Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

NTTA

United States,
Texas

Consumer complaints and reviews about NTTA

Treva Send email
 
Jan 12, 2018

NTTA - NEVER received a first invoice

Time and time again I have received 3rd notices from the NTTA. I have occasionally received a 2nd notice. But NEVER, I repeat NEVER have I received a 1st notice. I have been to the Plano NTTA office in person and asked to speak to a manager or supervisor about this. I was told that there were no managers or supervisors located in that building. After that encounter (and not paying because the issues with these charges had not been resolved) the NTTA put a block on re-registering my vehicle.

My husband has had the same experience with them. He now has a warrant out for his arrest for Failure to Pay Toll.

We do not mind paying for the initial tolls. If the 1st bill had been sent to us, we would have gladly paid it. But to be continuously screwed over by being charged "First Notice Administrative Fees" and "Second Notice Administrative Fees" AND NEVER SENDING THE FIRST BILL, is fraudulent practices and THEFT. I agree with a previous complaint that says this is immoral, unethical and unacceptable.

How can common theft of so many people still be legal? Is there a lawyer out there who knows how to stop this?

Thank you,
Treva
Heath Rutledge Send email
 
Jan 9, 2018

Liars

I have continued to read about how the first letter or bill received has one or more late fees on them. I have also been a victim of the fraudulent practice. I have also been billed multiple times for the same toll. over a period of about six months i was billed three times for a trip to Austin that I made. My call were not returned and my complaints go unanswered as per normal operations of this tyrannical organization. It absolutely disgust me to know that in my country this type of extortion is allowed.
Faithgirl Send email
 
Jan 5, 2018

Fraudulent Practices

I am rarely in the area, but this is the second time that the 1st invoice received included a late fee. Last year, I didn't dispute it, thinking I possibly overlooked the invoice, but when it happened again this year, my husband called 11/10/17 to dispute the late fee. We were told a Supervisor would call back within 48 hours, but the call never came, and honestly through the holidays we forgot about it. I called again on 12/20/17 after receiving an additional 25.00 fee and spoke to Natasia, who said she was a supervisor, the account was in collections and couldn't waive the fees unless I purchased a Toll Tag. Natisia said her Supervisor Francis would call me back in 24 hours. When I didn't get a call back on 12/21/17, I called back on 12/22/17; at this point the invoice # was not recognized by the automated system. I talked to Patti, who said I was in collections, but she said she would talk to her Supervisor Linda, who would talk to Natasia and have Francis call me back that day. I didn't receive a call back, so tried again on 12/26/17 when I received the holiday hours recording, so I called back the next day 12/27/17 and spoke to Lashonda, who transferred me to Supervisor LaQuita who advised We were already in Collections with Alliance 1. Laquita also advised that I could be removed from collections by purchasing a Toll tag. Laquita also mentioned that I am not the only consumer complaining about not having received my first invoice. Alliance 1 called me for the 1st time yesterday 1/3/17. My current balance due is $42.05 (6 times the original balance due) I have never disputed the 7.05 being due even though the fined trailer is on loan, just the fraudulent fees. & extortion as if I refuse to pay the fees I can lose my vehicle registration and be banned from a road I’m required to drive on including having my vehicle impounded.
Faithgirl Send email
 
Jan 5, 2018

Fraudulent Practices

I am rarely in the area, but this is the second time that the 1st invoice received included a late fee. Last year, I didn't dispute it, thinking I possibly overlooked the invoice, but when it happened again this year, my husband called 11/10/17 to dispute the late fee. we were told a Supervisor would call back within 48 hours, but the call never came, and honestly through the holidays we forgot about it. I called again on 12/20/17 after receiving an additional 25.00 fee and spoke to Natasia, who said she was a supervisor, the account was in collections and couldn't waive the fees unless I purchased a Toll Tag. Natisia said her Supervisor Francis would call me back in 24 hours. When I didn't get a call back on 12/21/17, I called back on 12/22/17, at this point the invoice # was not recognized by the automated system. I talked to Patti, who said I was in collections, but she said she would talk to her Supervisor Linda, who would Talk to Natasia and have Francis call me back that day. I didn't receive a call back, so tried again on 12/26/17 when I received the holiday hours recording, so I called back the next day 12/27/17 and spoke to Lashonda, who transferred me to Supervisor LaQuita who advised We were already in Collections with Alliance 1. Laquita also advised that I could be removed from collections by purchasing a Toll tag. Laquita also mentioned that I am not the only consumer complaining about not having received my first invoice. Alliance 1 called me for the 1st time yesterday 1/3/17. My current balance due is $42.05 (6 times the original balance due) I have never disputed the 7.05 being due even though the fined trailer is on loan, just the fraudulent fees.& extortion as if i refuse to pay the fees i can lose my vehicle registration and be banned from a road i'm required to drive on including having my vehicle impounded.
Mary Williams Send email
 
