Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Eskom

South Africa

Consumer complaints and reviews about Eskom

Maanda Rathogwa Send email
 
Jan 13, 2019

No power

I Maanda Rathogwa Meter number 07107580172 logged a call on the 11/01/2019 about the electricity that is not working and was issued with reference number 274039532 no one attended the fault due to what I was told was high call volume when I did follow up then 12/01/2019 technicians arrived on vehicle Registration CF171552 and did not attend the problem due to what we were told is shortage of ladders to climb to the cables and promise to come back the following day 13/01/2019 to attend the problem, I called back call center was issued with the ref number 274115130 and soon after another technician responded and told us the same story that they will come back the following morning on the 13/01/2019 and we have been waiting ever since without electricity with the risk of loosing everything we stored in the fridge. My 3rd and 4th reference numbers are 274298015/274298016
Maanda
Maanda.rathogwa@gmail.com
Maanda Rathogwa Send email
 
Jan 13, 2019

No power

I Maanda Rathogwa Meter number 07107580172 logged a call on the 11/01/2019 about the electricity that is not working and was issued with reference number 274039532 no one attended the fault due to what I was told was high call volume when I did follow up then 12/01/2019 technicians arrived on vehicle Registration CF171552 and did not attend the problem due to what we were told is shortage of ladders to climb to the cables and promise to come back the following day 13/01/2019 to attend the problem, I called back call center was issued with the ref number 274115130 and soon after another technician responded and told us the same story that they will come back the following morning on the 13/01/2019 and we have been waiting ever since without electricity with the risk of loosing everything we stored in the fridge.

No power

BongiPhalatse Send email
 
Jan 12, 2019

Poor Eskom service

My house has not had electricity since Tuesday 08/01/2019 I have been calling Eskom ever since and given reference numbers. All 4 reference numbers are being cancelled after technicians claim they came when they actually never came. Since my fridge has been off my whole groceries including kids lunchbox meals are rotten and Eskom does not care. They keep sending technicians who cancel my references without doing their work and yet nobody is escalating the matter anywhere, the consultants just tell me to call again after 4hours n when I call I still receive the same answer "your reference has been cancelled because you problem was attended to, I will make another reference for you. But another reference is then cancelled also for the same reasons. Until when? Please assist.

Sibongile Phalatse
bongi.phalatse@gmail.com
TiegerpoortM Send email
 
Jan 8, 2019

Poor service

This is now the second month that I did not receive my electronic invoice as we don"t receive our post, I phoned customer service for days no answer, left a message no answer, send a sms no answer back. On Friday morning I got hold of a consultant at power failure he told me the amount I had to pay. Which I paid on Friday, now I receive a sms to say my account hasn't been paid, I did pay my account, I can send the proof through to who ever is dealing with it. They are very quickly to say you haven't paid but otherwise no service. If they disconnect me because eskom haven't send me an invoice, I am contacting the onbudsman because of the bad service we get
leonvos Send email
 
Dec 29, 2018

No service!

Our power supply has been off for 4 days now (since Wednesday 26 Dec). I have been trying to phone Eskom's customer care, but NO ONE ANSWERS! No reply to my sms and e-mails either! How should I report a fault if no-one answers. It also says to leave a message and they will come back to you, but when you want to leave the message, it says, sorry mailbox is full!
This is the most pathetic service I have ever experienced!!! Three of our farms without electricity, no water for the animals, meat rotting! Can I put in a claim against Eskom for losses?
Tshiamo1980 Send email
 
Dec 20, 2018

NO POWER

Can I please get connected please. I have logged about 20 calls to be reconnected since 14/12/2018 and today is 20/12/2018 still with no avail. When you call the call center there keep on telling you someone is coming but that has been the case since the 14th. This is so frustrating as no body calls you back . My ref 270007894 . I am not sure if anybody care at Eskom especially when it comes to customer service. It is so frustrating dealing with Eskom.
Caren Send email
 
Dec 10, 2018

why must some people borrow to have electricity but some does not

Good day to whom it may concern

I am from Wesbank Kuilsriver and have a few issues that isn't seating so well with me. In this location where i stay electricity is very rare. To maintain you electricity meter box is a hard job for everyone. Especially with the high rate of our jobless youth and grandparents and parents who cant look after themselves. Then we have people who kind off having a nice time with not spending on such expense. They meter boxes is running for free with out buying any. we laid a complain about these boxes that is running with out adding to the meter box...but it seems like our complain has not been hard. In that case we all would love some free running electricity. pease sent someone out to check all the meter boxes in Kabega street and Fernglen street.
Supasem Send email
 
Dec 6, 2018

No Power

Swakwe Poultry Projects at Msengi Blinkwater village. Power went off on the evening on 28/11/2018, I have made several calls, there is only an automated response then the music will play until you run out of airtime. I sent sms to 35328 and email to customerservices@eskom.co.za
after a long battle I was given Ref 264809928 but still l did not get help. It is now the 6/12/2018 no one has come to the farm. It seems like no one cares.

