Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Eskom

South Africa

Consumer complaints and reviews about Eskom

TP Diu Send email
 
Jun 21, 2018

Poor Eskom service

I reported low voltage electricity on 2018-06-05 at around 08:00 and given reference number 242017990
The technician did come and promised that he was gonna come the following day which is 2018-06-06, he delayed coming that day and I called him on his cell phone number 079 150 4109 which he promised to come to change the box around 15:00 the very same day. 2018-06-06 as he was on workshop.
I had to leave my office to go and wait for him and as I am writing this email it is 21:09 and the electricity is not yet fixed.
I phoned eskom customer care again and was given the second ref no. 242373506. The other technician came on 2018-06-08 late at around 16:00 and informed me that he "THINK" the problem might be the underground cable (which is contrary to the first technician who came and also closed the call without assisting me).
The second technician who introduced himself as Mr Maile said he will come back again on Tuesday 2018-06-12 as he will be writing an exam on Monday 2018-06-11 and he also closed the call saying the power was restored. I was pretty much surprised as to how Eskom is treating their honest and law abiding customers.

On 2018-06-12 I was given the third ref no. 242918612 and the very same day I went to Eskom offices in Mmabatho and met the manager/supervisor who introduced herself as Rudy and she tried calling the Technicians who took her frm pillar to post but ended up promising her to come and assist me but they did not come and closed the call again without assisting me.
On 2018-06-16 I was given the fourth ref no. 243783328 wich was also closed the same day without assistance. On Monday 2018-06-18 technicians came after I received the fifth ref no. 244033829 and promised to come on Wednesday 2018-06-20 to change the cable but still they did not come as promised
As an Eskom customer who pays for eskom services I feel very much belittled and not being taken into consideration by your technicians.
It is very cold and my kids bathe with cold water as if I am an irresponsible mother and they have to eat bread because I am unable to cook for them or keep food in the refrigirator.
My child has a Urinary Tract Infection because we are now using the neighbour's outside toilet as we are unable to pump water for our toilet. My food decayed in the fridge. I am very much disappointed at the way Eskom is relaxed about my issue. I buy electricity I don't steal it and I am treated like a thief or a beggar. That is how I feel. Like a beggar. I tried all the channels of reporting my problem but failed to be assisted. The amount of airtime I used to report is over R1000.00
This is totally demoralizing or probably because I stay in the village that is why I am not valued as a customer who pays
Siphiwesun Send email
 
Jun 20, 2018

No Powe for 3 days

It is with regret that I have to draft this complaint.

On Monday before 8 pm, we had power outage on selected houses and at around 8 pm I logged a call reporting that we do not have electricity.

I was assisted by with (ref: 244165906) and advised that I will be assisted within 4-6 hours. Looking at the time, I knew that I will most probably be assisted in the morning because we are always told that Eskom technicians don't work at 10pm.

Tuesday I made a follow up calls and was advised that I should be assisted at 10 am and if not, I should make a follow up call on the same reference number at 16:30 pm decided to call and told that the technician is on the way. Every hour made follow up calls,
I placed my final call at 21:00 p.m. which was picked up by Pinkie, a lady who was determined to give me her utmost assistance and she logged my call again with the new ref number 244225417 after the old one had been closed due to a technician who is full of lies reporting that he fixed the problem which I am still facing. Went to bed again without electricity.
In total, i have spoken to 6 call center consultants since Monday and Tues and up to this point, my query is still hanging.

Now with all that being said, we as the community that is serviced by Eskom do not appreciate such poor service from your technicians because this makes it seem as if all your technicians are not doing their job. We understand that there are a few bad/rotten potatoes that need to be dealt with before they spoil the whole pack because as it is, Eskom is being painted with a bad colour. It is not fair that you tell us that your turnaround time is 4-6 hours and yet you take over 24 hours to assess and fix our problems and to make things worse, there is no communication. I am currently not happy with the service I am getting from Eskom because we know of many locations/areas/places that do not have prepaid meters and the people living there owe Eskom a lot of money but you would never hear them complaining about power outages and if my query was in the Suburbs, it would have been resolved in less than 2 hours. A lot of times, we get to be told lies like "a technician came and the gate was locked or a technician fixed the problem without them fixing anything" and this is becoming a bad habit. Eskom's name is being dragged through the mud because of such people.