Jan 3, 2018

Paying MRTA when that car wasn't suppose to be on my toll tag

Hello my name is Mary Williams I once had my sister 2014 Dodge Avenger on my toll tags because I was trick BY the dealership and put my name on her car , so from that day when I found out my name was on her car as a cosigner I call the Finance Co and told them that I wasn't a cosigner and that my name need to come off of her car and that I have my own car they said theirs nothing they can do about that so.. Moving forward my sister Sherion Bailey Rivers couldn't afford the car note anymore so we agreed to give the car back so in the mean time I call Ntta to paid my bill , come along she have unpaid bill that's In my name and I don't think that's fair I have to pay those fee's is theirs some thing you can do to help me out this situation
Taylor2206 Send email
 
Dec 14, 2017

Outrageous toll fees and lack of help from customer care

My name is Taylor Williams and I have been ticketed for toll fees. When I called NTTA to work out a payment plan, the representative flat out told me that I had to pay the total of $1600.00 or pay $400 down and $130 a month. This is outrageous due the fact that my Tolls actually amount to just $300 and I'm having to pay over $1300.00 in fees. Let alone on a 2 weeks notice. I have 4 kids and coming up with that much money takes planning. I am apalled at the lack of help And service NTTA and the customer care has provided. I Will fight this in court and go to the BBB. No one deserves to be treated the way NTTA had treated me.
Queshia84 Send email
 
Dec 13, 2017

Unable to locate acct and then charged me late fees

I received a invoice with a payment due on Nov. 19. So the first time I called and spoke to someone and they told me they could not find my acct. My problem with that is if a bill is coming to my address why aren't you unable to find my acct with billing address just another way to add late fees to the current charges. So then I called to make a payment again and said the same thing I told the first rep and the rep asked for my current licenses plate number and I told her the charge was on my dealers tag and she still proceeded to take my payment. But I recently learned the payment she took was for a charge that was not even mailed out to me yet and they want to make like it s my fault because their rep took the wrong payment and want me to pay late fees. Me as tax payer pay for this tollway to built, then I'm charged to use the tollway and then because of your mistake as a company I have to pay these high late fees. YALL ARE A REP OFF OF TAX PAYERS MONEY and its not about the $10 late fee, The problem is I called to make a payment and because your system is not updated and your reps don't listen carefully I am being penalized. Why would I make a payment on a charge that has not been sent out yet, and not pay my past due balance. With all the money yall make why can't you locate invoices by name or address? I really feel like I have been sucker punch because I called to pay my bill on time and still received a late notice. I need to speak to someone besides the supervisors at your call center because I don't trust anything they say and that $10 late fee needs to be remove.
ccarranceja Send email
 
Dec 10, 2017

NTTA ZipCash Toll Bill Scam?

I can’t believe I have a toll bill when I always pay whenever I pass it. Is there a scam going on??? Are they targeting those out of state plate #? I got one from Colorado too even though I know I paid. Just to settle it, I paid online then I got another bill again asking for payment. Is it incompetence or just greedy people?
kandd7 Send email
 
Dec 9, 2017

Incredulous Fees!!!

I had a $4.65 bill, unfortunately I forgot about it. Shame on me, its new to me to have a toll bill as it is not a regular habit use a toll road. So, I guess I deserved the $10 they charged me for again forgetting to pay my bill. (which was the 2nd notice) But today before I’ve even mailed my check I’ve got a 3rd notice bill totaling $259.45. ARE you kidding me?? Pawn shops and Payday loan guys look like wimps compared to this mess. HOW can this be plausible let alone legal?? And FROM our government?? This is crazy! Even medical physicians and hospitals negotiate but I am told nope the NTTA will not and there is no way this can be worked out, even if I would agree to pay the total amount it must be in full because they can NOT accept payments. Who are these people how is this allowed? Who can fix this? Its absolutely outrageous!
etomne777 Send email
 
Dec 1, 2017

NTTA no invoices, late fees

I was charged $10 and $25 admin fees for first and second notice. I had never received any invoices this year from NTTA

I made a complain to BBB Better Business Bureau, bbb.org and they replied with this:
"...However, should BBB determine at a later date that a pattern of complaint exists regarding similar allegations

that you experienced; BBB may request the company's cooperation in addressing and eliminating the pattern of concern.

