Submit a Complaint

Multichoice DSTV

South Africa

Consumer complaints and reviews about Multichoice DSTV

Richard Stephens Send email
 
Mar 25, 2021

20% Seniors discount

Dated March 23 2021

Dear Madam / Sir

Reference No. 31339882 - 20% Seniors discount

Thank you for the two ’read receipts’ for the original email that I sent you as below. Also for the SMS I received on my cell phone dated 17 March 2021 at 09h21 which states ‘Thank you for your interest in DStv Rewards. We’ll be in touch within 48 – 72 hours. The DStv team’.

On receipt of this email it will be 96 hours since that SMS message and my email and I still haven’t hear from you except for a call from your Theo on 17 March 2021 at 09h58. When I explained that I had emailed you my Account No. 009 658 47 and my ID No. 44 05 16 50 33 082 he said he would phone me back later to ensure my 20% Seniors Discount had been approved. He did phone back on 17 March 2021 at 16h45 but the my phone 081 756 1966 rang for 2 to 3 seconds and then cut off before I could answer it.

Since then I have had no communication what-so-ever from you which I consider extremely poor service as has been all my many attempts to contact you in the past.

Please respond to this email assuring me you have granted my 20% Seniors Discount.

Many thanks in anticipation and kind regards, Richard Stephens

Again I request this matter be resolve immediately. Thank you, Richard Stephens March 25 2021
SuzelleO Send email
 
Mar 3, 2021

Illegal disconnection of services

I have paid on 01March 2021,the same manner as I have paid last month. Today, 2 days later, my service has been suspended.
Last month, this was not the matter. So why now???
Except for paying for an almost useless service, they still do this to clients. No man, it is unacceptable! I am only keeping this pathetic service for my kids sake. Hence, I wish dstv will lose so many clients or they will face a strong, great competition but it cannot go on like this. On Monday, when we asked why do we pay a R100 more than the monthly subscription, they said its because of recording and rewinding... What crap is that???

They are really conning people out of our money and have these senseless justifications.

Now, I have been sending proof of payment more than once and still the excuse, they have not received it yet.

They are busy going down and now they disconnect people's services to charge people extra R50 to make up for their loss. Not on my watch! You go down for overcharging people who already struggle in this poor economic climate so you must face your financial losses.
mmogoba Send email
 
Feb 27, 2021

Fraud

We do online payments directly on DSTV website. We paid the normal monthly fee and on the 21st February someone from DSTV initiated a reversal of R127 + R127.00. When we called no one is able to tell me who initiated the reversal and into whicch account the money went into. They not able to tell from their side who did the reversal. Definitely it was not my account because they don't have my bank details.

I need an answer as I will not be paying the money for someone who committed fraud in my account

Contact no: 071 686 0234
Fiona1972 Send email
 
Feb 22, 2021

Various problems

I have been trying to get Multi choice to help me for several weeks with no response, such bad services, which is unbelievable. I have once again sent them this email today...

I have been phoning you, sending mails, I have spoken to several people who all promised me to call me back...never did
I would like to receive a call from a manager...I am extremely upset with this poor services
I ordered:
1. The new DStv ultra on price lock of R899, which comes with free installation
2. I have ordered a DStv explorer, no installation needed for R49
3. These requests have been submitted several times
4. My explorer now, I am unable to open anything, box office, catchup, recordings are all blocked. Will YOU pay R980 for this?????
5. You overcharged me this month, I don't understand why R980 went off my account when I told the last person who called me to rectify this
6. All this is going on over 6 weeks and no one is bothered about helping me
7. I want all this rectified and I want to be compensated with one month free subscription, that is the least you can do.
8. The last installation guy wanted me to pay R1300 for installation of the DStv ultra...are you people running a scam or making this a circus....I have been humiliated for over 6 weeks..with still no assistance...😠

Once again, if no one calls me, I will take this up to higher authority and will drag your name through the mud as I have spent thousand of rands with you, with pathetic services.

