Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Eskom

South Africa

Consumer complaints and reviews about Eskom

flo Send email
 
Jul 19, 2019

Power cut

Good Afternoon

From 17 July 2019, we did have an electricity, i lodged a complain on 19 July 2019 and was given ref no. 303662617. in the afternoon i made a followup only to find out that from the system, my reference is closed with the following message: it was written that we cannot receive help from eskom as eskom cannot send their technician.

Eskom claim that the reason we are not receiving services is due to strike and that technicians are held hostages when they come to our areas. however, i just want to know that, is it the only way or rather the best way for eskom to deal with the cries that we have as a public? surely there is, if technician are held hostages, SAPS must be involved. why the community has to suffer?

Please help...
Nokulunga Send email
 
Jul 17, 2019

Power supply

Since the beginning of winter we have a problem that electricity will go for just few houses.
In extension 8 Cosmo City we have reported and contacted Eskom every day

We were then told that we are overloaded just because of that there are rooms added in the houses for tenants however
Why is this affecting all of us because we don't have rooms

The latest incident in my house with following reference numbers
303027985, closed not attended
303159701, closed not attended
303212425 the latest one

We buy electricity on monthly bases and such treatment is not fair.
If Eskom see that this is indeed due to us being overloaded why not issue the letters to those houses with rooms and advise them as to what to do.

Please intervene
Judy Sinclair Send email
 
Jul 9, 2019

Online Eskom Portal for Customers to enter meter readings

Dear Eskom, I believe the time has come for you to cancel the Kana Enterprise contract and find a CRM programme that actually works. Every month it is the same problem - one cannot access the Customer Care portal to enter electricity consumption meter readings online. It is becoming tiresome that in each instance an error message is displayed even if one gets as far as successfully entering the meter reading after several attempts. The last attempt to access the Customer Care portal was an exercise in frustration: the system would not even permit access to the portal - apparently the server was overloaded and could not handle any more traffic. Add to that the unprofessional-looking user interface, the spelling and grammar issues, and overall inefficiency of the system and you have a disaster that mirrors the current state of Eskom and the rest of our banana republic. I have attached 3 examples of the monthly challenges we have to endure with Kana Enterprises' product. We are not amused :-(

Online Eskom Portal for Customers to enter meter readings Online Eskom Portal for Customers to enter meter readings Online Eskom Portal for Customers to enter meter readings

Dorcas Send email
 
Jul 9, 2019

Bad Technicians Service

Bad customer service

Hi

I am in White City
Please assist with having power restored. From Saturday, 6 July 2019 around 9 o clock in the morning we had a power outage. I have been calling eskom from Monday, 8 July 2019. I have 3 different reference numbers because the technicians, have lied on each and every reference number and they claimed to have resolved the problem and closed the case which they have not. I have tried to escalate the matter, only to be given different reference numbers. Please contact me on 083 357 6495.

Reference numbers are as follows:
301931154
301975798
302041714

can eskom advise as to how many reference numbers to be obtained in order to be assisted.


Please
I'm so frustrated because we have someone who is using gas cylinder for oxygen support and this is getting out of hand. we really need assistance, please.
Jouline Send email
 
Jul 2, 2019

Installation of cable

Good day on the 18th June 2019 I went to Eskom Brits to report cable theft when I got the call from Nnyundi 0799872208 Eskom he said that I must first clean my yard before he can install the cable then he said I must call him again on the 19th to remind him then I found the bouts to clean and I tried to call him he said he can't come cause he is not working I must phone him again o the 20th I did and he didn't take my calls anymore then I kept on calling Eskom customer service with this reference299393292 they kept telling me that my query it's been approved and I must continue to phone on the 1st July 2019 I called them they said I must go to the nearest Eskom I went in Brits Eskom and also they could not assist due to the fact that my husband called the Nnyundi to come and install the lady by the name of Martha Mokgadi in Brits she said the is nothing she can do as she can't force that Nnyundi to come and install she gave me a new reference number again301195593 and she said if an not happy I should go to CNC Eskom Brits so I can't be assisted due to my husband enquiring about our reference Nnyundi says he won't install the cable because of that he told Martha Mokgadi that he won't install the cable now our business is suffering because of this SHIT I want to know when did Eskom stop from supplying electricity to being Health inspectors I want someone to tell me cause am not happy at all with the service I got from Eskom am not happy I have attached the screenshot to show how many times did I call this Nnyundi person

