Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

NTTA

United States,
Texas

Consumer complaints and reviews about NTTA

latorys Send email
 
Aug 16, 2017

TOLL is a Scam

I've never been so pissed. Everytime I call the Toll customer service I'm told different information. I pay every week since they mess up my credit card once before. Then I look up Im past due and theres no way to know. I sick of calling here weekly and to get stuck in construction or traffic for over an hour every damn day. I don't even believe we should have to pay for a freeway in the first place. This crap is a scam. The lady tells me I have to call everyday to get my damn zip cash paid for. What the hell!!!!
Bob@hotmail.com Send email
 
Aug 12, 2017

Unethical billing practices

Very rare does myself or anybody that I know receive an original bill from NTTA. But somehow I always seem to get second or third notices due with an additional $10-$45 tacked on. But today they've added another twist to it I got a third notice when I never received the first two and they're claiming a service date that my truck wasn't even in the state. I sure hope that someone would have the resources to initiate a class-action lawsuit against these quacks!
s2robins Send email
 
Jul 29, 2017

unethical charges

I, like so many other people on this complaint board, have had North Texas Toll Association charge me an exorbitant amount of late fees by claiming they mailed me an invoice twice. I was in Dallas in April and had a whopping $3.38 toll. I NEVER received any correspondence at all regarding the toll. But yesterday, I opened my mail and saw I had been charged $35 of late fees and turned over to a collection agency. When I tried to talk with NTTA they refused to listen and all she could say was we show in our records that we mailed you invoices twice. Really? Then why was yesterday the only invoice I received. I guess NTTA can't make money sending invoices for only $3.38 so they mark in their systems that they mailed the charge, but then wait until the fees are 950% of the toll and then finally mail them. This a huge scam and a very black mark on NTTA's name. It needs to be investigated and I'm sure there will be a huge class action lawsuit.
AJB Send email
 
Jul 25, 2017

Extra unwarranted fees NTTA

Recieved my bill, for $4.26, mailed it off immediately and sent a check for $25.00. Just so I would not get hassled in the future in case I unwillingly get forced on a toll road as in this case. Recieved another bill today for non payment with a 10.00 fee tacked on. I immediatey call the bank & yes the check had cleared the week before. Contacted NTTA. Was told that they did recieve payment a 'day late". They applied 14.26 of my 25.00 to my 4.26 bill, for payment & ' late charges'. Cannot prove when they recieved the payment, but I don't live in Alaska. I mailed it on the 7th of July. It was due on the 13th. I think they did this to prove a point. Got absolutely nowhere with the Customer Service rep, asked for a supervisor was placed on hold, only to be told there was not one available, and that one could call me back in the next 24 to 48 hours. Yeah right undoubtedly when Im at work if ever. I dont mind paying late fees if I was late, but please dont try to PUNK me with a play on dates. I work hard for my money, try to do the right thing & get screwed. You know you got my money on time. 14.26 on a toll rd. That I never intended to be on.
alicialteach Send email
 
Jun 27, 2017

NTTA BILL nener received

I just received a bill for an extra $35. charge in late fees on a $2.72 toll. They are claiming that I did not pay a bill
that was sent to my email. A manager by the name of David said that it may have gone to my SPAM account.
I never received it in any account. I have always paid these toll charges. I would have certainly paid a $2.72 charge, if I
would have received it. I have sent emails and spoken with multiple managers on the phone. Not a single budge to waive the ridiculous charges.
fredperidore Send email
 
Jun 16, 2017

What is this bill for?

