARE YOU HAVING A JOKE?
IAM ON THE UNDERSTANDING YOU HAVE ONLY CHANGED THE PACKAGING NOT THE CIGARETTE??
IT IS LIGHT WEIGHT NO DRAW TASTES DISGUSTING BURNS RIDICULOUSLY QUICK AND SLIGHTLY SHORTER NOT IMPRESSED.
WILL BE CHANGING BRANDS YOU LOST A VERY OLD CUSTOMER DISGUSTED AT THE GAMES OF MESSING AROUND WITH THE AMOUNT IF CIGGYS IN THE PACKAGE UP AND DOWN LIKE A YO YO LIKE YOUR PRICING STRUCTURE NOW YOU DO THIS!!!!
sherrierobbie Send email
 
Apr 30, 2017

STERLING SUOERKINGS REDS

SINCE TOU HAVE CHANGED STERLING SUPERKINGS PACKET THE RED ONES. THEY ARE NOT LABELLED RED THEY ARE SLIGHTLY SHORTER THEY BURN DOWN SO QUICK AND TASTE AWLFUL.
WHAT HAVE YOU DONE TO THEM????
YOU ARE MEANT TO JUST CHANGE THE PACKAGINGI NOT ALTER THE WHOLE CIGARETTE.
I HAVE NOTICED MANY OTHERS HAVE NOTICED THIS IAM SCAVING THE SHOPS FOR THE ORIGINAL PACKET ONES WHICH ARE SOLID AND HAVE A DRAW.
I HAVE SMOKED THIS BRAND FOR YEARS AND I TOO AM ABSOLUTELY DISGUSTED AT WHAT YOU HAVE DONE TO THEM ARE YOU GAVING A JOKE OR WHAT.
I WILL NO LONGER PURCHASE THESE ABD SEARCH FOR A FAR BETTER QUALITY NEW BRAND.
Craig1989 Send email
 
Apr 24, 2017

Not correct number

I bought a packet of your 20 cigarettes and I was missing 3. I don't really have that much money to buy more and 20 needed to last me. I was very annoyed with only having 17 in my packet to last 14 days.
steve d Send email
 
Apr 8, 2017

burn down time

17 in a pack. Still silver packs £6.99
Problem is taste crap and burn too quickly, only about 4 drags ?
Is this right or is packet I bought fake ?
Bexi Send email
 
Apr 3, 2017

New king size sterling

Been smoking sterling red king size for along time.. even though the 20 packet went from 20 down to 17.. went to the shop yesterday and now they have gone up but you get 20 in but only say sterling king size.. these taste disgusting like something Richmond brand would taste like.. what have you done to these cigarettes? Where has the red gone? Going to have to find a different brand as these taste like utter shite. Presuming this is another way to punish smokers to stop smoking or inhale more chemicals.. like getting rid of 10 packets to make people smoke more.. so anoyed.. thank's a brand I recommended.. will not be using any more!
Caralee Send email
 
Apr 1, 2017

Not a full back of fags

I buyed a 19 back of king side an only got 17 in it not happy
kls121206 Send email
 
Mar 30, 2017

Dual are now not menthol

Could someone confirm why Sterling dual had the click option to make menthol and now don't have the option but are still branded as Sterling Dual???? Mis selling of goods and the title should be changed, please explain???
cassie8927 Send email
 
Mar 27, 2017

discusting

I bought a packet of sterling menthol and they were discusting. I pay extra for the menthol and this is the 2nd pack i have had that had no mint taste what so ever. I am very dissapointed as when i pay for menthol thats what i expect to get.
Scott mcphillips Send email
 
Mar 21, 2017

Sterling cig's

hi just been out and bort my cig's the new Packetjust say's Sterling superking when i got home itryed the cig's out of your new Packet
and thy are not superking's Red cant tast them thy the mild one's .i have been smoking the red for 40 year's .So look's like iwill have two go on two a nother brand which i can tast. yours SJMcPlhillips
Kirstyp Send email
 
Mar 17, 2017

New cig packets Ok, why change the cigs?

I get that the packaging has to be changed but why have the cigs themself been changed they are disgusting good way to loose what little custom u must have now!
Booboo1986 Send email
 
Mar 12, 2017

Dual sterling arnt got any menthol tasye

I would lime to find out how to make an offical complaint. Since new packets, not only.am i now paying £9.20 for 20 fags when before i paid £8.88 BUT i cant smoke them.as there is NO menthol taste in them, i cant smoke a whole one, they taste rank, awful taste, no menthol just poor in genrual.
Caitlin Send email
 
Feb 24, 2017

New packaging, different cigarettes

So I've been smoking sterling duals for well over a year no issues didn't mind 17 in a pack all the rest of it any how since the new packs have come in what the hell am I smoking they are nothing like what they used to be either they are made cheaper for production or full of more additives and chemicals what is going on I'm struggling to find a half decent cigarette to smoke as most now seem to be the same why is this?
baz Send email
 
Feb 20, 2017

rip off cig prices

i have just bought a packet of sterling king size cigarettes normally 20 in a pack for £6.99 then the amount of cigarettes were reduced to 17 in a pack (price £6.99) now at the rip off price of £7.16 to me its a total disgrace and the so called powers to be are not in control of the situation so what is the price going to be when the packs are restored to 20 cigs in a 20 pack????
baz
lincoln
Paddymick Send email
 
