Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

NTTA

United States,
Texas

Consumer complaints and reviews about NTTA

NTTA_heist Send email
 
May 19, 2017

From $8 to $48 WTF

It should be illegal for the NTTA to charge so much in fees. I never signed any contract or agreement agreeing to such horrendous fees. I drove 5 miles on the LBJ toll road to get to a christmas party this past December, and was nearly ran off the road by people racing. They must have been going 100mph when they passed me and my daughter, and for this reason, I already will never get on the toll road again. My address on my license is old, it is my parents address, and i just recently got a stack of mail from them. While going through it, i get one bill for $8. Then another for $18, and following that a $48 bill that is in collections. Who do they think they are to charge so much in late fees. I know I'm 5 months late, but thats absolutely ridiculous. What gets me most is the mere fact i never signed a contract or agreed to anything. I am not sure what to even do now.
tams666 Send email
 
May 16, 2017

Fraudulent Collection Practices

I've only ever received the pink letters from NTTA with an invoice fee of $10-50 a page!! This has got to be illegal, you can't charge someone an outrageous amount of money for an invoice. So I only pay the correct ant no invoice fees & I call them first to go over never receiving any kind of 1st bill-well of course I'm called a liar & then I'm hung up on!! I recently received a letter with a credit-saying I've over paid toll charges & I have this credit-next day I get another bill for tolls & invoice fees of $600, really!! Don't try to call them if you block your number-it will not go thru-they demand an email add & they tell you they have your phone number & there's nothing you can do. I was threatened with not being able to register my vehicle every year if I don't pay 100's of fake invoice charges. I've contacted my local congressman, this has to be illegal!!! It's not right to be forced to drive on the toll roads & have no other option to get to an appointment. The 121 toll roads are an absolute nightmare, beats you to death in your vehicle, huge potholes but by god you better pay then to drive on these horrendous roads!! What about the damage down to my front end, tires & wheels??
ericf Send email
 
May 16, 2017

NTTA North Texas Tollway Authority

I have the "discount, money saving toll tag" and there is a Zip Cash bill for $4.93 that was sent to me. The picture of the license plate is black and the plate number does not belong to any of my vehicles. I offered in person to pay the toll if they would remove the fees just to make it go away. I was told, "oh no we can't do that" so I walked out. Just got a new invoice for the misterious $4.00 toll.....Oh wait. It's now $81.00! Are you freaking kidding me? WTF?
Eliteambition86 Send email
 
May 6, 2017

Couldn't explain bill well.

I called to ask why I was billed again. First of all several minutes of automated responses. Then Ashley answered the line. Apparently she was annoyed with explain the bill. When I stated that I wasn't happy with their billing. So due to ashleys bad attitude I canceled my toll tag and will no longer be using ntta. Poor customer service doesn't even scratch the surface of how I feel. So if anyone even mentions the ntta, I will have a interesting story to share with them on how low they regard customers.... it's really sad that business is handled the way it is these days!
Tao Send email
 
Apr 28, 2017

No payment due emails received

I drove to Dallas in 2016 where I was charged the toll money. Without any signs, in April, 2017 a letter from a debit collection company was sent to me saying I owned some money to NTTA. I called NTTA and asked why. The agent told me they sent three letters to me but the ONLY emails I received relative to NTTA were titled "Your ZipCash Monthly Statement Is Now Available" and they did NOT mention anything related to the due payment. By no means they would catch my attention that I need to pay some fees. The agent then told me in the future they will send real letters instead of emails BUT the $35 admin fee could NOT be waived. I felt so bad as we have to pay for the mistakes they make!
Tao Send email
 
