Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

NTTA

United States,
Texas

Consumer complaints and reviews about NTTA

cdbaugus Send email
 
May 23, 2018

pricing

My niece traveled in Dec. 2017 to got to Mineral wells to visit her sister. Cost $18.00. WTF!!!!! Just to drive on their crappy toll road. Didn't receive the bill for this to warn her until after she visited her again in March 2018. Again $18.00 to drive on a crappy toll road. This is ridiculous. Where does this money go, because you don't see its use anywhere. This is a complete ripoff.
sadberry05 Send email
 
May 23, 2018

Increased Tolls

I was just on the phone with a representative, wondering why we were just charged another 40.00 re-up when were just charged like 3-4 days ago. I was told that based on rush hour, the prices could quadruple without notice. So when the toll is normally for an example, .89, it could go to 3-4 dollars. The hours given for rush hour were 6a-9a in the mornings and 4p-7p in the evenings. Man...this is such a racket. No wonder why keep having the 40.00 come through our checking account. Its rush hour, so there is going to be traffic...so now instead of being in normal traffic, (which is supposed to bypass these types of things for the most part, offering faster travel to destinations) I'm paying to be in traffic (now does that make sense).
sadberry05 Send email
 
May 23, 2018

Increased Charges

I was just on the phone with a representative, wondering why we were just charged another 40.00 re-up when were just charged like 3-4 days ago. I was told that based on rush hour, the prices could quadruple without notice. So when the toll is normally for an example, .89, it could go to 3-4 dollars. The hours given for rush hour were 6a-9a in the mornings and 4p-7p in the evenings. Man...this is such a racket. No wonder why keep having the 40.00 come through our checking account. Its rush hour, so there is going to be traffic...so now instead of being in normal traffic, (which is supposed to bypass these types of things for the most part, offering faster travel to destinations) I'm paying to be in traffic (now does that make sense).
Little Gray Dog Send email
 
May 3, 2018

Graft

We already pay for roads with our taxes. NTTA looks like organized crime to me. NTTA gets to vote and pass laws in its favor. Stealing BILLIONS from the citizens. Under threat of collections, violence and arrest i pay them. Like red light tickets, this is just a money printing scam.
Furthernore, HOV lanes that are mostly the old highway shoulders are DEATH TRAPS. Every traffic causing accident i have witnessed on my local highways are from the HOV (ALL SOON TO BE TOLLWAYS). HOV lanes cause much more traffic and accidents than if the lane was FREE (we already PAID for the roads). I bet no one cares about that up there either. Because TRAGEDY IS PROFITABLE. i suggest everyone to toss their little NTTA SLAVE cards, not drive the stupid lanes and NOT PAY THE FINES AS THEY ARE GRAFT. i call that PRINTING MONEY OUT OF THIN AIR. We the People need to take this all back. NTTA NON PROFITS SCORES BILLIONS OF DOLLARS AND NTTA GETS TO VOTE IN THEIR OWN LEGISLATION. SO OF COURSE THEY ARE GONNA VOTE THEM SELVES MORE MONEY. NTTA is a FRAUD. A scam. Gangsters bullying people out of their cash. Don't give it to them.
Ggtrahan Send email
 
Apr 21, 2018

Trying to make a payment arrangement

I called the NTTA office about a ticket I received from DPS. I asked what could I do to get this straightened up? Now I know I do owe unpaid tolls. So what I could do is become current on the current activity, so I paid the current amount and the fee due from ticket and paid for a new toll tag for my car. This is current and I am charged $40 when needed for CURRENT TOLL.
Now about past bills, I will need $500 now and $10” per month until paid THEN I COULD GET MY REGISTRATION UNBLOCKED. well, I am unemployed and 500 I am unable to pay... Once I called the collection department and let them know my intentions to hopefully figure something out to allow me to pay and get my registration taken care if. I explained that I have a current tag have paid a ticket and need to do something. She said.. (I AM REPEATING EXACTLY WHAT I WAS TOLD ) I WOULD NEED TO TALK TO A JUDGE AND I GUESS YOU WILL HAVE TO GET ANOTHER TICKET AND TALK TO THE JUDGE!!!!

