Submit a Complaint

Macy's Credit Card

United States

Consumer complaints and reviews about Macy's Credit Card

clark1 Send email
 
Jul 30, 2020

$2.00 CHARGE AT MACYS

I have the same complaint as everybody else there $2.00 dollar scam just cost them another customer and card holder since 2010 the last thing that they need is to loose more customers. They will be the next store to close there doors if they keep losing there customers over a $2.00 fee
clark1 Send email
 
Jul 30, 2020

$2.00 CHARGE

I have the same complaint as everybody else there $2.00 dollar scam just cost them another customer and card holder since 2010 the last thing that they need is to loose more customers. They will be the next store to close there doors if they keep losing there customers over a $2.00 fee
JE319 Send email
 
Dec 6, 2019

Lost my payment & my business

I have been a customer of Macy's for years and always paid my bill in full. HOWEVER, I sent in my payment in full for the Macy's credit card on 10/1/19.($133.53) They claim to have not received it and charged me with a late payment charge. I had to FAX a copy of the cleared check from my bank in to VERIFY they received it and cashed it on 10/5/19. (Shows date & timestamp on the back of the cleared check).They said it would take 5-7 business days to resolve. I have since called back 3x, and FAXED the copy over 2 more times and on 12/6/19 it is still not resolved and they added ANOTHER late fee AND sent it to the credit bureau! (Not that it matters too much to me, I do not have a need to get a loan)
I have called and spoken with every agent (I believe) they cannot even tell me if they received the fax, it goes to another department that reviews it???!! AND i cannot speak with anyone from that department!!! WHAT?? THEN they tell me they expect me to PAY the bill again until this is resolved!!! REALLY???
VERY POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE HERE. They have lost a customer and I will tell everyone I know not to use their credit card services ever!!!
UnfairMacy Send email
 
Nov 12, 2018

Credit Card Closed without prior notification

To Whom It May Concern,
I have been shopping with Macy's for a very long time now. I was never once informed that I have to use both credit cards. Under the credit card terms and conditions, it does not even have any well informed information for consumers regarding the account will be closed due to inactivity. Macy's closed my store credit card and it affected my credit score. I was under the impression that store credit card and the American express credit card was just the same credit card just for Macy's. The only difference is that American express credit card can be used out of the stores. Macy's misguided me into thinking that I have to continuously use the American express credit card because I was continuously sent American express card as I got to platinum membership. I am very disappointed with how Macy's has affected my credit score history with this unfair action. If Macy's cant do right by their platinum member then I will never shop in Macy's ever again and give my business to competitor stores. I called and spoke with the Macys's credit associate ID# 91169767 and her name was Vherlyn Estolano was of no help. Macy's should really train and better their customer service in keeping consumers well informed. Once again, I will inform my family, friends and associates regarding this incident and make sure everyone is well informed and to give business to honest businesses and not to company's who blindsides their loyal customers. Hope to hear from you soon.


Thank You !
UnfairMacy Send email
 
Nov 12, 2018

Cancelling Credit card for platinum member without prior notification

To Whom It May Concern,
I have been shopping with Macy's for a very long time now. I was never once informed that I have to use both credit cards. Under the credit card terms and conditions, it does not even have any well informed information for consumers regarding the account will be closed due to inactivity. Macy's closed my store credit card and it affected my credit score. I was under the impression that store credit card and the American express credit card was just the same credit card just for Macy's. The only difference is that American express credit card can be used out of the stores. Macy's misguided me into thinking that I have to continuously use the American express credit card because I was continuously sent American express card as I got to platinum membership. I am very disappointed with how Macy's has affected my credit score history with this unfair action. If Macy's cant do right by their platinum member then I will never shop in Macy's ever again and give my business to competitor stores. I called and spoke with the Macys's credit associate ID# 91169767 and her name was Vherlyn Estolano was of no help. Macy's should really train and better their customer service in keeping consumers well informed. Once again, I will inform my family, friends and associates regarding this incident and make sure everyone is well informed and to give business to honest businesses and not to company's who blindsides their loyal customers. Hope to hear from you soon.


