Submit a Complaint

truworths

South Africa

Consumer complaints and reviews about truworths

[email protected] Send email
 
Jul 12, 2021

Online shopping

Order 0152304656, I had placed an online shopping order which I thought it will be much convenient for me especially this time where we are experiencing high COVID-19 infections. My order was place two weeks & I had fully understood the delays to large amount of orders they receive everyday. I'm very patient in nature what disappointed me is that my order is delivered 1 by 1 and I had about 10 items ordered. Most disappointing is that when I received my last order to my surprise one of my items is is not what I had ordered and that really turned me off , that after such a long time I then receive wrong order. Lastly kindly next time make sure before the order is dispatched that it's collected into 1 box 📦 not this its really annoying signing courier everyday. Unhappy Client Carol Kubheka
Sibo Send email
 
Jun 2, 2021

Truworths customer service

This is not the first time, they have only 2 cashier's we waited for about 60 minutes just to pay an account the manager is even called for authorization she dragged her feet. It's like we are there to annoy her, I don't even understand why the security at the door has to open our bags as if we stole thats low for a store like truworths while Mr price treats its customers like gold.
Nthale Send email
 
May 27, 2021

Account up-to date but still receiving calls

I am so annoyed with Truworths calling after settling a mere R230 on the 25th of May 2021 and even paid R10 extra. This morning I missed a call from (011)5604875 which I traced and found out that it is definitely Truworths. I FIND THIS ACTION VERY IRRESPONSIBLE AND DISTURBING. MY PHONE IS FOR IMPORTANT CALLS NOT THIS KIND OF CALLS.
I DEMAND A WRITTEN APOLOGY FROM TRUWORTHS, FAILING WHICH, I AM GOING TO TAKE THIS TO THE MEDIA AND CLOSE THIS ACCOUNT.

Sophy
Nthale Send email
 
May 27, 2021

Account up-to date but still receiving calls

I have brought my account up to date on the 26th May 2021 and have even paid extra with R10 but still receiving phone calls (011)5604875 from Truworths. I find this very disturbing. I want a written apology pertaining to this, failing which I am going to take this further up.

I WILL NOT FURTHER TOLERATE THIS KIND OF IRRESPONSIBLE ACTION OF PHONE CALLS THAT ARE INTERRUPTING IMPORTANT CALLS ON MY PHONE.
[email protected] Send email
 
Apr 30, 2021

Update

I want to know when exactly are u updating payments, is it not supposed to be done every month?? My account is being paid every month and now i'm told its not up to date........ It's suprising cos u keep on sending messages about sale u have every month but not updating payments its just ridiculous,and this is affecting my credit score m not happy at all..... all i want is to just finish this account and close it cos all it does is putting my name in a mud. 0734931830 i will be waiting for a call to say it's been updated or i will inform hello Peter about this.
A Carstens Send email
 
Apr 21, 2021

messages

I just want you to stop sending me multiple messages on every sale, special etc. I receive between 4 and 6 messages per day. There is no opt out function as stipulated in POPIA. I have tried blocking the messages, but each message comes from a different number. I am considering closing my account just to stop the harassments

messages

A Carstens Send email
 
Apr 21, 2021

messages

I just want you to stop sending me multiple messages for every sale, special etc. I receive up to 4 messages per day. The messages include no opt out function as stipulated in POPIA. I have tried blocking the number, but each message comes from a different number. I am considering closing my account just to stop the harassment.
[email protected] Send email
 
Apr 14, 2021

Appalling service

I just want to express my utter disgust in the appalling service received at Truworths Westgate Mall ( Jhb) from cashier, Palesa Mono & store manager, Farieda Schalkwyk. They refused to exchange my item, after having made my second trip to the store.

I went to the store early March and wanted to exchange the item. I had misplaced the slip and they blatantly refused and I was sent away. After I repeatedly advised them that I did not want a refund and only wanted an exchange and that even a gift voucher would suffice.

I returned to the store today, asking them to reprint the receipt, but they showed no interest or whatsoever. Farieda just informed me that 30 days had passed, which is against their returns policy and that was it! Despite the fact that this was my second attempt to exchange the item and discounting the fact, that it was my second trip to the store! There was no concerted effort to assist... not even any sincere display of acceptable customer service.

