Log inRegister
Submit Complaint

DEPARTMENT OF LABOUR

South Africa

Consumer complaints and reviews about DEPARTMENT OF LABOUR

mkasiyah Send email
 
Feb 14, 2018

Rejected UIF claim

Goid day.

Dear SIYABULELA BENJAMIN. UIF Claim rejected. Notice of Appeal can be submitted at a Labour Centre. Enquiries contact local Labour Centre . Case No : 30000791790

This is the sms I just received. Being a husband and father of two, receiving this sms just depresses me. When I went to do my submission I was told that all is well at the Athlone branch. Now I receive this sms with no explanation or details of the rejection.

This is so unprofessional and very disappointing.

How does one correct this?

Highly disappointed with this service
Mpilo Send email
 
Feb 14, 2018

unpaid maternity benefits

On the 12 of December 2017 i went to Department of labour in Soshanguve to claim maternity benefits things went well as i had all the documents they've requested and i submited everything and told that i must return to them on the 19 0f January 2018,and i got the money on the 20 of January 2018 that was the first payment then on the 19 i went back to return the ui-4 document and the time was 2pm i was told that why should i came late its not time for submission i must come before 12 now its time for filling and according to the website the trading hours are from :7:30 to 16:00 i didnt ague as i needed help the lady took my id open the system and took the document from me and she said the branch code written on the document its wrong i must write the one apperring on their system i said to the lady the one thats written its my branch code as i've confirmed with my bank and i asked her which one must i write she turned the screen and that was a univesal branch code i asked that who captured that one and she said its system generated and i didnt ague and she gave me another form to take it to the hospital and return it if i dont do so the application will be rejected then i came back on the 22 of January to return it and i was told that the money will be paid in 3 to 4 days then i waited until the the 9 of February and i found another lady i dont know the names of these ladies as they dont wear their name badges and she said she does not understand whats could be the delay she called another lady and she didnt understand either then i was reffered to the office of the supervisor/manager by the name of Mmama and got all the attitude i was told that i'm disturbing her she's busy and she didnt took lunch and she has the funeral of 1 of the staff to attend i was begging as i needed help and she gave me the ui-4 document again to take it to hospital again i said i've already done that then she said i have to as she does not have the first 1 with her and i must bring the child birth certificate i asked her what the problem with the application is it pending/rejected or what and she said i must just bring the form thats it i felt that they are hidding something for me i took my time for the third time now to go to hospital in order for the Doctor to fill the document again,then i went back today(12 Feb 2018) to return the document i asked the lady who was assisting me whats the problem what happened to the document i have sended on the 22 of January she said to me i must just gave her the document she's not the one who took the document on the 22 of Jan so she wont know, she was not friendly at all and she said the money will take 6 working days.i dont have trust anymore as i was taken pillar to post and not given the correct answears i just wanted to know that why is Batho pele principle not practised to our local government instituation i felt we've been treated a bad way i'm not happy at all with the staff from that Department kindly assit in sorting the problem that i'm having my contact number is 0823029597 and my email address is dimakatsomadue@ gmail.com as i'm returning back to work on the 1 of March and i was told that if i go back to work they will stop the payment.
Doreen Send email
 
Feb 13, 2018

UIF Maternity claim rejected

I logged a claim on 03/01/2018 and on 11/01/2018 I received an SMS that my claim was rejected. I went to enquire the same day and they told me that I must come after 35 days. Today (13/02/2018) I went and they told me that It was rejected because I don't have enough credits. What does it mean? My case number 30000672302.

