Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

NTTA

United States,
Texas

Consumer complaints and reviews about NTTA

FuriousCA Send email
 
Oct 22, 2017

NTTA SCAM with ZipCash toll bill

I received a bill today and the car in the picture has my license plate, but the car is not mine in the photo. I don’t own a black Toyota. Someone put my license plate it appears on top of the picture of another person’s car it seems. The license plate is way too white and is bigger than what would fit the car in the picture.
badgerkc130 Send email
 
Oct 22, 2017

2nd Notice

I received a 2nd bill from NTTA(Never saw the 1st) for my sons car and I just assumed he went through a toll road while driving to Lubbock TX. Then I received a 2nd Notice for my F150 even though I've never been to Dallas. Is there a scam going on? Is the NTTA sending out fake bills to generate cash? Why doesn't NTTA provide any details in the bill: where and when the violation took place. Who is getting this mone?
Deb H Send email
 
Oct 8, 2017

NTTA's Unethical Billing Practices

To all of you who have placed NTTA billing complaints on this board, please contact Breanne Jackson at 817-424-3446 or email at: Breanne.Jackson@senate.texas.gov and tell her your experience. Hopefully our voices will finally be heard, because we know NTTA is certainly not listening, not as long as they can continue to add millions of dollars to their coffers on the backs of law
abiding citizens.

And check out tollfreehighways.com- it may make you feel better in the interim. Frankly, I'd rather pay higher taxes than deal with this corrupt toll system. Let's make our legislatures deal with this problem...they're supposed to be representing US and they're simply not doing that job when it comes to NTTA.

However, there are a few politicians (too few), such as Senator Jane Nelson, who seem to be trying to help. I thank her very much for her efforts and will be watching to see what her office does with the information they receive from all of us on this board.

Thank you for your help in this fight for right!
evans Send email
 
Oct 2, 2017

False billing

About two months ago, I received a bill from NTTA of Dallas area claiming I used Denton tollway one time in Dallas area without paying. I called customer service and spent 30 minutes explaining that the person and the motorcycle did not belong to me and I never traveled to Dallas and I did not have a tollway account. I also explain that it was not due to the amount of the bill but due to the principal of being incorrectly billed that I would not pay. The first customer service rep was not willing to accept my explanations and despite the fact that I told her that it would be easy in the court to prove the person on the picture could not be me, she kept threatening about what would happen if I did not pay. I asked her to e-mail me the original picture so that I could read the licence plate clearly and she refused saying she could not do it. I asked for her supervisor and she said no supervisor was available. I hang up and called again and this time I talked to a young man. I explained the situation and I asked him to read the licence plate again from the picture he was looking at since I could not read it from the picture on the bill. He read it and we both established that there was an extra letter in the licence plate which I did not have on mine. He said that they would correct the situation and would not bill me again. Yesterday, I receive another notice with the increase in the amount from $3,28 to of $13.38. It looks like this company does only care about collecting money using any means possible since they have the state to lean their back on. I am not even sure that the picture on the bill is not somehow fraudulent since while the license plate is bright white, the rest of the picture is very dark. I was lucky to be able to see that the person riding the bike wore a numbered jersey and almost twice the size that I am. Reading other complaints about this company's practices, I believe now I have to write to their headquarters in Plano, TX, go to my local DPS to make them aware of the issue and ask to which state department I need to forward an official complaint. This company is a political subdivision of state of TX meaning it is authorized by the state to collect the tolls but they need to be correct/honest in their billing and stop assuming, harassing or threatening people. My question is, do they have the right to use public's and courts' time to implement their incompetent and/or fraudulent billing practices and are they willing to continue until a class action suit is filed against them? If this company is willing to go that far, I'll be happy to participate.
nttarip Send email
 
Sep 22, 2017

Incompetent IT and Customer Service

I've just got a bill from NTTA for dates 5/12/17 thru 5/14/17 that has a total of $35 in admin fees for $14.78 in tolls. This bill says it is the second notice, yet I can't seem to find the first one. The problem I have with this is that I contacted them today, I have a credit of $31 on my vehicle as of 5/15/17! They have incompetent IT staff if they cannot make their own billing system recognize that the customer has a balance for a debit to occur. If they are not incomptent, this would be a deliberate act to swindle money from customers by charging outrageous billing fees. This could either be taken as incompetence by system programmers or a problem they don't want anyone to fix. They certainly are adamant that I received a bill and that while they see that I have a credit balance greater than the original fees, they cannot do anything other than take a full payment because the bill has already been sent to "collections". So now I have to pay $35 more or receive another threat about getting a $250 ticket for something I already paid to use.
Deb H Send email
 