I bought the shoes as a gift for my spouse but it does not fit. So please explain to me what I need to do with these shoes now? As it is not suitable and does not fit... should I keep the white elephant as an ornament??!! This is laughable!

This is totally unacceptable!

I have been a loyal Truworths client for more than 20 years but this experience has left a bitter taste in my mouth.
[email protected] Send email
 
Apr 14, 2021

Appalling service

I just want to express my utter disgust in the appalling service received at Truworths Westgate Mall ( Jhb) from cashier, Palesa Mono & store manager, Farieda Schalkwyk. They refused to exchange my item, after having made my second trip to the store.

I went to the store early March and wanted to exchange the item. I had misplaced the slip and they blatantly refused and I was sent away. After I repeatedly advised them that I did not want a refund and only wanted an exchange and that even a gift voucher would suffice.

I returned to the store today, asking them to reprint the receipt, but they showed no interest or whatsoever. Farieda just informed me that 30 days had passed, which is against their returns policy and that was it! Despite the fact that this was my second attempt to exchange the item and discounting the fact, that it was my second trip to the store! There was no concerted effort to assist... not even any sincere display of acceptable customer service.

I bought the shoes as a gift for my spouse but it does not fit. So please explain to me what I need to do with these shoes now? As it is not suitable and does not fit... should I keep the white elephant as an ornament??!! This is laughable!

This is totally unacceptable!

I demand for the shoes to be exchanged.
I have been a loyal Truworths client for more than 20 years but this experience has left a bitter taste in my mouth.
tracyjeanfranco Send email
 
Mar 2, 2021

Telesales constant harassment

Good day,

I have been a supportive customer to Truworths for many years, I have made payments on time but paid short the previous month so this month (March) i had to pay R250.00.
I have tried to keep my account lower than usual as my husband is on 50% of his salary and I have to assist him financially which is putting little strain on me.
The entire month of February I was constantly harassed by Truworths telesales despite me confirming payment will be made by the 26th of March.
Telesales constantly calls me, I keep asking them to put on their system that i have already been called 2, 3, 4 times that day.
The stress that this has caused me on top of the stress I have already has driven me to the point that I would like to inform their CEO Michael Mark as i can't take it anymore.
Just this morning they called me twice and the second lady laughed when I told her how upsetting this was for me.

I am a loyal customer of many retail clothing stores not just yours and I never get harassed like I do by Truworths, it's has been unbearable.
It is not worth my health having to deal with Truworths and I WILL close my account first thing end of this month, it's unfortunate as I buy all the members of my family items in the store but I just can't anymore.

Your constant verbal abuse when calling me has made my stress level worse and I will not tolerate this anymore.
As I sit her my anxiety for their number coming up is so bad I have to medicate and i have paid them already.
If I never paid and I had a bad history of paying i would understand but I don't and this is just unacceptable.

Tracy Franco
8802200771088 Send email
 
Mar 2, 2021

Poor service in terms of exchange

This is the second time I went to the store,and received the same treatment from the same manager Gugu ",I understand that 30 days has passed for me to return ,Gugu "manager " told me she can't help ,I went outside took the number from my slip ,ND called the customer service,nor did I find help from them they told me they can't authorise that on the phone,bear in mind I called with my own airtime , I didn't want a refund ,but exchange from them.

So I wonder,can they loose a customer just because of not allowing to exchange,,,, finally they agreed to exchange for me but one item that I bought with a stain they refuse to exchange ND said I should take it back,I'm very angry ,very angry,,,,I'm stack with Denim Jean that is small,,,I close my account there ND there because of the treatment I got Everytime i want to exchange ,,,"they rather lose a customer than exchange an garment with a proof of purchase just because of 30 days rule....I'm very angry worse being at the store more than an hour, poor service indeed,
Ajmuller37 Send email
 
