Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

truworths

South Africa

Consumer complaints and reviews about truworths

sarina munyai Send email
 
Feb 14, 2019

Monthly Payment

I just receive sms from truworths regarding the payment of R779.41 that I must make this months which is has increase again while my payment period is six months my current balance is less than R4000.I phone the call Centre on 0214602300 spoke with the lady she told that is because I purchased the phone of which for the next six months the payment will increase but no one told me that when you purchase cell phone payment increase for period of two months. I tried to explain to the lady I was paying less that R600 thou my payment is more than R4000,i ask her to transfer me to manager she refuse she told me that manager is not available.I'm regret holding truworths account going to settle account and close it.poor service I receive
Julia Jusba Mantsho Send email
 
Feb 12, 2019

bad service from online

placed an order on the 1st of February, received an order number 12 days later still did not receive my order. called courier ********** 401 i was advised my order was not released for delivery. called truworths to find out (11 february), i was advised that my order was cancelled on the 2nd of Feb while on the 5th of Feb I received an SMS saying there will be a delay. spoke to online supervisor Martmarie who made an empty promise of getting back to me till now no call. Everytime i call the manger and supervisors are in a meeting. No one wants to take ownership. what happened to first call resolution in this country. no wonder why people buy their clothes at marabastad at a lower cost and best service, to avoid such incompetence and poor service. for such an expensive retail store the service is really cheap.
THANDEKA Send email
 
Dec 19, 2018

FAULTY CELLPHONE DEVICE

I took my phone in to the Truworths in Eastgate Mall, on the 2nd December. When I called the MTN follow up centre on 0839000564 was took that the phone was only taken to the centre on the 7th meaning that the process was now delayed. I was promised weekly updates but none where provided. Everything I called the store I was told that the Cellphone lady is on lunch and I will be called back but now call back was provided. I am highly disappointed with the service that I have received. This is the second time that I have purchased a phone from the store and they end up being faulty. Why does MTN provide Truworths with faulty devices. I now have to pay the monthly instalment for a device that I do not have in my possession. Meaning that I need to purchase another device to have Truworths then returning the shitty Nokia N7plus back. this is incredibly unfair. I request rapid feedback and a proper phone
Garnett Send email
 
Oct 17, 2018

Why cant i order a phone???

I was at truworths on friday the 12th October 2018...they dont have the phone i want in stock and also they cant order it. I must just wait till their supplier sends them them these phones. They cant say when. WHY IS THIS?? Why cant truworths phone their supplier and say hey..i got 2 people for this phone.. can u send it asap? But no...i must just wait.. the phone is for my wifes birthday today the 17 October 2018 and still they have no answer for me as to when...
So guess what my wife gets for her bday 2day...a promise for a cell phone but i cant say when u will get it. Just be patient!! Plz can someone contact me about this problem? I want this phone 2day...i dont care about extra costs for speed post...just get it to me plz. 0812378895
Tumi29 Send email
 
Aug 15, 2018

Fraudulent Online Account

Good Day

I'm writing this letter with utter Disapointment towards Truworths the Company as a whole and their Privacy and Security procedures they have in place. I was contacted by one of your Customer Service agents from your Head Office in Capetown advising me about a payment due on my account due to the recent purchases that was made on my Account. To my suprise my details were confirmed and I advised the agent that I never opened an account at Truworths, and have lost my ID a few years ago. I would really like to know what kind security measures are followed when applying for an online account? And Ineed feedback URGENTLY as to how I can proceed with the cancellation of this account and for my credit profile to be updated at ITC

Very furious
Tumi
Tumi29 Send email
 
Aug 15, 2018

Fraudulent Online Account

Good Day

I'm writing this letter with utter Disapointment towards Truworths the Company as a whole and their Privacy and Security procedures they have in place. I was contacted by one of your Customer Service agents from your Head Office in Capetown advising me about a payment due on my account due to the recent purchases that was made on my Account. To my suprise my details were confirmed and I advised the agent that I never opened an account at Truworths, and have lost my ID a few years ago. I would really like to know what kind security measures are followed when applying for an online account? And Ineed feedback URGENTLY as to how I can proceed with the cancellation of this account and for my credit profile to be updated at ITC