Not all but some of your(Eskom) employees need to pull up their socks and start working towards their salaries because they are being paid for actually doing nothing and wasting company resources.

On a lighter note, I would like to show my token of appreciation to the Eskom call centre for doing their job and to Pinkie for going an extra mile in trying to make sure that my issue is attended to promptly.
And I would really appreciate if the technicians who are not doing their job are dealt with:

From: <customerservices@eskom.co.za>
Date: Tue, 19 Jun 2018, 21:19
Subject: Eskom ref no
To: <nhlanhla.siphiwe18@gmail.com>

Good day
Eskom ref no 244225417
Work-order no 501-19097677
Pinkie

Sad customer
S Nhlanhla (Mr)
0817125836
Meter # 07106700128
Siphiwesun Send email
 
Jun 20, 2018

Ivory Park Distribution Centre

Ivory Park Distribution Centre, Poor Service

No Power for 3 days
Call logged and closed with no solution.
Job card number:
Eskom ref no 244225417
Work-order no 501-19097677
Eskom ref no 244165906

Frequently told that the technician is on a way and it has been 3 days with no power.
Technicians and distribution centre not helping due to the fact that the complain is in the township.
Always, empty promises from Eskom

SS NHLANHLA
Meter # 07106700128
0817125836
AbelMahori Send email
 
Jun 19, 2018

3 Days without Electricity

WITHOUT ELETRICITY this is so frustrating, we have log calls they are saying technicians are waiting for parts since yesterday then to our surprise the call was close as eletricity restored WORST SERVICE EVER we have close to ten Reference Numbers yet nobody came to assist.

REF:244067341,REF:244104544
REF:244026336 REF:244022392

New REF number:244154490 ("still waiting") logged today 19 06 2018

Is it because we stay in the location that's why service delivery is so bad???

Please someone help BLUE HILLS EXT 32 Girth Midrand
kobelampe@gmail.com Send email
 
Jun 14, 2018

Poor service

With a faulty meter for 18 days,calling eskom every day but they give me different references

Poor service

Any Send email
 
Jun 7, 2018

Poor Service

Eskom at Tsakane their service is disgusting. Yesterday I called around 2 to log a fault because we had an issue with our Electricity and they gave me a Reference Number to follow up on it and I was told that they should attend to my case in 4-6 hours. We waited but no one came then this morning we called and they told us that it shows that their Technicians are on their way to my place but if they not here by 09:30 we must give them a call. They still didn't come we called them the whole day and we spoke to 6 consultants but none of them were able to assist or tell me what's the solution or why their technicians are not here. Even now I'm still waiting for them we don't have electricity.
Any Send email
 
Jun 7, 2018

POOR SERVICE

Eskom at Tsakane their service is disgusting. Yesterday I called around 2 to log a fault because we had an issue with our Electricity and they gave me a Reference Number to follow up on it and I was told that they should attend to my case in 4-6 hours. We waited but no one came then this morning we called and they told us that it shows that their Technicians are on their way to my place but if they not here by 09:30 we must give them a call. They still didn't come we called them the whole day and we spoke to 6 consultants but none of them were able to assist or tell me what's the solution or why their technicians are not here. Even now I'm still waiting for them we don't have electricity.
Vocal Send email
 
Jun 4, 2018

Poor Service from Eskom

It is with regret that I have to draft this complaint.

On Friday before 7 pm, we had power outage on selected houses and at around 8 pm I logged a call reporting that we do not have electricity.

I was assisted by Thabiso(with ref: 241787205) and advised that I will be assisted within 4-6 hours. Looking at the time, I knew that I will most probably be assisted in the morning because we are always told that Eskom technicians don't work at 10pm.

