Submit a Complaint

Multichoice DSTV

South Africa

Consumer complaints and reviews about Multichoice DSTV

Bullet Send email
 
Oct 21, 2020

Poor Service

We are struggling for about 6 weeks to get a problem solved with DSTV. Every week at least once or twice our Access Package gets disconnected. I was told it is a system error on DSTV's side. Each time i have to spend a hour on the phone for the consultant to try and figure out the account just to tell me at the end of the conversation all is sorted and the account is 100% up to date, just till the next week when the whole process starts all over again. Our premium is going off with a debit order and is up to date. Showmax was activated and added to our account. No one at the call centre can explain who activated it and who gave permission for it to be activated as we already have Showmax for free included in the Premium package. We are desperate and made at least 25 to 30 calls already to get our account sorted with no luck
Mahode Send email
 
Oct 11, 2020

Down grade from compact

On the 6of September 2020,I personally call DStv call center for down grade from compact to the one for R110,one of agent told me that the will do it end of month of September2020,on the 04 October 2020 ,I called again for down grade and they advised me to used a whattsup platform and I used the platform,on the 5 of October 2020 I paid R110. On the 10 October 2020 they switch off my decoder,and the told me I must pay 290 for October month.....I asked them why they told me is way they where told by manager.. my account 4503035374083
anneline.solomon Send email
 
Oct 10, 2020

MultiChoice DSTV

Good Evening

Kindly note that numerous emails have been sent to DSTV requesting my refund of R840.16. I cancelled my DSTV subscription as of the 02/10/2020. Last payment of R407 was made on the 30/08/2020. I made the payment via debit card and I lost the receipt however I do have a statement showing proof of payment.

DSTV is making it very difficult to refund MY MONEY. Should there be a short payment , DSTV is too quick to disconnect services. My account was up to date. The statement should suffice.

This is becoming really annoying and I am shocked that DSTV could be so dishonest and withhold what is actually owed to me.

Kindly investigate this matter as soon as possible.

Mrs A M Solomon
Cell: 0716871596
Email:[email protected]
Gerhard Du Preez Send email
 
Sep 11, 2020

payments not receive

I did made two payments of R700.00 each on 02/05/20 and 26/05/20 through ABSA internet banking to DSTV which they said they did not receive.Idid used the wrong ref code but after investigation by ABSA fraud-unit they told me that the payments has been received by DSTV.I am trying now for 3 months to to solve this problem but to no avail.When you phone they say you must hold on for long periods and then cut you off. ABSA also phone but the same happen, e/mails have been sent but no response for their side, even the manager from Welkom Multichoice is not interest to help me solve this problem.Please can someone help me solve this problem.Where can I send proof of e/mail and phone numbers to which I use to get help from someone at DSTV.

PLEASE HELP ME I AM DESPERATE

KIND REGARDS

G.DU PREEZ
Christine Vorster Send email
 
Sep 10, 2020

DSTV Jhv - wrong amount due to glitch in the systemnd

Good day,

I am very disappointed in DSTV as I have been a customer for over 10 years.

I have an overcharged enquiry and sat on the phone for almost an hour last night trying to sort out my enquiry.
I was overcharged on my debit order this month where I normally pay R989.00 which went off on the 3/8/2020. This month a debit order for the amount of R4265.00 went off yesterday 2 September 2020 apparently due to a glitch in their system.

As of today 10/09/2020 I have had no feedback from DSTV regarding a refund on my account as I budget and cannot afford to just pay a ridiculous amount like this.

I need someone to let me know when I can expect my refund please
ronbuhler Send email
 
Aug 27, 2020

Poor service

Dear Sirs,

I have been trying to correspond with DSTV for over 1 month now unsuccessfully.
I have attached my initial email dated 29 July as reference below.

I am sending my emails to [email protected] requesting that a senior person is allocated to this issue so that I can correspond with them on a daily basis.
As they do not respond, I am looking for an alternate contact number/email address as an alternative to the one I am using.