I will now wait to see who responds, which I seriously doubt they will.
Lappies Send email
 
Feb 16, 2021

New subscription

To whom it may concern:

I am trying now from 27 Jan 2021 to get a new subscription from DSTV I called 6 times already and every time they tell me it will take 48 to 72 hours they will forward it to sales department

Maybe they don't need my support

Kind Regards

Leon
0825622120
GA MATTHEE Send email
 
Feb 8, 2021

DSTV PRICE LOCK EXPLORA 3A RETURN

Good day, 12/05/2020 We did a price lock and we receive a explora 3A serial no A303358375 and a wificon. The technician informed us it's of no use for us because we will pay for a full extra dstv and we must return the device.

We phoned DSTV 021 508 2222 on 22/05/2020 ref 17803151. I phoned a few times every month after that but are still waiting for a reply. We also visit DSTV shop in January 2021 and they informed us that they can't help us and we must contact DSTV PRICELOCK but they don't have any contact information for us. Order ref no SE1000358174.

PLSE HELP THE PRICE LOCK WE DON'T WANT TO CANCEL JUST CHANGE IT AND WE WANT TO RETURN THE EXPLORA 3A AND WIFICON BECAUSE WE ARE PAYING FOR THE EXPLORA AND INSTALLATION AND IT'S R1313 A MONTH.

DSTV ACC NO 9874224

GA MATTHEE SEL NO 082 5726 917
OR SEL NO 082 6800 082

PLS ASSIST URGENTLY
chalatsems Send email
 
Feb 2, 2021

service is inactive, but its up to date

On the 16 January 2021, i went to multi choice in Bloemfontein to cancel extra view on my service and the guy who was assisting me, he got error when he tries to cancel extra view till he phoned multi choice head office to assist, then they told me that in 30 minutes will be ok, truly it was ok. the guy ask me to pay R 455 for the compact service., and i did that. on the 30 January my service was cut off (inactive) i phoned call center to find out what is going on, they told me that i upgrade to premium package, so i must pay R 529.42, I explain to the consultant that i don't know that. she told me that she will escalate the matter, then today i went to bloemfontein branch to the guy who was assisting me, he still remember, he phoned head office again, but still i didn't get any good new till now, my service is still inactive, i can't watch anything but i did the payment that i was suppose to do on the 15th of every month. i really not happy about this
Nhlanhla86 Send email
 
Jan 20, 2021

Poor agent service

Good day

Hi please can you assist me with a relevant person I spoke with there of ur agent so far and I can't get assistance every time they want to resend my doc cnt find them since fro dec 22 last awaiting for my refund last person I send my doc was Iviwe and gave me this ref nrs 19839527-i74 the mon contacted another agent Joyce and said my status awaiting approval from finance today spoke to Naledi just said she can't find my doc I need to resend them over again I don't know this is total not acceptable.. Where are my doc went to please need assist and my money asap and answers about my documents my Name Nonhlanhla Maqunsu I'd nrs 8608190939084
GA Strauss Send email
 
Jan 18, 2021

Increase of Monthly debit order

I refer to my previous letter and phone call.
The monthly debit order on my account increase on the following dates:
March 2020 R974.00
April 2020 R989.00
November 2020 R1108.00
I visit the local office and according to there system I pay monthly for an extra Explorer that I did not have or received.
I contact your call center, spoke to Pricilla and she promise me to discuss it with her supervisor, to solve the problem, with no success.
I contact Dewald from your local office in Witbank, he investigate the equipment in my house and confirm that there was only two, one in the living room and one the bedroom. Am sure you can pick it up on your system.
With this information it look like I am paying some one else account.
Please investigate this and come back to me.
Carpediem Send email
 
Jan 11, 2021

Incompetent DSTV installers

I would appreciate an intervention from MultiChoice to stop a company Fibresat DSTV from doing repairs/installations.This company is a ripp off and have no clue how to diagnose a problem.They also provide inaccurate advice.
Bullet Send email
 
Oct 21, 2020

Poor Service

We are struggling for about 6 weeks to get a problem solved with DSTV. Every week at least once or twice our Access Package gets disconnected. I was told it is a system error on DSTV's side. Each time i have to spend a hour on the phone for the consultant to try and figure out the account just to tell me at the end of the conversation all is sorted and the account is 100% up to date, just till the next week when the whole process starts all over again. Our premium is going off with a debit order and is up to date. Showmax was activated and added to our account. No one at the call centre can explain who activated it and who gave permission for it to be activated as we already have Showmax for free included in the Premium package. We are desperate and made at least 25 to 30 calls already to get our account sorted with no luck
Mahode Send email
 