Sep 20, 2017

NTTA

PLEASE someone out there start a class action lawsuit....surely a reputable law firm would be willing to take on the injustice this agency is perpetuating on innocent law abiding citizens of this state (and apparently outside TX as well) and take it on contingency. They would HAVE to win the case, all of us are not making this misery up!
I just received a bill, stating third notice-so now in collections with all their ridiculous fees. A $3.53 bill jumping to now $43.19. I don't dispute the $3.53, as I had loaned my daughter my car and she took a toll road in to work. But I never received the supposedly sent first two notices, certainly would have paid.
When I called their customer service number, I was told the address they had for me (supposedly gotten from the DMV) was in NC!!
I told the rep I moved to TX from NC four years ago. He then said "Your vehicle is showing registered in NC" I bought my vehicle in TX shortly after moving here,and it is registered in TX, so how can that be? He said I could call the collections number, which I did, same jive and they say I have to fax in a letter to dispute the charges...faxing to no one's attention, just putting an account # the rep gave me on the letter, that number is no where on my invoice?
This has been such a frustrating and infuriating experience. That they don't have the decency to correct their own errors...if that's even it It does seem that it could all be illegal. How can we bring this monopoly to justice?
ksweat Send email
 
Sep 12, 2017

toll tag fees

I absolutely hate this company. There is no reason why people are being forced to pay these outrageous fees just to drive on a road that all of our tax dollars built. I was told that they can set up a payment plan for the so called unpaid fees that I have. The agent was no where near helpful nor understanding. This is just a game of we will take your money and lie to you. The ###### courthouse isn't as horrible as this damn company is. I advised the agent that I have a open bankruptcy and they shouldn't be forcing me to pay anything without my lawyer. My had was forced on yesterday and was charged almost $500 that I do not have. So not I will have to dispute the charge with my bank for fraud. When you don't provide correct and clear information it is fraud. This company is a big scam and a fraud.
msmolly Send email
 
Sep 6, 2017

over charged when I already had a credit of $94.50!!!

I called in a month ago to remove my dad all of his info and credit card off of my account and into MY information for future use. Well, they just charged my card $80. I called to ask why since I was charged since I already had a credit of $94.50. They said its because I was still linked to my dads account. I specifically asked the lady I was speaking too if I was removed from his information and she said yes. I also confirmed my card WOULDNT be charged until credit ran out and she said yes. So today when I asked for a refund of the $80 I was told no. I then asked for a supervisor (Christina) who also had an attitude and told me they could only refund $40 - um what?? So since I still didn't get the answer I told her to go back and listen to the recorded phone call to prove I was told there would be NO charges to my card. When I asked for her name again, she said "I already gave that to you". Wow. I said yes you told me a few minutes ago at the very beginning of our conversation and she said "well your coming at me like I didn't give it to you". AND THIS IS HOW YOUR ESCALATED SUPERVIOPSR SPEAKS TO CUSTOMERS???? WOW. I told her I work in customer service and I have customers that ask my name multiple times and even how to spell it and NEVER speak to them that way. I CANT wait to get a phone call back from another supervisor in 24-72 hours after they listen to the original call or I will dispute charges with my bank! BE AWARE and CHANGE TO CASH ACCOUNT!!!
bjbridget Send email
 
Sep 6, 2017

Charging for vehicle I NEVER OWNED

The NTTA repeatedly is sending me bills for a vehicle I have NEVER OWNED. I have called and spoken with several different people and they all state that I HAVE TO PAY this bill. This is NOT my vehicle and I have NEVER owned it. How to I prove that this is not and has never been my vehicle? I have a toll account with 5 vehicles on it. Don't you think if I ever owned this vehicle, I would have added it? This goes back to 2016 and again I have NEVER OWNED this vehicle. Where to I go from here?
DGR Send email
 
Sep 6, 2017

NTTA Thievery

NTTA excels in Baffling with Bullshit and Dazzling with incompetents, their mistakes and overcharges are in your next bill...So who has time to deal with these Blood Suckers???...Can you say Class Action Lawsuit?
The bottom line is THEY ARE OUT TO GIT YOUR HARD EARNED MONEY!, and since the State Of Texas is a back pocket partner in this scam...guess who losses? (probably conceived along with the Drivers SURCHARGE law and the LOTTERY a tax on imbeciles)
So pay-up suckers!, Thar's a new sheriff in to town!...or Wise up Never, Never, Never use NTTA.
Don't be tempted by the their concrete snares!
"I Dream of a Day with an Empty Tollway!"
Bring 'em to their knees!
DGR Send email
 