Your help in this regard will be highly appreciated.
Please advise
Regards
R Buhler
083 780 9702


" From: Ron Buhler <[email protected]>
Sent: 29 July 2020 07:54 PM
To: 'Dstvhelp' <[email protected]>
Subject: Reference 8488665 - I 370 & 8488665 - I 353 account query

Good day DSTV

My details are as follows:
R K Buhler - ID 4908075055087
25 Valley drive
Hillcrest

As can be seen in the email below, I renewed my 24 month subscription effective 1 March 2020 at a monthly fixed cost of R844 ( 749+95)

Unfortunately, my Explorer model 2A hard drive crashed and I had to purchase a new model 3A. I also bought a new model 6S as my second view decoder. I connected these 2 new decoders as replacements to my old decoders on 28 July by phoning the call centre. Eventually both decoders worked and all worked fine.

A day after, 29 July (today), I received an SMS stating that my debit order for the 1st August will be R1108.68. This is unacceptable!!!!

I called in once again and spoke to Thabo ref 8488665 – 353 to investigate as to why my debit order is incorrect. He told me that a mistake was made whereby the operator that did the initial settings. He assured me that the problem has now been resolved. I walked back to my TV only to discover that I had no picture!!!!

I called in once again and spoke to Thobile ref 8488665 – I 370. She analysed the situation and said that due the mistake made by Multichoice whereby the contract was cancelled and therefore cancellation fees kicked in. She said that there is no choice other than to start a new contract. I was told that that this new contract will cost R829/month fixed for 24 months.
The decoder is now functioning again.

It has the following consequences:
• My 24 month contract has to be re started to run from 1 August 2020 to July 2022 (unbelievable!!)
• My debit order for 1 August will deduct the inflated amount at my discomfort
• The credit of R264.68 will be paid to me end August

This is a comedy of errors for which I spent a lot of time and money to get to this point.
Please confirm receipt of this email urgently and confirm the implications as described above.

Very sad!!!
Regards
R Buhler
083 780 9702 "
Sheena56 Send email
 
Aug 14, 2020

Termination of yet another channel

Having already terminated ITV we are now terminating BBC First ch 119 and you wonder why you are loosing business to
live streaming. Really DSTV in South Africa is certainly not improving.
Very disappointed customer.
Nomasonto Send email
 
Aug 5, 2020

Overcharged

Bad service and i dont advice anyone to take price lock..i had been overcharged on price lock 7 months now and i tried to call them several times no help smartcard 7040247336..1065873700
Nomasonto Send email
 
Aug 5, 2020

Overcharged

Bad service and i dont advice anyone to take price lock..i had been overcharged on price lock 7 months now and i tried to call them several times no help
Abongbul Send email
 
Jul 9, 2020

No feedback as to why my account is suspended..

Below is an email which I have been sending to employee enquiries, specialiastactivation, freshdesk, [email protected] dstv on Monday and yesterday...non of them have responded until now.

I am writing this email with disappointment of poor service that I am faced with multichoice. My account is handled by employee team as you can see communication below.

It is frustrating when you enquire something it takes a day a or 2 just to get an acknowledgement email, bear in mind there is not even a call centre for employee service for customers to enquire for any urgent matters, we are relied on emails. I have logged a call yesterday morning not even an acknowledgement email until now. My account has been suspended (reason unknown to me at this stage). It is a frustration when you have kids at home with no TV to top it all you are unable to make a simple call to enquire about something which could be an error on your side or vice versa you are relied on emails.

End May I encountered a billing error from multichoice, I was fine the error was rectified and from the rectifying of error i ended up having a credit of R300 and some odds which I was given a choice to either request for a refund or leave the credit for the month of July viewing which I opted to leave the credit for July. On the 25th of June I made a payment of R400 in addition to my credit which was also confirmed by emails on 2nd July. my monthly premium is about R600 and some odds..inclusive of a baby account which is my moms not under discount is about R270 family package.

By paying the R400 end of June in addition to my credit would in my opinion be my July premium. On the 2nd of July payment of R400 was confirmed as per email below and still have a credit of R78.94 for the following month which is August in my understanding hence the R591.03 due on the 30th of July which was perfectly fine.

Now all of a sudden yesterday morning, dstv disconnected/suspended. Sent an emails to 3 different addresses with no response.I have contacted the multichoice call centre which I know its difficult for them to assist since my account is under the employee team, a consultant tried to assist, however the system on her side was showing the R591. 03 was due for payment yesterday contradicting the email below.

We're are on 3rd day without watching TV for the service I had paid for on time in my opinion, there might something maybe on my side which I did not do but at least I need to know so I can rectify hence the call logged on Monday, however there has not been no response or whatsoever.