I am SMS Khosa 083 304 2469

No Power

OldjohnB76 Send email
 
Dec 4, 2018

Failed connectio

After load shedding on Sunday, a fuse blew on the pole connection to our farm. We have 3 phases and tried to switch our critical loads to one of th connected phase but can only get 206 Volts. We run a hydroponics vegetable farm and will lose our entire crop of we cannot get our pumps running. We have been trying to contact the Eskom call center 24 times in the last 24 hrs but can get absolutely no response. An SMS to the quoted number keeps coming back undeliverable. An email received a “canned” response. Eskom keeps asking for more money but keeps on load shedding thus losing more money.?? Like most business minded people, I fully intend going solar so Eskom will lose more money?? Am I the only one seeing this picture??
TanyaKleinhans Send email
 
Nov 16, 2018

Overbilling

I have a case at Nersa (national energy regulator SA). My complaint is over billing on estemated readings, incorrect false meter reading and overbilling. This case went for abbetration and Eskoms' faulty billing and accounting errors were prooved. Our agreement with Eskom was to make a payment between the 10th and 15th November, which was yesterday. Payment was made as per our agreement. We are still waiting on the min of meeting to be signed off and therefore have not closed this case formally. I have nothing in writing from Eskom.
Well well... I came home to find my electricity disconnected! After making frantic phone calls to employees involved, I am still waiting on my urgent appeals. I had to drive 60 kilometres to nearest Eskom office to show proof of payment. Again the clerk tried to make contact with parties involved. On the comments on our account it stated payment to be made the 10th. That was not our agreement!!!
Eskom did not send out a notice. Eskom accessed my property illegally. Eskom cut my power with on going reference number.
I was asured our supply will be connected as I have shown proof of payment. Its 5:53 am the next morning now and no CONNECTION. I feel victimised. This is surely a bully tactic.
mohammedh Send email
 
Nov 8, 2018

very poor service

ref no 261537141,lights went out at 2 on wednesday the 7/11/2018 and i called eskom 8 times that day /night and was told between 5-7 hours i will get help but 20 hours later still nothing , my freezer has defrosted and all my stuff is rotten ,who the hell is going to pay me ??
on one occasion i was told that a technition is in the area sorting out issues but was not in sight the whole night , i was the only one without lights , all my neighbours around me had lights , ESKOM is useless , i am not happy with the service,i need someone to give me answers.
regards
m.haffejee
magda1974 Send email
 
Oct 31, 2018

Power cables

We stay on a farm. Our one transformer was stolen and we've reported it to Eskom when it happened. Eversince the theft we have 2 loose cables swaying when the wind blows. When the cables touch one another, there is huge sparks flying around. Last year because of the sparks our land was set alight as it was within the draught we had. Several people saw the sparks and then also saw how our land was quickly covered in flames. We have reported this to Eskom numerous times, but still nothing has been done to remove the cables.

The problem is we have cattle in that land, should the field get set alight again... who is going to pay for our damage?

Another problem we have when the wind is blowing is that the normal electricity lines swings into each other. This causes power failure not only for our house, but for some of the neighboring farms as well. When contacting Eskom I was informed that they will not send a technician out to assist with this, because they need to know which of the transformers involved??? How on earth should I know?? The only thing I know is that both these problems are a huge risk.... people or animals can be killed.
octavia Send email
 
Oct 31, 2018

power cut

From: Lesele, O. (Octavia)
Sent: 31 October 2018 10:11 AM
To: 'brian.dames@eskom.co.za' <brian.dames@eskom.co.za>; 'CustomerServices@eskom.co.za' <CustomerServices@eskom.co.za>
Subject: REF NO:259768082 AND 259707621

