Submit a Complaint

Multichoice DSTV

South Africa

Consumer complaints and reviews about Multichoice DSTV

ewart pratt smith Send email
 
Oct 20, 2022

change of ownership

Kindly let me know as soon as possible whether my change of owner ship has gone through that I battled with from 3rd December 202l - 20th October 2022. Kindly use my deceased husband's I.D. 3804105077087 as reference number and his phone number as I retained it. Yours faithfully Mrs. T.
lebokomokgothuedward Send email
 
Sep 11, 2022

Failure to honour dstv explora price-lock package contract

I,Mokgothu Edward Leboko,ID No.6911125998080
of contact details cell no's-0829514284 and 0611768877 lodge complain concerning the treatment I receive from Multichoice dstv for failing to honour services they lured me into making an agreement on the contract they promised to deliver to me immediately the sale is done with and of sending an installer to come an install the pricelock decoder.
The sale was agreed upon on the middle of June this year but nothing materialized since nothing was sent to me.
On the second attempt it was when I was contacted by their female sales person,also notifying me of the contract,but telling her of the previous sale that I outlined above,I also ask her to make a second order which didn't take long before the delivery of the product was made through a courier.
The agreement was once the product was delivered,as it was done on the 18th of August,they never afterwards sent an installer until at this very moment.I am worried of paying something that its services are not completed hence the debit order has already been started as far as July and August.
I really need some intervention in relation with this matter as Multichoice dstv no longer see it their duty to bring what is still has to be rendered by them.The services that I should get from their side through an installer are:-1.Satellite dish 2.A 50m LNB cable. 3.Extraview connection services. 4.25km installer travell distance
ONZA Send email
 
May 18, 2022

DSTV INTERNET

I applied for Multichoice Dstv internet now I received an sms saying I have received the router when I call Multichoice they say it's active in my TV and I did not receive anything
[email protected] Send email
 
Mar 7, 2022

FRAUDULENT INSTALLERS

On 16 February 2022 I phoned a guy called, Blessing, from TOP DISH INSTALLERS in Wynberg, Cape Town, to fix a connection problem because all the channels did not play on my extra view TV, especially the Sport channels. The guy then rather installed a second hand smart LNB (CHARGED FOR A NEW ONE) and a second hand smart switch (CHARGED FOR A NEW ONE). I paid R1700 for his services and my DSTV is still not working properly. He cut off some of the cables and took that with him without permission. The channel played for a few weeks. When he was called out again he wanted to sell a new dish to me, priced R2500 (including installation), which is a complete rip-off. When I didn't want the dish he messed with the cabling and pulled the satellite dish so that I lost all signal. The TV that was actually playing doesn't even play now. This putrid service from the installer compels me to reconsider continuing to be a loyal DSTV subscriber.
Leranolo Send email
 
Mar 4, 2022

Incorrect billing information

On December 2020 I took a 1 year pricelock contract that came with explora A3 and installation, I was paying R554 per month for my services which were: R399 for dstv compact subscription, R105 for access fee, R30 insurance for A3 explora decoder and R20 insurance for our old hd decoder. Everything was fine I paid all my bills always on time on the 6th of every month for the whole year without skipping any payment until earlier this year January when I received a call from dstv consultant offering me another 2 year pricelock contract as the one I was in was about to expire on the 5th of January 2022. We discussed all terms and conditions like the last time when I was offered a 1 year contract and we came to an understanding of the terms and conditions and I was told that my services will be removed from my A3 exlpora decoder to the new explora ultra decoder and my subscription payment will be R563, well I had no problem with that I accepted the offer and on the 26 February 2022 the explora ultra was installed after the installer left I just checked on dstv app to check my products when I open it I was shocked with the balance in front of my eyes 😲 R1663.58 and it was due on the very same day which was the day that the installation was done. I've tried everything in my power to get help, I phoned multichoice thousand times, I used a chat platform thousand times but never got any help and I'm stuck with disconnected services for the past 6 weeks. Can anyone help me because I'm a loyal dstv customer and I always pay my subscription on time but what you've done to me is unforgivable. Here are my details:
ML Phindane
4587570
274 J Section Botshabelo 9781
0767618907
[email protected]

Your intervention will be highly appreciated, thank you
Nkosithethile Send email
 
Feb 16, 2022

INCORRECT PHONE DETAILS AND DISCONNECTION

Good day,


I have a problem over a period of 2 months that i got disconnected.
I have borrowed my aunt my phone number and all of a sudden my phone number is linked to her acount.
I was then blocked 3 months back while you are still taking money out of my account.

Several calls have been made however with no help.
Finally today I spoke to Thando who assisted and openned my tv. however i can't use my phone as is in someone profile.
Someone could have updated these details, don't know why.

