Submit a Complaint

NTTA

United States,
Texas

Consumer complaints and reviews about NTTA

Karmen Pettit-Tennyson Send email
 
Feb 25, 2020

Fraudulent Billing

The WORST bunch of incompetent employees I’ve ever dealt with! How do you bill customers who were effected by the October tornado then argue about the amount on the bill! (My bill says $50.73, but their system says $197) then tell ME you’re privately owned, so! you’re still regulated by TXDOT! Check my area code, I may live in Dallas but that’s Austin and I reported you
aperez69 Send email
 
Nov 8, 2019

PRICE GOUGING

I am very surprised with the cash gouging y'all OVER charge people ridiculously my toll initialing was 12.00 and since I forgot to pay this invoice all of a sudden now my toll went up to $62.63 I feel I am being ROBBED!!!!!!!!!!! I will not ever use this damn tolls again first of all you are stuck in traffic way worse than not taking this tolls...…..SOMEONE needs to stop these fees and I am going to get an attorney I FEEL LIKE THE TOLLS STOLE FROM ME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!



ANNETTE M PEREZ
toll acct #805054108
SusanLeigh Send email
 
Oct 25, 2019

Registration Hold

I have unpaid tolls dating back years. I knew this. I paid the fees and fines that went to a collection agency...ok.
I got a divorce, my mother passed away and then my son committed suicide. I had already started the process for disability and have been receiving 1400.00 a month to live on and to try to get my life back together. I tried a couple of times to set up a payment plan before the remainder went to collections. But during the time I was waiting on my disability I was not working and other people were helping me to just survive and live. Now, I have a hold on my registration. I called them and I have 1,500 to pay in total. They are willing to do a payment plan of 450. Down and 125. Per month. How can I pay that when, even receiving disability, i barely survive and that is with going to the food bank and shopping at Goodwill. I have a sea of medical Bill's as well and have several counseling and psychiatry appointments and medicine that i have to pay for monthly in trying to not kill myself based on my son not being here. He was 23 years old when he did that and it will be 3 years, this December 12 of 2019. I understand I owe but life isn't always pretty for people. I asked if I could file indigent paperwork and they said no. I was able to do that regarding my drivers license. I have been able to get a court appointed attorney for some criminal charges that I incurred after my son died as I drank heavily and was not nice to people. I am on probation and I am able to do extra community service to pay for my fines.
How can a judge rule that it is constitutional to impose these toll fee fines and other added fines when you look at all the resources our government gives to people such as myself?
People know now that they need to pay before these heavy consequences of not being able to register your car and drive legal and not being able to work something fair out with NTTA. Because of some of my toll fees going to a collection agency I figured the rest of the tolls would go as well. I had no clue that it would get to this or maybe I would have tried a little harder to pay. I don't know how but I am sure my relatives would have been more than happy to pay my original toll tag fees if they would have known this, too. My dad is on social security and is 80 years old now so he can't help me either.
I need my car to go to doctor appointments. I am in a rural town and there is no other option of transportation.
I don't know what I am going to do. I have things up for sale...an old phone, my TV, my wedding dress. Hopefully I will sell them and get enough money for the down payment.
Thank you for reading this.
[email protected] Send email
 
Sep 23, 2019

NTTA will not accept payment and they continue to add charges. They returned my check twice.

I disputed a toll charge in writing, they responded and the very day they sent the letter I paid the toll in the form of a check because I couldn't access it on line due to temporary tag on the car. I sent the check with a copy of the bill and their response. They retired the check and said they could apply because they need a valid license plate number. I sent the check back a second time will a letter showing the original statement with the temporary # , and a copy of the new license number. Now they are billing late charges because they can't apply the payment. I'm done with this! Three letters, mailed the check twice! Frustrated and I don't owe late charges because they can't figure it out.
Ihatentta Send email
 