Very furious
Tumi
Tumi29 Send email
 
Aug 15, 2018

Fraudualent Online Account

Good Day

I'm writing this letter with utter Disapointment towards Truworths the Company as a whole and their Privacy and Security procedures they have in place. I was contacted by one of your Customer Service agents from your Head Office in Capetown advising me about a payment due on my account due to the recent purchases that was made on my Account. To my suprise my details were confirmed and I advised the agent that I never opened an account at Truworths, and have lost my ID a few years ago. I would really like to know what kind security measures are followed when applying for an online account? And Ineed feedback URGENTLY as to how I can proceed with the cancellation of this account and for my credit profile to be updated at ITC

Very furious
Tumi
Lee-ann86 Send email
 
Jul 24, 2018

Shoe exchange

Hi

Hi bought a shoe for my husband as a birthday gift, and because he is in between sizes as it depends on the make of the shoe I took size 11. I gave him the shoe on his birthday as it was a suprise birthday gift, he tried the shoe on the 19 July 2018 on his birthday he walked in the house for less than an hour and unfortunately the shoe was too big and we need a size 10 instead. On the same day of his birthday we went to the truworths store in canal walk cape town to do the exchange it for a smaller size, just to be told that sorry the shoe was worn, yes it was just to see if it fits but because the sole was dirty "clearly" they could not do the exchange. I spoke to the store manager, regional manager aswell as the operation manager, just to be told that they won't take it back. I was told that they can't sell the shoe again so and that the business will lose money. What about the consumer, so it's ok for me to pay for something that my partner can't wear. I would've understood if the shoe was worn outside and for a full day , but not less than an hour in the house to try it. I received a call from head office to advise that I need to collect my shoe as they not doing or authorising the exchange. And all that care about is making money because all I got from them was " we can't sell the shoe again , and we loosing out on R900" what about me! ? I'm losing R900 now as a customer as an individual I don't have my own business I don't have money to waist on something that my partner can't wear. I don't want my money back or credit all I want is a different size that's all. I had to see my doctor the next day because of this stress I'm pregnant and can't really deal with this right now. If this is not resolved I don't want the shoe because I don't know what to do with it. I will pay my account and close the account I think its for the best for myself and my unborn baby.
xolamtxolamt Send email
 
Jul 19, 2018

Inability to honor a sale as promised

My name is Noxolo Mthembu , Contacts: 0844490526, order no: 11535927. On 23 May I visited Truworths Vaal Mall. I wanted a black dress for an occasion in July. A dress I saw had a tear on the neck and I was told I cant have it, it will be returned back to suppliers. I WAS GIVEN AN OPTION TO order a dress in Sandton store. A fee of 40 rands was charged so I could receive my order within a week. On 5th June I went to check if my order had arrived. A lady who assisted me went to the back store to check and she told me they had not received the dress yet. A month later I went again , and this time I was told there are no orders received in that month ( June). No records checked. I paid my last visit on 17/7 and was shown a book that my order arrived on 26th May ad I was called on 27th and the order was credited back to me on 12 June. This is not true. I asked for a manager whom I was told is out. A young black lady assisted me. She told me there is nothing that could be done. I ASKED for the dress that was torn because surprisingly it was still on the floor as opposed to the fact that I was told the store is not allowed to keep it. She said , she was not allowed to sell that dress. She offered to walk with me in the store to get something to wear that following weekend( 22 July). Nothing appealing. She refered me to a white lady who was very rude initially. She could not look me in the eye. She shouted when speaking to me. She said there is nothing she should do. I then told her I was unhappy because I had an event and all my other accessories were inplace. Starting to shop again would mean that I must look for accessories. She told me her area manager told her she could sell me the dress that was torn at 20 rands discount which I FEEL it was a ridiculous discount. She finally agreed to order and promised I will get my dress on 19/7. Yesterday I received a message from Head office telling me that the dress is sold out.
I do not want to accept that because when an order was placed on Tuesday I was told a dress was available. I request that I am given a dress to wear on Sunday. I am not accepting to be treated like this. As a customer I would like to be treated with respect by Truworths management. They need to sell me a dress latest by Friday.
Jade Abrahams Send email
 
Apr 6, 2018

quality

Hi

I am writing to you in great disappointment with your quality of clothing. Which i find extremely strange as this never use to be an issue.