Regards,
Yolanda
071 425 4185
Lorinda Send email
 
Jun 25, 2020

DSTV - Refuse to cancel, want to force for advance payment

After several attempts and logging calls with call centre, and arrogant people tell me I WILL PAY A DEBIT ORDER THAT WAS STOP. BECAUSE OF NO INCOME WE ARE IN COVID 19?

Without success about my account, proof of phone calls on my Cell phone account that show how long we talk, email of disconnection, CALL CENTRE INSIST ON PAYING AN ACCOUNT for a service that was not received and decoder was not used and disconnected.

Since when can DSTV force in COVID 19 after no INCOME FORCE YOU to pay upfront an account? DSTV is paid upfront and not backwards? If you do not pay, your Dstv is disconnected.

SINCE WHEN can an employee of call centre take matters in their own hands and work on a recording of April month when this was done at 30 May.

The call centre said the disconnection is done on the 1 June then they still try to take a debit order on my account for a disconnected service that was done by telephone and email
Lorinda Send email
 
Jun 25, 2020

DSTV - Refuse to cancel, want to force for advance payment

After several attempts and logging calls with call centre, and arrogant people PHONE AND TELL YOU WILL PAY

COVID 19 IS HERE - NO WORK NO PAY

Without success about my account, proof of phone calls on my Cell phone account that show how long we talk, email of THAT WAS SEND FOR disconnection, CALL CENTRE INSIST AND WANT TO FORCE ME AS A CLIENT FOR PAYING AN ACCOUNT for a service that was not received and decoder was not used and disconnected.

Since when can DSTV force in COVID 19 after NO INCOME FORCE YOU to pay upfront an account? DSTV is paid upfront and not backwards? If you do not pay, your Dstv is disconnected.

SINCE WHEN can an employee of call centre take matters in their own hands BE RUDE AND TELL YOU AS CLIENT YOU BASIC NEVER CALL AS THEY SAY THERE IS NO PROOF and work on a recording of April TO KEEP DSTV AND FORCE FOR PAYMENT FOR A SERVICE THAT WAS NOT RECEIVED.

COVID 19 - SAY CLEAR THAT THERE WAS NO WORK AND INCOME!

HOW CAN A CALL CENTRE HARASS AND TELL IN WORDS YOU ARE LYING AS A CLIENT AND WANT TO FORCE FOR A SERVICE NEVER RECEIVED!
Jamiel Send email
 
Jun 5, 2020

Wrong customer feedback

Ever since the lockdown I have been having problems with payment however I always contact dstv should I be paying late I am given a pro rata and I do so on the 2nd of June 2020 I contacted them to explain my payment would be late on the 7th and please let me know if I need to do anything till then as I don't want to be disconnected I was told by the consultant all will be well Till the 7th and gave me an amount to pay however on the 4th I was disconnected I phone through multichoice several times on the 4th and had to wait long ques and with no help from any agent I asked them to please hear the recording and recconect my services and I can not pay the reconnection but still I have no joy and to phone through each time wait for 7 minutes then explain for another 4 minutes is frustrating and it is of no fault on my side please I need assistance my contact number is 0612463672
ziyanda Send email
 
Jun 3, 2020

Dstv installerat Ok furnitu

I bought Dstv on 22 may2020 at Ok furnitures in Mdantsane City East London and I was told that multichoice ran out dishes so we have to wait and that was not a problem. Manufacturer open on Monday due to lockdown. All along I was communicating with the installer and he asked me last week to send him the date on which I purchase and did sent him proof of purchase.


Yesterday I contacted him and hetold me he will get the staff today. When I contacte him today he said he got the staff but he will first two houses in the area called New Life then come to my house. As time goes I contacted him and he said he had lot of houses to install so I have to wait. We aguired about that. In short my Dstv is not installed today.


I called the shop Ok furnitures and told them that I am bringing back the decoder and they must give me my money back because I they are fooling me around. So I will bring the decoder before the end of the week and when I bring the decoder I want my money.