Sep 6, 2017

NTTA Thievery

NTTA excels in Baffling with Bullshit and Dazzling with incompetents, their mistakes and overcharges are in your next bill...So who has time to deal with these Blood Suckers???...Can you say Class Action Lawsuit?
The bottom line is THEY ARE OUT TO GIT YOUR HARD EARNED MONEY!, and since the State Of Texas is a back pocket partner in this scam...guess who losses? (probably conceived along with the Drivers SURCHARGE law and the LOTTERY a tax on imbeciles)
So pay-up suckers!, Thar's a new sheriff in to town!...or Wise up Never, Never, Never use NTTA.
Don't be tempted by the their concrete snares!
"I Dream of a Day with an Empty Tollway!"
rjevans81 Send email
 
Sep 6, 2017

Duh! overcharged

Dear NTTA,

I apologize that I did not send you the forty two cents that I owed you by August 15, 2017. I never planned not to pay, but I figured that for such a low amount my tardiness would be overlooked. When I returned from a recent trip, I found that I was mistaken.

Charging $10 for "administrative fees" for a forty two cent bill is immoral, unethical, and unacceptable. No rational person could accept this as proportional to the offense. Just to put this in perspective, it would be like a credit card company charging 23 times what someone had spent for not paying their bill one month. Fortunately for consumers, such practices are illegal. Legislators have responded to public outcry and made laws against it. Why have they not done the same for NTTA?

I suspect your job as a representative of complaining NTTA customers is a thankless position. I am sorry NTTA needs to hire such a person. But what can you do that makes any difference whatsoever?

Yet for every complaint letter you recieve, there are likely dozens, if not hundreds, of irate, dissatisfied customers who did not waste any time contacting you. For most people, it is not worth their time or effort.

Please understand that my contacting you was only so that I could feel like I was doing something to address this injustice. I presume nothing will come of it. If NTTA had any interest in helping customers it would have done so already. For example, holding people's charges until they reached a $5.00 threshold might alleviate customer's frustration, and save hundreds of dollars in processing costs. The fact that NTTA has not done such a reasonable thing shows that the overriding principle of this institution is profit. Anyone who studied this situation would immediately see that it is a scam.

Thank you for you time reading my complaint. Maybe the ten dollars I gave your company will go towards your salary and actually do some good.

Sincerely,
Robert Evans
Greatwhale Send email
 
Sep 2, 2017

Toll fees and office fees

I had 4.00 in toll fees and now after 2 months they say late fee 10.00 plus now 25.00 office fees ! Omg
Maffia exstortion cannot believe this
MSSteb Send email
 
Aug 29, 2017

Tolls

Over the past 2 years, I have received mulitple bills from NTTA, all showing different vehicles. I have never been to Texas, nor will I ever after this experience. The lastest was a pink slip fron NTTA showing a white trailor. I own a Kia and live in Florida. I attempted to resolve the first 2, but after being on hold multiple times for 30-60 minutes and then being hung up on and having to restart the process...I am now inclined to let them take me to court and pay for my time. I cannot believe the incompetence of people. Is it because a tag was read incorrectly and now I am a target???
boydnson Send email
 
Aug 27, 2017

Late charge

Went to Arkansas on July 4th weekend and travelled via NTTA to and from. Received 1st notice of non payment during week of August 21st-25th. Billing period on bill was 7/14/2017 to 8/13/2017. Toll amount was 19.51 with a $10 late fee. Absolutely did not receive initial bill previous to the 1st Notice of non payment.
upset okie Send email
 
Aug 25, 2017

I do not owe this bill - not my license plate

I received a bill in July stating that "my vehicle" owed money for using their tollways. Only problem is that I don't own that vehicle OR the license plate. They are now saying that I have to prove to them that I don't own the vehicle or tag by going to my local DMV and paying their research fee and then e-mail them the results. Why am I having to pay for your mistake???
Robert W. Killgo Send email
 
Aug 21, 2017

fraud billing, contact info

CONTACT HER!!!
And yes, there are actually government officials sitting on the board of the NTTA stealing everyone's money!!!! Be interesting to see how much money the board members, especially the official government ones, who are helping to cover up and protect the fraud of the NTTA, are getting every year for their efforts.