Can someone attend to this urgently.
8010155927081
0842880006
Mahlaks Send email
 
Feb 10, 2022

incorrect billing and disconnected decoder

how do you people work its been more than 6 months talking to you about my problem my decoder is disconnected today because of your problem and yet i pay double amount every month for what? i do not knw try to call you and sent several emails but yet my problem is not yet solved its the second time today trying to get hold of you people but no responds what must a person do in order to get help and get my refund for all the months that i was being double charged for my decoder or is this how you scam people...? May someone please contact me. Agnes 0838157178🤬
[email protected] Send email
 
Feb 3, 2022

Subcription for service not received

Dear All

I’ve been complaining about my decoder for the past two months and both the contact centre and the Nelspruit branch did not assist claiming there is nothing wrong with the decoder. I’ve tested the connection at my house and taken it to different houses, and still its doesn’t work.

I tried to cancel my subscription and was told to go to the branch. I can came out of the branch now, and they refused to cancel my subscription, along with a call centre person called Gugulethu Mthethwa from Randburg branch also refused.


May I have my subscription terminated, as I am not receiving the service.




Regards
Charmaine
0723025322
Bongz Send email
 
Jan 27, 2022

incorrect billing

I’m a Premium subscriber who took out the 24 month contract last year inclusive of the decoder(price lock)customer number 77730080 , according to the information I got upon inception ,my monthly premium doesn’t change until the contract ends > I’ve been paying my account on the 30th of each month until the beginning of 2022 whereby I made a call to change payment to the 20th of each month ,and also load a debit order ,the consultant amended the details and agreed that my account will be debited . To my surprise a d/o of R609.38 , I then paid R1240 via eft which was reflected on the APP . However ,today i;e 26th January 2022 my channels have been restricted ;reason “I need to pay the outstanding amount which I think is absurd . Since when do I have to pay R1850 ? kindly attend to my query before I escalate it .
kash1991 Send email
 
Jan 5, 2022

Rewards Not Added on

My dad had won a free Upgrade to premium on the 1 December 2021 and as per the terms and conditions Dstv stated that he will need to pay the current price of his package and come the 3rd January it will be active - My dad logged a complaint on Hello Peter however nothing was done , I spoke to -MK on Facebook messenger however he is adamant that it will be active on my dads next payment date the 3rd February but the offer clearly states between 15th December to 15th January if my dads payment date fell any where in-between it will be upgraded for free however they failed to upgrade it His customer number is 77716365 , Multichoice is failing to deliver on time scales and refusing to give a proper explanation as to why there is delay .

Rewards Not Added on Rewards Not Added on Rewards Not Added on Rewards Not Added on Rewards Not Added on

TGoeieman Send email
 
Oct 27, 2021

double billed

I have been complaining about my double contract since may until today nobody helped me Multichoice billed me two Explora 3 payment plan 24months R49 and this put me under serious financial challenges and I have been complaining about this they send me form pillar to post instead of me paying R632 they add R49 for very same product I have and they said I have 2 decoders, I complained and am tired now I really need help please. 0813951064,
Thubelihle M Send email
 
Aug 17, 2021

Incorrect bill

I was offered an price lock contract for R450 per month for 24 months but now I've been overcharged iam paying the incorrect bill of R633 per month

They added many things like

Access fee
Installation fee
2 port LNB
Which was offered free of charge

Incorrect bill

Kidodo Send email
 
Aug 10, 2021

Dstv

My Story Good day,
I was told that I can reverse my money and pay R480.58 which I'm also disputing because Dstv is suppose to credit my account with R429. 03 which was from the two previous months that they debited me. I agree to a price lock package and was told that my monthly payment is R690 monthly to my surprise the first month was debited R829. 03 which I disputed and nothing was done. The second month was debited R980 and still disputing both those amounts to a point nothing is been done. This month was debited R2757.58 that I had to dispudispute and got and email that I can reverse my money and pay R480.58. But to my surprise when I wanted to do a EFT I'm told to pay R1178. 58 and I don't understand why and called the call center number for about 30 minutes on hold by the agent Zanele.
Please can matter be addressed and get assistance because I'm getting frustrated with all this and been promised it will be resolved but I'm always calling to get clarification about my account.
Did you manage to go through my story because I'm suppose to pay R290 because Dstv has to credit me back from the last 2months which is R429. 03 and I'm suppose to pay R279. 03.