I will be glad if multichoice can cancel my account immediately because I am hurt and disappointed

Z.Nomnganga 083 582 2476
Ridzani Send email
 
Jun 3, 2020

Reversal of overpayment

All I did was to upgrade because I was bored during lockdown, I made a mistake of overpaying while using EFT, I contacted Multichoice for reversal of my money and I was told I will get it back within seven days, what a suprise after seven days doing follow ip I was told it is still processing, its month end I need to pay the rent, every agent that i got know is telling different stories, I they can tell is escalations, the first person who helped me never ask me the documents, I am back to work and when I call the other agent is asking me for the documents, were am I going to get the bak statement at this moment because my phone is not printing the statement. It is the third and I haven't paid the rent.
Sewell Send email
 
May 29, 2020

DSTV Over charging

I switched to the price lock offer by DSTV in July 2019.I have been overcharged every month since switching to price lock. I have phoned DSTV and showmax pretty much every month complaining. Every time I call, I'm assured that they know what the problem is and that it will be rectified. Well like everyone else, there is no change and the over charging just continues.
Eldrieg Send email
 
May 25, 2020

Billing

Good day, can anyone direct me to the correct ombudsman for dstv? DSTV is charging me what they feel like. My statement reflects owing R190 and then they debit me over R1000. Calling their call centre is a joke. I have phoned in weekly with no assistance. My query always being "escalated".... No help and no proper resolution. Whatever you do, NEVER allow DSTV to collect their subscription via debit order, you will live to regret it.
wilhelmina55 Send email
 
May 20, 2020

REFUND R6.492.55

ON 30.04.2020 I NOTICED ON MY STATEMENT AN AMOUNT OF R2201.00 DEBIT ORDER TAKEN AND ON 05.05.2020 A FURTHER R6000.00. I TRIED CALLING MULTICHOICE ALSO TRIED WHATTS APP USELESS???. SO I ENDED UP AT DSTV OUTLET RUSTENBURG WERE WE WE TOLD WHAT DOCS TO BRING AND THEY WOULD ASSIST US THERE. BANK STATEMENTS AND I. D. COPY WHICH WAS DONE. ON 13.05.2020 A CALL TO MULTICHOICE WAS MADE ONLY TO BE TOLD BY LINDA THAT NO DOCS WERE IN PLACE SO PAYMENT CANT BE DONE.SHOCKING?????. IMMEDIATELY AFTER CALL DOCS WERE MAILED TO XOLISA TOKOTA REF NO 7432186/i1055.(TEAM. LEADER). ON 19.05.2020 ONCE AGAIN A CALL WAS MADE TO MULTICHOICE ONLY TO HEAR THAT I AM NOT ON THE SYSTEM AND NO I.D COPY RECEIVED.(HOW MANY MORE TIMES DO I HAVE TO MAIL DOCS) TO.DAY I HAVE NOW FOR THE LAST TIME MAILED XOLISA TOKOTA IN REGARDS TO MY E.MAIL AND HAS REQUESTED A REPLY BACK. THIS MAKES ME FEEL LIKE A BEGGER FOR MY OWN MONEY
MRS W.S. MINNIE
RUSTENBURG.
[email protected] Send email
 
May 7, 2020

rip off

i have called customer service several times regarding the error messages i experience..i had the premium package and since we in lockdown i decided to downgrade my package as there is no live sports...ever since my package was downgraded these error messages poped up...i called customer services and my package was downgraded to a cheaper package, everything was ok and suddenly no to long after that on the same day error messages started "e16..e143"..i called in several times before the problem was solved, i was told that my package was downgraded to R399, today i checked what my amount due was and it was due R1000 +-..i called in to customer service and i queried the matter....i was explained that my primary decoder have a package and the secondary decoder also have its own package which i was not aware of as it is not what i requested when i did a downgrade on my package...the consultant then fixed the account which was now due R568.99 and that was exactly 9:00am this morning..then the error messages started again and the consultant could not fix the errors, i then requested that a manger or supervisor should call me as i am not happy with the service and what happened to my account regarding my package i requested, i am still waiting for a manager or supervisor to call me since it the manager or supervisor was going to call me within an hour, the day went by as i was expecting this call and yet no call back, no response from DSTV!!!! when i call in i waste alot of airtime on service that can not be sorted, i called again this evening and the consultant tried to fix the problem which was not fixed, i did what she asked of me to do and suddenly the call was ended and i received a message to rate the service and my problem was not even fixed, i called in again and i was assisted, the consultant fixed the problem and not for long it went back to the error message, this morning i checked my balance and it was R568.99 ...later the same day i checked again and it was R654.86, this evening i checked again and my amount due is R903.64....this is a total rip off ...i want my airtime to be reimbursed, i am not paying for any technician to check my cabling as nothing was wrong ever since i changed my package, i am not paying for new decoders, i would like a brief explanation why my amount due increased thrice within 1 day and also why the error message can not be fixed....Peter Le Roux....0837920942
ntombekaya1 Send email
 