I just received my first "bill", just like everyone else's, it was a late notice. This states i was in Texas between April 13, 2017 to May 12, 2017. They claim i went through FOUR tolls in that time. That is really hard to do when i was in Mexico for 5 days, and the entire month period my car was in ILLINOIS (which is where i live) This is a completely fraudulent bill, and i will be contacting the proper authorities. This is a complete SCAM. I think with all of these complaints, there would be a law firm ready to make a class action lawsuit. I know i will be looking for one...after contacting the BBB
karizma512 Send email
 
Jun 16, 2017

Received past due invoice, never received initial bill

I don't recall going on a toll road, but am willing to accept that I may have missed a sign. However, I never received an initial invoice before I was sent a bill with a late fee. I emailed right away and received a response indicating:

"Customer Service is able to track all invoices sent to our customers through the postal tracking software. This system allows NTTA to verify the delivery date and address for all invoices. The postal tracking software confirms that the invoices were mailed out successfully and they did not come back as “returned to sender” or “bad address”."

I called to request the output proof of this "postal tracking software" and they refused to provide anything. Instead they threatened me with a variety of consequences and said the only way to waive the fee is if I opened an account.

After looking at the multiple complaints of others, I can see this is a SUPER easy way to scam people and keep collecting their $10 minimum fee from each non-tag driver. I opened the account to put the issue to bed (especially after looking at what they've done to people that don't pay) but I find it baffling that the NTTA can continue to run this racket unchecked.
joklyjr Send email
 
Jun 14, 2017

The State need to take over

I just want to know why we have so many toll roads on the north side of Dallas? Does it have to be for political gain? There is no reason to have tolls here, but only for counties and city officials to benefit from the profits they make. I have only lived here for 5 years. I was laid off for 2 years and found a temporary job in Plano for half my salary to support my family. For the last 15 years. I have always made decent money to live with no issues. But the Toll roads make it difficult to survive just to get around without having to pay heavy tolls.. Now everyone says, if you don't want to pay tolls just avoid them..HA HA. Its crazy that are taxes don't just pay for these roads. We need to let these people in Austin know we are all getting screwed.. You are better off living in a high taxed state that has no tolls than here.. Tolls get expensive. depending where your driving from and to your destination . So i just wanted to vent. I'm really not happy with these toll roads. Its all a money making machine..
Panama Send email
 
Jun 10, 2017

NTTA SCAM

Ntta of Texas is a SCAM. I received an email today 6/9/2017 saying this is your first notice of none payment! The amount was $15.35 which $5.35 was de charge and $10.00 late fee. I called them and ask them what was this bill about the license plate showing there was my old car that I have not driven since last summer 2016.
And why I am paying late fees if I have never got a notification or bill..She told me they sent me an email in May and this one was the second one ,but that's also not true, I have never got anything till now..So I asked when was the date of the charge she said September 2016. I told her and now 9 month later I am getting a bill? That doesn't make any sense .She said the only way I can take the late fees is if you make an account of $20.00 And the remaining balance will take care of future charges..WTH is that? Is this a government entity or Scam..I will file a complaint with BBB as well !
Jules5683 Send email
 
Jun 8, 2017

NTTA Toll Bill? I have never been in Texas!

NTTA has to be a scam, I have never been to Texas and I am being charged a toll fee. The picture of the license plate is not mine, however, within the bill where it says, "Amount Due" they input my license plate number. This is messed up! I don't even know what to do at this point. It seems like a huge scam, I can not believe a so-called professional business collecting tolls for the state of Texas would be so incompetent as to Bill someone who has never visited Texas!
santukv Send email
 
May 30, 2017

Mailing statements to wrong Address

HI, I recently received my NTTA toll for my usage in the month of April (~$10) to my address. In that statement I also found some other old statements which added up to ~$116. I created online account and paid the bill for ~$127 including the current and old statements. I later checked my old statements online and found that all those statements were mailed to my old address where I stayed 4 years ago. I have moved to 2 different apartments since then and the DMV always has my current address and email. I see that all those statements had been mailed to my old address even in 2016 and they never put effort to get my new address. Only the new mail that I received few days ago for my recent toll usage had my current address and hence I got it and paid all the fine. ~$116 that I paid had only ~$12 in toll usage and the rest is just the fine for not paying it. If I had not received my toll statement neither by mail or by email how can I pay the toll?.. Whenever I use the toll I check online for any charges based on my license plate number. I never could find the NTTA statement online based on my license plate. This was ridiculous fine for not receiving the statements and mailing all the statements to old address even during 2016. I register my vehicle every year and I never got any notice or a memo from them for not paying the toll. I called customer care and they too cannot do anything except for accepting the full payments. Looks like this complaint box too is a junk box and will never be noticed. How will NTTA get back to me address this issue or over payments?. this just a junk box and I never get any solution. If NTTA can refund me the extra fee ~$100 that I paid. My account number is 776319565, please do the refund. Please contact me through email if required. FYI, I am not a resident of Dallas, but I had visited Dallas.
GRAYS Send email
 