I SAID YOU ARE SERIOUSLY ASKING ME TO BREAK THE LAW WHILE TRYING TO CLEAR UP MY ACCOUNT?

SHE YES I GUESS SO BECAUSE YOU NEED $500 AND SINCE YOU DONT HAVE THAT.. I GUESS YOU WILL NEED TO DO THAT.

so I HAVE A OUT OF DATE REGISTRATION, SO I CARRY ALL MY DOCUMENTS WITH ME TO SHOW THAT I AN TRYING TO MAKE IT RIGHT.

I have been stopped pulled out my documents and THE OFFICER WHAT I HAD BEEN TOLD... AT WHAT TIME SHE WAS SHOCKED AND SUGGESTED TALKING TO SOMEONE ELSE... I HAVE TRIED AND I AM STONE WALLED AND I HAVE GIVEN UP!!!!

CAN SOMEONE GOVE ME ANY ADVICE?
Okiedago Send email
 
Apr 18, 2018

Double billing out of control/Class action and investigation warranted

NTTA has on numerous occassions double billed. Had a conversation with an "escalation specialist" for errant charges...

- January 2017, moved tolltag to new car with paper tag
- March 28, 2017, called to provide new tag... discussed paper tag and sought to pay any outstanding tolls. (apparently tolltag moving to new car is not acceptable and I have to get a new tolltag)
- July 2017, my wife called in to pay zipcash bill (not recieved at home), that has accumulated $35 in overdue fees (again, I have a tolltag account) and previously gave my paper tag number..
- Today, 4/17/2018. Called to inquire about calls I am getting from collections agency regarding paper tag. "escalation supervisor (Linda)" tells me that she sees I called in and paid outstanding tolls on my PAPER TAG on 3/17. However, apparently the dates associated with that paper tag were 3/8/2017 and 3/9/2017, and there were charges for 2/28, 3/1, 3/2, 3/3, and 3/5. I told her that I will pay the tolls but feel the overdue fees should be eliminated because this was obviously a communication issue within their system. As she stated, I called on 3/17/2017 to pay zipcash fees for the same paper tag. Yet, I can blindsided with additional fees before that date for the same paper tag. The paper tags are all associated with my phone number, address, name, car, etcc... but when I call in they can't "see" any information about the bill. Yet, they can take my payment.
- Same day, Linda calls back to say she cannot waive the fees because my wife was asked if it was regarding the car with the permanent plate #... (same car, paper and permanent plates involved).. my wife said yes (it is indeed involving that car). Since my wife said yes to the permanent plate #, even though Linda ALREADY STATED that the bill we paid was for the paper plate, she cannot waive the fee.

As many of you know, NTTA has limited tolltag holders viewability of past account activity to 60 days.. interestingly enough, since they have done this, the volume of bills that for some reason or another were not captured on the tolltag have notably increased. Occassionally there have been times where my tolltag for some reason or another was not connected (explain that to me).

I feel certain NTTA is purposefully stealing from their customers. Any attorney's out there, please start a class action.

This is absolutely not the first time things like this have happened. NTTA is either incompetent or purposefully double billing (stealing). This is not acceptable and someone must act to get this out of control organization under control.
manila968 Send email
 
Apr 14, 2018

Class Action Lawsuit

Who is in and willing to submit a Class Action Lawsuit against the blatant theiving, lieing practices of NTTA? Let the process begin. They will no longer charge me out the ass for ANYTHING except the tolls I owe.
bbmusa Send email
 
Mar 19, 2018

NTTA CRIMINAL Activity

I never received any 1st or 2nd notice for toll charges and simply received 3rd notice with all the late charges . I paid all but then I learned through internet and this site that there are so many people who never received 1st or 2nd Notice from NTTA. This is normal practice of NTTA to charge more money wrong way.
Any one have any suggestion to stop this criminal activity ?
bbmusa Send email
 