For the price that we paying on your clothing I would at least expect the quality to be worth it.

My father in law has been a loyal customer to your brand for years has an account with you for years and he recently has been experiencing terrible experiences with your quality of your jeans especially as this is what he usually purchases from you.

He has recently bought on more than one occasion a pair of jean which he has take back numerous times due to quality and even on one occasion the store he went to return the item to refused to take the jeans back.

He is now wanting to close his account with you, which would be a great disappointment seeing that he has been with you for years even though you get new customers on a daily its the established existing ones you need to ensure are still happy as well.

I am writing to you on his behalf to let you know about the bad experience we have had with your clothing recently.

I hope to hear from someone as soon as possible with a solution as we cant be having this type of issue.
Jade Abrahams Send email
 
Apr 6, 2018

Quality

Hi

I am writing to you in great disappointment with your quality of clothing. Which i find extremely strange as this never use to be an issue.

For the price that we paying on your clothing I would at least expect the quality to be worth it.

My father in law has been a loyal customer to your brand for years has an account with you for years and he recently has been experiencing terrible experiences with your quality of your jeans especially as this is what he usually purchases from you.

He has recently bought on more than one occasion a pair of jean which he has take back numerous times due to quality and even on one occasion the store he went to return the item to refused to take the jeans back.

He is now wanting to close his account with you, which would be a great disappointment seeing that he has been with you for years even though you get new customers on a daily its the established existing ones you need to ensure are still happy as well.

I am writing to you on his behalf to let you know about the bad experience we have had with your clothing recently.

I hope to hear from someone as soon as possible with a solution as we cant be having this type of issue.
kalay1 Send email
 
Mar 13, 2018

Dont know what customer service Is

I purchased a suit for my husband and it was not suitable. I went to the Bluff Durban to return the items purchased and was told that due to the money being dropped when it reached R1000 there was no money in the store to give me cash after I had purchased for cash. What system is this and what kind of manager tells a customer to wait for another customer if and when they come to give me the cash. I left the suit in the store and wrote a complaint online. I have spoken to numerous staff from the complaint centre including supervisors - Pamela Joshua,Janelle Kapot,Tasneem Sass,Portia Konbile and a message was supposed to be given to Zahir Abburahman for the problem to be resolved. Till date and time I am still awaiting my cash refund. Is your company not training your staff on customer service.
tshwarelo Send email
 
Nov 27, 2017

faulty watch

i have purchased a guess watch at troworths on may 2016 and have been experiencing problems with it since 4months of my purchase.i have been visiting church street store in pretoria four times but the watch still gives me problems.my 1st challange was that the watch had steam which it happened 3times and was booked 2times for repair by the store.the second challenge is the watch stops ticking suddenly and when i am taking it to the store i am been told that i should replace a battery which i find it very strange because sometimes it stops for number of days then starts ticking again,it happened on numerious occations and now it stoped for more than a week.i have expalined to the staff but they keep on telling me that it is the battery and if they sent the watch to the supplier i will be charged for it and i should buy my own and avoid complications.my problem is it happened several times and a quality of guess battery should last longer than the guarantee period of 2 years .
Joyce2 Send email
 
Oct 29, 2017

Paid up letter not received

I hv an acct at truworths and I did pay the balance but am still waiting for paid up letter frm last year until now plz help me with my paid up letter. My Id is 8407180795089.TAMBANI A.J.my email is [email protected]
markdavidsing Send email
 
Sep 22, 2017

harassment

Dear Sir / Madam

truworths account 10101115527850
N Singh
their email that harrases people - [email protected]

Truworths has a collectionscentre that send email reminder if a payment is due.

My wife has an account that I pay. We travel a lot and she is a lawyer so she is either in court or on the road and I manage the region of Southern africa for my Group.
So because we are v busy I have politely MANY times asked them to send my statements on time via email so I can pay it.

They did not do this.