Oct 11, 2020

Down grade from compact

On the 6of September 2020,I personally call DStv call center for down grade from compact to the one for R110,one of agent told me that the will do it end of month of September2020,on the 04 October 2020 ,I called again for down grade and they advised me to used a whattsup platform and I used the platform,on the 5 of October 2020 I paid R110. On the 10 October 2020 they switch off my decoder,and the told me I must pay 290 for October month.....I asked them why they told me is way they where told by manager.. my account 4503035374083
anneline.solomon Send email
 
Oct 10, 2020

MultiChoice DSTV

Good Evening

Kindly note that numerous emails have been sent to DSTV requesting my refund of R840.16. I cancelled my DSTV subscription as of the 02/10/2020. Last payment of R407 was made on the 30/08/2020. I made the payment via debit card and I lost the receipt however I do have a statement showing proof of payment.

DSTV is making it very difficult to refund MY MONEY. Should there be a short payment , DSTV is too quick to disconnect services. My account was up to date. The statement should suffice.

This is becoming really annoying and I am shocked that DSTV could be so dishonest and withhold what is actually owed to me.

Kindly investigate this matter as soon as possible.

Mrs A M Solomon
Cell: 0716871596
Email:[email protected]
Gerhard Du Preez Send email
 
Sep 11, 2020

payments not receive

I did made two payments of R700.00 each on 02/05/20 and 26/05/20 through ABSA internet banking to DSTV which they said they did not receive.Idid used the wrong ref code but after investigation by ABSA fraud-unit they told me that the payments has been received by DSTV.I am trying now for 3 months to to solve this problem but to no avail.When you phone they say you must hold on for long periods and then cut you off. ABSA also phone but the same happen, e/mails have been sent but no response for their side, even the manager from Welkom Multichoice is not interest to help me solve this problem.Please can someone help me solve this problem.Where can I send proof of e/mail and phone numbers to which I use to get help from someone at DSTV.

PLEASE HELP ME I AM DESPERATE

KIND REGARDS

G.DU PREEZ
Christine Vorster Send email
 
Sep 10, 2020

DSTV Jhv - wrong amount due to glitch in the systemnd

Good day,

I am very disappointed in DSTV as I have been a customer for over 10 years.

I have an overcharged enquiry and sat on the phone for almost an hour last night trying to sort out my enquiry.
I was overcharged on my debit order this month where I normally pay R989.00 which went off on the 3/8/2020. This month a debit order for the amount of R4265.00 went off yesterday 2 September 2020 apparently due to a glitch in their system.

As of today 10/09/2020 I have had no feedback from DSTV regarding a refund on my account as I budget and cannot afford to just pay a ridiculous amount like this.

I need someone to let me know when I can expect my refund please
ronbuhler Send email
 
Aug 27, 2020

Poor service

Dear Sirs,

I have been trying to correspond with DSTV for over 1 month now unsuccessfully.
I have attached my initial email dated 29 July as reference below.

I am sending my emails to [email protected] requesting that a senior person is allocated to this issue so that I can correspond with them on a daily basis.
As they do not respond, I am looking for an alternate contact number/email address as an alternative to the one I am using.

Your help in this regard will be highly appreciated.
Please advise
Regards
R Buhler
083 780 9702


" From: Ron Buhler <[email protected]>
Sent: 29 July 2020 07:54 PM
To: 'Dstvhelp' <[email protected]>
Subject: Reference 8488665 - I 370 & 8488665 - I 353 account query

Good day DSTV

My details are as follows:
R K Buhler - ID 4908075055087
25 Valley drive
Hillcrest

As can be seen in the email below, I renewed my 24 month subscription effective 1 March 2020 at a monthly fixed cost of R844 ( 749+95)

Unfortunately, my Explorer model 2A hard drive crashed and I had to purchase a new model 3A. I also bought a new model 6S as my second view decoder. I connected these 2 new decoders as replacements to my old decoders on 28 July by phoning the call centre. Eventually both decoders worked and all worked fine.

A day after, 29 July (today), I received an SMS stating that my debit order for the 1st August will be R1108.68. This is unacceptable!!!!