ANGRY AND DISAPPOINTED CLIENT

electricity went off at my mom’s place on Saturday even today still no help from Eskom . really disappointed from Eskom such a big company with disgusting customer service . I spoke to KATLEGO FROM BRAAMFANTEIN CALL CENTRE AND SHE DROP A CALL ON ME I PHONED AGAIN SPOKE TO KAGISO TRIED TO HELP I ASKED TO SPEAK TO A TEAM LEADER WHO SHE REFUSED TO COME SPEAK TO ME . I WENT TO ZOLA OFFICES THEY PROMISED TO SEND A TECHNICIAN THAT WAS YESTERDAY ON MONDAY ITS TUESDAY 05:42 STILL NO SIGN OF TECHNICIAN WHAT A SHAME AND DISGUSTING THIS IS . AN OLD LADY WITHOUT ELECTRICITY FOR SO MANY DAYS . IAM VERY ANGRY AS MY MOM USES PREPAID BUT SHE IS BEEN TREATED LIKE SOMEONE WHO DOESNT PAY ELECTRICITY. I HOPE I WILL GET AN ANSWER AS SOON AS POSSIBLE I HAVE 2 REFERENCE ********** 82 FOR THE 29 OCTOBER 2018 REF: ********** 21 FOR THE 28 OCTOBER 2018


there are guys that came yesterday and told me that they can’t open the meter outside how possible is that if they working for Eskom . so now I really don’t know what to . sending this to you CEO I am hoping I will get an answer as ap. And by end of today my mom will have electricity . I feel Eskom is very incompetent especially the call center and the lady from Zola offices . so I am looking forward from hearing from you . it’s been 5 days now without electricity and the last time I check turnaround time its 4 to 7 hours I really need assistance that is why I iam sending this to you as I am very desperate now . we have a small child at home that needs milk all the time and other need that we need to use electricity

regards
ANGRY AND FURIOUS CLIENT OCTAVIA LESELE
Shardow Send email
 
Oct 24, 2018

Electricity crisis

Hi its been 6 days without electricity. I've laid a complain to Eskom but they are busy giving me different reference numbers the first one is 259202010, second is 259208290 and now it's 259349958. I am writing this email in the dark using a candle, even now the power has not been restored. I'm angry because we are paying electricity but the treatment we get from Eskom is not good at all. Please check the calls that I have made to you guys using these reference numbers as they say ''they are been recorded'', they are telling me about people who are not paying but why must I suffer on their behalf? I'm so angry its not even funny, the call centre people are not helping at all, they say the technicians are on their way or they have attended the matter but nothing has changed. Does Eskom want us to do (izinyokanyoka)? because this thing is not working for those who are trying to obey by the law.
kusion Send email
 
Sep 17, 2018

New Reticulation

We applied at Eskom for a new point and we were told that there is no reticulation in that area so we need to pay for that so as to get a point because Eskom has to get a transformer there, so I asked why must we pay for their transformer why they can't pay for it because all we want is electricity, we were told no since we the ones who want a point there seeing that there's no reticulation we must pay for it. I then asked after paying does that mean that Eskom will re-reimburse us if someone wants to pull from there as we paid for the transformer because I said to him if I pay for that transformer then it is ours or they must re-reimburse us or atleast compensate us for bringing the reticulation there, we were no whoever comes after us will just be connected there. I feel it is unfair that i should pay for Eskom reticulation because it is their responsibility to provide us with electricity and we must just pay for the pulling from their transformer not that we should pay for the transformer plus pay for the point.

Eskom is just a let down and they just taking advantage of us and taking advantage of us needing electricity.
Esme Send email
 
Sep 6, 2018

Reconnection

To whom it may concern


Our electricity has been cut due to tempering. We paid the fine of R6052.00 on 13 August 2018. Proof of payment was taken to Eskom Bellville office. When my mother asked when reconnection will be she was not given a contact number mor a waiting period but instead the person told her not to phone because if she should phone they will take longer. It is 6 September 2018 they have proven their point which is we must just wait we were in the wrong.

I have been phoning since 16th August 2018. Everyday someone gives me a different story and another protocol that Eskom has and up till today I really dont know what it is.  I respect and understand each company got a protocol to follow but hard to understand if alot of people at same company give you different protocols everyday.

Upon yesterday phone call the 4 September 2018 i phoned. Told the guy it was tempering and he jokingly said that with tempering they take their own time and we must wait and we may even wait till December. He said that he is just being realistic in saying it because this is what happens and it is just for them to come switch on electricity. He said ee can go to offices in Bellville to a Zurina Booysen and cry or beg for them to reconnect us.

I was upset yes and feels its pathetic for a call centre person to serve the public in that manner. I even told him he could have been more sympatheyic he tells me he just being realistic. Of all the calls to Eskom that was the worst.

Eskom van drives up and down in our area every day which mean there was no paper work given to them or are we in a pile of paperwork of people that is on punishment for tempering?