Jouline Maletes
0735317018
0762068177
Reec Send email
 
Jun 28, 2019

OVER BILLED

HI I HAD JUST BOUGHT A HOME IN 2017 AND MY NAME WAS PUT ON THE TITLE DEED ON THE 13 OCTBER I WOULD LIKE TO KNOW WHEN DO I START PAYING FOR ELECTRICITY FROM ESKOM IS IT WHEN I SIGN THE PURCHASE AGREEMENT TO BUY THE PROPERTY OR WHEN I SIGN A CONTRACT WITH ESKOM FOR ELECTRICITY WHICH WAS ON DECEMBER 15 AND THEY PUT MY LIGHTS ON ON THE 22 OF DECEMBER AFTER I SIGN THE CONTRACT WITH THEM WHICH IS MY FIRST TIME SIGNING A CONTRACT WITH ESKOM WHY IM ASKING IS BECAUSE MY CONTRACT WITH ESKOM THAT I SIGN WAS IN DECEMBER 2017 AND MY FIRST BILL I GOT FROM ESKOM WAS IN JANUARY 2018 WHICH WAS R95000 FOR ON MONTH WHICH IS NOT RIGHT I THINK NOW THEY INSISTING I PAY THAT AMOUNT BECAUSE ITS WHAT IM OWING THEM FROM DECEMBER TO JANUARY THIS IS WHY IM ASKING WHEN DO A PERSON START PAYING ESKOM FOR ELECTRICITY IS IT BEFORE YOU SIGN A CONTRACT WITH ESKOM OR AFTER YOU SIGN A ESKOM CONTRACT NEED YOUR HELP PLEASE REPLY ASAP
MRS M.E
THANK YOU
Ruthmasemola Send email
 
Jun 21, 2019

Cosmo city, house no 9775

When ever there is a problem with the danger box, its always only two houses affected, every 3rd day, and when we logg complaints it takes the whole day before the problem its fixed, since i logged a complain at 07:00 still nothing its now 05:00 pm, i mean it is winter, we buy electricity, tjis needs to be fixed, and the 7 hours turn around time not adhered to, it also a waste of our airtym.
Sbongs Send email
 
Jun 12, 2019

Bad customer services and lies

Hi
I am in Orlando East
Please assist with having power restored. From Monday around 10 o clock in the morning we had a power outage. I have been calling eskom from Monday. I have 6 different reference numbers because the technichians, have lied on each and every reference number and they claimed to have resolved the problem and closed the case which they have not. I have tried to escalate the matter, only to be given reference number after reference number. Please contact me on 0721768959
Reference number
298 674 646
298 971 375
298 452 915
298 879 753

Please
I'm so frustrated because I have a toddler who is asthmatic.
[email protected] Send email
 
Jun 5, 2019

Damages caused

On 03/06/2019 Eskom turns power on and of multiple times for duration of 2 hours,
on 04/06/2019 Eskom turns power of for 21 hours from 7 am to 4:35 am.
On 05/06/2019 Eskom once again turn power of from 12;30.(min estimated down time to be 6 hours)

When is ESKOM going to start paying for their own negligence?

My appliances that keeps getting damaged>
A whole month worth of food that I had to toss in the bin!!!!

And then the edacity to hike electricity bills by 15% ? For what ,you clearly not delivering any type of service.
And your 3 day disaster is costing me in the range of R 20 000 already.

Not even to mention my basic human right of being able to take a bath!!!
[email protected] Send email
 
Jun 5, 2019

Damages caused by Eskom

On the 03/06/19 power went on and off multiple times in Strathavon.04/06/2019 Power went of for a wapping 21 hours.
Then stayed on for 7 hours and off again 12;30 on 05/06/2019.

Who is going to pay for damages to appliances as well as whole month worth off food that went bad and ended up in dustbin ESKOM?

Not even to mention the inconvenience.

Should all not carry the consequences off their own actions?
Johnito Send email
 
May 14, 2019

poor service provided to honest eskom using citizen

I have without success attempted to receive service from Eskom.
I am now lost of words I will just copy and paste what I have sent to them

RE: REF:295609438
Good afternoon

I have received a call from the following number 011 259 4885 on which upon answering it was just quiet on the other side even though I kept on saying “Hello”.
I believe this is Eskom number as after calling it back twice it had your background music however no one answered until I hanged up on both accounts..