Apr 28, 2017

Not received any notices and then the debit collect company letter

I drove to Dallas in 2016 where I was charged the toll money. Without any signs, in April, 2017 a letter from a debit collection company was sent to me saying I owned some money to NTTA. I called NTTA and asked why. The agent told me they sent three letters to me but when I checked my email box and found the ONLY emails related to NTTA were titled "Your ZipCash Monthly Statement Is Now Available". By no means they would catch my attention that I need to pay some due fees. The agent then told me in the future they will send real letters instead of emails BUT the $35 admin fee could NOT be waived. I felt so bad as we have to pay for the mistakes they make!
shelb62 Send email
 
Apr 25, 2017

TOLL TAG NO HELP

I set up my toll tag account last month with a representative and received my toll tag in the mail. I placed on my front window and then was hit with a zip cash bill for $700 of unpaid tolls, and for some reason they have not been taking anything out of my account, that error is not fault it falls on them. I myself do not use tolls every day and have had people use my vehicle that did which is unfair for me to be paying this amount. I am pregnant and about to have a baby and I am sorry but I am not paying $700 to useless people who cannot do their job right and want to over charge you and tell you that having toll tag can save you money.
sher0526 Send email
 
Apr 15, 2017

False Charges

I have had my toll tag with NTTA for many, many years and one two or three cars over the years as I've gotten new ones. I have an issue where my account has been charged tolls every day almost since January 2017 they tell me (I can't see beyond that date in the online system) that were not mine. I work at home and rarely go out anywhere. I rarely even use the toll roads anymore since coming to work at home. I would like to be able to occasionally however. I only learned this because I happened see $40 charges on my credit card because my balance fell under $10 on my tag. I started reviewing these daily charges and called customer service and the rep that answered offered no assistance. I had to speak to a supervisor with customer service who told me that these are not tag charges and that they are from the camera scans so not mine because I have a tag. But they are charging me and my tag. She found the problem is that the vehicle the cameras are capturing is a New York license plate with the same license plate number as my Texas Vehicle license plate number. She credited me all the charges and said she put in a ticket or something to get the problem fixed.

To date, my account is still racking up daily charges for this New York vehicle on my Texas License plate. I'm having to watch it constantly and call for credit and hang on the phone for long periods of time while I'm trying to work. She suggested I go to the DMV, stand in line for potentially hours, and pay to get new license plates. This is ridiculous and unacceptable. How could you even guarantee you'd get a new number that another car won't have from another state!

Can you please help me? For all I know, this could have been going on longer and I didn't notice because I do not login in to the NTTA account very often since I'm not hardly driving anywhere at all. NOTHING is being done to fix this problem.
Lunaversal57 Send email
 
Apr 4, 2017

I just want to pay my bill!

I have tried calling both phone numbers on my bill, and it just rings a few times before giving me a busy signal. I have also tried to use the NTTA.org website, and it keeps telling me my information is not valid? I live 2 hours away from the nearest pay in person location, and I refuse to just send them money in the mail and hope they apply it to my bill in time. I've sent 2 emails explaining my problems without any response other than the automated "we will get back with you". What happened to having customer service? I guess they are making it difficult so that the fees can keep going up?
ejohnson Send email
 
Mar 27, 2017

NTTA ZipCash Toll Bill Fraud Mailing

I received two notices in the postal mail of balance due to the N Texas Tollway Authority, for tolls that myself nor my vehicle have ever visited. I live in the Austin area and even confirmed on the dates of the supposed bill, I was working in Corpus Christi (having driven the car they claim racked up a balance on tolls in the Dallas area!)

This is ridiculous, looks like a very real bill but i'm wondering if it's a phishing scam and how the heck they got my info? It does have my actual plate and vehicle listed, proper name and mailing address. So confused.
ottolab184 Send email
 
Mar 25, 2017

Tollmate app-NTTA ripping Texans off!!

I will advise nobody to download the Tollmate app on your smartphone. I downloaded the app and entered all my information and my vehicle information to pay my tolls. I also entered my toll tag information. I paid my tolls through the app and thought I was doing things right. I would receive a toll notice in the mail every now and then and would go to my app and add money if the balance was low or slightly negative (my account never went over $4 negative). So one day I receive a notice in the mail in a slightly different envelope from the NTTA stating "Prompt Payment Required". I opened the envelope and discovered a $244 bill inside. I was shocked because my tollmate app doesn't show this balance and actually shows a $10 credit.