Mar 19, 2018

FALSE CHARGES by NTTA

I never received any 1st or 2nd notice for toll charges and simply received 3rd notice with all the late charges . I paid all but then I learned through internet and this site that there are so many people who never received 1st or 2nd Notice from NTTA. This is normal practice of NTTA to charge more money wrong way.
Any one have any suggestion to stop this criminal activity ?
bbmusa Send email
 
Mar 19, 2018

WRONG CHARGES

I just rec ZIP CASH BILL from NTTA as 3rd notice , with $35/- penalty and other charges. But they never send me previous two notices which they claimed they sent. I paid in full but then I looked on internet and there are so many people like me have same experience. I am not sure that what can be done against this fraud agency. If any one know please suggest.
manila968 Send email
 
Mar 17, 2018

Criminals....Allowed Rape of Citizens!

Something needs to be done, people, to prevent NTTA's ilegal price gouging of Texas citizens. For individuals barely surviving in this messed up economy, especially single women, delinquent toll bills cannot be paid even with attempt to negotiate with NTTA. The debt is spiked to a level much higher than is considered reasonable or fair, and is exploitative to an unethical extent. The NTTA will not even set a payment plan without first requiring payment of an exorbitent DOWN PAYMENT and then purchasing a toll tag.
I cannot pay in full the total delinquency amount OR the down payment with my minimum wage income and they will not negotiate a lower, affordable option for me.
It seems then that all the media hoopla of NTTA "working with citizens" to pay their delinquent toll debts is just a bunch of mumbo-jumbo. They have placed a block on my vehicle registration and yet will not provide me an affordable plan to repay, stating they cannot change the computer calculation. Another blatent lie because we all know THEY DO WHATEVER THEY CHOOSE TO DO and humans can and do override computer systems! Therefore, it will take four to five months for me to save the down payment amount of $302 at which time my registration will be extremely delinquent and who knows, my car may be impounded and I may be sitting in the jailhouse. I must continue to drive my car for work, etc. I find it extremely unnecessary and unfair to assume all persons are able to pay per one payment calculation when the unfortunate poor sector of society can't even touch their expectation which is glaringly meant for profiteering and should be considered illegal.
(See y'all in the jailhouse. I can't afford to pay this ripoff)
consumer123 Send email
 
Mar 4, 2018

NTTA Liars, fraudulent, ripoff

NTTA is just a rip-off! I received 3rd notice of nonpayment from NTTA, but never received 1st or 2nd notice. When contacted them, they told me one of the balance was from Jun 5th and Jun 21st 2016 and my account was already in collections! Original charges were for $ 4.47 and ended up paying $ 39.47. I also paid another balance of $16.41 which it was $6,41 orginal balance, from January 18, 2018. I argued about not getting any prior notifications, and tried to dispute the balance from 2016 due to I was out of the country since June 4, to July 29 2016. I requested videos of my car going thru the toll tags I was charged for. Of course they didn’t have any videos, but “pictures of my license plate”! They insisted I was responsible for the charges because my car drove thru the toll tag. How did that happened? My car was in my garage during the time I was out the country! In first place, I don’t understand why we have to pay extra money to use the roads if we already pay taxes for it! And I wonder, why they don’t have videos that prove my car went through those toll tags! I am very upset with this situation. Toll tags are now everywhere! There should get something done against this abusive organization.
consumer123 Send email
 
Mar 4, 2018

NTTA Liars! Rip-off, fraudulent!!!