We paid our fine so how long more should we wait?

We were given two reference numbers: 250409046 and 252692022

Please advise
Ayandar Send email
 
Aug 30, 2018

No Power

I had smoke coming out of my main switch in the house, i thought for some reason, it was the heater or the stove. I stopped using them for a while but the problem continued. I then asked an electrician to check what is happening. When he tried to open the cables were burning inside, then he stepped back and we cannot do anything we have to phone eskom, so that they can assist as he is afraid.

Eskom arrived and cut my electricity and took my meter box and told me to pay R6052.00 because i was tempering with their box, regardless of the cables burning, so i was supposed to die.

Paid that amount the day after they had cut me off and sent through the proof of payment which was on the 23rd Of August 2018. i have been phoning all these numbers, 0860037566 0117112000 011411580 0114116500 01198952 0114116533 0114116599, and no one is able to help me. We have been in the dark from the 22nd of August until today, they keep on promising and lying to us.

I paid the full amount for trying to save my and families lives, and i still cant be helped. what do i do please advise somebody. Everyone i phone says technicians will be coming today, i get the same story everyday and still nothing happens.

Ref number = 251745382

Ayanda Radebe
Ayandar Send email
 
Aug 30, 2018

No Power

I had smoke coming out of my main switch in the house, i thought for some reason, it was the heater or the stove. I stopped using them for a while but the problem continued. I then asked an electrician to check what is happening. When he tried to open the cables were burning inside, then he stepped back and we cannot do anything we have to phone eskom, so that they can assist as he is afraid.

Eskom arrived and cut my electricity and took my meter box and told me to pay R6052.00 because i was tempering with their box, regardless of the cables burning, so i was supposed to die.

Paid that amount the day after they had cut me off and sent through the proof of payment which was on the 23rd Of August 2018. i have been phoning all these numbers, 0860037566 0117112000 011411580 0114116500 01198952 0114116533 0114116599, and no one is able to help me. We have been in the dark from the 22nd of August until today, they keep on promising and lying to us.

I paid the full amount for trying to save my and families lives, and i still cant be helped. what do i do please advise somebody. Everyone i phone says technicians will be coming today, i get the same story everyday and still nothing happens.

Ref number = 251745382
Cami Sardinha Send email
 
Aug 29, 2018

Ridiculous Bill

Still no technician has been onsite. Multiple references logged over the last 4 months!
An 'actual' (NOT estimated!) reading for 2 months of electricity use of R35,500. 2 adults and 2 kids.

To actually find someone in Eskom who understands that technically it is IMPOSSIBLE for a standard house on a 60 amp breaker to consume R35,500 of electricity in a 2 month period. Multiple calls logged, multiple references and still the threats of disconnection occur. Why must i pay R450 for an Eskom meter to be tested when i have NO meter on my property, all the houses on the street lead to a box.

References:
250 150 997
246 069 111
Nicia Send email
 
Aug 22, 2018

Fraudulent accounts

Eskom issued me ridiculously high ESTIMATED accounts and now threatens to disconnect my electricity if i dont pay regardless of me lodging an objection and paying what i can afford. How can Eskom be allowed to exploit customers in this manner and generate their money in this manner? My account no is 8469530883.
VeraCRYPT Send email
 
Aug 14, 2018

Eskom Employees demanding cash from citizens

I am writing this complaint as a concern citizen of this country (S.A), and a member of a Diepsloot committee.
I don’t know if Eskom Management is aware of this issue continue to loom amongst their employees. The past month or two the residents of Diepsloot experienced electric supply shortage due to Transformers (Explosions) disfunction.
Complaints were lodged with Eskom followed by streams of reference numbers. Last Friday (the 10 of August, 2018) workers from Eskom come with a truck full of Transformers, about six of them, as happy as we were, it came as a shock when we supposed to pay for the installation of those transformers.
They charged the residents between R5000- R6000 per Transformer Installation. Out of resident’s desperation and waited for electricity for that long, they took to street collecting from house to house a small fee in order to accumulate the requested amount.
This has left us very confused as to why do we have to pay Eskom the duties they have to carryout to the community, and still have to buy electricity vouchers for household use from them.
Eskom is a big company, and being into operation for far too long. We use to be happy to see their vehicles on our neighborhood for their outstanding services to the community, now it has became a different story to see some of their employees, un-called for and illegally connecting and charging some of the community members to the transformers at which they are not belongs to, well-aware by so doing will lead into transformer carrying too much load & eventually bursting, the very same Transformers that we as a community have to donate for installation out of their demand.
Please guys this is a serious matter and should be addressed to your employees
WHERE ARE WE GOING AS A COUNTRY????????
FransM Send email
 