To make a long story shorter, I contacted the NTTA and they said my due balance went to collections and they couldn't work with me on lowering the amount (spoke to David Schaff supervisor with NTTA). I told him my tollmate app didn't show this negative amount of $244 and he stated it was a different invoice. So since he wouldn't help me I decided to cancel my toll tag and not use the toll roads anymore. They are seriously ripping people off with penalty fees even if your balance is on a dollar or two negative. I was never trying to avoid paying my tolls, I thought the tollmate app kept me up to date but apparently it doesn't. This David Schaff was more interested in collecting the money than listening to my issue. He did lower my "zipcash" bill which is apparently different than your NTTA bill but that was it. So my $1 negative balance, $.38 cent negative balance and a fee other very small negative balances turned into a $244 bill. Be cautious of the NTTA and their fees...funny how these toll roads are taking over everywhere because they are making tons of money off fees and tolls themselves. I will just stick to our free highways from now on!
newwwy98 Send email
 
Mar 19, 2017

Vehicle Registration block

Okay, so I was about to get my car registered, it is due this month. In order to receive my registration sticker, I must remove a block placed by the NTTA. I never once received a bill and when I received one, I called and they were no help. I believe I owe about 1,400-600. I really am in a tight spot because I do not have any money and this is beyond stressful. I am thinking of just hiring a lawyer and maybe even move out of texas. This shit is super annoying and I cannot deal with it.https://www.complaintboard.com/ntta-l405/page/2
Jmason Send email
 
Mar 18, 2017

Who's license plate is this?

I've now received my 3rd bill from NTTA for license plate that isn't even registered in my name. When I called after receiving the first bill I was told the license plate was for a motorcycle registered at an address I haven't even lived at for a year. Did I mention I do not own a motorcycle and this license plate has never been associated with me? I'm being billed for a motorcycle that has a tag that isn't even registered in my name! How does this make any sense? NTTA doesn't know the correct person to send the bill to so they just look up the last person associated with that address? When attempting to find someone to correct the issue I was told I would have to spend my time and show up to NTTA to prove the vehicle isn't mine. WHAT IN THE WORLD? How do I get documentation to prove I am not registered to a vehicle if I don't even know who the tag belongs to? This is erroneous and inappropriate billing. This is now the third notice I've received with a threat of collections and no one is trying to correct the issue. This could affect my credit score because NTTA doesn't know how to appropriately bill. I'm about to submit a complaint to the better business bureau. NTTA cannot randomly locate someone to be responsible for another tag owner's charges. This is beyond ridiculous!

Who's license plate is this?

Griphen Send email
 
Mar 16, 2017

Tolltag being charged and I haven't used it

I have a tolltag it autocharges your account $20 when you use up the $20 it will debit your account $20. I was looking on my bank statement and there was a charge from ntta and it raised a red flag cause I had just recently seen one on my account not long ago and I hardly ever use a toll road we live 30 minutes from Dallas and very rarely go there. So I go look on my toll tag account and someone has been using my tolltag everyday! Last time I tried to use my tolltag was February 9th going to dfw airport and it wouldn't work it said it wouldn't read it. So I call and the lady tells me it's my car in the picture that I have been using it. I just had a baby my car has been parked in my driveway and no one has been using it! She tried to tell me I need to check out my window and make sure no one has been taking it, like someone is gonna take my car every morning and bring it back and me not know it! Plus you can look at my history and see how very rarely I used my tolltag and now it's being used every single day! I cancelled my tolltag and she said someone would contact me about this in 7-10 days, we shall see. When I hung up I went to go on my account and see when the last time I actually used it myself but now it won't let me login since I closed my account. When we hung up she told me I hope you have a better day!
WTF Send email
 