Kindly note that I still haven’t been assisted and no one has spoken to me except an sms stating that I must go to your offices.

I am failing to understand why I have to now take a day off and go to your offices personally when whatever the reason for my visiting can be resolved without me being there in person. All I have asked for is that the old units left on the damaged meter be transferred to my new meter.

As if this is not enough I still awaits communication regarding my last year request which I was given a new ref: number 294620462 and promised that someone will contact me and advise of way forward.

It’s truly shocking how Eskom treats its customers who have faithfully used their service fairly by paying for it legitimately.
Your service have truly left me numb that I have stopped calling your call centre.

This has been a back and forth thing of my request being referred to relevant department who appear not to care whether these issues are solved or not.


From: [email protected] [mailto:[email protected]]
Sent: Saturday, May 11, 2019 9:30 AM
To: Peterson, J. (John)
Subject: REF:295609438

Dear Mr John
Thank you for using Eskom s e-mail facility. We refer to your e-mail received on 10-05-2019 at 15:37 regarding your credit transfer to new meter.
REFERENCE NUMBER: 295609438
Kindly note that your request has been logged and forwarded to the relevant department to assist.
Should you wish to follow up on this email, please quote the following reference number: 295609438
Eskom Customer Service Contact Channels include:
Please note that for any life threatening Eskom related emergencies, we recommend that you rather call our Contact Centre on 0860037566.
Contact Centre Number: 08600 ESKOM / 0860037566
Our sms line: 35328
Fax: 0862437566
E-mail: [email protected]
For your convenience, you are welcome to register on our Eskom web Site (www.eskom.co.za) or on our Mobile MyEskom Customer App (Available in the IOS, Windows and Android App stores), to submit your query. Our automated system will provide you with a reference number.
Should you wish to change or update any of your contact information, please send a request to Eskom using any of the channels mentioned above.
Kind Regards
Ditshego Modiba
Eskom Contact Centre
>> Original Message ...
>>









Signature Version 23/02/2019 18:00
From: [email protected]
>> To: [email protected]
>> Subject: FW: copy of yellow slip for meter replacement
>> Sent: 10/05/2019 15:37
>>
>>

Good afternoon

Kindly advise on the transfer of units from the old meter to the new one.
I have sent an email attachment of the requested slip on Monday morning and have not received any correspondence from your side.

Will appreciate a response in a form of a call or sms.

John
0842988743

Please note that even to have the meter changed I had to go through having 6 ref numbers, Ref:294620461; 294687068; 99294688309; 29462462; 294764712; 294764715; 294929836 all these in a space of 1 week.
Amo Send email
 
Apr 5, 2019

5 years stolen cable no help

I've been calling eskom asking for help and going to the nearest help center no help at all can anyone help me please 0658437440
Mk7894 Send email
 
Mar 28, 2019

No Power for Two Weeks

No Power for two weeks
I am Mkonto Matthews who is staying in Eensaam Village, Whittlesea. My account number is 8818316351. I have not had power for two weeks now and I reported this to eskom and I have references. The painful thing is that I am on conventional home power which get billed monthly. They are going to bill me for this month. That is very much unfair to me.

Please people help us, this is becoming too much to bare. All my food in my fridge get spoilt. Any senior manager that I can report to?
Please help.
Mkonto M
0714340858
email: [email protected]
Ntombini Kanyisa Send email
 
Mar 13, 2019

Unable to Load prepaid electricity

Good day

My name is Kanyisa. My parents live in a village in the iNtsika Yethu municipality in the Eastern Cape. They got a new electricity box and where able to put in prepaid electricity for the first time. They tried putting it in a second time and it did not go through. Please help us. The reference number for the box is 27839 20658 111 850. My cell number is 071 397 5856 and my email address is [email protected]

Kind regards,
Kanyisa Ntombini
Ntombini Kanyisa Send email
 
Mar 13, 2019

Unable to Load prepaid electricity

Good day

My name is Kanyisa. My parents live in a village in the iNtsika Yethu municipality in the Eastern Cape. They got a new electricity box and where able to put in prepaid electricity for the first time. They tried putting it in a second time and it did not go through. Please help us. The reference number for the box is 27839 20658 111 850. My cell number is 071 397 5856 and my email address is [email protected]