May 28, 2017

NTTA- Double billing my account each month

Every month, NTTA charges my credit card twice. The charges are within a day or two of each other, but my NTTA account shows that I have only been charged once. EVERY month I have to call my credit card company and dispute the charges. They say each time that their system shows NTTA submitting both charges. (occasionally the charges are twice in one day). Contacting NTTA does no good- you either can't get anyone on the line, or they send you an email saying that they will follow up (which they never actually do).
Would love to know how to get this to stop.
GRAYS Send email
 
May 28, 2017

Double billing my account each month

Every month, NTTA charges my credit card twice. The charges are within a day or two of each other, but my NTTA account shows that I have only been charged once. EVERY month I have to call my credit card company and dispute the charges. They say each time that their system shows NTTA submitting both charges. (occasionally the charges are twice in one day). Contacting NTTA does no good- you either can't get anyone on the line, or they send you an email saying that they will follow up (which they never actually do).
Would love to know how to get this to stop.
ojanel Send email
 
May 23, 2017

Ridiculous

This is the biggest rip off in the state of Texas. No indication that you are on a toll road. No notice of the cost until the third one.. Threatened legal actions. Jacked up late fees. And the fact=t that its this many complaints on this board and NOTHING is being done about it. Not to mention the packaging that the statement comes in looks like JUNK MAIL. Ridiculous. The company and state should be real PROUD of their work.
Tim Lackey Send email
 
May 23, 2017

Overpricing

I called the NTTA and told them I would pay call my toll fees if they would take the administration fees off. I was told there was no way they could do that so asked if I could get a reduced fee for my tolls if I paid in a lump sum I was told I could not . I asked to speak with a supervisor her name was CalaKa employee number 9717 . I asked the same question she told me there was no way they could reduce any of the fees or release the block on my registration until I had paid them either in full or set up a payment arrangement. What do poor folks do when they can't afford this administrative fee which is 10 times as much as the toll fees?
NTTA_heist Send email
 
May 19, 2017

From $8 to $48 WTF

It should be illegal for the NTTA to charge so much in fees. I never signed any contract or agreement agreeing to such horrendous fees. I drove 5 miles on the LBJ toll road to get to a christmas party this past December, and was nearly ran off the road by people racing. They must have been going 100mph when they passed me and my daughter, and for this reason, I already will never get on the toll road again. My address on my license is old, it is my parents address, and i just recently got a stack of mail from them. While going through it, i get one bill for $8. Then another for $18, and following that a $48 bill that is in collections. Who do they think they are to charge so much in late fees. I know I'm 5 months late, but thats absolutely ridiculous. What gets me most is the mere fact i never signed a contract or agreed to anything. I am not sure what to even do now.
tams666 Send email
 
May 16, 2017

Fraudulent Collection Practices

I've only ever received the pink letters from NTTA with an invoice fee of $10-50 a page!! This has got to be illegal, you can't charge someone an outrageous amount of money for an invoice. So I only pay the correct ant no invoice fees & I call them first to go over never receiving any kind of 1st bill-well of course I'm called a liar & then I'm hung up on!! I recently received a letter with a credit-saying I've over paid toll charges & I have this credit-next day I get another bill for tolls & invoice fees of $600, really!! Don't try to call them if you block your number-it will not go thru-they demand an email add & they tell you they have your phone number & there's nothing you can do. I was threatened with not being able to register my vehicle every year if I don't pay 100's of fake invoice charges. I've contacted my local congressman, this has to be illegal!!! It's not right to be forced to drive on the toll roads & have no other option to get to an appointment. The 121 toll roads are an absolute nightmare, beats you to death in your vehicle, huge potholes but by god you better pay then to drive on these horrendous roads!! What about the damage down to my front end, tires & wheels??
ericf Send email
 