Please assist.
mafogodoreen@yahoo.com
Anlo Send email
 
Feb 13, 2018

Submission of 2015 ROE correction

We Submitted a correction on our Customers 2015 ROE, it is 2018 and it has not been resolved yet, we have queried and followed up since April 2015, every time the agent on the phone gives us another excuse. On the 12th of February 2018 we phoned Workman's Compensation a again only to be told we have to resubmit ALL of the documents again. We have done this before and also went into the offices to try and correct this. We wont be going in again after 3 years almost start all of it over again. We need some advise on to where to go from here.
tammylk6240 Send email
 
Feb 13, 2018

Late UIF Payment

Good day

My last claim was submitted on the 24th January and another for the 31st. I still have not received payment for 31 January 2018.

How long does one have to wait?
sdeonarian Send email
 
Feb 12, 2018

Incompetent staff at Chatsworth uif office

I have been at the uif office from Tuesday 6/02/2018 up until 12/02/2018 for my signing for my maternity benefits I've been given the run around by staff and the supervisor is utterly rude he refused to assist me today 12/02/2018 because he is officially on leave there is no other person in charge and I'm supposed to follow queues that doesn't move staff are laid back with urgency or compassion for us that sit in this long queues on a daily basis ......
Nozipho Send email
 
Feb 12, 2018

Unpaid uif

Good day I have a complain about my uif since last year I have applied for my uif until this year I haven't got the money they keep on telling me that it haven't approved but to remember the day i have applied for my uif they said after 2weeks I will get the money which it was last year 6th of November until today I have applied at department of labour klerksdorp my contact number is 0812827997 and my id number is 9408140154085
Nozipho Send email
 
Feb 10, 2018

Unpaved uif

Since I apply for my uif last year on the 6th of November and I have not received the money instill today I called the the department of labour and keep on saying is not approved yet but when I was applying the said within 2weeks the money will be out until today my contact number is 0812827997 and I'd is 9408140154085
Timo838 Send email
 
Feb 9, 2018

Uif funds

Hi my names Timothy muniz id number-8707095188084 im responding on behalf of my uif money im very unhappy with your guys service regarding my money iv been told I would be receiving my funds on the 1sy of January 2018 its going for the middle of February nw and still havnt received my money iv decided im going to take further action be aware use will receive a letter from the sheriff's department plz call me on -0814589613
Admin@joleneoelofse.co.za Send email
 
Feb 8, 2018

Nature of Business on Letter og Goodstanding

Since 2 February 2018 our company are struggling for help and answers to reqtify a nature of business on our Letter of Good standing. We phoned all the provinces, only the Free State was willing to assist. We mailed all the documents to Pretoria and Free State, but now no one is reading their mails.
It is unacceptable that companies must struggle to get help from Labour, as this delay's causes lost of contracts and money. And this will affect the employees as well, no work no pay.

Is there any person that can assist with accepting our documents, as the company is already registered at coida.
Our company received a 2 year contract, but the Letter of good standing, stating the nature of business, is not correct.
We forwarded affidavits and new WA.2 form. We would just like confirmation that the company will be covered in the case of an accident.

If companies must struggle like this every time they assistance, I think Carte Blanche must be informed.
MRS Oelofse
Admin@joleneoelofse.co. za
Eugelia Hendricks Send email
 
Feb 7, 2018

UIF for maternity not been yet

MATERNITY UIF NOT PAID

Hi My name is Eugelia Hendricks

I have had patience but my patience has now run out, I have applied for maternity benefits on 10 December 2017, to date I have not received 1cent.

1. I had to resubmit my U19 which was never submitted and sitting in a long queue with my infant for hours
2. I have been phoning numerous times – I have gone to the offices in Somerset West, all the way from Caledon in the Overberg– every time something else is wrong, the last time the consultant
Said everything is fine and ready – she took the birth certificate,she took the UI-4 which she said I must not date and said I will receive 1 lump sum pay-out and still NOTHING! No money, not even an sms!

I have been contributing to UIF for at least 13 years.

Phoning in – takes 30 minutes plus just for a consultant to escalate the matter – My matter has been escalated 10 + times with no feed back and NOTHING Happening.