Thank You
beans88 Send email
 
Sep 25, 2018

Macy's $2.00 "interest" Charge

The $2.00 fee is terribly deceitful and Macy's should be held accountable for ripping off people. $2.00 is a small amount that can fly below the radar and people would rather pay it than deal with calling and waiting on a hold. However it is an unfair and unethical practice and can destroy one's credit.

My mom made her payment in full over the phone. She had asked the customer service rep what she owed in order to pay off her bill. That is the amount that she paid and that was the last time she gave the account any thought. That is, until she started receiving letters that her payment was past due with additional charges because the account was delinquent. My mom was so frustrated when she called and no one offered to remove the charges. She is in he 80s and has had great credit her entire life. She had her Macy's card for decades and had never been charged interest when her account had a $0.00 balance. Consequently, she didn't pay it on principal, they didn't remove the bogus charges, closed her account and now her credit has plummeted!

They have done the same thing to me but I've called up irate and they immediately remove the $2.00, I should not have to rate my time calling them about his. It should never be added in the first place. The reps I've talked to when I've called can't even really justify the reason ing behind it (although they try). It's faulty logic. I don't understand how they are getting away with it!
Shanshan Send email
 
Aug 26, 2018

Macys credit card

MACY IS COMMTING FRAUD! As everyone else has complained about the $2 interest charge after a balance has been paid in full I too I'm a victim of this $2 interest charge that has ruined my credit. I paid my balance in April on the due date in full they then charged a $2 interest charge that I had no idea I had it went 60 days past due. They reported a derogatory remark to the credit bureau. When I called customer service they removed the fee and the late charge but they refused to remove the derogatory remark from my credit. My score dropped a hundred and ten points for one $2 late payment this should be against the law. Clearly Macy's has been screwing people over for years with this $2 interest charge assessed after balance is paid in full. Something needs to be done. This is wrong. I have also filed a complaint with the consumer protection Financial Bureau I suggest everyone else do the same as well as the BBB and the FTC. I want this derogatory remark removed from my credit immediately and they're unwilling to help. The customer service lady was extremely rude to the point where she was laughing at me because of how upset I was over the $2. This is ludicrous
herndonmary Send email
 
May 7, 2018

Macy's two dollar "fee"

I am also in the two dollar fee issue. Pay off an entire balance 20 days before the balance is due and then receive a $2 fee the following month on a ZERO balance. I've been told that it's because of "what would have been the interest" - WHAT. I have called and had the $2.00 removed, but I should not have to call. I then sent in a certified letter with my angst over this $2 fee and the fact that I can't even send an e-mail because of "extraneous" characters, but Macy's never tells you what those characters are when trying to send an e-mail. I then get a letter back from Macy's regarding my certified letter telling me to call them. OMG - I call and get someone from overseas in their customer service, and that was the reason for my letter. A JOKE
Lynjon Send email
 
Dec 4, 2017

Late fee

Had a $21.98 bill, paid it off but the next billing Macy's said I had not paid and added a $23.98 late fee. Now that is a 101% fee!
I went on my bank website and of course, the bill had been paid (on time), they just charged it to my Macy's American Express account instead of my husband's regular Macy's account. I called and was told the accounts were linked so the customer service rep. said she would pay the correct account and remove the late fee, gee thanks.
I said my bank also showed my latest payment and they had received it and she had no record of that payment either. I am done with Macy's and their poor accounting practices. We are the ones being charged for their mistakes and I will not have to be on top of my bill paying when I always pay on time.
Mathy Send email
 
Nov 22, 2017

Macy ripping customers off

Same complaint as most of you. I paid my statement in full (~$700). They said some interest charge of $1 was left and they started charging me minimum $2 every month. Didn't pay attention to the statements since I paid in full. Now the charges came to $9 and reported to the credit bureau negatively impacting my credit. The so called 'Escalation mgmt. team' phone conversation was a waste of time. Macy's ripping customers with $2 is not acceptable. Lets do something
Mathy Send email
 
Nov 22, 2017

$2.00 Minimum interest charge - Macy's ripping customers off

Same complaint as most of you. I paid my statement in full (~$700). They said some interest charge of $1 was left and they started charging me minimum $2 every month. Didn't pay attention to the statements since I paid in full. Now the charges came to $9 and reported to the credit bureau negatively impacting my credit. The so called 'Escalation mgmt. team' phone conversation was a waste of time. Macy's ripping customers with $2 is not acceptable. Lets do something
SPORTY50 Send email
 
