Submit a Complaint

Eskom

South Africa

Consumer complaints and reviews about Eskom

Phindile Ndaba Send email
 
Oct 15, 2020

No electricity

Ya eskom! 6 months without power but people who don't but electricity have power and eskom is very happy about it not doing anything to them, but those who buy don't they just suffer, now I'm busy paying solar that is so expensive, I wonder when will corruption end in mzansi, I'm so pissed I've been logging complaints to eskom but all I get is endless references but they don't fix the problem they just don't care innocent sick elderly people and disabled one suffers in the process
Mmaletjeka Send email
 
Oct 4, 2020

Electrical fault -Eskom

Our electricity tripped yesterday night and we tried to call call centre when we select kwazulu natal option the phone just keep on billing doesnt go through, i sent several sms with no response and now we in the dark dont know what to do as this has been happening several times when its raining. And also the street light is on and off and i lodged fault in July 2020 ,i have been given different ref number and to date not attended.

Eskom doesnt seem to attend to queries


Esther
0828555298
Mmaletjeka Send email
 
Oct 4, 2020

Electrical fault

Our electricity tripped yesterday night and we tried to call call centre when we select kwazulu natal option the phone just keep on billing doesnt go through, i sent several sms with no response and now we in the dark dont know what to do as this has been happening several times when its raining. And also the street light is on and off and i lodged fault in July 2020 ,i have been given different ref number and to date not attended.

Eskom doesnt seem to attend to queries


Esther
0828555298
RIEKIE Send email
 
Sep 17, 2020

No power supply for more than 24hrs

Reported it yesterday got a reference number and they said the technician was working on it. The electric cable is still lying in the road and when I reported it again they said they don't have the resources to attend to it.
[email protected] Send email
 
Sep 15, 2020

Illegal Connections Being Ingnored

Ref : 373336050
Pole: PESK41H2

The reference was closed on 30/01/2020 with no action. I have even reported this matter on the Eskom crime line more than 2months ago and still no reply or action from Eskom.

More people have now connected on my power line and as a result I haven't had electricty since yesterday. The pole which they have used is now bent due to the weather and could break and fall into my yard at any moment now. Further more people are now leaching on my power as my bill is now more than double.

Does someone need to get injured or killed before action is taken.
[email protected] Send email
 
Sep 15, 2020

Illegal Connections Being Ingnored

Ref : 373336050
Pole: PESK41H2

The reference was closed on 30/01/2020 with no action. I have even reported this matter on the Eskom crime line more than 2months ago and still no reply or action from Eskom.

More people have now connected on my power line and as a result I haven't had electricty since yesterday. The pole which they have used is now bent due to the weather and could break and fall into my yard at any moment now. Further more people are now leaching on my power as my bill is now more than double.

Does someone need to get injured or killed before action is taken.
Kea Manna Send email
 
Sep 10, 2020

Eskom

Every day at 4pm our electricity got cut off - not loadshedding. Its our complex (Preston buildng 101 Tennessee avenue and part of extension 2 in Cosmo city). This affecting our businesses and some of us are working from home.
Kea Manna Send email
 
Sep 10, 2020

Eskom

Good evening

Since from last week Thursday, our electricity get cut off everyday at 4pm. This is affecting our businesses and some people are also working from home. It is ony in our complex (Preston builing - 101 Tennessee avenue) and part of extension 2 in Cosmo city.
Makdas25 Send email
 
Sep 9, 2020

NO Feedback

Still awaiting feedback on reference number 371413307 - this was raised on the 04/09/2020 and today is the 09/09/2020. Please revert it is urgent .

There is no response on the customer Care line , neither on the online queries and SMS's. I have exhausted all avenues yet no one from Eskom responds.
Account Number 7315650948

I URGENTLY need feedback regarding my account .
Lobodugald Send email
 
Sep 3, 2020

Severe damages done and not rectified

Up to 44 power cuts per day. Up to 23 power surges per day. Power out for up to 18 hours per day. Over R250000 worth of damages caused to us by Eskom over the past 32 months at TWO different addresses where we have lived (on opposite sides of town). This includes loss of income, blown appliances, rotten meat and food in fridge and freezer etc etc. I finally got a reference number after 31 months of complaining and they promised over one sms to fix the problem in 72 hours - that was a lie (big surprise). They have answered their phone once in the last 32 months telling me that there cannot be a problem since I am the only one who has complained (calling me a liar). They ignore every single SMS that I send to them. They try to phone me sometimes but ONLY when the power is off so that I have no signal and therefore the phone cannot ring. The Eskom app does not work as it says my meter number is invalid. We are now completely destroyed by Eskom and have nothing left. They have even blown our computers so that we cannot run a business or apply for jobs. Please if any Attorney could take on our case probono or if anyone knows of the Ombudsman to report Eskom to please please help us. My Whatsapp number is 0835641891. Please can anyone help us, we are soooo hungry now and desperately need Eskom to pay us out for what they have done to us.
[email protected] Send email
 