Respond
Please note that the charges on the account were reversed and you need to pay an amount of R 515.49 to reconnect services which includes the overdue balance of R 140.33 for viewing from 05/08/2021 until 07/08/2021. Should we email you the statements? ~SX
[email protected] Send email
 
Aug 4, 2021

Multichoice Scam

It is now day 12 since I have been querying about an incorrect bill. Instead, I have been disconnected. I won an upgrade in April and still paid my installment in April. Now I owe that upgrade and have been disconnected because of it. My bill shows I owe R612! I paid R540 on July 27 yet I still owe R612 on top of that. There are unauthorised, unexplained payment reversals on my account from May till July. I have been calling, chatting, emailing everyday from July 23 and DStv hasn’t helped at all instead, the balance owing keeps going up and down on its own and Multichoice Dstv keeps escalating the matter. Their way of stalling because if the matter was really escalated, it would have been resolved in the 48 hours that keeps being mentioned. Their rewards are a scam. You gonna pay for all your winnings, be ut this month or next year. They will make you pay like they’re doing to me and many others. Go to Facebook and just type Dstv rewards and see the people affected for yourself. I have attached the transactions with the payment reversals and the double bill.

Multichoice Scam Multichoice Scam Multichoice Scam

[email protected] Send email
 
Aug 4, 2021

Multichoice scam

It is now day 12 since I have been querying about an incorrect bill. Instead, I have been disconnected. I won an upgrade in April and still paid my installment in April. Now I owe that upgrade and have been disconnected because of it. My bill shows I owe R612! I paid R540 on July 27 yet I still owe R612 on top of that. There are unauthorised, uncommunicated payment reversals on my account since May. I have been calling, chatting, emailing everyday from July 23 and DStv hasn’t helped at all instead, keeps escalating the matter. Their way of stalling because if the matter was really escalated, it would have been resolved in the 48 hours that keeps being mentioned. I woke up this morning and the balance owing has gone down to R579. 01. Unexplained activity without my knowledge. No feedback, no reconnection. Just Multichoice expecting me to pay double. They are scamming customers into paying for these rewards. Attached is the double bill and unauthorised transactions.

Multichoice scam

Richard Stephens Send email
 
Mar 25, 2021

20% Seniors discount

Dated March 23 2021

Dear Madam / Sir

Reference No. 31339882 - 20% Seniors discount

Thank you for the two ’read receipts’ for the original email that I sent you as below. Also for the SMS I received on my cell phone dated 17 March 2021 at 09h21 which states ‘Thank you for your interest in DStv Rewards. We’ll be in touch within 48 – 72 hours. The DStv team’.

On receipt of this email it will be 96 hours since that SMS message and my email and I still haven’t hear from you except for a call from your Theo on 17 March 2021 at 09h58. When I explained that I had emailed you my Account No. 009 658 47 and my ID No. 44 05 16 50 33 082 he said he would phone me back later to ensure my 20% Seniors Discount had been approved. He did phone back on 17 March 2021 at 16h45 but the my phone 081 756 1966 rang for 2 to 3 seconds and then cut off before I could answer it.

Since then I have had no communication what-so-ever from you which I consider extremely poor service as has been all my many attempts to contact you in the past.

Please respond to this email assuring me you have granted my 20% Seniors Discount.

Many thanks in anticipation and kind regards, Richard Stephens

Again I request this matter be resolve immediately. Thank you, Richard Stephens March 25 2021
SuzelleO Send email
 
Mar 3, 2021

Illegal disconnection of services

I have paid on 01March 2021,the same manner as I have paid last month. Today, 2 days later, my service has been suspended.
Last month, this was not the matter. So why now???
Except for paying for an almost useless service, they still do this to clients. No man, it is unacceptable! I am only keeping this pathetic service for my kids sake. Hence, I wish dstv will lose so many clients or they will face a strong, great competition but it cannot go on like this. On Monday, when we asked why do we pay a R100 more than the monthly subscription, they said its because of recording and rewinding... What crap is that???

They are really conning people out of our money and have these senseless justifications.

Now, I have been sending proof of payment more than once and still the excuse, they have not received it yet.

They are busy going down and now they disconnect people's services to charge people extra R50 to make up for their loss. Not on my watch! You go down for overcharging people who already struggle in this poor economic climate so you must face your financial losses.
mmogoba Send email
 
Feb 27, 2021

Fraud

We do online payments directly on DSTV website. We paid the normal monthly fee and on the 21st February someone from DSTV initiated a reversal of R127 + R127.00. When we called no one is able to tell me who initiated the reversal and into whicch account the money went into. They not able to tell from their side who did the reversal. Definitely it was not my account because they don't have my bank details.

I need an answer as I will not be paying the money for someone who committed fraud in my account

Contact no: 071 686 0234
Fiona1972 Send email
 
Feb 22, 2021

Various problems

I have been trying to get Multi choice to help me for several weeks with no response, such bad services, which is unbelievable. I have once again sent them this email today...