Sep 22, 2019

Ntta is a scam

Yes i agree with evrybody here. This shit is a scam. I use the ntta tollmate app. It shows my balance will go like1 or 2 bucks in the negative.i just be busy workingand think i will play it later. I put 20 everytime itsnegative and then by the next day its negative again and no 20. When i first put the 20 it shows my balance good. It will have the amount minjs the negative amount. I check it after i hit toll same day. It shows the amount missing. Then next day. Negative
Genesis2019 Send email
 
Aug 6, 2019

I didn't receive any Bill from them

Hello my name is Deborah Taylor and I don't see how y'all charging me for a late Bill that I didn't receive in the mail last month and the customer service lady told me that they sent it to my address and going to have the nerve to tell me that I need to check with the post office like I know that Y'ALL FAKE people mail me something to my y'all workers probably didn't do y'all job or the post office it's not my fault that y'all people can't do y'all job
tk1winget Send email
 
Jun 12, 2019

ticket for unpaid tolls

I got a citation in the mail for the unpaid toll fee. So I called NTTA and they said I have 18 toll tag fees that are going to be sent as citations. Which is ridiculous since these fees are from 2016 and 2017 and they have also been turned over to collections. I never received a bill for the first fees then all of a sudden I get a pink slip and a citation. I have paid the toll for the citation and now I have to fix it with the court which a $319 fine. My total overdue tag fees are over $1000, I tried to work out a payment plan but they won't help me. I have until 6/27 to pay all the fees or each of 18 fees will be turned into citations. This is a ripoff. I'm being screwed royally.
[email protected] Send email
 
Apr 11, 2019

bogus toll charges

on the 5th. of march i accidentally got on the george bush tollway to go to a doctor's apppointment. i paid that bill and it was cashed on the 18th. of march.THEN, i just received ANOTHER bill that stated i was on the george bush tollway AGAIN two days later. that's bull!! i never intended to get on the george bush tollway in the first place. why would i get back on it??? and two days later. my doctor's appointment was only one day.
something needs to be done about this. i am signing the class action as we speak.
any other help would be greatly appreciated.

an indigent senior citizen who always pays her "legal" bills'
susan difronzo
Gimmebackmybullets Send email
 
Mar 20, 2019

Take back OUR roads

Our thorough fairs are not a product we go to the store and buy. We need them to move quickly back and forth from work. NTTA wants all the roads.
The politicians want to avoid the issue of road up keep and construction by hiring a private enterprise to come in and handle all that for their budget. This gives a private company authority to operate like a government agency except that in this case there is no oversight from any gov department. There is no accountability.the can and do what ever they want to. The end run is the roads cost the tax payer more this way than if we were using tax dollars like we used to. There should be no such thing as quasi government agencies.

Since the toll was taken over by some company from Spain there has been no increased quality of the roads but the price has gone up about 8 fold and if you are late on your $4.00 fee you can pay up to $40 in fees on it. Low income people who are lucky to find jobs jobs and drive over long distances in the D/FW metroplex to get there have to pay about an extra $1000 a year and they dont make much money. This is an assault to poor minorities and poor disadvantaged people by the Good Ol' Boys at the NTTA. We want the tolls reduced 40 % permanently. This is the truest from of highway robbery if ever there was. Let's take back our roads ! They will be hearing from us. B WOODY
Gimmebackmybullets Send email
 
Mar 20, 2019

Stolen Roads

Our thorough fairs are not a product we go to the store and buy. We need them to move quickly back and forth from work. NTTA wants all the roads.
The politicians want to avoid the issue of road up keep and construction by hiring a private enterprise to come in and handle all that for their budget. This gives a private company authority to operate like a government agency except that in this case there is no oversight from any gov department. There is no accountability.the can and do what ever they want to. The end run is the roads cost the tax payer more this way than if we were using tax dollars like we used to. There should be no such thing as quasi government agencies.