Jan 26, 2017

Sterling blue cigarettes

I bought pack of sterling blue ciggerattes today because supermarket didn't have my brand I was disgusted to find there was only 17 fags in the pack I won't be buying them again I don't even like them what a joke cigarette company's must think us smokers are pure stupid I will spread the word it makes me sick and they burn away so fast they should not get away with it greed greed greed
Dawn Brett Send email
 
Dec 18, 2016

Sterling Green

This is just outrageous and unacceptable, people who purchase these cigarettes are plainly being ripped off / robbed and should be compensated!! I purchased 3 packs of Sterling Green and every pack had only 17 cigarettes in them and NO Notification on the pack which is meant to be the legal requirement. Therefore, Sterling manufactures are stealing from the public and what they are doing is illegal!! Its about time smokers stood up and had a voice. Where is the justice for this?? This will also not stop people from smoking....
but only damage the company profits at the end of the day as people will just change their brand!

I am so tired of this country and I call it RIP OFF BRITAIN!!! Its all over this country with insurance companies, rental housing agents all doing and charging what they please and no control on what they charge and what they are charging for!

They have the nerve to say the UK is a 1st world country, well not anymore its not, there is so much corruption and the government is also purely a dictatorship!!! So many stupid laws about smoking and cigarette branding etc it's just ridiculous!! There is NO freedom of choice or speech here in the UK anymore.....but you have to have sex and nudity splashed all over the TV and magazines and what about all the alcohol being sold IN FAMILY supermarkets and the damage drinking does not to mention how drinking damages your body and your MIND plus how drinkers affect others around them.

WAKE UP your dictators!!
James Glover Send email
 
Dec 8, 2016

Why we get less cigarettes

This practise is not unique to Gallaghers, manufacturers of sterling cigarettes. This is happening across the industry in a bid to counter price shock, as UK tobacco taxes rise by an average of 5% every year.

By reducing the number of cigarettes in a 20 pack, the manufacturers can alleviate sudden price rises which would deter more and more consumers from buying through the shops rather than buying them from the black market.

The manufacturers are not doing anything illegal so long as the reduced content is displayed on the packet. In most cases, the number of cigarettes enclosed is printed on the cellophane wrapper.

I am not an apologist for the industry, I'm a freelance journalist who believes in getting the facts straight.

Government taxes now make up nearly 80% of the price of tobacco products and legal sales of tobacco products in the UK has dropped to nearly 60%. This means 40% of sales are no longer recorded, making a nonsense of official figures that claim there has been a big drop in smoking.

Higher and higher taxes are pushing more and more smokers toward illegal sellers creating massive profits for criminal enterprises. The UK has effectively done with tobacco what America did to alcohol back in the prohibition era. Well done A.S.H.

James Glover
Next day news

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Mozilla - Firefox
    Hi I have had Firefox as my browser since the beginning...
    STC - my internet not working
    Sir meri internet 13 din kharab hai plz meri help kro Plz...
    Immigration of malaysia - Illegal foreinger
    Illegal foreigner staying bukit oug condominium address...
    Sapcobro motors - Frot for my uif
    I have been frot for my uif by the supervisor of Bethlehem...
    stc land line - Internet not working
    Sir meri net kharab hai 13 din se band hai plz set...
    Kfc Ara Damansara - Makanan tidak memuaskan
    18 OGOS 2017, jam 04:46 ptg..bertempat KFC Ara...
    Ian Tucker & Co - not registered with the department of labour
    I've been working as a receptionist for this company...
    Pizza Hut - Waiting time
    Phone order 2 pizza and 2 chocolate mousse. Calll the...
    DEPARTMENT OF LABOUR - exploitation
    I earn 2000 a month where I'm working and I'm...
    Kuala Lumpur International Airport Immigration Office - Forbid to fly
    My husband has forbid to fly to Indonesia, they force him...

    Share this site with others

         
          

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Mozilla - Firefox
    Hi I have had Firefox as my browser since the beginning...
    STC - my internet not working
    Sir meri internet 13 din kharab hai plz meri help kro Plz...
    Immigration of malaysia - Illegal foreinger
    Illegal foreigner staying bukit oug condominium address...
    Sapcobro motors - Frot for my uif
    I have been frot for my uif by the supervisor of Bethlehem...
    stc land line - Internet not working
    Sir meri net kharab hai 13 din se band hai plz set...
    Kfc Ara Damansara - Makanan tidak memuaskan
    18 OGOS 2017, jam 04:46 ptg..bertempat KFC Ara...
    Ian Tucker & Co - not registered with the department of labour
    I've been working as a receptionist for this company...
    Pizza Hut - Waiting time
    Phone order 2 pizza and 2 chocolate mousse. Calll the...
    DEPARTMENT OF LABOUR - exploitation
    I earn 2000 a month where I'm working and I'm...
    Kuala Lumpur International Airport Immigration Office - Forbid to fly
    My husband has forbid to fly to Indonesia, they force him...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username