So anyway I paid R810 which was overdue by a few days - as I did not know and did not get my statement but had to ask. Now my next installment is due on the 5th of October which I will pay. But again look it is the 22 and still I havent received my statament for the end of this month.

yet although they are not assisting with the electronic statement - they flood my mailbox with generic emails and demands of the money I paid and the next installment.

today again my wife responded to them as they always claim they cannot find the payment - they are lazy and not doing their job. We paid this days ago on the same reference number for years - they need to do their job and locate it. after telling them this they respond by sending another annoying email today ignoring what we said in the mail previous.
then I sent a mail to customer care for help and 5 minutes after that email I get another annoying email from the collection centre asking for the same money same generic stuff.

PLEASE HELP

SOMEONE NEEDS TO STOP THEM FROM HARRASING PAYING CONSUMERS LIKE THIS
THEY CANNOT SEND SOMEONE 3 MAILS IN A DAY AND OVER 20 / 30 OVER 2/3 WEEKS WHEN THEY FEEL LIKE IT.

PLUS YOU CAN TELL THAT THEY DON'T CARE ABOUT CUSTOMERS AS THEY FEEL CUSTOMERS CANNOT DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT.

THEY HAVE A NONCHALANT DONT CARE ATTITUDE.

PLEASE HELP AS I AM SICK OF THEM - WE SPEND THOUSANDS IN CASH AND ON CREDIT AT THIS STORE BUT THE SERVICE IS APPALING.

I'M REALLY RELYING ON YOUR TO HELP US OUT HERE AND HELP MANY OTHER CUSTOMERS TOO.

I HAVE ALL THE PROOF OF MY EMAILS TO THEM.


THANK YOU

Mark David Sing

[email protected]
Catherineobie Send email
 
Aug 26, 2017

credit limit

Dear Truworths

I have a concern. My employee Mrs Sibongile Makhubo is a customer of Truworths.

She has been doing work for me since 2014. She only works a few hours a day, and receives a salary of R1800.00

Yet I see that Truworths has given her a credit limit of R14540.00 !! This is called wreckless credit from a credit provider.

I would like to have some feedback from you about this issue. How can she afford to pay her account each month if her instalment monthly is almost her full salary?

Please contact me at [email protected]

Regards
Catherine Oberholzer
willlievr Send email
 
Jun 21, 2017

accounts

I HAVE AN ACCOUNT FOR ALMOST AN YEAR AND STILL NO TRUWORTHS CARD. EVERY TIME I ASK MANAGEMENT AT MATLOSANA MALL THEY JUST SAY THEY CANT HELP ME AND THAT I MUST WAIT FOR THE CARD. HOW LONG DOES IT TAKE TO SEND AN CARD?? CERTAINLY NOT A YEAR!!
willlievr Send email
 
Jun 21, 2017

CUSTOMER CARE

I HAVE AN ACCOUNT FOR ALMOST AN YEAR AND STILL NO TRUWORTHS CARD. EVERY TIME I ASK MANAGEMENT AT MATLOSANA MALL THEY JUST SAY THEY CANT HELP ME AND THAT I MUST WAIT FOR THE CARD. HOW LONG DOES IT TAKE TO SEND AN CARD?? CERTAINLY NOT A YEAR!!
Spikz Send email
 
May 8, 2017

No itc update after 2 months

Hi
This is really bad service at its best!!!
Ive paid my Truworths account in full on the 15/03/2017 into MBD and received my paid up letter from MBD on the 22/03/2017 which is ok as i am aware of the process that needs to be followed and that it took a few days for the money to reflect in the accounts.
I was then told by Suzan Mokoto of MBD that Truworths would update the ITC.
Ive contacted Truworths and i was informed by the call agent that i should wait until month end as this when their updates takes place.
Ive contacted Transunion 4/04/2017 and their was no updates on my account and was advised to send the proof of paypent through to ********** and 48 hrs this was resolved.
I then followed up with Experian and i was advised by them that my account reflecting is 5 months in arrears.
According to Truworths the file was sent through and eventually after spending hundreds of rands on airtime and i eventually found out that the file was sent through but it was rejected on the Experian portal due to errors on the file as per Winile Butelezi of Experian.
Robyn of Truworths has tried her best to assist me however i know its out of her control and her management is not willing to assist.
I was told by Winile that Truworths could request an urgent update on my account and this could be resolved within 48 hours however Truworths has decided to ignore my request after they have made the mistakes from there side and now due to this i must wait up to 7days.
This is absoultley SHOCKING SERVICE!!!
Why cant Truworths just request an urgent update as they made the mistakes and due to that i must wait 7 days. I want this updated ASAP!!!!
Please see the below correspondence by Robyn (TruworthsLegal) Winile Butelezi (Experian) and myself

