Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

Multichoice DSTV

South Africa

Consumer complaints and reviews about Multichoice DSTV

floratjabadi Send email
 
May 22, 2017

Dstv explora

I bought dstv explora knowing that I'm working night shift I will be able to watch the repeat episodes like Sibaya.Queen.Somizi and so on in the morning when I rich home before I sleep from night shift but now they are showing more of Amapopayi
chrisanta Send email
 
May 19, 2017

Again NO service

It has been three weeks now ... problem was esculated. Reported the poor service on complaint line as well as hello peter. Guy phoned us and apoligized during the week. We are back at our holiday home tried to connect again problem was esculated. I asked if i can speak to a manager but was disconnected . Spend R65 again. And again no service i am speachless . Bad bad bad
Temanamabula Send email
 
May 19, 2017

Change of ownership

I was told that I should send documents in order to change ownership on my explorer and told it would take 24 hours. 24 hours later, nothing has been fixed. I called the DSTV call centre and was told that nothing had been done, and the matter had been escalated. I was further informed that if I wanted the change of ownership to be effected immediately, i should go to any multi-choice agency and the change would be made same time. I asked for a multi choice centre closer to where I live and was directed to pretorius street in Pretoria. I got there, only to find that they had moved to centurion! I called again and was directed to bloed street in Pretoria still, only to find that they are installers! I then decided to Google and found that there is one in wonderpark. I went there, and still the change of ownership could not be done, due to a technical error! I am still not able to watch tv, after being sent from pillar to post! I lost 7 hrs of studying for my exams only to comcWhoseefind back empty handed! Whose fault is it if there's technical errors, aren't technicians supposed to fix that? DSTV/Multichoice service is extremely poor, which is very disappointing for an organisation of this magnitude!
olganashe Send email
 
May 16, 2017

poor service

Your agents in Belleville sold decoder without full equipment. Yet I wanted dstv with installation for 599. They couldn't gave me coz where I stay they is too much of robbery. They told me that when I finish payments where am I going to get the rest of the parts
Lynn Jansen Van Rensburg Send email
 
May 15, 2017

Extra View is Low Cost Programmes

I would like to know.. why has Extra View now become a place where junk programmes are taped for extra viewing. for example.. Originals...New Girl ... this is just two of many!!!!!!!! they are not taped on extra view. i have to now go to the internet to be able to download programmes that i did not tape... why should i have to pay extra for Extra View if i have to tape my own programmes anyway????????????? and then pay for internet????? There are now only low standard programmes that have been saved on extra view.. Mnet I am so tired of wasting money... sick of watching repeats, repeats repeats and such old programmes.... just tired of such low quality and we are still expected to pay such a high price.
Rdebruyn Send email
 
May 14, 2017

Box Office

It is now been a year and a half of which numerous phone calls and promises my Box office will work in 2 to 3 days. Well. It is still not working. And each time I get a different error message. How many times must one call and recieve empty promises? I am really tired. And if this persist I will cancell my Dstv end of my contract.
Moliza Send email
 
May 10, 2017

Poor deliver

I pay more than R1300.00 per month for my DSTV and the extra view....because the DSTV Multichoice Choice increase their fees like they give a good service.

we are tired of you repeating episodes, i've been watching the Kardashians last year's episodes repeating everyday and night, food channels, repeating, channel 103, 116, 124, 129, 130, 131, it is same thing everyday day and night, I am sick and tired, please do something NOW...
Segun Send email
 
May 2, 2017

Service Blocked Before Expiry and DSTV Complaint Centre Lousy

I just got home front the office only to see that my service has been suspended.My subscription was renewed on the 8th of April, I can not therefore understand the reason for his disconnection. All attempts to reach the customer care has been futile. When eventually I go through on my phone, I was kept on hold for upwards of 2mins playing some lousy adverts about their services. My Smart card number is : 1017366086 . I wonder if this complaints are ever reviewed though
Mos Send email
 
Apr 30, 2017

Change of account

The DSTV call center and its management has proven to be useless. I have changed my account and called in to notify of the change of account. But every month, the service gets suspended on account of none payment whilst for the last 4 times every time i call the call center agents confirms that a debit order and change of account has been effected.
I went as far as to send an e mail which seems to also prove to have been a waste of time.

How does DSTV expect to service customers when the very act of securing payment is handled so so poorly.

I will be looking for an alternative meanwhile i await the company to call me tonight.