You will be notified if this occurs, and your complaint will then be included in the company's BBB Business Review. "

If they get any more complaints similar to the kind I and a few others sent them, then they will contact the BBB

(Better Business Bureau) and review mine and the others complaints with the NTTA company.
etomne777 Send email
 
Nov 29, 2017

NTTA don't send invoices then charge fees: $10 and $25

NTTA added two administrative fees: $10 and $25 for not paying first and second invoices. I had never received any invoices this year from NTTA.

NTTA don't send  invoices then charge  fees: $10 and $25

awill081969 Send email
 
Nov 17, 2017

Auto charge

Today I got the first notice that they could not charge my credit card. Lost my wallet so I had to get a new credit card. So with that being said, my email address is connected to my account. I was charged $40.00 for three days. The third day is when I got the notice? My toll fees were $2.00 more than what I had in my account and I got charged $120.00. WTF I don't think it is worth it to even have a toll tag. Is there any laws that protect the consumer with these out ravenous fees?
coolbeans1991 Send email
 
Nov 1, 2017

Zip Cash Toll Bill- Fraudulent

I received a 3d notice (with threat to take legal action) in the amount of 52.77 from Texas NTTA. Late fees comprised $35.00 of that amount. I PAID the $17.77 in November 2016. (Good News is I now have the card transaction on file).
They NEVER posted the payment to the appropriate zipcash account number.

After arguing with their customer care agent on the phone this morning, I ended up having to pay 52.77 AGAIN because they couldn't see the payment on the account ,nor could they find the payment on any of my other accounts.

The billing from this place is complete and utter disaster. Their A/R department is worse. Horrible.
Will be happy to join any class action suit.
Customer service w attitude Send email
 
Oct 26, 2017

Customer service w Attitude

You would think when you call to get your bill resolved customer service would at least be courteous. I spoke with Orvette, so she says her name is and was very rude. She did not let me speak and would raise her voice at me if I was a child. She was would get upset and frustrated when I asked her her question. After being put on hold for 3 times I called on another line and got thur to customer service. Caroline was very helpful and I was able to resolve my bill. Some people are just not meant to work in customer service, no one wants to call to pay their bill and have attitude on the other line.
FuriousCA Send email
 
Oct 22, 2017

NTTA SCAM with ZipCash toll bill

I received a bill today and the car in the picture has my license plate, but the car is not mine in the photo. I don’t own a black Toyota. Someone put my license plate it appears on top of the picture of another person’s car it seems. The license plate is way too white and is bigger than what would fit the car in the picture.
badgerkc130 Send email
 
Oct 22, 2017

2nd Notice

I received a 2nd bill from NTTA(Never saw the 1st) for my sons car and I just assumed he went through a toll road while driving to Lubbock TX. Then I received a 2nd Notice for my F150 even though I've never been to Dallas. Is there a scam going on? Is the NTTA sending out fake bills to generate cash? Why doesn't NTTA provide any details in the bill: where and when the violation took place. Who is getting this mone?
Deb H Send email
 
Oct 8, 2017

NTTA's Unethical Billing Practices

To all of you who have placed NTTA billing complaints on this board, please contact Breanne Jackson at 817-424-3446 or email at: Breanne.Jackson@senate.texas.gov and tell her your experience. Hopefully our voices will finally be heard, because we know NTTA is certainly not listening, not as long as they can continue to add millions of dollars to their coffers on the backs of law
abiding citizens.

And check out tollfreehighways.com- it may make you feel better in the interim. Frankly, I'd rather pay higher taxes than deal with this corrupt toll system. Let's make our legislatures deal with this problem...they're supposed to be representing US and they're simply not doing that job when it comes to NTTA.

However, there are a few politicians (too few), such as Senator Jane Nelson, who seem to be trying to help. I thank her very much for her efforts and will be watching to see what her office does with the information they receive from all of us on this board.