May 16, 2017

NTTA North Texas Tollway Authority

I have the "discount, money saving toll tag" and there is a Zip Cash bill for $4.93 that was sent to me. The picture of the license plate is black and the plate number does not belong to any of my vehicles. I offered in person to pay the toll if they would remove the fees just to make it go away. I was told, "oh no we can't do that" so I walked out. Just got a new invoice for the misterious $4.00 toll.....Oh wait. It's now $81.00! Are you freaking kidding me? WTF?
Eliteambition86 Send email
 
May 6, 2017

Couldn't explain bill well.

I called to ask why I was billed again. First of all several minutes of automated responses. Then Ashley answered the line. Apparently she was annoyed with explain the bill. When I stated that I wasn't happy with their billing. So due to ashleys bad attitude I canceled my toll tag and will no longer be using ntta. Poor customer service doesn't even scratch the surface of how I feel. So if anyone even mentions the ntta, I will have a interesting story to share with them on how low they regard customers.... it's really sad that business is handled the way it is these days!
Tao Send email
 
Apr 28, 2017

No payment due emails received

I drove to Dallas in 2016 where I was charged the toll money. Without any signs, in April, 2017 a letter from a debit collection company was sent to me saying I owned some money to NTTA. I called NTTA and asked why. The agent told me they sent three letters to me but the ONLY emails I received relative to NTTA were titled "Your ZipCash Monthly Statement Is Now Available" and they did NOT mention anything related to the due payment. By no means they would catch my attention that I need to pay some fees. The agent then told me in the future they will send real letters instead of emails BUT the $35 admin fee could NOT be waived. I felt so bad as we have to pay for the mistakes they make!
Tao Send email
 
Apr 28, 2017

Not received any notices and then the debit collect company letter

I drove to Dallas in 2016 where I was charged the toll money. Without any signs, in April, 2017 a letter from a debit collection company was sent to me saying I owned some money to NTTA. I called NTTA and asked why. The agent told me they sent three letters to me but when I checked my email box and found the ONLY emails related to NTTA were titled "Your ZipCash Monthly Statement Is Now Available". By no means they would catch my attention that I need to pay some due fees. The agent then told me in the future they will send real letters instead of emails BUT the $35 admin fee could NOT be waived. I felt so bad as we have to pay for the mistakes they make!
shelb62 Send email
 
Apr 25, 2017

TOLL TAG NO HELP

I set up my toll tag account last month with a representative and received my toll tag in the mail. I placed on my front window and then was hit with a zip cash bill for $700 of unpaid tolls, and for some reason they have not been taking anything out of my account, that error is not fault it falls on them. I myself do not use tolls every day and have had people use my vehicle that did which is unfair for me to be paying this amount. I am pregnant and about to have a baby and I am sorry but I am not paying $700 to useless people who cannot do their job right and want to over charge you and tell you that having toll tag can save you money.
sher0526 Send email
 
Apr 15, 2017

False Charges

I have had my toll tag with NTTA for many, many years and one two or three cars over the years as I've gotten new ones. I have an issue where my account has been charged tolls every day almost since January 2017 they tell me (I can't see beyond that date in the online system) that were not mine. I work at home and rarely go out anywhere. I rarely even use the toll roads anymore since coming to work at home. I would like to be able to occasionally however. I only learned this because I happened see $40 charges on my credit card because my balance fell under $10 on my tag. I started reviewing these daily charges and called customer service and the rep that answered offered no assistance. I had to speak to a supervisor with customer service who told me that these are not tag charges and that they are from the camera scans so not mine because I have a tag. But they are charging me and my tag. She found the problem is that the vehicle the cameras are capturing is a New York license plate with the same license plate number as my Texas Vehicle license plate number. She credited me all the charges and said she put in a ticket or something to get the problem fixed.