Smartcard: 1019479849
chrisanta Send email
 
Apr 30, 2017

Bad service

Arrived at our holiday home on friday it is now sunday. Paid R300 as requested was promosed by two consultants to phone us back due to tecnical issues from there side. It is now sunday morning nobody phoned and our line still not connected. Also 53min off airtime wasted on pour service and bad company. Wonder who is going to pay for our calls and time but they will not connect until we paid full amount. 😂😂😂They were trying to connect us on saturday afternoon again but the charge would have been for 3 full days..... although we would have only had the service for 2 and a half days. Rip off i would say. Dstv .... what service..... there in NO service
awolsa Send email
 
Apr 21, 2017

ANN7

DSTV are morally reprehensible for even allowing ANN7 to air on their network. The blatant Zupta propaganda is false and nauseating and should not be allowed, especially on their cheaper packages. It's a blatant attempt to brainwash a very specific demographic. The lies, false witnesses and cowboy 'journalism' are not even veiled or attempted to pass off as legitimate. As for the "live feed" I wouldn't be surprised that the grubby hands of Bell Pottinger has a direct link to provide the drivel spewed forth across the screen like a congealed gravy train way past its scheduled stop.
Kick this crap to the kerb.
madziva Send email
 
Apr 18, 2017

request for a movie to be rescheduled

may you please have a nigerian movie "The Last Ofalla" to be aired again. notify me when scheduled
madziva Send email
 
Apr 18, 2017

african movie: The Last Ofalla

May you please reschedule Nigerian African movie called "The Last Ofalla"? I miss it
Renietha Send email
 
Apr 11, 2017

Poor service

I phoned on 2 april for dstv explora deal. Been approved and told delivery will be 5-7 working days. Today was day 7. Nothing. I phoned twice today but got told someone will phone me back. Dont understand why no one can check the progress on the system.
Entle Send email
 
Mar 27, 2017

Reconnection

Good day Natasha Abed


I Maria Mokoena, 7305240323085, I would like to have a querry on my account as I ask for debit order for 20th of each and every month, of which the debit order never went through from my side and again I have a problem with my phone where it will show the incontact if the money go off from my account. Last week I spoke to one of the agent that side regarding the money of which it was R472.00 that suppose to go through debit order today when I received a call from home that the service is suspended and I call to find out why the money never go off and again when I checked on the system that the debit order never goes off. I call to find out why debit order never goes off Joshua Matlou gave me an attitude and said I have to pay reconnection fee again because they were trying to take money today as the money reversed from their side but from my side no debit order was done. My complain is how can I pay double reconnection fee whereas I was not aware? And again how can I ask for reconnection and again reverse the money? It does not make sense to me. I would Like you to reconnect my dish, I will pay it now what was required R472. I think I must cancel my debit order so that it will be better to pay cash to avoid troubles. call me on 0736544148. Really it was a bad experience I had.
phakamak Send email
 
Mar 24, 2017

Dstv not working

Good day,

I have a problem, I paid my dstv last week monday the 20/03/2016 and some of the channels were not working so I called the call centre and the guy that I spoke to give me instructions over the phone to reset the decoder to default settings. My dstv now is stuck on the installation wizard screen and when you try to go next to finish the installation, it says not signal and what so ever. I contacted the call centre again on wednesday the 22/03/2017 to ask them to suspend my dstv, I have spoken with Tsepo mhlala sitting in johannesburg and I haven't got any joy from him and ask for a supervisor who called me on this number (011 289 2000) and the time was 22:24. Supervisor advised that he was going to log a call for me for my dstv to been suspended until the problem is resolved because I cannot watch the tv and my money is now been washed away. Supervisor advised that He was going to call me back to give me a feedback but I haven't heard a word and its now friday the 24/03/2017

Please kindly assist me.
eajyyav Send email
 
Mar 17, 2017

DsTV connections disconnected even before 30 days

I paid for my Indian subscription on 16th Feb 2017. It is supposed to work for 30 days and then should go off if not recharged.
By simple mathematics today, 17th March 2017 is the 30th day of my recharge and it must work today. But the connection has gone off since 2 AM, 17th March. It is supposed to work for full day but it is off since 2 AM.
I want it to be working for 1 full day to compensate for the time lost by me when the subscription was not working.