Saturday morning at 7:30 am, I made a follow up call and was advised that I should be assisted at 10 am and if not, I should make a follow up call on the same reference number at 10:30 am but being human, I decided to call at 11 am. When making that call, I got assistance from Matamela who told me that there was a shortage of technicians but as soon as one is available, he/she will be dispatched to attend to my query and if I have not been helped, I should make another follow up call at 12:30 pm. Again, with the information that I was given, I decided to give the technicians some time and be hopeful that my problem will be resolved before I even had to make another call. Seeing that time is passing and there is no sign of anyone assisting with my query, I made another call at 1 pm this time being assisted by Ronny only to be told the same story and to call at 3 pm. At 3:30 pm, I called again and spoke to a lady by the name of Reshoketsoe and she also told me the same story, I decided to log a complain ref: 241847171 because I could see that I am being sent from pillar to post without any help. At 5:30 pm when making another follow up, I spoke to Kamogelo who told me that a technician reported that my query was resolved at 15:41 and to my surprise, no technician came to assess or attend to our problems and it was a lie and when I asked to speak to the supervisor, my call was placed on hold and hung up after 7 minutes of being put on hold. Immediately I called again and my call was picked up by Mahlaku who then told me she will contact Karabo, a representative from RFC/RMC with my query and I should call again at 6:30 pm for feedback.

I placed my call at 6:50 which was picked up by Reshoketsoe again, a lady who was determined to give me her utmost assistance and she logged my call again with the new ref number 241856244 after the old one had been closed due to a technician who is full of lies reporting that he fixed the problem which I am still facing. My Saturday was wasted as i went to bed again without electricity.

Sunday morning i called again at 7:40 and spoke to Ronny who told me that Sydwell (his colleague) is busy with my query and a technician will be dispatched and i was getting frustrated because no one was assisting me and at 11:45 am i called and spoke to Nonhlanhla, another consultant whom i told that enough is enough and still not getting any services. I made a lot of follow up calls for the rest of the day again without getting help. I then saw the Eskom van passing and i stopped it giving the technician all my reference numbers and his response was that he doesn't see any of my references and he will not help me and this was after being told that a technician has put my reference on hold. At 9:50 pm, i got a message that power has been restored but we still had no electricity and the technician who gave that feedback was being dishonest hence i placed another call today (Monday) at 4:40 am seeking clarity with regards to why Eskom is not servicing us as the community and i was given another ref number (241940975)

In total, i have spoken to 16 call center consultants since Friday and up to this point, my query is still hanging.


Now with all that being said, we as the community that is serviced by Eskom do not appreciate such poor service from your technicians because this makes it seem as if all your technicians are not doing their job. We understand that there are a few bad/rotten potatoes that need to be dealt with before they spoil the whole pack because as it is, Eskom is being painted with a bad colour. It is not fair that you tell us that your turnaround time is 4-6 hours and yet you take over 24 hours to assess and fix our problems and to make things worse, there is no communication. I am currently not happy with the service I am getting from Eskom because we know of many locations/areas/places that do not have prepaid meters and the people living there owe Eskom a lot of money but you would never hear them complaining about power outages and if my query was in the Suburbs, it would have been resolved in less than 2 hours. A lot of times, we get to be told lies like "a technician came and the gate was locked or a technician fixed the problem without them fixing anything" and this is becoming a bad habit. Eskom's name is being dragged through the mud because of such people.

Not all but some of your(Eskom) employees need to pull up their socks and start working towards their salaries because they are being paid for actually doing nothing and wasting company resources.

On a lighter note, I would like to show my token of appreciation to the Eskom call centre for doing their job and to Reshoketsoe for going an extra mile in trying to make sure that my issue is attended to promptly. Hope Eskom will take note of such employees and reward them accordingly because they deserve to be compensated better for what they are doing to keep the customers satisfied and giving us hope.

Hope no one gets fired but I would really appreciate if the technicians who are not doing their job are dealt with
Vocal Send email
 
Jun 4, 2018

Poor Service from Eskom

It is with regret that I have to draft this complaint.

On Friday before 7 pm, we had power outage on selected houses and at around 8 pm I logged a call reporting that we do not have electricity.

I was assisted by Thabiso(with ref: 241787205) and advised that I will be assisted within 4-6 hours. Looking at the time, I knew that I will most probably be assisted in the morning because we are always told that Eskom technicians don't work at 10pm.