NTTA is just a rip-off! I received 3rd notice of nonpayment from NTTA, but never received 1st or 2nd notice. When contacted them, they told me one of the balance was from Jun 5th and Jun 21st 2016 and my account was already in collections! Original charges were for $ 4.47 and ended up paying $ 39.47. I also paid another balance of $16.41 which it was $6,41 orginal balance, from January 18, 2018. I argued about not getting any prior notifications, and tried to dispute the balance from 2016 due to I was out of the country since June 4, to July 29 2016. I requested videos of my car going thru the toll tags I was charged for. Of course they didn’t have any videos, but “pictures of my license plate”! They insisted I was responsible for the charges because my car drove thru the toll tag. How did that happened? My car was in my garage during the time I was out the country! In first place, I don’t understand why we have to pay extra money to use the roads if we already pay taxes for it! And I wonder, why they don’t have videos that prove my car went through those toll tags! I am very upset with this situation. Toll tags are now everywhere! There should get something done against this abusive organization.
JeffC. Send email
 
Mar 3, 2018

Notice of assignment to a collection agency.

Today I received my first letter ever from the NTTA. In this letter it states that it is a notice of assignment to a collection agency. As a result of your failure to respond, late fees MAY have been added as permitted by law. IF you fail to pay the amount specified in this notice, NTTA may exercise habitual violator remedies against you, including vehicle registration block and or imposing a ban from NTTA toll roads. This could result in a fine up to $500 and vehicle impoundment.-----
I contacted NTTA customer service and was asked if my address was correct, which it was and has been the same for the last 3 years. When the vehicle was purchased it was registered to this address only. They claim they have mailed over 4 notices to me which I never received at all. Their response was, well since we never had any of them returned for incorrect address to us we know you have them. I even called my post office to see if they had collected any returned mail from my address. (NO). I WAS THEN TOLD I AM JUST STUCK WITH IT AND THERES NOTHING I CAN DO BUT PAY.-----

THIS IS A COMPLETE SCAM WHERE THEY USE LEGAL LOOPHOLES TO FRAUDULENTLY WAIT TO SEND OUT ANY NOTICE AT ALL UNTILL SUCH TIME AS THEY CAN COLLECT LATE FEES. TEXAS LAW NEEDS TO HAVE THESE THEIVES BE REQUIRED TO SEND ANY NOTICE BY REGISTERED MAIL ONLY WHERE THE PERSON ACTUALLY HAS TO SIGN FOR THE NOTICE WHEN RECIEVED, AND THIS WOULD PUT AN END TO IT.-----

I checked around on the internet about like complaints and was blown away at the staggering numbers that had, and wonder how they can get away with this after so many citizens have reported them...
bholloway2275 Send email
 
Mar 2, 2018

Unethical Tolls

My sample of dealings with NTTA. Very Unethical.


You can say that you can track it, but it was not delivered. I know what mail I get and don't get, and letters in the mail aren't scanned by the postman, so you can make up, whatever you want. Why would I need to get a TollTag account when I don't live in Texas? Even to suggest that is ignorant. Texas and NTTA have quite the racket going, bilking thousands of people out of "administrative fees", believe me, I will be reporting NTTA to Attorney General and BBB, but I am sure they already have info about your shady practices.

If I can be further ripped off, please let me know.

Bill
Oklahoma Driver and Scam Victim.

On Monday, February 26, 2018, 12:21:34 PM CST, Customer Service (Production) <customerservice@ntta.org> wrote:


Dear Mr. #######,

Thank you for contacting NTTA. Customer Service is able to track all violations invoices sent to our customers through the postal tracking software. This system allows NTTA to verify the delivery date and address for all invoices. Your invoices were delivered to:

My Address
#######

We are unable to waive the $35.00 administrative fee for non-TollTag customers. If you open a TollTag account a Customer Service Representative will be able to waive the $35.00 administrative fee as long as the invoice is resolved by 03/16/2018.

To open a TollTag account and have the $35.00 administrative fee waived, please contact our Customer Service Center at 972-818-6882 (Monday - Friday, 8:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.; Saturday, 9:00 a.m. - 5:30 p.m).

If we can be of further assistance, please let us know.