Dec 26, 2020

Blocked account ignorant staff

Myself and fiance opened an account online it got approved message came through activate in-store we then went too kuilsriver to activate the lovely manager there was helpful we purchased something a week later we go a day before Xmas to promonade I was treated like a fraudulent customer I drove so far firstly to find out not just mine my fiance account is also blocked due to a contact number they thinking the manager didn't even bother explaining what the hell is going on telling us our account is handed over too fraud my fiance works for Saps and you guys think I'm gonna leave this like this I demand you close this account we only opened it up too gain credit score and was advised by banks an account will help this is the worst service ever in all stores that agent who called us had a problem over another contact number I said online time to call is evening wether I gave 5 numbers u should give me proof you called all before putting my account at fraud I gave that women another direct line I gave our home address everything what are use trying firstly why damn give a count online u don't ask paperwork nor proof after we activate n purchase u want too see paperwork perthetic if u think ima stand in long covid lines too please use I demand an apology and I am gonna take this further you embarrassed me treating me like criminal actually both myself n fiance don't you have shame.call us back asap or I will make sure I take this way further including ur call centre agent .if we made a error some with a detail it's for you too email and I will update corz the predictive text sometimes does it's own thing but don't you dare waste our petrol time and energy there's a vrius out there shame on you.the stuff I bort I would love too return and you can re sell it again I don't want it.call me back.

Miss RL Aploon
[email protected]
Mr Aw Muller
[email protected]

.0716112634
0745032051
0824069692
0213602300
Ajmuller37 Send email
 
Dec 26, 2020

Blocked account unhappy customer

Myself and fiance opened an account online it got approved message came through activate in-store we then went too kuilsriver to activate the lovely manager there was helpful we purchased something a week later we go a day before Xmas to promonade I was treated like a fraudulent customer I drove so far firstly to find out not just mine my fiance account is also blocked due to a contact number they thinking the manager didn't even bother explaining what the hell is going on telling us our account is handed over too fraud my fiance works for Saps and you guys think I'm gonna leave this like this I demand you close this account we only opened it up too gain credit score and was advised by banks an account will help this is the worst service ever in all stores that agent who called us had a problem over another contact number I said online time to call is evening wether I gave 5 numbers u should give me proof you called all before putting my account at fraud I gave that women another direct line I gave our home address everything what are use trying firstly why damn give a count online u don't ask paperwork nor proof after we activate n purchase u want too see paperwork perthetic if u think ima stand in long covid lines too please use I demand an apology and I am gonna take this further you embarrassed me treating me like criminal actually both myself n fiance don't you have shame.call us back asap or I will make sure I take this way further including ur call centre agent .if we made a error some with a detail it's for you too email and I will update corz the predictive text sometimes does it's own thing but don't you dare waste our petrol time and energy there's a vrius out there shame on you.the stuff I bort I would love too return and you can re sell it again I don't want it.call me back.

Miss RL Aploon
[email protected]
Mr Aw Muller
[email protected]

.0716112634
0745032051
0824069692
0213602300
Melvinaman Send email
 
Dec 22, 2020

Truworths online

Hi I have purchased an online order on the 29th of November 2020..my order I am still waiting on my order and it has already been credited to my account.. Then I contact the online customer service and was told its already with the couriers the courier guy delivered my one order on the 17th of November and told me he can't find my other order... Then I was contacted by a lady who told me that the couriers left my order at her house and she contacted them but no reply I then again contacted the customer service and they told me they can't get hold of the couriers... I think this is Un acceptable I want that order refunded to my account for I can't pay for something I never received and also I had to pay delivery cost my contact number is 0822610253 please advise on how to get my account refunded
Yanda Send email
 
Nov 19, 2020

Why i can't buy phone with my account

I hava account with truworths yesterday i was in your store in Somerset west i wanted to buy a phone with a acc but i was told that my account card does not have cellphone policy and i ask how to add this cellphone policy i was told that only head office can do that this is pathetic how can have account and not allowed to have anything you want in the store
salomien Send email
 
Nov 17, 2020

harrasment

being harrast for being behing with R277 and I only owe R644 really being asked when will I pay this amount really pathetic I will pay them their R644 then close my account!!!!!!!!!!!! their call centre or whatever they are not very nice people.......... try and educate your staff how to dpeak to people that are actually paying their salaries.
Nickyb21 Send email
 