To date, my account is still racking up daily charges for this New York vehicle on my Texas License plate. I'm having to watch it constantly and call for credit and hang on the phone for long periods of time while I'm trying to work. She suggested I go to the DMV, stand in line for potentially hours, and pay to get new license plates. This is ridiculous and unacceptable. How could you even guarantee you'd get a new number that another car won't have from another state!

Can you please help me? For all I know, this could have been going on longer and I didn't notice because I do not login in to the NTTA account very often since I'm not hardly driving anywhere at all. NOTHING is being done to fix this problem.
Lunaversal57 Send email
 
Apr 4, 2017

I just want to pay my bill!

I have tried calling both phone numbers on my bill, and it just rings a few times before giving me a busy signal. I have also tried to use the NTTA.org website, and it keeps telling me my information is not valid? I live 2 hours away from the nearest pay in person location, and I refuse to just send them money in the mail and hope they apply it to my bill in time. I've sent 2 emails explaining my problems without any response other than the automated "we will get back with you". What happened to having customer service? I guess they are making it difficult so that the fees can keep going up?
ejohnson Send email
 
Mar 27, 2017

NTTA ZipCash Toll Bill Fraud Mailing

I received two notices in the postal mail of balance due to the N Texas Tollway Authority, for tolls that myself nor my vehicle have ever visited. I live in the Austin area and even confirmed on the dates of the supposed bill, I was working in Corpus Christi (having driven the car they claim racked up a balance on tolls in the Dallas area!)

This is ridiculous, looks like a very real bill but i'm wondering if it's a phishing scam and how the heck they got my info? It does have my actual plate and vehicle listed, proper name and mailing address. So confused.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Mozilla - Firefox
    Hi I have had Firefox as my browser since the beginning...
    STC - my internet not working
    Sir meri internet 13 din kharab hai plz meri help kro Plz...
    Immigration of malaysia - Illegal foreinger
    Illegal foreigner staying bukit oug condominium address...
    Sapcobro motors - Frot for my uif
    I have been frot for my uif by the supervisor of Bethlehem...
    stc land line - Internet not working
    Sir meri net kharab hai 13 din se band hai plz set...
    Kfc Ara Damansara - Makanan tidak memuaskan
    18 OGOS 2017, jam 04:46 ptg..bertempat KFC Ara...
    Ian Tucker & Co - not registered with the department of labour
    I've been working as a receptionist for this company...
    Pizza Hut - Waiting time
    Phone order 2 pizza and 2 chocolate mousse. Calll the...
    DEPARTMENT OF LABOUR - exploitation
    I earn 2000 a month where I'm working and I'm...
    Kuala Lumpur International Airport Immigration Office - Forbid to fly
    My husband has forbid to fly to Indonesia, they force him...

    Share this site with others

         
          

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Mozilla - Firefox
    Hi I have had Firefox as my browser since the beginning...
    STC - my internet not working
    Sir meri internet 13 din kharab hai plz meri help kro Plz...
    Immigration of malaysia - Illegal foreinger
    Illegal foreigner staying bukit oug condominium address...
    Sapcobro motors - Frot for my uif
    I have been frot for my uif by the supervisor of Bethlehem...
    stc land line - Internet not working
    Sir meri net kharab hai 13 din se band hai plz set...
    Kfc Ara Damansara - Makanan tidak memuaskan
    18 OGOS 2017, jam 04:46 ptg..bertempat KFC Ara...
    Ian Tucker & Co - not registered with the department of labour
    I've been working as a receptionist for this company...
    Pizza Hut - Waiting time
    Phone order 2 pizza and 2 chocolate mousse. Calll the...
    DEPARTMENT OF LABOUR - exploitation
    I earn 2000 a month where I'm working and I'm...
    Kuala Lumpur International Airport Immigration Office - Forbid to fly
    My husband has forbid to fly to Indonesia, they force him...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username