Laura

NTTA Customer Service Center
va_traveler Send email
 
Feb 27, 2018

Wow! It Is Pretty Obvious

It is pretty obvious from reading all these complaints that there is something very, very wrong with the tollway system in Texas. Even if 10 percent of the complaints here are bogus, you know the remaining complaints represent only those who are willing to seek out this complaint board and write their complaint out, which likely represent only a small percentage of the people who are actually being ripped off by the NTTA. The NTTA is a Nazi organization. It is sickening to see this, in Texas, of all places... a state that historically has represented the freedom and independence promised in our Bill of Rights. Wake up, Texas! Get this Nazi Gestapo organization out of Texas.
va_traveler Send email
 
Feb 27, 2018

Dishonest, Decietful Thugs

I am an out-of-state traveler who drove through Dallas on my way to Grapevine. I NEVER saw a sign that warned me that I was approaching a tollway. Apparently, there are lanes going through Dallas that are toll lanes and lanes that aren't. I had no idea where I was supposed to be to avoid the toll. The signage is inadequate at best, and seems purposely deceptive with little way for an out-of-state traveler to who is unfamiliar with the route to avoid the toll. To top it off, I wasn't billed until over a year after I drove through Dallas! I thought the letter was some kind of scam. The whole ### thing is a scam, in my opinion. ### the NTTA, and ### Texas for allowing this company to run the state highways.
MEC2DFW Send email
 
Feb 25, 2018

NTTA unconscionable

Long and short - they've been sending invoices to the wrong address, so when my daughter registered her car at my home address, we received a third notice - which of course, to us, is our first notice.
The best part? For $9.90 in tolls, they are wanting *$114.90* - for tolls billed to an address she does not reside at. We called the same day we received the invoice.
Name another transaction where you can owe someone rightly less than $10 that they feel entitled to a 1000% surcharge on because they can't receive payment due to billing issues. Any other company would be happy to just collect what is due, and update your information. But not the state - everyone involved with the NTTA should be embarrassed to be associated with this organized robbery - and yes, it's beyond theft, as they are attempting to collect a usurious amount of money combined with threat of your car registration and ability to function in a modern society. For less than 10 dollars in tolls!
chicadedios Send email
 
Feb 14, 2018

Fraudulent Charges

Welcome to Texas, the land of ridiculous toll tag charges...I literally drive the toll maybe 3x per week for 30 mins and I have paid hundreds of dollars in toll tag charges that don't show in my account. Absolutely ridiculous. This company needs to be sued.
katerinar80 Send email
 
Feb 3, 2018

FALSE CHARGES

Never recieved any statement at all,then recieve a bill for $20 in late fees!!!!for $11 in tolls,we get a bill for $31 and the explantion..."It says here it was mailed to you".What a welcome to Texas.Getting robbed by that NTTA! this is horrendous!!
F_The_NTTA Send email
 
Jan 31, 2018

NTTA Usury Late Fees

These late fees are absolutely ridiculous. I refuse to take the toll road that charges $1.00 per mile and will save me about 10 seconds per mile. 10 SECONDS! I have done the math. You pay to go 75 for 4.5 miles then you are dumped into a log jammed merge where all that time is given back.

LATE FEES! This is not American, this is how robber barons made their money, this is how Wall Street screws the average man. These people are vultures and their product is not good, but in many places it is the only option.

Can these people be replaced? Maybe with third world dictators who would be kinder! SOB's every one of them. I hope your children are slightly below average you ding dongs!
Pearl33 Send email
 
Jan 18, 2018

NTTA arbitrerily charging!!!!!!!!!

I am so pissed at this! Although i think we shouldn’t pay to use the roads made with our money, i can do it anyway but i also have other expenses smh!!!!
I cant believe that is only jan 19 and i’ve paid the NTTA $200 for 2 cars just this month! and we travel same ways every f$&@k!
NTTA IS A MAFIA!! Mexican style! And yes i’ve also lived in Mexico I know what im talking abt!
I hope they get dealt with soon!!
Pearl33 Send email
 
Jan 18, 2018

Why is the NTTA arbitrarily charging

I am sonpissed at this! Although i think we shouldn’t pay to ise the roads made with our money, i can do it anyway but i also have other expenses smh!!!!
I cant believe that is only jan 19 and i’ve paid th NTTA $200 for 2 cars and we travel same ways every f$&@fay!
NTTA IS A MAFIA!! Mexican style! And yes i’ve also lived in Mexico!
Treva Send email
 