I called in once again and spoke to Thabo ref 8488665 – 353 to investigate as to why my debit order is incorrect. He told me that a mistake was made whereby the operator that did the initial settings. He assured me that the problem has now been resolved. I walked back to my TV only to discover that I had no picture!!!!

I called in once again and spoke to Thobile ref 8488665 – I 370. She analysed the situation and said that due the mistake made by Multichoice whereby the contract was cancelled and therefore cancellation fees kicked in. She said that there is no choice other than to start a new contract. I was told that that this new contract will cost R829/month fixed for 24 months.
The decoder is now functioning again.

It has the following consequences:
• My 24 month contract has to be re started to run from 1 August 2020 to July 2022 (unbelievable!!)
• My debit order for 1 August will deduct the inflated amount at my discomfort
• The credit of R264.68 will be paid to me end August

This is a comedy of errors for which I spent a lot of time and money to get to this point.
Please confirm receipt of this email urgently and confirm the implications as described above.

Very sad!!!
Regards
R Buhler
083 780 9702 "
Sheena56 Send email
 
Aug 14, 2020

Termination of yet another channel

Having already terminated ITV we are now terminating BBC First ch 119 and you wonder why you are loosing business to
live streaming. Really DSTV in South Africa is certainly not improving.
Very disappointed customer.
Nomasonto Send email
 
Aug 5, 2020

Overcharged

Bad service and i dont advice anyone to take price lock..i had been overcharged on price lock 7 months now and i tried to call them several times no help smartcard 7040247336..1065873700
Nomasonto Send email
 
Aug 5, 2020

Overcharged

Bad service and i dont advice anyone to take price lock..i had been overcharged on price lock 7 months now and i tried to call them several times no help
Abongbul Send email
 
Jul 9, 2020

No feedback as to why my account is suspended..

Below is an email which I have been sending to employee enquiries, specialiastactivation, freshdesk, [email protected] dstv on Monday and yesterday...non of them have responded until now.

I am writing this email with disappointment of poor service that I am faced with multichoice. My account is handled by employee team as you can see communication below.

It is frustrating when you enquire something it takes a day a or 2 just to get an acknowledgement email, bear in mind there is not even a call centre for employee service for customers to enquire for any urgent matters, we are relied on emails. I have logged a call yesterday morning not even an acknowledgement email until now. My account has been suspended (reason unknown to me at this stage). It is a frustration when you have kids at home with no TV to top it all you are unable to make a simple call to enquire about something which could be an error on your side or vice versa you are relied on emails.

End May I encountered a billing error from multichoice, I was fine the error was rectified and from the rectifying of error i ended up having a credit of R300 and some odds which I was given a choice to either request for a refund or leave the credit for the month of July viewing which I opted to leave the credit for July. On the 25th of June I made a payment of R400 in addition to my credit which was also confirmed by emails on 2nd July. my monthly premium is about R600 and some odds..inclusive of a baby account which is my moms not under discount is about R270 family package.

By paying the R400 end of June in addition to my credit would in my opinion be my July premium. On the 2nd of July payment of R400 was confirmed as per email below and still have a credit of R78.94 for the following month which is August in my understanding hence the R591.03 due on the 30th of July which was perfectly fine.

Now all of a sudden yesterday morning, dstv disconnected/suspended. Sent an emails to 3 different addresses with no response.I have contacted the multichoice call centre which I know its difficult for them to assist since my account is under the employee team, a consultant tried to assist, however the system on her side was showing the R591. 03 was due for payment yesterday contradicting the email below.

We're are on 3rd day without watching TV for the service I had paid for on time in my opinion, there might something maybe on my side which I did not do but at least I need to know so I can rectify hence the call logged on Monday, however there has not been no response or whatsoever.

Regards,
Yolanda
071 425 4185
Lorinda Send email
 
Jun 25, 2020

DSTV - Refuse to cancel, want to force for advance payment

After several attempts and logging calls with call centre, and arrogant people tell me I WILL PAY A DEBIT ORDER THAT WAS STOP. BECAUSE OF NO INCOME WE ARE IN COVID 19?

Without success about my account, proof of phone calls on my Cell phone account that show how long we talk, email of disconnection, CALL CENTRE INSIST ON PAYING AN ACCOUNT for a service that was not received and decoder was not used and disconnected.