Apperently according this consultant, I have been overpaid back in 2004!! In 2004??? No one ever noticed that there was a overpayment and shortage in finances? According to my knowledge the Dept. of Labour only backdate 5 years to payments done.

I have accounts in arrears and policies that's on hold for 3 months because I don’t have money to have it deducted each month..
What happens to my policies if I fail to make further payments, well obviously for years I had them, will be a total loss which I will furthermore held Dept. of Labour accountable for.

Not even an sms or e-mail for all of those effort I had put in to get all of this paperwork done.

When will I be paid – or where is the money going to? I contribute every month – why am I not getting paid?

How am I suppose to take care of my baby and with the rising cost of living, baby products does not come cheap –

You are welcome to contact me on 081 438 2871 but I doubt someone will as well as I doubt that I will ever see this money
France THELO Send email
 
Feb 6, 2018

UIF payment

I applied for UIF since July 2017 till now I have not received any funds everytime when I call or go to the offices they tell me they know what is the problem I should call bloemfontein only to find out at bloemfontein they didn't receive my documents still I should go back to welkom to fill in the same forms I've been filling now I owe bank fees for statements of the whole six months
Susan Kzn Send email
 
Feb 6, 2018

UIF RETRENCHMENT CLAIM OUTSTANDING

I was retrenched in August 2017 and submitted my claim in September 2017. All necessary documents were faxed and emailed to the Department by both the company I worked for and UIF Connect. Despite numerous calls and follow ups no payment. It's five months I have been waiting now and desperation has set in.

HELP !

susankzn@hotmail.com
UIFCOMPLAINS2018 Send email
 
Feb 6, 2018

UIF claim not processed

I applied for my UIF from the 8th November 2017 and up to date (06/02/2018) claim still not approved
Apparently my previous employers work period are not updated correctly.
I have submitted all the required documentations including the UI19 from all the companies I worked for. But every time I call to check progress, there is always something unexplainable or unfixable and the claim is not moving. Apparently the admit section which is based in Thohoyandou has to update as per the UI19's I submitted. No one is actually telling me why there is a hold up on the update and actually how long its going to take.
The stressing part is that no one from department of labour ever contacted me when they see a hold up, every time I only find new problems after making a call to them.
To me the people assisting us don't care.
If it was possible, when next time I get employment I will wish not to pay UIF because it doesn't help when you need it.
I PAID UIF for 11 years and this is the reward.
I don't need different or new explanation, I just need whatever need to be updated to be updated because I submitted everything they required from me.

Regards

0738736236
Zelda Cook Send email
 
Feb 2, 2018

MATERNITY UIF NOT PAID

Hi My name is Grizelda Cook

I have had patience but my patience has now run out, I have applied for maternity benefits on 17 September 2017, to date I have not received 1cent.

1. I had to resubmit my U19 which was lost, Which I did
2. I had to obtain a letter from my work to admit that I only started 1 December 2017 as the dates were incorrectly captured – which I did.
3. I have been phoning numerous times – I have gone to the offices in WHITERIVER Tuesdays and Thursdays – every time something else is wrong, the last time the consultant
Said everything is fine and ready – he took the birth certificate, he took the UI-4 which he said I must not date and said I will receive 1 lump sum pay-out and still NOTHING! No money, not even an sms!

I have been contributing to UIF for at least 11 years – this is my FIRTST and ONLY time I have needed compensation fund and I am getting nowhere.

Phoning in – takes 30 minutes plus just for a consultant to escalate the matter – My matter has been escalated 10 + times with no feed back and NOTHING Happening

I have gone without food for days in my house because I don’t have money!
I have accounts in arrears because I don’t have money

When will I be paid – or where is the money going to? I contribute every month – why am I not getting paid?

MOTHERS ARE TAKING CARE OF THEIR BABIES WITHOUT MONEY BECAUSE WE ARE NOT ALLOWED TO WORK – UIF IS SUPPOSEd TO PAY OUT MONEY BUT THEY DON’T AND WE ARE SUFFERING.
I AM NOT THE ONLY ONE COMPLAINING AND NOTHING IS BEING DONE ABOUT IT.