Mar 14, 2017

2 Seperate Wrong Liscense Plate

I have received 2 different Notices from the NTTA in the last three months. I haven't been to that area of Texas in 5+ years. I have Texas Plates and the first notice was an Oklahoma plate and the second notice was a North Carolina Plate. NOT MY VEHICLE!! Both times I have had to call and get through their system and talk to someone who has to confirm and remove this from my record. Today I receive an automated call telling me to call them about my account. I call and finally get to a human who says I do not have a balance on my account. I SHOULD NOT HAVE AN ACCOUNT!!! It is BS that they can tie this to your DMV. NTTA needs to get their shit together and stop harassing people. I have spent an hour of my time dealing with this. Where do I send a bill for my time @ $75hr? Can I tie their non payment of my bill to their DMV record? Any class action lawsuits against NTTA?
TCN86 Send email
 
Mar 14, 2017

NTTA response

I was contacted by an NTTA employee after posting this. They reviewed my concerns/supporting documents from DMV and indicated they would be issuing a refund on my payment.
TCN86 Send email
 
Mar 14, 2017

Forced to pay a bill on a vehicle I do not own

I was sent a bill for toll violations (from NTTA) from a tollway roughly 4-5 hours from me on a vehicle I have not owned in almost 2 years. They indicate a billing period of 1/27/2017-02/26/2017.

I called to speak with NTTA and I have to say, I have never dealt with people like this.

NTTA indicated if ownership was in question, I needed to speak with DMV. I now know that this was their bluff and no matter what DMV said, they expected payment.

I spoke with the DMV on 3/9/2017 and they indicated that I INDEED submitted my Vehicle Transfer Notification on April 17, 2015 (The exact night the vehicle was sold). DMV was actually very helpful and submitted a letter with the VIN and vehicle information confirming I released ownership in April of 2015. I sent this letter along with other supporting emails proving I have not owned that vehicle in years.

They claimed DMV did not have the authority to dictate ownership of the vehicle and the tolls were my responsibility. I was shocked. They indicate that unless the title history shows the vehicle was switched prior to any alleged violation, I am responsible. DMV does not agree but North Texas Tollway Authority thinks they can over-ride them. I released ownership in 2015 per DMV.

After re-reading the DMV letter to the employee (A man named Michele) three times which states, "If a citation or toll-issuing authority contacts you for parking tickets, toll charges or other violations associated with the buyer's use of the vehicle, please provide them with a copy of this letter to verify you are no longer the responsible party.", he said it is STILL not valid. I requested he speak with DMV regarding this matter and he said he would not be able to do so. I asked to speak to a supervisor three separate times- I was denied this as well.

This is a terrible way to treat people no matter what position of authority you think you are in. I was told my only option was to pay the violations on a vehicle that is not mine, or they will add fees for being late on payment.
donnatxcowgirl Send email
 
Mar 9, 2017

HOV Charges with 4 people in car

I drove in the HOV lane of 635 between I-30 and Central. I was then charged for driving in it even though there were 4 people in the car. I was told by NTTA that unless you have a toll tag AND register ahead of time ONLINE, they will will charge you. WHY does the sign say $0.00 for 2+ passengers? It is a lie. Am I supposed to know that I have to register ahead of time? I don't live in the area, so I guess I am punished for lack of knowledge. That will just make me NOT go to the Dallas area to shop the next time! You are a bunch of crooks. I know why I keep seeing reports on the news about NTTA and false charges to customers. I also notice that you do not ask for any way to contact us about our complaints. Nice.
rejrock Send email
 
Mar 8, 2017

Tolls not deducted from toll tag

I have over $500 in my toll tag account however after today finding out that my registration is blocked NONE of my tolls have been deducted and all have gone to zip cash...for 2 years...and they will not remove the zip cash or additional fees eve though the fist zip cash bill was "printed" in 8/2015 after I had already made 2 toll tag payments! I never received a bill or notice just kept paying because I figured my account was low. How is this legal?
joeyhinton8 Send email
 