Watchdog Nation alert: Senator Nelson needs ammunition to take on the authority. Send ideas, stories and comments to Jane.Nelson@senate.state.tx.us or Senator Jane Nelson, P.O. Box 12068, Austin, TX 78711.

About the NTTA The North Texas Tollway Authority is authorized to acquire, construct, maintain, repair and operate turnpike projects in North Texas.
The governing board’s members are Chairman Paul N. Wageman, Vice Chairman Victor Vandergriff and directors Kenneth Barr, Gary Base, Bob Day, David Denison, Michael Nowels, Bob Shepard and Alan E. Sims.
NTTA customer service: 972-818-NTTA (6882); www.ntta.org
Robert W. Killgo Send email
 
Aug 21, 2017

NTTA fraud

FYI-- During a phone conversation trying to argue my point, an employee of the ntta actually said to me... "the United States Postal Service 'tracks' their 'regular, every-day, normal' mail so yes, they DO have proof that the first and second bills were sent." LOL I did mail order for many years and new better, so I asked my local Postal Manager who laughed, but I was really thinking he would take it a little more serious than that. Oh well. When you talk to the ntta on the phone, RECORD IT!!!! You can put your phone on speaker, put it by your computer screen, and use your recorder on your computer, which you should find by searching your menu on the left. If I had done that, I could be really damaging that crooked organization. It's time for us all to start pulling together and bringing this to a stop, legally, for everyone.
Contact Saul Garza of Fox 4 News and lets get him started on it.
Follow Saul on Twitter at: saulgarzafox4 or
Facebook at: www.facebook.com/saulgarzafox4
or go to their website fox4news.com/contact and send messages to the investigations, what's bugging you, etc.
latorys Send email
 
Aug 16, 2017

TOLL is a Scam

I've never been so pissed. Everytime I call the Toll customer service I'm told different information. I pay every week since they mess up my credit card once before. Then I look up Im past due and theres no way to know. I sick of calling here weekly and to get stuck in construction or traffic for over an hour every damn day. I don't even believe we should have to pay for a freeway in the first place. This crap is a scam. The lady tells me I have to call everyday to get my damn zip cash paid for. What the hell!!!!
Bob@hotmail.com Send email
 
Aug 12, 2017

Unethical billing practices

Very rare does myself or anybody that I know receive an original bill from NTTA. But somehow I always seem to get second or third notices due with an additional $10-$45 tacked on. But today they've added another twist to it I got a third notice when I never received the first two and they're claiming a service date that my truck wasn't even in the state. I sure hope that someone would have the resources to initiate a class-action lawsuit against these quacks!
s2robins Send email
 
Jul 29, 2017

unethical charges

I, like so many other people on this complaint board, have had North Texas Toll Association charge me an exorbitant amount of late fees by claiming they mailed me an invoice twice. I was in Dallas in April and had a whopping $3.38 toll. I NEVER received any correspondence at all regarding the toll. But yesterday, I opened my mail and saw I had been charged $35 of late fees and turned over to a collection agency. When I tried to talk with NTTA they refused to listen and all she could say was we show in our records that we mailed you invoices twice. Really? Then why was yesterday the only invoice I received. I guess NTTA can't make money sending invoices for only $3.38 so they mark in their systems that they mailed the charge, but then wait until the fees are 950% of the toll and then finally mail them. This a huge scam and a very black mark on NTTA's name. It needs to be investigated and I'm sure there will be a huge class action lawsuit.
AJB Send email
 
Jul 25, 2017

Extra unwarranted fees NTTA

Recieved my bill, for $4.26, mailed it off immediately and sent a check for $25.00. Just so I would not get hassled in the future in case I unwillingly get forced on a toll road as in this case. Recieved another bill today for non payment with a 10.00 fee tacked on. I immediatey call the bank & yes the check had cleared the week before. Contacted NTTA. Was told that they did recieve payment a 'day late". They applied 14.26 of my 25.00 to my 4.26 bill, for payment & ' late charges'. Cannot prove when they recieved the payment, but I don't live in Alaska. I mailed it on the 7th of July. It was due on the 13th. I think they did this to prove a point. Got absolutely nowhere with the Customer Service rep, asked for a supervisor was placed on hold, only to be told there was not one available, and that one could call me back in the next 24 to 48 hours. Yeah right undoubtedly when Im at work if ever. I dont mind paying late fees if I was late, but please dont try to PUNK me with a play on dates. I work hard for my money, try to do the right thing & get screwed. You know you got my money on time. 14.26 on a toll rd. That I never intended to be on.
alicialteach Send email
 