You are welcome to contact me on 071 240 1016 but I doubt someone will as well as I doubt that I will ever see this money
Zelda Cook Send email
 
Feb 2, 2018

MATERNITY UIF NOT PAID

Hi My name is Grizelda Cook

I have had patience but my patience has now run out, I have applied for maternity benefits on 17 September 2017, to date I have not received 1cent.

1. I had to resubmit my U19 which was lost, Which I did
2. I had to obtain a letter from my work to admit that I only started 1 December 2017 as the dates were incorrectly captured – which I did.
3. I have been phoning numerous times – I have gone to the offices in WHITERIVER Tuesdays and Thursdays – every time something else is wrong, the last time the consultant
Said everything is fine and ready – he took the birth certificate, he took the UI-4 which he said I must not date and said I will receive 1 lump sum pay-out and still NOTHING! No money, not even an sms!

I have been contributing to UIF for at least 11 years – this is my FIRTST and ONLY time I have needed compensation fund and I am getting nowhere.

Phoning in – takes 30 minutes plus just for a consultant to escalate the matter – My matter has been escalated 10 + times with no feed back and NOTHING Happening

I have gone without food for days in my house because I don’t have money!
I have accounts in arrears because I don’t have money

When will I be paid – or where is the money going to? I contribute every month – why am I not getting paid?

MOTHERS ARE TAKING CARE OF THEIR BABIES WITHOUT MONEY BECAUSE WE ARE NOT ALLOWED TO WORK – UIF IS SUPPOSED TO PAY OUT MONEY BUT THEY DON’T AND WE ARE SUFFERING.
I AM NOT THE ONLY ONE COMPLAINING AND NOTHING IS BEING DONE ABOUT IT.

You are welcome to phone me but I doubt you will and I doubt I will ever get this money. 071 240 1016
Ushana Send email
 
Feb 2, 2018

Unfair Penalties

I have submitted an online return for workmans compensation and the calculation of amounts payable are way in excess of what it should be. Also, penalties have been unfairly included in this fee even though we have been trying to make our submission for the past two years and have contacted various people from the department of labour, with no assistance what so ever. I have tried dropping them a visit and spoke to numerous people regarding the process of objecting the penalties payable, and I have received no results to date. I was told that we cant submit a dispute in this regard and that the system calculation is final.

Please can someone assist in this regard URGENTLY.
johankr51@gmail.com Send email
 
Jan 25, 2018

UITEENSETTING

MY kontrak by Superway construction het geeindig op 25 Augustus 2017.

Ek het op 05/09/2017 gaan eis by die Departement van Arbeid. Hierdie is die datum wanneer hy sy UI19 ontvang het vanaf SUPERWAY CONSTRUCTION.

Ek kan nie onthou nie maar het hy baie later gaan teken as wat hy moes.

Ek is toe plus minus R10 000 betaal.

Ek het op 19 September 2017 begin werk by Raubex Construction.

Departement van Arbeid het mygekontak begin November enmy meegedeel dat ek teveel betaal is en 'n bedrag van R8653.40 moet terugbetaal.

Ek het hulle gaan sien en word toe meegedeel dat ek slegs betaal word vanaf die dag wat ek aansoek gedoen het en nie vanaf die datum watmy kontrak verstryk het nie.

By navraag het hulle my meegedeel dat die stelsel dit nie toelaat dat jy betaal word vanaf die dag wat jou kontrak verstryk het nie.

Hulle het my ook meegedeel dat in 2018 die stelsel verander gaan word en dat jy dan betaal gaan word vanaf die dag wat jy ophou werk het.


Ek het nou reelings getref om die bedrag maandeliks af te betaal.

Kan ek asb 'n uiteensetting kry van hoe die bedrag saamgestel is.