May 3, 2020

Bad service and unsoved issue

I am Ntombekaya Tsako, i took out a price lock explora in Oct 2019 and by mistake they delivered 2 instead of one and i phoned to notify them of their mistake and was advised that they will send a courier guy to pick it up, after months of doing follow ups they eventually collected it on the 20 Jan 2020. Since October 2019 the billings have been incorrect which i was advised that they loaded incorrect products on the account and that they will sort it out, since today they have done nothing about it. Every 4 days i would have to phone them since they would disconnect my services and waste lots of my airtime on them, they would then promise to reverse all the incorrect billings and would reconnect me again. I have been going through that abuse and still today nothing has been done.

A lady who then called me said that she had reconciled my account and that i was in credit of R400.00 and i needed to pay the difference of R304 which i did on the second of March. However i am still sitting with a problem and i now know for a fact that evey other day my account gets disconnected because of their incompetence kindly assist, my email address is [email protected] and phone 066 106 8534
Joanne12 Send email
 
Apr 16, 2020

Theft

On the date 31/03/2020 my extraview didn't wanted to connect to primary decoder and i phone in to dstv customer care and spoke to the lady name Caren.I explained to her my problem and she then tried to fix it from there side but failed to do so and she then told me that there is a problem with my wiring at home. She then recommend a technician and he then came to my house and made as if he was fixing something and also failed to fix the problem he told me that there is a problem with the decoder and have to take it in to dstv for replacement and charged me R500 because he told me that my splinter was faulty but when i investigated my old splinter was still inside the ceiling.I then went to dstv with both decoders and the lady who helped me said that it was only a setting that she did and questioned me how did the technician not see this because it's part of his job.When i arrived at home i realized that my dstv eye was missing and phoned the technician he then told me that he have it and will bring it back but still didn't do so.I tried to phone him again but doesn't answer his phone.Can you please assist me in this matter.
Joanne Fredericks id number 8601310212086 cell number 0760455679
Dinashamb Send email
 
Apr 6, 2020

Bad service n lies

How does multichoice send customers msg like this come back to DStv n pay for one month only R250 n no reconnection fee send only the 23th of March I called the call centre n they say yes u pay for one month I paid n was disconnected on the 6th April n when u call the people are useless the give u a round around n the last on tells me it was a special for March only but they send u on the end of March I ask to speak to a manager and she put me on hold for 30 mins so I must end the call bunch of lies n stupid people that work at multichoice
Ofentse P Mabula Send email
 
Apr 6, 2020

Fraud

I have been requested to pay R465 gor services not rendered by Multichoice
Ref
41601379
I want my money back
skhumba01 Send email
 
Mar 27, 2020

poor service

Due to the Covid19 pandemic we are experiencing i understand we were given options to make use of the self service options but quite frankly i have not had any joy from all those services, 1stly i tried the dstv now app nothing worked, 2ndly i used the Whatsapp number its even more useless, 3rd on the list was the live chat the only thing it asks for is the email address but theres never a response to my actual query and lastly i called the contact center and after 30 minutes of holding on and listening to the lousy music and non stop notifications i was told by a consultant that they are offline and i must try the self service, knowing very well the poor service your self service offers i was infuriated. my question is if you know your call center is offline why do you keep customers holding for so long only to be told sorry we cannot help you and not rather have a automated machine advise of the issue or are you guys making money aswell out of our airtime, number 2 how am i supposed to be assisted if all you self service options are not helpful at all. funny that when we go make payments systems are never offline, so you are quite happy to accept money from us but not to assist with any queries. i am not happy at all
Lindamkhonza Send email
 
Mar 22, 2020

Too much to pay

Hello I'm in price lock with dstv which is R590 per month but everyone when my statement arrive I must more than R1000 when I call dstv the say they will fix it but still it's the same every month please help me here

Too much to pay

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username