Saturday morning at 7:30 am, I made a follow up call and was advised that I should be assisted at 10 am and if not, I should make a follow up call on the same reference number at 10:30 am but being human, I decided to call at 11 am. When making that call, I got assistance from Matamela who told me that there was a shortage of technicians but as soon as one is available, he/she will be dispatched to attend to my query and if I have not been helped, I should make another follow up call at 12:30 pm. Again, with the information that I was given, I decided to give the technicians some time and be hopeful that my problem will be resolved before I even had to make another call. Seeing that time is passing and there is no sign of anyone assisting with my query, I made another call at 1 pm this time being assisted by Ronny only to be told the same story and to call at 3 pm. At 3:30 pm, I called again and spoke to a lady by the name of Reshoketsoe and she also told me the same story, I decided to log a complain ref: 241847171 because I could see that I am being sent from pillar to post without any help. At 5:30 pm when making another follow up, I spoke to Kamogelo who told me that a technician reported that my query was resolved at 15:41 and to my surprise, no technician came to assess or attend to our problems and it was a lie and when I asked to speak to the supervisor, my call was placed on hold and hung up after 7 minutes of being put on hold. Immediately I called again and my call was picked up by Mahlaku who then told me she will contact Karabo, a representative from RFC/RMC with my query and I should call again at 6:30 pm for feedback.

I placed my call at 6:50 which was picked up by Reshoketsoe again, a lady who was determined to give me her utmost assistance and she logged my call again with the new ref number 241856244 after the old one had been closed due to a technician who is full of lies reporting that he fixed the problem which I am still facing. My Saturday was wasted as i went to bed again without electricity.

Sunday morning i called again at 7:40 and spoke to Ronny who told me that Sydwell (his colleague) is busy with my query and a technician will be dispatched and i was getting frustrated because no one was assisting me and at 11:45 am i called and spoke to Nonhlanhla, another consultant whom i told that enough is enough and still not getting any services. I made a lot of follow up calls for the rest of the day again without getting help. I then saw the Eskom van passing and i stopped it giving the technician all my reference numbers and his response was that he doesn't see any of my references and he will not help me and this was after being told that a technician has put my reference on hold. At 9:50 pm, i got a message that power has been restored but we still had no electricity and the technician who gave that feedback was being dishonest hence i placed another call today (Monday) at 4:40 am seeking clarity with regards to why Eskom is not servicing us as the community and i was given another ref number (241940975)

In total, i have spoken to 16 call center consultants since Friday and up to this point, my query is still hanging.


Now with all that being said, we as the community that is serviced by Eskom do not appreciate such poor service from your technicians because this makes it seem as if all your technicians are not doing their job. We understand that there are a few bad/rotten potatoes that need to be dealt with before they spoil the whole pack because as it is, Eskom is being painted with a bad colour. It is not fair that you tell us that your turnaround time is 4-6 hours and yet you take over 24 hours to assess and fix our problems and to make things worse, there is no communication. I am currently not happy with the service I am getting from Eskom because we know of many locations/areas/places that do not have prepaid meters and the people living there owe Eskom a lot of money but you would never hear them complaining about power outages and if my query was in the Suburbs, it would have been resolved in less than 2 hours. A lot of times, we get to be told lies like "a technician came and the gate was locked or a technician fixed the problem without them fixing anything" and this is becoming a bad habit. Eskom's name is being dragged through the mud because of such people.

Not all but some of your(Eskom) employees need to pull up their socks and start working towards their salaries because they are being paid for actually doing nothing and wasting company resources.

On a lighter note, I would like to show my token of appreciation to the Eskom call centre for doing their job and to Reshoketsoe for going an extra mile in trying to make sure that my issue is attended to promptly. Hope Eskom will take note of such employees and reward them accordingly because they deserve to be compensated better for what they are doing to keep the customers satisfied and giving us hope.