CGJ KRUYSHAAR
Karlien1985 Send email
 
Jan 22, 2018

Horrible service

I have been trying to submit my UIF claim since the beginning of December 2017. Each and every time I call the UIF call centre they give me different information (the documents required, fax and email addresses etc.). Eventually I got to a point where they advised that everything is in order only for me to find out last week that they will not process my claim as the incorrect code was captured on my UI19. They kept on saying that the UI19 was incorrect and later admitted that it was correct and the error was on their side. They made me obtain additional documents from my previous employer which I sent through a week ago and when I phoned to follow up this morning I was advised that they didn't receive the documens. After begging the consultant to check again, he found the dicuments and only handed these in today. My claim has been delayed and I am still waiting for December's payment. On top of that I have to wait half an hour to get through every time and had consultants put down the phone in my ear and being very rude.
Karlien1985 Send email
 
Jan 22, 2018

No service

I have been trying to submit my UIF claim since the beginning of December 2017. Each and every time I call the UIF call centre they give me different information (the documents required, fax and email addresses etc.). Eventually I got to a point where they advised that everything is in order only for me to find out last week that they will not process my claim as the incorrect code was captured on my UI19. They kept on saying that the UI19 was incorrect and later admitted that it was correct and the error was on their side. They made me obtain additional documents from my previous employer which I sent through a week ago and when I phoned to follow up this morning I was advised that they didn't receive the documens. After begging the consultant to check again, he found the dicuments and only handed these in today. My claim has been delayed and I am still waiting for December's payment. On top of that I have to wait half an hour to get through every time and had consultants put down the phone in my ear and being very rude.
FilipaD Send email
 
Jan 15, 2018

Maternity UIF

Good day

I applied for my maternity UIF on the 26th June 2017. I unfortunately used a company for this as I didn't have a car so thought it would help. I feel I'm getting the run around and getting no luck. Who or where can I go or call to get an update on my application?

I have called every department i can find on google and no answer

Please please assist
feeps23@gmail.com
0727873472
Thanyani Send email
 
Jan 12, 2018

Maternity benefits not paid

I applied for my maternity benefits with the department of labour in Maponya Mall in January 2015 and the first time I was told that my employer had filled the incorrect code, I had that fixed and I was sent a confirmation email from my employer when they were correcting the matter with a representative of the labour department. I since been going back and forth to the labour department and I have not yet been paid. I was asked to resubmit my documents again in February last year cause apparently my application was no longer on their system, which I did. Yet again nothing has happened. I am really fed up with this whole situation. My son now turns 4 years old this year. This is my money that I have contributed and I want it and I should not be told that I can't claim it cause time has passed, I played my part now the department has to play its.

Thanyani Nephawe
0786809517
fiffy Send email
 
Jan 10, 2018

UIF not paid

Good day,

I applied for UIF in November in Pretoria and was told to go to the Randburg branch where I stay. I went to Randburg on the 07 December 2017, I since haven't received the funds. I went again on the 03 January 2018 and was told they have been on leave. I signed again and was told to wait. It is now the 10 January 2018 and still have not received the funds. my children need the money to go to school, please can someone assist me.

Edson Baloyi
0794473633
Edson.baloyi@gmail.com
Mbelema Send email
 
Jan 9, 2018

Maternity UIF REJECTED

I applied for UIF in November 2017. I was told to the forms will be captured in December I went back to follow up. I was told the payment will come through in 5 days. 5 to 10 days passed and I went back to enquire. I was told it’s been captured but not processed because workers have been on leave. I waited, few days later I got a call telling me that my claim was rejected because I do not qualify, I do not have enough credits. Please assist if there is a way.