Since the toll was taken over by some company from Spain there has been no increased quality of the roads but the price has gone up about 8 fold and if you are late on your $4.00 fee you can pay up to $40 in fees on it. Low income people who are lucky to find jobs jobs and drive over long distances in the D/FW metroplex to get there have to pay about an extra $1000 a year and they dont make much money. This is an assault to poor minorities and poor disadvantaged people by the Good Ol' Boys at the NTTA. We want the tolls reduced 40 % permanently. This is the truest from of highway robbery if ever there was. Let's take back our roads ! They will be hearing from us. MICHAEL BRUCE WOODY
JamesEbola Send email
 
Jan 29, 2019

Deception

I was driving from Lewisville on 121 business going north towards Plano. Eventually I came to a stop sign at which point I had two choices, go on Sam Rayburn toll road or turn right to 121 business south. In other words, I was forced on Sam Rayburn. Although I took immediate exit off of it, I was still billed for using it. It’s not the money part that bothers me, it’s the entrapment and deception. I called NTTA which was a waste of time.
adh04d Send email
 
Jan 29, 2019

Ridiculous Administrative Fees

I contacted NTTA to inform them in late December 2018 that I needed a new toll tag because I had to replace my windshield. I was told no worries. Just call us so that we can adjust your bill as soon as you get in the mail. I received my invoice 01/28/19 and the billing period ended on 01/23/19. I am charged an additional $140 in administrative fees because they are saying that this is the 3rd notice of non payment. How is this even possible if the billing period even ended on 01/23? This is literally highway robbery. And if I don't pay it will go to collections as well as block my ability to register my vehicle. Keep in mind this is the first ever invoice I have received in 2 years, and they are continuously hiking up the prices. I would have never known about any other additional fees, had I not gone online to update my information. How can we dispute this?
Shanen Parke Paschal Send email
 
Jan 6, 2019

Toll Bill for Vehicle that isn't ours

North Texas Toll Authority (NTTA) is screwing us big time.

We have called multiple times regarding this issue and have now been sent to collections regarding a toll fee that is not ours. We live in California and have never been to Texas, yet we have received 2 different toll violations for a vehicle that is obviously not registered to us.

The picture of the vehicle on the paperwork sent is of a Ford Pickup truck with a white license plate with dark stamping. We do not have a pickup truck, nor have we ever had a pickup truck.

My husband's vehicle is a Ford SUV with a Black license plate and yellow stamping. We have called and have tried to explain their error and have been told it has been taken care of. Of course, this was never done.

Now it's been sent to collections and we get to jump through hoops because of their incompetence. How is this even legal????
ddtnmphs Send email
 
Nov 9, 2018

Out of State

I received a notice that my car had apparently went through a toll in Texas from the NTTA back in February 2017. Apparently there is supposed to be a picture in the top left corner of the notice showing me blowing through a toll. However, the picture is pitch black. I haven't been in Texas for two years and my car has never been in Texas. I'm not sure how they got my TN tag number. I have ignored the ever increasing bills. But now, they have turned it over to a collection agency. I want to know what evidence do they have to harass me like this. Also, where is my due process, Texas?
sue ntta Send email
 
Oct 31, 2018

Readers, sign the petition

Go to this link and sign the petition: DO IT NOW. Enough is enough!

https://www.change.org/p/texans-demand-toll-road-reform-by-legislation-or-litigation-sign-the-petition
sue ntta Send email
 
Oct 31, 2018

All together now, "CLASS ACTION"

Hey Comrades, do you agree it's high time we quit complaining and took action? If so, get on board: [email protected]
sue ntta Send email
 
Oct 31, 2018

All together now, "CLASS ACTION"

Hey Comrades, do you agree it's high time we quit complaining and did something about this. Enough is enough. I'll do the leg work, if you all get behind me. [email protected]
BVaughn Send email
 
Oct 27, 2018

NTTA

I just received a "statement" from NTTA. $48 is now over $900. They are threatening tow if caught in Toll lanes and restricting vehicle registration. This is literally highway robbery. An they keep building more toll road rather than fixing congested areas with more free lanes.
Wparker Send email
 
Oct 4, 2018

Ridiculous Charges

We received a bill dated 9/18/18, for OVER $1000.00! When we called to inquire as to why it was so outrageous, they told us that told us that the toll tag that we have in our car has been inactive for 2 years! When we ask why we hadn’t received notification prior to now, 9/18/18, we were told that THE SYSTEM PROCESS SLOW!! YOU GOTTA TO BE JOKING!