I have been phoning you, sending mails, I have spoken to several people who all promised me to call me back...never did
I would like to receive a call from a manager...I am extremely upset with this poor services
I ordered:
1. The new DStv ultra on price lock of R899, which comes with free installation
2. I have ordered a DStv explorer, no installation needed for R49
3. These requests have been submitted several times
4. My explorer now, I am unable to open anything, box office, catchup, recordings are all blocked. Will YOU pay R980 for this?????
5. You overcharged me this month, I don't understand why R980 went off my account when I told the last person who called me to rectify this
6. All this is going on over 6 weeks and no one is bothered about helping me
7. I want all this rectified and I want to be compensated with one month free subscription, that is the least you can do.
8. The last installation guy wanted me to pay R1300 for installation of the DStv ultra...are you people running a scam or making this a circus....I have been humiliated for over 6 weeks..with still no assistance...😠

Once again, if no one calls me, I will take this up to higher authority and will drag your name through the mud as I have spent thousand of rands with you, with pathetic services.

I will now wait to see who responds, which I seriously doubt they will.
Lappies Send email
 
Feb 16, 2021

New subscription

To whom it may concern:

I am trying now from 27 Jan 2021 to get a new subscription from DSTV I called 6 times already and every time they tell me it will take 48 to 72 hours they will forward it to sales department

Maybe they don't need my support

Kind Regards

Leon
0825622120
GA MATTHEE Send email
 
Feb 8, 2021

DSTV PRICE LOCK EXPLORA 3A RETURN

Good day, 12/05/2020 We did a price lock and we receive a explora 3A serial no A303358375 and a wificon. The technician informed us it's of no use for us because we will pay for a full extra dstv and we must return the device.

We phoned DSTV 021 508 2222 on 22/05/2020 ref 17803151. I phoned a few times every month after that but are still waiting for a reply. We also visit DSTV shop in January 2021 and they informed us that they can't help us and we must contact DSTV PRICELOCK but they don't have any contact information for us. Order ref no SE1000358174.

PLSE HELP THE PRICE LOCK WE DON'T WANT TO CANCEL JUST CHANGE IT AND WE WANT TO RETURN THE EXPLORA 3A AND WIFICON BECAUSE WE ARE PAYING FOR THE EXPLORA AND INSTALLATION AND IT'S R1313 A MONTH.

DSTV ACC NO 9874224

GA MATTHEE SEL NO 082 5726 917
OR SEL NO 082 6800 082

PLS ASSIST URGENTLY
chalatsems Send email
 
Feb 2, 2021

service is inactive, but its up to date

On the 16 January 2021, i went to multi choice in Bloemfontein to cancel extra view on my service and the guy who was assisting me, he got error when he tries to cancel extra view till he phoned multi choice head office to assist, then they told me that in 30 minutes will be ok, truly it was ok. the guy ask me to pay R 455 for the compact service., and i did that. on the 30 January my service was cut off (inactive) i phoned call center to find out what is going on, they told me that i upgrade to premium package, so i must pay R 529.42, I explain to the consultant that i don't know that. she told me that she will escalate the matter, then today i went to bloemfontein branch to the guy who was assisting me, he still remember, he phoned head office again, but still i didn't get any good new till now, my service is still inactive, i can't watch anything but i did the payment that i was suppose to do on the 15th of every month. i really not happy about this
Nhlanhla86 Send email
 
Jan 20, 2021

Poor agent service

Good day

Hi please can you assist me with a relevant person I spoke with there of ur agent so far and I can't get assistance every time they want to resend my doc cnt find them since fro dec 22 last awaiting for my refund last person I send my doc was Iviwe and gave me this ref nrs 19839527-i74 the mon contacted another agent Joyce and said my status awaiting approval from finance today spoke to Naledi just said she can't find my doc I need to resend them over again I don't know this is total not acceptable.. Where are my doc went to please need assist and my money asap and answers about my documents my Name Nonhlanhla Maqunsu I'd nrs 8608190939084
GA Strauss Send email
 
Jan 18, 2021

Increase of Monthly debit order

I refer to my previous letter and phone call.
The monthly debit order on my account increase on the following dates:
March 2020 R974.00
April 2020 R989.00
November 2020 R1108.00
I visit the local office and according to there system I pay monthly for an extra Explorer that I did not have or received.
I contact your call center, spoke to Pricilla and she promise me to discuss it with her supervisor, to solve the problem, with no success.
I contact Dewald from your local office in Witbank, he investigate the equipment in my house and confirm that there was only two, one in the living room and one the bedroom. Am sure you can pick it up on your system.
With this information it look like I am paying some one else account.
Please investigate this and come back to me.
Carpediem Send email
 
Jan 11, 2021

Incompetent DSTV installers

I would appreciate an intervention from MultiChoice to stop a company Fibresat DSTV from doing repairs/installations.This company is a ripp off and have no clue how to diagnose a problem.They also provide inaccurate advice.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username