Account number : 43162940
Contact number : +233 540125044
Brillian Send email
 
Mar 13, 2017

Disconnected

My account was due on 7th March, 2017. I paid for smart card no: 4135071249. We have been watching since then until today 13th March at 13.00hours. Can I have my channels.
sombeukes@gmail.com Send email
 
Mar 9, 2017

unsatisfied & angry

I am very unsatisfied with DS TV (Multi choice) services. In feb2017 I was not at my home for the whole month and due to that I did not pay my services for the Feb 2017 month because I knew I will not be at home..so why must I pay for the month if I was not going to watch tv. Then in March I got an sms saying this (" DS TV: We've suspended your services as we've not received a payment. Please pay R268.01 immediately & we'll reconnect you. Dial *120*68584# for where to pay.") So then I went and pay the amount as required or stated via sms. Then I called Ds TV to confirm my amount has been paid and then I spoke to the consultant Mr. Lettlhogonolo Thede at Ds tv he confirmed everything is paid and fine and the decorder/ Ds tv channels will be opened for the whole month March 2017. Yesterday to my surprise coming from work home then the ds tv was off....WHAT IS GOING ON WITH DS TV PEOPLE...STOP LYING TO YOUR CUSTOMERS PLEASE I WANT MY DS TV CHANNELS ON IMMEDIATELY.

Mrs SS de Wee
sim card : 1035725682
twoprins Send email
 
Mar 3, 2017

NO SIGNAL/SERVICE ONE WEEK

Since last Thursday we have had no service whatsoever from Multichoice. This has been happening over and over for the past few month's with all sorts of excuses.

The latest excuse is that cables etc. were stolen but surely it cannot take a week or how long still to come........ to get new cables and merely replace them???

Multichoice is this supposed to be "Big conglomerate" but they cannot find a technician who can do the job in one week or even longer, heaven alone knows? One or even two days at the most but over a week already, this is unacceptable!!!

It would be cheaper to rent the latest videos from a store and also to watch Super Rugby which has started at the club because paying for something that doesn't exist makes no sense and heaven alone knows what year they will find a technician in this country to fix this small problem!
silindile Send email
 
Feb 16, 2017

billing and refund

good day

on the 1st of February I paid R345 -(subscription amount) manually...the same day I received an sms advising me I owe R690
few minutes later I received another one informing me it was an error
I ignored the sms....the next day I received another one informing me I owe R345...I ignored as far as I knew I didn't owe anything,

the next day I received another sms stating I should ignore the sms
the following day I received a refund of R345 from Multi choice,
On the 7th I woke up and my services was suspended
I called the 086 number stayed on the line for 34 minutes explaining to the consultant

she apologized and reconnected my services,
she also told me to go pay R345 which I owed again with a week
the next day I went to the walk in center, I was advised Im up to date and don't owe anything...
(bear in mind Im paying to travel to the walk in Centre and for the phone calls...as they told me they couldn't phone me back as they are in a call Centre,)

on the 10th I woke up and my service was suspended again
I using my airtime.phoned ,I was with the consultant for 20minutes, he apoligised and reconnected my services.
he said I owe R345 as they refunded me by error...I told him im going back to work and wont have time to go the pay that refund
besides the fact that im incurring bank cgarges for their incompetency
I requested to speak to a manager/supervisor
I was told he is on a call,,,he will get back to me
till to date I have not received the call

yesterday I got home my services is suspended again
this morning I phoned, spoke to Margret who was incompetent,....I asked to speak to a manager
I was then advised he is busy with another complaint on the line
3 hours later...he has not returned my call

my services are still suspended....
I told her to take the R345 via debit out of the account
she said I now need to pay them R382...I don't understand...
I had paid my subscription, this is the amount they incorrectly refunded me
why should I suffer like this as a Client

client number :97413736

I need urgent feedback...
from
Irate client
Sharna Gaugain Send email
 
Feb 13, 2017

Decoder Insurance

I bought my DSTV Explora decoder 2 years ago and I took out insurance when I received my decoder with Multichoice.

I then received an sms and email from you on the 11th January 2017 advising that my insurance was cancelled and I immediately called your company to find out why. They mentioned that I missed a payment in October 2016 but I was never notified of the missed payment. I then asked to be reinsured immediately.

My decoder blew 3 weeks ago and when I went to the multi choice shop in the Lemon Tree in Alberton they said I cannot get a new decoder because I haven’t had my insurance for longer than 3 months.

I then called your company and they advised that I need to wait 3 months before I can get a new Explora which I find extremely unfair as I wasn’t informed that I missed a payment and I definitely wasn’t advised that there is a 3 month waiting period plus I had paid for 18 months already.