Mar 6, 2017

excessive "administration fees"

I am active duty military, stationed in Arizona. I deployed to Qatar/Afghanistan in July 2016. Wife made a few trips to Dallas and up to Oklahoma in our vehicle that is registered in my name. The actual toll fees totaled $42.82. By the time I returned(Feb 17) I had a bill of $147.82, and it was in collections. I called customer support, thinking they might understand that I couldn't pay, if I wasn't aware of a bill. The response was that the bills were being delivered, so I was obligated to pay. They explained that I should have had my mail forwarded, or held. The bills look like junk mail, with Zipcash on the envelope, so wife didn't bother to open, since they were addressed to me. They did a "one time courtesy waive" of some of the fees, and I ended up settling for $72.37. I feel like I should've pushed the issue a little farther, but was starting to get really annoyed, and didn't want to take it out on the cs rep. This system seems seriously flawed, and these practices are very scam like. Let me drop my $0.50 in a bucket and drive on.
bdmoorebsn Send email
 
Feb 17, 2017

fraudulent charges

This is in response to your “THIRD NOTICE OF NONPAYMENT”. This bill was originally paid on time. Bill was paid when I received in the mail. These continued last notice charges are fraudulent charges. The “first” late notice you send me was returned in the along with of copy of my received bank copy of check showing you that the bill had been paid, and a copy of Ernest Moore’s death certificate.
I AM NOT going to pay any late fees for something that was not late. What I am GOING to do is file a formal grievance, contact state, contact federal, and my attorney fraudulent harassment billing charges. I in good effort tried to correct this situation, even called, unfortunately, couldn’t understand the person on the phone, and they refused me a supervisor and hung up on me.
Irene-J Send email
 
Feb 1, 2017

Fraudulent Billing

Dear sir/madam,
I am writing to complain about the fraudulent bill the NTTA sent me. I received a bill from the North Texas Tollway Authority (NTTA) that was due 12/01/2016 for $2.30. This bill was paid on 11/29/2016; the date that I travel out of the country. In my absence, another bill was sent to my address for $10.68. On my return, I called to find why I was being billed, since I had already made the payment of $2.30 prior to my travel out of the country.I was told that they will waive the $10.00 as a courtesy, but I have to pay the $0.68. I then told the representative (Carlos) that I do not owe them the amount they were billing me because I was out of the country, and no one was driving my car while I was out. The supervisor spoke with me and told me that the $0.68 bill was a result of my car going through a toll road on 11/11/2016. My question was that, wouldn't the $0.68 be included in the $2.30 that was due on 12/01/2016? He couldn't convince me that the $0.68 is not included in the $2.30 bill that was due on 12/01/2016 and paid for; instead, he insisted that I have to pay the amount. This is not about the money, it is about fraudulently billing customers by the NTTA.
Please help me solve this mystery bill, so that these bills will stop coming.
Thanks.
Sincerely,
Irene
Bperfect2 Send email
 
Jan 23, 2017

Obviously not my car in toll photo..

I bought a cash car in May of last year from a dealership in Katy. About a month later I started receiving bills from NTTA. I would call them every time and say , that's not my car in the photo and I have never even been to Dallas. No matter how many times I spoke to someone and seemed to get it straight they would start back sending me letters. NTTA even sent the so called unpaid toll fees to a collection agency , and now I have received a letter saying they will impound my vehicle. This is crazy and I am confused on what to do. If anyone can help please let me know.
tlhwebster Send email
 
Jan 21, 2017

non delivery of invoices

Today, I received a notice that I owed the NTTA $71.22 for unpaid tolls that I never received a bill for. They are from September and October of 2016. They say they sent out 3 notices and I have not received 1!! They have now sent this to a collection agency. I think somebody there is not doing their job or their automated processes are not being done. Please investigate this and find out if they have been not billing people to collect fees. Thank you.
cmoore08 Send email
 
Jan 17, 2017

NTTA did not accept my money!