Hope no one gets fired but I would really appreciate if the technicians who are not doing their job are dealt with
DineoMakoe Send email
 
Jun 1, 2018

Power Outage

For reference: 241609973, Eskom really offers a pathetic service and they don't even care do they? It is about the 5th day we have been without electricity and each time we call this stupid excuse of a company call center we are told that Ivory 2 is a red area. We pay for this service each month even though it is so expensive but your call center agents don't even have the humanity to put us through to a manger who will tell us when this power will get restored..

This is why there are so many illegal connections in our area, because you don't even take the time to listen to peoples concerns. Your agent said that the area is red and that she has no ETA when this will get resolve, we will just have to BE STRONG while this is going on.

ESKOM YOU ARE A WASTE OF TIME WITH NO ENERGY. THANKS FOR MESSING UP OUR LIFE'S. I HOPE YOU GET WHAT IS COMING TO YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Andrea C Send email
 
May 23, 2018

NO power - REF: 240186516

Since 14th May the Ivory Park Extension 2 has had no power. This has been 10 days now this service delivery is UNACCEPTABLE - People CAN NOT live like this !!

Please sort this out Urgently!
Andrea C Send email
 
May 23, 2018

Ivory Park - No Power - REF:240186516

Since 14th May the Ivory Park Extension 2 has had no power. This has been 10 days now this service delivery is UNACCEPTABLE - People CAN NOT live like this !!

Please sort this out Urgently!
sylvester Send email
 
May 21, 2018

Eskom Employment Records vs. Unclaimed benefits

Good Day

I am Sylvester Pretorius a pensioner, I am trying for weeks to get escom to provide me with my employment records/ in order for me to claim my benefits. I was retrenched between 1970 and 1990. But eskom says they cant trace my identity number on their system. What and where can I go for help.

Please email a response, sylvesterpretorius@gmail.com.

Regards
Sylvester Pretorius (pensioner)
ricky oosthuizen Send email
 
May 21, 2018

HORRIBLE SERVICE

My transformer struck by lightning 3rd Jan 2018. Still receiving bills. I am in arrears I know that but cannot keep up with their billing. Paid how many R10 000.00 deposits that I must keep replacing. Now charged again R9600.00. No proper explanantion. Lady at call centre told me Eksom can charge us what they feel like. I have all my reference numbers of all the calls I logged. Yet I am threatened to be disconnected how funny as our transformer has been broken now for 5 months. I keep on being told technicians will come out. That doesnt happen. I want answers. Where is my deposits going to and why do I get large amounts of money added on to my account. Why am I receiving energy bills if I have no electricity for over 5 months now. I pay and my account goes up within another almost R20 000.00 in a month? How must I keep my lights on? I live on a farm and it is not safe to sit without lights at night. Who can help met to resolve this. Said I signed a contract but yet cannot provide me with a copy of this so called contract. We never signed anything moving in to this property 22 years ago.
mokgalkj Send email
 
Apr 16, 2018

Wrong transformer

I need a help.i applied for 3phase transformer but single phase was installed.when I ask u was told I need to make upgrade to the 3phase only to find I also need to pay R11000.00 on top.though I paid about R15000.00 already for single phase...
What must be done. They let me sign without explaining to me .now they say I signed there is nothing they can do.
Pls help.0727207062
Xoli Send email
 
Mar 22, 2018

Load shading

I've been calling braamfontein eskom since in the morning. No body wants to pick up the phone..it rings then the person hangs up the phone.am really upset tight now..what's the use of buying electricity which you can't use.it's only 7 of our houses which the electricity didn't come back.I also called the customer service line 0860037566 and I was told that am gonna receive a reference number six hours ago.still nothing.the service is useless
Nosipo Send email
 
Mar 19, 2018

Installation of prepaid system 233161469

Reference no 233161469 I would like to inform your office that ever since my request of switching to prepaid early March (this month) I never got any feedback from Eskom notifying of their programme of installation.

Secondly today I personally went to the branch to check progress. I was surprised that I could not be served by any official from Butterworth Eskom branch except for the mediation by the security officer between myself and the official whom I assume was suppose to service me.

I was forced to disclose my business to the security officer which I wouldn't regard as screening of clients more than doing the meant to be done by Eskom officials.