Sep 24, 2017

MACYS

I paid my $1000.00 balance in full before the Sept due date, and for Oct bill they are charge me $6.07, and I don't know why. I use to work for Macys and I would get customer with the same problem. And I always paid then my amount due ex if it $35.00, I paid $70.00 or more. so I am wondering my self why. I f any has the answer email me
cth20 Send email
 
Sep 7, 2017

Credit card deception

I signed up for the credit card to get a discount on a purchase. The sales associate told me I could open the card, pay the balance in full, and close it immediately. I paid in full the price told to me by the sales associate. A few months later I started getting calls from a collection agency about an outstanding charge on my credit card. I guess the sales associate didn't have me pay the balance in order to keep charging me interest. Through this time I received no paper or emailed statements of the card, and I thought the account was closed. My credit score has gone down by 93 points because it was reported as a delinquent account. I called Macys credit department and they were able to delete the information from my credit report after I explained the situation, but it won't show up on my report for 30-60 days. As someone who is about to move and needs a high credit score to get approved for a new apartment, I am extremely disappointed. The hassle was not worth the extra 20% I saved!
Jesscar Send email
 
Aug 23, 2017

Macys $2.00 charge

For years Macys charges a two dollar charge when you pay your balance off in full. Last time I paid my balance I said please do not send me a bill with the two dollar charge on it. The customer service representative assured me that that would not happen. Of course I got my statement and there it was again. Imagine if they do this to A million people ? They taking it in . Those people are thinking their balance has already been paid. Now they're going to have a late fee of $35 . When I call and dispute this charge they say as a courtesy and it's on the automated phone that they will take it off. Never have I ever had a credit card when I pay the balance off that they then slap me with another fee. This is so fraudulent crooked and corrupt . Never mind an absolute waste of my time to go through the automated phone system. You think they would treat their clients better than this.
Echc Send email
 
Aug 11, 2017

$2.00 fee

This is fraud. If your balance is $0 why is there a $2.00 fee. I am going to call the better business Bureau to complain. There is no ex use to rip off their customers. They are raking in millions on top of late fees, and interest charges. If this fee was explained to customers in clear print we could then make a choice in keeping their card. But this is not right!!!!!
Andrezza Send email
 
Aug 3, 2017

Fradulent Macy's credit card

I got a Macy's credit card on April 2017, my first bill they've charged me twice in my automatic bank account. Second month (June) they return to me the incorrect amount by check and they've paid automatic in my bank account. Third month (July) they've recharged me the same amount that they send me back last month also they've charged the bill of July twice like they did in the first month. Every time that I have to called to customer service I have spent almost 1hour. My bill of August is wrong again. Now Macy's has to pay me back almost $300.00. I've cancelled my credit card and I hope I will receive my money back in September. They 've made a mistake on May and I will receive my refund in September.....after 3 month. Can you believe it?
Andrezza Send email
 
Aug 2, 2017

Fradulent charges -Macy's credit card

I got a Macy's credit card on April 2017, my first bill they've charged me twice in my automatic bank account. Second month (June) they return to me the incorrect by check and they've paid automatic in my bank account. Third month (July) They've recharged me the same amount that they send me back last month also they've charged the bill of July twice like they did in the first month. Every time that I have to called to customer service (4 times) I have waited almost 1hour until somebody answers my call. My bill of August is wrong again. Now Macy's has to pay me back almost $300.00. I've cancelled my credit card and I hope I will receive my money back in September. They made a mistake on May and I will receive my refund in September.....after 3 month. Can you believe it?
Madmomma Send email
 
Jul 29, 2017

Macys

I just got hit with a four dollar fee and it said my account was past due and they decreased my credit limit which is how I found out I checked my credit score and I decreased my limit and I try to investigate called my card found out I was late on a payment . I'm gonna call and see what I can get straightened out tomorrow but if they're going to continue to charge these fees I'm out. I worked hard to have a zero balance and paid off my card earlier this year now I'm not sure how long this is been going out on and what kind of a mess I'm in. No weather card I have does this to me . I am mad
jwilli8 Send email
 
Jul 15, 2017

Macy's

$2.00 minimum fee charged each month on zero balance.
Christine003 Send email
 
Jun 14, 2017

$2 charge...for WHAT???