Jun 27, 2017

NTTA BILL nener received

I just received a bill for an extra $35. charge in late fees on a $2.72 toll. They are claiming that I did not pay a bill
that was sent to my email. A manager by the name of David said that it may have gone to my SPAM account.
I never received it in any account. I have always paid these toll charges. I would have certainly paid a $2.72 charge, if I
would have received it. I have sent emails and spoken with multiple managers on the phone. Not a single budge to waive the ridiculous charges.
fredperidore Send email
 
Jun 16, 2017

What is this bill for?

I just received my first "bill", just like everyone else's, it was a late notice. This states i was in Texas between April 13, 2017 to May 12, 2017. They claim i went through FOUR tolls in that time. That is really hard to do when i was in Mexico for 5 days, and the entire month period my car was in ILLINOIS (which is where i live) This is a completely fraudulent bill, and i will be contacting the proper authorities. This is a complete SCAM. I think with all of these complaints, there would be a law firm ready to make a class action lawsuit. I know i will be looking for one...after contacting the BBB
karizma512 Send email
 
Jun 16, 2017

Received past due invoice, never received initial bill

I don't recall going on a toll road, but am willing to accept that I may have missed a sign. However, I never received an initial invoice before I was sent a bill with a late fee. I emailed right away and received a response indicating:

"Customer Service is able to track all invoices sent to our customers through the postal tracking software. This system allows NTTA to verify the delivery date and address for all invoices. The postal tracking software confirms that the invoices were mailed out successfully and they did not come back as “returned to sender” or “bad address”."

I called to request the output proof of this "postal tracking software" and they refused to provide anything. Instead they threatened me with a variety of consequences and said the only way to waive the fee is if I opened an account.

After looking at the multiple complaints of others, I can see this is a SUPER easy way to scam people and keep collecting their $10 minimum fee from each non-tag driver. I opened the account to put the issue to bed (especially after looking at what they've done to people that don't pay) but I find it baffling that the NTTA can continue to run this racket unchecked.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Hallmark channel - Christmas movies
    Why do we put Christmas movies on before Halloween???? I...
    Coca-Cola - Lottery winning
    I received one mail from coca cola company.that email ...
    Veterans Advantage - No Discounts As Advertised
    Have not received any discounts at three different places...
    Hallmark channel - Countdown to Christmas
    Hallmark Channel has taken the obsession with starting...
    CHEVROLET MOTORS WORLDWIDE LTD. - Lottery
    Sir I am Gora chand Bairagya my country India state...
    Georgia Child Support Services - Child support credit card
    I purchased a bottle of skin cream with my credit card....
    Aflac - Reinstatement
    I canceled my policy July 2017, which I was told I could...
    Lincare MDINR - Bad management
    The office in new windsor ny is very disorganized and...
    DEPARTMENT OF LABOUR - PATHETIC AND USELESS SERVICE
    This department is obviously up to their eyeballs in...
    Ms. - Scam processing office/distribution center p.o. box 2905
    This company is asking for a fee to get money and they are...

    Share this site with others

         
          

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Hallmark channel - Christmas movies
    Why do we put Christmas movies on before Halloween???? I...
    Coca-Cola - Lottery winning
    I received one mail from coca cola company.that email ...
    Veterans Advantage - No Discounts As Advertised
    Have not received any discounts at three different places...
    Hallmark channel - Countdown to Christmas
    Hallmark Channel has taken the obsession with starting...
    CHEVROLET MOTORS WORLDWIDE LTD. - Lottery
    Sir I am Gora chand Bairagya my country India state...
    Georgia Child Support Services - Child support credit card
    I purchased a bottle of skin cream with my credit card....
    Aflac - Reinstatement
    I canceled my policy July 2017, which I was told I could...
    Lincare MDINR - Bad management
    The office in new windsor ny is very disorganized and...
    DEPARTMENT OF LABOUR - PATHETIC AND USELESS SERVICE
    This department is obviously up to their eyeballs in...
    Ms. - Scam processing office/distribution center p.o. box 2905
    This company is asking for a fee to get money and they are...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username