Aug 8, 2018

Eskom employees running private business with Councillors

I would like to register my disappointment at some ESKOM technicians who use Eskom time and resources to perform their private business of installing electricity in RDP house in Madibeng areas. They are working hand in hand with Councillors, so we local contractors are not able to source these works as they are reserved for Friends and families.
We unemployed locals cannot compete with such people as they have ESKOM bakkies , tools and other resources like pay to can bribe Councillors ...where is local empowerment.
I have all names and details ... I just want us to address this formally so ... I expect your procedure to be posted where to go and whom to contact to further my complaint.
mbaleigh Send email
 
Aug 6, 2018

Network > Local Area Network

There has been an issue with the transfomer around klispsruit and we called the whole week with eskom busy saying they will come but they haven't. The has been smoke coming out from the transformer and little children go there to see out of curiosity eskom just doesn't care if children are safe or not.
Matwa1087 Send email
 
Jul 27, 2018

Shortage of power

We have been without electricity for the entire month now. I have a pike of references nd sms that I sent nd recieved from eskom but no one is helping us. What's amazing is that an eskom employee is running a tarven right next door to us and he never had a problem with electric. Is eskom punishing us for being innocent citizens. Because this is going to lead to us stealing electric like everyone who is already doing it. What's the use of buying it if other ppl get it for free.
janhalgryn Send email
 
Jul 27, 2018

New application for electricity

We struggle the hole month to get someone to help us We get a lot of reference numbers The last one was 247874477
We are moving the end of July to a house on a farn and they must according to a Eskom worker they must put in a new transformer and smaller one because he said the old one is leaking oil. The charge us R6500.00 for the deposit and R25 000.00 for connection fees. IS IT POSSIBLE to pay that much only to rent a house on a farm. WHY did other people it for free but we must pay that much THAT is "APARTHEID"
Is there someone who can help and explain everything

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    poslaju bandar dato onn - UNDELIVERED PARCEL
    I did not receive my parcel with number my 193314775739V...
    POLAJU BANDAR DATO ONN - UNDELIVERED PARCEL
    MY PARCEL WITH NUMBER ER 818010518MY AND A TRACK NUMBER...
    GaysTryst - GaysTryst
    If you have already made the mistake of subscribing to...
    Frigidaire - Refrigerator caught on fire
    My Frigidaire mod# FFHS2611PFAA refrigerator/freezer with...
    Pos Laju KLIA - er741909744my
    Barang stuck di KLIA HUB ... tolong releaskan secepat...
    TE Data - علي رقم 0227150486 قيمة التعويض غير...
    انا بعترض على التعويض عن عطل...
    Philippine Airlines - Retired Employee's request for trip benefit
    Dear Sir, My husband requested for ID 90 and sent an...
    Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Club - LIFESTYLE HOILDAYS VACATION
    I WAS ALSO A VICTIM OF THIS SCAM. WENT ON VACATION ON JUNE...
    Google images - Privacy issue
    Google shows my personal profile photo of quora in its...
    Facebook - Facebook fraud
    i have just had transaction 20euro for Facebook, that i...

    Recently Updated Complaints

    poslaju bandar dato onn - UNDELIVERED PARCEL
    I did not receive my parcel with number my 193314775739V...
    POLAJU BANDAR DATO ONN - UNDELIVERED PARCEL
    MY PARCEL WITH NUMBER ER 818010518MY AND A TRACK NUMBER...
    GaysTryst - GaysTryst
    If you have already made the mistake of subscribing to...
    Frigidaire - Refrigerator caught on fire
    My Frigidaire mod# FFHS2611PFAA refrigerator/freezer with...
    Pos Laju KLIA - er741909744my
    Barang stuck di KLIA HUB ... tolong releaskan secepat...
    TE Data - علي رقم 0227150486 قيمة التعويض غير...
    انا بعترض على التعويض عن عطل...
    Philippine Airlines - Retired Employee's request for trip benefit
    Dear Sir, My husband requested for ID 90 and sent an...
    Lifestyle Holidays Vacation Club - LIFESTYLE HOILDAYS VACATION
    I WAS ALSO A VICTIM OF THIS SCAM. WENT ON VACATION ON JUNE...
    Google images - Privacy issue
    Google shows my personal profile photo of quora in its...
    Facebook - Facebook fraud
    i have just had transaction 20euro for Facebook, that i...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username