Thank you for your help in this fight for right!
evans Send email
 
Oct 2, 2017

False billing

About two months ago, I received a bill from NTTA of Dallas area claiming I used Denton tollway one time in Dallas area without paying. I called customer service and spent 30 minutes explaining that the person and the motorcycle did not belong to me and I never traveled to Dallas and I did not have a tollway account. I also explain that it was not due to the amount of the bill but due to the principal of being incorrectly billed that I would not pay. The first customer service rep was not willing to accept my explanations and despite the fact that I told her that it would be easy in the court to prove the person on the picture could not be me, she kept threatening about what would happen if I did not pay. I asked her to e-mail me the original picture so that I could read the licence plate clearly and she refused saying she could not do it. I asked for her supervisor and she said no supervisor was available. I hang up and called again and this time I talked to a young man. I explained the situation and I asked him to read the licence plate again from the picture he was looking at since I could not read it from the picture on the bill. He read it and we both established that there was an extra letter in the licence plate which I did not have on mine. He said that they would correct the situation and would not bill me again. Yesterday, I receive another notice with the increase in the amount from $3,28 to of $13.38. It looks like this company does only care about collecting money using any means possible since they have the state to lean their back on. I am not even sure that the picture on the bill is not somehow fraudulent since while the license plate is bright white, the rest of the picture is very dark. I was lucky to be able to see that the person riding the bike wore a numbered jersey and almost twice the size that I am. Reading other complaints about this company's practices, I believe now I have to write to their headquarters in Plano, TX, go to my local DPS to make them aware of the issue and ask to which state department I need to forward an official complaint. This company is a political subdivision of state of TX meaning it is authorized by the state to collect the tolls but they need to be correct/honest in their billing and stop assuming, harassing or threatening people. My question is, do they have the right to use public's and courts' time to implement their incompetent and/or fraudulent billing practices and are they willing to continue until a class action suit is filed against them? If this company is willing to go that far, I'll be happy to participate.
nttarip Send email
 
Sep 22, 2017

Incompetent IT and Customer Service

I've just got a bill from NTTA for dates 5/12/17 thru 5/14/17 that has a total of $35 in admin fees for $14.78 in tolls. This bill says it is the second notice, yet I can't seem to find the first one. The problem I have with this is that I contacted them today, I have a credit of $31 on my vehicle as of 5/15/17! They have incompetent IT staff if they cannot make their own billing system recognize that the customer has a balance for a debit to occur. If they are not incomptent, this would be a deliberate act to swindle money from customers by charging outrageous billing fees. This could either be taken as incompetence by system programmers or a problem they don't want anyone to fix. They certainly are adamant that I received a bill and that while they see that I have a credit balance greater than the original fees, they cannot do anything other than take a full payment because the bill has already been sent to "collections". So now I have to pay $35 more or receive another threat about getting a $250 ticket for something I already paid to use.
Deb H Send email
 
Sep 20, 2017

NTTA

PLEASE someone out there start a class action lawsuit....surely a reputable law firm would be willing to take on the injustice this agency is perpetuating on innocent law abiding citizens of this state (and apparently outside TX as well) and take it on contingency. They would HAVE to win the case, all of us are not making this misery up!
I just received a bill, stating third notice-so now in collections with all their ridiculous fees. A $3.53 bill jumping to now $43.19. I don't dispute the $3.53, as I had loaned my daughter my car and she took a toll road in to work. But I never received the supposedly sent first two notices, certainly would have paid.
When I called their customer service number, I was told the address they had for me (supposedly gotten from the DMV) was in NC!!
I told the rep I moved to TX from NC four years ago. He then said "Your vehicle is showing registered in NC" I bought my vehicle in TX shortly after moving here,and it is registered in TX, so how can that be? He said I could call the collections number, which I did, same jive and they say I have to fax in a letter to dispute the charges...faxing to no one's attention, just putting an account # the rep gave me on the letter, that number is no where on my invoice?
This has been such a frustrating and infuriating experience. That they don't have the decency to correct their own errors...if that's even it It does seem that it could all be illegal. How can we bring this monopoly to justice?
ksweat Send email
 
Sep 12, 2017

toll tag fees

I absolutely hate this company. There is no reason why people are being forced to pay these outrageous fees just to drive on a road that all of our tax dollars built. I was told that they can set up a payment plan for the so called unpaid fees that I have. The agent was no where near helpful nor understanding. This is just a game of we will take your money and lie to you. The ###### courthouse isn't as horrible as this damn company is. I advised the agent that I have a open bankruptcy and they shouldn't be forcing me to pay anything without my lawyer. My had was forced on yesterday and was charged almost $500 that I do not have. So not I will have to dispute the charge with my bank for fraud. When you don't provide correct and clear information it is fraud. This company is a big scam and a fraud.
msmolly Send email
 
Sep 6, 2017

over charged when I already had a credit of $94.50!!!