Kind regards,
Kanyisa Ntombini
jabulanim Send email
 
Feb 20, 2019

electricity restoraton

I reported the problem on Sunday until today I don't have electricity, I was given 4 different references and was is irritating is that they are lying when they close the electricity complaints as they write resolved without attending to the problem. This has led to my food rotten in the fridge and I cant cook which means I must pay more money for take away. I feel am treated worst than a foreigner in my own country and by the same black Eskom employees.
Maanda Rathogwa Send email
 
Jan 13, 2019

No power

I Maanda Rathogwa Meter number 07107580172 logged a call on the 11/01/2019 about the electricity that is not working and was issued with reference number 274039532 no one attended the fault due to what I was told was high call volume when I did follow up then 12/01/2019 technicians arrived on vehicle Registration CF171552 and did not attend the problem due to what we were told is shortage of ladders to climb to the cables and promise to come back the following day 13/01/2019 to attend the problem, I called back call center was issued with the ref number 274115130 and soon after another technician responded and told us the same story that they will come back the following morning on the 13/01/2019 and we have been waiting ever since without electricity with the risk of loosing everything we stored in the fridge. My 3rd and 4th reference numbers are 274298015/274298016
Maanda
[email protected]
Maanda Rathogwa Send email
 
Jan 13, 2019

No power

I Maanda Rathogwa Meter number 07107580172 logged a call on the 11/01/2019 about the electricity that is not working and was issued with reference number 274039532 no one attended the fault due to what I was told was high call volume when I did follow up then 12/01/2019 technicians arrived on vehicle Registration CF171552 and did not attend the problem due to what we were told is shortage of ladders to climb to the cables and promise to come back the following day 13/01/2019 to attend the problem, I called back call center was issued with the ref number 274115130 and soon after another technician responded and told us the same story that they will come back the following morning on the 13/01/2019 and we have been waiting ever since without electricity with the risk of loosing everything we stored in the fridge.

No power

BongiPhalatse Send email
 
Jan 12, 2019

Poor Eskom service

My house has not had electricity since Tuesday 08/01/2019 I have been calling Eskom ever since and given reference numbers. All 4 reference numbers are being cancelled after technicians claim they came when they actually never came. Since my fridge has been off my whole groceries including kids lunchbox meals are rotten and Eskom does not care. They keep sending technicians who cancel my references without doing their work and yet nobody is escalating the matter anywhere, the consultants just tell me to call again after 4hours n when I call I still receive the same answer "your reference has been cancelled because you problem was attended to, I will make another reference for you. But another reference is then cancelled also for the same reasons. Until when? Please assist.

Sibongile Phalatse
[email protected]
TiegerpoortM Send email
 
Jan 8, 2019

Poor service

This is now the second month that I did not receive my electronic invoice as we don"t receive our post, I phoned customer service for days no answer, left a message no answer, send a sms no answer back. On Friday morning I got hold of a consultant at power failure he told me the amount I had to pay. Which I paid on Friday, now I receive a sms to say my account hasn't been paid, I did pay my account, I can send the proof through to who ever is dealing with it. They are very quickly to say you haven't paid but otherwise no service. If they disconnect me because eskom haven't send me an invoice, I am contacting the onbudsman because of the bad service we get
leonvos Send email
 
Dec 29, 2018

No service!

Our power supply has been off for 4 days now (since Wednesday 26 Dec). I have been trying to phone Eskom's customer care, but NO ONE ANSWERS! No reply to my sms and e-mails either! How should I report a fault if no-one answers. It also says to leave a message and they will come back to you, but when you want to leave the message, it says, sorry mailbox is full!
This is the most pathetic service I have ever experienced!!! Three of our farms without electricity, no water for the animals, meat rotting! Can I put in a claim against Eskom for losses?
Tshiamo1980 Send email
 
Dec 20, 2018

NO POWER

Can I please get connected please. I have logged about 20 calls to be reconnected since 14/12/2018 and today is 20/12/2018 still with no avail. When you call the call center there keep on telling you someone is coming but that has been the case since the 14th. This is so frustrating as no body calls you back . My ref 270007894 . I am not sure if anybody care at Eskom especially when it comes to customer service. It is so frustrating dealing with Eskom.
Caren Send email
 