We are still waiting on someone to call with a possibl resolution to this RIDICULOUS problem.
AlexB Send email
 
Oct 4, 2018

NTTA Lies

There needs to be a way to track if they really send out these letters. Like a certified mail receipt or something. I been living at the same place since 2014. Every time I get a letter from them its the notice of nonpayment. Every time I call and talk to them they say maybe the mail man didn't put it in the right box. So my question is, how is it that I always get the letter of nonpayment but never the first letter you claim you sent? Something doesn't add up.
jamiesonk Send email
 
Sep 28, 2018

NTTA

WHY DO WE PAY $2.00 AT THE ZIPCASH JUST TO BE CHARGED $40? I THINK WE NEED TO TAKE THIS FURTHER AND HAVE NBC 5 NEWS INVESTIGATE. WE NEED TO PUT NTTA OUT THERE AND ON BLAST!

I GOT A PINK SLIP WITH A BILL AND A PICTURE OF MY LICENSE #...BUT WONDER - WITH ALL THESE STOLEN LICENSE PLATES AND DUPLICATES MADE, HOW DOI I KNOW THEY GOT IT OFF MY CAR? I WANT TO SEE THE FULL PHOTO.

HOW DO WE KNOW NTTA IS NOT RANDOMLY BILLING EVERYONE IN THERE DATABASE (SINCE THEY HAVE THE DL#'S) O BELIEVE THEY ARE ROBBING EVERY ONE REGARDLESS IF YOU HAVE ATOLL TAG OR NOT!
Yjones271 Send email
 
Sep 25, 2018

Late billing to increase cost

I have a tolltag, but I do use zipcash. The last time I had a card on file, they would debit me anytime they felt like it. Often times messing up the way I pay my other bills. I get a bill today for about $400. When I called customer service, she told me that they couldn't bill me until I the DMV updated my new address. What kind of crap is that?!? My mail has always been transferred and they have transferred mail to me before, so why is it that they wait until now to send me a bill for over $400?!? When I can't say whether I use the toll or not on those days. Also, said that they cannot put it on a payment plan. We are being RIPPED-OFF and CHEATED and I think it's time for ppl to sue.
Yjones271 Send email
 
Sep 25, 2018

Just being billed for April

I have a tolltag, but I do use zipcash. The last time I had a card on file, they would debit me anytime they felt like it. Often times messing up the way I pay my other bills. I get a bill today for about $400. When I called customer service, she told me that they couldn't bill me until I the DMV updated my new address. What kind of crap is that?!? My mail has always been transferred and they have transferred mail to me before, so why is it that they wait until now to send me a bill for over $400?!? When I can't say whether I use the toll or not on those days. Also, said that they cannot put it on a payment plan. We are being RIPPED-OFF and CHEATED and I think it's time for ppl to sue.
DABogard Send email
 
Sep 8, 2018

NTTA Fees

I have called numerous times to pay off every single one of my tolls...total of $533. They refuse to accept payment in full because I also "must" pay over $1000 in additional NTTA fees. I cannot believe that I am calling to pay off something and they refuse to let me pay it. The only option they are giving me is to make a payment arrangement for the $1513 they are trying to rob me of. I think an attorney would be cheaper than this. I even quoted the Texas Transportation Code that states "the department may impose ONE administrative fee that covers multiple events of non-payment." So they should be willing and able (by law) to accept one $35 fee for all 28 invoices on my account, instead of $35 times 28. #greedyNTTA
Perryroof1 Send email
 
Sep 7, 2018

Proof

Need proof for outstanding Ntta Invoices for each transaction

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints


    Recently Updated Complaints


         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username