Jan 12, 2018

NTTA - NEVER received a first invoice

Time and time again I have received 3rd notices from the NTTA. I have occasionally received a 2nd notice. But NEVER, I repeat NEVER have I received a 1st notice. I have been to the Plano NTTA office in person and asked to speak to a manager or supervisor about this. I was told that there were no managers or supervisors located in that building. After that encounter (and not paying because the issues with these charges had not been resolved) the NTTA put a block on re-registering my vehicle.

My husband has had the same experience with them. He now has a warrant out for his arrest for Failure to Pay Toll.

We do not mind paying for the initial tolls. If the 1st bill had been sent to us, we would have gladly paid it. But to be continuously screwed over by being charged "First Notice Administrative Fees" and "Second Notice Administrative Fees" AND NEVER SENDING THE FIRST BILL, is fraudulent practices and THEFT. I agree with a previous complaint that says this is immoral, unethical and unacceptable.

How can common theft of so many people still be legal? Is there a lawyer out there who knows how to stop this?

Thank you,
Treva
Heath Rutledge Send email
 
Jan 9, 2018

Liars

I have continued to read about how the first letter or bill received has one or more late fees on them. I have also been a victim of the fraudulent practice. I have also been billed multiple times for the same toll. over a period of about six months i was billed three times for a trip to Austin that I made. My call were not returned and my complaints go unanswered as per normal operations of this tyrannical organization. It absolutely disgust me to know that in my country this type of extortion is allowed.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Choice Home Warranty - Choice Home Warranty
    DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THIS COMPANY--THEY TOOK MONEY FROM...
    DiGi - Poor digi line service in cheng melaka
    In cheng area especially cheng perdana melaka why the digi...
    POS LAJU - Barang tak sampai
    Hi, my parcel EN939465353MY hasn't arrived yet...
    Coca cola company uk - Coco Cola mobile draw uk
    Coka cola i have receive your message to my mo. no....
    COCA COLA MOBILE DRAW UK - Coco Cola mobile draw uk
    Coka cola i have receive your sms to my mobile no....
    CSX - length of train
    How are they getting away with having trains in excess of...
    Parcel hub shah alam - Parcel Sangkut Kat Parcel Hub
    Dah Seminggu Parcel Customer Stuck Kat Parcel Hub. Pos...
    Kfc setia alam - Poor service
    The service is very bad..... And very slow Fuck service. ...
    Costco/Stuart Lee Rebates - Did not receive rebate
    I purchased my iPhone 1/14/2018 and sent in my perfectly...
    POS MALAYSIA - Barang Belum Sampai
    Hi, my parcel EP514089528MY hasn't arrived since...

    Share this site with others

         
          

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Choice Home Warranty - Choice Home Warranty
    DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THIS COMPANY--THEY TOOK MONEY FROM...
    DiGi - Poor digi line service in cheng melaka
    In cheng area especially cheng perdana melaka why the digi...
    POS LAJU - Barang tak sampai
    Hi, my parcel EN939465353MY hasn't arrived yet...
    Coca cola company uk - Coco Cola mobile draw uk
    Coka cola i have receive your message to my mo. no....
    COCA COLA MOBILE DRAW UK - Coco Cola mobile draw uk
    Coka cola i have receive your sms to my mobile no....
    CSX - length of train
    How are they getting away with having trains in excess of...
    Parcel hub shah alam - Parcel Sangkut Kat Parcel Hub
    Dah Seminggu Parcel Customer Stuck Kat Parcel Hub. Pos...
    Kfc setia alam - Poor service
    The service is very bad..... And very slow Fuck service. ...
    Costco/Stuart Lee Rebates - Did not receive rebate
    I purchased my iPhone 1/14/2018 and sent in my perfectly...
    POS MALAYSIA - Barang Belum Sampai
    Hi, my parcel EP514089528MY hasn't arrived since...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username