This is a disgrace
ramaisa Send email
 
Mar 16, 2018

Unfinished electricity restorations

I'd like to submit my complain about Eskom technicians who every time they come to restore electricity to the houses experiencing power cut off,they leave other houses without electricity(power cutting other houses)and they never come back,and we have to start all over again to phone Eskom,spending more than R100 on phone call bills!its terrible and has been happening for some quite several times
Glourina Send email
 
Mar 15, 2018

Frequent change in meter boxes without our concern

Frequent change in meter boxes

I am one of community members staying in Riverside View Ext 30, Eskom came last year December and were changing the meter boxes and we requested a formal communication and also called meeting with them and they never responded. Now in March 2018 they go around our houses changing meters without our concerns, getting access from our kids.

Contact details:
Gloria- 0729710816/ 0638752165
meagan.kahn Send email
 
Mar 8, 2018

KIOSK REPLACEMENT

To whom it may concern,

I would like to submit a complaint regarding the service at Eskom. We are the managing agents for 3 Home Owners Associations in Silversands Kuilsriver (Bardale Village). In essence we deal with all their complaints and we try to get these issues resolved as swiftly as possible. It is very challenging and frustrating to say the least when one has to lodge calls over and over again to no avail of Eskom. No communication whatsoever and absolutely no way of speaking to clients telephonically. Consultants have hung up on me and have just been plain rude. My final attempt is this forum and I am hoping that someone will take the time to respond to me and get the issues I brought to Eskoms' attention, resolved. The issues are as follows:

1.) Kiosk in 15 Kudu Way Bardale Village Phase 3 (De Hoop) is damaged and needs to be replaced, we are afraid that is a safety risk to all in the HOA. Should anyone be injured, we will not be held liable for this. The reference is 232196421, which I might add had been " approved" on your system and according to the consultants. This I have heard about 5 times. Please get a technician out to solve the problem and close the matter on your system.

2.) We have logged calls for street lights that are not working in Phase 3 Giraffe Street as well as other streets in De Hoop. Initially the call was logged with COCT but it was referred to Eskom apparently. Please address these street lights, residents are complaining and we are bearing the brunt of Eskoms' incompetence and lack of communication.

3.) I spoke to a consultant by the name of Sam for this specific matter as City of Cape Town referred me to Eskom. We have 5 x electrical green boxes in Phase 1 Vanilla Home Owners Association in Silversands Kuilsriver that need to be re-sprayed as per the board of Trustees request. I asked the consultant to please advise whether could just make an inquiry and let me know as he said he would not log the call based on the fact that he was not sure whether Eskom would deal with this specific matter. Please address this issue soonest.

We as a company and the HOA are at our wits end with Eskom so we appeal to you to please address the above-mentioned issues with urgency and with competence. We would not want to take matters further but if left with no choice, this will seem to be the only resolve.

My Contact Details:
Meagan Kahn
(021) 200 0145
071 3417980

The Managing agents for the Development of Bardale Village (Silversands Kuilsriver)
maletsatsi Send email
 
Mar 2, 2018

installation of box

Maletsatsi elisa Rachoshi
8310310756080
0722937449
Melanie Stokes Send email
 
Mar 1, 2018

Account and electricity supply problems

To whom it may concern



I am directing my complaint to any one who can assist in investigating corruption at the Lephalale branch.

The story begin in 2006 when my mother started to rent a guesthouse from Mr Swanepoel. She shares the ground with them but the ground is divided between them. She paid and installed her own pole and transformer.

The account was on her name. CHJS Stokes, she has Eskom accounts as proof that the account was on her name. For some reason the account was changed to the owners name without her permission.

She left it at that as she is renting the property. Jan 2017 R10 000 was added to her account for a transformer. But she didn’t have problems with her transformer, the owner which has their own pole, their transformer blew. We submitted a complaint to Eskom, until now no response have been received.



She has been without electricity without a year. On 20 February I called customer services and spoke to Moloko and Grace. My ref nr were: 232013552, 232048326. But explained that they do not understand why her electricity has been switched off, because according to the system she is R12000 in credit and the electricity should be on. 8 o clock that night her electricity was switched on, however the technician didn’t have a new breaker with him, so he installed an old breaker. The next morning when he wanted to leave to install the new breaker, they called him back and gave him a paper to show that the account is closed.