Aug 31, 2020

Reference numbers 368886082

Good day

It’s been since the 18th August trying with no luck for assistance from your call center and no response from SMS . I hope now I will get assistance. My meter box was stolen on the 18 August early hours and Cosmo City Police were notified however they advised that its an Eskom issue, and requires to be reported via Customer Care Service Centre. Since to date I haven't received any assistance from Eskom Customer Support. I have been expected this query to be assigned to technician …...STILL WAITING.

Required Support : Replacement of the meter box and Connection

Attached find the receipt for further details that you may require.

The following are my details :

Account number
meter number: 07108289070
Pos ID : 8000299301
Txn ID: 2168029738


Address details: house no 24 Mauritius Avenue
Stand no 7725
Cosmo City Ext 6

Contact details: 062 513 5024 ( Sibongile)/ 0788948048 Emily
[email protected] Send email
 
Aug 31, 2020

Reference numbers 368886082

Good day ESKOM

Company ;

It’s been 2 days trying with no luck for assistance from your call center and no response from SMS . I hope now I will get assistance. My meter box was stolen on the 18 August early hours and Cosmo City Police were notified however they advised that its an Eskom issue, and requires to be reported via Customer Care Service Centre.

Required Support : Replacement of the meter box and Connection

Attached find the receipt for further details that you may require. Even now , I'm still in the dark , NO ELECTRICITY to date.
Even The following are my details :

Account number
meter number: 07108289070
Pos ID : 8000299301
Txn ID: 2168029738


Address details: house no 24 Mauritius Avenue
Stand no 7725
Cosmo City Ext 6

Contact details: 062 513 5024 ( Sibongile)/ 0788948048 Emily
Jeanious01 Send email
 
Jul 31, 2020

terrible service and gross incompetence

Your organization is highly incompetent and your customer care people don't know what they are doing except dish out endless reference numbers without any actual assistance being done or follow ups done to make sure that the logged call is completed and closed. If all they do is dish out endless useless reference numbers , utilise computers; you don't need people getting paid for NOTHING. Stop using lockdown as an excuse to close down offices and down tools. You need people at a physical office, so that we can drive there, speak to managers or supervisors (if they exist). You don't need to all stay at home and literally do nothing.

You are quick to disconnect remotely but are unable to connect remotely. Its now 3 days since you disconnected my electricity and in spite of the payment being done, my electricity has not been connected within 24 hours as you claim. My students have been unable to write their online exams for 3 days. All my food has gone off. I have spent 3 whole days on the customer care line where I've been met with gross incompetence and no help whatsoever.

Going through to a different customer care person is problematic .They overwrite the previous comments and generally stuff up everything and write absolute rubbish. Its best if one customer care person preferably the initial one who logs the call sees it through to completion and closure. We should be able to speak to managers or supervisors especially when no action is being done wrt your logged call.

Your service is atrocious and getting worse. you don't give a damn about inconveniencing people. You overcharge people shamelessly for electricity to make up for your trillions of debt!! I seriously think its time for privatisation and letting people who know what they are doing run the company. If only all of south Africa could go solar!!! I know I am definitely going that route.

Take these complaints and suggestions seriously. We are trying to help you by thinking for you. I also want compensation for all the spoilage and missed exams etc. and the 3 days of stress and inconvenience.

ESKOM......SHAPE UP OR SHIP OUT!!!! ITS WAY PAST TIME
pertunia Send email
 
Jul 29, 2020

terrible service and corruption

I have logged a call with their call centre on the 1st july, I did follow ups on numerous occassion and they always give different excuses all the time.on the 29th when i call for an update as they promise to send a technician, to my surprise the case was closed on the 3rd and I was not informed.They said I should take it up with North rand office as they are handling the case.The call centre agent can't give me the contact number or address for that specific office as she doesn't know johannesburg.Its shocking that the technicians are willing to help us if we contribute per household to pay them, but when you go through correct route they are busy with Audits.why do we have to suffer for the service we pay for, the electricity its expensive and we don't get value for money.how will our kids study online without electricity and how will we avoid getting flu using cold water.Its sad how we suffer because of corrupt people incharge, as its clear the only way out is to spend money that we don't have.No wonder the organisation always needs to be rescued all the time, cause people earn salaries and still want extra cash on the side.I don't think any member of the public will decide to temper with meter box, its the very same people that works for the company.
Is there any platform we can escalate the problems, as the call center its useless while you hold for almost 20minutes to be served.
EWolmarans Send email
 