Oct 30, 2020

ONLINE ORDER

I MADE AN ONLINE PURCHASE AT TRUWORTHS ON THE 26/10/2020. ON THE 27/10/2020 I CALLED TO CONFIRM IF MY ORDER WILL BE DELIVERED BY FRIDAY AND THE AGENT TOLD ME I SHOULD CALL BACK THE NEXT DAY AND THEY WILL BE ABLE TO ASK THE COURIER TO DELIVER BY FRIDAY. I DID CALL BACK THE 28/10/2020 JUST FOR THEM TO TELL ME THAT THEY STILL BUSY LOCATING THE ITEM. I THEN SPOKE TO A SUPERVISOR NAMED ROBIN WHO TOLD ME HE WILL TRY AND LOCATE THE ITEM. ROBIN HOWEVER GOT BACK TO ME YESTERDAY 29/10/2020 JUST FOR HIM TO TELL ME THAT THE ITEM IS OUT OF STOCK EVERYWHERE AND THAT HIS SORRY.

TO ME SORRY DOESN'T CUT IT BECAUSE FIRSTLY IT IS FALSE ADVERTISING HAVING AN ITEM ONLINE WHICH IS OUT OF STOCK. SECONDLY IT IS MY CONSUMER RIGHT TO GET WHAT I SEE, AND THEREFORE I ASKED TO SPEAK TO HIS MANAGER WHICH HE SAID SHE WILL GET BACK TO BUT STILL DIDN'T.

I AM HIGHLY UPSET AND ANGERED BY TRUWORTHS FOR BEING SUCH A HUGE COMPANY AND NOT HAVING SYSTEMS IN PLACE THAT CAN AVOID THESE KINDS OF THINGS.

I HONESTLY DO FEEL THAT I NEED TO BE COMPENSATED FOR THIS MISHAP BECAUSE WHAT I ORDERED WAS IN MY PRICE RANGE AND NOW ROBIN TELL'S ME THATS THERES NOTHING ELSE SIMILAR TO THAT IN THE SAME PRICE RANGE.

I NEED TRUWORTHS TO TAKE RESPONSIBILITY FOR THIS POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE AND FALSE ADVERTISING.

CONTACT NUMBER:0735329633
Bongiwe5 Send email
 
Oct 15, 2020

2 phone

Hi...
My son left 2 phones on the counter yesterday..aroond 13:45. It was Sumsung core and Sumsung A2.We pay and we went out to parking 5 minutes my realised that he left phone at Truworthss. We went to Truworth and asked the cashier ....She said...she didn't see any phones...and I asked for Footage Cashier amd the Manager said noCameras in the Store.....but anyway Im not happy at all about Truworth at KwaMnyandu Mall...because I saw that they know about the Phones......and no one was behind is while we paying...

Head Office please assist because they will continue do the wrong thing. Next time wont be me....will be the rough person.

My contact number is 0638000396.
I will be highly appreciate to get a feedback from Head Office...
Leratowainn Send email
 
Aug 19, 2020

Wrongfully handed over

I'm very much furious with truworths and their service. I'm contacted by them everyday that um in arrears which is not true. They say im 2 months behind nd its impossible. Due to lockdown i paid my account via ext as recommended by them, during the months of April and May. Haven't been able to buy clothes due to the store telling me i can't and its coz their not updating their system. Been to stores 4times to directly send emails showing that i should be up to date but till today no one is doing their job. Your agents are rude they don't even comprehend first..They just jump at you. BAD BAD BAD service. I'm closing my account
Stuurman Send email
 
Aug 5, 2020

BELT HEAD BROKE OFF

I bought a belt at Truworths Kroonstad Before lockdown. I dont have a slip because I didn't think it will do that. The belt head got off and they don't want to exchange it at the Store. I left it at the branch.
AndreaDW Send email
 