Regards,
Mandisa Mbele
0711633474
Mbelemandisa@gmail.com
LYNDA Boardman Send email
 
Jan 9, 2018

uif maternity benefit still not paid

My Daughter had twin girls 5 Jan 2017. She has submitted documents for the Maternity Benefit and to date has received nothing. Firstly she has been phoning and most times nobody even answers and spends an hour on the phone and it never gets answered
when eventually they answer they have an excuse that they have rejected it because of a form not submitted... every time its something , and these were not asked for in the beginning. She has now phoned today and apparently the benefit was rejected as the Dr signed where the date should be and the put the date where the signature should be.... though they have the birth certificates and all the other documents to verify the dates.(the Dr has now moved to Balitto) (Every time they reject the claim she is NEVER notified though they have all her details !!!!) She was cut off and never got to finish her call and tried to phone back and cannot get through again.... This is UNACCEPTABLE it is supposed to help moms while they are on Maternity leave hence it is called a benefit!!!!! This department needs to start working proper;y as all of us pay into this every month and this is an abuse of our money !

Please could you let us know what we can do about this and how we can get this benefit paid out to her as it has been a whole year!!!!

Please contact me urgently lyndiepet@gmail.com

Complaint Registration Form

    Information of the Company you are complaining about
    Subject of Complaint
    City (optional)
    Complaint Details
    Attach photos (optional)
    Confirmation code

    Submit

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Gotham Steel Cookware - Everything Sticks
    I purchased their 9in pan with lid. At first it worked...
    Specialized Loan Service - Mortgage Payments Refused - Forcolosed
    I currently have a mortgage on my house with Specialized...
    STC - Vas charge
    Stop vas charge 0.65 halala my stc number 0554733237
    SynapseConnect Inc. - Renewal of magazines
    I received a card about renewal time and how to cancel...
    realtor.com - Wont refund money
    Realtor.com is a terrible company to do business with, ...
    realtor.com - wont refund my money
    Realtor.com is a terrible company to do business with, ...
    TAC GLASSES - Tac Glasses
    In my opinion, these folks are doing FALSE ADVERTISING. ...
    Wyndham Vacation Resorts / Timeshares - Wyndham Vacation Resorts
    Rooked into what I thought was a simple conversion of my...
    GREAT AMERICAN READERS - Great American Readers/fraud/deception
    After reading all these complaints, my situation is the...
    International Award Services - SCAMMED MY 84 YR OLD MOTHER FOR YEARS
    my 84 year old mother just passed away a few weeks ago. ...

    Share this site with others

         
          

    Recently Updated Complaints

    Gotham Steel Cookware - Everything Sticks
    I purchased their 9in pan with lid. At first it worked...
    Specialized Loan Service - Mortgage Payments Refused - Forcolosed
    I currently have a mortgage on my house with Specialized...
    STC - Vas charge
    Stop vas charge 0.65 halala my stc number 0554733237
    SynapseConnect Inc. - Renewal of magazines
    I received a card about renewal time and how to cancel...
    realtor.com - Wont refund money
    Realtor.com is a terrible company to do business with, ...
    realtor.com - wont refund my money
    Realtor.com is a terrible company to do business with, ...
    TAC GLASSES - Tac Glasses
    In my opinion, these folks are doing FALSE ADVERTISING. ...
    Wyndham Vacation Resorts / Timeshares - Wyndham Vacation Resorts
    Rooked into what I thought was a simple conversion of my...
    GREAT AMERICAN READERS - Great American Readers/fraud/deception
    After reading all these complaints, my situation is the...
    International Award Services - SCAMMED MY 84 YR OLD MOTHER FOR YEARS
    my 84 year old mother just passed away a few weeks ago. ...
         
     

    User Registration

    Already a Complaint Board member? Log in now.
    Username:
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Code:
    or connect with Facebook

    User Registration

    A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

    If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

    User Login

    Not a member of Complaint Board? Register now.
    E-mail address:
    Password:
    Forgot your password?
    E-mail address:
    Back
    Loading, please wait...
    Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in
    or connect with Facebook

    User Facebook Login

    Enter Username