Jul 27, 2020

Stolen Transformer

On Monday, 20 July 2020, our transformer was stolen from the street pole. We have reported the case with Eskom on even date. We received an email stating that the Lanseria technicians are waiting for a transformer, but in the meanwhile, the case was closed on the system. We received 2 sms's stating the power was restored as per field staff and if there is no power, we have to report again. I have a total of 6 reference numbers, but no power. No water as we are staying on a small holding, relying on borehole water supply. We pay thousands of rands on capacity charges, but no service from Eskom!
EWolmarans Send email
 
Jul 27, 2020

Stolen Transformer

We had a transformer stolen on 20 July 2020, a report was done and a reference number received. We received an email saying they are waiting for a transformer, but in the meanwhile the system shows the case being closed. We have reported numerous times since Monday, and each time the same message on the system. 2 Sms's were received, saying: "Dear Customer, Power should be restored as per field staff. If your power is not on, please report it again"
We stay on a small holding, relying on a borehole for water, but without electricity no water supply! I received 6 reference numbers on this matter, but no power. Eskom are quick to take your money for all capacity charges, but when it comes to service, Nothing, NADA, Niks!
Lizzm Send email
 
Jul 22, 2020

No electricity

Since from last week Monday my area dies not have electricity. This is the second week. I've logged more than 6 calls but nothing happened. The refs are being closed as electricity has been restored but no electricity. This is the second week now all house in my are does not have electricity. I have a child who uses nebulizer, how do I use it when no electricity. My area is Kaalfontein Ext 5 midrand. Eskom does not care about people. The problem the ward counsellor came on Sunday and said electricity will be restored latest Tuesday 22 July. Even today we still waiting. Eskom is rubbish they only know how to do fraud and robbing people. Taking money from people. Sk as a community we must buy them to come and fix electricity. We have been struggling with our transformer. When call them they dont come just close the calls. Even last year 2019 we had the same problem where the commended up striking closing roads. I guess they want the same thing.
Hlelo8209 Send email
 
Jul 17, 2020

No electricity

We dont have electricity since yesterday we have been trying to phone you but with no respond till now , meter no: 04074134877 , this thing to phone you when ever we dont have electricity doesnt work because you dont answer the phone so its very useless and wasting our airtime
Mlondi Send email
 
Jul 13, 2020

No electricity

if you are going to do loadshedding I think this should be done equally amongst residents you cannot cut the power on 1 street and leave the other without power for days. we have been having this problem for months now same zone just few houses without power while the rest has power.

zone 6 meadowlands, please look into the issue and assist
Nolusindiso Send email
 
Jul 2, 2020

Meter move

good Morning

Ref number 345591219
payment Ref No 8673838 034
Amount paid R400
payment date 14-09-2019

I requested a Meter move from 2019 already but till today nothing happened .I've been calling for follow up but still no luck
My House been demolished now with that box inside. Technicians inspect twice and promise to come the following day but not even the single one who came the next day.
They keep on closing the new reference numbers before they resolve the matter
I really need assistance in this regard

Contact me on 063 802 1083 please
Nombusoh Send email
 
Jun 29, 2020

No electricity

No electricity for more than a week since from the 20th of June to date. I am essential worker I am supposed to be working home due to no electricity I find myself leaving to work at the office. I stay with an asmathic mom which her life depends on nubiliser now is always struggling to breath because of no electricity. I am a paying customer and I am not happy with the service. I am busy with my online exam with Unisa which is a struggle because of no electricity. Reference number 357530247, meter number 01026514743.
MamakaSbuda Motahane Send email
 
Jun 19, 2020

No electricity

Please note that we have been out of electricity for 7 days now, can you please send someone to have a look urgently.
Orion Street, Ext.20. Ekuruleni
[email protected] Send email
 
Jun 18, 2020

LIVE ELECTRIC CABLE EXPOSED

urgent live electrical cable exposed for over a week numerous referenses and nothing has been done lots of pedestrians and school children walking past the exposed electrical cable accident waiting to happen acc no 6702811481 last reference number 356455280
tsholok Send email
 
Jun 18, 2020

no electricity

We have been without power since last week Friday i called on Saturday and was given a ref number 356059181 i was told technicians would come on Wednesday the 17th June but we are still waiting and as paying customers it is really unfair what they are doing because it is like they are punishing us.
Chris Monotoe Send email
 
Jun 9, 2020

Power outage

Good day,

I am an essential worker and I am supposed to write my UNISA exam TONIGHT at 6pm.

We do not have power and it has been out since yesterday at 6pm. I tried calling you and I was on hold for too long.

Metre Number: 07167037535 (Braamfisher).

Please call me back on 078 918 5390 (Chris)

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username