I received a bill from the NTTA which stated I owe $2018.40. Most of the bill was administrative fees that was added because they felt that I owe them. They have blocked the registration of my car also. I called the company. I explained that as a consumer, my car registration is a matter with the State of Texas so why would the NTTA have the authority to block this registration? I explained that I intentionally do not have a toll tag because I don't trust the NTTA to correctly indicate when I use their roads.

Additionally, how can they set up so many stipulations related to a State of Texas matter such as registration. Why do they have this type of authority to make these decisions as a private company? Is the State of Texas aware of the stipulations that they have placed on consumers? I feel strongly that my civil rights have been violated.

Car registration is a state government issue. The NTTA is a privately owned company and not a division of the government at all. Yet, I can not get my car registered, I have to pay the fees that they say that I owe, and I am in jeopardy of criminal charges if I do not follow their rules. THIS IS INSANE. IT IS UNBELIEVABLE. I will file a formal complaint with the Office of the Attorney General regarding this matter.

I am currently unemployed. I explained to a rep with the TER Group that I had $200.000 that I could pay now. She told me to hold on to the money because it was not $388.00 which is the 20% minimum that is required for them to allow me to register my car. She told me to save that money until I had the 20% minimum available. I asked if I could pay what I had and she told me it would not be enough to get my car registered. This is an abuse of power. This feels very unethical. In essence she was saying that it is 20% or nothing. But yet, this is a State of Texas matter.

Our lawmakers have a fiduciary duty to make sure that companies are acting within the law. The NTTA is setting their own rules and destroying the lives or consumers. THIS MUST BE STOPPED.

I will file a formal complaint and contact a consumer, investigative reporter with the news stations.

Sincerely,

An Angry Garland, Texas Resident

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    US Pharmacy - Harassment
    Countless calls from us pharmacy in which I ask nicely to...
    EMCO Storm door - EMCO storm doors
    Had Home Depot install 2 Andersen EMCO storm doors....
    U-MOBILE - Network / Mobile Data Internet
    Salam sejahtera UMobile, Makluman serta aduan kepada...
    Mipfa Provident Fund - Withdrawel of fund
    I applied for my Provident Fund on the 14th of March...
    Compressionsale.com - Wish I saw this before ordering
    Followed fitting measurement instructions, ordered 6 pairs...
    Singtel - Singtel charged me 19 days before I received my SIM
    I have not had a worse encounter with other ISP's....
    MIBFA - Withdrawel of fund
    Good day I apply for my provident fund on the 14th of...
    TM Net - bad words in channel
    Polimer channel never sensor thevediya word
    Remington - Explosion of Remington hair dryer
    My hair dryer exploded last night burning my son's...

    Share this site with others

         
          

    Recently Updated Complaints

    US Pharmacy - Harassment
    Countless calls from us pharmacy in which I ask nicely to...
    EMCO Storm door - EMCO storm doors
    Had Home Depot install 2 Andersen EMCO storm doors....
    U-MOBILE - Network / Mobile Data Internet
    Salam sejahtera UMobile, Makluman serta aduan kepada...
    Mipfa Provident Fund - Withdrawel of fund
    I applied for my Provident Fund on the 14th of March...
    Compressionsale.com - Wish I saw this before ordering
    Followed fitting measurement instructions, ordered 6 pairs...
    Singtel - Singtel charged me 19 days before I received my SIM
    I have not had a worse encounter with other ISP's....
    MIBFA - Withdrawel of fund
    Good day I apply for my provident fund on the 14th of...
    TM Net - bad words in channel
    Polimer channel never sensor thevediya word
    Remington - Explosion of Remington hair dryer
    My hair dryer exploded last night burning my son's...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username