Jul 27, 2020

Account

Goeie dag. Ek is Andrea en is baie teleurgesteld in Truworths rekening afdeling. Ek het my rekening in April 2020 klaar betaal en skoon gemaak dmv EFT. My rekening is nogsteeds agterstalling. Die geld is nog noit aan my rekening vereffen nie. Ek kry elke dag oproepe van skuld maar het dit alreeds betaal. Geld le nou net in truworths se rekening maar word nie teen my rekening vereffen nie. Besoek aan tak en eposse gestuur van my POP maar geen hulp. My credit record word sleg benadeel nadat ek getrou my rekening betaal het. Gedurende lockdown kon ek nie kontant betaal soos altyd nie maar het besluit om EFT te doen en nou sit ek met hierdie gemors. Baie teleurgesteld en dis nog altyd nie uitgesorteer nie. Kontak asb vir my [email protected] Ek het al my bewyse van betaling.
Mbalee Send email
 
May 30, 2020

Keep on getting messages to pay from the head office

Hi, I have a account at Truworths during lockdown I got the message to pay ASAP and I did transfer the using my banking app. On the first of May shops were opened and I had to go and the remaining balance and I get there they said I did not pay anything during lockdown.

They said they need a bank statement that shows that I did a payment and yes I did provide it and I talked to the manager. They did call the Head office however they said they will update the system. During the same week I got the same SMS (please pay as u are in arrears to avoid legal actions) I went back to the same shop I asked for the manager and they was a different manager I have to explain my complaint again the lady said they need a bank statement again I went to do the new bank statement and gave it to the consultant as the manager was busy at that time.

Today it the 1st of June 2020 I have received the new same SMS I will go and pay the remaining R314 with the new interest. However I need legal actions to be taken.

Keep on getting messages to pay from the head office

Stefanie7356 Send email
 
Sep 21, 2019

Service

Good day

I have been shopping at Truworths Constantia in the Western Cape, South Africa, for the last 4/5 years. My details are on the system, my fingerprints are on the system and staff at the beauty products know my by face and name.

Today I visited the store but forgot my bag at home. I wanted to buy a gift for a friend and spoke to the manager / supervisor on duty telling her that I have a picture of my ID, passport, and drivers on my phone can she please let me purchase and she refused to help.

Surely if it was her business, she would not turn away sales! Also, I am a loyal customer shopping there regularly and paying my bills timeously, I expect more as a result of my loyalty.

Truworths should have a more educated, people friendly, petiole serving manager on duty able to use sense and logic and to just be a bit more helpful!

This isn’t the first time I’ve experienced unhelpful service just the first time in complaining. I feel like I should take my business somewhere where I would be more valued!

Disappointed and dissatisfied!

Stefanie de Saude
ID 8011090098087

Sent from my iPhone
Noloyiso Mokemane Send email
 
Jun 25, 2019

Customer Service

Yesterday the 24th of June 2019 at about 16:30 I was at Truworths The Glen at the shoe department. Firstly, I waited for a while to get assistance & the shop was not even full, there was hardly anybody.

Eventually the security came and called someone to assist me.

I was assisted by Vusi Tshabalala to get me the boot that I wanted and when I told him to put the boot inside the box, he refused and told me told to say please, he started shouting me and called back the security to assist me, he shouted.."Come help your customer".

I walked away especially since I was tired & I am 8 months pregnant. I hardly go the the shops lately, but my daughter needed the boot. I ended buying it Woolworths because I was not going to be humiliated like that.

I reported the incident to the Store Manager but I could that she wont do anything.

You should go look at the cameras, that boy is rude, arrogant and abrupt to work at at store. I have never been so humiliated at a store.

Can you please address this & provide feedback.

Regards,
Noloyiso Mokemane
Adhir Send email
 
Feb 20, 2019

Item exchange

Hi

I went into the Truworths Gateway store in Durban to swop my gifted shirt for a bigger size as it was too small to fit me. I did have the gift receipt. According to the gift receipt the shirt was bought on sale for R220. The current price on the tag was R299, more than the sale price.
One would think it would be a simple swop.
Instead I was told to pay the difference of R79.
This is appalling and such a rip off! What kind of service is this.
If I had to ask for a credit or refund then I'm sure they would have credited me the purchase price of R220 and not the tag price of R299.
So why must I pay the equivalent of R299 for a simple exchange. It's even worse since it was given as a gift to me.

The returns policy at the back of the receipt doesn't even state anything if the sort either.

Poor service from a chain store which I have an account with for many many years.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username