I haven't used my Macy's credit card for FIVE YEARS! In December 2016 I bought a coat. One. Coat. Paid the balance. And there's the freaking $2 charge. I called and demanded that they take the charge off and asked why it was there in the first place. I was told that the explanation for the charge was in some paperwork and I told her "What paperwork? I haven't used the card for five years so what paperwork are you assuming I know about?" I told her I am filing a report with the Better Business Bureau and canceling my card...and never shopping and Macy's again. This is straight up fraud.
shamlesteberg Send email
 
Jun 6, 2017

Bogus $2 "minimum interest charge"

Clearly Macys doesn't put the customer first since ALL of these people, including myself, are pissed at being swindled!!!
I, like everyone else here, had a $0 balance. Since I knew that, I didn't bother to even look at my account. If I had, I would have seen that they charged me the $2 "minimum interest charge" pver and over again... PLUS a $37 late fee for nonpayment of that damn $2!!!!

So my total was now $39... which of course just continues to build!! Before I knew it, I had $166 worth of the $2 & late fees!!! Not ONE actual purchase in a year and I am having to get charged for a $0 balance?!!?

RIP OFF!!!! I called to cancel and they told it was closed 6 months ago!! WTH!? So then why am I still getting billed $2 a month??! Grrrrr!!!!!!! Calling Credit Consumer Services tomorrow. This is an awful business practice!!
melissamfarrow Send email
 
May 16, 2017

$2 fee

Same deal as many of the others here. Been charged a $2 fee for months when balance was paid in full by the due date. A call to the customer service number tonight and I was able to remove the $2 fee automatically without speaking with customer service. After I removed the fee, I pressed the number to speak with a customer service agent. I explained that I was consistently charged a $2 fee when my balance was paid in full before the due date on several occasions. It may not add up to much to others, but the nickel and diming really irritates me. The customer service rep tried explaining the daily revolving account balance and I had to cut her off mid-sentence because as I explained to her earlier, the previous balance was paid in full before the due date. I asked her for an account review over the past year. She told me Macy's could watch going forward but could not go back. I asked to speak with her supervisor. After a few minutes hold, the supervisor came on and explained everything the customer service rep said. I told her I understood what she said but that it made no sense because I did not have a balance. I asked her for her manager's name, email, or phone number. She said they do not give out email addresses. I took down her name and ID #. She told me Macy's would not do an audit of my account and that I could print the statements myself. She said this professionally, but it was still frustrating. The supervisor's name was Rona(?) and her ID # was 91035537.
harlan1111 Send email
 
May 6, 2017

Paid in Full - $2 charge

Paid my account in full in February 2017. Went to their "Friends and Family" sale this week and was declined on my attempted purchases. Why declined??? Looked up my account on line, and I had been billed $2 each month for total of $6 which is considered past due and account no longer in good standing!!!! This is wrong and wonder why class action suit has not been filed against Macys for this fraudulent activity. How many people are paying this fee unknowingly??? I probably would have paid the $2 fee if I had made a purchase in March as would not have paid attention to the $2 fee. Makes me wonder and makes me not want to shop at Macys anymore. Too bad they are the only game besides Nordstrom which tends to be over my budget. Shame on Macys.
briancw77 Send email
 
Apr 25, 2017

Autopay Issues

I've had AutoPay setup on my wife's Macy's account since mid-2015. Every month I get a letter that says Autopay is going to pay my balance, so I never look at the statement. Today, it caught my eyes because the balance was $39 and I thought that was the same as last month. When I started digging into it, they have been processing my AutoPay on the 27th of each month and the bill is due on the 26th. So every month I'm getting a $37 late fee and $2 interest. I don't remember ever selecting a payment date for the Autopay and every other card I have processes an auto payment on the due date.

This has been happening since November 2015 but I haven't looked at statements since I turned on Autopay. Anyone else experience this issue.
[email protected] Send email
 
Apr 11, 2017

2$ fee charged for no reason since months

Macy's has been charging me fraudulent fee $2 month for the past few months, even though i have 0 balance. This is ridiculous SCAM

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username