Dec 10, 2018

why must some people borrow to have electricity but some does not

Good day to whom it may concern

I am from Wesbank Kuilsriver and have a few issues that isn't seating so well with me. In this location where i stay electricity is very rare. To maintain you electricity meter box is a hard job for everyone. Especially with the high rate of our jobless youth and grandparents and parents who cant look after themselves. Then we have people who kind off having a nice time with not spending on such expense. They meter boxes is running for free with out buying any. we laid a complain about these boxes that is running with out adding to the meter box...but it seems like our complain has not been hard. In that case we all would love some free running electricity. pease sent someone out to check all the meter boxes in Kabega street and Fernglen street.
Supasem Send email
 
Dec 6, 2018

No Power

Swakwe Poultry Projects at Msengi Blinkwater village. Power went off on the evening on 28/11/2018, I have made several calls, there is only an automated response then the music will play until you run out of airtime. I sent sms to 35328 and email to [email protected]
after a long battle I was given Ref 264809928 but still l did not get help. It is now the 6/12/2018 no one has come to the farm. It seems like no one cares.

I am SMS Khosa 083 304 2469

No Power

OldjohnB76 Send email
 
Dec 4, 2018

Failed connectio

After load shedding on Sunday, a fuse blew on the pole connection to our farm. We have 3 phases and tried to switch our critical loads to one of th connected phase but can only get 206 Volts. We run a hydroponics vegetable farm and will lose our entire crop of we cannot get our pumps running. We have been trying to contact the Eskom call center 24 times in the last 24 hrs but can get absolutely no response. An SMS to the quoted number keeps coming back undeliverable. An email received a “canned” response. Eskom keeps asking for more money but keeps on load shedding thus losing more money.?? Like most business minded people, I fully intend going solar so Eskom will lose more money?? Am I the only one seeing this picture??

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Hallmark channel - Where’s Golden Girls
    I watch Golden Girls every morning and every night. I...
    Mydin - STAFF BIADAP
    Pada tarikh 23/07/2019 lebih kurang jam 0100pm saya dan...
    Esse Immigration pvtltd - This is an official response from Esse Immigration
    Hi Srinivasan, This is an official response from Esse...
    Leons Furniture - False Advertising and Misleading terms and Conditions
    BUYER BEWARE! There is no such thing as "Integrity...
    ENOC - Promotion
    Respected sir, I am Abdul Hakeem...
    Pos Laju Transit Office - Item not received yet
    My item still at pos laju transit office and i waiting so...
    PCH Games - Keno ads interference with game
    I can't even play 2 boards on KENO, because of the...
    HackerForHireReview.com | Neighborhoodhacker.com - Hacking Service
    Hello everyone, i would like to share my story with you...
    Celcom - FULL BAR 4G LINE MCM E HANAT
    Mcm pantat line 4G full bar download 300+ kb/s anjing line
    Nor-dtfee.com - Addebito non autorizzato
    addebito non autorizzato buongiorno da un controllo si...

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Hallmark channel - Where’s Golden Girls
    I watch Golden Girls every morning and every night. I...
    Mydin - STAFF BIADAP
    Pada tarikh 23/07/2019 lebih kurang jam 0100pm saya dan...
    Esse Immigration pvtltd - This is an official response from Esse Immigration
    Hi Srinivasan, This is an official response from Esse...
    Leons Furniture - False Advertising and Misleading terms and Conditions
    BUYER BEWARE! There is no such thing as "Integrity...
    ENOC - Promotion
    Respected sir, I am Abdul Hakeem...
    Pos Laju Transit Office - Item not received yet
    My item still at pos laju transit office and i waiting so...
    PCH Games - Keno ads interference with game
    I can't even play 2 boards on KENO, because of the...
    HackerForHireReview.com | Neighborhoodhacker.com - Hacking Service
    Hello everyone, i would like to share my story with you...
    Celcom - FULL BAR 4G LINE MCM E HANAT
    Mcm pantat line 4G full bar download 300+ kb/s anjing line
    Nor-dtfee.com - Addebito non autorizzato
    addebito non autorizzato buongiorno da un controllo si...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username