I have contacted customer service, they are unable to assist me as they can’t see who stopped the account, when the name was changed ext, I have to phone the branch or a branch in Limpopo because only they have access to the “full” system. Unfortunately Lephalale walk in branch system isn’t even on their system, so they can’t provide me with the number.

After phoning several numbers, I eventually got Riekie at the Lephalale branch to phone my number. She asked if my mother have proof that she paid the account, she replied yes, she has the till slips, but as the account is on Swanepoels name, the system automatically puts Swanepoels name on the slip. Anyone should now this. But she said that this doesn’t count as proof. So if a cash slip doesn’t count as proof then I don’t know why do we get cash slips?? She has lost her R12 000 credit with the other money that she has paid(transformer). She needs to go and open another account and in the meantime still be without electricity. To change the account back to her name she will need a permission letter from the owner( Swanepoel). And also due to the fact that they only have a verbal agreement, she has no foot to stand on.



I do however have a few questions.

· When the pole and transformer was installed and paid for by Mrs M Stokes, Eskom didn’t care if there was a written agreement or not. They received the money, account was opened. Why is it now a problem.

· How come she needs permission from owner to change the account to her name, if they were able to change it without her permission. I want to see the documentation that was submitted and where she signed giving permission for the account to be changed to their name.

· How come a transformer can be added to her account when the jobcard will clearly states that the pole number is different from her pole number. I want a copy of that jobcard.

· She should receive notice that the electricity is going to be switched off, at this moment they are switching on and off as they want to.

· There is no way that an account can be closed completely within less than 24 hours. I would like to see the proof of the documentation and when it was submitted.

· It states that as long as you can you slips it is valid proof of payment, there is no way that Eskom can refuse her slips as proof of payment. I want Eskom to send me a notification of what is accepted as proof of payment if a slip from a cashier is not accepted.



So all in all, in a nutshell, without her permission the account name was changed, a transformer not belonging to her was added to her account, her electricity was switched off without reason, the account was closed, her R12 000 is now lost. All of these points indicate that there is corruption within Lephalale and now she is paying the price. And the worst part is, if someone is going to assist me, she is still laible for the pole fees for the more than a year eventhough Eskom made a mistake and caused a lot of discomfort, extra money, generator fees, petrol fees for generator, appliances damage.

I ask that someone please investigate this as this is a serious matter. I will not stop until this is resolved and the person responsible for this has been found.

I am sure that I am not the only person that is having these problems and I will gladly ask everyone in Lephalale to go to the police office to make affidavits with their problems with Eskom, and then I will contact the papers and Carte Blanche because this is robbing people and taking away our basic needs as electricity.



Please do not hesitate to contact me on 072 492 4419 or email me on sasafety1@gmail.com for more information.

Looking forward to your assistance and response.

Melanie Stokes



Account information

DJH Swanepoel

Account nr: 6638677148

Meter nr: 3007892992076

Pole nr: VNN 462/2 Gedeelte 14, Marken 457LR



Section 32 of the Constitution protects the right of South African citizens to access information. This section states that everyone has the right of access to any information held by the state, or held by any other person, that is to be used for the protection or exercise of any right. The Promotion of Access to Information Act of 2000 (PAIA) is the law that gives effect to this right.
Priscilla@pl Send email
 
Feb 25, 2018

ESKOM INCORRECT BILLING

I recently purchased property that I have taken occupation of on the 01/07/17 however a few months into the property a lot is wrong, made an enquiry on the 2/01.18 with Eskom when the meter wasn't reading ,electricians came and didn't do anything promised to come back and they never did ,I was advised I will not get assistance until I paid whatever amount that was due because the supply was cut off, Thursday evening 22/02/18 I enquired with Eskom I was told I owe 6000 in order to have this fixed even though the electricity details weren't in my name and until then I will not have electricity because who ever the occupant is owes them , I have receipts that proof that I was buying electricity from the time I moved in and on their side the meter wasn't registering any electricity , when I asked for proof off all this nothing could be explained and that it was my responsibility to know all this from the lawyers its a blame game, I'm still with no electricity and need urgent assistance.
Priscilla@pl Send email
 