I called in a month ago to remove my dad all of his info and credit card off of my account and into MY information for future use. Well, they just charged my card $80. I called to ask why since I was charged since I already had a credit of $94.50. They said its because I was still linked to my dads account. I specifically asked the lady I was speaking too if I was removed from his information and she said yes. I also confirmed my card WOULDNT be charged until credit ran out and she said yes. So today when I asked for a refund of the $80 I was told no. I then asked for a supervisor (Christina) who also had an attitude and told me they could only refund $40 - um what?? So since I still didn't get the answer I told her to go back and listen to the recorded phone call to prove I was told there would be NO charges to my card. When I asked for her name again, she said "I already gave that to you". Wow. I said yes you told me a few minutes ago at the very beginning of our conversation and she said "well your coming at me like I didn't give it to you". AND THIS IS HOW YOUR ESCALATED SUPERVIOPSR SPEAKS TO CUSTOMERS???? WOW. I told her I work in customer service and I have customers that ask my name multiple times and even how to spell it and NEVER speak to them that way. I CANT wait to get a phone call back from another supervisor in 24-72 hours after they listen to the original call or I will dispute charges with my bank! BE AWARE and CHANGE TO CASH ACCOUNT!!!
bjbridget Send email
 
Sep 6, 2017

Charging for vehicle I NEVER OWNED

The NTTA repeatedly is sending me bills for a vehicle I have NEVER OWNED. I have called and spoken with several different people and they all state that I HAVE TO PAY this bill. This is NOT my vehicle and I have NEVER owned it. How to I prove that this is not and has never been my vehicle? I have a toll account with 5 vehicles on it. Don't you think if I ever owned this vehicle, I would have added it? This goes back to 2016 and again I have NEVER OWNED this vehicle. Where to I go from here?
DGR Send email
 
Sep 6, 2017

NTTA Thievery

NTTA excels in Baffling with Bullshit and Dazzling with incompetents, their mistakes and overcharges are in your next bill...So who has time to deal with these Blood Suckers???...Can you say Class Action Lawsuit?
The bottom line is THEY ARE OUT TO GIT YOUR HARD EARNED MONEY!, and since the State Of Texas is a back pocket partner in this scam...guess who losses? (probably conceived along with the Drivers SURCHARGE law and the LOTTERY a tax on imbeciles)
So pay-up suckers!, Thar's a new sheriff in to town!...or Wise up Never, Never, Never use NTTA.
Don't be tempted by the their concrete snares!
"I Dream of a Day with an Empty Tollway!"
Bring 'em to their knees!
DGR Send email
 
Sep 6, 2017

NTTA Thievery

NTTA excels in Baffling with Bullshit and Dazzling with incompetents, their mistakes and overcharges are in your next bill...So who has time to deal with these Blood Suckers???...Can you say Class Action Lawsuit?
The bottom line is THEY ARE OUT TO GIT YOUR HARD EARNED MONEY!, and since the State Of Texas is a back pocket partner in this scam...guess who losses? (probably conceived along with the Drivers SURCHARGE law and the LOTTERY a tax on imbeciles)
So pay-up suckers!, Thar's a new sheriff in to town!...or Wise up Never, Never, Never use NTTA.
Don't be tempted by the their concrete snares!
"I Dream of a Day with an Empty Tollway!"

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Edcon - Told by a Jet manager that I smell.
    This past week I went to JetMart the one at Ellof street...
    pnc mortgage - Loan Interest Manipulation & Overcharging
    Consumers must check their monthly (second) mortgage...
    PNC CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT? - PNC Interest Overcharging and Interest Manipulation
    Consumers must check their monthly (second) mortgage...
    U-MOBILE - Umobile charge itemised billing fees without your consent
    Umobile get profit from itemised billing fees RM3 fand...
    Hallmark channel - Butchering of Rockford
    What is with you guys?? TWICE you've brought back...
    Microsoft Office - continual charging of my credit card
    I purchased Microsoft Office 1 year ago and pay monthly. I...
    Keranique - Delma
    I ordered a “free” trial od Keranique and was only...
    Topix.com - Purchase Financial Instrument for Lease BG/SBLC/LC
    We have direct and efficient providers of Bank Guarantee...

    Share this site with others

         
          

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Edcon - Told by a Jet manager that I smell.
    This past week I went to JetMart the one at Ellof street...
    pnc mortgage - Loan Interest Manipulation & Overcharging
    Consumers must check their monthly (second) mortgage...
    PNC CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT? - PNC Interest Overcharging and Interest Manipulation
    Consumers must check their monthly (second) mortgage...
    U-MOBILE - Umobile charge itemised billing fees without your consent
    Umobile get profit from itemised billing fees RM3 fand...
    Hallmark channel - Butchering of Rockford
    What is with you guys?? TWICE you've brought back...
    Microsoft Office - continual charging of my credit card
    I purchased Microsoft Office 1 year ago and pay monthly. I...
    Keranique - Delma
    I ordered a “free” trial od Keranique and was only...
    Topix.com - Purchase Financial Instrument for Lease BG/SBLC/LC
    We have direct and efficient providers of Bank Guarantee...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username