I was then told to email dcicomplaints@multichoice.co.za my complaint and was advised via email that they would get back to me in 24 hours.

I called 24 hours later only to be told by the call centre lady that it takes longer than 24 hours and up to 7 days and that the promped email response form Multichoise is incorrect.

Its been 2 weeks now and I still haven't heard from anyone.


CASE NUMBER: 8473267
CASE NUMBER: 8480372
Deryck LVender Send email
 
Feb 8, 2017

Repeats and poor overall programs

I think it is very poor that we are subscribed to your premium bouquet and have to suffer continuall repeats boring reality shows non related History channel content etc the list goes on. It ia crying shame that on your entire premium package one cannot find anything decent to watch. I pray for the day you get an opponent. Rest assured you will lose many customers. Enough is enough stop cramming rubbish down our throats.
ZKW Send email
 
Feb 7, 2017

Multichoice DSTV Complaint

People check your accounts. Need to pay Family Package this month but suddenly need to pay R700. Because of a double payment suddenly reversed in January. When I called in November to check how much I need to pay, I had a credit on my account confirmed by the consultant, because we did not had money to pay that month I wanted to make sure about the credit showing on self-help service. I asked the guy if I can then use DSTV and choose my package with the credit, and he said yes. So I went on with my viewing. Now suddenly they reversed that credit, said I didn't pay. What's the use then to call the customer care to find out the payment for the month, because I didn't had money to pay. It is not my fault I had a credit on the account and the consultant confirm that on phone. It is DSTV's account department that have malfunctioning systems, because of it couldn't correct it at the stage when the credit was showing. FIX MY ACCOUNT, I WILL NOT BE HELD LIABLE FOR DSTV'S FAULT. I will take this further than DSTV.
pmaake Send email
 
Feb 7, 2017

Paid my account, still not connected

Can someone please explain..

1) My DSTV details >> (DSTV-A,Smart Card-A)
2) My Parents DSTV details >> (DSTV-B, Smart Card-B)
3) both these decoders are under my name however, i specifically asked that they separate the billing accounts as per the Smart card numbers to avoid future confusion.
4) how come is it that when DSTV-A,SmartCard-A is paid and DSTV-B,SmartCard-B is owing, both decoders are switched off due to non payment??? why don't u just disable the account that you haven't received payment on? and does this mean i forfeited the payment i made since my paid up smart card is deactivated??
5) The call center personnel excel at arguing more than resolving issues
6) the self help "live chat" service is as useless as the call center they are referring me to?
7) why am i still paying for this?
8) my customer number - 9886300

Paid my account, still not connected

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    FinChoice - Appalling Service
    To whom it may concern, I have never in my entire...
    Award Notification Commission - Awards Scam
    I received a letter on May 23rd, 2017, stating I won...
    NTTA - Ridiculous
    This is the biggest rip off in the state of Texas. No...
    M2 Media Group - How do I unsubscribe to smomthing I didn't order?
    I thought I was doing a good thing by supporting Law...
    Eskom - Damaged Transformer
    Good Day, We have not had electricity for more than...
    Drshealth - Money taken twice out my account in two weeks
    I want to complain that £300 was taken from my account...
    Crossmark - Crossmark
    I skipped a couple of events in April on jet due to having...
    eDreams - Flights CURRENTLY stated as confirmed in eDreams client...
    Good afternoon, My name is Carmen Jimenez. My eDreams...
    IC Freeshipping.com - Unauthorized Charges
    IC Freeshipping charged my card $12.97 on 5/23/2017,...

    Share this site with others

         
          

    Recently Updated Complaints

    FinChoice - Appalling Service
    To whom it may concern, I have never in my entire...
    Award Notification Commission - Awards Scam
    I received a letter on May 23rd, 2017, stating I won...
    NTTA - Ridiculous
    This is the biggest rip off in the state of Texas. No...
    M2 Media Group - How do I unsubscribe to smomthing I didn't order?
    I thought I was doing a good thing by supporting Law...
    Eskom - Damaged Transformer
    Good Day, We have not had electricity for more than...
    Drshealth - Money taken twice out my account in two weeks
    I want to complain that £300 was taken from my account...
    Crossmark - Crossmark
    I skipped a couple of events in April on jet due to having...
    eDreams - Flights CURRENTLY stated as confirmed in eDreams client...
    Good afternoon, My name is Carmen Jimenez. My eDreams...
    IC Freeshipping.com - Unauthorized Charges
    IC Freeshipping charged my card $12.97 on 5/23/2017,...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username