Hi Robyn

As per our telecom, you will need to request an Urgent Update on my account to be sent from an authorized sender to the Experian Admin department.
I need this to be done ASAP
Good day,

I have received notification that Truworths has confirmed that Experian can proceed with the update
Thanks Robyn, can you please advise who
Was the authorized sender as i know Experian
Will request this info in order for them to trace the mail

The email was sent to her at 10:55.

Please tell her to check her emails thoroughly as it was sent

Kind Regards,

Hi Robyn,

Attached is the email I received from you which states nothing regarding a request to call centre to update Mr ............... account.
We require an email from an authorised person at Truworths requesting the admin centre to update the account.
Please provide them with the relevant information.
Email to: **********
Hi Robyn,

As per our telecom, you have confirmed that no emergency update will be done. Experian will load the production file in 5 to 7 working days.
Please also clarify this with your consumer to avoid any misunderstanding.

Good day,

That is correct.

Management has confirmed that the file must be actioned and there is no urgent request from our side
Motso Send email
 
May 2, 2017

bad service

I went to truworths with my fiancé on Saturday, lakeside mall! I took out money from my purse and before I know it the lady took it and made R200 payment, okay fine my fiancé asks how much did you make the payment for because you didn't ask me she's like R200 because you didn't talk.. so I responded to her and told her you didn't ask and she acted up and told me she's not talking to me she's talking with the customer since the account is in my fiancé's name.. don't you teach your employees principle's that who ever walks in the door is a potential customer??
I'm so disgusted by her attitude , she's so rude!
ROSCHRISOCHOS Send email
 
Apr 15, 2017

Practice against Consumer Protection Act

Please, please HELP me. I was away on holiday so paid my account of R230 late after receiving a barrage of threatening sms's and emails from Truworths. I immediately paid the R230 on 12 April 2017 and sent an URGENT URGENT confirmation email to Truworths with my proof of payment attached. I also explained that I had been away and that was why my payment was late.

Since then I have received another 5 threatening sms messages and 3 emails with the last one received this morning. WHAT CAN I DO TO STOP THESE MESSAGES? I am sure this harassment and against CONSUMER PROTECTION ACT. I know that Truworths is known for TAKING A VERY HARD LINE and treating customers very badly for outstanding accounts, but this is out of control - all for R230 which HAS BEEN PAID.
Nomfundo Send email
 
Apr 3, 2017

Poor quality

I bought clothes for my husband at truworths included was a belt and black pants. Buckle fell off the first time he tried to wear it. I had to stick it back with super glue. The pants the colour runs badly so obviously after a few washes it will be extremely faded even with truworths exorbitant prices the quality is so poor. I tried to return the pants I was told its the norm for all black coloured clothes to fade due to the colour running during wash. If that's the case why don't clothes from Woolworths have the Sam problem. I have bought several black pants there and it never happens.

Nomfundo Ndhlovu
0711690113
Truworths Send email
 
Mar 14, 2017

Debit order

I have paid monthly instalment this month early on the same afternoon money was deducted from my account without my consent.
mkedian Send email
 
Feb 10, 2017

Credit limit

I am or rather used to be a loyal Truworths customer.
Being a rather busy single mom with a full time job I don't sit and reconcile my Truworths account every month!
I was rather horrified when I asked for a balance to see that Truworths had implemented what it calls a 'temporary credit increase'
due to the fact that 'I was such a good customer'.