Since when can DSTV force in COVID 19 after no INCOME FORCE YOU to pay upfront an account? DSTV is paid upfront and not backwards? If you do not pay, your Dstv is disconnected.

SINCE WHEN can an employee of call centre take matters in their own hands and work on a recording of April month when this was done at 30 May.

The call centre said the disconnection is done on the 1 June then they still try to take a debit order on my account for a disconnected service that was done by telephone and email
Lorinda Send email
 
Jun 25, 2020

DSTV - Refuse to cancel, want to force for advance payment

After several attempts and logging calls with call centre, and arrogant people PHONE AND TELL YOU WILL PAY

COVID 19 IS HERE - NO WORK NO PAY

Without success about my account, proof of phone calls on my Cell phone account that show how long we talk, email of THAT WAS SEND FOR disconnection, CALL CENTRE INSIST AND WANT TO FORCE ME AS A CLIENT FOR PAYING AN ACCOUNT for a service that was not received and decoder was not used and disconnected.

Since when can DSTV force in COVID 19 after NO INCOME FORCE YOU to pay upfront an account? DSTV is paid upfront and not backwards? If you do not pay, your Dstv is disconnected.

SINCE WHEN can an employee of call centre take matters in their own hands BE RUDE AND TELL YOU AS CLIENT YOU BASIC NEVER CALL AS THEY SAY THERE IS NO PROOF and work on a recording of April TO KEEP DSTV AND FORCE FOR PAYMENT FOR A SERVICE THAT WAS NOT RECEIVED.

COVID 19 - SAY CLEAR THAT THERE WAS NO WORK AND INCOME!

HOW CAN A CALL CENTRE HARASS AND TELL IN WORDS YOU ARE LYING AS A CLIENT AND WANT TO FORCE FOR A SERVICE NEVER RECEIVED!
Jamiel Send email
 
Jun 5, 2020

Wrong customer feedback

Ever since the lockdown I have been having problems with payment however I always contact dstv should I be paying late I am given a pro rata and I do so on the 2nd of June 2020 I contacted them to explain my payment would be late on the 7th and please let me know if I need to do anything till then as I don't want to be disconnected I was told by the consultant all will be well Till the 7th and gave me an amount to pay however on the 4th I was disconnected I phone through multichoice several times on the 4th and had to wait long ques and with no help from any agent I asked them to please hear the recording and recconect my services and I can not pay the reconnection but still I have no joy and to phone through each time wait for 7 minutes then explain for another 4 minutes is frustrating and it is of no fault on my side please I need assistance my contact number is 0612463672
ziyanda Send email
 
Jun 3, 2020

Dstv installerat Ok furnitu

I bought Dstv on 22 may2020 at Ok furnitures in Mdantsane City East London and I was told that multichoice ran out dishes so we have to wait and that was not a problem. Manufacturer open on Monday due to lockdown. All along I was communicating with the installer and he asked me last week to send him the date on which I purchase and did sent him proof of purchase.


Yesterday I contacted him and hetold me he will get the staff today. When I contacte him today he said he got the staff but he will first two houses in the area called New Life then come to my house. As time goes I contacted him and he said he had lot of houses to install so I have to wait. We aguired about that. In short my Dstv is not installed today.


I called the shop Ok furnitures and told them that I am bringing back the decoder and they must give me my money back because I they are fooling me around. So I will bring the decoder before the end of the week and when I bring the decoder I want my money.


I will be glad if multichoice can cancel my account immediately because I am hurt and disappointed

Z.Nomnganga 083 582 2476
Ridzani Send email
 
Jun 3, 2020

Reversal of overpayment

All I did was to upgrade because I was bored during lockdown, I made a mistake of overpaying while using EFT, I contacted Multichoice for reversal of my money and I was told I will get it back within seven days, what a suprise after seven days doing follow ip I was told it is still processing, its month end I need to pay the rent, every agent that i got know is telling different stories, I they can tell is escalations, the first person who helped me never ask me the documents, I am back to work and when I call the other agent is asking me for the documents, were am I going to get the bak statement at this moment because my phone is not printing the statement. It is the third and I haven't paid the rent.

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username