Feb 25, 2018

Incorrect billing

I recently purchased property that I have taken occupation of on the 01/07/17 however a few months into the property a lot is wrong, made an enquiry on the 2/01.18 with Eskom when the meter wasn't reading ,electricians came and didn't do anything promised to come back and they never did ,I was advised I will not get assistance until I paid whatever amount that was due because the supply was cut off, Thursday evening 22/02/18 I enquired with Eskom I was told I owe 6000 in order to have this fixed even though the electricity details weren't in my name and until then I will not have electricity because who ever the occupant is owes them , I have receipts that proof that I was buying electricity from the time I moved in and on their side the meter wasn't registering any electricity , when I asked for proof off all this nothing could be explained and that it was my responsibility to know all this from the lawyers its a blame game, I'm still with no electricity and need urgent assistance.
John Homewood Send email
 
Feb 6, 2018

Excessive penalties charged for minor infringement

Severe penalties (R18000) levied for opening a meter box with a key supplied by ESKOM, and switching on the circuit breaker to restore power to my house.
My wife and I are 72 years old and pensioners with very limited income.
During this time my daughter and her very young child were also staying with us.
Power was disconnected for lack of payment, and remained off for 4 days while I scrounged for the money to pay ESKOM.
Our water is harvested through rain water tanks and requires a pump to feed the house. Consequently we were without light and water for this period as the pump could not operate either without electricity.
An R18000 penalty was levied and had to paid before power was restored.
I have taken my case to many different unsympathetic people at Eskom, but the same arrogant response prevails.
I take responsibility for my actions, but I did not in any way tamper with any connections or ESKOM equipment.
There was not risk of injury or death, and the fact that ESKOM issue keys to their meter boxes indicates that there is no danger in accessing the circuit breaker.
My request through the medium of this letter is to have an impartial hearing, cognizance given to our financial position and compassion taken into account as a first offender.
Thank you
John Homewood
0824443746

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Fantasy Riches X Sweepstakes - Inability to enter
    Gave them a call from my phone using *67 so they...
    Hallmark channel - Listing movies as series
    I have been a fan of Hallmark and HMM for a long time. But...
    Idea Cellular - No action on request
    I request Idea costmer care to deactivate PRE CALL ...
    cbse - Cbecking of board paper
    I cant secure as low marks as i have got. In these...
    Activity Superstore - Feel I was misled, even conned
    This company do not know the meaning of customer service....
    Renault Tableview - Incorrect mileage log on maintance book
    I 8706130772084 BD Sigasa vin VF15SRAA452466764 Renault...
    Ashford University - Multiple Issues
    1st Ive had several employers tell me that they refuse to...
    wercrypto.com - Scam
    Do not count on the fact that hired people are writing....
    Pall mall 100s in the white pack - Six of the cigarettes was missing the filter
    Yesterday around 630 or 700pm I went to Deli Depot and...

    Share this site with others

         
          

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Fantasy Riches X Sweepstakes - Inability to enter
    Gave them a call from my phone using *67 so they...
    Hallmark channel - Listing movies as series
    I have been a fan of Hallmark and HMM for a long time. But...
    Idea Cellular - No action on request
    I request Idea costmer care to deactivate PRE CALL ...
    cbse - Cbecking of board paper
    I cant secure as low marks as i have got. In these...
    Activity Superstore - Feel I was misled, even conned
    This company do not know the meaning of customer service....
    Renault Tableview - Incorrect mileage log on maintance book
    I 8706130772084 BD Sigasa vin VF15SRAA452466764 Renault...
    Ashford University - Multiple Issues
    1st Ive had several employers tell me that they refuse to...
    wercrypto.com - Scam
    Do not count on the fact that hired people are writing....
    Pall mall 100s in the white pack - Six of the cigarettes was missing the filter
    Yesterday around 630 or 700pm I went to Deli Depot and...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username