When I asked them who gave them permission to do this, I was told that 'I signed for it' when I made a purchase. Strange thing though....I always have to sign a docket when I make a purchase! No one explained to me what I was actually signing and that Truworths (clearly for their own benefit) were increasing my credit limit without bothering to inform me, ask me or do the necessary checks to see if I could actually afford to repay the credit.

I am in the fortunate position of being able to pay it - and I have now paid off the entire account, but what I am wondering about is how they think it's OKAY to basically be able to cause people financial distress by 'tricking' them into slowly but surely increasing a credit limit????????????????????????????????? I am sure that is what we call 'reckless lending'???????????????

I tried...for WEEKS....to get a straight answer about this dishonest, unfair and devious process but all they do is send me silly responses that don't answer the question. I asked on the 2nd of Feb or the CEO's details and guess what.....I've just been ignored. I showed them how serious I am about this situation by paying off the entire balance....their response? The decreased the credit limit I was complaining about.

These people are getting away with causing financial distress to people that won't be able to pay them back and they seem to think that's just fine!

Well.....I don't.
avoca Send email
 
Jan 30, 2017

Scam/fraud

I received a phone call at 5:12pm on the 30th January 2017 from an Indian lady who said she was from Blake and Associates, a debt collection agency, in connection with an outstanding amount on a Telkom line that I had closed in 2015. This was odd as I had only recently received notification that this matter had been resolved in my favour. After a heated discussion I put the phone down. At 5:38pm I phoned the same number +27(12)4503931 only to be told that this was Truworth's customer service line! I can only assume that someone who works in your customer service dept is engaged in some nefarious activity like fraud. It should be relatively easy to find the culprit. My mobile number is +27 794969614, my name William Sonnenberg, email: [email protected] I received the call from your customer service number at 5:12pm and phone back at 5:38pm. Presumably you keep historical records of who phoned whom?
I demand an explanation as to exactly what happened and hope I do not have to take this matter farther.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Multichoice DSTV - LACK OF SEVICE
    Disappoited by the service In May 2018 our company...
    Nor-dtfee.com - I want my money back!!!
    Someone stold money from my card!! I did Not give my...
    Premium biscuits - Broken biscuits
    Every time I but the premium biscuits there always broken...
    POSLAJU KLIA HUB - Barang Masih DI Pos Laju KLIA
    MOHON CHECK BARANG SAYA. SUDAH 5 HARI MASIH DIKLIA....
    JUST ANSWER - Debited from my savings
    I was surprised after checking my savings acct and I was...
    Nabisco - Saltine crackers
    I threw out 1st box thinkin they had somehow gone bad ,...
    Outdoor Adventure - scam still going on
    SCAM!! Stay away! I wish my husband and I had seen...
    US Pharmacy - US Pharmacy
    Why in the hell can't we stop these calls? This has...
    ABSA - Verval van bankkaart
    My bankkaart het op 31 Januarie 2019 verval. Op Saterdag 1...
    Immigration of malaysia - PR application file Missing at Putra Jaya
    To whom it may concerned, I have stayed in Malaysia for...

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Multichoice DSTV - LACK OF SEVICE
    Disappoited by the service In May 2018 our company...
    Nor-dtfee.com - I want my money back!!!
    Someone stold money from my card!! I did Not give my...
    Premium biscuits - Broken biscuits
    Every time I but the premium biscuits there always broken...
    POSLAJU KLIA HUB - Barang Masih DI Pos Laju KLIA
    MOHON CHECK BARANG SAYA. SUDAH 5 HARI MASIH DIKLIA....
    JUST ANSWER - Debited from my savings
    I was surprised after checking my savings acct and I was...
    Nabisco - Saltine crackers
    I threw out 1st box thinkin they had somehow gone bad ,...
    Outdoor Adventure - scam still going on
    SCAM!! Stay away! I wish my husband and I had seen...
    US Pharmacy - US Pharmacy
    Why in the hell can't we stop these calls? This has...
    ABSA - Verval van bankkaart
    My bankkaart het op 31 Januarie 2019 verval. Op Saterdag 1...
    Immigration of malaysia - PR application file Missing at Putra Jaya
    To whom it may concerned, I have stayed in Malaysia for...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username